Skip to main content

Full text of "The heroes of the American revolution and their descendants"

See other formats

























•* 










































r. 



THE HEROES 



OF THE 
4 



AMERICAN REVOLUTION 



AND THEIR 



DESCENDANTS 



Battle of Long I 



ILLUSTRATED 



BY 

HENRY WHITTEMORE 

AUTHOR OF 

THE REVOLUTIONARY HISTORY OF ROCKLAND COUNTY, N. Y., 

HISTORY OF THE SEVENTY-FIRST REGIMENT N. G. S. N. Y., 

THE FOUNDERS AND BUILDERS OF THE ORANGES, 

ILLUSTRATED, AND OTHER WORKS, 



The Heroes of the Revolution Publishing Co. 
1897. 



Copyright 1897, 
by 

HENRY WIIITTEMOKK. 









four men ai 
s a prisonei 



on b< 



v. This statement 
in] the Asia ai the 



shot, one of which, hulled the Asia, killini 
is made on the authority of a man who w 
time. 

The journal of a British officer refers to the Denise house as follows: "The 
Admiral directed Sir George Collier to place the Rainbow, at dawn of day, in the 
Narrows abreast of a large stone building called Denise's, where he understood 
the rebels had cannon and a strong post, in which situation she would be able to 
enfilade the road leading from New York, and prevent reinforcements being sent 
to the rebel outposts, as well as to their troops who were stationed to oppose the 
landing." 

Lord Howe's letter, describing the landing, says: "Gen. Howe giving me 
notice of his intention to make a descent on Gravesend Bay, on bong Island, on the 
morning of the 22d, the necessary disposition was made, and 75 flalboats, with 11 




'HE KRITISH FI.KKT. 



batteaux and 2 galleys built for the occasion, were prepared for that service. The 
command of the whole remained with Com. Hotham. The Capts. Parker, 
Wallace and Dickson, in the Phenix, Rose and Greyhound, with the Thunder, and 
Carcass bombs, under the direction of Col. James, were appointed to cover the 
landing. The tlatboats, galleys and three batteaux, manned from the ships of war, 
were formed into three divisions, commanded respectively by the Capts. Vander- 
put, Mason, Curtis, Caldwell, Phipps, Caulfield, Uppleby and Duncan, and Lt. 
Reeve, of the Eagle. The rest of the batteaux, making a 10th division, manned 
from the transports, were under the conduct of Lt. Bristow, an assistant agent. 
Early in the morning of the 22d the covering ships took their station in Gravesend 
Bay. The light infantry, with the reserve to be first landed, forming a corps to- 
gether of 4,000 men, entered the boats at Staten Island the same time. The 
transports in which the several brigades composing the second debarkation (about 
5,000 men) had been before embarked, were moved down and suitably arranged 
without the covering ship by 8 o'clock. The first debarkation not meeting with 
any opposition, the second succeeded immediately after; and the other transports, 
carrying the rest of the troops, following the former in proper succession. The 



whole force then destined for the service, consisting of about 15,000 men, was 
landed before noon. On the 25th an additional corps of Hessian troops, under 
Gen. Heister, with their field artillery and baggage, were conveyed to Gravesend 
Bav. Being informed next day by Gen. Howe of his intentions to advance with 
the army that night to the enemy's lines, and of his wishes that some diversion 
might be attempted by the ships on this side, I gave directions to Sir Peter 
Parker for proceeding higher up in the channel toward the town of New York 
next morning with the Asia, Renown, Preston, (Com. Hotham embarked in the 
Phenix, having been left to carry on the service in Gravesend Bay,) Roebuck and 
Repulse, and to keep those ships in readiness for being employed as occasion 
might require ; but the wind veering to the northward soon after the break of 
day, the ships could not be moved up to the distance proposed ; therefore, when 
the troops under Gen. Grant, forming the left column of the army, were seen to be 
engaged with the enemy in the morning, the Roebuck, Capt. Hammond, leading 
the detached squadron, was the only ship that could fetch high enough 10 the 
northward to exchange a few random shots with the battery on Red Hook ; and 
the ebb making strongly down the river soon after, I ordered the signal to be 
shown for the squadron to anchor." 

RED LION TAVERN. 

The advance guard of the British troops struck the American pickets in the 
vicinity of the Red Lion Tavern on the early morning of August 27. 

An officer in Col. Atlee's battalion, referring to this, says : " Yesterday about 
120 of our men went as guard to a place on L. I. called Red Lion ; about 1 1 at 
night the sentries saw 2 men coming up a water-melon patch, upon which our 
men fired on them. The enemy then retreated, and about 1 o'clock advanced 
with 200 or 300 men and endeavored to surround our guard, but they being watch- 
ful gave them 2 or 3 fires and retreated to alarm the remainder of the bat., except 
one Lt. and about 1 5 men, who have not been heard of as yet. About 4 o'clock this 
morning the alarm was given by beating to arms, when the remainder of our bat- 
talion, accompanied by the Delaware and Maryland battalions, went to the place 
our men retreated from. About a quarter of a mile on this side we saw the 
enemy, when we got into the woods (our battalion being the advance guard) 
amidst the incessant fire of their field pieces, loaded with grape shot, which con- 
tinued till 10 o'clock. The Marylanders on the left, and we on the right, kept up 
a constant fire amid all their cannon, and saw several of them fall ; but they being 
too many we retreated a little and then made a stand. Our Lt. Col. Parry was 
shot through the head, and I retreated with him to secure his effects, since which 
1 hear the enemy are within 60 yards of our lines." 

The " Red Lion" was located near the corner of the present Fourth Avenue 
and Thirty-sixth Street. It was kept as a public house for nearly a hundred years, 
and was the principal place of resort for the farmers of Gowanus and the sur- 
rounding country. Their hatred of the British was very strong, and for some time 
after the close of the war they refused to patronize it until the sign of the " Red 
Lion " was taken down. A bull's head was painted on the sign, and it retained 
the name of Bull's Head Tavern until its final destruction, some twenty-five or 
thirty years ago. It was a story-and-a-half frame building, resting on a high 



foundation, which formed the basement. It had a wide piazza extending along 
the entire front, entrance to which was by high wooden steps. It was about one 
hundred feet from the Gowanus school-house. The Fourth Avenue car stables 
were subsequently erected on or near the site of the old building. Its historic 
associations had little or no interest for the people of this locality, and not a stone 
or shingle remains to identify the material of which it was composed. 

The description given by the officer in Atlee's battalion, of the skirmish at 
the Red Lion, includes the subsequent engagement further on, at a place called 

BLOKJE'S BERG. 

This was called by the Dutch, Bluckie's Barracks. It was at this point that 
the British column, advancing by the Gowanus Road, received its first check from 
the American pickets, and was the first blood shed in the battle. This was near 
the intersection of Third Avenue and Twenty-third Street. Field, in his history of 
the Battle of Long Island, says: "The position of Wynant Bennet's house, in 








conjunction with the adjacent knoll and creek, gave it the character of a formida- 
ble redoubt, as the sand-banks and thickets could not be battered down by can- 
non shot, and the house was below the range of the batteries. It stood about 
fifty yards from the bay, in one of those sheltered nooks at the foot of the hills, in 
which our Dutch fanners loved so well to nestle their dwellings. Half that dis- 
tance from its door, toward the south, the tide flowed through a narrow creek to a 
bog, which extended in a southeasterly direction for a hundred yards beyond the 
house. On a slight bridge, the road to the Narrows crossed this little bayou, and 
wound in a sharp curve over a sand-hill or bluff called Bluckie's Barracks. Hid- 
den between the sides of a deep cut in the hill, the road, winding along its eastern 
face, was completely obscured from the view of the enemy, advancing from the 
south, and enabled the American riflemen, under Col. Atlee, to occupy it with 
great annoyance to the British, and almost perfect security to themselves. Added 



to these favorable features for a defensive position, the bluff gutted out so far into 
the bi\ as to be well protected by its waters, and was covered with a tangled 
forest, which aided in the concealment and protection of its defenders." 



BATTLE HILL AND ITS SURROUNDINGS. 

In Lord Sterling's letter to Washington, dated "Eagle, Aug. 29, 1776," he 
says : " I have now an opportunity of informing you of what has happened to me 
since I had the pleasure of seeing you. About 3 o'clock in the morning of the 
27th I was called up and informed by Gen. Putnam that the enemy were advanc- 
ing by the road from Flatbush to the Red Lion, and ordered me to march with the 
two regiments nearest at hand to meet them; these happened to be Haslet's and 
Smallwood's, with which I accordingly marched, and was on the road to the Nar- 
rows just as the daylight began to appear. We proceeded to within about half a 
mile of the Red Lion, and there met Col. Atlee with his regiment, who informed 
me the enemy were in sight ; indeed, I then saw their front between me and the 
Red Lion. I desired Col. Atlee to place his regiment on the left of the road, and 
to wait their coming up, while I went to form the two regiments I had brought 
with me along a ridge from a road up to a piece of wood on the top of the hill ; 
this was done instantly on very advantageous ground. Our opponents advanced 
and were fired upon in the road by Atlee's regiment, who, after two or three 
rounds, retreated to the wood on my left and there formed. By this time Kich- 
line's riflemen arrived ; part of them I placed along a hedge under the front of the 
hill, and the rest in front of the wood. The troops opposed to me were two 
brigades of four regiments each, under the command of Gen. Grant, who advanced 
their light troops to within one hundred and fifty yards of our right front, and 
took possession of an orchard there and some hedges which extended towards 
our left ; this brought on an exchange of fire between those troops and our rifle- 
men, which continued for about two hours and then ceased, by those light troops 
retiring to their main body. In the meantime Capt. Carpenter brought up two 
field pieces, which were placed on the side of the hill, so as to command the road 
and the only approach for some hundred yards. On the part of Gen. Grant there 
were two field pieces; one howitzer advanced to within 300 yards of the front of 
our right, and a like detachment of artillery to the front of our left on a rising 
ground, at about 600 yards distance. One of their brigades formed in two lines 
opposite to our right, and the others extended in one line to the top of the hills in 
front of our left ; in this position we stood cannonading each other till near 11 
o'clock, when I found that Gen. Howe, with the main body of the army, was be- 
tween me and our lines, and saw that the only chance of escaping being made all 
prisoners, was to pass the creek near the Yellow Mills; and in order to render 
this the more practicable, I found it absolutely necessary to attack a body of 
troops commanded by Lord Cornwallis, posted at the house near the Upper Mills. 
This I instantly did with about half of Smallwood's regiment, first ordering all the 
oilier troops to make the best of their way through the creek. We continued to 
attack a considerable time, the men having been rallied and the attack renewed 
five or six times, and were on the point of driving Lord Cornwallis from his sta- 



5EVERAL histories have been written and papers prepared on the Battle of 
Long Island during the past half century by our ablest historians, the object 
of most of whom has been to demonstrate the causes of a defeat which was 
inevitable from the beginning. This opinion is shared by the best military critics 
who have given the subject any attention. As one has truly said : " The American 
forces might have retreated in good order with comparatively small loss, but they 
must have retreated. Five thousand raw recruits — few of whom had ever been in 
battle and most of whom must have fought without cover — could not long have 
resisted twenty thousand well-appointed veterans." 

The compiler of the present work has no hope or expectation of being able to 
present any new facts pertaining to the subject in controversy. His aim, first, is 
to give the reader a clear and comprehensive view of the facts, compiled from the 
most authentic sources, by locating and illustrating the several points of interest ; 
second, to collect and preserve in permanent form the names and personal record 
of those who participated in this important event. Says a well known writer on 
this subject : "It is due to the brave combatants of that day, that their names 
and deeds should be remembered and commemorated, in common with many 
others more distinguished only because they were more fortunate.'' Every man, 
from the commander-in-chief down to the humblest private, was a HERO on that 
day, and deserves to be remembered by his descendants, many of whom are repre- 
sented in the various societies of the Revolution at the present day, and who will 
no doubt gladly avail themselves of this opportunity to preserve the record and 
thus perpetuate the memory of their distinguished ancestors. 

" Remember," said Washington, on the eve of the battle, " that you are free- 
men fighting for the blessings of liberty ; that slavery will be your portion and that 
of your posterity, if you do not acquit yourselves like men. Remember how your 
courage and spirit have been despised and traduced by your cruel invaders, though 
they have found by dear experience at Boston, Charlestown and other places what 
a few brave men, contending in their own land and in the best of causes, can do 
against base hirelings and mercenaries." The words of their commander were 
remembered by these brave patriots on the following day, all of whom did, indeed, 
"acquit themselves like men." 



GUIDE TO THE BATTLE OF LONG ISLAND. 



ILLUSTRATED. 

iNE after another of the old Revolutionary landmarks — those monu- 
ments of American patriotism — have disappeared, swept away by 
the ravages of time and the march of improvement. A few years 
hence all traces will be lost and there will not he left a single spot 
on which to place a tablet to record the interesting events with 
which they are associated. On the corner of Fifth Avenue and 
Third Street, in a vacant lot enclosed by a high board fence, stands 
a long, low, dilapidated stone building, completely hidden by the 
surroundings. This is all that remains of the Nicholas Vechte, or what is more 
recently known as the Cortelyou house, near which, on the 27th of August, 1776, 
two hundred and fifty of Maryland's noblest sons laid down their lives in defense 
of their country. 




Wkrr\ 




" Cornwallis hail taken possession of the Cortelyou house, in the rear of 
Stirling's line, and the latter saw that if he could not drive him back, or, at least, 
hold him where he was, his whole command would suffer death or capture. He 
resolved upon a costly sacrifice to save his retreating columns, which were now 
toiling through the salt marshes and across the deep tide-water creek in the rear. 
Changing his front and taking with him less than four hundred of the Maryland 
regiment under Major Gist, Stirling ordered the rest of his force to retreat across 
the Gowanus marsh and creek, which the rising tide was making every moment 
less and less passable. Smallwood's regiment, composed in a large part of the 



sons of the best families of Maryland— nicknamed the Macaroni by the Tories of 
New York— was now to have its courage, self-devotion and discipline proved. 
Stirling placed himself at the head of these Marylanders, and the little band, now 
hardly numbering four hundred men. prepared for an assault upon five times their 
number of the troops of the invading army, who were inflamed with all the arro- 
gance of successful combat. Forming hurriedly on ground in the vicinity of Fifth 
Avenue and Tenth Street, the column advanced with unwavering front along the 
Gowanus Road into the jaws of battle. Artillery plowed their fast-thinning ranks 
with the awful bolts of war; infantry poured volleys of musket balls in almost 
solid sheets of lead, and from the adjacent hills the deadly Hessian Jagers sent 
swift messengers of death into many a manly form. Still, above the roar of 
cannon, musketry and rilles. was heard the shout of their brave leaders, "Close 
up ! Close up !" and again the staggering yet unflinching files, grown fearfully thin, 
drew together and turned their stern young faces to their country's foe. 

" At the head of this devoted band marched their General, to whom every 
victory had now become less important than an honorable death, which might 
purchase the safe retreat of his army. Amid all the terrible carnage of the hour 
there was no hurry, no confusion, only a grim despair which their courage and 
self-devotion dignified into martyrdom. The advance bodies of the enemy were 
driven back upon the Cortelyou house, now become a formidable redoubt, from 
the windows of which the leaden hail thinned the patriot ranks as they approached. 
Cornwallis hurriedly brought two guns into position near one corner of the house 
and added their cannister and grape to the tempest of death. At last the little 
column halted, powerless to advance in the face of this murderous fire, yet dis- 
daining to retreat with the disgrace of a flight. Again and again these heroes 
closed their ranks over the bodies of their dead comrades, and still turned their 
faces to the foe. But the limit of human endurance had for the time been reached, 
and the shattered column was driven back. Their task was not, however, yet 
fully performed, As Stirling looked across the salt meadows, away to the scene 
of the late struggle at Bluckie's Barracks, and saw the confused masses of his 
countrymen crowding the narrow causeway over Freeke's mill pond or struggling 
through the muddy tide stream, he felt how precious to their country's liberty 
were the lives of his retreating soldiers, and he again nerved himself for a combat 
which he knew could only prove a sacrifice. Once more he called upon the sur- 
vivors of the previous deadly assault, and again the noble young men gathered 
around their general. How sadly he must have looked upon them, scarcely more 
than boys, so young, so brave, and to meet again the pitiless iron hail. The 
impetus and spirit of this charge carried the battalion over every obstacle quite to 
their house. The gunners were driven from their battery and Cornwallis seemed 
about to abandon the position. But the galling fire from the interior of the 
house and from the adjacent high ground, with the overwhelming numbers of the 
enemy who were now approaching, again compelled retreat. Three times more 
the survivors rallied, flinging themselves upon the constantly reinforced ranks of 
the enemy, but the combat, so long and so unequally sustained, was now hastening 
to its close. A few minutes more of this destroying fire and 256 of the noble 
youth of Maryland were either prisoners in the hands of the enemy or lay side by 
side in the awful mass of the dead and dying. The sacrifice had been accom- 
plished and the Hying army had been saved from complete destruction." 



* 




MONUMENT. 

IN HONOR OF MARYLAND'S FOUR HUNDRED, WHO ON THIS BATTLE-FIELD, AUGUST 2 7 , 

I776, SAVED THE AMERICAN ARMY." 



MONUMENT TO THE BRAVE MARYLANDERS. 

On Tuesday, August 27, 1895, a monument was unveiled and presented to the 
city of Brooklyn by the Maryland Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, 
erected by this society in honor of the gallant Four Hundred, whose courage, 
self-devotion and discipline, saved the American army from total destruction or 
capture on that eventful day, one hundred and nineteen years ago. The site 
selected on Lookout Hill, the highest point in the park, is also the most central 
one from which to obtain a view of almost every part of the battle-field. 

The monument is a Corinthian column, thirty-nine feet in height. The 
shaft proper is of Tennessee marble, highly polished, thirty feet high, surmounted 
by a bronzed cannon ball, resting on ornamental bronzed supports. The die 
block on which this shaft rests is of rough granite suitably dressed, the whole 
resting on a mound several feet in height. The inscriptions are in raised letters, 
that on the front tablet being : 

In Honor of 

Maryland's Four Hundred 

Who on this Battlefield on 

August 27, 1776, 
Saved the American Army. 

On the rear tablet are the words Washington is said to have uttered when he 

saw the the gallant Marylanders make one of their desperate charges upon the 

enemy : 

" Good God, What Brave Fellows 

Must I This Day Lose." 

On the third tablet is the coat of arms of the State of Maryland in bronze, 
and on the fourth is inscribed : 

In Memory of 

Smallwood's Regiment 

of the Rear Guard of the 

American Army 

In lis Retreat from Long Island 

August 27, 1776. 

On the front face of the foundation block is the inscription : 
Erected Through the Efforts 

of THE 
Maryland Society of the Sons 
of the American Revolution. 



LOOKOUT HILL— PROSPECT PARK. 

From this point nearly all the places of interest connected with the Battle of 
Long Island may still be seen, although the growth of trees and other improve- 
ments have somewhat obstructed the view since the original drawing (of which 
the accompanying engraving is .1 copy), was made. To the right, near the Flatbush 
entrance of the park, is the famous Battle Pass, where Sullivan and his brave 



Xll 

troops made such a gallant tight, and were finally overcome by superior numbers. 
Aboutja mile to the northwest is Fort Greene and the site of Fort Putnam. Follow- 
ing the Third Street exit of the park to Fifth Avenue, is the site of the old 
Cortleyou house. Below Fourth Avenue there are several vacant lots, partly filled 
in, which indicate the site of Denton's mill-pond and Gowanus. Creek. 



DENISE'S FERRY; NOW FORT HAMILTON. 

South of the monument, about six miles distant, is Fort Hamilton, the site 
of Denise's Ferry, where the British made their first landing on the morning of 
August 22, 1776. It is a remarkable coincidence that the first resistance made to 
the British forces in the colony of New York was on the Fourth of July, 1776, and 
was the first celebration of the Declaration of Independence, while that important 
instrument was receiving the signatures of the immortal representatives who 
framed it. 

A battery mounting, it is said, some two or three twelve pounders, was con- 
structed at the Narrows, near Denise's ferry landing, by a party of Americans. 
During the clay they opened fire upon the Asia, which was sailing close to shore 




OENISK S FEKRV, 



in the rear of the lleet. The ship swung around and returned the fire, sending a 
broadside of twenty-four pound shot at the point where the battery was located. 
An account published in a Philadelphia newspaper at the time. sa)S : " One of the 
balls lodged in the wall of Mr. Bennett's house without penetrating it. The house 
of Denise narrowly escaped demolition from the storm of cannon shot which 
swept around it. One passed close to the kitchen in which the family were 
assembled, another struck the barn at a short distance, and a third carried away 
a large portion of the garden fence, close to the back door of the house." 

The men in charge of the battery continued their fire, giving them shot for 



XV111 

tion, but large succors arriving rendered it impossible to do more than provide for 
safety. I endeavored to get in between that house [Vechte or Cortelyou house], 
and Fort Box, but on attempting it I found a considerable body of troops In my 
front and several in pursuit of me on the right and left, and a constant firing on 
me. I immediately turned the point of the hill, which covered me from their fire, 
and was soon out of reach of my pursuers. I soon found it would be in vain to 
attempt to make my escape, and therefore went to surrender myself to Gen. De 
Heister, Commander-in-Chief of the Hessians." 

The engraved map or sketch of the battle-ground shown on opposite page 
is said to be the most accurate of any ever published. The plan was drawn by 
Major A. B. Douglass, formerly of the U. S. Army, from personal inspection. 

The position occupied by Lord Sterling, referred to at the beginning of his 
letter, was in close proximity to what is now known as Battle Hill, in Greenwood 
Cemetery. Mr. Nehemiah Cleveland, who wrote the history of Greenwood Ceme- 
tery, says : " In the Battle of Long Island, August 27, 1776, the conflict raged for 
a spell on or near these very grounds. * * * On one occasion I went over the 
ground with Major Douglas. The excavations and gradings which have so trans- 
formed the aspect of Gowanus, had then scarcely begun. We stood upon the 
hillside where Lord Stirling posted a part of his force, and traced the old wall and 
hedge which formed their temporary and frail barricade. From this spot that 
accomplished officer and engineer pointed out to me what he believed to have 
been the position and movements of the contending forces, and the probable 
localities of the conflict. Of the scene on which we then looked, the swells and 
slopes of Green Wood, and the bright waters of the bay, are almost the only 
features that remain unchanged." 

Lossing says : " The militia guard at Martense's Lane were driven back by 
Grant to the hills of Greenwood Cemetery, a little north of Sylvan Water, where 
they were rallied by Parsons, and maintained a conflict until the arrival of Stirling 
at day-break with fifteen hundred men. Stirling took a position upon the slopes a 
little northwest of "Battle Hill," in Greenwood, and Atlee ambuscaded in the 
woods on the left of Martense's Lane, near the Firemen's Monument, to attack 
Grant on his approach." 

In his description of the battle, Mr. Cleveland says : " Independently of their 
present and prospective claims to regard, Greenwood and its vianage must ever 
possess a strong interest derived from die past. In that vicinity — upon ground 
traversed in part by every visitor to the cemetery, and lying immediately below 
and around it — occurred the first serious conflict between the British and Ameri- 
can troops, on the memorable 27th of August, 1776. 

" It is due to the brave combatants of that day that their names and deeds 
should be remembered and commemorated in common with many others — more 
distinguished only because they were more fortunate. To this end we contribute 
our mite. We would induce some of the countless visitors of Green Wood to 
turn aside and stand upon the spot where their fathers once stood, 'shoulder to 
shoulder in the strife for their country.' At least we would have them know, as 
they ride along, that the very earth beneath them was reddened in the conflit t 
which secured to them their great and fair inheritance. 

"The unsparing hand of improvement is fast sweeping away not only the 
vestiges of all the old defences, but the very hills on which they were raised, at 




PLAN OF THE BATTLE-GROUND ON LONG ISLAND. 



such expense of treasure and toil. Even the more distant grounds, beyond the 
lines of circumvallation, upon which the fight occurred, have in some instances 
been materially changed." 

" Once this soft turf, this rivulet's sands, 

Were trampled by a hurrying crowd, 
And fiery hearts and armed hands 
Encountered in the battle-cloud. 

Ah ! never shall the land forget 

How gushed the life-blood of her brave — 

Gushed, warm with hope and courage yet, 
Upon the soil they fought to save." 

WEYNANT BENNETT HOUSE. 

Referring to " Bluckie's Barracks," Stiles says : " It is mainly memorable as 
the place where the British column, advancing by the Gowanus road, on the 
morning of August 27, 1776, received its first check from an American picket- 
guard, on which occasion several lives were lost, being the first blood shed in that 
battle. Near it, on the northeast corner of Twenty-third street and Third avenue, 
was the old Weynant Bennett house, which yet stands (1867), retaining its ancient 
appearance and yet bearing upon its venerable walls the marks of shot and ball 
received on that disastrous day." 

While preparations were making for departure, under cover of the darkness, 
a number of soldiers, with the recklessness of their class, occupied their time in 
playing a game of cards in a room of Weynant Bennett's house. The rays 
streaming through the narrow window attracted the attention of some British 
artillerymen upon the hill, and in a short time the card party were startled by the 
heavy roar of a field piece at no great distance, but as no result followed that 
indicated their group to be the target, the game was continued. The gun was 
fired again and again until the proper range was obtained, when the crash of a 
shot against the side of the house, close to the window, suddenly terminated the 
game. Several shots struck the house, marks of whose passage are still visible, 
the light which the party left burning in the haste of their departure, indicating 
its position so well as to render the aim of the gunners tolerably accurate. * * * 
Bennett's house was abandoned by the family, who accompanied the retreating 
troops, from the apprehension that the repulse which the enemy had suffered in its 
neighborhood might have so exasperated them that little distinction would be 
made by them between soldiers and non-combatants. — Field. 

RED HOOK. 

The same night a regiment went over to Red Hook and fortified that place 
likewise. — New York Packet, April 11, 1776. 

The wood next to Red Hook should be well attended to. Put some of the 
most disorderly riflemen into it. The militia are the most indifferent troops and 
will do for the interior work, whilst your best men should, at all hazards, prevent 
the enemy's passing the wood and approaching the works. The woods should be 
secured by abates ; traps and ambuscades should be laid for their parties sent 
after cattle, — Washington s Instructions to Putnam, August 25, 1776. 



In a letter to his family, dated June r I, 1776, Major Shaw says : " I am now 
stationed at Red Hook, about four miles from New York. It is an island, situated 
in such a manner as to command the entrance to the harbor entirely, where we 
have a fort with four 18-pounders to fire en barbette— \.\\z\ is, over the top of the 
works — which is vastly better than tiring through embrasures, as we can now 
bring all our guns to bear on the same object at once. The fort is named 
Defiance. It is thought to be one of the most important posts we have." 

At certain seasons and in certain conditions of the tide, Red Hook became in 
fact an island, and was no doubt just as he described it. ^ 

" The ' Roode Hock,' or Red Hook," says Stiles, " so called from the color of 
its soil, has almost entirely lost its identity in consequence of the construction of 
the Atlantic Docks and other extensive and important improvements in that part 
of the modern city of Brooklyn. Its original form and topographical appearance, 
however, has been faithfully preserved and delineated in Rutzer's map; and it may 
be described in general terms as extending from Luqueer's mill creek (about Hicks 
and Huntington streets), following the indentations of the shore around the cape 
and headland, to about the western boundary of the Atlantic Docks on the East 
River; or in general terms, as having comprised all the land west of the present 
Sullivan street. Its history commences with the year 1638, when Director Van 
Twiller petitioned for its use, which was granted to him on condition that he 
should relinquish it whenever the Company wanted it. This and other lands sub- 
sequently reverted to the Company. The title of Red Hook being thus vested in 
the government, was conveyed to the town of Breuckelen in 1657, by Governor 
Stuyvesant, and was subsequently confirmed by Governors Nicolls and Dongan. 
It was sold on the 10th of August, 1695, by the patentees and freeholders of the 
town to Col. Stephanus Van Cortlandt." 

WILLIAM HOWARD'S HALF-WAY HOUSE. 

Referring to the advance of the British army from Flatlands across the 
country to New Lotts, on the evening of the 26th of August, 1776, Stiles says: 
" Crossing the fields from the New Lotts road, in a direct course to this point, the 
army halted at two o'clock on the morning of the 27th at William Howard's Half- 
way House, which yet stands at the cornel of the present Broadway and the 
Jamaica and Brooklyn road." 

William Howard says the British army was guided by N. W. along a narrow 
road across Schoonmaker's Bridge (where a small force might easily have brought 
the whole British army to a stand). Thence they turned off east of Daniel 
Rapalje's (threw open the fence) and crossed the fields to the south of Howard's 
Half-way House, where they halted in front of his house. About two o'clock in the 
morning, after the market wagons had passed, Howe (?), with a citizen's hat on 
and a camlet cloak over his uniform, entered William Howard's tavern attended 
by Clinton and two aids and asked for something to drink, conversed with him 
and asked him if he had joined the association. Howard said that he had. 
" That's all very well ; stick to your integrity. But now you are my prisoner and 
must lead me across these hills out of the way of the enemy, the nearest way to 
Gowanus." Howard accordingly conducted the army by a passage-way between 
his house and horse shed, over the hills and woods east of his house till they 



came to the cleared land north of the woods. The horses drew the artillery up 
the hill in a slanting direction and halted on the brow to breathe a little. The 
army then proceeded west and came out at Baker's Tavern, by the Gowanus road. 
The British took Adj. Jeronimus Hoagland (Lieut. Troop) and Lieut. Dunscomb, 
American patrols, at the big white oak (since struck by lightning), in the middle of 
the road by the mile-post, a little east of Howard's. — Onderdonk. 

CLOVE ROAD. 

" Meanwhile a heavy force from Clinton and Cornwallis' left, near Bedford, had 
cut the American lines at the Clove Road, and Col. Miles' panic-stricken troops 
were flying for their lives." Two roads met at the old highway to Jamaica (Fulton 
street), one, the "Clove road," running thence south to Flatbush, and the other, 
the "Cripplebush road," running north to Newtown, both nearly parallell to the 
present Nostrand avenue. 

THE BEDFORD SETTLEMENT 

was located at the intersection of the old highway to Jamaica, with the Clove 
road to Flatbush, on the south, and with the Cripplebush road to Newtown, on 
the north, and extending about a quarter of a mile each way from that point. 
The main highway, or Jamaica road— that which led up from Brooklyn Ferry — 
after passing through Bedford, kept on still north of the hills, and crossed them at 
the "Jamaica Pass," about four miles from the fortified line. From this branched 
three roads leading to the village in the plain. The most direct was that to Flat- 
bush, which cut through the ridge a mile and a half from the works. 

When the British columns reached Bedford Corners, the profound silence and 
secrecy which had previously characterized their movements gave way to a feeling 
of exultant joy. It was then half-past eight o'clock, and the Americans were as 
yet unaware that they bad left Flatlands. 



THE PORT OR MILL ROAD. 

Stiles says : "The impetuous Hessian yagers eagerly pressed forward into 
the woods south of the Port road, driving the American riflemen before them, 
and taking possession of the coverts and lurking places from which they dis- 
lodged them." 

The Port road was a lane diverging from the Flatbush turnpike, near the 
present city line, and extending to the East river across Frecke's mill-dam. It 
followed the general line of the present First street. In the original deed from 
the Indians, 1670, mention is made of it as follows : "All that parcel of land and 
tract of land in and about Bedford, within the jurisdiction of Breuckelen, begin- 
ning at Hendrick Van Aarnheim's land by a swamp of water, and stretching to 
the hills, then going along the hills to the port, or entrance thereof, and so to the 
Rockaway footh — the path." 

This " port," or " entrance," as it is called, is situate in the valley, on the Flat- 
bush turnpike, near the " Brush," or Valley Tavern, and a short distance beyond 
the three-mile post from Breuckelen ferry. A freestone monument was placed 



here to designate the patent line between Breuckelen and Flatbush. The Flat- 
bush Pass and road, at the junction of the Brooklyn and Flatbush turnpike with 
the Coney Island plank road, and now within the limits of Prospect park. The 
defenses of this Pass were, first, a sort of crescent-shaped intrenchment, just 
within the village of Flatbush, and lying diagonally across the main street, a little 
south of Judge Martense's house, with a ditch of considerable depth on its 
northerly side ; and, secondly, a small redoubt, mounting a few small pieces of 
artillery at the Valley Grove, to guard the passage through the Port road and by 
direct route to Brooklyn. 




,„..., 3,- 



Furman, in his notes on Brooklyn, says : "In this battle, part of the British 
army marched down a lane or road (Port road) leading from the Brush tavern (at 
Valley Grove) to Gowanus, pursuing the Americans. Several of the American 
riflemen, in order to be more secure, and at the same time-more effectually to suc- 
ceed in their designs, had posted themselves in the high trees near the road. One 
of them shot the English Major, Grant ; in this he passed unobserved. Again he 
loaded his deadly rifle and tired ; another English officer fell. He was then 
marked, and a platoon ordered to advance and fire into the tree, which order was 
immediately carried into execution, and the rifleman fell to the ground, dead. 
After the battle was over the two British officers were buried in a field near where 
they fell, and their graves fenced in with some posts and rails, where the remains 
still rest." 

Stiles says: " Sterling, finding that he was fast being surrounded, saw that 
his only chance of escape was to drive Cornwallis, who was then occupying the 
Cortelyou house as a redoubt, up the Port road towards Flatbush, and by getting 
between him and Fort Box, on the opposite side of the creek, to escape, under 
cover of its guns, across Brower's mill-dam. He knew that his attack upon 
Sterling would, at all events, give him time for his escape to his countrymen, whom 
he saw struggling through the salt morasses and across the narrow causeway at 
Frecke's mill pond." 

Bout received a confirmatory patent of the premises, which covered the neck 
of land on which a few years ago were located Frecke*s and Denton's flour mills 



and also a considerable tract east of Frecke's mill pond, extending to the road in 
the Village of Brooklyn. Upon Bout's patent was located Frecke's mill, or the 
"Old Gowanus Mill," probably the oldest in the Town of Breukelen * * * This 
mill pond was formed by damming off the head of Gowanus Kil, and the old 
mill was located just north of the present Union, west of Nevin street, and be- 
tween that street and Bond. 

DENTON'S MILL, 

or the "Yellow Mill," in Gowanus, was also built upon Bout's patent, by Adam and 
Nicholas, the sons of Adam Brower, in 1709. The mill pond was formed by the 
damming off a branch of the Gowanus Kil, and the mill was located on the north- 
east side of the present First street, about midway between Second and Third 
avenues. The dwelling-house, which was burned down about 1852, was in Car- 
roll, midway between Nevins street and Third avenue. 

The accompanying illustration, showing the several places described, is from 
an old painting in the possession of Mr. Teunis Bergen. The Gowanus road and 
the old Schoonmaker house is shown in the foreground ; beyond this, the Cortleyou 
house (a part of which is still standing in the rear of the brick block, corner of 
Fifth avenue and Third street), showing a small section of the Port road. The 
mill pond and Denton's mill and house are shown in the distance. 

ALARM-POST. 

FIRST REFORMED PROTESTANT DUTCH CHURCH. 

Brooklyn Church was to be the alarm-post where the covering party was to 
concentrate in case the enemy attacked during the night.— Johnston. 

He (Major-General Mifflin) then assigned us our several stations which we 
•were to occupy as soon as it was dark, and pointed out Brooklyn Church as an 
alarm-post, to which the whole were to repair and unitedly oppose the enemy, in 
case they discovered our movement and made an attack in consequence. My 
regiment was posted in a redoubt on the left, and in the lines of the great road 
below Brooklyn Church. * * * Having arrived at the left of the church, 1 halted 
to take up my camp equipage, which, in the course of the night, I had carried 
there by a small party. — Colonel Hand's Account of the Retreat, 

This church was the second one which had occupied the same site. It was 
built in 1766, and stood in the middle of the Jamaica road (now Fulton street), and 
immediately opposite to a burying ground on the west side of Fulton street, be- 
tween Bridge and Lawrence streets. It was unprotected by fence or enclosure. 
The road was spacious, and a carriage and wagon track passed around each end, 
forming an oblong circle, remitting at either end. There was a door at each end 
of the building. 

WASHINGTON'S HEADQUARTERS, BROOKLYN, 

WHERE THE COUNCIL OF WAR WAS HELD. 

The question has often been raised as to whether Washington had a " head- 
quarters" in Brooklyn, either previous to or during the battle of Long Island, and 
if so, where located. Tradition, the most unreliable of all sources of information, 
locates it at the old Reformed Dutch Church, on Fulton street, and at the Pierre- 



pont mansion, on Montague street. Other places have been named on the 
authority of old veterans who " remembered all about it." With the exception of 
the time spent in the " Council of War," to determine the advisability of a retreat 
or further defensive operations, Washington spent but very little time at any one 
place. He was too anxious and too busy watching the movements of the enemy 
and examining the lines of defense to remain long at any one point. His "head- 
quarters " were really in the saddle. 

Stiles, Vol. I., page 57, says: "The fact is, that Washington's headquarters 
were in New York ; and although he went over to Brooklyn after the commence- 
ment of the unfortunate battle of Long Island, on the 27th of August, 1776, there 
is no evidence or probability that he went outside of the American lines, which 
extended from the Wallabout to the Gowanus mill creek." 

In a foot note, Vol. I., page 284, Stiles says: "The old Cornell house, after- 
wards known as the Pierrepont mansion, which formerly stood on the line of the 
present Montague street, near the little iron foot-bridge which spans the carriage- 
way, was the headquarters of Washington during this important contest. * * * 
It was here (and not at the old Dutch Church in Fulton street, as has been 
erroneously stated by Lossing and Onderdonk, which was merely the alarm-post of 
the American army) that the council of war was held which determimed upon 
the retreat and where the orders for that movement were promulgated. This is 
on the authority of Col. Fish, the father of Governor Hamilton Fish, and one of 
Washington's military family who, in 1824, during Lafayette's visit to Brooklyn, 
called the attention of the distinguished visitor to the fact, and designated the very 
positions in the room occupied by the council." 

This array of facts is very formidable, but contemporaneous authority — the 
evidence of one who was a member of that council — is stronger. 

Document No. 6, " Memoirs of the Long Island Historical Society," Vol. III., 
is a letter from Gen. John Morin Scott to John Jay, dated September 6, 1776, in 
which he says: "I was summoned to a Council of War at Mr. Philip Living- 
ston's house, on Thursday, 29th ult., never having had reason to expect a propo- 
sition for a retreat till it was mentioned." 

Stiles says : " The Livingston mansion-house stood on the east side of the 
present Hicks street, about four hundred feet south of Joralemon street, and 
during the Revolutionary War, in consequence of Mr. Livingston's adherence to 
the American cause, was appropriated by the British, who then occupied Brooklyn, 
to the purposes of a naval hospital. After Mr. Livingston's death the trustees 
appointed by legislative act of February 25, 1784, to sell his estate, disposed of 
that portion known as "the distilling property" to Daniel McCormick in July, 
1785, and on the 29th of April, 1803, they conveyed to Teunis Joralemon the 
property south of the distillery, and the Livingston mansion thenceforward became 
known as the Joralemon house. It was taken down at the opening of Hicks street. 

" It was a large, double frame house, the more modern portion of which was 
built by Mr. Livingston just previously to the war for his only son, who was then 
making the tour of Europe and was to be married on his return, which, however, 
was prevented by his death abroad. The house was constructed in the very best 
manner, having costly carved mantels imported from Italy and other furniture at 
that day unusual to American houses. During the occupation of the island it was 
used as an hospital for the British navy, probably as a justifiable retaliation upon 



its owner, who was a prominent member of the Continental Congress. Attached 
to the house was an extensive garden, which the well-known taste and abundant 
means of Mr. Livingston had made the finest in this part of America. * * * 
When the British left Brooklyn little remained of it but the name." 

The property was purchased in 1803 by Teunis Joraleman from the executors 
of Philip Livingston, Esq. It continued in the possession of Mr. Joralemon up to 
the time of his death in 1840. The house was destroyed by fire the following year. 

Referring to the Livingston place, the New York Mercury, under date of 
February 21, 1774, says: "A ferry is now established from the Coenties Market, 
New York, to the landing place of P. Livingston, Esq., and Henry Remsen, on 
Long Island, and another from Fly Market, and a third from Peck Slip to the 
present ferry house at Brooklyn." 

Stiles says : " The ' landing place of P. Livingston, Esq., and Henry Remsen ' 
was near the foot of the present Joralemon street. This ferry was called ' St. 
George's Ferry,' but did not exist long, being discontinued in 1776, and the ferry- 
house, together with Livingston's distillery, was burned after the war." 

FORT GREENE, OR WASHINGTON PARK. 

Old Fort Greene was acquired by the city in 1847 and converted into a 
pleasure ground. It contains about thirty acres and has, in places, an altitude 
sufficient to overlook the highest buildings in the city. Previous to the battle of 
Long Island it was a thickly wooded hill belonging to John Cowenhoven, Sr., his 
son, Rem Cowenhoven, and Carter Wooster. It was known as Cowenhoven's 
boschje or woods. In the spring of 1776, when the British forces began to move 
toward New York, the hill became one of the redoubts along the American line of 
defence through Brooklyn. It was partly cleared of its timber, mounted with 
guns and became known as Fort Putnam. 

After the Revolution, a road connecting Fulton street with the Newtown 
turnpike was cut through the Fort Greene hills. In 18 14, when a descent upon 
New York by the English fleet was apprehended, students, societies and all classes 
of citizens of Brooklyn and New York, also New Jersey, assisted in fashioning it 
into a stronghold of defence again, and it was garrisoned by troops until peace 
was declared, in February, 181 5. It was during this time that it was called Fort 
Greene. The name of Fort Greene had been applied to a redoubt situated about 
where Atlantic and Pacific avenues and Bond street now form a square. After 
the War of 1812 the fort was used as a storage place for ammunition until the 
people had the practice abolished because of menace to life and property. For 
two decades before its conversion to park purposes the hill was a tract of 
unused land. 



BATTLE OF LONG ISLAND. 

PRECEDING EVENTS. 

The first movement which led to the planting of an independent nation in 
America occurred on the 5th of September, 1774, when delegates from twelve 
British- American provinces met in the hall of the Carpenters' Association in Phila- 
delphia and organized themselves into a Continental Congress, having for their 
object the consideration of the political state of the colonies ; also the devising of 
measures for obtaining relief from oppression, and to unite in efforts to secure for 
themselves and their posterity the free enjoyment of natural and chartered rights 
and liberties in a perfect union with Great Britain. Very few of them had aspira- 
tions vet fur political independence. 

Unexpected events followed in rapid succession. The news which came from 
Boston from time to time of the petty tyranny of Gage and his troops endured by 
the patriotic citizens, and the marvellous fortitude of the afflicted, led Washington 
to exclaim before the Virginia Convention, " I will raise a thousand men, subsist 
them at my own expense, and march with them at the head for the relief of Boston." 

The battle of Lexington, fought on the 19th of April, 1775, was the opening 
act in the great drama of the War for Independence. The bells that were rung on 
that warm April morning — the mercury marking 85 in the shade at noon — tolled 
the knell of British domination in the old thirteen colonies. 

On the Green at Lexington stands a monument erected to the memory of 
the first patriots who fell in defense of American independence ; on this is in- 
scribed the following : 

" Sacred to the Liberty and Rights of Mankind ! ! ! The Freedom and Inde- 
pendence of America. — Sealed with the Blood of Her Sons. — This Monument is 
erected by the inhabitants of Lexington under the patronage and at the expense of 
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts." * * * * 

The war begun at Lexington that morning, was seconded at Concord at the 
middle of the forenoon, and at meridian the same day British power began to wane, 
when British regulars made a hasty retreat before an inferior number of provincial 
militia. 

The Massachusetts Committee of Safety sent a circular to all the towns of the 
province calling on the people to " hasten and arrange by all possible means the 
enlistment of men to form the army, and send them forward to headquarters at 
Cambridge." 

The patriots determined on aggressive movements to weaken the British 
power on the continent. It was believed that the ministry intended a scheme for 
separating New Fngland from the rest of the colonies by a military occupation of 
the Hudson Valley and Lake Champlain, the latter, the " Indian door of the 
country," opening between the Hudson and the St. Lawrence. 




v 




GEN. GEOPxGE WASHINGTON 



Fort Ticonderoga was captured by the American troops under Col. Ethan 
Allen, the ioth of May, 1775. 

The Battle of Bunker Hill, fought on the 17th of January following, compelled 
the withdrawal of the British troops, and they passed over the water to Boston, 
never again to appear on the mainland of Massachusets. 

Washington arrived at Cambridge on the morning of July 2d and took com- 
mand of the army on the following morning. He arranged his army in three grand 
divisions, and at once began the erection of fortifications, and ere many months 
passed he was master of the situation. 

" If they retain possession of the Heights," said Admiral Shuldam, "I cannot 
keep a ship in the harbor." It was therefore determined to drive the Americans 
from their redoubts. 

Twenty- four hundred veterans were placed under the command of Lord 
Percy and ordered to drive the Americans from their intrenched hills. A night 
was selected for the attack, but that afternoon a violent storm of wind and rain 
came up from the south, which increased to a gale. Some of the British vessels 
were driven ashore, and the storm prevented any further movements by the enemy. 
A council of war was called, and it was determined to evacuate Boston. This was 
delayed until Sunday, the 17th. On Saturday, the 16th, Washington seized and 
fortified Nook Hill, by which he held the British completely at his mercy, and on 
the following morning the British sailed out of Boston harbor. For some ten days 
the fleet lay at anchor in Nantucket Roads and then sailed away. " Neither hell, 
Hull nor Halifax," wrote a British officer, " can offer a worse shelter than Boston." 
Of the three, Halifax proved to be the point of destination, although Boston was to 
them no doubt, figurative of the first. Washington had ordered five regiments of 
infantry and a part of the artillery to New York the day after the evacuation. 
When the fleet sailed, the remainder of the army followed with the exception of five 
regiments. Washington left Boston for New York on April 4, fully impressed 
with the idea that the objective point of the British was New York. 

PREPARATIONS FOR THE DEFENSE OF NEW YORK HARBOR. 
Early in January, 1776, General Charles Lee, whose rank in the American army 
was next to that of Washington, urged a plan of his own to secure New York, 
which was believed at that time to be threatened. Lee's instructions were to 
endeavor to enlist troops in Connecticut and New Jersey, " such volunteers as are 
willing to join you, and can be expeditiously raised, repair to the city of New York, 
etc." On his way from Cambridge, General Lee stopped long enough in Connecti- 
cut to enlist twelve hundred men, and reached New York with his recruits on 
February 4. On reaching the provincial boundary he was met by delegates from 
the Provincial Congress begging him to go no further. The captain of the Asia 
man-of-war, at anchor off the city, with Tryon the royal Governor on board, had 
threatened to destroy the city if he should enter. Lee paid no attention to their 
hostile threats, and on his arrival in New York dispossessed the local Committee of 
Safety of all authority, Congress appointing in its place, at his suggestion, three 
of their own number to confer with him in regard to the best means of defense. 
Notwithstanding the obstacles which confronted him, Lee believed it possible 
to defend the entrance to New York harbor by fortifying all the approaches. 
Washington did not deem it expedient, but the Continental Congress had resolved 



that it must be held, and he, desiring to obey the order of Congress with scrupu- 
lous exactness, promised his utmost exertions under every disadvantage. The 
disadvantages were, indeed, very great, and owing to the limited time for 
preparation, seemed almost insurmountable. It was necessary to be on the 
defensive at so many points, so many fortifications were necessary, and so many 
men to garrison them properly. Lee projected the fortifications on the comprehen- 
sive scale demanded by the situation. The most important of these were to be on 
Long Island, stretching across from Wallabout Bay to Gowanus Creek. There 
were to be others on Long Island opposite Hell Gate, to guard against a 
movement through Long Island Sound ; at King's Bridge, where Manhattan 
Island almost touched the mainland, and at various places along the shores of 
the East River and the Hudson. Hardly had Lee projected these works before 
he was ordered to South Carolina to defend Fort Moultrie. He was suc- 
ceeded by Gen. Greene who continued with the same activity and determination, 
the defensive operations, being in daily expectation of the appearance of the 
British in the harbor Immediately on the arrival of Washington a thousand men 
were sent to Governor's Island, where extensive fortifications were erected. Every- 
thing possible was done to obstruct the two channels by which East River com- 
municates with the inner bay. 

From Governor's island to the New York side, vessels were firmly anchored 
with sharpened timbers projecting from them. There, too, hulks were sunk to 
increase the difficulty of forcing a passage. This precaution had also been taken 
on the Brooklyn side of Governor's Island, and the channel was defended by 
batteries on Brooklyn Heights and Red Hook, as well as by the batteries upon 
Governor's Island. 

The present area of Brooklyn had at that time a population numbering between 
three and four thousand, and these were scattered over the entire territory, cluster- 
ing a little thicker around the ferry and the tavern near it, around the old Dutch 
church which stood in the middle of the Jamaica Road (now Fulton Street) ; 
another church in Bushwick, later known as Williamsburg, and around Bedford 
Four Corners, not far from where the present Bedford Avenue intersects Fulton 
Avenue. These settlements included but a small portion of the population. The 
rest were scattered about on the farms around Flatbush, the village of Brooklyn, 
and the Gowanus neighborhood. 

Field says:" The lines which defended the peninsular upon which the two 
villages of Brooklyn church and Brooklyn ferry were erected, were more imposing 
in appearance than formidable for resistance." 

In consequence of the deep indenture of the land by Gowanus creek and the 
mill-ponds connected with it on the south, and by Wallabout Bay and Remsen's 
mill-pond, then covering the site of City Park on the north, a water front of 
more than three miles was guarded by a line of entrenchments less than a mile 
and a half in extent. The low ground on the Wallabout was defended by a wide 
ditch, filled by the tide, the channel having been excavated from the head of 
Wallabout Creek, near the junction of Raymond and Tillery Streets, to the foot ot 
the heights near Boliver Street. Its course followed by the low ground between 
Raymond and Navy Streets, through which the water falling on the adjacent hills 
was drained. The earth from the ditch was formed into a breastwork, /raised 
with sharp stakes set firmly into the bank, crossing each other and projecting 



forward at an angle which would bring their points to the level of the breast of 
the assailant. From the east end of the ditch, a breastwork similarly defended, 
led up the face of the hill to Fort Putnam, on the site of Washington Park. 

Fort Putnam — The strong redoubt known by this name, was an earthwork 
defended by a ditch and a broad area of abatis in front, formed of the tall forest 
trees which, until that time, had covered the site. The woods had extended down 
the slope as far as the present junction of Clinton and Flatbush Avenues on the 
west, and almost to the Jamaica road on the south, but they were now felled, over 
many acres, with their tops pointing outwards, and presented a tangled mass of 
sharpened branches interwoven with the brushwood, that rendered the passage 
of a body of troops nearly impossible. 

Fort Putnam mounted five heavy guns, and occupied a height extending 
south of De Kalb Avenue, commanding the Wallabaut Bridge Road, Fort Green 
Lane and most of the low ground in front, as far as Grand Avenue. It was, how- 
ever, unfortunately overlooked by an eminence, distant about six hundred yards 
to the south-east, near the crossing of Clinton and De Kalb Avenues. 

Johnston says: "To defend the approach between the bay and the marsh, 
the engineers laid out three principal forts and two redoubts, with breastworks 
connecting them. * * * On the left rose the high ground now known as Fort 
Green Place or Washington Park, one hundred feet above the sea level, and on 
the right, between the main road and the marsh, were lower elevations on lands 
then owned by Rutgert Van Brunt and Johannes De Bevoise. * * * Two 
of the works were erected on the right of the road and received the names of 
Fort Green and Fort Box ; three were on the left, and were known as the Oblong 
Redoubt, Fort Putman, and the redoubt on its left." 

Fort Box — Field says : " South of Freeke's mill-pond, on a low sand hill 
overlooking the passage between Freeke's and Denton's mill-ponds — where the 
Port Road, after crossing the dam of the former to the west side of the pond, 
formed a curve of nearly half the circumference of the knoll — a redoubt mounting 
four guns had been constructed to command the crossing. This hill, after the 
destruction of the redoubt by the British had rendered the site of the fortification 
doubtful, was known as Fort Boerum ; but at this period it was called Fort Box, in 
honor, probably, of Major Box, the officer who commanded at that part of the 
lines." 

Johnston says : " That it stood on the right of the line, is beyond question. 
Thus, the letter of a spectator of the battle says : ' Our lines fronted the east. On 
the left, near the lowest part of the above described bay (Wallabout) was Fort Put- 
nam, near the middle of Fort Green, and towards the creek, Fort Box.' In his 
order of June I, General Green directs five companies to ' take post upon the right 
in Fort Box.' * * * The work appears to have been of a diamond shape, and 
was situated on or near the line of Pacific Street, a short distance above Bond." 

Fort Green — "About three hundred yards to the left of Fort Box," says 
Johnston, " a short distance above Bond street, between State and Schermerhorn, 
stood Fort Green, star shaped, mounting six guns, and provided with well and 
magazines. Colonel Little, its commander, describes it as the largest of the works 
on Long Island, and this statement is corroborated by the fact that its garrison 
consisted of an entire regiment, which was not the case with the other forts, and 
that it was provided with nearly double the number of pikes. It occupied an im- 



5 

portant position on one of the small hills, near the centre of that part of the line 
lying southwest of Washington Park, and its guns commanded the approach by 
the Jamaica highway. Being the principal work on the line, the engineers, or 
possibly Little's regiment, named it after their brigade commander." 

Oblong Redoubt— Still further to the left, and on the other side of the 
road, a small circular redoubt called ' Oblong Redoubt,' was thrown up on what 
was then a piece of rising ground, at the corner of I)e Kalb and Hudson Avenues. 
This redoubt had very nearly direct command of the road, and in connection with 
Fort Green, was depended upon to defend the centre of the line. From the 
Oblong Redoubt the line ascended northeastly to the top of the hill included in 
Washington Park, where the fourth in the chain of works was erected. This was 
Fort Putnam. 

Redoubt on the Left — At the eastern termination of the hill, a short 
distance from Fort Putnam, and on a lower grade, stood the last of the works, 
which is identified in the orders and letters of the day as the "redoubt on the left." 
It was a small affair and occupied a point at about the middle of the present 
Cumberland Street, nearly midway between Willoughby and Myrtle Avenues, but 
in 1776 the site was twenty feet higher and appeared as a well-defined spur extend- 
ing out from Fort Putnam. 

Corkscrew Fort and Cobble Hill— " Within the lines of the entrench- 
ments" says Field, "two other fortifications had been constructed to command 
important points. One of these was erected upon a conical hill called Ponkiesberg, 
which rose in such prominent and well-defined outline from the nearby plane 
surface, as to excite the query if it was not the work of human hands. It occupied 
the western half of the block bounded by Atlantic, Pacific, Court and Clinton 
Streets, and its elevation above the present grade was from sixty to eighty feet." 

"During the War of 181 2 another redoubt was erected upon this hill and 
called Fort Swift, but at the period of the Revolution it was known as Corkscrew 
Fort and Cobble Hill." — American Archives, I, 418. 

" The work mounted four guns, and from its central interior position could 
have prevented the enemy from securing a foothold on the peninsular in the rear or 
flank of the main line in case they effected a landing back of Red Hook or crossed 
Gowanus Creek above." — Johnston. 

Redoubt at the Mill — Near the corner of the present De Graw and 
Bond Streets, a small battery or breastwork in the form of a right angle, mounting 
one gun, was thrown up to cover the narrow passage over a mill dam which here 
crossed Gowanus Creek. It stood at the extremity of a long, low sand hill and 
the dam connected this point with a tongue of land on the opposite side, on which 
two mills were built, known as the upper or yellow and lower mills. The upper 
mill was immediately opposite, the redoubt, and it was here that the Port Road 
came down to the edge of the creek. 

Red Hook — Fort Defiance — This work was originally a single water 
battery, mounting four eighteen-pounders, en barbette, to prevent the passage of 
ships east of Governor's Island, as well as to keep the enemy from landing at the 
southern extremity of the peninsular. Washington speaks of it as being " a small 
but exceedingly strong fort." It was located near the intersection of present Con- 
over and Van Dyke Streets, south of Atlantic Docks. 

FORT Stirling— " The largest fortification built on Long Island," says 



Field, " was erected upon the heights overlooking the East River, its guns sweeping 
the channel between Governors Island and Brooklyn, as well as the whole width 
of the river. It was star-shaped and covered an area of two acres, near the 
junction of Pierrepont and Hicks Streets. Remains of a fortification, supposed to 
occupy its site, were visible within the memory of many persons now living. 
Eight heavy guns were mounted upon its breastwork and covered the approach by 
land along the low ground from Atlantic to Hamilton Avenue/' 

THE ARMY OF DEFENSE. 

Continuing, Field says: "To defend these interior lines in front of the village 
of Brooklyn church, a force of eight thousand men was the smallest to which they 
could have been entrusted with any hope of success. In addition to this, the 
exterior lines would require as large a number of troops to hold them for a day 
against only an equal number of the enemy. All the force which Washington had 
at his disposal on August 8, to meet these demands and to provide for the 
exigencies of his position in New York, amounted to only seventeen thousand two 
hundred and twenty-five men, of whom three thousand six hundred and sixty- 
eight were sick, and unfit for duty. These raw undisciplined troops were extended 
over a line of defense reaching from King's Bridge on Manhattan Island, to Bedford 
on Long Island, or more than seventeen miles in length. The urgent representa- 
tions of Washington to the governors of Pennsylvania, Maryland and the New 
England States, that he was in reality defending the gate to each of their capitals, 
brought nearly ten thousand additional militia to his camp during the succeeding 
fortnight. But of the twenty-seven thousand men now in camps on Long and 
Manhattan Islands, seven thousand were in the hospitals or unfit for service from 
illness. 

Up to within a few days of the battle, General Greene and his men continued 
work upon the defenses at Long Island. Greene had been promoted to the rank of 
major general on the 9th, and his old brigade on Long Island given to Brigadier- 
General John Nixon, of Massachusetts. For some time before the battle, Colonel 
Edward Hand's Pennsylvania regiment of riflemen, then enrolling five hundred and 
fifty men, was the only force occupying the broad area of territory between the 
Brooklyn lines and the New York Bay. Brigadier-General Heard's brigade of 
five New Jersey regiments was ordered to Long Island to reinforce Greene. His 
division now consisting of these two brigades — Nixon's and Heard's — numbered, 
August 15, two thousand nine hundred men fit for duty. Parts of two Long 
Island regiments under Col. Josiah Smith and Col. Jeronimus Remsen, joined him 
about this date, and Col. Gay's Connecticut levies, who had been stationed on the 
east side of the river since August 1 , increased this number to something over thirty- 
five hundred. The total number engaged in the defense of Long Island on the day of 
the battle, was not far from ten thousand, according to the most authentic reports. 
Among those mentioned who held commands on that day were, Col. Samuel Miles, 
Col. Samuel J. Atlee, Lieut. Col. Nicholas Lutz, Lieut. Col. Peter Kachlein (some- 
times spelt Kichline) of Pennsylvania; Col. William Smallwood, of Maryland, with 
Mordecai Gist as first major, and Col. John Haslet of Delaware. Of the Connecti- 
cut troops were Gen. Samuel Holden Parsons, Col. Jedediah Huntington, Col. 
Samuel Wyllys, and Col. Lasher of the New York militia. 

In the midst of his duties Gen Greene was taken sick and obliged to relinquish 



his command. " I am very sorry " he wrote Washington on the i 5th, " that I am 
under the necessity of acquainting you that I am confined to my bed with a 
raging fever." On the 20th, Washington issued the following order to GeneraJ 
Sullivan to take command on Long Island during the absence of Gen. Greene: 
" General Sullivan is to take command upon Long Island till General Greene's 
state of health will permit him to resume it, and Brigadier Lord Stirling is to take 
charge of General Sullivan's division till he returns to it again." 

General Sullivan, who had recently returned from Canada, at once assumed 
command, but was superceded four days later by General Israel Putnam. Such 
was the condition of affairs on the American side on the eve of the great battle. 



LANDING OF THE BRITISH TROOPS ON 
LONG ISLAND. 

In June, 1776, General Howe sailed with his recruited army from Halifax for 
New York, and arrived at Sandy Hook near the close of that month. On the 
8th of July, he landed nine thousand men on Staten Island, and there awaited 
the arrival of his brother, Admiral Howe, with his fleet bearing British regulars 
and German hirelings. These and the broken forces of Clinton and Parker, from 
the Carolinas, soon joined General Howe, and by the middle of August the com- 
bined land and naval force of the British, numbering almost thirty thousand men, 
prepared to crush the American army and bring the rebellion to an end. At Hali- 
fax, Lord Howe declared : " Peace will be made within ten days after my arrival." 

"The morning of the twenty-second of August '' says Field, " dawned with 
tropical brilliancy, upon a scene of unequaled interest to the spectators of both 
armies. Long before the sun had risen, the British army had been under arms, 
and from the various camps the entire force was marching, with the loud strains 
of martial music, to the place of embarkation. The men-of-war had quit their 
anchorage and were standing up the bay under easy sail, with open ports and guns 
ready for action. At the landing on Staten Island, seventy-five fleet boats, 
attended by three bateaux and two galleys, received four thousand of the Hessian 
troops on board. Another corps of five thousand men was embarked upon the 
transports, which now took up their position under the guns of the men-of-war, 
attended by ten bateaux to aid in their landing. 

" The scene was not less magnificent than appalling. The greatest naval and 
millitary force which had ever left the shores of England, was now assembled in 
the harbor of New York; for the mightest power upon the globe had put forth its 
greatest strength to crush its rebellious colonies. Thirty-seven men-of-war 
guarded a transport fleet of four hundred vessels, freighted with enormous trains 
of artillery and every conceivable munition of war, with troops of artillery and 
cavalry horses, and provisions for the sustenance of the thirty-five thousand 
soldiers and sailors who had been borne across the ocean in their hulls." 

Lord Howe had matured his plans and was fully informed of the strength of 
the American army and the condition of the lines at every point. In a letter of 
July 7, to Germaine, he says : " I met with Governor Tryon on board of ship at the 
Hook, and many other gentlemen fast friends to the government, attending him, 
from whom I have had the fullest information of the state of the rebels, who are 



8 

numerous and very advantageously posted, with strong intrenchments, both upon 
Long Island and New York, with more than one hundred pieces of cannon for the 
defense of the town toward the sea," 

The landing of the British troops was successfully effected on the morning of 
August 22. About nine o'clock A. M., four thousand light infantry, with forty 
pieces of cannon crossed over from Staten Island in flat boats, under the guns of 
the Rainbow, which was anchored within the Narrows, near the present site of 
Fort Lafayette, while the frigates Phcenix, Greyhound and Rose, with the 
bomb ketches Thunder and Carcass took their stations close into the bay to cover 
the landing, which took place at Denise's ferry (now Fort Hamilton) in the town 
of New Utrecht An hour after the landing of this first division, a second, com- 
prising English and Hessian troops, left the British ships and transports, and in 
regular rows of boats under the command of Commodore Hotham, passed over 
and landed in the bend of Gravesend Bay at what is now known as Bath Beach, on 
the farms of Isaac Cortleyou and Adrean Van Brunt, between the Cortleyou Road 
and the Bath Road, anciently called De Bruyn Road. The troops were landed 
without opposition, and before noon, fifteen thousand, with guns and baggage, had 
been safely transferred to Long Island. 

" Cornwallis," says Johnston, " was immediately detached with the reserves. 
Donop's corps of chasseurs and grenadiers, and six field-pieces, to occupy the 
village of Flatbush, but with orders not to attempt to pass beyond if he found it 
held by the rebels, and the main force encamped nearer the coast, from the 
Narrows to Flatlands. As Cornwallis advanced, Col. Hand and his two hundred 
riflemen hurried down from their outpost camp above Utrecht, and keeping close 
to the enemy's front, marched part of the way, alongside of them in the edge of 
the woods, but avoided an open fight in the field with superior numbers." 

Lieut. -Col. Chambers, of Hand's riflemen, says : " On the morning of August 
23, there were nine thousand British troops on New Utrecht Plains. The guard 
alarmed our small camp, and we assembled at flagstaff. We marched our forces, 
about two hundred in number, to New Utrecht, to watch the movements of the 
enemy. When we came on the hill we discovered a party of them advancing 
toward us. We prepared to give them a warm reception, when an imprudent 
fellow fired and they immediately halted and turned toward Flatbush. The main 
body also moved along the great road toward the same place. Capt. Hamilton 
and twenty men of the battalion fell back on the road in advance, burning grain 
and stacks of hay and killing cattle, which he did very cleverly." 



DESCRIPTION OF THE SURROUNDING COUNTRY. 

Johnston continues: "The section of Long Island which the enemy now 
occupied was a broad, low plain stretching northward from the coast from four to 
six miles, and eastward a still further distance. Scattered over its level surface 
were four villages, surrounded with farms. Nearest to the Narrows, and nearly a 
mile from the coast, stood New Utrechl ; another mile southeast of this was 
Gravesend; northeast from Gravesend, nearly three miles, the road led through 
Flatlands, and directly north from Flatlands, and about half way to Brooklyn 
Church, lay Flatbush. Between the plain and the Brooklyn lines ran a ridge of 



hills which extended from New York bay midway through the island to its eastern 
extremity. The ridge varied in height from one hundred to one hundred and fifty 
feet above the sea, and from the plain it rose somewhat abruptly from forty to eighty 
feet, but fell off more gradually in its descent on the other side. Its entire sur- 
face was covered with a dense growth of woods and thickets, and to an enemy 
advancing below it presented a continuous barrier, a huge, natural abattis, 
impassible to artillery, where, with proportionate numbers, a successful defense 
could be sustained. 

" The roads across the ridge passed through its natural depressions, of which 
there were four within a distance of six miles from the harbor. The main high- 
way, or Jamaica road -that which led up from Brooklyn ferry, now Fulton street- 
after passing through Bedford, kept on still north of the hills, and crossed them at 
the 'Jamaica Pass,' about four miles from the fortified line. From this branched 
three roads leading to the villages in the plain. The most direct was that to Flat- 
bush, which cut through the ridge a mile and a half from the works. Three- 
quarters of a mile to the left, towards the Jamaica Pass, a road from Bedford led 
also to Flatbush, and near the coast ran the Gowanus road to the Narrows. 
Where the Red Lion Tavern stood on this road, about three miles from Brooklyn 
Church, a narrow lane, known as the Martense lane, now marking the southern 
boundary of Greenwood cemetery, diverged to the left through a hollow in the 
ridge and connected with roads on the plain." 



OPERATIONS OF THE ENEMY PRECEDING THE 
BATTLE OF THE TWENTY-SEVENTH. 

When word of the enemy's landing reached Sullivan and Washington the 
troops were immediately put under arms. The commander-in-chief had already 
been prepared for the intelligence by a dispatch from Governor Livingston of New 
Jersey, the night before, to the effect that he had certain information from the 
British camp that they were then embarking troops and would move to the attack 
on the following day. 

Livingston sent a spy to Staten Island on the night of the 20th, who brought 
word that the British were embarking, and would attack on Long Island and up 
the North river. Washington received the information during the storm on the 
following evening, and immediately sent word to Heath at King's Bridge, that the 
enemy were upon " the point of striking the long expected stroke." The next 
morning, the 22d, he wrote again instructing Heath to pick out "eight hundred 
or a thousand light, active men, and good marksmen," ready to move rapidly 
whenever they were most needed ; and he promised to send him some artillery, 
" if," he continues, " we have not other employment upon hand, which General 
Putnam, who is this instant come in, seems to think we assuredly shall, this day, 
as there is considerable embarkation on board of the enemy's boats. — Mass. 
I fist. Sac. Coll., volume for 1878. — The Heath Correspondence. 

As the report came in that the enemy intended to march at once upon Sulli- 
van, Washington promptly sent him a reinforcement of six regiments, which 
included Miles' and Atlee's from Stirling's brigade, Chester's and Silliman's from 
Wadsworth's, and probably Lasher's and Drake's from Scott's, numbering 



together some eighteen hundred men. They crossed with light spirits and were 
marched to alarm-posts; Miles' two battalions went on to the Bedford Pass; Silli- 
man's was ordered down into " a woody hill near Red Hook, to prevent any more 
troops from landing thereabout." Hand's riflemen, supported by one or two of 
the Eastern regiments, watched and annoyed the Hessians under Donop at Flat- 
bush, and detachments were sent to guard the lower roads near the Red Lion. 

Howe established his quarters at New Utrecht and dispatched Lord Corn- 
wallis with the reserves, Col. Donop's corps of Hessian yagers and grenadiers, 
with six field pieces, to Flatbush, and with instructions not to attack the place if 
he should find it occupied by the enemy. Taking his position at Gravesend, 
Cornwallis pushed forward Donop s corps to Flatbush, which the latter reached 
towards evening, the three hundred American riflemen who had occupied it retir- 
ing before him, " a few cannon balls being sent after them " to accelerate their 
steps. 

General Sullivan, in his account of the enemy's movements, says: "On 
Friday, 23d, a party of British took possession of Flatbush, which brought on a hot 
fire from our troops, who are advantageously posted in the woods and on every 
eminence. An advanced party are encamped a little to the N. W. of Flatbush 
Church, and have a battery somewhat west of Jer'h Vanderbilt's, whence they fire 
briskly on our people, who often approach and discharge their rifles within two 
hundred yards of their works. One of our gunners threw a shell into Mr. Axtell's 
house where a number of officers were at dinner, but we have not heard what 
damage it did. 

"August 23. This afternoon the enemy formed and attempted to pass the 
wood by Bedford (Flatbush) and a smart fire between them and the riflemen 
ensued. A number of musketry came up to the assistance of the riflemen, whose 
fire, with that of the field pieces, caused a retreat of the enemy. Our men followed 
to the house of Judge Lefferts (where a number of them had taken lodgings), 
drove them out and burned the contiguous buildings. We have driven them half a 
mile from their former station." 

Lieut.-Col. Chambers says : " Strong guards were maintained all day on the 
flanks of the enemy, and our regiment and the Hessian yagers kept up a severe 
firing, with a loss of but two wounded on our side. We laid a few Hessions low 
and made them retreat out of Flatbush. Our people went into the town and 
brought the goods out of the burning houses. The enemy liked to have lost their 
field pieces. Capt. Steele acted bravely. We would certainly have had the 
cannon had it not been for some foolish person calling a retreat. The main 
body of the foe returned to town, and when our lads came back they told us of 
their exploits." 

In recognition of their splendid behavior in their first engagement with the 
enemy, Gen. Sullivan issued the following congratulatory order : " The General 
returns his thanks to the brave officers and soldiers who, with so much spirit and 
intrepidity, repulsed the enemy and defeated their designs of taking possession of 
the woods near our lines. He is now convinced that the troops he has the honor 
to command will not, in point of bravery, yield to any troops in the universe. 
The cheerfulness with which they do their duty and the patience with which they 
undergo fatigue, evince exalted sentiments of freedom and love of country and 
gives him most satisfactory evidence that when called upon they will prove them- 
selves worthy of that freedom for which they are now contending." 



Washington visited Sullivan on the morning of the 23d and made a thorough 
inspection of the troops and of the condition of affairs. In his orders to the 
army he formally announced the landing of the British, and reminded his troops 
that the moment was approaching on which their honor and success and the 
safety of the country depended. 

On the 24th, as has been previously stated, a change was made in the chief 
command on Long Island. Sedgwick, in his Life of Livingston, says : " On 
General Greene's being sick, Sullivan took the command, who was wholly un- 
acquainted with the ground or country. Some movements being made which the 
General did not approve entirely, and finding a great force going to Long Island, 
he sent over Putnam, who had been over occasionally ; this gave some disgust, so 
that Putnam was directed to soothe and soften as much as possible." 

Major Abner Benedict says: "The General was received with loud cheers, 
and his presence inspired universal confidence." 

Sullivan continued as second in command. In a letter written at a subsequent 
date, containing a report of his operations, he vaguely hints that the disaster 
which finally overtook the army might have been averted had his suggestions 
been carried out. 

On the 25th of August, the day on which Gen. Putnam took command within 
the American lines, Von Heister, in command of the British auxiliaries, with Gen. 
Knyphausen and two full brigades of Hessians, landed at New Utrecht and 
advanced on the middle road towards Flatbush. The invading army on Long 
Island now numbered about twenty-one thousand well disciplined and experienced 
troops, supported by a large Meet in the bay." 

A British officer, in a letter of August 4, 1776, says: "We are now in 
expectation of attacking the fellows very soon, and if I may be allowed to judge, 
there never was an army in better spirits nor in better health." 

Putnam received instructions from Washington the same day, to form a proper 
line of defense around his encampment and works on the most advantageous 
ground, to guard the passes through the wooded hills ; to have a brigadier of the 
day constantly upon the lines that he might be on the spot to command. Explicit 
directions to guard against surprise by compelling all the men on duty to remain 
at their camps or quarters, and be ready to turn out at a moment's warning. In 
accordance with the instructions to Putnam, General Lord Stirling was assigned to 
duty as brigadier. 

Washington again crossed to Long Island on the 26th, and made sure that 
everything was in readiness for the expected attack. A writer in the South 
Carolina Gazette, says: " The evening preceding the action, General Washington, 
with a number of general officers, went down to view the motions of the enemy, 
who were encamped at Flatbush." On the same day additional regiments were 
sent over from New York. Among these were Haslet's Delaware battalion, 
Smallwood's Marylanders, two or three independent companies from Maryland, 
and one hundred picked men from Durkee's Connecticut Continentals, under the 
command of Lieut. -Colonel Thomas Knowlton. Johnston gives the entire available 
force on Long Island on the eve of battle as seven thousand. Lossing says : "The 
number of the effective American troops on Long Island did not exceed eight 
thousand." 

The various commands consisted of Cols. Moses Little and Jonathan Ward, 



^%^ 



\ 





GEN. ISRAEL PUTNAM 



12 

of Massachusetts ; Cols. James Mitchell Varnum and Daniel Hitchcock, of Rhode 
Island; Cols. Jedediah Huntington, Samuel Wyllys, John Tyler, John Chester, 
G. S. Silliman, Fisher Gay and Knowlton's " Rangers," from Connecticut ; Cols. 
John Lasher and Samuel Drake, of New York ; Cols. Josiah Smith and Jeronemus 
Remsen, of Long Island ; Cols. Ephraim Martin, David Forman, Philip Johnston, 
Silas Newcomb and Phillip Van Cortlandts, of New Jersey ; Cols. Edward 
Hand, Samuel Miles, Samuel John Atlee ; Lieut. -Cols. Nicholas Lutz, Peter 
Kachelin, and Major Hay, of Pennsylvania; Col. John Haslet, of Delaware, and 
Col. William Smallwood, of Maryland. Among the artillery officers were Cap- 
tains Newell and Treadwell ; Captain-Lieutenants, John Johnston and Benajah 
Carpenter; Lieutenant Lillie, and " Cadet " John Callender. 

On the night of the 26th, the various regiments and detachments on guard at 
the American outposts numbered only about twenty-eight hundred men. This 
was the force assigned to guard the several passes or openings through the range 
of hills in the rear of Brooklyn. The first of these was " Martense lane, already- 
described, extending along the southern border of the present Greenwood Cem- 
etery, from the old Flatbush and New Utrecht road to the coast road, which ran 
along the Gowanus bay, nearly on a line of the present Third avenue. The 
second and most important was the Flatbush Pass and road, at the junction of 
the Brooklyn and Flatbush turnpike with the Coney Island road, within the limits 
of Prospect Park. The defenses of this pass were, first, a sort of crescent- 
shaped intrenchment, just within the village of Flatbush, and lying diagonally 
across the main street, a little south of Judge Martense's house, with a ditch of 
considerable depth on its northerly side ; and secondly, a small redoubt mounting 
a few small pieces of artillery at the " Valley Grove," to guard the passage 
through the Port road and by the direct route to Brooklyn. A big white oak tree 
which formed one of the boundary marks between Brooklyn and Flatbush, was 
felled across the road as an obstacle to the enemy's advance. 

The third, or Bedford Pass, was at the instersection of the old Clove road 
with the Flatbush and Brooklyn boundary line, half a mile south of the hamlet of 
Bedford. Three miles east of Bedford, on the old Jamaica turnpike, and just at 
the entrance of the Cemetery of the Evergreens, was a road through the hills, 
known as the Jamaica Pass. 

The natural line of defense afforded by this range of heavily wooded hills 
could not, with the small force at the disposal of the American generals, be 
properly occupied by any continuous line of troops. Hitchcock's and Little's 
Continental regiments, and Johnston's New Jersey battalion were posted at the 
Flatbush Pass. The two former were commanded by Lieut. -Cols. Cornell and 
Henshaw ; Knowlton and his rangers were also sent to this point. The Coast 
road in the vicinity of the Red Lion Tavern was guarded by Hand's riflemen, half 
of Atlee's musketry, detachments of New York troops and part of Lutz's Penn- 
sylvanians, under Major Burd. At the Bedford Pass were stationed Col. Samuel 
Wylly's Connecticut Continentals and Col. Chester's Connecticut regiment, under 
the command of Lient.-Col Solomon Wills. To the left, a short distance beyond, 
Colonel Miles was encamped, with perhaps five hundred men on duty. Sullivan's 
orders of August 25 give the detail which was to mount for picket on the follow- 
ing morning. This detail, therefore, was the one on duty on the night of the 
26th. The order was : "Eight hundred (men), properly officered, to relieve the 



13 

troops on Bedford road tomorrow morning, six field officers to attend with this 
party. The same number to relieve those on Bush (Flatbush) road, and an equal 
number, those stationed towards the Narrows. A picket of three hundred men 
under the command of a field officer, six captains, twelve subalterns to be posted 
at the wood on the west side of the creek every night till further orders." There 
were no horsemen in Washington's army here except a few Long Island troopers 
from Kings and Queens counties, and these were now engaged in driving off 
stock out of reach of the enemy. 

The difficulty of maintaining an extensive line of defense with an entirely 
inadequate force is clearly set forth in Gen. Sullivan's letter to Congress, under 
date of October 25, 1777. He says; "I know it has been generally reported 
that I commanded on Long Island when the action happened there. This is by 
no means true. Gen. Putnam had taken the command from me four days 
before the action. Lord Stirling commanded the main body without the lines. 
I was to have commanded the main body within the lines. I was uneasy 
about a road through which I had often foretold that the enemy would come, 
but could not persuade others to be of my opinion. I went to the hill near Flat- 
bush to reconnoitre, and with a picket of 400 men was surrounded by the enemy, 
who had advanced by the very road I had foretold and which I paid horsemen $50 
for patrolling by night while I had the command, as I had no foot for the purpose. 
What resistance I made with these four hundred men against the British army I 
leave for the officers who were with me to declare. Let it suffice for me to say 
that the opposition of this small party lasted from half past nine to twelve o'clock. 
The reason of so few troops being on Long Island was because it was generally 
supposed that the enemy's landing there was a feint to draw our troops thither, 
that they might the more easily possess themselves of New York. I often urged, 
both by word and writing, that as the enemy had doubtless both these objects in 
view, they would first try for Long Island, which commanded the other; and then 
New York, which was completely commanded by it, would fall of course. But in 
this I was unhappy enough to differ from almost every officer in the army, till the 
event proved my conjectures were just." 



THE SEVERAL ENGAGEMENTS AT FLATBUSH, 
GOWANUS AND BROOKLYN. 

On the evening of the 26th of August, in the impenetrable shadow of the 
woods which crowned the summit and slopes of the Flatbush hills, these few regi- 
ments of raw, undisciplined troops awaited the coming of their foe, whose tents 
and camp fires stretched along the plain beneath them in an unbroken line, from 
Gravesend to Flatlands. 

Stiles, in his description of the battle, says : " The left wing of the British 
army, under Gen. Grant, rested on New York Bay ; the Hessians, under De 
Heister, formed the centre, opposite to Sullivan's position at Flatbush Pass; while 
the right wing, which was designed to bear the brunt of the coming battle, and 
was composed of the choice battalions under Gen. Clinton and Earls Cornwallis 
and Percy, stretched along the eastern foot of the range of hills, from New 
Utrecht to Flatlands, idly skirmishing and occupying the attention of the 



Americans. Gen. Howe, meanwhile, had been informed of the unguarded state 
of the road at Bedford, ' and that it would not be a difficult matter to turn the 
Americans' left flank, obliging them either to risk an engagement or to retire 
under manifest disadvantage.' In view of this fact he adopted the following plan 
of attack, viz.: I. Gen. Grant, with two brigades, one Highland regiment and 
two companies of New York Provincials, was to move forward upon the coast 
road towards Gowanus, while some of the ships of war were to menace New 
York and to operate against the right of the American fortified lines. While the 
attention of the Americans was thus diverted by the threatened danger to the city 
and to their rear, 2. The German troops under De Heister were to force the 
Flatbush Pass and the direct road to Brooklyn, by assault, and 3. At evening 
gun fire, the right wing, under Clinton, Cornwallis and Percy, accompanied by 
Howe himself, was to move in light marching order from Flatbush across the 
country to New Lotts, in order to secure the passes between that place and 
Jamaica and to turn, if possible, the American left. 

" Accordingly, late on the afternoon of the 26th, De Heister and his Hessians 
took post at Flatbush and relieved Lord Cornwallis, who withdrew his division 
(leaving only the Forty-second Regiment) to Flatlands, about two miles southeast 
of Flatbush. At about nine o'clock of the same evening the vanguard of the right 
army, consisting of a brigade of light infantry and the light dragoons, under 
command of Gen. Sir Henry Clinton, moved eastward on the road to New Lotts. 
He was followed by Lord Percy with the artillery and grenadiers, and Lord Corn- 
wallis with a reserve, the Seventy-first Regiment and fourteen field pieces, 
accompanied by the commander-in-chief, Lord Howe. The troops were with- 
drawn under cover of the darkness, and with great caution, from their respective 
encampments, in which the tents were left standing, the fires burning and every 
appearance of actual occupation maintained. The intended route of march was 
known only to a few of the principal officers and, guided by a resident tory, the 
army moved over the country, through fields and by-ways, so silently that their 
footfalls could scarcely be heard at ten rods distance, moving slowly in order to 
give time for the light troops in the advance to secure and occupy all the points of 
the anticipated attack. 

" Passing thus noiselessly along, irresistably sweeping into its grasp every 
human being that it met who might give information to the enemy, the head of 
the column reached the vicinity of Schoonmaker's Bridge, which spans the head 
of a little creek near the village of New Lotts and a short distance southeast of 
the present East New York. (The exact route taken by the British army on this 
eventful morning is a matter of much dispute among those who have most care- 
fully examined the subject, some maintaining that they did not cross Schoon- 
maker's Bridge.) Here was a point of defense of which the British commander 
expected the Americans would avail themselves, and he made his dispositions 
accordingly, throwing out skirmishers and taking such other precautions as 
seemed necessary. To his surprise, the place was found to be entirely unoccupied 
and the country open to the base of the Bushwick hills, where the Jamaica road 
enters upon the plains. Crossing the fields from the New Lotts road in a direct 
course to this point, the army halted at two o'clock on the morning of the 27th, at 
William Howard's Half-way House, which yet stands at the corner of the present 
Broadway and the Jamaica and Brooklyn road. In front of them on this road 



15 

was the Jamaica Pass, a winding defile admirably calculated for defense, and where 
the British expected, as a matter of course, that their passage would be hotly 
contested. 

"The perfect success of the flank movement which Howe was now performing 
demanded that this pass should be turned without risking an engagement 
or even attracting the attention of those who, as it was supposed, defended 
it. Here his tory guides seem to have been at fault and at their recommendation, 
perhaps, he pressed into his service William Howard, the innkeeper, and his son, 
then a lad of fourteen years. Father and son were compelled, at the point of the 
sword, to lead a detachment of the troops around the pass, through a bridle path 
known as the " Rockaway Path," which traversed the present Evergreen Cemetery. 
Much to the surprise of the British generals, the pass which they had so carefully 
flanked was found to be entirely unguarded, and the fact was immediately com- 
municated to the main body then halted on the (East New York) plains. Clinton 
promptly pushed forward a battalion of light infantry to secure the pass, and at 
daybreak he followed with his own command along the Jamaica road and soon 
completely possessed himself of the heights as virtually to decide the fortunes of 
the day. He was followed by Lord Percy with the main body, consisting of the 
Guards, the Second, Third and Fifth Brigades, with ten field pieces, who halted in 
his rear at an hour before daylight. They in turn were followed by the Forty-ninth 
Regiment with four medium twelve-pounders and the baggage, under its own 
escort. 

"Being now in position on the Bushwick hills, where they breakfasted, the 
troops resumed their march along the Jamaica turnpike to Bedford, which they 
reached about half-past eight o'clock, while the Americans were yet unaware that 
they had left Flatlands. Pressing forward now with renewed energy, the head of 
the column by nine o'clock had reached and occupied the junction of the Flatbush 
road and the Jamaica turnpike. The British line now extended from that point to 
Bedford, and at the distance of half a mile from the rear of the Americans, who 
were contesting the possession of the Flatbush hills with De Heister, all uncon- 
scious that the trap had sprung upon them and that they were hemmed in on all 
sides. Thus the battle was lost to the defenders before it was really begun. 

" Almost simultaneously with the march of the right wing, the left, under 
Gen. Grant, had advanced toward Brooklyn, partly by the Coast road and partly 
by way of Martense's lane. (The Coast road referred to was not the present road 
along the verge of the high bank from Yellow Hook to Gowanus, but a road which 
ran along the slopes further inland, nearly on a line with the present Third Avenue.) 
Grant's advance guard struck the American pickets in the vicinity of the Red 
Lion on the morning of the 27th. There was hardly more than an exchange of 
fire with Major Burd's detachment, according to his own report, and he with 
others probably was taken prisoner. 

" Hardly more than a general statement can be made in regard to the attack 
at the pickets on the lower road. A part of them watched Martense's lane where, 
it would appear from Ewing's sketch, Hand's riflemen were posted before being 
relieved. Major Burd's detachment, on the same authority, was probably on the 
direct road to the Narrows, both parties communicating with each other at the 
Red Lion Tavern, which stood near the fork of the roads. Grant's main column 
advanced by the Narrows road, and possibly a part of the enemy came through 



the Martense Lane at about the same time. The skirmish Major Rurd speaks of 
occurred in the vicinity of Thirty-eighth and Fortieth streets, on the Narrows 
road, where former residents used to say the Americans had a picket guard 
stationed. When the enemy came up, firing took place and some men were killed, 
and the firing ' was the first in the neighborhood.' 

*' Word was immediately sent to Gen. Parsons and to Gen. Putnam. On his 
arrival, Parsons found that the guards had fled and that the enemy were through 
the woods on this side of the main hills. Stirling, who was occupying the junction 
of the Gowanus and Port roads, was informed by Putnam in person of the 
enemy's advance, and requested to check them with the two regiments. He 
immediately ordered out Haslet's and Smallwood's battalions, and hurried to the 
scene of action, closely followed by Gen. Parsons, with Col. Huntington's Con- 
necticut Continentals, under Lieut. -Col. Clark ; and Kachlein's Pennsylvania rifle- 
men were soon after started in the same direction. Within half a mile of the Red 
Lion Tavern they came up with Col. Atlee's regiment, slowly retiring before the 
advancing British column, whose front was then just coming into sight through 
the gray dawn of the morning, a little in advance of the present entrance to 
Greenwood Cemetery. The American line of battle was promptly formed across 
the Coast road, reaching from the bay to the crest of the hills which form the 
western boundary of Greenwood Cemetery. Placing Atlee's force in ambush as 
skirmishers in an orchard (Wynant Bennett's orchard), on the south side of the 
Coast or Gowanus road, near its intersection with the present iSth street, Stirling 
at the head of Haslet's and Smallwood's battalions, took his position on the slopes 
of the hills, between 1 8th and 20th streets, a little to the north-west of 'Battle 
Hill,' in Greenwood. Where the present 23d street intersects the avenue there 
was a small bridge on the old road which crossed a ditch or creek, setting up 
from the bay to a low and marshy piece of ground, on the left, looking south ; 
and just the other side of the bridge, the land rose to quite a bluff at the water's 
edge. This was known as • Blockje's Berg ' or ' Bluckie's Barracks." From the 
bluff the low hill fell gradually to the marsh or morass just mentioned, the road 
continuing along between tbem. Right here the approach by the road was 
narrow, and at the corner of 23d street was confined to crossing of the bridge." 

Col. Atlee, in his report, says: "About half after seven the enemy, consisting 
of the fourth and sixth brigades of the British army, composed of the Seven- 
teenth, Fortieth, Forty-sixth, Fifty-fifth, Twenty-third, Forty-fourth, Fifty-Seventh, 
Sixty-fourth and Forty-second regiments, were observed advancing about two and 
a half miles from our lines at Brookline, in regular order, their field artillery in 
front. I then received orders from Lord Stirling to advance with my battalion 
and oppose the enemy's passing a morass or swamp at the foot of a fine rising 
ground, upon which they were first discovered, and thereby give time to our brig- 
age to form upon the heights. This order I immediately obeyed, notwithstanding 
we must be exposed, without any kind of cover, to the great fire of the enemy's 
musketry and field pieces, charged with round and grape shot, and finally situated 
upon the eminence above mentioned, having the entire command of the ground I 
was ordered to occupy. My battalion, although new and never before having the 
opportunity of facing an enemy, sustained their fire until the brigade had formed ; 
but finding we could not possibly prevent their crossing the swamp, I ordered my 
detachment to file off to the left and take post in a wood upon the left of the 



i7 

brigade. Here I looked upon myself advantageously situated, and might be enabled, 
upon the advance of the enemy, to give him a warm reception. In this affair 1 
lost but one soldier, shot with a grapeshot through his throat. 

" I had not taken post in the above mentioned wood but a few minutes when 
I received a reinforcement of two companies of the Delawares, under Captain 
Stedman, with orders from Lord Stirling to file off further to the left and prevent, 
if possible, a body of the enemy observed advancing to flank the brigade. The 
enemy's troops by this time had passed the swamp and formed in line of battle 
opposite ours. A heavy fire, as well from small arms as artillery, ensued with very 
little damage on our side ; what the enemy sustained we could not judge. 
Upon filing off to the left, according to the orders I had received, I espied at the 
distance of about three hundred yards a hill of clear ground, which I judged to 
be a proper situation to oppose the troops ordered to flank us and which I 
determined, if possible, to gain before them. At the foot of this hill a few of 
Huntington's Connecticut regiment that had been upon the picket joined me. 

" In order to gain and secure the hill I ordered the troops to wheel to the 
right and march up the hill abreast. When within about forty yards of the 
summit, we very unexpectedly met a heavy fire from the enemy taken post there 
before us, notwithstanding the forced march I made. The enemy's situation was 
so very advantageous — the back of the hill where they had taken post being 
formed by nature into a breastwork — that had they directed their fire properly or 
been marksmen, they must have cut off the greatest part of my detachment. I 
having, before I advanced the hill, posted a part of my small number along the 
skirt of a wood upon my right, and left a guard at the foot of the hill to prevent 
my being surrounded and my retreat to the brigade, in case of necessity, being cut 
off, the enemy being vastly superior in numbers, their detachment consisting of 
the Twenty-third and Forty-fourth regiments and part of the Seventeenth. 

" Upon receiving the above heavy fire, which continued very warm and they 
secure behind a hill, a small halt was made and the detachment fell back a few 
paces. Here Captain Stedman, with all the Delawares, except Lieutenants Stewart 
and Harney with about sixteen privates, left me, and drew after them some of my 
own. The remainder, after recovering a little from this, their first shock, I ordered 
to advance, at the same time desiring them to reserve their fire and aim aright. 
They immediately, with the resolution of veteran soldiers, obeyed the order. The 
enemy, finding their opponents fast advancing and determined to dispute the 
ground with them, fled with precipitation, leaving behind them twelve killed upon 
the spot and a lieutenant and four privates wounded. In this engagement I lost 
my worthy friend and lieutenant-colonel (Parry), shot through the head, who fell 
without a groan, lighting in defense of his much injured country. In the midst of 
the action I ordered four soldiers to carry him as speedily as possible within the 
lines at Brookline. 

" My brave fellows, flushed with this advantage, were for pushing forward 
after the flying enemy ; but perceiving at about sixty yards from the hill we had 
gained, across a hollow way, a stone fence lined with wood, from behind which we 
might be greatly annoyed, and fearing an ambuscade might be there placed, I 
ordered not to advance further but to maintain the possession of the hill, where 
kind nature had formed a breastwork nearly semi-circular. They halted and 
found, by a heavy fire from the fence, it was lined as I suspected. The fire was 



i8 

as briskly returned, but the enemy, finding it too hot and losing a number of their 
men, retreated to and joined the right wing of their army." 

General Parsons says : " We took possession of a hill about two miles from 
camp and detached Col. Atlee to meet them further on the road. In about sixty 
rods he drew up and received the enemy's fire and gave them a well directed fire 
from his regiment which did great execution, and then retreated to the hill." 

This advantageous site where Stirling had now drawn up his brigade to 
dispute Grant's progress, was the crest of the slope which rose northerly from the 
marsh and low ground around Bluckie's Barracks. Major Douglas, who laid out 
Greenwood Cemetery, located Stirling's position on what was known as Wykoff's 
hill, between Eighteenth and Twentieth streets, and tradition and all the original 
documents confirm this selection. This was a lower elevation in the general slope 
from the main ridge towards the bay. Stirling drew his men up in a straight line 
from the road towards the hill tops, and beyond this on the same line or more in 
advance was Parsons. In Col. Reed's account of the battle, he says : " My lord, 
who loved discipline, made a mistake which probably affected us a great deal. He 
would not suffer his regiments to break, but kept them in lines and on open ground. 
The enemy, on the other hand, possessed themselves of the woods, fences, etc., and 
having the advantage of numbers — perhaps ten to one — our troops lost everything 
but honor. His personal bravery was very conspicuous." 

Here was an elevation or ridge favorable for defense and here Stirling pro- 
posed to make a stand. On the right, next to the road, he posted Smallwood's 
battalion, under Major Gist; further along up the hillside were the Delawares, 
under Major McDonough, and on the left, in the woods above, Atlee's men formed 
after falling back from their attempt to stop the enemy. A part of Kachlein's 
riflemen were stationed along hedges near the foot of the hill, in front of the 
Marylanders, and a part in front of the woods near Atlee. It was soon discovered 
that it was the enemy's intention to overlap it on the left ; accordingly, Parsons 
was ordered to take Atlee's and Huntington's regiments and move still further 
into the woods to defeat the designs on that flank. 

Finding Stirling thus thrown across their path the British also drew up in line 
and disposed their forces as if intending to attack him at once. Nearly opposite 
to the Marylanders Grant posted the Sixth brigade in two lines, while the Fourth 
brigade was extended in a single line from the low ground to the top of the hills 
in Greenwood Cemetery. This was a regular battle formation — Grant and Stirling 
opposing each other— and is said to have been the first instance in the Revolution 
where we met the British in the open field. The first move of the British was to 
send forward a small body of light troops from their left, which advanced to 
within one hundred and fifty yards of Stirling's right. This would bring them 
not far from the little bridge on the road where, from behind hedges and apple 
trees, they opened fire on our advanced riflemen who replied with spirit. In the 
meantime, Stirling was reinforced by a two-gun battery from Knox's artillery, 
under Capt. -Lieut. Benajah Carpenter, of Providence, R. I., which was at once 
placed on the hillside to command the road and, says Stirling, " the only approach 
for some hundred yards," which must have been that part of the road running 
over the bridge. The skirmishing was kept up for about two hours, our entire 
line occasionally being engaged in the fire. 

" The enemy," says one of the Marylanders, " advanced toward us, upon 



19 

which Lord Stirling, who commanded, drew up in a line and offered them battle 
in true English taste. The British then advanced within about two hundred yards 
of us and began a heavy fire from their cannon and mortars, for both the balls 
and shells flew very fast, now and then taking off a head. Our men stood it 
amazingly well ; not even one of them showed a disposition to shrink. Our 
orders were not to fire untill the enemy came within fifty yards of us, but when 
they perceived we stood their fire so cooly and resolutely they declined coming 
any nearer, although treble our number." 

Col. Haslet reported that " the Delawares drew up on the side of a hill and 
stood upwards of four hours with a firm, determined countenance in close array, 
their colors flying, the enemy's artillery playing on them," while the standard held 
by Ensign Stephens " was torn with shot." Under the fire of Carpenter's battery 
the British light troops retired to their main line and the firing was continued 
chiefly by the artillery. On their left they advanced one howitzer to within three 
hundred yards of Stirling's right, and in front of his left they opened with another 
piece at a distance of six hundred yards. During this engagement Stirling's 
men were encouraged with the belief that they were holding back the invaders. 
That long, thin line of Stirling's command stood strained and nerved for the mad 
rush of combat until the very waiting had fatally exhausted the energies of his 
men. For two long hours succeeding the retirement of the enemy's light troops, 
nothing but the exchange of cannon shot at long range had occupied the atten- 
tion of the belligerents, except when the distant roar of musketry and field guns 
told that Gen. Sullivan's troops had work in hand. 

The battle at this time was rather spiritless, as Stirling's object was mainly to 
keep Grant in check for a time, while Grant's instructions were not to force an 
attack until warned by guns from the British right wing that Clinton had succeeded 
in gaining the rear of the American lines. Says Field : "Thus stood affairs in 
this part of the battle-field at nine o'clock a. m., when the thunder of great guns 
on the bay gave notice that a new enemy had arrived upon the scene of action and 
was adding another element of dread to the fast accumulating horrors of the dav. 
The Roebuck, man-of-war, had with great difficulty and labor at length crept 
within range of the redoubt on Red Hook, and a combat at once opened between 
them. Admiral Lord Howe had early in the day attempted to bring his vessels up 
the bay into supporting distance, but a strong north wind combining with the ebb 
tide prevented them from passing more than a mile or two above the Narrows. 
From the masthead of the ships the engagement of Grant's column was plainly 
visible to their crews, and their eagerness to participate in the contest was doubt- 
less but little less than that of their admiral, while his anxiety for the success of 
his brother's movements, rendered doubly hazardous by the uncertainty of a night 
attack, was very great. Every effort was therefore made to bring the fleet into a 
position for taking part in the engagement, but Lord Howe, convinced at last 
of the futility of further trial, reluctantly gave the signal to come to anchor. 

" Had the attempt succeeded and the terrible broadsides of five men-of-war 
been opened upon the wavering line of militia, the contest, which was soon to 
terminate in slaughter and defeat, would have had a quicker and still bloodier 
close. Anchored at less than three-fourths of a mile from the scene of conflict, 
two hundred guns would have added their terror to a battle-field around which so 
dense and fiery a gloom was even now gathering. As the morning advanced the 



20 

guns of the Roebuck, which had led the fleet four or five miles, opened upon the 
redoubt at Red Hook, the artillerymen of which had made several efforts to reach 
her with their long range cannon. What was the effect of their tire upon the 
Roebuck is not positively known, but she could have been only slightly injured, as 
a few days after she took part in the attack upon the American lines on Manhattan 
Island. The redoubt, however, did not escape uninjured from the fire of the 
Roebuck, as Colonels Mifflin and Grayson, who visited it on the next day, found it 
greatly damaged. The roar of ordnance from the little redoubt on Red Hook, 
answered by the thunder of the great guns from the decks of the Roebuck far on 
the right ; the crash of Grant's well-served artillery in front, gallantly but feebly 
returned by the two-gun battery on Greenwood heights ; the persistent duel 
between Sullivan's and De Heister's cannon and rifles which, during four hours of 
combat had not changed position on the left, all combined to convince Stirling 
that he was well maintaining his post, and that the advance of the enemy was 
everywhere checked. 

" The Delaware battalion, under Col. Haslet, had remained in reserve on 
the left of Stirling's line, near the Port road. At eleven o'clock they were 
ordered to the front to reinforce the centre and left, now becoming weak and thin 
under the fire of five times their number for nearly six hours. At this time 
Admiral Howe was reinforcing Grant with two thousand men, landed from boats 
in Bennet's Cove, and it was to resist their attack that the Delaware reserve was 
ordered up. Detachments from De Heister's column, which had been pushed 
forward through the wood from the hills near the Port road with the intention of 
forming a junction with Grant, whose position was readily ascertained by the 
firing, encountered the left of the Delaware battalion near Tenth street and 
Fourth avenue, at about the same time that the British were landing from the 
boats. One of these detachments commanded by Captain Wragg, mistaking the 
Delaware soldiers for Hessian troops and approaching so near as to be incapable 
of retreat, surrendered. 

" Lieut. Popham was detached with a guard to convey the prisoners to the 
lines. They narrowly escaped from drowning in the deep mud and water, and to 
heighten the danger the enemy, discovering the movement, opened upon them a 
fire from a two-gun battery on the hills. The British captain, hoping from this 
circumstance that a rescue would be effected, paused in the middle of the morass, 
but he relinguished his hopes on being informed by Popham that he would be 
instantly put to death should he make an attempt to escape." 

While Stirling and Parsons seemed to be effectually blocking the advance of 
the British by the lower road and the Greenwood hills, important movements had 
already begun on another portion of the field where Sullivan, on the Flatbush 
hills, calmly awaited the attack of the British force in front. De Heister, at day- 
break, opened a cannonade from his position at Flatbush upon the redoubt on the 
neighboring hill, where Hand's rifle corps were posted, supported by the troops of 
Cols. Wyllys and Miles, on the Bedford road. Hearing this, General Sullivan 
hastened forward with four hundred riflemen on a reconnoissance along the slope 
of the hills in part of his lines and to the eastward of his centre, being all this 
time in ignorance of the fact that Clinton had gained his rear. General Howe, in 
his report, says : " General Clinton being arrived within half a mile of the pass 
(Jamaica Pass) about two hours before daybreak, halted and settled his disposi- 



tion for the attack. One of his patrols, falling in with a patrol of the enemy's 
officers, took them, and the general, learning from their information that the rebels 
had not occupied the pass, detached a battalion of light infantry to secure it." 

Howe withdrew Cornvvallis from Flatbush to Flatlands towards evening on 
the 26th, and at nine o'clock at night set this flanking corps in motion. Sir 
Henry Clinton commanded the van which consisted of the light dragoons and the 
brigade of light infantry. Cornwallis and the reserve immediately followed, and 
after him marched the First brigade and the Seventy-first regiment, with fourteen 
pieces of field artillery. These troops formed the advance corps, and were 
followed at a proper interval by Lord Percy and Howe himself, with the Second, 
Third and Fifth brigades, the guards and ten guns. The Forty-ninth regiment, 
with four 12-pounders and the baggage with a separate guardfferought up the rear. 
The whole force was about ten thousand strong. With three tories as guides it 
took up the march and headed, as Howe reports, " across the country through the 
new lots " towards the Jamaica Pass, moving slowly and cautiously along the road 
from Flatlands until it reached Schoonmaker's bridge, which crossed a creek 
emptying into Jamaica Bay, when the column struck over the fields to the Jamaica 
road, where it came to a halt in the open lots a short distance southeast of the 
pass and directly in front of Howard's Halfway House.— Johnston. 

De Heister, in the meanwhile, continued his attack on the redoubt in order to 
keep the attention of the Americans in that direction until late in the forenoon, 
when signal guns from the northward assured him that Clinton had gained the 
American rear. Col. Donop, at the head of the Hessian riflemen and grenadiers, 
now dashed forward to the south of the Port road and, followed by De Heister 
with the remainder of the latter's division, the redoubt was quickly carried and 
the impetuous Hessian yagers eagerly pressed forward into the woods south of 
the Port road, driving the American riflemen before them and taking possession of 
the coverts and lurking places from which they had dislodged them. These slight 
covers were immediately occupied by the yagers who had been instructed to 
imitate the American tactics of irregular skirmishers, and accordingly, after 
delivering their fire from such points as offered concealment or protection these 
active troops sprang rapidly forward to similar covers in advance. The grenadiers 
followed close behind in well-dressed lines which they were as solicitous to 
preserve, and slowly but surely pressing back the Americans at the point of the 
bayonet upon the main body, now fatally weakened by the withdrawal of the four 
hundred men which formed Sullivan's reconnoissance. That general, alarmed by 
Clinton's cannon, which revealed to him the fact that his flank had been turned, 
and fully alive to the danger of his position, was now in full retreat for the Amer- 
ican lines. < 

Sir Henry Clinton's and Cornwallis' massive columns had marched from 
Bedford to the junction of the Flatbush and Jamaica roads, across which they had 
pushed their advanced guards. The British line, therefore, now stretched for 
nearly two miles between these points, at the distance of half a mile from the rear 
of the Americans, who, by this silent and masterly movement, had been fatally 
inclosed within the encompassing folds. The advance guard, thoroughly informed 
by the loyalists (who had escaped to Staten Island and now accompanied the 
column) of every wood-road, by-path and farm-lane, advanced with almost the 
rapidity and secrecy of Indian warriors, enclosing the outposts with a force which 
rendered resistance useless, even where it continued to be possible. 



As Sullivan's imperilled troops hurried down the rough and densely wooded 
slope of Mount Prospect, they were met on the open plain of Bedford by the 
British light infantry and dragoons, and hurled back against the Hessian bayonets, 
which bristled along the woods. Meanwhile, a heavy force from Clinton and 
Cornwallis' left, near Bedford, had cut the American lines at the " Clove road,'' 
and Col. Miles' troops were flying in the wildest panic and dismay. Parties of 
Americans, also retreating from the onset of the Hessians towards the Bedford 
road, found themselves face to face with the dense columns of British troops from 
the extreme left of Sullivan's line, who were hurrying forward to escape by the 
same road. On all sides the enemy was closing around the feeble bands. Vast 
masses of fresh troops stretched far beyond their flanks on front and rear. The 
whole line of De Heister's army was advancing, in three divisions, with the utmost 
precision and exactness ; while the whole force of American riflemen was engaged, 
the Hessian line was regularly halted at short distances and reformed, before it 
was permitted to advance. The steady, determined onset was not without its 
effect upon the Americans. Overwhelmed by the numbers and the discipline of 
the foe, their redoubt was entered, and the weak line of fortifications was carried 
at the point of the bayonet. Many of the brave fellows fell in the intrenchments, 
the Hessians, in several instances, pinning them to the trees. No mercy was 
shown; the hireling mercenaries of Britain glutted themselves with blood. An 
officer in Gen. Frazer's battalion, Seventy-first regiment, stated that " The Hes- 
sians and our brave Highlanders gave no quarters ; and it was a fine sight to see 
with what alacrity they despatched the rebels with their bayonets afte. we had 
surrounded them so that they could not resist. We took care to tell the Hessians 
that the rebels had resolved to give no quarters — to them in particular — which 
made them fight desperately, and put to death all that came into their hands." 

As an offset to this account of fiendish brutality, another British officer, with 
a finer sense of honor and humanity, writes : " The Americans fought bravely, 
and (to do them justice) could not be broken until they were greatly outnumbered, 
and taken in flank, front and rear. We were greatly shocked at the massacre made 
by the Hessians and Highlanders, after victory was decided." 

Driven out from the woods upon the open plain, in groups of fifty or sixty 
men, and in full view of the troops which garrisoned the forts, the flying Amer- 
icans were met with squadrons of British dragoons, followed by columns of 
infantry, which completely blocked their line of retreat. Hurled back again upon 
the Hessian line by the dragoon charges which smote and crushed them, without 
discipline, or officers who could restore it, exposed to equal lines in front and rear, 
many of these detached squads attempted to surrender, flinging down their arms, 
or reversing them, to indicate submission ; but they were enclosed by an infuriated 
enemy, indifferent to these tokens of surrender, and were inhumanly cut to pieces. 
The cry for quarter, General De Heister says, was, in many instances, entirely 
unheeded by either German or English soldiers. Indeed, he says, the British 
soldier was quite as sanguinary and inhuman as his Saxon or Hessian comrade, 
and constantly incited these to grant no quarter. 

It was a desperate conflict on both sides, and groops of militia fought here 
and there amid the woods, surrounded by overwhelming masses of the enemy, 
whom they madly struggled to reach with sword and bayonet, until one by one 
they fell beneath the weight of the terrible odds. The unequal conflict was main- 

D 



23 

tained by the heroic band of Americans from nine o'clock until twelve, when the 
survivors surrendered. The few who, nerved by their horrible situation, succeeded 
in cutting their way through the gleaming wall of bayonets and sabres which 
encircled them, were pursued within musket shot of the American lines by the 
grenadiers, who were with the utmost difficulty restrained by their officers from 
storming Fort Putnam. Other fugitives, less fortunate, were skulking along the 
hills and seeking, amid the swamps and thickets, a temporary respite from capture. 
Some in larger bodies had succeeded in getting through the Hessian skirmish line, 
which now occupied the strip of woods between the Port road and salt meadows, 
and were pouring across the dam of Frecke's Mill. But, upon this confused and 
panic-stricken crowd, the Hessians opened a destructive fire from some guns 
posted on the hills near Ninth avenue, and to escape this new horror, many 
diverged to the south, struggling through the mud and water of the creeks which 
abound in that vicinity. General Sullivan was captured by three Fusileers of the 
Regiment von Knyphausen, concealed in a cornfield about three hundred feet from 
the position of Colonel von Heeringen. 

The most sanguinary conflict occurred after the Americans had left the Flat- 
bush Pass, and attempted to retreat to the lines at Brooklyn. The place of 
severest contest, and where Sullivan and his men were made piisoners, was upon 
the slope between the Flatbush avenue and the Long Island railway (Atlantic 
street), between Bedford and Brooklyn, near " Baker's Tavern," at a little east of 
the junction of these avenues. Fired with a common emulation of slaughter, 
Hessian and British troops were now pressing forward to inclose Sterling's div- 
ision between them and Grant, in the same fatal embrace which had crushed out 
the life of Sullivan's corps. 

" Washington, after watching for hours the movements of the British fleet in 
the harbor," says Stiles, "satisfied that New York for the time was safe, hastened 
over to the lines of Brooklyn, where, from the eminence upon which Fort Putnam 
stood, he witnessed the rout and slaughter of Sullivan's command, to whom he 
could send no succor without weakening the lines and endangering other positions. 
As with anxious and troubled spirit he watched the movements of the struggling 
troops, he observed, emerging from the woods on his left, a heavy British column, 
which descended the hills in the direction of Stirling's division. This was Earl 
Cornwallis, who had been detached with the larger part of the right wing of the 
British army, to co-operate with General Grant in his movements on Gowanus 
bay, by occupying the junction of the Port and Gowanus roads. Cornwallis pro- 
ceeded as far as the Cortleyou house, which he at once occupied as a redoubt. 
Stirling, meanwhile, doubtless wondering at Grant's forbearance, was totally un- 
conscious of Cornwallis' movement upon his rear, until startled by the signal guns 
with which the earl announced his approach to Grant. Then, as the truth burst 
upon him, he found that his retreat towards the lines at Brooklyn was intercepted, 
and that he was fairly trapped between two superior forces of the enemy. At the 
same time came tidings of the defeat of Sullivan upon his left. Grant, largely 
re-enforced (with the 2,000 troops which landed at Bennet's cove in the morning), 
was now in full motion, and pressing fiercely on his front. Stirling, finding that he 
was fast being surrounded, saw that his only chance of escape was to drive Corn- 
wallis from the Cortleyou house up the Port road towards Flatbush, and by get- 
ting between him and Fort Box on the opposite side of the creek, to escape under 
cover of its guns across Brower's mill-dam. 




GEN. LORD STIRLING 



2 4 

" He knew that his attack upon the Earl would, at all events, give time for 
escape to his countrymen, whom he saw struggling through the salt morasses and 
across the narrow causeway of Frecke's mill-pond. The generous thought was 
followed by heroic action. Quickly changing his front and leaving the main body 
in conflict with Gen. Grant, Stirling placed himself at the head of Smallwood's 
regiment (Major Gist being in command in the absence of Smallwood, who was 
unavoidably detained in New York) and forming hurriedly (in the vicinity of the 
present Fifth avenue and Tenth street), the column moved along the Gowanus 
road in face of a storm of fire from cannon, musketry and rifles. Driving the 
enemy's advance back upon the stone house, from the windows of which a storm 
of bullets were poured mercilessly into their ranks, they pushed unfalteringly 
forward until checked by a fire of grape and cannister from a couple of guns 
which the British hurriedly wheeled into position near the building. Even then 
they closed up their decimated ranks and endeavored to face the storm, and again 
were repulsed. Thrice again these brave young Marylanders (who on that day 
for the first time saw the flash of an enemy's guns) charged upon the house, once 
driving the gunners from their pieces within its shadow, but numbers overwhelmed 
them and for twenty minutes the fight was terrible. Washington, Putnam and 
the other general officers who witnessed it from the ramparts of Ponkiesbergh 
Fort, saw the overwhelming force with which their brave compatriots were con- 
tending, and held their breath in suspense and fear. As they saw the gallant 
Marylanders attempt to cut their way through the surrounding host, Washington 
wrung his hands in the intensity of his emotion and exclaimed, ' Good God, what 
brave fellows I must this day lose !' 

"Colonel Smallwood, of the Marylanders, who had rejoined his regiment, 
petitioned for a force to march out and assist Stirling, but the general declined on 
account of the risks involved. Douglass' Connecticut levies, just coming up from 
the ferry, were sent to the extreme right opposite the mouth of Gowanus creek, 
where with Capt. Thomas' Maryland Independent Company and two pieces of 
artillery, they stood ready to prevent the pursuit of the retreating party by the 
enemy. While Stirling was thus keeping Cornwallis in check, a large portion of 
those whom he had left fighting with Grant had found safety by wading or 
swimming across Gowanus creek, which they did with difficulty, it is true ; but 
they finally reached the lines, carrying with them the tattered colors of Small- 
wood's regiment and over twenty prisoners. For some unexplained reason, when 
Stirling fell back he failed to inform Parsons of the fact. Both Parsons and Atlee 
state that no word reached them to join the general and that it was greatly to 
their surprise when they found the line whose flank they had been protecting no 
longer there. 

" Left to shift for themselves, they did the best they could under the circum- 
stances. They found it impossible to reach the marsh as Cornwallis. after chiving 
the Marylanders back, had complete command of the road. A few escaped, but 
the greater part of them turned into the woods and were all made prisoners. 
Atlee, with twenty-three men, avoided capture until five o'clock in the afternoon ; 
while Parsons, more fortunate, hid in a swamp, having escaped from the action and 
pursuit ' as by a miracle,' and with seven men made his way into our lines at daylight 
next morning. Deprived of nearly all his men — more than 250 of whom belonged 
to Smallwood's gallant Maryland regiment, the flower of the American army— he 



-? 

fled over the hills until he found it impossible to elude pursuit ; but disdaining to 
yield to a British subject he sought out and surrendered himself to De Heister, 
and was immediately sent on board the British flagship Eagle, where he found 
Sullivan and other fellow-prisoners of war." 

Thus ended the first great battle in the open field in the War for Independ- 
ence. For our troops it was a total defeat, but in reality a "blessing in disguise." 
By falling, the infant learns to walk ; by losses, the merchant learns to gain ; by 
defeat — and all history tends to prove it — an army is taught to conquer. Not in 
vain, then, was even the defeat of the American army ; not in vain the anguish 
with which the usually calm spirit of Washington was that day torn ; not in vain 
were those two anxious days and nights which he passed on horseback, and which 
saved from death or captivity nine thousand men. In the immortal letters and 
dispatches of the great commander and in the painful annals of the time we read 
the cost and value of what we are now enjoying. Without this we had not 
fully known how inherent, how enduring and elastic is the power of an earnest 
and virtuous patriotism Without them, even the transcendant name of Washing- 
ton could not have filled the mighty measure of its fame. 

The British troops, flushed with victory, were with difficulty restrained from 
carrying the rebel lines by storm. They might possibly have succeeded, but it 
would have been a dear bought victory, for behind those redoubts were three 
thousand determined troops animated by the presence of Washington and Putnam 
and rendered desperate by the misfortunes of their brave compatriots under 
Sullivan and Stirling, to which they had just been witnesses. Ignorant of their 
real force and profiting by his experience at Bunker Hill, Howe wisely determined 
not to make the attempt. His artillery was not up and they "had no fascines to 
fill ditches, no axes to cut abatis, and no scaling ladders to assault so respectable 
a work." Preferring, therefore, to save the further loss of blood and to secure his 
already certain victory by regular approaches, he withdrew his troops to a hollow 
way in front of the American lines, out of range of their musketry, and encamped 
for the night. 

Von Elkin's account states that "General Von Heister learned from the 
troops who pursued the retreating Americans to their lines, that the left part of 
the camp of the enemy near the river was open for a distance of several hundred 
paces. Accordingly, when the wings had again united with the centre, he 
reported the fact to Gen. Howe and made a proposition to profit by the confusion 
of the enemy and the valor of the troops, to attack the camp forthwith at this 
weak point, but Howe manifested a number of scruples and so missed the golden 
opportunity of completing his victory." The losses in this battle have been 
variously estimated, and the differences seem almost unreconcilable. Marshall 
places the American loss at 1,000; Lossing, 1,650; Irving and Field, 2,000; 
Sparks, 1,100; Bancroft, 800; while Howe, the British commander, states our loss 
to have been 3.000. 

On the 8th of October Washington issued the following order : " The 
General desires that commanding officers of each regiment or corps will give in a 
list of the names and of officers and men who were killed, taken or missing in 
the action of the 27th of August, on Long Island and since that period. He 
desires the returns may be correct," etc. A part of these lists have been pre- 
served and may be found in the American Archives {Force), 5th series, vol. hi., as 



26 

follows : Hitchcock's total loss, one officer and nine men ; Little's, three men ; 
Huntington's, twenty-one officers and one hundred and eighty-six men ; Wylly's, 
one officer and nine men; Tyler, three men ; Ward, three men; Chester, twelve 
men; Gay, four men; Lasher, three officers. Smallwood's loss, according to 
Gist, was twelve officers and two hundred and forty-seven men ; Haslet, two 
officers and twenty-five men ; Johnston's New Jersey, two officers and less than 
twenty-five men, the rolls before and after the battle showing no greater difference 
in the strength of the regiment ; Miles' two battalions, sixteen officers and about 
one hundred and sixty men ; Atlee, eleven officers and seventy-seven men. No 
official report of the losses in Lutz's, Kachlein's and Hay's detachments or the 
artillery can be found, but to give their total casualities at one hundred and fifty 
officers and men is probably a liberal estimate. Lutz lost six officers, all prisoners; 
Kachlein, not more ; Hays, one; the artillery, three. 

Onderdonk's '-Suffolk County," (N. Y.) contains the following: " New York, 
Sept, 5, 1776. A list of the American officers prisoners with the enemy, who sent 
by flag for their baggage and cash. Their friends were desired to send next door 
to Gen. Putnam's their trunks, etc., properly directed, and leave their cash at the 
General's, that they might be sent by the first flag. (The names included in 
brackets are inserted by the editor.) 

"First Pennsylvania Battalion. Cols. Miles, Piper; Capts. Brown, Peebles, 
Crawl: Lieuts. Scott, Gray, Spear, Drasbach, McPherson, Lee, Brodhead, Davis, 
Wert, Tepham ; Drs. John and Joseph Uavies ; Col. Lutz, Mr. David Duncan, Mr. 
Young, Major Bird, Capt. Herden. [2d Lieuts. Jacquet and Carnahan, missing ; 
2d Lieuts. Sloan and Brownlee, Charles Taylor, 3d Lieut., killed.] 

" Col. Kachlein's Regiment. Capt. Graff; Lieuts. Lewis, Middah, Shoemaker. 

" Col. Lasher 's N. Y. Battalion. Adj. Hoagland ; Lieuts. Troup and Duns- 
comb ; Mr. Van Wagenen and Gilliland, volunteers. [Major Abeel, killed.] 

" Col. Smallwood's Battalion. Capt. Daniel Bowie, wounded; Lieuts. William 
Steret, William Ridgeley, Hatch Dent, Walter Muse, Samuel Wright, Jos. Butler, 
wounded, Edward Praul, Edward De Courcey ; Ensigns James Fernandes, 
William Courts. 

" Col. Huntington's Regiment. Lieut. Makepiece ; Capt. Brewster ; Ensigns 
Lyman, Chapman, Hinman, Bradford; Lieut. Orcutt, Ensign Higging, Capt. 
Bissell, Lieuts. Gillet and Gay, Adj. Hopkins, Dr. Holmes, Col. Clark. [Missing, 
6 captains, 6 lieutenants, 21 sergeants, 2 drummers, 126 rank and file.] 

" Col. Alice's Regiment. Col. Atlee; Capts. Howell, Nice, Herbert, Murray; 
Lieuts. Houston, Finney, Henderson ; Dr. Young, volunteer. 

"John Toms, of Col. Johnston's regiment; Mr. Callender, of artillery; Mr. 
Kearnes, Del. Battery ; Major Wells, of Col. Wylly's regiment ; Ensign Davies, 
Capt. Hurst. [Lieut. -Col. Parry, killed ; Lieut. Moore, killed ; Ensign App, mis- 
sing. Killed and missing, 13 sergeants and 235 privates.] 

" American account of prisoners in the three Pennsylvania battalions: 

'• First Battalion. Col. Samuel Miles ; Lieut. -Col. James Piper ; Capt. Richard 
Brown; 1st Lieuts. William Grey, John Spear, John Davies, George Wert; 2d 
Lieuts. Jos. Friesback, William McPherson, Luke Brodhead; Dr. John and Joseph 
Davis. [2d Lieut. Jos. Jaquet, missing. Missing of Farmer's, Brown's, Longs' 
Allbright's, Shale's, Weitzell's, 9 sergeants, 4 drummers, 107 privates.] 

" Second Battalion of Rifle Regiment. Capt. William Peebles; 1st Lieuts. 



2 7 

Mat. Scott, Daniel Topham ; 2d Lieut. David Sloan ; 3d Lieut. Joseph Brownlee. 
[2d Lieut. James Carnagan. missing ; 3d Lieut. Charles Taylor, killed. Missing 
of Murray's, Peeble's, Marshall's, Erwin's, Grubb's, Christ's, 6 sergeants, 1 drum- 
mer, 40 privates.] 

"Battery of Musketry. Col. Samuel J. Atlee; [Lieut. -Col. Caleb Parry, 
killed]; Capts. Francis Murray, Thomas Herbert, John Nice, Joseph Howell ; 
Lieut. Walter Finney; Ensigns William Henderson, Alex. Huston, Septimus 
Davis, Michael App, missing; Lieut. Joseph Moore, killed. Missing of Ander- 
son's, Murray's, Herbert's, Derhoff's, Nice's, Howell's, McClelland's (late Lloyd's), 
1 sergeant, 1 drummer, 75 privates. 

" Howe's return of prisoners taken August 27 : 3 generals, 3 colonels — Penn. 
Rifle Regt., 1 ; Musketeers, 1 ; N. J. Militia, 1. 4 lieutenant-colonels— Penn. Rifle 
Regt., 1; Penn. Militia, 2; 17th Cont. Regt., 1. 3 majors — Penn. Militia, I; 17th 
Cont. Militia, 1 ; 22d Cont. Militia, 1. 18 captains— Penn. Rifle Regt., 2; Penn. 
Musketeers, 4; Penn. Militia, 5; Cont. Regt., 4; Train of Artillery, 1 ; Mary- 
land Provincials, 2. 43 lieutenants — Penn. Rifle Regt., 1 1 ; Penn. Musketeers, 1 ; 
Penn. Militia, 6; 17th Cont. Regt., 6; Del. Bat., 2; 1st Bat. N. Y. Cont., 5; nth 
Bat. Cont., 1 ; N.J. Militia, 1 ; 1st Bat. Maryland Independents, 2 ; L. I. Militia, 2 ; 
Train of Artillery, 1 ; Maryland Provincials, 5. 11 ensigns — Penn. Musketeers, 4; 
17th Cont. Regt., 5; Maryland Provincials, 2. Staff — Adjutant, 1; surgeons, 3; 
volunteers, 1 ; privates, 1,006; total, 1,097. N B.— 9 officers and 58 privates of 
the above wounded " 

Howe, in his official dispatches, places the British loss at 367. Of this num- 
ber, 5 officers and 56 subaltern officers and privates were killed, 12 officers and 
245 subalterns and privates wounded, and 1 officer and 20 marines taken prisoners. 
The Hessian loss consisted of two privates killed, three officers, one of whom was 
Capt. Donop, and twenty-three men wounded. 



CONDITION OF THE AMERICAN ARMY ON THE EVEN- 
ING OF THE 27TH AND THE MORNING OF THE 
28TH OF AUGUST. 

The battle of the 27th of August was a series of unconnected skirmishes in 
which detachments of the American army, cut off from the main body, fought 
here and there amid the dense woods or narrow passes, as accident or skill 
afforded them an opportunity for successful resistance. Says Field; 'In the 
camp within the Brooklyn lines the night wore slowly away to the weary and 
anxious soldier who there found security but not repose. The usual camp alarms, 
which spread anxious thrills through a body of broken and dispirited men in the pre- 
sence of a powerful and victorious enemy, were not infrequent during the long night ; 
but when the dawn arose upon the dull leaden sky, the sounds of conflict or of 
angry watchfulness grew more frequent. Here and there along the lines the dis- 
charges of musketry or the sharp ring of a rifle gave token of the proximity of 
the enemy. But as the morning light increased other sounds evinced his energy 
and determination, for the dull thuds of the pick announced that the enemy was 
himself intrenching. At the distance of six hundred yards from Fort Putnam, on 
the high ground near the present junction of DeKalb and Clinton avenues, just 



28 

out of rifle range, the breastworks of a redoubt began to appear. Gen. Howe 
had prudently declined the tempting opportunity which the ardor of his men 
presented him, of assaulting the feeble entrenchments so thinly manned by the 
dispirited troops he had lately defeated, and he was now securely making his 
advances by a regular seige. How little effective resistance could have been made 
we at this day probably know much better than did either of the contending 
parties. 

The American guards slept at their posts, although frequently aroused by 
their officers and threatened with instant death on the repetition of the offense. 
So great were the weariness and stupor which fell on these worn survivors of the 
battle, that although the rain fell in torrents during the evening, until the camp 
was flooded with water, they slept upon the soaked earth and in the pools of 
water, unconscious of the peals of thunder and the vivid lightning. The decision 
of Gen. Howe, now so apparent, while it relieved the Americans from the immedi- 
ate apprehensions of an assault, only delayed the approach of a danger but little 
less threatening. In a few hours the cannon shot and shell from the redoubt now 
being constructed would be crashing through the lines from a distance which 
made its position unassailable. 

PREPARATIONS FOR ANOTHER ATTACK. 

" The night (27th) which followed the battle," says Stiles, " was one of great 
anxiety to Washington. His fatigued, wounded and dispirited soldiers were but 
poorly sheltered against the heavy storm which seemed to be gathering. The 
enemy was encamped before the lines ; the morrow would probably bring a 
renewal of the conflict. But his energy again triumphed over his fears. The 
long hours of night — yet all too short for the work in hand — were occupied with 
efforts to strengthen his position. Troops were ordered from New York, from 
Fort Washington and Kingsbridge ; nothing was left undone that human effort 
and foresight could accomplish. The morning of the 28th was lowering and 
heavy, with masses of vapor which hung like a funeral pall over sea and land. 
At four o'clock, and in the midst of a thick falling mist, Washington visited every 
part of the works, encouraging his suffering soldiers with words of hope and 
carefully inspecting the state of the defences. By the gradually increasing light 
of the morning was revealed the encampment of over 15,000 troops of Britain. 
It is no wonder that there was gloom everywhere — in the sky, on the land, on the 
water and over the spirits of the Republicans. They almost despaired, for the 
heavy rains had injured their arms and almost destroyed their ammunition, But 
when, at five o'clock, Mifflin crossed the East River with the choice regiments of 
Magaw and Shee and Glover's battalion of Marblehead fishermen and sailors, in 
all more than a thousand strong, all fresh and cheerful, there was an outburst of 
joy, for they seemed like sunshine as they passed the lines of sufferers and took 
post on the extreme left, near the Wallabout. Their arrival increased the 
American force to nine thousand. The British cannonade opened at ten o'clock 
upon the American lines, and was followed through the day by frequent skir- 
mishes. The rain fell copiously, much to the discomfort of the Americans who, 
in some parts of the trenches, stood up to their waists in water and mud. It 
served, however, to keep the British within their tents until near evening, when 



2 9 

they broke ground within five hundred yards of the American lines and com- 
menced regular approaches by trenches. This night, also, they threw up a 
redoubt east of Fort Putnam (now Fort Greene), on the land of George Powers, 
from which they opened a fire upon the fort. 

" At midnight a dense fog arose, which remained motionless and impenetrable 
over the island during nearly the whole of the next day. In the afternoon of the 
29th, General Mifflin, Adjutant-General Reed and Colonel Grayson, reconnoitered 
at the outposts on the western extemity of the American lines, near the Red Hook. 
While there, a gentle shift of wind lifted the fog from Staten Island and revealed 
to them the British fleet in the Narrows and boats passing to and fro from the 
admiral's ship and other vessels. These signs of activity, together with a know- 
ledge of the fact that a portion of the fleet had passed round the island and were 
anchored in Flushing Bay, betokened a movement upon the city, and the three 
officers lost no time in hastening back to camp. The news which they brought 
was probably not unexpected to Washington, for unknown to his aids, he had 
already made provision earlier in the day for the concentration in the East River, 
at New York, of every kind of sail or row boats, which were to be ready by dark ; 
but he immediately convened a council of war at five o'clock the same evening, for 
the danger was indeed imminent. If the British should occupy the Hudson and the 
East River — as any moment, on change of mind, they might do — they would, by 
securing the position of Kingsbridge, be able to cut off all communication between 
Manhattan Island and the Westchester main, thus imprisoning that portion of the 
American army in New York and separating it from that on Long Island." 

" At last," says Field, " the slow hours of that twenty-eighth of August wore 
away. Even the drizzling rain, the pangs of hunger and the dreary wretchedness 
of the muddy bivouac, were at times unfelt when tokens of an immediate general 
assault upon the intrenchments became more threatening. Along nearly the whole 
extent of the lines a skirmishing fire was maintained during the day, which 
increased at times, at different points, to such a degree and was returned by such 
heavy volleys from the enemy, that the regiments were formed and preparations 
made for repelling an attack by the enemy's whole line. Indeed, so constant 
were the discharges from the American intrenchments, and so frequent the heavy 
crash of concentrating firing, that from Wallabout Bay, across the entire neck of 
the peninsula, and along the mill-ponds and the creek to Gowanus Bay, there 
seemed to be a line of battle heavily engaged. This skirmishing engagement was 
encouraged by the officers, in accordance with Washington's orders, as it 
served, in some degree, to inspire confidence in his beaten and dispirited troops, 
and also warned the enemy of the maintenance of our lines by a heavy force. 
Washington still retained his intention of risking the battle which he deemed 
inevitable, behind the Brooklyn intrenchments ; for all his movements indicate 
that, up to this time, the idea of a retreat from Long Island had not been enter- 
tained. In fact, the almost blind confidence of the General in his insubordinate, 
ill-disciplined and poorly armed forces, is quite inexplicable, for he manceuvered 
them in positions which would have tried the nerves of veteran soldiers, and raw 
recruits were thrust forward into battle with the most thoroughly disciplined 
army of Europe. 

" The constantly recurring showers had caused the supension of work upon the 
British redoubt, but the enemy seized the occasion of a heavy thunder storm to 



30 

make a demonstration upon the American lines. They doubtless expected to find 
the Americans unprepared, in consequence of the damage to their ammunition and 
fire-arms, which would not equally affect the efficiency of the assaulting force, 
relying solely upon their bayonets. Three strong columns, said by the current 
accounts to have consisted of their entire force, were thrown forward at different 
points between Fort Putnam and Fort Box, but were met by such heavy volleys 
along the whole line that they were not pushed to the assault, but were recalled as 
soon as the firm resistance of the heavy force manning the works was demon- 
strated by the attempt. The British officers stormed with rage at the restraint 
upon their courage imposed by the excessive caution of their commander, and 
expressed the utmost scorn of the paltry works before them and of the contemp- 
tible mob of farmers and tradesmen which defended them." 

Gorden, in his account of the operations says : " The victorious army encamped 
in the front of the American works in the evening, and on the 28th, at night, broke 
ground, in from about four or five hundred yards distant from a redoubt which covered 
the left of the Americans. The same day Gen. Mifflin crossed over from New York 
with 1,000 men. At night he made an offer to Gen. Washington of going the 
rounds, which was accepted. He observed the approaches of the enemy and the 
forwardness of their batteries and was convinced that no time was to be lost. The 
next morning he conversed with the General upon the subject and said : ' You 
must either fight or retreat immediately. What is your strength ? ' The General 
answered, 'nine thousand.' The other replied, ' it is not sufficient, we must there- 
fore retreat.' They were both agreed as to the calling of a council of war, and 
General Mifflin was to propose a retreat. But as he was to make that proposal, lest 
his own character should suffer, he stipulated that if a retreat should be agreed 
upon, he would command the rear, and if an action, the van." 



RETREAT OF THE AMERICAN ARMY FROM LONG 
ISLAND. 

PROCEEDINGS OF A COUNCIL OF GENERAL OFFICERS. 

At a council of war held on Long Island, August 29, 1776. Present — His 
Excellency Gen. Washington, Maj.-Gens. Putman, Spencer, Brig.-Gens. Mifflin, 
McDougal, Parsons, Scott, Wadsworth, Fellows. 

It was submitted to the consideration of the Council, whether, under all cir- 
cumstances, it would not be eligible to leave Long Island and its dependencies, and 
to remove to New York. Unanimously agreed in the affirmative for the following 
reasons: 

1st. Because our advanced party has met with a defeat, and the wood was 
lost where we expected to make a principal stand. 

2d. The great loss sustained in the death or captivity of several valuable 
officers and their battalions, or a large portion of them, had occasioned great 
confusion and discouragement among the troops. 

3d. The heavy rain which fell two days and nights without intermission, had 
injured the arms and spoiled a great part of the ammunition; and the soldiery, being 
without cover and obliged to lay in the lines, were worn out, and it was to be 
feared would not be retained in them by any order. 



3i 

4th. From the time the enemy moved from Flatbush, several large ships had 
endeavored to get up, as supposed, into the East River, to cut off our commuta- 
tions (by which the whole army would have been destroyed), but the wind being 
northeast, could not effect it. 

5th. Upon consulting with persons of knowledge of the harbor, they were 
of opinion that small ships might come between Long Island and Governor's 
Island, where there are no obstructions, and which would cut off the communica- 
tion effectually; and who were also of opinion the hulks sunk between Governor's 
Island and the city of New York were no sufficient security for obstructing that 
passage. 

6th. Though our lines were fortified by some strong redoubts, yet a great 
part of them were weak, being abattied with brush, and affording no strong cover, 
— so that there was reason to apprehend they might be forced, which would put 
our troops in confusion, and, having no retreat, they must have been cut to pieces 
or made prisoners. 

7th. The divided state of the troops rendered our defense very precarious, and 
the duty of defending long and extensive lines in so many different places, without 
proper conveniences and cover, so very fatiguing, that the troops had become dis- 
pirited by their incessant duty and watching. 

8th. Because the enemy had sent several ships of war into the Sound to a 
place called Flushing Bay; and from the information received that a part of their 
troops was moving across Long Island that way, there was reason to apprehend 
they meant to pass over land, and form an encampment above Kingsbridge, in 
order to cut off and prevent all communication between our army and the country 
beyond them, or to get in our rear. 

The deliberations of this council were brief and their decision unanimous in 
favor of an evacuation of Long Island and a retreat to New York that very night. 
The meeting of this council was held in the old Philip Livingston mansion, subse- 
quently known as the Joralemon House, which stood on the east side of the 
present Hicks street, about four hundred feet south of Joralemon street. To 
effect the withdrawal of some nine thousand men with their arms and munitions of 
war, and that too, in face of an enemy at work in their trenches — so near that the 
sound of their pick axes and spades could be distinctly heard — to march them a 
considerable distance to the river and to transport them across its strong, broad 
current, necessitated the greatest skill and secrecy. Orders were immediately 
issued to Colonel Glover to collect and man, with his regiment of hardy marines, 
all the boats of every kind which could be found, and to be in readiness by mid- 
night for the embarkation, which was to be superintended by General McDougal. 
In order to have the army in proper marching condition without divulging the 
plan of retreat, the officers were directed to hold their men in readiness for an 
attack upon the enemy's lines that night. The order excited general surprise, but 
by eight o'clock the army was ready for movement. That the enemy's suspicions 
might not be excited, General Mifflin was to remain within the lines, and within 
250 yards of the British advanced works, with Col. Hand's rifle corps and the 
battered remnants of the Delaware and Maryland regiments, who, with hardly a 
respite from the terrible battle of the 27th, had now cheerfully consented to cover 
the retreat of their fresher but less experienced companions-in-arms. By nine 
o'clock the ebb tide, with heavy rain and an adverse wind, rendered the sailboats 



32 

of little use, but by eleven the northeast wind which had prevailed for three days 
died away, the surface of the water became smooth, and with a southwest breeze 
favoring, both the sail and rowboats were able to cross the river full laden. 

By ten o'clock the troops began to move from the lines, and as each regiment 
left its position the remaining troops moved to the right and left and filled up the 
vacancies. Said one of the Connecticut troops : " We were strictly enjoined not 
to speak, or even cough while on the march. All orders were given from officer 
to officer and communicated to the men in whispers. What such secrecy could 
mean we could not divine. We marched off in the same way we had come on the 
island, forming various conjectures among ourselves as to our destination." 
Another says : " We went over with boats about seven o'clock. The brigades 
were ordered to be in readiness with bag and baggage to march, but knew not 
when or for what ; the second did not know where the first had gone, nor the 
second the third. The last marched off at the firing of the three o'clock (British) 
gun on Friday morning. The night was remarkably still, the water smooth as 
glass, so that all our boats went over safe, though many were but about three 
inches out of water." Washington, taking his position at the ferry stairs, at the 
foot of Fulton street, Brooklyn, superintended the embarkation, and the whole 
movement was conducted with such order and quiet that it failed to attract the 
British sentinels. The intense darkness of the night and the thick fog which had 
settled down over everything, favored the patriot boats. At a little past midnight 
they were suddenly startled by the deep roar of a cannon — whether from the 
British or American lines no one could tell. " The effect," says one who heard it, 
" was at once alarming and sublime," but the deepest silence ensued and the 
retreat went bravely on. As the night wore away the tide was turning and a 
northeast wind began to rise, yet a large portion of the troops had not been trans- 
ported over the river. Fearful of delay, Washington sent his aide-de-camp, 
Colonel Alexander Scammell, to hasten the troops who were on the march. 
Scammel, by mistake, communicated the order to General Mifflin, who, althongh 
somewhat surprised, obeyed, and vacated the lines with his whole force. 

Col. Hand in his account of the retreat says : " In the evening of the 29th of 
August, 1776, with several other commanding officers of the corps, I received 
orders to attend Major-General Mifflin. When assembled. General Mifflin 
informed us that, in consequence of the determination of a board of general officers, 
the evacuation of Long Island, where we then were, was to be attempted that night ; 
that the commander-in-chief had honored him with the command of the covering 
party and that our corps were to be employed in that service. He then assigned 
us our several stations, which we were to occupy as soon as it was dark, and 
pointed out Brooklyn church as an alarm post, to which the whole were to repair 
and unitedly oppose the enemy in case they discovered our movement and made 
an attack in consequence. My regiment was posted in a redoubt on the left and 
in the lines on the right of the great road below Brooklyn church. Captain Henry 
Miller commanded in the redoubt. Part of a regiment of the Flying Camp of the 
State of New York were, in the beginning of the night, posted by me. They 
showed so much uneasiness at their station that I petitioned General Mifflin to 
suffer them to march off, lest they might communicate the panic with which they 
were seized, to my people. The General granted my request and they marched off 
accordingly. After that nothing remarkable happened at my post till about two 



33 

o'clock in the morning, when Alexander Scammell, since Adjutant-General, who 
acted as aide-de-camp to the commander-in-chief, came from the left, inquiring 
for General Mifflin, who happened to be with me at the time. Scammell told him 
that the boats were waiting and the commander-in-chief anxious for the arrival of 
the troops at the ferry. General Mifflin said he thought he must be mistaken ; 
that he did not imagine the General could mean the troops he immediately com- 
manded. Scammell replied that he was not mistaken, adding, that he came from 
the extreme left and had ordered all the troops he had met to march ; that in con- 
sequence they were then in motion, and that he would go to give the same orders. 
General Mifflin then ordered me to call in my advanced pickets and sentinels, to 
collect and form my regiment, and to march as soon as possible, and quitted me. 

" Having marched into the great road leading to the church, I fell in with the 
troops returning from the left of the line. Having arrived at the left of the church 
I halted to take up my camp equipage, which, in the course of the night, I had 
carried there by a small party. General Mifflin came up at that instant and asked 
the reason of the halt. I told him and he seemed very much displeased and 
exclaimed: 'Damn your pots and kettles, I wish the devil had them ; march on.' 
I obeyed, but had not gone far before I perceived the front had halted and hasten- 
ing to inquire the cause, I met the commander-in-chief, who perceived me and said : 
' Is not this Col. Hand? ' I replied in the affirmative. His Excellency said he was 
surprised at me in particular ; that he did not suppose I would have abandoned my 
post. I answered that I had not abandoned it ; that I had marched by order of 
my immediate commanding officer. He said it was impossible. I told him I 
hoped if 1 could satisfy him I had the orders of General Mifflin, he would not 
think me particularly to blame. He said he undoubtedly would not. General 
Mifflin then coming up and asking what the matter was, his Excellency said : ' Good 
God! General Mifflin, I am afraid you have ruined us by so unseasonably with- 
drawing the troops from the lines.' General Mifflin replied, with some warmth : 
'I did it by your order.' His Excellency declared it could not be. Gen. Mifflin 
asked: 'Did Scammell act as aide-de-camp for the day, or did he not?' His 
Excellency acknowledged that he did. ' Then,' said Mifflin, ' I had orders through 
him.' The General replied it was a dreadful mistake, and informed him that 
matters were in much confusion at the ferry, and unless we could resume our 
posts before the enemy discovered we had left them, in all probability the most 
disagreeable consequences would follow. We immediately returned and had the 
good fortune to recover our former stations and keep them for some hours 
longer, without the enemy perceiving what was going forward." 

Washington, who since the morning of the 27th, had scarcely left the lines on 
Long Island, and for forty-eight hours preceding that had hardly been off his horse 
or closed his eyes, embarked with the last company. The first intimation the 
British had of the movements of the American army was through a slave. A 
woman, whose husband had been sent into the interior of New Jersey on suspicion 
of disloyalty to the American cause, on discovering the preparations which were 
being made along the river bank, apparently for a retreat, determined to have her 
revenge. She therefore sent her slave on the evening previous to inform the 
British commander of the fact. Unfortunately for her, however, the negro fell 
into the hands of the Hessians, who could not understand a word he said, and 
believing him to be a spy, held him until morning, when he was handed over to a 



34 

British officer, who was making his round of inspection at daylight. Howe, on 
heing informed of the facts, through the negro, was greatly astonished and at once 
took the measures to ascertain the truth. A company, under Captain Montressor, 
was detached to reconnoitre the American works, which they found deserted. 
Detachments hurried off in hot pursuit, but they only reached the ferry in time to 
see the heavily-laden rear boats of the retreating army disappear in the im- 
penetrable fog which yet hung over the river. 

" Nobly had the fisherman-soldiers of Marblehead and Salem," says Lossing, 
" labored at their muffled oars during the long hours of that perilous night ; naught 
save a few heavy cannon was left behind ; none save a few lagging marauders 
were captured, and when the fog at last rolled away the American army was 
joyously moving towards the upper portions of Manhattan Island. That retreat, 
in all its circumstances, was truly wonderful. Surely, that fog was the shield of 
God's providence over those men engaged in a holy cause. If ' the stars in their 
courses fought against Sisera,' in the time of Deborah, the prophetess, these mists 
were the wings of the cherubim of mercy and hope over the Americans on that 
occasion." 

Another writer adds: "This splendid retreat won civic crowns for the 
American hero, and its parallel is only to be found in the Spanish campaign of 
the conqueror of Gaul. But the favorable breeze, the calm water, and the thick 
fog, which, toward two in the morning, veiled the Americans from the British 
and yet left the river clear, seem direct interpositions of that gracious Providence, 
which in after days guided our revolution to victory." 



REPORT OF COL.TALLMADGE, AS QUOTED BY SIMMS. 

"By ten o'clock the troops began to retire from the lines, so that no chasm was 
made; but as one regiment left their station or guard, the remaining troops moved 
to the right and left and filled up the vacancies, while Washington took his station 
at the ferry and superintended the embarkation. As the dawn approached, those 
of us who remained in the trenches became very anxious for our safety, at which 
time there were several regiments still on duty, and a dense fog began to rise and 
seemed to settle over both encampments; so dense was the atmosphere that a man 
could not be discerned six yards off. When the sun rose we had orders to leave 
the lines, but before we reached the ferry the regiment was orderd back again. 
Col. Chester faced about and returned to the lines, where the regiment tarried till 
the sun had risen, but the fog remained as dense as ever. Finally a second order 
came, and we joyfully bid those trenches a long adieu. When we reached Brooklyn 
ferry the boats had not yet returned from their last trip, but they soon appeared. 
I think I saw Gen. Washington on the ferry stairs when I stepped into one of the 
last boats. I left my horse at the ferry tied to a post. The troops having all safely 
reached New York, and the fog continuing thick as ever, I got leave to return with 
a crew of volunteers for my favorite horse. I had got off with him some distance 
into the river before the enemy appeared in Brooklyn. As soon as they reached 
the ferry we were saluted merrily from their musketry, and finally by their field 
pieces. When the enemy had taken possession of the heights opposite the city of 
New York, they commenced firing from the artillery, and the fleet pretty soon were 
in motion to take possession of those waters." 



35 

"The guns of Fort Sterling were unspiked and turned on the boats of the 
retreating Americans. Three persons who left the Island last in a batteau fell into 
the enemy's hands." — New England Chronicle. 

BRITISH ACCOUNTS OF THE RETREAT. 

The lines could not be taken by assault, but by approaches. We had no 
fascines to fill the ditches, no axes to cut abatis, and no scaling ladders to assault 
so respectable a work. The lines were a mile and a half in extent, including 
angles, cannon-proof, with a chain of five redoubts, or rather fortresses with 
ditches, as had the lines that formed the intervals; the whole surmounted with a 
most formidable abatis, finished in every part. A corporal and six men had a diffi- 
culty in getting through the abatis. They were reconnoitering before daybreak, 
and at 4 o'clock discovered the lines were evacuated. The pickets marched 25 
minutes after Gen. Robinson heard of the retreat at 7 o'clock, and his brigade was 
ordered to march at 8, but while marching to the ferry he was ordered toward 
Hellgate to meet Lee, reported to be landing there with an army. We were on the 
rear of the enemy; some where killed or taken prisoners in Brooklyn. We saw 
three or four boats afloat — some boats not off. The debris of their rear guard 
embarked about 8 or 9 o'clock. The Americans fired grape from their 32 pounders 
in the city and at the ship yards, 850 yards off. Their retreat was secured by forts 
on Brooklyn heights and floating batteries in the river. No boat could be stationed 
so as to see the passing at Brooklyn ferry without exposure to the American 
batteries. — Parliamentary Register, Vol. 13. 



GENERAL WOODHULL'S OPERATIONS BEYOND 
THE LINES. 

During the battle of the 27th, and for some days previous, military operations 
were being conducted beyond the American lines, which, it was believed, would have 
an important bearing on the final result. A hostile army of twenty thousand men 
could not long remain in possession of a country without local means of subsis- 
tence. Aware of the increasing want of provisions among the enemy and the 
American army being confined to the lines, the whole stock and produce of Long 
Island would be in the power of the hostile troops, unless means were promptly 
used to prevent it. The New York Convention, then in session, adopted a policy, 
since successfully pursued by the Russians on a larger scale. This was, to deprive 
the invading foe of supplies and thus compel their abandonment of the island, by 
removing the stock and other provisions in the vicinity, and if that could not he 
effected, by destroying them. General Nathaniel Woodhull, a native of Long 
Island, and a man of large experience in both civil and military affairs, was 
believed to be the best man for this undertaking. He had distinguished himself as 
a military leader during the French war. At an early period in the formation of a 
military force he had been appointed Brigadier-General of the State levies, and he 
commanded the district, including the counties of Long Island. He had been 
chosen President of the Provincial Congress of New York, and at this time held 
that position. It was considered important, however, by the Congress, that 
General Woodhull, from his intimate knowledge of the Island, should take personal 
command of the militia drafted from its towns, and accordingly, soon after the 
landing of the British forces, he left the presidential chair for the open field. 



36 

" From Yellow Hook to Jamaica," says Field, "all the horses, cattle and swine 
were swept out in great droves upon the plains of Hempstead or gathered within 
the Brooklyn lines. Columns of smoke over every farm, indicated the work of 
destruction in the burning stacks of grain and provender. The inhabitants were 
permitted, by the orders of the Provincial Congress, to retain only that portion of 
their crops which was absolutely necessary for the sustenance of life. One cow 
and one horse was left in each neighborhood of three or four families. The 
Provincial Congress had most unaccountably delayed the execution of one import- 
ant military measure until the 24th of August, two days after the landing of the 
enemy. This was the levy en masse of the militia of the island. The inhabitants 
of Kings county, thus hurriedly armed, together with the Suffolk and Queens 
county regiments, commanded by Cols. Smith and Remsen, were placed under the 
command of Gen. Woodhull. Notwithstanding the Provincial Congress of New 
York had fully provided for retaining its authority over the militia of the colony, 
by the appointment of its president to the command, that body, jealous of its own 
authority, or distrustful of the ability of its officers, still dictated the movements of 
the forces under their command." 

When General Woodhull reached Jamaica it was found that the militia there 
assembled consisted of only about one hundred men, led by Colonel Potter, of 
Suffolk, about forty militia from Queens and fifty horsemen belonging to the troop 
of Kings and Queens counties. With this handful of men, General Woodhull 
advanced to the westward of Queens county, agreeably to his orders. Owing, 
probably, to receipt of information that increased numbers of British had disem- 
barked on the preceding day at New Utrecht, the commanding officer at Brooklyn 
did not detach the Second Long Island Regiment to join General Woodhull, and 
by some fatality, the omission was neither communicated to the convention nor to 
the expecting General. He had written to the convention of the critical condition of 
affairs and of the importance of sending additional troops. A part of the correspon- 
dence seems to have miscarried, and the hasty adjournment of the convention, to 
whom General Woodhull looked for his orders, left him in a very helpless condi- 
tion. Disappointed at not meeting the additional troops, without whom he could not 
post any force on the heights to repel depredations of the enemy, he nevertheless 
commenced with vigor the execution of the rest of his orders. He placed guards 
and sentries to prevent communication between the tories and the enemy, and on 
this and the succeeding days he scoured the country southwest of the hills in 
Kings and a considerable part of Newtown and Jamaica, and sent off an immense 
quantity of stock, collected them toward the great plains and ordered off a further 
quantity from Hempstead. In the meantime his numbers had dwindled (by the 
anxiety of the militia to reach their homes and protect or remove their families) to 
less than a hundred men, who, as well as their horses, were worn down. 

During the battle of the 27th, numbers of the British troops posted themselves 
on the hills between New York and Jamaica, and detached parties made incursions 
into the country within a short distance of the General's force. As a matter of 
precaution he retired to Jamaica, sending, at different times, two messages to the 
convention, apprising that body of his situation ; of the absolute necessity of 
reinforcements, and of his conviction that the two Long Island regiments could 
not join him in consequence of the interruption of the communication. Unfortu- 
nately, the convention did not sit on that day and the General, receiving no 



37 

answer, despatched his brigade-major, who was also a member of that body, to 
repeat his representation and obtain their orders. The convention, at their 
meeting on the 26th, still adhered to their former project, believing that by cross- 
ing the East River to York Island and making a detour to Flushing, the two 
regiments might still reach Jamaica. They accordingly sent Major Lawrence to 
Gen. Washington with a letter expressing that opinion, and referring him to the 
brigade-major for explanations as to the means ; at the same time they directed 
the necessary preparations for the transportation and landing of the troops, and 
receiving soon after a reiteration of the call for an immediate reinforcement, they 
deputed two of their body, John Sloss Hobart and James Townsend, to repair to 
General Woodhull with instructions and advice. Owing, probably, to the inter- 
mediate roads being in possession of the enemy, these gentlemen, it is believed, 
never reached him. On the same morning the convention forwarded a circular to 
the committees of the different towns of Connecticut lying upon the Sound, request- 
ing their cooperation in removing the stock from Long Island to that State, and an 
application to the Governor for such force as could be speedily obtained. In the 
afternoon Maj. Lawrence returned from the American camp bringing a letter from 
the commander-in-chief declining the request of the convention for the desired 
reinforcement, because, in the opinion of himself and his general officers, these 
troops were needed to the defense of their lines. In the meantime, Gen. Wood- 
hull, whose notions of military obedience had been formed in the strictest school, 
was awaiting the expected orders and reinforcements. His situation was peculiarly 
embarrassing. He had been led to believe that he should receive support. Every 
communication from the convention, from whom he received his orders, contained 
or implied instructions that he should remain in the western part of Queens 
county and encouraged him to expect a reinforcement. 

Field says : " Under all the uncertainties of his position, a brave man might 
have retired without shame, but a noble and conscientious one always decides on 
the side of self-sacrifice. He adopted the course which his own delicate sense of 
honor and of duty dictated, and resolved not to retreat until he was relieved from 
his perilous service by absolute orders from the convention. Unwilling that his 
command should share his peril, the General ordered his troops, on the morning of 
the 28th, to take a position about four miles beyond Jamaica, while he returned 
thither, accompanied only by an orderly or two, to receive the expected message 
from the convention. There he awaited its arrival until late in the afternoon, and 
then returned slowly to his headquarters of the day before only on receipt of the 
intelligence that the British outposts were being pushed rapidly toward the village." 

The enemy had been informed the day before by disaffected persons in the 
neighborhood, that a rebel general was holding a position at Jamaica and a 
squadron of the Seventeenth Regiment of British Dragoons, accompanied by a 
detachment of the Seventy-first Infantry was sent in pursuit, guided by loyalists 
who hoped to be avenged for the loss of their horses and cattle. General Wood- 
hull, in the meantime, unconscious of the approach of his pursuers, had reached his 
quarters of the day before, at the inn of Increase Carpenter. He had scarcely 
seated himself when the dragoons appeared almost at the door, the roar of thunder 
and the beating of the torrents of rain having deadened the sound of their horses' 
hoofs. Under ordinary circumstances he might have made his escape, as his horse 
was secured nearby ready for just such an emergency. Immediately on reaching 
the tavern he ordered Col. Robinson forward, remaining by himself without 



39 

attendance, still expecting some message from the Congress. On hearing the 
shouts of the dragoons as they dashed up to the door, the General sprang to the 
rear hall door, which he had difficulty in opening, and he lost several moments. 
He escaped from the house and was in the act of clearing the fence to which his 
horse was secured, when he was overtaken and captured by the dismounted 
dragoons. One of the ruffians approached him with the exclamation : " Surrender, 
you damned rebel ! " General Woodhull, without any attempt at resistance, 
tendered him his sword. The officer, with uplifted sword, demanded that he say : 
" God save the King." " God save us all," said the General. The demand was 
repeated, and on his refusal, the General was struck several times by the sword of 
the officer and would doubtless have been killed had he not instinctively raised his 
arms to ward off the blows. The brutal officer continued the attack until the 
General fell to the ground without uttering other words than of regret that he had 
surrendered. The ruffian was prevented from completing his murderous design 
by the interference of another officer possessing more honor and humanity. 

William Howard, in his account of the affair, says: "The next morning 
Woodhull and other prisoners were brought to Howard's. His wife went out to 
Woodhull under the shed and asked him if he would have some refreshments. 
She then gave him some bread and butter, and smoked beef, and wine sangaree. 
His head was tied up and he had other wounds. She also treated the American 
prisoners. Woodhull was first taken to Brooklyn church (that stood in the middle 
of the street) then to New Utrecht." 

Onderdonk is of the opinion that the General and the other prisoners were 
first taken to Howe's headquarters in Brooklyn, for registration, and adds : " We 
knew nothing of the place and manner of his confinement until about a fortnight 
after, when he was brought on board a prison-ship at New Utrecht." 

Thompson says : " The General was badly wounded in the head and one of 
his arms was mangled from the shoulder to the wrist. He was taken to Jamaica, 
where his wounds were dressed, and, with other prisoners, was detained there 
until the next day. He was then conveyed to Gravesend and with about eighty 
other prisoners (of whom Col. Troup, of New York, was one) was confined on board a 
vessel which had been employed to transport live stock for the use of the army and 
was without accommodations for health or comfort. The General was released 
from the vessel on remonstrance of an officer who had more humanity than his 
superiors, and removed first to the Dutch Church in New Utrecht, and thence 
to the dwelling-house nearby adjoining, where he was permitted to receive proper 
attendance and medical assistance. The General sent for his wife, with a request 
that she should bring with her all the money she had in her possession, and this 
he distributed among his fellow-prisoners. A cut in the joint of the elbow 
necessitated the amputation of the arm. Mortification set in and he died September 
20, 1776. His wife was permitted to remove the body seventy miles distance, to 
his home in Mastie, where his remains still rest, marked by a simple monument. 
A movement was started by the leading citizens of Brooklyn, headed by General 
Jeremiah Johnson, to erect a suitable monument to his memory. An acre plot 
was donated by the trustees of Cypress Hills Cemetery and the plans prepared fora 
monument to cost one hundred thousand dollars. Public meetings were held and 
quite an interest aroused. The total subscriptions, however, amounted to only 
about seven thousand dollars, and this was subsequently returned to the 
subscribers. 



40 

MAJOR MORDECAI GIST AND THE GALLANT 
MARYLANDERS. 

Johnston, referring to Major Mordecai Gist and his Marylanders, says : 
" Mordecai Gist, Esq., of Baltimore town, was among the first to sniff the coming 
storm and the first to act, for he tells that as early as December, 1774, at the 
expense of his time and the hazard of his business, he organized a ' company 
composed of men of honor, family and fortune,' to be ready for any emergency. 
The Lexington News, four months later, found the best part of Maryland ready to 
arm. In Baltimore, William Buchanan, lieutenant of the county, collected a body 
of the older citizens for home defence, while their unmarried sons and others 
organized themselves into two more companies, donned ' an excellent scarlet uni- 
form and chose Gist for their leader.' When the State called for troops at large, 
many of these young men responded, and in the spring of 1776, made up three 
companies which, with six other companies that gathered at Annapolis from the 
surrounding country, formed the first Maryland battalion of ' State regulars.' 
William Smallwood, living on the banks of the Potomac, in Charles County, was 
chosen colonel ; Francis Ware, lieutenant-colonel, and Mordecai Gist, first major. 
The State sent no better material into the service." 

EXTRACT FROM SCHARF'S "HISTORY OF BALTIMORE CITY AND 
COUNTY," PAGES 70 AND 71. 

On April 29, 1775, the Maryland Convention recommended that six hundred 
pounds be raised in the counties by subscription, and fifty-six pounds was the pro- 
portion assigned to Baltimore County. On the third of December, 1774, as we 
learn from a letter of Mordecai Gist, himself, the first military company in the 
province was organized for the Revolution. It was formed in Baltimore Town, 
under the name of the "Baltimore Independent Cadets," and the articles of organ- 
ization were as follows : 

" We, the Baltimore Independent Cadets, being impressed with the sense of 
the unhappy situation of our suffering brethren in Boston, through the alarming 
conduct of General Gage, and the oppressive unconstitutional acts of parliament 
to deprive us of liberty and enforce slavery upon his majesty's loyal liege subjects 
of America in general. 

" For the better security of our lives, liberties and properties under such 
alarming circumstances, we think it highly advisable and necessary that we form 
ourselves into a body or company in order to acquire military discipline, to act in 
defense of our country, agreeable to the resolves of the Continental Congress. 
And first, as dutiful subjects to King George the Third, our royal sovereign, we 
acknowledge all due allegiance, under whose banner we wish to support the 
dignity of his crown and the freedom and liberty of this constitution. 

" Secondly, we resolve, after a company of sixty men have voluntarily sub- 
scribed their names to this paper, that public notice thereof shall be given and a 
meeting called to elect officers of said company, under whose command we desire 
to be led, and will strictly adhere to, by all the sacred ties of honor and the love 
and justice clue to ourselves and country ; and in case of any emergency we will 
be ready to march to the assistance of our sister colonies, at the discretion and 
direction of our commanding officer so elected, and that in the space of forty- 
eight hours notice from said officer. 



4i 

" Thirdly and lastly, we firmly resolve to procure at our own expense a uni- 
form suit of clothes, viz.: Coat, turned up with buff and trimmed with yellow 
metal or gold buttons, white stockings and black cloth half boots ; likewise a good 
gun with cartouch pouch, a pair of pistols, belt and cutlass, with four pounds of 
powder and sixteen pounds of lead, which shall be ready to equip ourselves with 
on the shortest notice ; and if default shall be found in either of us contrary to 
the true intent and meaning of this engagement, we desire and submit ourselves 
to trial by courtmartial, whom we hereby fully authorize and empower to deter- 
mine punishments adequate to the crimes that may be committed, but not to 
extend to corporal punishment. 

" Given under our hands this third day of December, in the year of our Lord 
one thousand seven hundred and seventy-four. A. McLure, James Clarke, Barnet 
Eichelberger, Richard Cary, Jr., Christopher Hughes, W. Beard, Henry Sheaff, 
Matthew Scott, John Spear, Mordecai Gist. John McLure, Samuel Smith, John 
Smith. Jr., J. Kennedy, Hugh Young, YVm. Hammond, Wm. Stone, Abraham 
Risteau, Moses Darley, Robert Buchanan, George Lux, N. Ruxton Moore, David 
Plunkitt, J. Riddle, Brian Philpot, Chas. McConnell, Christopher Johnston, Thomas 
Jones, Philip Graybell, Thomas Russell, David Hopkins, John Lahavan, A. McKim, 
Robert McKim, Alexander Donaldson, Walter Roe, Wm. Sterrett, G. McCall, 
Jonathan Hudson, Thomas Lansdale, James Govane, Wm. McCreery, Thomas 
Ewing, Robert Porttens, Christopher Leon, Caleb Shields, David Evans, Simon 
Vashon, David McMechen, George Peter Keeports, John Weatherburn, Matthew 
Patton, H. Waters, Wm. Yeaton, John Deitch, James Sowervell, J. Magoffin, 
George Matthews, Robert Brown." 

This company was organized by the election of Mordecai Gist as captain. 

On January 16, 1775, the inhabitants of Baltimore Town "qualified to vote 
for representatives," met at the court house for the purpose of selecting delegates 
to represent the county in the " provincial meeting of deputies," to be held at 
Annapolis on April 24, and to carry out the resolutions of the last convention, 
Capt. Charles Ridgely, Thomas Cockey Deye, Walter Tolley, Jr., Charles Ridgely 
(son of John), Robert Alexander, Samuel Purviance, Benj imin Nicholson, Darby 
Lux, Jeremiah Townley Chase, George Risteau, Thomas Harrison, John Moale, 
Andrew Buchanan. William Lux and Samuel Worthington were chosen delegates 
to the convention, and the following persons were added to the Committee of 
Observation appointed at the meeting in November: 

Patapsco Lower Hundred — Charles Rogers, John Gorsuch, William McCubbin 
and William Williamson. Patapsco Upper— Jas. Croxall, John Elliott and Edward 
Norwood. Black River Upper— John Cockey, Edward Talbot, Joshua Stevenson, 
Edward Cockey, Ezekiel Tovvson. Middle River Upper— Benjamin Rogers, 
Robert Cummings Benjamin Buck, Joshua Hall, Gist Vaughan and Benjamin 
Merryman. Black River Lower — Moses Galloway. George Goldsmith Presbury, 
Abraham Britton and Nicholas Britton. Soldier's Delight— Thomas Cradock, 
Charles Walker, Samuel Ovvings, Jr., Christopher Randall, Jr., and Benjamin 
Wells. Middlesex -Jacob Myers, Richard Cromwell and Thomas Rutter. Dela- 
ware—Christopher Owings, Benjamin Lawrence and Nicholas Dorsey, Jr. North- 
John Hall and Stephen Gill, Jr. Pipe Creek— John Showers and George Ever- 
hart. Gunpowder Upper— Samuel Young, Jessey Bassey, Thomas Gassaway 
Howard, James Bosley, Wm. Cromwell and Zaccheus Barrett Onion. Mine Run — 




MAJOR MORDECAI GIST 



4 2 

Edward Stansbury, John Stevenson, Daniel Shaw, Wm. Slade, Jr., Joseph Sutton 
and John Stewart. Baltimore Town— James Sterrett, Charles Ridgely, William 
Goodwin, Dr. Charles Wiesenthal and Thomas Ewing. 

Mordecai Gist, son of Capt. Thomas Gist and Susannah Cockey, was born in 
Baltimore Town in 1743. He was educated at St. Paul's parish school, and at the 
breaking out of the Revolution was a merchant doing business on Gay street. 
His ancestors were early immigrants to Maryland and took an active part in the 
affairs of the province. Christopher Gist was of English descent, and died in 
Baltimore County, in 1691. His wife was Edith Cromwell, who died in 1694. 
They had one child, Richard, who was surveyor of the western shore, and was 
one of the commissioners, in 1729, for laying off Baltimore Town, and was presid- 
ing magistrate in 1736. In 1705 he married Zipporah Murray. Christoper Gist, 
one of his sons, because of his knowledge of the country on the Ohio and his skill 
in dealing with the Indians, was chosen to accompany Washington on his mission 
in 1753, and it was from his journal that all subsequent historians derive their 
account of that expedition. 

Christopher Gist, the son of Richard, married Sarah Howard, ihe second 
daughter of Joshua and Joanna O'Carroll Howard, and had four children — Nancy, 
who died unmarried, and Thomas, Nathaniel and Richard. Christopher, with his 
sons Nathaniel and Richard, was with Braddock on the fatal field of the Monon- 
gahela, and for his services received a grant of twelve thousand acres of land from 
the King of England. It is said that Thomas was taken prisoner at Braddock's 
defeat and lived fifteen or sixteen years with the Indians in Canada. Richard 
married and settled in South Carolina, and was killed at the battle of King's 
Mountain. He has descendants living in that State. Thomas, after his release 
from captivity, lived with his father on the grant in Kentucky and became a man 
of note, presiding in the courts till his death, about 1786. Gen. Nathaniel Gist 
married Judith Carey Bell, of Buckingham County, Va., a grandniece of Archibald 
Carey, the mover of the Bill of Rights in the Virginia House of Burgesses. 
Nathaniel was a colonel in the Virginia line during the Revolution, and died early 
in the present century at an old age. He left two sons, Henry Carey and Thomas 
Cecil Gist. His eldest daughter, Sarah Howard, married the Hon. Jesse Bledsoe, 
a United States Senator from Kentucky and a distinguished jurist ; his grandson, 
B. Gratz Brown, was the Democratic candidate for Vice-President in 1872. The 
second daughter of Gen. Gist, Anne (Nancy), married Col. Nathaniel Hart, a 
brother of Mrs. Henry Clay. The third daughter married Dr. Boswell, of Lexing- 
ton, Ky. The fourth daughter, Eliza Violetta Howard Gist, married Francis P. 
Blair, and they were the parents of Hon. Montgomery Blair, of Maryland, ex- 
Postmaster-General, and Gen. Francis P. Blair, Jr. The fifth daughter married 
Benjamin Gratz, of Lexington, Ky. 

Mordecai Gist was a member of the Baltimore non-importation committee in 
1774 and, besides being captain of the "Independent Cadets," in January, 1776, 
was made major of Smallwood's First Maryland Regiment, and commanded it at 
the battle of Long Island, in August, 1776, in the absence of its colonel and 
lieutenant-colonel, who were attending a court-martial in New York. In 1777 he 
was promoted to colonel, and made brigadier-general January 9, 1779. He was 
present at the surrender of Cornwallis at Yorktown, and after the war settled near 
Charleston, S. C. He married three times. His first wife was a Mrs. Carnan, of 



43 

Baltimore County, who died shortly after marriage. His second wife was Miss 
Sterrett, of Baltimore, who died in giving birth to a son. His third wife was Mrs. 
Cattell, of South Carolina. She also bore him a son. One of the boys was named 
Independent, the other States. Gen. Gist died at Charleston, August 2, 1792. 

Johnston, referring to the important part borne by Major Gist at the battle of 
Long Island, says: "Stirling, realizing his danger, at once determined upon the 
only manoeuvre that promised escape for any of his command. Upon his left lay 
the Gowanus marsh and creek where both were at their broadest and where a 
crossing had never been attempted. * * * He therefore ordered his men to 
make their way as they could, while, to protect them as they forded or swam, he 
himself took Gist and half the Maryland battalion and proceeded to attack Corn- 
wallis. The Marylanders followed their general without flinching and were soon 
warmly engaged with the enemy who had posted themselves at the Vechte — later 
known as the Cortelyou house - above the upper mills, near the intersection of the 
Port and Gowanus roads. Stirling's example was inspiring. ' He encouraged and 
animated our young soldiers,' writes Gist, 'with almost invincible resolution.' " 



SUPPLEMENT 



SECTION I 



The Heroes of the Revolution and their Descendant 



HISTORY 



Society Sons of the Revolution, 



INCLUDING THE 



ANCESTRAL LINE 



FOUNDERS AND BUILDERS. 



1899. 



SOCIETY OF THE SONS OF THE REVOLUTION, IN 
THE STATE OF NEW YORK. 



"On that night could not ihe King sleep, and he commanded to bring the book of records 
of the chronicles; and they were read before the King." 

A well known writer in one of our religious journals says : " It is a good 
thing that there are growing up in our country patriotic societies composed of 
those who can trace descent from men and women who lived and died as patriots. 
It gives a man something to live up to - to remember that in his veins runs the 
Dlood of heroes. He is more likely to be a hero for remembering it. Let every 
man who has been born into a Christian home rejoice in his privilege." 

Gov. Seymour, in a letter to the writer, some years ago, said : "The ignor- 
ance of the America people regarding the history of their own country is disrep- 
utable." Thanks to the efforts of the Society of the Sons of the Revolution and 
kindred societies, this can no longer be said. From Maine to California, ancestral 
and historical investigation has been going on for the past twenty years, which 
gives bright promise for the near future, and so far as our Republic is concerned, 
the charge can no longer be made that " republics are ungrateful." 

Washington's Birthday has been annually observed and still continues to be 
by the Society, and other recurring anniversaries of the Revolution receive due 
recognition. The placing of tablets in various parts of New York City, to mark 
important places and events, the erection of a bronze statue in the City Hall Park 
in memory of Nathan Hale, the " Martyr Spy of the American Revolution," constitute 
but a small portion of the work done by this Society. These notable events, and 
others of equal importance, will be fully described in Section II. of The HEROES OF 
the American Revolution and their Descendants, entitled, "New York 
and its Environs in the Revolution." The SOCIETY OF THE SONS OF THE 
Revolution in the State of New York, was incorporated May 3, 1884, under 
the laws of the State of New York. 

The preliminary movement leading to the organization of a patriotic society 
which would render eligible to membership, the descendants of the soldiers of the 
Revolution, originated with Mr. John Austin Stevens, in the autumn of 1875. 
In a letter to F. S. Tallmadge, Esq , President of the Society, Mi». Stevens says : 
"In the month of January, 1S76, a plan of organization of a Society, under the 
name of 'Sons of the Revolution,' was drawn up by me, to which some 
gentlemen set their names. Its purpose was dual. First, to revere and maintain 
the American spirit of our forefathers. Second, to promote the codection and 
preservation of historical papers of the Revolutionary period. 

" The plan of the Society provided for the admission of any and all male 
applicants of good standing, who could show descent from a person in public 
service — civil, military or naval — of the General or State Governments during the 
period of hostilities. 

" Thus the Society was inaugurated* but a lack of public interest held it 
dormant for several years. In the progression of centennial anniversaries which 
ensued, the American spirit was gradually aroused, and that sentiment of pride in 
a Revolutionary descent, which was before modestly conceded, was openly avowed. 



4 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

" This honorable pride led to the magnificent entertainment by the State of 
New York to the French delegation to the Yorktown celebration in 1881, and to 
the extraordinary display of public interest and patriotic spirit by this community, 
under the most untoward circumstances, on the anniversary of the Evacuation of 
the City of New York by the British in 1783, the final act of the American 
Revolution. This anniversary, which fell on the 25th of November, 1S83, was the 
last of the Revolutionary commemorations. 

" Among the events of that memorable celebration, was the dinner at 
Fraunces's Tavern, on the evening of the 4th of December, the anniversary of 
Washington's farewell to his officers. Here in the very long room where 
occurred that touching historic scene, the plan of the proposed Society was sub- 
mitted, and the gentlemen adjourned to meet on the same spot on the following 
New Year's eve, when it was agreed to, signed, and the organization effected, 
under the name of SONS OF THE REVOLUTION." 

The purpose for which it was organized, the character of its members, and 
the careful scrutiny given as to the qualifications for membership, speedily brought 
to it the respect of the community. The accounts of its patriotic celebrations and 
acts in the way of erecting memorials and statues, were read with interest, and 
when the great Centennial of the inauguration of the Government of the United 
States under the Constitution was held, in New York, in April and May, 1889, the 
"Sons of the Revolution" bore a principal part, both in its inception and in 
membership, and chairmanship of the necessary committees. 

The Constitution of the General Society of the Sons of the Revolution clearly 
sets forth the causes that necessitated, and which finally culminated in, the organ- 
ization of this patriotic and thoroughly American society. It is as follows : 

" It being evident, from a steady decline of a proper celebration of the 
National holidays of the United States of A^°rica, that popular concern in the 
events and men of the War of the Revolution, is gradually declining, and that 
such lack of interest is attributable, not so much to the lapse of time and the 
rapidly increasing flood of immigration from foreign countries, as to the neglect 
on the part of descendants of Revolutionary heroes to perform their duty in 
keeping before the public mind the memory of the services of their ancestors and 
of the times in which they lived ; therefore, the Society of the Sons of the Revolu- 
tion has been instituted to perpetuate the memory of the men who, in the military, 
naval and civil service of the Colonies and of the Continental Congress, by their 
acts or counsel, achieved the independence of the country, and to further the 
proper celebration of the anniversaries of the birthday of Washington and of the 
prominent events connected with the War of the Revolution ; to collect and secure 
for preservation the rolls, records and other documents relating to that period ; to 
inspire the members of the Society with the patriotic spirit of their forefathers, 
and to promote the feeling of friendship among them." 

The objects of the Society are further stated in the Preamble of the revised 
Constitution adopted at the time of its incorporation, as follows : "To promote 
and assist in the proper celebration of the anniversaries of Washington's Birthday, 
the battles of Lexington and Bunker Hill, the Fourth of July, the Capitulation of 



'Washington was actually born O. S. Feb. 11, 1776, as the method of reckoning time 
under the old style was then in vogue. 



SONS CF THE REVOLUTION. - 5 

Saratoga and Yorktown, the formal evacuation of New York by the British Army, 
on the 3d of December, 1783, as a relinquishment of territorial sovereignty, and 
other prominent events relating to or connected with the War of the Revolution." 

INCORPORATORS. 

John Austin Stevens, John Cochrane, Austin Huntington, George H. Potts, 
Frederick Samuel Tallmadge, George Washington Wright Houghton, Asa Bird 
Gardiner, Thomas Henry Edsall, Joseph W. Drexel, James Mortimer Montgomery, 
James Duane Livingston, Alexander R. Thompson, Jr. 

QUALIFICATIONS FOR MEMBERSHIP. 

The qualifications for membership are, that the applicant " shall be above the 
age of twenty-one years, who is descended from an ancestor, as the propositus 
who, either as a military, naval or marine, or official in the service of any one of 
the thirteen original Colonies or States, or of the National Government represent- 
ing or composed of these Colonies or States, assisted in establishing American 
Independence during the War of the Revolution, between the 19th day of April, 
1775, when hostilities commenced, and the 19th day of April, 1783, when they 
were ordered to cease. 

" Provided, That when the claim of eligibility is based on the service of an 
ancestor in the ' minute men ' or ' militia,' it must be satisfactorily shown that 
such ancestor was actually called into the service of the State or United States 
and performed garrison or field duty ; and 

" Provided further, That when the claim of eligibility is based on the service 
of an ancestor as a 'sailor' or ' marine,' it must in like manner be shown that such 
service was other than shore duty and regularly performed in the Continental 
Navy, or the navy of one of the original thirteen States, or on an armed vessel, 
other than a merchant ship which sailed under letters of marque and reprisal, and 
that such ancestor of the applicant was duly enrolled in the ship's company, 
either as an officer, seaman or otherwise than a passenger ; and 

" Provided further, That when the claim of eligibility is based on the service 
of an ancestor as an ' official,' such service must have been performed in the civil 
service of the United States or of one of the thirteen original States, and must 
have been sufficiently important in character to have rendered the official specially 
liable to arrest and imprisonment, the same as a complainant, if captured by the 
enemy, as well as liable to conviction of treason against the Government of Great 
Britain. 

"Service in the ordinary duties of a civil office, the performance of which did 
not particularly and effectively aid the American cause, shall not constitute 
eligibility. 

" In the construction of this article, the Volunteers Aides-de-Camp of General 
Officers in Continental service, who were duly announced as such and who 
actually served in the field during a campaign, shall be comprehended as having 
performed qualifying service. 

" The civil officials and military forces of the State of Vermont during the 
War of the Revolution, shall also be comprehended in the same manner as if 
they had belonged to one of the thirteen original States. 



5 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

" No service of an ancestor shall be deemed as qualifying service for member- 
ship in the Sons of the Revolution, where such ancestor, after assisting in 
the cause of American Independence, shall have subsequently either adhered to 
the enemy or failed to maintain an honorable record throughout the War of the 
Revolution. 

" No person shall be admitted unless he is eligible under one of the provisions 
of this Article, nor unless he be of good moral character and be judged worthy 
of becoming a member." 

THE SEAL AND INSIGNIA OF THE SOCIETY. 

The Seal of the Society consists of a " Minute-man " in Continental uniform 
standing on a ladder leading to a belfry, and holding in his left hand a musket ar 
an olive branch, and grasping in his right hand a bell-rope. Above, the cracked 
"Liberty Bell"; issuing therefrom, a ribbon bearing the motto of the SONS OF 
the Revolution — " Exegi monumentum cere perenntus." Across the top of the 
ladder, on a ribbon, the figures, "1776," and at the left of the Minute-man, and 
also on a ribbon, the figures," 1883," — the year of the centennial commemoration of 
the permanent evacuation by the British army of American territory, — the whole 
encircled by a band three-eighths of a inch wide ; thereon, at the top, thirteen 
stars of five points each, and at the bottom, the legend, " SONS OF THE REVOLU- 
TION." 




SEAL OF THE SOCIETY. 

The insignia of the Society consists of a badge, elliptical in form, with escal- 
loped edges, one and one-quarter inches in length and one and one-eighth inches in 
width, the whole surmounted by a gold eagle with wings displayed, inverted. On 
the obverse side, a medallion of gold in the centre, elliptical in form, bearing on 
its face the figure of a soldier in Continental uniform, with musket slung. Be- 
neath, the figures, " 1775." The medallion is surrounded by thirteen raised gold 
stars of five points each, upon a border of dark blue enamel. On the reverse side, 
in the centre, a medallion corresponding in form to that on the obverse, and also, 
in gold, bearing on its face Houdon's portrait of Washington in bas-relief, encircled 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 7 

by the legend, "Sons of the Revolution." Beneath, the figures, " 1883," and 
upon the reverse side of the eagle, the number of the particular lodge engraved ; 
the medallion surrounded by a plain gold border conforming in dimensions to the 
obverse, upon which members may have their names engraved in script. 

The badge is pendant from a ribbon by a ring of gold, and is to be worn by 
the members conspicuously, and only on the left breast, on all occasions when they 
shall assemble as such for any stated purpose or celebration. It is forbidden to 
wear the badge as an article of jewelry. 





INSIGNIA OF THE SOCIETY. 



OFFICERS OF THE NEW YORK SOCIETY, FROM ITS RE-ORGANIZ- 
ATION, DEC. 4, 1883. 

Presidents. — 1883-4, John Austin Stevens ; 1884, Frederick Samuel Tallmadge, 
still in office. 

Vice-Presidents. — 1883-4, John Cochrane; 1884-6, Thomas Henry Edsall; 
1886-8, Elbridge T. Gerry; 18S8-94, Floyd Clarkson ; 1894, James Mortimer Mont- 
gomery; 1894-5, William Gaston Hamilton; 1895-6, Robert Olyphant ; 1897, 
James William Beckman. 

Secretaries. — 1883, John Bleecker Miller, pro tern.; 1883-4, Austin Huntington; 
1884-6, George Washington Wright Houghton; 1886-93, James Mortimer Mont- 
gomery ; 1893-6, Thomas Edward Vermilye Smith; 1896, Charles Isham, still in 
office. 

Assistant Secretary. — 1891-5, Edward Trenchard. 

Treasurers.— 1883-5, George H. Potts; 1885, F. J. Huntington; 1885-6, 
Austin Huntington; 1886-7, Asa Coolidge Warren; 1887, Arthur Melvin Hatch, 
still in office. 



g SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. ^ 

Registrars.— 1885-6, Thomas Henry Edsall; 1887-9, Asa Coolidge Warren; 
1889-91, Henry Thayer Drowne ; 1891-6, Charles Isham ; 1897, Henry P. Johnston. 

Historians. - 1888-9, Austin Huntington; 1889-91, John Canfield Tomlinson; 
1 89 1 -3, Henry Wyckoff Le Roy; 1893-4. James Mortimer Montgomery; 1894-5. 
Talbot Olyphant; 1895-6, John Lawrence. 

Chaplains.— 1889, Rev. Daniel Cary Weston, D.D.; 1889, Rev. Brockholst 
Morgan, still in office. 

BOARD OF MANAGERS OF THE NEW YORK SOCIETY FROM ITS 
INCORPORATION. 

1883-4.— Frederick Samuel Tallmadge, Joseph W. Drexel, Thomas Henry 
Edsall, George W. W. Houghton, Asa Bird Gardiner, James Mortimer Montgom- 
ery, James Duane Livingston, John Bleecker Miller, Alexander R. Thompson, Jr. 

1884-5. — Asa Bird Gardiner, James Mortimer Montgomery, James Duane 
Livingston, John Bleecker" Miller, Alexander R. Thompson, Jr., John B. Ireland, 
Ethan Allen, Ingersoll Lockwood, Asa Coolidge Warren. 

1885-6. — James Mortimer Montgomery, Alexander R. Thompson, Jr., John 
B. Ireland, Ethan Allen, Asa Coolidge Warren, Floyd Clarkson, Edward L. 
Hedden, George Clinton Genet, Henry Wyckoff Le Roy. 

1886-7. — John B. Ireland, Floyd Clarkson, George Clinton Genet, Henry 
Wyckoff Le Roy, Horace Barnard, George Parsons Lathrop, Edward Rathbone 
Satterlee, John Clarkson Jay, Jr., James Duane Livingston. 

1887-8. — John B. Ireland, Floyd Clarkson, George Clinton Genet, Henry 
Wyckoff Le Roy, John Clarkson Jay, Jr., Rev. Brockholst Morgan, David B. 
St. John Roosa. 

1888-9. — John B. Ireland, George Clinton Genet, Henry Wyckoff Le Roy, 
James Duane Livingston, George Parsons Lathrop, John Clarkson Jay, Jr., Rev. 
Brockholst Morgan, William Gaston Hamilton, Robert F. Bixby, John Jackson 
Riker, pro tem., Asa Bird Gardiner, pro tern., Francis Lathrop, pro tern. 

1889-90.- John B. Ireland, George Clinton Genet, Henry Wyckoff Le Roy, 
John Clarkson Jay, Jr., Rev. Brockholst Morgan, William Gaston Hamilton, Asa 
Bird Gardiner, John Jackson Riker, Francis Lathrop, William Gordon Ver Planck, 
Bradish Johnson, Jr. 

1890-91. — George B. Ireland, George Clinton Genet, Henry Wyckoff Le Roy, 
John Clarkson Jay, Jr., William Gaston Hamilton, Asa Bird Gardiner, Bradish 
Johnson, Jr., Charles Hornblower Woodruff, William Carpender, Robert Lenox 
Belknap, Robert Olyphant. 

1891-2. — Asa Bird Gardiner, Bradish Johnson, Jr., Charles Hornblower Wood- 
ruff, William Carpender, Robert Lenox Belknap, Robert Olyphant, John Canfield 
Tomlinson, Governeur Mather Smith, William Gaston Hamilton. 

1892-3. -William Carpender, Robert Lenox Belknap, Robert Olyphant, John 
Canfield Tomlinson, Governeur Mather Smith, William Gaston Hamilton, John 
Lawrence, Benjamin Douglass Silliman, Charles Augustus Schermerhorn, William 
Alexander Duer, Charles Augustus Peabody, Jr. 

1893-4. — John Canfield Tomlinson, Governeur Mather Smith, William Gaston 
Hamilton, John Lawrence, Benjamin Douglass Silliman, Charles Augustus Scher- 
merhorn, Asa Bird Gardiner, Charles Augustus Peadody, Jr., Henry Wyckoff Le 
Roy, John Hone, Charles Hornblower Woodruff. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. Q 

1894-5. — John Lawrence, Benjamin Douglass Silliman, Charles Augustus 
Schermerhorn, Asa Bird Gardiner, Charles Augustus Peabody, Jr., Henry Wyckoff 
Le Roy, John Hone, Charles Hornblower Woodruff, William Gayer Dominick, 
Frederick Clarkson, John Taylor Terry, Jr., Robert Olyphant, pro tern., William 
Carpender, pro tern. 

1895-6.— Asa Bird Gardiner, Bradish Johnson, Henry Wyckoff Le Roy, John 
Hone, Charles Hornblower Woodruff, Chester Griswold, Frederick Clarkson, John 
Taylor Terry, Jr., William Carpender, James Betts Metcalf, William Gaston 
Hamilton. 

1896-7. — John Hone, Charles Hornblower Woodruff, Chester Griswold, Fred- 
erick Clarkson, John Taylor Terry, Jr., William Carpender, William Gaston 
Hamilton, Thomas E. V. Smith, Robert Olyphant, Fellowes Davis, Henry Deni- 
son Babcock. 

GENERAL SOCIETY SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

The General Society of the Sons of the Revolution was organized in the city 
of Washington, D. C, April 19, 1S90, by delegates from the local societies in New 
York, Philadelphia and Washington. The following gentlemen were present : 

New York. — Frederick S. Tallmadge, Wm. Gaston Hamilton, J. Alsop King, 
Timothy Matlack Cheesman, Arthur Milburn Hatch. 

District of Columbia. — Gov. John Lee Carroll, Admiral Samuel R. Franklin, 
Gen. Wm. B. Rochester, Capt. Daniel M. Taylor, Col. Charles Worthington, 
Lieut. T. M. B. Mason and Arthur II. Dutton. 

Pennsylvania. — Richard McCall Cadwalader, Major James Edward Carpen- 
ter, Col. Josiah Granville Leach, Col. Clifford Stanley Sims, Dr. Herman Burgen 
and Frederick Meade Bissell. 

Discussions took place concerning the general interests of the Sons of the 
Revolution. 

The only business of importance, other than the adoption of the Constitution, 
was the election of national officers. The following were chosen : 

General President. — Ex-Governor John Lee Carroll, of Maryland. 

General Vice-President. — Major William Wayne, of Pennsylvania. 

General Secretary.— James Mortimer Montgomery, of New York. 

Assistant General Secy. — Timothy Matlack Cheesman, M.D., of New York. 

General Treasurer. — Arthur II. Dutton, of the District of Columbia. 

General Chaplain. — The Rev. Daniel Cony Weston, D.D., of New York. 

The present officers, elected April, 1897, air : 

General President. — Hon. John Lee Carroll, Maryland. 

General Vice-Presidents. — G. D. W. AToom, New Jersey ; Colonel John 
Screven, Georgia. 

General Secretary. — James Mortimer Montgomery, New York. 

General Assistant Secy. — W. Hall Harris, Maryland. 

General Treastirer. — Richard McCall Cadwalader, Pennsylvania. 

General Assistant Treas. — Henry Cadle, Missouri. 

General Chaplain. — Bishop H. B. Whipple, Minnesota. 

General Registrar.— ¥. E. Abbott, Massachusetts. 

General Historian. — G. Hunt, District of Columbia. 



STEVENS ANCESTRY. 



John Austin Stevens, the founder and first President of the Society, comes 
of a line of distinguished New England ancestors, who have been prominent in 
Church and State affairs for two hundred years. 

Erasmus Stevens, the first of the family mentioned in this line appears in 
1 7 14 as one of the founders of the New North Church, in Boston. He had a son, 
Ebenezer (1). 

Ebenezer Stevens (i), son of Erasmus Stevens, was probably born in 
Boston. He lived in Roxbury, where he married Elizabeth Wild. They had a 
son, Ebenezer (2). 

MAJ.-GEN. EBENEZER STEVENS, of the War of the Revolution, 
son of Ebenezer and Elizabeth (Wild) Stevens, was born in Boston, Mass., Aug. 22, 
1 75 1. He was an ardent patriot, and led the famous "Tea Party," 1773, indisposing 
of the obnoxious cargo by " committing it to the deep." He made little effort at 
disguise, being recognized by the officers of one of the ships. He soon after- 
ward removed to Rhode Island, where he raised two companies of artillery, and 
one of artificers, and was commissioned Lieutenant, May, 8, 1775, and took part 
in the expedition against Quebec. He joined Henry Knox's regiment of artillery, 
was made a Captain on Jan. u, 1776, and on Nov. 9, following, was brevetted 
Major. He commanded the artillery at Ticonderoga and Stillwater. As senior 
officer of this arm of defense in the northern department, he directed the artillery 
operations in the encounters which led to the defeat and surrender of Burgoyne, 
and soon after received a brevet commission as Lieut.-Colonel, with a special 
resolution of thanks from the Continental Congress, for merit as commandant of 
the artillery of the northern department in the campaigns of 1776-7. He was at 
this time in the Massachusetts line. On April 30, 1778, he was commissioned 
Lieut.-Colonel and transferred to Col. John Lamb's regiment of the New York line, 
in which he served to the end of the war. He was entrusted with the defences of 
the Hudson River and had chains and other obstructions placed across the river 
to prevent the ships of the enemy from ascending. In 1781 he prepared a train of 
artillery for the southern service and was selected by Gen. Lafayette to accom- 
pany him on his expedition to Virginia. 

Owing to impaired health he returned home for a time, but after a brief 
respite, he was commissioned by Gen. Knox to prepare the artillery force which 
was to operate against Cornwallis. This was collected and transported from 
West Point, Philadelphia and Baltimore and played an important part in the final 
siege which led to the surrender of Cornwallis. This completed his active service, 
though he continued his command till the army was finally disbanded. It is be- 
lieved that no officer of his grade in the army rendered more arduous, various and 
important services than Col. Stevens, and his characteristic energy, courage and 
perseverance gave assurance that, had the opportunity occurred, he would have 
signalized himself in a manner worthy of his patriotism and ambition. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. II 

After the Revolution he started in business in New York, and without any 
previous experience, but relying on his own prudence and foresight, he met with 
extraordinary success and became one of the leading merchants of New York City. 
As agent of the war department he constructed the fortifications upon Governor's 
Island in 1S00. In 1812 he was commissioned Major-General of the State Militia, 
and with Morgan Lewis, mustered for active service against the British, in Sep., 
1 8 14, at the time of an anticipated attack upon the city. He resigned his command 
in 1815 and withdrew from all public employment. He married, first, in 1775. 
Rebecca Hodgson, of Boston. In 1784 he married Lucretia, widow of Richardson 
Sands, a daughter of John Ledyard and sister of Col. William Ledyard, the 
hero of Fort Groton. By his first wife, Rebecca Hodgson, he had issue three 
children, viz.: Horatio Gates, George, Rebecca (married John P. Schermerhorn). 
By his second wife he had Byam, William, Henry K., Samuel, Dr. Alexander H., 
John Austin, and Mary, wife of Frederick W. Rhinelander, Esq. 

John Austin Stevens, Sr., was born in New York City, Jan. 22, 1795, ( '' e( ' 
Oct. 19, 1874. He was graduated at Yale, in 1843; entered mercantile life and 
became a partner in his father's business in 1818. He was for many years 
Secretary of the New York Chamber of Commerce, and was one of the organizers 
and first President of the Merchants' Exchange. From its first establishment, in 
1839, till i860, he was President of the Bank of Commerce. He was chairman 
of the Committee of Bankers of New York, Boston and Philadelphia, which first 
met in August, 1861, and decided to take $50,000,000 of the government 7-30 
loan. They subsequently advanced $100,000,000 more, and the terms of the 
transaction were arranged chiefly by Mr. Stevens, as the head of the treasury note 
committee. His advice was frequently sought by the officers of the Treasury 
Department during the Civil War. 

JOHN AUSTIN STEVENS, Jr., First President and one of the In- 
corporators of the Society Sons of the Revolution, son of John Austin 
Stevens, Sr., was born in New York City, Jan. 23, 1827 ; was graduated at Harvard 
in 1846, engaged in mercantile business in New York, and in 1862, was elected 
Secretary of the New York Chamber of Commerce, continuing in office six years. 
He was librarian of the New York Historical Society, and devoted himself to the 
investigation of top.cs of American History. He founded and for many years 
edited the Magazine of American History. He was the author of numerous 
works, among which were "The Valley of the Rio Grande; its Topography and 
Resources," (New York, 1864) ; "Memorial of the Chamber of Commerce on 
Steam Navigation," (1864); "Colonial R( cords of the New York Chamber of 
Commerce," (1867), containing illustrations and biographical and historical 
sketches; "The Progress of New York in a Century," (1876); "The Expe- 
dition of Lafayette against Arnold," published by the Maryland Historical 
Society, (Baltimore, 1878), and other works. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



TALLMADGE ANCESTRY. 

Line of Frederick Samuel, and Brevet Lieut.-Col 
Benjamin Tallmadge. 



Frederick Samuel Tallmadge, President of the Society since 1884, traces his 
line of descent through one of the best known families of New England, and the 
revolutionary service of his grandfather, Lieut.-Col. Benjamin Tallmadge, forms one 
of the most interesting records of this period of our nation's history. 

Robert Tallmadge, the emigrant ancestor of this branch of the Tallmadge 
family, came to this country from England about 1640, and was one of the 
original planters who settled the New Haven Colony in 1643, ms name appearing 
on the list. He took the oath of fidelity July 1, 1644. He married Sarah, 
daughter of Thomas Nash, who was also a proprietor. He had issue Abigail, 
Thomas, Sarah, John, Enoch, Mary. Robert the ancestor died in 1662. 

John Tallmadge fourth child and second son of Robert and Sarah (Nash) 
Tallmadge, was born in New Haven, Conn., Sep. 17, 1654. He married in 1686, 
Abigail Bishop. He died in 1770, and left, among other children, a son James. 

Capt. James Tallmadge, son of John and Abigail (Bishop) Tallmadge, was 
born in New Haven in 1689. From his title he probably served in the early 
colonial wars. He married in 1713, Hannah Harrison, of Branford, Conn. He 
had issue a son Benjamin, born Dec, 31, 1725. 

Rev. Benjamin Tallmadge, son of Capt. James and Hannah (Harrison) 
Tallmadge, was born in New Haven, Conn., Dec. 31, 1725. He was graduated 
at Yale in 1747, and soon after obtained a position as teacher in the Hopkins 
Grammar School. He was the fourth installed pastor at Brookhaven (Setauket 
village), L. I., in 1753, continuing for over thirty years, until June 15, 1785, when 
he was formally dismissed. Being a ripe scholar and fond of teaching, he devoted 
considerable time to the instruction of young men preparing for college. He 
married Susannah, daughter of Rev. John Smith (who was a brother of Hon. 
William Smith, Judge of the Supreme Court of the Colony). He had issue 
William, born June 9, 1752, captured by the British at the battle of Long Island, 
died in prison from starvation ; Benjatnin, born Feb. 25, 1754; Samuel, born 1755 ; 
John, born 1757 ; Isaac, born 1762. Mr. Tallmadge's first wife died April 4, 1768, 
and on June 5, 1770, he married Zipporah, daughter of Thomas Strong, of Brook- 
haven, by whom he had no issue. 

LTEUT.-COL. BENJAMIN TALLMADGE, of the War of the Revolu- 
tion, second son of Rev. Benjamin and Susannah (Smith) Tallmadge, was born at 
Setauket, L. I. (in the town of Brookhaven), Feb. 25, 1754. He very early 
exhibited a fondness for learning, and under the tuition of his father, made such 
progress, that at twelve years of age he was examined by President Daggett, then 
on a visit to Brookhaven, and found well qualified to enter that institution. He 
did not enter, however, until some years later, and was graduated in 1773. He 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION 



soon after took charge of the high school at Wethersfield, Conn., where he remained 
until the affair at Lexington called him from his studies into the service of his 
country. 

On June 20, 1776, he was appointed Lieutenant and Adjutant of Colonel 
Chester's Connecticut regiment and continued in active service to the close of the 
war. He was engaged in the battle of Long Island on the 27th of August, 1776, 
and was one of the rear guard when the army retired from Brooklyn to New York. 
On Dec. 15, 1776, he was appointed by Gen. Washington, Captain of the 2d 
regiment light dragoons, and on April 17, of the following year, he was promoted 
Major. A separate detachment for special service was committed to him several 
times during the war and he received his orders directly from the commander-in- 




'^c^iS . 



chief. He participated in the battles of White Plains, Short Hills, Brandywine, 
Monmouth ; and at Germantown his detachment was at the head of Gen. John 
Sullivan's division. By order of Gen. Washington, Major Tallmadge repeatedly 
threw his dragoons across the principal thoroughfare to check the retreat of the 
infantry. He opened, in 1777, a secret correspondence (for Gen. Washington) 
with some persons in New York, and particularly with the late Abraham Wood- 
hull, of Setauket, which lasted through the war. He kept one or more boats 
constantly employed in crossing the Sound on this business. On Lloyd's Neck, an 
elevated promontory between Huntington and Oyster Bay, the enemy had estab- 
lished or.gly fortified post, with a garrison of about five hundred men. In the 



I4 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

rear of this fort a band of marauders had encamped themselves, who having boats 
at command, were constantly plundering the inhabitants along the main shore and 
robbing the small vessels in the sound. This horde of banditti Major Tallmadge 
had a great desire to break up, and on the 5th of September, 1777, he embarked 
with one hundred and thirty men of his detachment, at Shippen Point, near Stam- 
ford, at eight o'clock in the evening. In about two hours they landed on Lloyd's 
Neck and proceeded to the attack, which was so sudden and unexpected, that 
nearly the whole party of five hundred Tory marauders were captured and landed in 
Connecticut before morning. Not a man was lost in the enterprise. 

For the purpose of breaking up the whole system of intercourse between the 
enemy and the disaffected on the main, he was appointed to a separate command, 
consisting of the dismounted dragoons of the regiment and a body of horse. On 
Sept., 1783, he was made Brevet Lieut. -Col. While stationed at North Castle, 
Westchester County, N. Y., in the autumn of 1780, the attempt of Arnold to betray 
the post at West Point into the hands of the British, was frustrated by the capture 
of Major Andr6 the British spy, who was delivered to Maj. Tallmadge, and 
remained in his custody until the day of execution, October 2, 1780; Major 
Tallmadge accompanying the unfortunate prisoner to the gallows, and witnessed 
the execution. Years afterwards Maj. Tallmadge wrote : " I became so deeply 
attached to Major Andre that I can remember no instance where my affections 
where so fully absorbed in any man. When I saw him swinging under the gallows 
it seemed for a time as if I could not support it." 

In November of the same year, having obtained information of Fort St. 
George, which stood on a point projecting into the South Bay at Mastic, L. I., he 
communicated his project to the commander-in-chief, who, considering the attempt 
too hazardous, desired him to abandon it. He finally obtained Washington's con- 
sent, who in a letter dated Nov. 11, 1780, says: " The destruction of the forage 
collected for the use of the British army at Corum,.upon Long Island, is of so 
much consequence that I should advise the attempt to be made." 

In pursuance of this communication Maj. Tallmadge organized a force of 
about eighty men, and on November 21, at four o'clock, P. M., the party embarked 
in eight whale boats. They crossed the sound in five hours and landed at Old 
Mans at nine o'clock. After leaving their boats the body of troops marched about 
five miles, when, on account of the rain, they returned and took shelter under their 
boats, and lay concealed in the bushes all that night and the next day. At 
evening they started again, and at three o'clock the next morning were within two 
miles of the fort. Here he divided his men into three parties, ordering each to 
attack the fort at the same time, at different points. The order was so well 
executed that the three divisions arrived at nearly the same moment. It was a 
triangular enclosure of several acres, strongly stockaded, well barricaded houses at 
two of the angles, and at the third a fort, with a deep ditch and wall, encircled by 
an abattis of sharpened pickets, projecting at an angle of forty-five degrees. The 
stockade was cut down, the column led through the grand parade, and in ten 
minutes the main fort was carried by the bayonet. The vessels near the fort, 
laden with stores, attempted to escape, but the guns of the fort being brought to 
bear upon them, they were secured and burnt, as were the works and stores. 
The number of prisoners was fifty-four, of whom seven were wounded. They 
were marched to the boats under an escort while Maj. Tallmadge proceeded with 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

the remainder of his detachment, destroyed about three hundred tons of hay 
collected at Corum and returned with his whole force to Fairfield the same 
evening, without the loss of a man. Washington, in a letter dated Morristown, 
Nov. 28, says: " I beg you to accept my thanks for your judicious planning and 
spirited execution of this business, and that you will offer them to the officers and 
men who shared the honor of the enterprise with you." For this service, Maj. 
Tallmadge also received the thanks of Congress. He performed a similar feat on 
the night of Oct. 9, 1781. With a small detachment under the command of 
Major Prescott, he captured Fort Slongo, at Treadwell's Neck, near Smithtown. 
He burned the block-house and other combustible material, captured a piece 
of brass artillery and returned safely without the loss of a man. Maj. 
Tallmadge planned other attacks on Long Island ; he and his daring band of 
veterans were a source of constant annoyance to the enemy. 

Maj. Tallmadge was one of the original members of the Cincinnati Society, 
was several years treasurer and afterwards president. After the war he returned 
to Litchfield and engaged successfully in mercantile pursuits. He was elected to 
Congress Dec. 7, 1800, and continued to represent his district in that body till 1817. 
After sixteen years of service in the national legislature he declined a reelection and 
retired with dignity and honor to the shades of private life. He was, however, 
by no means an indifferent spectator of passing events, but felt truly anxious for 
the future glory and welfare of his country. To public objects of charity and 
benevolence he always gave largely and freely and was much esteemed for his 
social qualities. In 1782 he bought the property in Litchfield that is still known 
as the Tallmadge place and is now the summer resort of his granddaughter, Mrs. 
William Curtis Noyes. Yale gave him the degree of A.M. in 1778. He prepared 
his " Memoirs at the Request of his Children," which was privately printed by his 
son. 

On March 16, 1784, he married Mary, eldest daughter of General William 
Floyd, of Long Island (one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence), a 
lady of great amiability and worth, by whom he had issue, William Smith, Henry 
Floyd, Maria Jones, Frederick Augustus, Benjamin, Harriet Wardsworth and 
George Washington ; Henry F. married Maria Canfield, daughter of Hon. 
Andrew Adams, of Litchfield, Conn. ; Maria J. married the Hon. John 1'. 
Cushman, of Troy, N. Y., one of the circuit judges of the State ; Benjamin was an 
officer in the U. S. Navy, and died at Gibraltar, unmarried; Harriet W. married 
John Delafield, Esq., of New York ; George W. married Pacera M.. daughter of 
the Hon. Calvin Pease, of Warren, Ohio. Maj. Tallmadge's first wife died June 3, 
1805, and on May 3, 1808, he married Maria, daughter of Joseph Hallett, Esq., of 
New York. He died at Litchfield, March 7, 1835. 

. Frederick Augustus Tallmadge, fourth child and third son of Maj. Benjamin 
and Mary (Floyd) Tallmadge, was born in Litchfield Conn., Aug. 29, 1792; died 
there Sept. 17, i860. He was graduated at Yale in 181 1 ; studied law at the Litch- 
field law school ; was admitted to the bar and began practice in New York. 
During the closing months of the war with Great Britian, he commanded a troop 
of volunteer cavalry at Long Island. He was made an Alderman of New York in 
1834, Councilman in 1836, and was a State Senator from 1837 till 1840, serving as 
President of that body, and at the same time as ex-officio judge of the Supreme 
Court of Errors. In 1 841 -6 he was Recorder of New York, and held this office 



SONS OF THE RKVOI.T'TION. 



from 1848 to 1851. He was elected to Congress as a Whig, and served from Dec. 
6, 1847, till March 3, 1849. From 1857 to 1862, he was General Superintendent of 
the Metropolitan Board of Police, and in 1862-5 he was Chief Clerk of the Court 
of Appeals. He afterwards engaged in the practice of law in New York City. 
During the time he was Recorder of the city the Astor Place riot occurred, and he 
was highly commended for the firm and determined stand he t ok in suppressing 
the riot and in the trial of the ringleaders. 

Mr. Tallmadge married Eliza, daughter of Hon. Judson Canfield, of Sharon, 
Conn., a descendant of Thomas Canfield, of Milford, Conn, 1646. The issue of 
this marriage was Eliza, married John T. White of Philadelphia ; Julia, married 
William Curtis Noyes, of New York ; William Floyd died unmarried ; Frederick 
Samuel, Mary Floyd, married Hon. Edward W. Seymour, Judge of the Supreme 
Court of the State of Connecticut. 

FREDERICK SAMUEL TALLMADGE. President of the Society of 
the Sons of the Revolution, State of New York, fourth child of Fred- 
erick Augustus and Eliza (Canfield) Tallmadge, and grandson of Maj. Benjamin 
Tallmadge, was born in New York City, Jan. 24, 1824. He was graduated at 
Columbia College and studied law in the office of William Curtis Noyes, Esq., 
with whom he subsequently formed a copartnership. He has enjoyed for many 
years a successful practice and is ranked among the leading men in his profession 
in New York. Mr. Tallmadge was one of the founders of the Society of the Sons 
of the Revolution, and from the date of its organization, has been steadfast and 
earnest in his efforts to build up and enlarge its sphere of influence. He was 
elected President in 1884, soon after the Society was incorporated, and still holds 
that position. He is an honorary member of the Connecticut State Society of the 
Cincinnati; member of the Military Society of the War of 181 2, constituting the 
Veteran Corps of Artillery, and of other organizations. Mr. Tallmadge married in 
1857, Julia Louisa, daughter of George Belden, Esq., of New York City. Mrs. 
Tallmadge died in 1894, leaving no issue, her surviving. 



GARDINER ANCESTRY. 



Colonel Asa Bird Gardiner was not only one of the original founders of the 
Society, but was associated with John Austin Stevens in the construction of 
the framework and in superintending its erection. His insistence that the 
most careful scrutiny should be exercised in the selection of material for member- 
ship, has evoked criticism on the part of some whose qualifications were not fully up 
to the standard, but the maintenance of this high standard has held the Society 
together and given it a prestige that it could not otherwise have obtained, and the 
results have shown the wisdom of Col. Gardiner's course. 

Colonel Gardiner is eighth in descent from Ensign George Gardiner, one of 
the earlier inhabitants of the Rhode Island Colony in 1638 and a Commissioner to 
the Court of Commissioners, October 28, 1662. 

He was the fifth son of Rev. Michael Gardiner, Rector of Greenford-Magna, 
Middlesex and Littlebury, Essex, and Margaret, daughter of Thomas Brown, 
Gent., Alderman of London. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 1/ 

Col. Gardiner is a great-grandson of Lieut. Reuben Willard. 

Great-great-grandson of Lieut. Othaniel Gardiner. 

Great-Grandson of Sergeant. Jacob Van Rosenbergh. 

Reuben Willard was a volunteer in Capt. Jonatban Davis' Company of Min- 
ute men, "Lexington Alarm," enlisted in 24th Regiment Continental Infantry, 
Col. Ephraim Doolittle, April 28, 177K, promoted Ensign in same Nov. 27, 
1775; honorably retired on reorganization of the main Continental Army, Jan- 
uary 1, 1776; 2d Lieutenant 2d Regiment Mass. Vol. Infantry, Col. Jonathan 
Holman; Brig-Gen. John Fellows' Brigade June 25, Dec. 1, 1776; volunteered 
in Capt. Jonathan Davis' Company, Col. Samuel Denny's Regiment Mass. Vol. 
Infantry June 25, 1779; appointed Sergeant-Major, promoted Lieutenant in same 
Aug. 12, 1779; honorably discharged March 25, 1780. 

Jacob Von Rosenbergh, above mentioned, was Sergeant, Capt. John Tater's 
Company; Col. Cornelius Dota's Regiment Vermont Militia; served at battle of 
Bennington; honorably discharged Oct. 23. 1781. 

Lieut. Othaniel Gardiner, above mentioned, was an Associator 1775 ; Lieut. 
14th Regiment Albany County, N. Y.. Militia. Col. John Knickerbocker, Oct. 
20, 1775; at Bennington; died in service Dec, 1775. 

Col. Asa Bird Gardiner is one of the most active members of the Society 
of the Cincinnati, and is Secretary General of the National Society. He served 
with distinction in the war between the States. After the war practiced law, and 
was appointed Professor of Law at West Point Military Academy with the rank 
of Colonel; later Judge Advocate U. S. A., and for some years had practiced 
law in the City of New York. He was elected District Attorney on the Demo- 
cratic ticket in the autumn of 1897. 

JAMES MORTIMER MONTGOMERY.— The continue, 1 success and enthu- 
siasm of the Sons of the Revolution is probably due more to the efforts of Mr. 
Montgomery than to any other one man. He has filled the various positions in the 
local society and has long been Secretary General of the National Society. 

His line of Revolutionary and family descent is through some of the most 
distinguished families in this country. He is a 

Great-great-grandson of Colonel William Malcolm. 

Great-great-great-grandson of Colonel William Henry. 

Great-great-grandson of Commissary George Henry. 

Colonel William Malcolm began his military service as Major of 2d Bat- 
talion New York City Militia 1776: Colonel 2d Regiment New York Volun- 
teer Infantry 1776; Colonel Additional Regimental Continental Infantry April 
30, 1777 — April 22, 1779, when regiment was consolidated with Colonel Olivet- 
Spencer's Additional Regiment Continental Infantry; retired May 9, 1779; Con- 
tinental Adjutant General of the Northern Department, June 2d— October, 1778; 
Colonel 1st Regiment New York Levies 1780-1; Member of New York Provin- 
cial Congress 1776. 

Colonel William Henry. The year book record shows that he was County 
Lieutenant Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania, June 6, 1777— September 10, 
1790. 



IS SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Commissary George Henry was: Private Philadelphia Troop of Light 
Horse, Capt. Samuel Morris, March, 1777-81, at Germantown; County Lieuten- 
ant Philadelphia County, Pennsylvania; resigned June, 1777; Commissary of 
Naval Stores, Continental Navy, Pennsylvania, 1778. 

RIKER— JACKSON— LAWRENCE. 

It is said that the Rikers were originally a German family, located at a very 
remote period in Lower Saxony, where they enjoyed a state of allodial inde- 
pendence at that day regarded as constituting nobility. They possessed the es- 
tate or manor of Rycken farm, from which they took their name, subsequently 
changed to Riker. Hans von Rycken, lord of the manor of Rycken, and a 
valiant Knight, with his cousin, Melchior von Rycken, who lived in Holland, 
took part in the first crusade to the Holy Land, in 1096, heading 800 crusaders 
in the army of Walter the Penniless. 

Abraham Rycken, or de Rycke, as his name appears on the early records, 
was the progenitor of the present Riker families in New York, New Jersey and 
other parts of the Union. He is supposed to have emigrated in 1638, as he re- 
ceived in that year an allotment of land from Gov. Kieft, for which he after- 
wards took out a patent dated Aug. 8. 1640. His land was located in Breuckelin 
at the Wallabout, and was near or possibly within the lines of the Battle of 
Long Island. Abraham Richer resided in 1642 in New Amsterdam on the Heeren 
Gracht, now Broad St., and was one of the early land owners of that locality. 
In 1654 he obtained a grant of land at the Poor Bowery, to which he subse- 
quently removed, afterwards adding to his domain the island known as Riker's 
Island in New York Harbor. He married Grietie, daughter of Hendrick Har- 
mensen. His children were Ryck Abramsen (who adopted the name of Lent), 
Jacob, Hendrick. Mary, John, Aleita, Abraham, born 1655; and Hendrick Abra- 
ham (1) died in 1689, leaving his farm by will to his son Abraham (2). 

Abraham Riker (2), son of Abraham and Grietie (Harmensen) Riker, was 
in New Amsterdam in 1655. He inherited the paternal estate and added con- 
siderably to it. He was for a number of years totally blind, but suddenly recov- 
ered his sight and almost immediately expired Aug. 20, 1746, in his 91st year. 
His remains were interred in the family cemetery at the Poor Bowery. He 
married Grietie, daughter of Jan Gerrits Van Buytenhuysen, of New York. 
They had issue: Catharine, Margaret, Mary, Abraham (3), John, Hendrick, 
Andrew and Jacob. 

Andrew Riker, seventh child of Abraham (2) and Grietie (Van Buytenhuy- 
sen) Riker, was born in 1700 in New Amsterdam. He inherited the homestead 
at the Bowery Bay. He married Nov. 13, 1733, Jane, widow of Capt. Dennis 
Lawrence, and daughter of John Berrien. He died Feb. 12, 1763, in his 64th 
year. He had issue: Margaret, John Berrien. Abraham. Samuel and Ruth. 

Samuel Riker, soldier of the Revolution, son of Andrew and Jane 
(Lawrence, nee Berrien) Riker. was born in 1743. After serving a clerkship in 
the mercantile business he returned to the family estate, which he ultimately 



SONS OK TIIK REVOLUTION. 1Q 

purchased. He was among the first to take part against the usurpation of the 
crown. In 1774 he was chosen as one of the Newtown committee of correspond- 
ence, in which capacity he was actively engaged when the British army invaded 
Long Island. He was First Lieutenant in Captain Daniel Lawrence's Troop of 
Light Horse, Queen's County, New York Militia, May 10, 1776, which rendered 
important service in guarding the outposts of the American army preceding the 
battle of Long Island. He escaped with others after the battle, and on return- 
ing, with the intention of rejoining the army, was captured and for some time 
held as prisoner. After the war he was much engaged in public life, and for 
several years held the position as Supervisor. He was a member of the State 
Assembly in 1784, and represented his district in Congress in 1808-9, having 
filled the same position on a previous occasion. He possessed a well-informed 
and vigorous mind, and a remarkably retentive memory. He was a man of 
liberal disposition, and was noted for his kindness to the poor. He died May 
19, 1823, aged 80. He married Jan. 17, 1769, Anna, born Nov. 27, 1749, daugh- 
ter of Joseph Lawrence, whose wife was Miss Moore, and aunt of Bishop 
Moore of New York. Joseph was the son of John Lawrence, born March 21, 
1723, son of John Lawrence, for many years Magistrate of Newtown, son of 
Capt. John Lawrence, who was Captain of the Newtown troop of horse in Gov. 
Leisler's time, and High Sheriff of the County in 1698. He was the son of 
Major John Lawrence, who was appointed Alderman of New York when the 
English government was first established in that city in 1665. He was after- 
wards Mayor, and for a long term of years a member of the Council. In 1692 
he was appointed Judge of the Supreme Court, which office he held till his death 
in 1699. He was one of the six persons to whom the patent of Hempstead was 
granted in 1644. He and his two brothers emigrated to this country from Great 
St. Albans, in Hertfordshire, during the political troubles that led to the de- 
thronement and death of Charles I. These brothers were said to be direct 
descendants of Sir Robert Lawrens, of Ashton Hall, Lancastershire, Eng., who 
accompanied Richard Cceur de Lion in his famous expedition to Palestine, and 
who signalized himself in the memorable siege of St. Jean d'Acre, in 1191, being 
the first to plant the banner of the cross on the battlements of that town, for 
which he received the honors of knighthood from King Richard. 

The children of Samuel and Anna (Lawrence) Riker were Joseph Law- 
rence, Andrew, Richard, Abraham, Patience, John Lawrence, Samuel, Jane 
Margaret, Ann Elvira and John L. 

John Lawrence Riker, youngest child of Samuel and Anna (Lawrence) 
Riker, was born April 9, 1787. He was educated at Erasmus Hall, in Flatbush, 
and at the age of sixteen entered the office of his brother Richard, with whom 
he studied law five years, and then began the practice of his profession in New 
York, where he resided until 1825, when he purchased the homestead at Bow- 
ery Bay, and continued his residence there until his death in 1861. He was 
commissioned Captain of the 97th Regiment of Infantry, Aug. 11, 1812, and took 
part in the War of 1812-15. He married 1st Maria, 2d Lavina, daughters of 
Silvanus Smith, Esq., of North Hempstead, L. I., a descendant of James Smith, 



20 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

one of the original patentees of Hempstead. By his first wife he had Henry 
Laurens, a lawyer of prominence in New York, died in 1861; Silvanus S., died 
in 1897; Mary Anna, died in 1865; Lavina. His children by his second wife 
were John Lawrence, Samuel, Richard, Daniel S., Jane, William James, and 
Julia Lawrence. 

JOHN LAWRENCE RIKER, member of the Sons of the Revolution, 
son of John Lawrence and Lavinia (Smith) Riker, was born at Bowery Bay. 
L. I., Nov. 23, 1830. Pursuing studies especially fitting to commercial life, he, 
at the age of seventeen, entered the counting rooms of Lawrence & Hicks, Com- 
mission Merchants in drugs, dyes, chemicals, etc. As this firm was dissolved 
shortly after, he accepted a proposition from Benj. H. Field, then the first house 
in the city, in this line of business. Inheriting the integrity of his ancestors, 
faithfulness to trust and duty, combined with activity, industry and caution, he 
won he complete confidence and esteem of his employer, and rapid promotion 
to the charge of the business. He was admitted to partnership in 1854, which 
continued until i860, when he withdrew to establish with his brother, D. S. 
Riker — a man of unusual probity, integrity and judgment — the commission firm 
of J. L. & D. S. Riker, who, adopting the " golden rule " as their business 
motto, soon won the confidence and patronage of the prominent firms of many 
Nations, and the establishment of a great and prosperous business, which still 
continues, passing unscathed through the various panics and changes of nearly 
four decades, enjoying the fullest confidence and friendship of its numerous 
constituency. Although Mr. Riker remains the senior partner, he has relin- 
quished to his son, John J., the active management of the house, devoting 
most of his time in the care and attention to personal interests in numerous cor- 
porations and institutions with which he is identified. His uprightness and in- 
dependence, through knowledge of finance and affairs, sound judgement and 
close attention to duties, have caused him to be sought after as dirctor and trus- 
tee in various corporations. He is Vice President of several banks, of the Atlan- 
tic Trust Company, the Chamber of Commerce and several manufacturing com- 
panies, and director in a score of others. While a trustee of the Holland So- 
ciety, a member of the St. Nicholas Society, Sons of the Revolution, Society of 
Colonial wars, and also a member of the Metropolitan, Union League, St. 
Nicholas and other social clubs, — the New York Sewanaka, and other Yacht 
Clubs, in all of which he is much interested, he is unable to take any active part, 
owing to the pressure of business affairs. In religion Air. Riker is a broad 
Episcopalian, and has served as vestryman of the Church of the Incarnation 
for some twenty-five years, and is now Junior Warden. 

Mr. Riker married Mary, daughter of John C. Jackson, a descendant of an 
old and well-known English family. They have issue: John Jackson, Henry 
Laurens, Margaret Moore, married J. Armory Haskell; Lavina, married James 
R. Strong; Samuel, Jr., Sylvanus, twin brother of Samuel, died in infancy; 
Martha J. married J. H. Proctor; Charles L. and Mary J. 

JOPIN JACKSON RIKER, of the Board of Managers, Society of the 
Sons of the Revolution, 1889-90, has been active in the affairs of the Society 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 21 

for many years. He is the oldest son of John Lawrence and Mary (Jackson) 
Riker, great-grandson of Lieutenant Samuel Riker, of the Revolution; born at 
Newtown 6th April, 1858. At the age of seventeen, after completing his educa- 
tion, he entered his father's employ as clerk, advancing steadily as circumstances 
and qualifications would permit until he became, in 1888, a member of the firm 
fully capable of filling his father's place when required. He has an honorable 
record as a member of the National Guard, State of New York. Beginning on 
May 26, 1878, as private in the Seventh Regiment, he was appointed in August. 
1879. aid-de-camp, with rank of Lieutenant, on the start of General Wm. G. 
Ward, commanding First Brigade. On April 1, 1880, he was made senior aid 
with rank of Captain, and May 19, 1880, was appointed Brigade Inspector of 
Rifle practice, with rank of Major; and on Oct. 27, 1882, Brigade Inspector, 
same rank. He resigned Oct. 25, 1883, after five and a half years' faithful serv- 
ice, having at all times enjoyed the confidence and esteem of his superiors, and 
the love and respect of his subordinates. He was elected Major of the Twelfth 
Regiment June 9, 1884. resigning June 14, 1889, having contributed in no small 
degree to the efficiency for which his regiment was noted. During the Washing- 
ton Centennial, April 2$, 1889, Mr. Riker represented the Sons of the Revolu- 
tion as one of the Marshals. He is a member of the Society of the Cincinnati, 
of New Jersey, through collateral descent from John Berrien Riker of the New 
Jersey line. He is a member of and former Secretary of the St. Nicholas Club, 
also a member rof the Society of Colonial W r ars. He was a school trustee of the 
21st Ward for some years. He married Edith, daughter of Samuel Blackwell 
Bartow, of New York City, a grandson of Col. Jacob Blackwell of the Revo- 
lution. 

Henrv Laurens Rikek. member of the Sons of the Revolution, second 
child of John Lawrence and Mary (Jackson) Riker. was born at Newtown. 
L. I., June 20, i860; was graduated at Columbia College at the age of eighteen, 
one of the youngest students ever graduated from this institution. He has been 
associated with his father and brother in business for some years. 

SAMUEL RIKER, JR.. Society Sons of the Revolution, fifth child of John 
Lawrence and Mary (Jackson) Riker, was born at Paris, France. May 17, 1868. 
He, no doubt, inherited his fondness for the profession of law from his immedi- 
ate ancestors, who were among the most distinguished lawyers <>f the New York 
Bar. 

He was graduated from Columbia Law School in 1888, and began the study 
of law in the office of his uncle Samuel, who for many years has stood at the 
head of his profession in the special line which he chose, viz.. that branch per- 
taining to real property, the investigation o titles to lands, and the drawing of 
wills, marriage settlements and trust deeds. Samuel Riker, Jr.. has already 
achieved a reputation in this line, and has become the successor of his 
uncle. 

The firm of De Grove & Riker, of which Mr. Riker is the junior member, 
has a number of well-known families as clients, also numerous corporations, 
among others being the Sailors' Snug Harbor. He recently married Frances 



22 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

M., daughter of Frederic R. Townsend, of this City. They have one daughter, 
Frances J. 

DOM1NICK— DELAVAN. 

The family of Dominick or Domenique, as it was originally spelt, belonged 
to that class of French fugitives who fled to Holland for safety after the revoca- 
tion of the Edict of Nantes. 

GEORGE DOMENIQUE, Patriot of the Revolution, was born on He du 
Re, France, March 8, 1730, died in New York, 1826, aged 96. He, with others. 
fled to Holland, and, about 1742, came to America accompanied by his brothers, 
Francois and Jean, and Francois Blanchard and settled in New York. George 
early espoused the cause of the patriots, and took a determined stand in favor 
of the independence of the colonies. He fled to this country that he might be 
able to enjoy liberty of conscience, and gladly availed himself of the opportunity 
to fight for civil liberty. In November 1775 an attempt was made to raise three 
regiments of militia in New York City; the second one of these was commanded 
by John Jay, who was commissioned colonel for this purpose. George Dom- 
inick, then in the prime of life, was commissioned captain. While the facts re- 
garding his services are not recorded, it is highly probable that he took part in 
the stirring events of the year following which ended in the evacuation of New 
York after the hard fought battles of Long Island and later Harlem Heights. 
Mr. Dominick became a prominant merchant in the city, he and his brother 
succeeding to the firm of Francois Blanchard & Sons, who had extensive lumber 
yards on Cherry Street. He was a vestryman of Trinity Church and a faithful 
and consistent member, and a regular attendant at divine service. He married 
Aug. 3, 1761, Elizabeth Blanchard (died 1827 aged 94) daughter of Francois 
Blanchard, one of the leaders of the French Huguenot Church in New York. 
They had issue lames William, 

J*\mes William Dominick, son of George and Elizabeth (Blanchard) Dom- 
inick was born in New York City Sep. 4, 1775, died there May 17, 1852. He be- 
came a leading merchant of the city, an upright Christian gentleman, deeply in- 
terested in benevolent and charitable work, and held many positions of trust and 
usefulness. He was a director of the Tradesman Bank; a founder of the Eastern 
Dispensary, and its president in 1837; he was a member for twelve years of the 
executive committee of the American Bible Society; a trustee of the American 
Tract Society: Senior Warden of St. Stephens Protestant Episcopal Church and 
a vestryman of St. George's P. E. Church in Beekman Street. He married 
1st, Dec. 24, 1798, Phoebe, daughter of Major James Cock and Hannah Howe. 

He married 2d Margaret Eliza Delavan, daughter of Capt. Daniel Delavan. 

CAPT. DANIEL DELAVAN, Patriot of the Revolution, was the eighth 
child of Timothy Delavan, one of the numerous Huguenot refugees who fled 
from France after the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, and sought an asylum 
in this country and settled in North Salem, Westchester County. N. Y. He 
had a son Timothy who was the father of ten sons viz. Timothy, Abraham, 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



23 



Matthew, John, Nathaniel, Samuel, Nathan, Daniel, Stephen and Cornelius. 

The records of the Comptrollers office at Albany show the names of nine of 
these sons who served the country in the War of the Revolution The tenth 
brother, who was too young for active service, was equally patriotic, and it is re- 
lated of him that he paraded with his brothers on occasions of celebration, and 
joined Wayne's expedition against the Indians in Ohio, 1790-2, participating 
in several engagements. 

Furnow, page 538, states that Capt. Daniel Delavan was in Colonel Albert 
Pawling's Levies in 1775, Ensign in 1776, Lieut, in Col Graham's regiment, 
1778-9, and Captain in Colonel Malcolm's regiment, July, 1780, and attached to 
the second New York regiment of Westchester County until the close of the 




war. During the evacuation of New York by the British, Nov. 25. 1783, Capt. 
Delavan, at the head of his company, the Westchester Light Horse, escorted 
the civic procession to meet General Washington, Governor Clinton, and Gen- 
eral Knox, at the Bulls Head Tavern, which then took up the line of march 
ending at Fraunce's Tavern, corner of Broad and Pearl streets, where General 
Washington had provided a generous entertainment. Capt. Delavan's portrait 
in continental uniform, painted by Trumbull, is in possession of the New York 
Historical Society. 

By his marriage with Margaret Eliza Delavan, James W. Dominick had 
issue: Robert Johnston, Mary Byron, Margaretta, Margaret Eliza, and Mar- 
inns Willet. 

MARINUS WILLET DOMINICK. Society Sons of the Revolution. 
second son of James William and Margaret Eliza (Delavan) Dominick, was 
born in New York City, April 25, 1842. He enjoyed the very best opportunities 
for acquiring an education. He attended school in New York, White Plains, 
Rye, Bedford, and Brooklyn. At the age of nineteen he entered the Park Bank, 
where he remained for twenty one years, and filled similar positions in banking 



24 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

houses. He joined the present firm of Dominick & Deckerman in 1883 of which 
he was for many years managing clerk, and in 1897 became a partner in the 
house, secretary and treasurer of the No. & So. R. R. Co. 

He seems to have inherited the military ardor from both his paternal and 
maternal grandfathers. He joined Company I Seventh Regiment N. G. S. N. Y. 
in 1865, and was in active service for nine years, during which period the reg- 
iment passed through some trying scenes, notably the Orange Riots in which 
the Seventh was the most active participant, displaying the splendid fighting 
qualities and thorough discipline for which it had long been noted. Mr.Domin- 
ick married Mary Augusta Baldwin, daughter of Edward A. Baldwin of New- 
ark, son of Jedediah Johnson, son of Moses, son of Jonas, son of John(2), son 
of John (1), son of Nathaniel, the ancestor. 

Nathaniel Baldwin probably came to America in 1638 or 1639 with his two 
brothers. He was a cooper and moved to Fairfield, Conn., 1641. He married 
Abagail Camp, who joined the church at Milford, Conn., June 9th, 1644, an d 
died there March 22, 1648. Nathaniel was without doubt the second son of 
Richard, of Parish Cholesbury, Buckinghamshire. England. Richard was the 
son, or grandson, probably, of Richard Baldwin of Denrigge in the Parish of 
Ashton Clinton, County of Bucks, England, yeoman, who made his will 16th 
January, 6th year of Edward VI., that is, 1552 to 1553. His name was spelled 
Bauldwyn. 

Nathaniel's eldest child was John, baptized in Milford, 1644. He received 
by will a double portion of his father's estate, and moved to Newark, New Jer- 
sey. He married Hannah, daughter of Richard Osborne. 

John Baldwin, his son, born 1675, lived in Newark. He married Lydia 
Harrison. He died in 1732. His son was John (2). 

John Baldwin (2) , born -1675, married Lydia Harrison and had a son, 

Jonas Baldwin, born in 1725, married November 26th, 1749. Elizabeth 
Thompson, died in 1800. They had a son Moses. 

MOSES BALDWIN, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Jonas and Eliza- 
beth (Thompson) Baldwin, was born in Newark, N. J., Feb. 21, 1757. His name 
is mentioned in the Records of Essex County as having served in the militia 
during the Revolution. He married Sarah Johnson. March 23, 1785, and had a 
son, Jedediah. 

Jedediah Johnson Baldwin, born Nevember 9th, 1787, married Abby John- 
son, daughter of John Johnson, miller, who at the time of the Revolutionary 
War had to stay at home to grind for the families of American soldiers. At 
one time the British soldiers visited their old home (the old stone house on the 
Elizabeth Road, nearly opposite the Poor House), inquired of the miller's wife 
for the "damned Rebel.'.' who was hidden behind the chimney in the mill, and, 
not finding him, proceeded to carry out all the large cheeses. The officer who 
had the soldiers in charge apologized for their rudeness to Mrs. Johnson, who 
was sitting with an infant in her arms and another child at her side, while on 
the chair beneath her were her silver spoons. He asked her if she would give 
them one of the cheeses if they would bring the others back. Of course she 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 25 

gladly assented, and after doing what they could to straighten matters, they 
passed on. Jedediah Johnson Baldwin had a son Edward Augustus. 

Edward Augustus Baldwin son of Jedediah Johnson Baldwin, was born 
March 26, 1817. He married Mary A. Beach, granddaughter of Elias Beach. 

Elias Beach was a hatter by trade, and lived in Market Street, (Newark) 
opposite the old market, west of Broad, at the time of the revolution. He was 
taken wih others during a foray of the British in the winter in the night and 
obliged to walk barefooted on the ice to New York, where he was kept a pris- 
oner for some little time. He returned to Newark and lived ten or twelve years 
after peace was proclaimed, and was buried in the old burying ground opposite 
the First Presbyterian Church on Broad Street. He was not a soldier, though 
a patriot. His wife was very highly esteemed and was a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church at the time of the Revolution. 

Edward Augustus Baldwin, by his wife Mary A. (Beach) Baldwin, had 
Mary Augusta, who married Marinus W'illet Dominick, and Edward Johnson, 
at present assistant cashier of the National Bank of New York. 

CLINTON. HAMILTON, AND ALLIED FAMILIES 

No two families are more closely identified with the history of the Em- 
pire State than those of Clinton and Hamilton, and that of the latter is traced 
back in an unbroken line through nine centuries, embracing among the no- 
bility of England, the Earls of Warwick and Leicester. 

William Clinton, an early ancestor of the American family of this 
name, was a grandson of Henry, second Earl of Lincoln; he was an adherent 
to the cause of royalty in the civil wars of England, and an officer in the army 
of Charles I. He was born about 1620-25. After the death of Charles I., William 
Clinton, for political reasons, went to the Continent, where he remained a long 
time in exile in France and Spain. 

Some years later he passed over to Scotland, it is supposed, to aid in the 
restoration of Charles II. where he married a Miss Kennedy connected with the 
Scotch peerage family of Cassilis. After the defeat of the royalists in the bat- 
tle of Worcester, he fled to the north of Ireland, where he died, leaving a son 
James, then about two years old. 

James Clinton, son of William and - (Kennedy) Clinton, was 

born in Ireland, and died at Longford, Ireland, Jan. 24, 1728. He was an officer 
in the Inniskillin troop of horse; was in all the wars of Ireland, under King Wil- 
liam; he was badly wounded but recovered, and on coming of age, he went to 
England to try and recover the patrimonial estates, but the time limited by act 
of Parliament (1642) had expired, and he was unsuccessful. He married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Capt. William Smith, about 1678, and soon after returned t<> 
Ireland, and settled in County Langford. where, for his military services, Queen 
Anne granted him a valuable estate. They had four children, viz. Mary. Chris- 
tian. Charles and Oliver. 

Charles Clinton, son of James and Elizabeth (Smith) Clinton, was 



26 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



born at Longford, Ireland, Sep. 1690, died at Little Britain, Orange County, 
N. Y., Nov. 19, 1773. At the Revolution and on the accession of the house of 
Hanover, Ireland was treated as a vanquished country, and Charles resolved to 
emigrate to America with a number of his friends and neighbors. For this 
purpose he chartered a vessel entirely at his own expense. They em- 
barked from Dublin May 20, 1729, for Philadelphia. The captain formed a plan 
to starve the passengers, either with a view of obtaining their property, or to 
deter emigration. After the death of many, among whom was a son and daugh- 
ter of Mr. Clinton, they finally landed at Cape Cod, Oct. 4, Mr. Clinton having 
assumed command of the ship after deposing the captain. They remained until 
another settlement was formed in the town of New Windsor, N. Y., and re- 
moved there in the spring of 1731, and formed the nucleus of that industrious 




CLINTON HOMESTEAD. 



body of Presbyterians in and about Little Britain. It was a frontier post at 
this time, and Clinton's house was fortified as a security for himself and neigh- 
bors. Being a man of capacity, he was appointed Judge of the Common Pleas, 
then in Ulster. He married in Ireland, 1722, Elizabeth, daughter of Alexander 
Denniston, of Longford. They bad seven children, three born in Ireland, and 
four born in America. Catharine, the third child, married Col. James Mc- 
Cloughry of the Revolutionary army. The four children born in America were 
Alexander, James (2), Charles ( 1) and George. 

MAJOR GENERAL JAMES CLINTON, Patriot of the Revolution 
son of Charles and Elizabeth (Denniston) Clinton, was born Aug. 9. 1736; died 
at Little Britain, Orange County. N. V. Dec. 22, 1812. He had a thorough edu 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



27 



cation, but early imbibed a fondness for military life. He was appointed Ensign 
of the 2d Regiment of Ulster County Militia, and became the Lieutenant Colonel 
previous to the Revolutionary War. During the French and English War he 
served as Captain in the regiment of which his father was Colonel, and which 
was called into service in 1758 for the reduction of Fort Frontenac. He served 
under Col. John Bradstreet, who commanded the English forces on that occa- 




sion. Captain Clinton particularly distinguished himself by capturing a French 
sloop-of-war on Lake Ontario. In recognition of his services he was appointed 
Captain-commandant of four regiments levied for the protection of the western 
frontiers of Ulster and Orange Counties. He was appointed Colonel of the 
Third N. Y. Regiment June 30, 1775, and was subsequently given command of 
two regiments. He accompanied Gen. Montgomery to Quebec the same year. 
On June 14, 1776, he was ordered to Fort Montgomery on the Hudson, and 
directed "to use every possible diligence in forwarding the works." He was 
made Brigadier-General August 9, 1776, and commanded Fort Clinton when 
it was attacked October, 1777, by Sir Henry Clinton. After a gallant 



28 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

defense by about 600 militia against 3,000 Britisb troops, Fort Clinton 
as well as Fort Montgomery, of which his brother, Gen. George Clinton, was 
commander-in-chief, was carried by storm. Gen. James Clinton was the last 
man to leave the works, and received a severe bayonet wound, but escaped from 
the enemy by riding a short distance and then sliding down a precipice one 
hundred feet to the creek, where he made his way to the mountain. In 1779 
he joined with 1,600 men, the expedition of Gen. Sullivan against the Indians, 
proceeding up the Mohawk to the head of Otsego Lake, where he succeeded in 
floating a bateaux on the shallow inlet by damming up the lake and then letting 
out the water suddenly. After an engagement in which the Indians were de- 
feated with great loss at Newton (now Elmira), all resistance upon their part 
ceased; their settlements were destroyed, and they fled to the British fortress 
of Niagara. Gen. Clinton commanded at Albany during a great part of the war, 
first with the rank of Brig.-General, and later was commissioned Major-General. 
Dr. Hosack said of him that " in the several stations that he filled during the 
war he distinguished himself as a brave and efficient soldier, performing several 
acts of the greatest heroism, and displaying the most perfect self-possession in 
the midst of the greatest dangers." He was present at the siege of Yorktown 
and at the evacuation of New York by the British. After the war he was com- 
missioned to adjust the boundary line between New York and Pennsylvania; 
he was a member of the Legislature and of the Convention that adopted the 
Constitution of the United States. 

On Feb. 18, 1765, he married Mary, only daughter of Egbert De Witt, of 
Napaneck. Ulster County, and Mary (Nottingham) De Witt. By her he had 
i^sue: Alexander, Charles, De Witt, George, Mary, Elizabeth and Catharine. 
Alexander served as Lieutenant in Col. Lamb's regiment of artillery during the 
Revolutionary War. He was drowned in the Hudson River in his 22d year. 
He was a member of the Society of the Cincinnati. On May 1, 1797, Gen. 
Clinton married Mary, daughter of Graham Little, and widow of Alexander 
Gray. She was born in the County of Longford, Ireland, Aug. 22, 1768; died 
at Newburgh, N. Y.. June 23, 1835. By her he had issue: James (died young), 
Caroline H., Emma L., James Graham, Letitia. Anna. 

Charles Clinton, second son of Gen. James and Mary (De Witt) Clinton 
and elder brother of Governor De Witt Clinton, was born in Little Britain, 
N. Y., Feb. 18, 1767; died in New York City April 20, 1829. He studied law 
and was admitted to practice. He became also an excellent surveyor, and spent 
more of his time in that profession, which he preferred, than at the bar. He 
settled at Newburgh, and held various positions of trust in the village and 
town. He was elected to the Legislature in 1802. On the death of Alexander, 
his eldest brother, he became the successor to membership in the Society of the 
Cincinnati. In 1790 he married Elizabeth, only daughter of William Mulliner, 
of Little Britain, and Mary (Denniston), his wife. She was born April 27, 1770; 
died August 15, 1865, in New York City, and was buried in Greenwood cem- 
etery, Brooklyn. Her mother was a daughter of Alexander Denniston, whose 
sister Elizabeth married the first Charles Clinton, the American ancestor. The 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 2g 

name Mulliner was originally Norman— French, and probably Molinieux. They 
had issue: Maria (married Robert Gourlay, Jr.), Alexander, Ann Eliza, who 
married James Foster, Jr. 

Alexander Clinton, M.D., only son and second child of Charles and Eliza 
beth (Mulliner) Clinton, was born at Little Britain, Orange Co., N. Y., April 7, 
1793. He served as Lieutenant in the regular army 111 the War of 1812. He 
was educated at Columbia College, where he was a classmate of Hon. Hamil- 
ton Fish, and was graduated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 
1819. He practiced for some years in his native county and returned to New 
York in 1832, where he continued in the exercise of his profession until ad- 
vanced age obliged him to abandon it. He was a very successful practitioner, 
and notwithstanding the great danger of sensibility and diffidence that char- 
acterized him, his skill and talents were well known, and were justly held in 
high esteem by his brother physicians, some of the most noted of whom were 
among his intimate friends. His moral and religious character was unusually 
pure and elevated. He was just and upright, compassionate and benevolent. 
giving a very large portion of his time and services to the poor. Amiable, 
atiectionate and remarkably unselfish, his relations as husband, father and 
friend were in every respect irreproachable. A true gentleman of the old 
school, he was unostentatious, and was courteous alike to inferior and equal. 
As the eldest son of his father, he inherited the membership in the Society of 
the Cincinnati. He died Feb. 16, 1878. He married Adeline Arden, daughter 
of Alexander James Hamilton, son of James, eldest son of Alexander, son of 
Alexander, son of Alexander, son of Andrew H., second son of Sir Alexander, 
son of Sir Alexander, son of Sir Alexander, son of Sir James, son of Sir Alex- 
ander, son of Sir Alexander, son of Sir Alexander, son of James, son of Hugh, 
son of Sir Alexander, son of Sir Archibald, son of Sir Archibald, son of John, 
who was the son of Sir Walter de Hamilton, upon whom King Robert I (the 
Bruce) conferred the lands and castle of Cadyow (now Hamilton) Lancashire, 
and other estates. He married Mary, daughter of Adam, Lord Gordon. Sir 
Walter de Hamilton was the common ancestor of the Dukes de Hamilton, 
Dukes of Abercom, and other noble families. He was the son of William de 
Hamilton, who took his name from the manor of Hambledon in Buckshire, 
where he was born; he was the son of Robert De Blauchemans, Earl of Leices- 
ter, A. D., 1 190; son of Robert de Bellemont, surnamed Bossu, son of Robert, 
Earl of Mellent, created by Henry I Earl of Leicester; he commanded the right 
wing of the infantry at the battle of Hastings, A. D. 11 18. He married Eliza- 
beth Isabella, daughter of Hugh Magnus, Earl of Vermandois, youngest son 
of King Henry I, of France: he was the son of Roger, surnamed De Bellemont, 
created Earl of Warwick by William the Conqueror, A. D. 1096; he was the son 
of Humphrey, surnamed De Vetulis, son of Turolphe, Lord of Pontaudemar, 
Normandy; son of Turf us or Turlofus, who gave the name to the town of Tour- 
ville, in Normandy, 955, son of Rollo or Rolfganger, the first Duke of Nor- 
mandy. 

Archibald Hamilton, a brother of Adeline Arden Hamilton (wife of Dr. 



30 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Alexander Clinton) was a major in the British army under Gen. Packenham at 
the battle of New Orleans. He positively refused to fight against his country- 
men, and would no doubt have been courtmartialed and shot had the British 
been victorious. 

By his wife Adeline Arden Hamilton, Dr. Alexander Clinton had issue 
May Elizabeth, Adeline Hamilton, Alexander James, Ann Eliza, Charles Wil- 
liam, Kate Spencer (died young) and Dell'itt. 

ALEXANDER JAMES CLINTON, Member of the Sons of the Revo- 
lution, third child and eldest son of Dr. Alexander, and Adeline Arden (Hamil- 
ton) Clinton, was born at Canterbury (now Cornwall), Orange County, N. Y., 
Sep. 23. 1825. He was educated at the New York University, and gave special 
attention to the study of mathematics, his fondness for that branch, as well as 
that of surveying and civil engineering, which he took up immediately after 
leaving school, being an hereditary trait. He was one of the pioneers in the 
construction of the Hudson River Railroad (now the N. Y. Centra! and Hud- 
son River R. R.), having assisted in making the original survey. He entered the 
employ of the Eagle Insurance Company — the oldest insurance company in 
the State of New York, and the only one working under a perpetual charter, — 
in 185 1, beginning at the lowest position, and advancing through the several 
grades, until he reached that of Secretary in 185S. and in May, 1876, the 
centennial year of our Independence, he became its President. Under his 
conservative management the company has pursued a steady onward and up- 
ward course, promptly meeting all its losses, and is to-day one of the strongest 
companies in the country. It has faithfully followed the old maxim, "Never 
put too many eggs in one basket," and has thus been saved from heavy losses. 

Like his illustrious ancestors, Mr. Clinton has a fondness for military 
affairs, and in 1855, joined Company C of the famous Seventh Regiment, re- 
tiring after eight years service, but still keeping up his connection as a mem- 
ber of the Veteran Corps. He is also a member of the Order of Bolivar the 
Liberator, an order conferred many years ago on a number of members of the 
Veteran Corps of the Seventh Regiment by the government of Venezuela. 
He was a member of Merchants' Lodge No. 709, F. A. M., but demitted 
to Bunting Lodge No. 655. He was a member of the General Committee 
at the Centennial celebration (1889) of Washington's inauguration as 
President of the United States. Mr. Clinton has quite a reputation as an 
amateur photographer, and some of his views in the Adirondacks will com- 
pare favorably with the work of the best professionals, and indicate the true 
artist. 

As the oldest son Mr. Clinton succeeded to membership in the Society of 
the Cincinnati, and was for fourteen years treasurer of the New York State 
Society. 

Old Father Time has dealt kindly with Mr Clinton; the "snows of many 
winters" have not whitened his locks, nor have the three score and ten years 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 3 1 

furrowed his cheeks. He is well preserved for a man of his age, due in a great 
measure to the kindly nature which he inherits from his ancestors. 

Mr. Clinton married Elizabeth, daughter of James H. Vose and Sophia 
Elizabeth (Newby) Vose, and sister of the late Colonel Richard Vose, 
71st Regiment, N. G. S. N. Y. The issue of this marriage is Anna Elizabeth, 
Sophie Emily, Kate DeWitt (died young), and Charles Alexander. Mr. Clin- 
ton's first wife deceased January 2, 1875, and he married second Annie J. Nestell, 
daughter of John J. Nestell and Jane A. (Schultz) Nestell. 

Charles Alexander Clinton, the youngest child and only son of Mr. Clinton 
is a successful physician in New York City, and a member of the Board of 
Health. 

GREENWOOD FAMILY. 

The Greenwoods have filled an important place in American history from 
the colonial period to the Revolution, and thence to the present time. This 
family, which came from Norwich, England, though doubtless descended from 
the same stock as the Greenwoods of Greenwood- Lee, Yorkshire, there located 
since 1154, was probably more immediately connected with a branch which 
had settled at an early period in Kendal Ward, County Westmoreland. The 
first of the family name admitted to the freedom of Norwich, was Geoffrey 
Greenwood, in 1429; and Richard Greenwood, the herald of Henry, Earl of 
Richmond while in Brittany, became Rouge Croix pursuivant when the Earl 
ascended the English throne in 1485, as King Henry VII.; he was also "Baliff 
of Richmond Fee, in the County of Noffolk," at Swaffham. 

Nathaniel Greenwood, shipbuilder, was the American ancestor of the 
family. His father and grandfather, both named Miles Greenwood, were of 
Norwich, England. The latter traded to New England in 1637, and was, by 
tradition, a Lieutenant and Chaplain under Cromwell. Nathaniel came to 
America about 1654, and settled in Boston; died July 31, 1684, aged 53, and was 
buried on Copp's Hill, where his gravestone still stands. He married Mary 
Allen, daughter of Samuel Allen, and had Samuel and other children. 

Samuel Greenwood, son of Nathaniel and Mary (Allen) Green- 
wood, was born in Boston, Mass., Sept. 24, 1662, and died July 16, 1721. He was 
one of the committee appointed March 11, 1711-12 to select the ground and 
oversee the building of a schoolhouse at the North End. He held other pos- 
itions of trust in the town, and was a prominent member of the old North 
Church. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Robert Bronsden, and had several 
children, among whom was Isaac. 

Isaac Greenwood, son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Bronsden) Green- 
wood, was baptised in the old North Church. May 17. 1702. and was admitted 
a member Dec. 22, 1722. He was graduated at Harvard in 1721; studied for 
the ministry, visited England and preached in London with some approbation. 
On his return he was chosen to fill the chair of Mathematics and Natural Phi- 
losophy, founded by Thomas Hollis of London, thus being the first man in this 



32 



SONS OK THE REVOLUTION. 



country to hold such a professorship. He continued in office for over ten 
years, and was a candidate for the Presidency, dividing the votes with Holyoke, 
who was subsequently elected. Mr. Greenwood afterwards opened a private 
school of mathematics in Boston. He published an arithmetic in 1729, and was 
the author of other works. During "King George's War," 1 744 -6, he became 
Chaplain, at Boston, of the Rose frigate, Capt. Thomas Frankland, and while 
serving in this capacity, died of fever in Charleston, S. C, Oct. 12, 1745. He 
married Sarah, daughter of Hon. (Dr.) John Clarke. Speaker of the House of 
Representatives, and grandson of Dr. John Clarke, of Colchester (Essex) and 
London, who married Martha, sister of Sir Richard Salstonstall, and became 
the first practitioner of Boston, Mass. Mrs. Greenwood was named for her 
aunt, the wife of the Rev. Cotton Mather. Professor Greenwood's eldest son 
was Isaac (2). 




ISAAC GKKl'NWOOD. 



Isaac Greenwood (2), son of Isaac (1) and Sarah (Clarke) Green- 
wood, was born at Cambridge. Mass., March 9, 1730. He was a manufacturer 
of mathematical instruments. His apprentice, Samuel Maverick, was one of 
those who were killed during the "Boston Massacre," March 5, 1770. Isaac 
Greenwood married Mary Pans, who came out of Boston just before the battle 
of Bunker Hill in search of her young son John, and was the only person per- 
mitted to reenter the townjuly II, 1775, after Gen. Washington had taken com- 
mand of the American forces. Questioned by Gen. Gage as to the condition of 
the "rebels" she boldly answered that they were ready for him. Her sister 
Martha was wife of the patriotic Col. Thomas Walker, of Montreal, whose 
sufferings and misfortunes form an interesting episode in Canadian history un- 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



33 



der English rule. The issue of the marriage of Isaac Greenwood to Mary 1'ans 
was, with other children, a son John. 

CAPTAIN (or Dr.) JOHN GREENWOOD, Patriot ok the Revolution, 
son of Isaac (2) and Mary (Fans) Greenwood, was born May 17, 1760. He had 
been a fifer in Capt. Martin Gay's company of the Boston Artillery, and at the 
outbreak of the Revolution was fifer in a military company commanded by his 
uncle, John Greenwood, at Falmouth, now Portland, Me. On the "Lexington 
Alarm" he ran away, expecting to reach his home in Boston, but, unable to 
cross the river at Charleston, he returned to Cambridge, and enlisted May 17, 
1775, as fifer in Capt. Theodore T. Bliss's Company, Col. John Paterson's Mass. 
Regiment. In this regiment, afterward the 15th Regiment, (Mass.) Conti- 
nental Infantry, he served as Fife Major to close of 1776; a fifer in Capt. John 
Hinkley's Company, Lieut-Col. Symond's Detachment of Guards in Boston, 
Feb. 13, — May, 1778; Midshipman on privateer "Cumberland," Capt. John Man- 




CAPTAIN JOHN GREENWOOD. 



ly, Jan., 1779; captured and confined some months a prisoner at Barbadoes; 
Master-at-Arms on privateer "Tartar," Capt. David Porter. Nov., 1779: served on 
letter-of-marque "General Lincoln," Capt. John Carnes, captured and carried 
prisoner to New York, 1780, and escaped; served as an officer on letter-of- 
marque "Aurora," Capt. David Porter, on a voyage to France, Oct.. 1780 — May, 
1781; 2d mate on letter-of-marque "Race Horse," Capt Nathaniel Thayer, and 
carried a prize brig to Tobago, 1781; owner of trading schooner on the Ches- 
peake, captured by the notorious Whaland, but retook his vessel and brought 
her and her prize crew to Baltimore; Mate 6— gun schooner "Resolution," of 



34 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Baltimore, 1782; Captain of same on trip to St. Eustatia; captured and carried 
to Kingston, Jamaica, and remained a prisoner to the close of the war. 

After this he made several trading voyages from Boston along the coast, but 
soon settled at his father's business in New York, where he subsequently be- 
came interested in mechanical dentistry, and is believed to have been the first 
native practitioner. The employment of his services by President Washing- 
ton, in 1789, led speedily to his enjoyment of a large and fashionable clientel. 
He died Nov. 16, 1819. By his wife Elizabeth, daughter of William Weaver, 
he had three sons, Isaac John, Clark and John William, and one daughter, Jane 
\\\, who married Thomas W. Langdon, of Boston and New York. 

Isaac John Greenwood, son of Captain (or Dr.) John and Eliza- 
beth (Weaver) Greenwood, was born in New York city, July 17, 1795. He 
was brought up as a merchant under Benjamin L. Swan, and was in business 
in New York and Savannah, Ga. Succeeded to his father and continued in 
active practice until 1839, having received the degrees of M. D. and D. D. S. 
He was a scholarly gentleman, a linguist, and a deep reader in several languages, 
as well as a skilful amateur artist, both with pencil and brush. In 1856 he 
became a member of the American Geographical Society. In early life he had 
been a member of the Independent Battalion, known in New York as the 
"Governor's Guard," Major Daniel E. Dunscomb. Vet. Brigade, N. Y. State 
Artillery, and for services in the last war with Great Britain received a grant of 
land in Iowa. He was elected, in 1820, a member of the N. Y. State Artillery 
Company. He died in NewYork City May 14, 1865, having lived to witness 
the close of the Civil War. which established on a firmer basis than ever the 
principles of civil and religious liberty, for which his father and compatriots 
fought and bled. By his second wife, Mary, daughter of John McKay, merchant, 
of New York, he had sons Isaac John and Langdon. 

ISAAC JOHN GREENWOOD (2) , Society Sons of the Revolution, son 
of Dr. Isaac John and Mary (McKay) Greenwood, was born in New York 
City, Nov. 15, 1833. He graduated from Columbia College in 1853. A man of 
scientific and literary tastes, his life has been mainly devoted to this character 
of work. While possessing ample means to enable him to enjoy life and indulge 
his literary tastes he has by no means been idle. He has been for many years 
a contributor to our various historical magazines, evincing deep research and 
much labor. He was one of the founders, and for a term Vice President of the 
American Numismatic and Archadogical Society, and has a large and rare 
collection of coins. He is a member of the New York Historical Society, 
England Historic Genealog. Society of Boston and other organizations. His 
extensive library includes many rare historical and other works. Mr. Green- 
wood married Mary A. Rudd, a descendant of an old English family. They 
have i<<ue Isaac John, Jr., Joseph Rudd Eliza Rudd. and Mary MacKaye. 



sons of the revolution. 35 

DAYTON— TOMLINSON . 

RALPH DAYTON was the first mentioned, and probably the only ances- 
tor of this name in America. He was probably from Bedfordshire, Eng., as 
this is the only English family of the name mentioned by Burke. They had 
Arms — "Or, on a fesse between three amulets gules as many standing cups 
of the field." Ralph Dayton was for a time a resident of Boston, but removed 
to New Haven in 1639, and was one of the original settlers. He removed thence 
to Southhampton, L. I., and later became one of the founders of East Hampton. 
The records show that "At a General Court holden at East Hampton, March 
7, 1650, It is ordered that Ralph Dayton is to go to Keniticut for to procure 
the evidence of our lands and for an acquittance for the payment of our lands 
and for a boddie of laws." The descendants of Ralph Dayton settled mostly 
in New York and New Jersey. 

BREWSTER DAYTON, Soldier of the Revolution, was 
a grandson or great grandson of Ralph. The Stratford records state 
that he came from Long Island and settled in Stratford. He was a private in 
Capt. John Yeates' Company, Col. Roger Enos' Regiment Connecticut Militia, 
May 28th, to Aug. 27, 1778, served on the Hudson, also served in the Stratford 
Coast Guard, Connecticut Militia, 1778. He married 1st Ruth Judson, Aug. 
1777; died June 15, 1788. He married Betsey Willoughby, daughter of John 
Willoughby of Stratford. "The Willoughbys now in the United States" says 
Hon. James Savage, "I have reason to believe are the heirs of the dormant 
Barony of Willoughby of Parham." Capt. Francis Willoughby, the American 
ancestor, was a prominent merchant, was Deputy Governor of Massachusetts 
in 1650, and was almost constantly engaged in public service. His son Jonathan 
preached both in Wethersfield and Haddam, Conn. The youngest son of 
Brewster Dayton and Betsey Willoughby was Charles Willoughby. 

CHARLES WILLOUGHBY DAYTON, youngest child of Brewster 
and Betsey (Willoughby) Dayton, was born in Stratford in 1795. He came 
to New York early in life, and obtained employment in a large woolen house. 
He afterwards established business on his own account and became one of the 
most successful woolen merchants of that period. He resided on Washing- 
ton Square. He married Jane Child, daughter of Francis Child; born Aug. 11. 
1774, a descendant of Benjamin Child, born in Suffolk Co., England, died in 
Roxbury, Mass. in affluent circumstances, having contributed generously to 
the fund for building the first church of Roxbury. He was nephew and sole 
heir of Ephraim Child, born in Berry, St. Edmund's. England. Aug.. 1593. mar- 
ried Elizabeth Bond Palmer; came to America with his neighbor and friend 
John Winthrop, in 1630, and settled with his relative William Bond, at Water- 
town, where he was selectman, justice and representative for many year-. He 
died July 13, 1663, leaving a large estate, and liberal bequests. 

By his marriage with Jane Child, Mr. Dayton had a son Abram Child. 

ABRAM CHILD DAYTON, son of Charles Willoughby and Jane (Child) 
Davton was born on Dev Street, New York. i8tS. He 'enjoyed the best 



36 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

educational advantages to be had in the city, and completed his studies abroad. 
While he engaged for a time in mercantile affairs, he was a man of decided 
literary tastes and inclinations. He contributed to the periodicals of the day, 
and was greatly interested in the early history of New York. He wrote "Last 
Days of Knickerbocker Life" in which he gave a graphic description of the 
times and customs of the old New Yorkers, much of which was drawn from 
personal experience, he having lived through the changing scenes of the old 
to the new order of things, and witnessed the introduction of steam, electricity 
and the various modern improvements. His death occurred in 1877. 

He married Maria A. Tomlinson, daughter of David Tomlinson and Cor- 
nelia Adams. David Tomlinson was the son of 

JOSEPH TOMLINSON, Soldier of the Revolution, born in 1741, 
private in Captain Humphrey's Company, of Derby, Conn., enlisted Nov. 
26, 1776, and served to the close of the war, (see record of John Canfield Tom- 
linson). David Tomlinson, above mentioned, married Cornelia Adams, grand- 
daughter of Andrew Adams. 

HON. ANDREW ADAMS, Soldier of the Revolution, was Major 
of the 17th Regiment, Connecticut Militia, 1777. Lieut. Colonel, 1779. 
Colonel of same regiment Jan.. 1780. member Continental Congress, and held 
various important civil positions after the war, and was Cheif Justice of the State 
of Connecticut. He married Annis Canfield, , daughter of John Canfield. 

JOHN CANFIELD, Soldier of the Revolution, was the son of 
Jeremiah Canfield, and was born in 1740. He was Adjutant Continental Dra- 
goons, commanded by Col: Elisha Sheldon, 1776; Brigade Major in Brigadier- 
General Oliver Wolcott's Detachment, Connecticut Militia, 1777, at Saratoga. 
Abram Child Dayton, before mentioned, had issue by his marriage with 
Maria A. Tomlinson; Charles Willougby, Laura Canfield Spencer (married 
Benjamin F. Fessenden), William Adams and Harold Child. 

CHARLES WILLOUGHBY DAYTON, member of the sons 
of the revolution 1889, eldest son of Abram Child Dayton and Maria 
A. Tomlinson, was born in Brooklyn, Oct. 3, 1846. He entered the College of 
the City of New Y'ork, was graduated at the Law School of Columbia College 
in 1868, and was admitted to the bar the same year. He achieved a reputation 
that soon placed him among the leading men in the profession and increased 
his practice accordingly. His decisions as a Referee not only evince a know- 
ledge of he law. but a judicial mind. He does not encourage litigation when it 
is possible to effect settlement on an equitable basis. His public life has been one 
of marked success. He has the happy faculty of making and keeping friends. 
Frank, open and generous to his opponents, he is steadfast and reliable in his 
friendship to those who are admitted into the inner circle of his life. During his 
political career of more than twenty years, his private life has been without 
spot or blemish, while his public acts challenge the admiration of his strongest 
opponents. His entrance into public life began in, 1864 as the earnest advocate 
of General George B. McClellan for the Presidency. It was almost a forlorn 
hope from the beginning, owing to the tremendous power and influence of the 




V 



a. 




SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 37 

Republican party at that time, but Mr. Dayton made a gallant fight for the man 
whom he believed had earned the gratitude of the nation. Mr. Dayton identi- 
fied himself with the Democratic party and adhered to it even when it consti- 
tuted a minority. He was elected to the State Legislature in 1881 and achieved 
a reputation for his earnest advocacy of reform measures introduced at that time. 
The adoption by the Legislature of the primary election law of 1881 was due 
largely to his efforrts. Owing to the pressure of professional duties he 
declined a renomination. fie organized the Harlem Democratic Club in 1882, 
which has been formost in its advocacy of reform in municiple affairs and a no- 
table democratic ally in National contests. The same year Mr. Dayton was elect- 
ed Secretary of the Citizens' Movement and threw himself earnestly into its 
work. He adhered to the reform element of the Democratic party, and when 
Grover Cleveland was nominated for President in 1884. Mr. Dayton entered the 
campaign with bis accustomed zeal and energy for the success of his party, be- 
coming himself one of the Presidential electors from his own State, and secre- 
tary of its electoral college. He was recognized by the National committee as 
one of the ablest speakers and most nergetic workers in his party, and when the 
campaign of 1888 opened, his services were in constant demand. His speeches 
bad the ring of true democracy and were clear, logical and convinceing. A 
speech he delivered at Burlington, Iowa, was received with such favor that it 
was adopted by the National Democratic Committee as a valuable campaign doc- 
ument, and was extensively circulated throughout the United States. 

Mr. Dayton continued to advocate the policy of Mr. Cleveland and took 
the stump for him again in 1892. 

In 1889 Mr. Dayton was a member of the Centennial Committee, which had 
charge of the celebration of Washington's inauguration as first President of the 
United States, and in 1893 he was elected a member of the New York State 
Constitutional Convention. In 1894 Mr. Dayton presided at the Memorial Day 
services, G. A. R.. at Carnegie Hall, and in 1897 was chosen chairman of the 
Citizens' Auxiliary Committee. G. A R.. to provide funds for the Memorial 
services of that year. 

In recognition of his long and distinguished services to his party, President 
Cleveland, without solicitation, on the 3d of June. 1893. nominated Mr. Dayton 
for Postmaster at New York City. The nomination was promptly and unani- 
mously confirmed by the Senate, and received the hearty approval of the people 
of his native city and State. 

During Mr. Dayton's administration as Postmaster there has been a marked 
improvement in the postal service. The discipline of four thousand em- 
ployees has never been equalled, and although, in the natural order of things, 
the expenses have been increased, the revenues from the service have been aug- 
mented. In the matter of electric lighting alone, Mr. Dayton, as custodian of 
the Post Office building, has saved to the government $30,000 per annum, and the 
total amount saved during his administration in various departments exceeds 
$160,000. Mr. Dayton's government bank account has aggregated $600,000,000, 
and yet there has not been a discrepancy. As custodian of the Post 



38 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Office building Mr. Dayton has obtained from the Treasury Department and 
from Congress some $300,000 for improvements, and the building has never 
been kept in such perfect order, while the improvements necessitated by the 
constantly increasing business have been pushed vigorously forward. In the 
management of the large army of employees Mr. Dayton has displayed the 
knowledge and skill together with the sagacity, judgment and forethought 
required in the conduct of our largest business houses. So perfect is the ma- 
chinery for handling the mail matter that out of the millions of letters that pass 
through this office it is seldom that one goes astray, and when such a thing does 
occur it is followed with rapidity until it reaches its proper destination or is 
accounted for. It is the universal expression of the business men of New York 
that the whole service of the New York post office has been better managed, 
and with less friction than ever before. This is explained when it is known that 
the most perfect confidence existed between employer and employee, and the 
respect entertained by the latter for the former constitutes an important element 
in the motive power which keeps the machinery in such perfect running order. 
As a proof of the love and loyalty of his employees a public banquet was ten- 
dered to Mr. Dayton June 19, 1897, after his resignation, by fifteen hundred 
letter carriers of New York, at which he was presented with an album signed 
by all the letter carriers in that city. It was commented upon by the public 
press as the largest and most significant banquet ever given in this country. 
As a further proof of the esteem in which he is held, and as a continued reminder 
of the delightful associations of his nearly four years' administration, there 
stands in the main room of the Post Office building a bronze bust of Mr. Day- 
ton, paid for by the employees in subscriptions not exceeding fifty cents each. 
Tfiis statue contains the following inscription: 

CHARLES WILLOUGHBY DAYTON, 

Postmaster 

At New York, N. Y. 

Appointed by President Cleveland 

June 3, 1893. 

Erected February, 1897, 

By the Employees of the 

New York Post Office, 

who desire to perpetuate 

Mr. Dayton's record for 
Efficiency. Discipline, Justice. 

Courtesy and Kindness. 
As an evidence of Mr. Dayton's personal popularity and of his strong hold 
on the business men of all political parties, he was urged by President Mc- 
Kinley to continue in office under a Republican administration. Mr. Dayton, 
however, declined the honor, as his professional duties required his undivided 
attention, and. on April 14. tendered his resignation, which was accepted May 22, 
1897. I fe immediately resumed his law practice. His reputation as lawyer and 
his integrity as a man are well known. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 39 

The following letter from President Cleveland evinces personal regard for 
and hearty appreciation and endorsement of Mr. Dayton's public services : 

Westland, Princeton, New Jersey. May 24, 1897. 
Hon. Charles W. Dayton: 

My Dear Sir: In reply to your letter written upon your retirement from 
the Postmastership of the City of New York, and expressing your appreciation 
of the honor conferred by your appointment, I beg to assure you that the 
faitthful and efficient service you have rendered the Government and your fellow 
citizens during your term of office, entitles you to an acknowledgement of my 
personal obligation for the credit thus reflected upon the appointing power. 

Hoping that prosperity and contentment await you in all your future under- 
takings, I am, 

Very truly yours, 

GROVER CLEVELAND. 

One incident in connection with Mr. Dayton's administration of the affairs 
of the New York Post Office deserves mention. For nearly three years, 
involving much time, labor and expense, he was engaged in collecting the pho- 
tographs of the several postmasters of New York from 1804 to 1897. At the 
request of the New York Historical Society, Mr. Dayton supplied duplicates 
of these to be placed among the interesting collections of this Society, which 
form a notable part of the business history of the metropolis. In recognition 
of his courtesy Mr. Dayton was elected a member of the Society. 

Mr. Dayton's name has been prominently mentioned as a candidate for tht 
mayoralty of the Greater New York and also for Justice of the Supreme Court. 

Mr. Dayton has been actively identified with metropolitan affairs for many 
years. He was President of the Board fur the Improvement of Park Ave- 
nue above One Hundred and Sixth Street, a work which involved the expendi- 
ture of several million dollars, much to the public benefit. He organized and 
is a Director of the Twelfth Ward Bank and Empire City Savings Bank; also 
a director in the Seventh National Bank, being the legal counsel of each. He 
is a director in the United States Life Insurance Company: a trustee of the 
Harlem Library, trustee of the Church of the Puritans, member of the Harlem 
Democratic Club, the Sagamore and Players' Clubs: the Xew York Geograph- 
ical Society; the New York Historical Society: Down Town Association; The 
New England Society. He was member of the Executive Committee of the 
Bar Association of the State of New York, and has served upon important 
committees of the Bar Association of the City of New York: is a Governor of 
the Manhattan Club, and was one of the incorporators of the Post Graduate 
Medical School. 

Mr. Dayton, in 1874, married Laura A. Newman, daughter of the late John 
B. Newman. M. D., and Rebecca Sanford. and has issue: Charles Willoughbv 
Dayton, John Newman Dayton and Laura Adams Dayton. 

Mrs. Dayton is one of the charter members of the Daughters of the Revolu- 
tion, being a descendant of Richard Webb, of Hartford, Connecticut. Ts also 
member of the National Society of New England Women. 



40 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

GILLIS.— STARK.— CODMAN, ETC. 

Referring to Rome in her ancient grandeur, when from her " Seven Hills 
she ruled the world," the poet truly said: 

" In that day to be a Roman was greater than a King." 
The descendants of the ancient Romans pointed with pride to their ancestors, 
but the American citizen of to-day who can boast of such an ancestor as Gen. 
John Stark, has far greater reason for " pride of ancestry " which many of the 
present time are seeking to establish. 

Both the Gillis and Stark families come of a long line of Scotch ancestry. 

HUGH GILLIS, the American ancestor, was a native of Argyleshire, Scot- 
land. He came to New England and settled first in Londonderry, N. H., now 
Merrimack, in 1746. He was an industrious, thrifty, prosperous farmer, who 
contributed in his own humble way to the development of the new town where 
he located. He married Sarah Arbuckle, an incident of whose life forms an 
interesting chapter in American history, which has been preserved and described 
in a little brochure by Charles J. Gillis of the New York State Society, S. R. 

Sarah Arbuckle (also of Scotch descent) came to this country, at the age of 
sixteen, with her father and brothers, the mother having died in the old country, 
and settled in what is now the town of Merrimac, N. H., in 1740, then an unin- 
habited wilderness, the nearest neighbor being some miles distant. To this child 
of tender years was committed all the cares of the household. From early morn- 
ing until evening her father and brothers were absent at their daily toil. It was 
so very lonely that many times a day she would step outside of the house to 
listen to the sound of their axes, and if it ceased for any length of time she 
would tremble with fear lest they had been attacked by Indians or wild beasts. 

As she was stooping over the fireplace one morning, making the usual pot 
of " stir about " (Indian hasty pudding), she was startled by a shadow falling 
across the floor, and turning suddenly to the open door she came face to face 
with a large, powerful looking Indian, who stood at the threshold with blood 
streaming down over one side of his face. She stood for a moment terror 
stricken, while he tried to make known to her his trouble. Recovering by 
degrees from her fright, she saw that an arrow was sticking in his eye, which he 
desired her to remove. She plucked up courage, drew the arrow out, dressed 
the wound, fed and cared for the Indian for some days until he was sufficiently 
recovered to depart, when he disappeared in the woods. Some years after this 
word came to the settlers that the Indians were on the war path, and everyone 
hurried to the garrison to protect themselves and their families. Just as the 
Arbuckles were getting ready to leave for a place of safety the yell of the savage 
was heard in the distance, and, almost immediately after, their house was sur- 
rounded. The savages burst in the door, and the tomahawk of one was just 
about to descend on Sarah's head, when at a word spoken by the Chief, who 
rushed in after them, every warrior dropped his hand and silently, one after 
another, filed out into the darkness, leaving their Chief with the family. He had 
learned enough of English to remind them of his visit some years previous, and 



SONS GF THE DEVOLUTION. 41 

to express his gratitude for the kindness shown him on that occasion. He 
assured the family that they need have no fears, that their home would not be 
molested. They had no further trouble with the Indians, and the one to whom 
they had shown such kindness, proved their life-long friend, visiting them annu- 
ally for some years and always bringing some small token of remembrance. 
This woman became the mother of a large family, and her children and child- 
ren's children have told the simple tale to each generation. The issue of the 
marriage of Hugh Gillis to Sarah /Yrbuckle was: Jotham, Jonathan. Thomas, 
Josiah, Richard, Sarah, Betsey. 

Jotham Gillis, eldest child of H;;gh and Sarah ( Arbuckle.) Gillis, was 
born at the homestead of his parents, June 4, 1758; died June 28. 1853. He became 
a leading man in the town, an 1 entered heartily into every enterprise for its 
improvement. The first cotton mill in the State of New Hampshire was built 
at Manchester in 1803, and in 1809 a stock company was formed which was 
incorporated in June of that year under the name of the Amoskeag Cotton and 
Woolen Manufacturing Company. At the first meeting of the directors there 
were present James Parker. Samuel P. Kidder. John Stark, Jr., Daniel Mc- 
Queston and Benjamin Prichard. James Parker was chosen President, and 
Jotham Gillis, clerk. Mr. Gillis became the first agent of the company, and 
doubtless to his efforts and enterprise, as much a-- to any other man, the com- 
pany started on its prosperous career. 

Jotham Gillis married Abigail Codman, daughter of Dr. Henry Codman 
of Amherst, N. H., April 19th, 1787. 

DR. HENRY CODMAN, Patriot of the Revolution, was horn 
at Middleton, Mass., Jan. 25, 1744. He studied medicine and practiced at 
Amherst. He was one of the earliest and boldest of the patriots at the begin- 
ning of the War of the Revolution, and was a signer, March 14, 1776, of the fol- 
lowing: 

"We the subscribers do hereby engage and promise that we will do the 
utmost of our power at the risque of our Lives and Fortunes with arms, oppose 
the hostile proceedings of the British fleets and armies against the United 
Colonies." 

Dr. Codman served as a volunteer surgeon at the battle of Bunker Hill. 

The History of Amherst, page 395, states that "A regiment under the com- 
mand of Col. Moses Nichols served three months in the autumn of 1780. Dr. 
Henry Codman was surgeon." 

As a physician Dr. Codman was greatly beloved by the people. He prac- 
ticed nearly forty years in Amherst; he died in March, 1812. 

Jotham Gillis, by his wife Abigail (Codman) Gillis, daughter of Dr. Henry 
Codman had issue: Josiah, born June 7, 1789; Nancy, born Oct. 29, 1790; Bet- 
sey, born Oct. 23, 1792; George, born April 15. 1801; Rheny Clagget, born 
April 6, 1806. 

Josiah Gillis, eldest son of Jotham and Abigail (Codman') Gillis. 
was born June 7, 1789. He was a well-to-do farmer, and lived for many years at 
Merrimac at the old homestead. He removed to Wilmington, Mass., in 1818, 



._ 

where he kept a he:- i'so in the lumber _ .aining 

.an. a gooc devoted 

4 - - ughter 

of Johr - eral John Stark, son of Archibald - 

- v - : 

S 

ting 51 ;entury. 

The na- g stiff, 

ragged. The appearance Scotland 

ot Burgundy rles 1 E 

large body of Gerr. 5 to S .land under the command of Gen. Martin 

Sward, to join the invas gland in support of 1 

Pretenders to the throne Feated, and 

- 
Among this nurr 

Scotlai 

age he 
; parents to Lond le married Eleanor 

:::an. 
The Tom a Cor - siderable an- 

tz-Nig -nan warrior who accom- 

panied the Conque- 1066. and to wh -- gned 1 

three manors 
ford. Ess rthamptoT. - 

I with a co: 

:.'.. and ther 
Londonderry. X. H. He erected for 
he remorec 
portion of land on the Merrir 

-. of the 
" _ : 1 which 

in complimer- _ 

- 

m. John. Samuel and Archibald, all held commissions in 
during the S 
- od conduct Stark died June 25. 

5TARK. Patriot of Archi- 

bald Stai as born at Londonderry. X. H.. Aug. :• 

died a: _ _ ther owned 

land about Amosk- g Falls g proprietor of I -.barton (then 

called Sfarld gi idvantages jok edu- 

t training ting and all athletic employments. 

Forest, and on one of the* 

pari Indians. 



;he revolution. 43 

One of the young men was killed: his brother William made his escape, and 
John and a young man named Eastman were carried [ t 
A custom prevailed among the North American Indians requiring cap- 
pass between the young ■ ;eir tribe, ranged between two lines 
furnished with a rod and prepared to strike their pr 

Eastman, his companion y whipped as he passed through: Stark, 

more athletic and adroit, snatched a club from the nearest Indian, and - 
right and left scattered the Indians before him. greatly to the delight of the old 
men. who sat some distance away and viewed the discomfiture of the young 
warriors. Young Stark refused to work in the field, saying " it was the business 
not of warriors but of squaws to hoe corn." This spirited deportment gained 
him the title of '* young chief " and the honor of adoption into the tribe. The 
knowledge he thus obtained of forest life and the topogr , border 

was of great service in subsequent conflicts ree months of captivhy 

he was ransomed by the colony of Mass ~ :: 

of the Seven Years' War. he was appointed a Lieutenant in Major Robert 
Rogers' famous corps of rangers and served w I - - :ig to the r 

Captain, through all the campaigns around Lake George and Lake Champlain. 
where traditions still ex .^acity and bravery. In the attack upon 

Ticonderoga in June. 1758. he behaved with great gallantry. In this action fell 
the young and gallant Lord Howe, between whom an<: Si - r ndship 

existed. At the capture of Ticonderoga and -irk rendered 

efficient service to Lord Amherst. At the 
army and engaged in farming at Derryficld (now Manchester). X. H. 

When the report of the batt* - reached him he was engaged at 

work in his saw-mill. Within ten minute- after the new- had been received 
he mounted his horse and was on his - ring left dii 

for such of his neighbors as des r eet him at Medford. The 

morning after his arrival he rec . and in th 

of a few hours had enlisted 800 men. 

On June 17. 1775. he was stationed about thr n in a 

position from which he had a front view of Bunker and Breed's Hill, 
a battle was inevitable, he waited :' 5. but s "'or the 

ground, which he reachc I began. He took up a • 

behind a fence extending down Breed's Hill to the wal 

-ition he had his men pile up hay behind the fence. As 
marched up he opened fire. sa;. ing 

This suggestion became proverbial thror.-. - ~ved in 

every engagement. The aim of the British in this attack was to march around 
this point of land and capture the whole army. 
time they received another volley, and after the third_ attempt tl 
General Stark held his position until his ammunit 
in perfect order ac- -- 

Boston he marched with his regiment to New York. H 
ordered to Canada, and then : g Washingl :h him at Trenton. 



44 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



Princeton, and was also at the battle of Springfield N. J. The term of service 
of his regiment having expired, and feeling that he had been slighted in the 
promotions, he resigned his commission, and replied to his friends who tried 
to dissuade him, "that an officer who could not maintain his rank was unworthy 



to serve his country." He retired to his farm, where he remained until the 
urgent demand and the threatened dangers to his own State compelled him 
again to take the field. When information arrived that Gen. Arthur St. Clair 
had retreated and Ticonderoga had been taken, New Hampshire flew to arms 



SONS OK THK REVOLUTION. 45 

and called for Stark to command her troops. He consented on condition that 
he should not be subject to any order but his own; and this the Council of 
State agreed to, because the nun would not march without him. Setting out 
with a small force for Bennington, he then learned that Burgoyne had dis- 
patched Col. Frederick Baum with fiv'e hundred men to seize the stores collected 
at that place. Sending out express to call in the militia of the neighborhood, 
Stark marched out to meet him, hearing of which Baum intrenched himself in 
a strong position about six miles from Bennington, and sent to Burgoyne for 
reinforcements. Before they could arrive Stark attacked him on the 16th of 
August 1777. Tradition says that he called to his men as he led them to the 
assault: "There they are, boys! We beat them to-day or Molly Stark's a widow!" 
another of his sentences that has gone into history. The second British force 
of five hundred men under Col. Breyman presently arriving was likewise totally 
defeated. Of the one thousand British, not more than a hundred escaped, all 
the rest being killed or captured; a result of great importance as it led ultimately 
to the surrender of Burgoyne at Saratoga. Col. Baum, who was mortally 
wounded, said of the provincials: "They fought more like hell-hounds than 
soldiers." The American loss was only about seventy. It is noteworthy that 
this was the anniversary month of the Battle of Long Island, fought one year 
previous in which five thousand raw militia were defeated by twenty thousand 
British regulars. Stark retrieved the fortunes of the American army, the moral 
effect of which can never be estimated. Molly Stark was not left a "widow," 
but lived to share the honors of her noble husband for many years. Washing- 
ton spoke of it immediately as "the great stroke struck by Gen. Stark at 
Bennington," and Baroness Reisdel, then in the British camp, wrote: "This 
unfortunate event paralyzed our operations." For this victory Stark was made 
a Brigadier-General, Oct. 4, 1777, and received the thanks of Congress. He 
was made a Major General by act of Congress in 1786. He continued in active 
service during the remainder of the war, displaying everywhere distinguished 
ability. In 1778-9 he served in Rhode Island and in 1780 in New Jersey and in 
1781 commanding the northern department of Saratoga. In 1781 he retired to 
his farm where he lived in republican simplicity till his death at the age of 
94. When he was 89 years old Congress allowed him a pension of sixty dollars 
per month; but with his simple tastes and habits this was not essential to his 
comfort. He was a good type of the class of men who gave success to the 
American Revolution. With the exception of Gen. Thomas Sumpter, he was 
the last surviving general of the Revolutionary army. He was buried on his 
own grounds, on the east bank of the Merrimac river, at Manchester, N. H., 
where a simple granite obelisk was placed in 1829 by the members of his family 
to mark his resting place. The citizens of Manchester planted memorial trees 
around it in 1876. These grounds came into possession -of Elizabeth Stark, 
daughter of John Stark (3), and great grand-daughter of Gen. Stark, who 
donated it, with additional grounds, to the city of Manchester to be used as a 
public park. The State of New Hampshire has caused to be erected in front of 
the State House at Concord, a fine bronze statue of the General, and another 



4 6 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

one in the rotunda 01 the capitol at Washington. In August, 1887, the corner- 
stone was laid in Bennington of another monument. It is an obelisk of lime- 
stone 301 feet high from foundation to apex. 

Gen. Stark married Elizabeth Page (born Feb. 16, 1737, died June 29, 
1814), daughter of Capt. Caleb Page. 

CAPT. CALEB PAGE, Patriot of the Revolution, was born in 1705- 
He was one of the grantees of Starkstown (which retained the name for four- 
teen years and then became Dunbarton), and was in the charter of incorporation 
in 1765. He was a large proprietor in the new township, and the locality still 
bears the name of "Page Corner." He was one of the most efficient cooperators 
in advancing the progress of the settlement. His and the house of Israel Clif- 
ford were the first frame buildings erected in that vicinity. In 1758 he was 
appointed by Governor Wentworth Captain of Provincials. He was a firm 
patriot, and in 1775 he was chosen a delegate to the Provincial Congress. He 
possessed a noble and benevolent spirit with ample means to carry out his 
generous intentions. His bank, which contained his treasure of golden guineas, 
silver crowns and dollars, was a half bushel measure constantly kept under 
his bed. His house was the abode of hospitality and the scene of many a joyous 
festival in the olden time. He was the son of Caleb, born 1685, son of Benjamin 
Page, the ancestor, born in Dedham, Eng., in 1640. Came to Haverhill, Mass., 
in 1660; married Sept. 21, 1666, Alary Whittier, daughter of Thomas Whittier, 
of Newbury, Mass., the progenitor of the poet Whittier. 

Gen. John Stark, by his wife Elizabeth Page (daughter of Capt. Caleb 
Page) had eleven children, of whom John, Jr., was the third. 

John Stark, Jr., son of General John and Elizabeth (Page) Stark, was born 
in Dunbarton, N. H., April 17, 1763. He married Mary Huse of Methuen, 
Mass., and had among his twelve children a daughter Mary. 

Mary Stark, daughter of John Stark, Jr., was born Jan. 18, 1795; married 
Josiah Gillis, Sept. 14, 1813. 

Josiah Gillis, by his wife Mary (Stark) Gillis, had six children, of whom 
Charles Josiah Gillis was the fifth. 

CHARLES JOSIAH GILLIS, New York State Society Sons of 
the Revolution, son of Josiah and Mary (Stark) Gillis, was born at 
Wilmington, Mass., April 15, 1822. As a child he was studious and fond of 
books. He graduated at the high school of Lowell, and in 1846 left his native 
town and went to Philadelphia, where for four years he was engaged as a oook- 
seller and publisher. In 1853 he came to New York and established his present 
business of steam heating and ventilating apparatus under the firm name of 
Morse & Gillis, which was changed in 1869 to that of Gillis & Geoghegan. 
For nearly half a century Mr. Gillis has been one of the leaders in this line of 
trade, and the business of this firm is now probably one of the largest in the 
world. Mr. Gillis enjoys the unique position of popularity among his competi- 
tors. He was for some years President of the Master Steam and Hot Water 
Fitters' Association, and in 1896 his associates, desiring to give expression to 
their high appreciation of his worth and of his efforts in behalf of the associa- 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 47 

tion, presented him with an elegant silver Loving Cup, made by Tiffany & Co., 
on which was inscribed: 

"' Charles J. Gillis, from his Competitors for Services freely given to their 
ultimate advantage, January, 1896." 

Mr. Gillis has traveled the world-wide over, and is a great observer of men 
and things. He has written and published several accounts of his travels, 
beautifully illustrated from photographs taken of the several places where he 
visited. One of these, "A Summer Vacation in Norway, Sweden and Russia," 
is beautiful as a work of art and highly creditable as a literary production. 
Another, entitled "Around the World," contains a graphic description of the 
various places visited by Mr. Gillis in his travels. He has not, like many 
American travelers, overlooked the beauties and places of interest in his own 
country in their anxiety to " take in " the world. His description of Yellow- 
stone Park and Alaska is an interesting work of 75 pages written in the simple 
style of a diary, which renders it of far greater interest than the usual style 
adopted by travelers. All of Mr. Gillis's work in this direction has been for 
" private circulation," and his numerous friends are thus enabled to enjoy the 
benefit of his extensive travels. He has a large and interesting collection of 
curios, which he has gathered in the various countries where he has visited 
The most interesting of all, however, are the relics associated with the life and 
Revolutionary services of his distinguished ancestor, General Stark, among 
them being a lock of the General's hair, a piece of a silk flag captured at the 
battle of Bennington, and a piece of Mollie Stark's wedding dress. 

Mr. Gillis is a member of the New York Historical Society, Geographical 
Society, Museum of Art and other organizations, and during its existence was 
a director in the Empire State Bank. He married in Montreal, Canada, Oct. 19th, 
the Ascension. He married in Montreal, Canada, Oct. 19th, 1847, Francis Ellen 
1847, Francis Ellen Goodenough, (laughter of Asa Goodenough, one of the best 
known and popular hotel keepers in the Dominion, but a native of New England 
and a descendant of an old Maine family of this name. They have one son, 
Frederic Stark Gillis, born Dec. 29, 1857. He was graduated at Columbia Col- 
lege Law School and completed his studies abroad, and was admitted to the bar 
of New York in 1880. He has since been associated with his father in business. 

WARNER.— MILLER.— FISHER. 

" The mills of the gods grind slow," but sure, is a trite saying, and applies 
with peculiar force to the Miller family, the name of which indicates its origin. 
The " grinding " began in this country as early as 1680, and for more than two 
hundred years the " hopper " has never been empty. Patriots, statesmen, 
inventors, etc., have continued the grinding process, and the nation has been 
liberally supplied with wholesome food from the brains of the " Millers," while 
the wealth of the country through their efforts has been largely increased. 
The name carries with it the patent of nobility, and while no " blazoned arms " 
are to be found as relics of the feudal ages, the impress of noble deeds is 



48 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

" blazoned " on each generation. The military career of the first patriot in this 
line in the War of the Revolution was brought to a sudden close by death, and 
that of the last (in the Civil War; through circumstances beyond his control. 
The ceaseless and untiring energy of the " mills " has been without friction, 
and the machinery stills runs smoothly as of yore. The predominating virtues 
of the family embrace the entire decalogue, and may be summmed up in the one 
sentence, " Love to God and love to man." The allied families have doubtless 
given force and energy to the original stock, but the " Miller " traits stand out in 
bold relief. 

John Miller, the American ancestor of this line of the Miller family, 
is said to have emigrated from Germany to America about 1680. He settled on 
" the White Plains," in Westchester County, where his possessions covered a 
large tract of country amounting to some six hundred acres along the line of 
the Bronx River, being about two miles in length by half a mile in breadth, 
located partly in the town of White Plains and partly in North Castle. His 
family consisted of himself, wife Mary and four sons, James, Abram, Elijah and 
Anthony. 

LIEUT, and ADjUTAiNT ELIJAH MILLER, Patriot of the Revo- 
lution, son or grandson of John Miller, the ancestor was born in 
Westchester County, N. Y., about 1732. His military and social standing is 
shown by the two commissions, one issued by Governor Tryon, of the Province 
of New York, in 1772; the other issued by General Nathaniel Woodhull, as 
President of the Provincial Congress for the colony of New York in 1775. 

The following is a fac simile of the commission issued to him by Governor 
Tryon previous to the Revolution: 




At the beginning of hostilities Elijah Miller, although living in a nest of 
Tories, immediately threw up his old commission and entered the ranks of the 
patriots. He was at once commissioned Lieutenant by General Woodhull, Fres- 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 49 

ident of the Provincial Congress, as appears by the following fac simile, the 
original of which is still in the hands of his descendants. 



b;; 



Lieut. Miller was made Adjutant of Col. Samuel Drake's Regiment of Min- 
ute Men. The following brief record of the service of the regiment is found in 
the New York State Archives, vol. i, page 75: 

"Feb. 26. 1776. Col. Samuel Drake, of the Minute regiment, from the 
County of Westchester, attending at the door, was admitted. 

He informed the Congress that four months, the time for which many of 
his men had enlisted, was fully expired, and that they demanded their pay. 
That if he is enabled to pay them many may probably enlist anew. As Col. 
Drake has not a muster roll of his regiment with him, the Congress agreed to 
advance him £300." 

The regiment was reorganized soon after this and was among the first to 
take part in the erection of the defenses of New York. Johnston says: 
" Waterbury's Connecticut regiment was the first on the ground * * * and 
from Westchester County, New York, came two hundred minute men under 
Col. Samuel Drake. * * * * Drake's minute men were posted at Horn's 
Hook, opposite Hell Gate, where they begun work on the first battery marked 
out for the defense of New York City during the Revolution." This regiment 
was attached to the brigade of Gen. Johnh Morin Scott, which formed a part of 
the reinforcements sent to Brooklyn on the morning of the 27th of August, 1776, 
and took an active part in the battle of Long Island. The sufferings of his 
men the day after the battle are described in a letter from Gen. Scott, in which 
he says: "You may judge of our situation, subject to almost incessant rains. 
without baggage or tents, and almost without victuals or drink, and in some 
parts of the lines the men were standing up to their middles in water." The 
retreat from Brooklyn began two days after this, and the next that is heard of 



50 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Col. Drake's regiment is at the "Kip's Bay" affair, on the 15th of September, 
when the British landed in New York City. 

"During these scenes, Wadsworth's and Scott's brigades, which were be- 
low Douglass on the river lines, saw that their only safety lay, also, in imme- 
diate retreat, and, falling back, they joined the other brigades above, though 
not without suffering and some loss.'' 

It is probable that in this affair, or in the battle of Harlem Heights, which 
followed, that Adjutant Elijah Miller and his two sons were killed, as Col. 
Drake's regiment, to which they belonged, participated in all the events which 
followed the battle of Long Island. This is all that is known of them, and Ann 
Fisher Miller, his widow, and her two daughters are next brought into prom- 
inence as patriots of the Revolution. 

After the battle of Harlem Plains, in October, 1776, Washington formed in- 
trenched camps from the heights of Fordham to White Plains, in Westchester 
County, and on the 21st of October made his headquarters near the village of 
White Plains; this was at the house of Ann Fisher Miller, the widow of Adju- 
tant Elijah Miller. She was honored with the presence of the Comimander-in- 
Chief, while the buildings surrounding the house were used for hospital pur- 
poses. Her land was covered with tents. On an eminence, the highest in all 
White Plains, a prominent fortification was made which overlooked her home. 

Bolten says: "The headquarters of Washington, which started here, were at 
a small farm-house to the north of the village, situated amid a deep solitude of 
woods, surrounded by woods and romantic scenery." 

A party from New York, who visited the place in 1845, wrote: "When we 
entered the little room of Mr. Miller's farm-house, where that great and good 
man [Washington] had resided, and where he resolved to try the hazard of 
battle with a flushed and successful foe, we could not repress the enthusiasm 
which the place, and the moment, and the memory inspired. We looked around 
with eagerness at each portion of the room on which his eye must have rested; 
we gazed through the small window frames through which he must have so 
often and so anxiously looked toward the enemy; and at the old-fashioned buf- 
fets, where his table service was deposited for his accommodation. But little 
change has taken place in the building, and its amiable and patriotic inmates 
have shown their respect for the hero by placing on the walls his portrait, and 
several representations of his last moments at Mount Vernon." 

The battle of White Plains took place on the 28th of October, seven days 
after Washington's arrival at Mrs. Miller's house. During this trying ordeal 
the widow sat in her little home with her five children, amid the incessant rattle 
of musketry and the roar of artillery, and as the wounded and dying were 
brought to her place she tenderly nursed and cared for, and provided every 
comfort for them. It was not until the 31st of October that Howe, failing to 
dislodge Washington from his cornstalk breastworks, withdrew his forces and 
fell back to Fordham. 

In the summer of 1778 Washington was again for several weeks at White 
Plains. The British, after the battle of Monmouth, had retreated to New York, 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



Si 



and the Americans from their former post on the hills of Westchester awaited 
further movements on the enemy's part. Washington also attempted to co-op- 
erate with the French fleet, which had just arrived, in an attempt to capture 
New York. Anna Miller, then but fourteen years of age, and her sister, a little 
older, volunteered to deliver a message to a point desired by the Commander- 
in-Chief; he, knowing their courage and discretion, entrusted them with this 
important mission. They delivered the message and returned home unharmed. 




MRS. MILLER S HOUSE. 



This little home of the widow Miller became, soon after the Revolution, 
the home of Methodism in Westchester County, and the first meetings of the 
society were held in her house, she joining heartily in the worship and helping 
to spread "the glad tidings of salvation." 

Martha Miller, the young heroine of fourteen, daughter of Elijah and Ann 
(Fisher) Miller, became the wife of William, son of Anthony Miller, who mar- 
ried Hesther, daughter of William Davis. 

William Miller, son of Anthony Miller, moved to Rensselaer County, N. Y., 
and founded the present village of North Pittstown, which for many years was 
was known as Millertown. 

The younger children were born after their removal there. . They had among 
others a son Hiram. 

Hiram Miller, son of William and Martha Miller, was born at Mil- 
lertown, now North Pitstown, Rensselaer Co. N. Y., July 18, 1800. He was a 
thrifty, industrious farmer and made the most of his opportunities. His high- 
est ambition was to be good and do good. After residing for thirty-seven years 
in his native town, he removed to Hannibal, Oswego County, where he took 



5 2 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

a large farm, but only remained about a year and then returned to his native 
town, where he remained until an advanced age and then went to live with his 
son Hon. Warner Miller at Herkimer, in Herkimer County, N. Y., where he 
died suddenly in January, 1882. A local paper in giving an account of his death 
says: 

"His mother was a woman of marked ability and devotion and their fireside 
was one of those precious homes of the early itinerant. He early became 
identified with the church. His devotion to his mother was an intense passion. 
His convictions were positive, his integrity white, and his heart generous. His 
excellent, godly wife went from him quietly and quickly in Oct. 1880, and earth 
lost its beauty and heaven grew upon him. On January 31st, 1882, at one of 
our best prayer meetings he sang and prayed as though on the top of Pisgah, 
and going out from that meeting, and crossing the railroad track, he was struck 
by an engine, and without mutilation of body or pain of dying, he was ushered 
into the presence of the King." 

He married Mary Ann Warner of Salisbury, Conn., daughter of William 
Warner, son, probably, of Harvey DeFprest Warner, born in Danbury, Aug. 
1, 1769, died in Salisbury Conn. March 30, 1859, son of Rev. Noadiah Warner, 
missionary to the Indians, pastor of First Congregational church of Danbury, 
son of John Warner or Sunderland, Mass., and Haddam, Conn., son of John of 
Ipswich, born 1616, Norwalk, Eng., son of William Warner of Ipswich, Mass., 
who embarked at London in ship Increase in 1635, from Norfolk, Eng. 

They had issue Warner. 

HON. WARNER MILLER, New York State Society Sons of the 
Revolution, son of Hiram and Mary Ann (Warner) Miller, was born at Han- 
nibal, Oswego County N. Y., Aug. 12, 1838. His early childhood was spent in 
Millertown, Rensselaer County, to which place his father returned after a brief 
residence in Oswego County. The early life of Warner Miller was one of 
constant struggle and hard work. He attended a select school near the home 
of his childhood, afterward taught school for a time, earning sufficient to enter 
college. He was graduated at Union College in i860, and immediately began 
teaching Latin and Greek at Fort Edward Institute, where he remained until the 
breaking out of the Civil War. Early in 1861 he joined Company I Fifth N. Y. 
Cavalry, and went with it to the front. He began the study of military tactics 
and qualified himself for a higher position. He was made Sergeant Major and 
drill master of the regiment and later commissioned First Lieutenant. He was 
with "Banks in the. Shenandoah Valley, and while lying sick with fever in the 
hospital at Winchester, was captured by the enemy, but paroled on the field. 
As no terms of exchange had .been arranged between the two armies at that 
time, he remained on parole until June 7, 1862, when he was honorably dis- 
charged. His first experience did not deter him from further efforts to serve 
his country. Six months later he made a second attempt to join the army, but 
was not successful. Never idle for a moment, he sought and obtained employ- 
ment in a paper mill at Fort Edward. The knowledge acquired of this business 
was soon put to practical use and formed the nucleus of his subsequent success. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. S3 

He was sent to Belgium to supervise the construction and operation of a paper 
mill. On his return he began experimenting with wood pulp in the manufact- 
ure of paper, by which means the cost was materially reduced, and he was recog- 
nized as the inventor and promoter of an enterprise, the most extensive and far- 
reaching of any manufacturing enterprise attempted in this country. He invented 
the machine and triumphed over every difficulty in the face of strong opposi- 
tion. By his process the cost of ordinary printing paper was reduced from fif- 
teen to three and a half cents a pound, which was the means of largely increas- 
ing the production, and reducing the price of all publications where cheaper 
materials could be utilized. In 1865 he purchased a large mill property at 
Herkimer, in Herkimer County, N. Y., and organized the firm of Warner Mil- 
ler & Co., and in 1875 this became the Herkimer Paper Company, limited, with 
Warner Miller as President. The plant has since been largely increased 
with new manufactories at different points. 

Mr. Miller's political career began soon after he became a resident of Her- 
kimer County. He was made chairman of the Republican County Committee, 
in which he displayed marked ability as an organizer. He was a delegate to 
the Republican National Convention in 1872, which nominated Gen. Grant for 
President. As a representative of Herkimer County in the State Legislature in 
1872-3-4 he introduced and seconded the enactment of many important meas- 
ures, among which was that providing for compulsory education. In 1878 he 
was elected to the Forty-sixth Congress, as a representative to the Forty-second 
Congressional District, which embraced the counties of Herkimer, Jefferson 
and Lewis, and was re-elected in 1880. While serving his second term, soon 
after the election of President Garfield, political difficulties arose which led to 
the resignations of Senators Conklin and Piatt, and the struggle in the State 
Legislature for their re-election continued for more than two months, resulting 
finally in the election of Mr. Miller for the long term in place of Senator Piatt, 
and later in that of Elbridge G. Laphamin place of Senator Roscoe Conklin. 

Mr. Miller's success in the new field to which he was suddenly called is best 
described in the words of Senator Sherman, one of the keenest observers of 
modern times, and one of the ablest statesmen of the present century. He says 
of Mr. Miller: "He is one of our ablest senators. Judging by that crucial 
test, the power to produce results, he is one of the strongest men we have. You 
notice that when he undertakes a thing it is very apt to be carried. He has 
represented New York right along with courage and great ability, as questions 
"have come up in which he had a stake. Both in the committee room and in 
the Senate he presents a subject with force and clearness. In his relations with 
senators he shows good judgment, and good feeling, and does not weaken his 
influence by the friction of unnecessary personal antagonism. Senator John A. 
Logan, his trusted friend, said that during the great debate on the tariff in 1882, 
that he had learned not only to let Mr. Miller alone, but to follow his vote on 
any question that concerned the tariff." 

Mr. Miller used common sense business methods, and while he worked 
faithfully and earnestly for the interests of his own State, it was with an honest, 



54 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

conscientious purpose, and not for political ends. He early in life adopted the 
sentiment expressed by one of our most distinguished statesmen — "I would rather 
be right than to be president," and during his entire public life political ambition 
has never tempted him to swerve from a course which he believed to be right, 
and for the best interests of the country, even if opposed by his own constituency. 
Few, if any, representatives of the great State of New York have ever accom- 
plished as much in the same period of time. He secured the enactment of 
important legislation affecting the business and commerce of New York, the 
results of which can hardly be estimated. He introduced and carried to a suc- 
cessful issue the bill regulating immigration, known as the "head money," 
which relieved the State of New York from an annual burden of tax amounting 
to upwards of $250,000. In 1885 he reported from the committee and caused to 
be passed in the Senate the "alien contract labor" bill. American sailors owe 
him a lasting debt of gratitude for his efforts to protect them from the extortions 
of sailor boarding-house keepers and sailor "runners." Entrance to New York 
harbor was greatly facilitated through Mr. Miller's efforts in securing appropria- 
tions for dredging and deepening the passage through Sandy Hook bar. He 
secured other much needed appropriations for internal improvements. He was 
a member of the special committee which investigated and secured the necessary 
legislation for the regulation of railroads. His efforts in behalf of the laboring 
classes are well known, he having promoted the passage of the eight-hour law. 
Though a capitalist himself, he has always been the friend of labor. A firm 
advocate of protection, his efforts have always been in this direction. After a 
hard fight, he succeeded in having the tariff on iron ore raised from fifty to 
seventy-five cents a ton. 

At the beginning of his second term, he from choice was made chairman of 
the Committee on Agriculture, and placed the farmers of the country under 
lasting obligations to him for his fight against the manufacturers of oleomar- 
gerine. Through his efforts, the bill creating a new cabinet office, known as 
the Department of Agriculture, was secured. Ben Perley Moore said of him, 
that "Warner Miller was the first man to give agriculture a national prominence 
in the Senate." His efforts have never been in the direction of party legislation 
as such, but always for the public good. No man ever entered the United States 
Senate who left it with a brighter, cleaner record. 

Mr. Miller presided over the first Republican State Convention held in his 
own State after his election as Senator in 1881. He was made permanent presi- 
dent of the State Convention held at Richfield Springs in 1883, and was elected 
a delegate to the Chicago Convention in 1884, which favored the nomination of 
Blaine for President. He was a delegate to the National Convention in 1888, 
which nominated Benjamin Harrison for President. His loyalty to his friends — 
characteristic of the man — was shown on this occasion, under circumstances 
which would have tempted many men to serve their own interests. While work- 
ing to secure the vote of his own State for Harrison, several of the New York 
delegates approached him. and offered him their votes if the New York delegation 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 55 

would present his (Miller's) name to the convention. This, however, he would 
not permit, and continued his efforts in behalf of his friend, which resulted in 
his nomination, and no one worked harder than Mr. Miller to secure his elec- 
tion. When the Republican State Convention met in the following September, 
Mr. Miller's name was the only one presented for the nomination for Governor. 
He made a thorough canvass in every part of the State, and, though he had a 
strong personal following, he was defeated on the national issue, viz: that of a 
high protective tariff, which he adhered strictly to throughout the campaign, 
and which, owing to peculiar circumstances, was not popular with the masses at 
that time. No higher compliment could be paid to any individual than was con- 
tained in the remark of President Harrison in referring to the splendid campaign 
work of Mr. Miller, viz : that he "fell outside the breastworks" — a characteristic 
of the man, familiar to all who know his methods. Unselfish, open and frank by 
nature, he is incapable of any of "the tricks of trade" so often resorted to by 
politicians to gain their ends. 

Mr. Miller became greatly interested in the Nicaragua Canal project, and 
in 1889 was elected president of the Nicaragua Canal Construction Company, 
and in company with others made an extensive tour of observation in Nicaragua 
for the purpose of obtaining information as to its practicability, and probable 
success of the enterprise. He and his entire party were shipwrecked on Roncador 
Island in the Carribean Sea, but all were saved. 

Mr. Miller is still extensively engaged in the manufacture of wood pulp 
and paper, with plants at Lyon Falls, Herkimer and Palmer Falls. Much of his 
time is spent on his farm at Herkimer, said to be one of the most delightful 
residences in the Mowhawk Valley. 

He married in 1865 Caroline Churchill, daughter of Henry Churchill, 
a descendant of John Churchill, one of the early settlers of Plymouth, Mass. 

They have one daughter, Augusta, and three sons, Max, Burr and Guy. 

KENNEDY. ROBINSON AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 

Including that of William Bradford of the Mayflower. 

Like many other New England names, that of Kennedy was probably entered 
on the records according to the phonetic, rather than the correct spelling, and 
the name continued through three or four generations to be spelled Canada or 
Canady. In the list of Revolutionary soldiers from Massachusetts the name is 
recorded under the various forms of Canado. Canedy, Canida. Caneday, Can- 
nedy. Conada. Cannada and Kennedy. 

The name of Canada, or any construction of the name spelled with a "C." 
is not found in Marshall's Genealogical Guide (London, 1879,), nor in any of 
Burke's heraldry or other works. Savage gives the names of only two settlers 
of this family, one as Kennedy and another James Canada of Rowley, Mass., 
1671. There is hut little doubt that all of the above named are descendants of 
the old family of Kennedy of England and Ireland. Burke says : 

"The accounts which are afforded of the family of De Carrick or Kennedy 



56 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

and its origin are various and contradictory. It has been affirmed by some that 
it sprung from the Irish house of Thomond, and by others the first of the name 
who appeared in the shire of Ayr was a second son of MacLean of the Isles, the 
reason being assigned that the MacLeans and Kennedys carry the three cross- 
lets in their armorial bearings. 

"The best Scottish historian, Buchanan, has told us in his Latin work that 
the district of Galloway, which then included Carrick, was made over, for their 
services in war, to the Irish Scots in 750. Much about the same time, while 
Mallachy had the sovereignty of Ireland, we read that Kennedy, father of Brian 
Boru, was Prince of Connaught. In 850 Kennethe was Thane of Carrick; and 
to this day the name of Kennedy is pronounced by the country people in Carrick, 
'Kennetie.' Another reference to the family states that 'From the title deeds in 
possession of the family, beginning with the precept by Kennedy of Bargeny for 
infefting Thomas Kennedy in the lands of Knocknalling and Knockreoch, dated 
20 July, 147 1, it appears that the Kennedys have been proprietors of Knocknalling 
for upwards of four hundred years." 

"The name we thus find," says Burke, "has been known in Ireland and Scot- 
and at a very remote period; and it matters not much from whom the Kennedys 
have sprung — whether from Thomond, MacLean. Kilconath, the Prince of Con- 
naught, or from Kennethe, Thane of Carrick. It is, at all events, certain that 
they were the ancient and chief inhabitants of the country where, although 
decreased in number, they still continue to have the most extensive possesions." 

The first of the family mentioned in any charter, Nisbet informs us, is Dun- 
can de Carrick, and from the document it appears that he lived in the reign of 
Malcolm IV., which began about 1150. The grandson of Duncan, Roland, of 
Carrick, had a grant of land of Carrick from Neil, Earl of Carrick, and was 
declared chief of his name. This grant was confirmed by Alexander III. 

The arms of Kennedy, of Bargany, emblazoned in 1549, by Sir David Lind- 
say, were quartered with the Royal arms of France. 

Arms — Quarterly: 1st and 4th Kennedy, argent, a chevron, gules, between 
three crosslets, fitchee, sable; 2nd and 3rd, France, azure, three fleur-de-lis, or. 
The shield supported on the dexter side by a female, and on the sinister by a 
wyvern. Crest — A fleur-de-lis, or, issuing out of two oak-leaves ppr. Motto — 
Frimus. 

Three persons named Canada are found in the early records of Massachu- 
setts, viz : Daniel, John, James. They were probably brothers, although the 
relationship has never been established. 

Daniel Canada, the progenitor of the Windham. Ct., branch of the family, 
was born about 1654 or 1656. His name first appears on the Muster Roll of 
Capt. Mosely's company, which served during King Philip's war, 1675-6. His 
name also appears among those who did garrison duty at Groton, Mass., June 20, 
1675. He died June 11, 1695. He married Sept. 10th, 1681 Hannah Cooke, born 
1656, probably daughter of Henry Cooke and Judith Burdsall. Their children 
were Daniel, born Aug. 10, 1682; David, July 7, 1683; Josiah, July 14, 1687; 
Isaac (1), July 21, 1689; Eliza, March 21, 1682. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 57 

Isaac Canada, son of Daniel and Hannah (Cooke) Canada, was born prob- 
ably in Salem, Mass., July 21, 1689. He removed to Windham County, Conn., 
and settled in that part of the town of Windham formerly known as Hampton. 
Barbour, in his Historical Collections of Connecticut, page 42, says : Hampton 
was incorporated a town in 1786. "It was mostly formed from the second society 
of Windham, which was formed as a society in 1720, and was called Kennedy, 
or Windham village. The place appears to have been named from a Mr. Ken- 
nedy, who, with his family, were the first settlers in the society." His children, 
especially David, were conspicuous in public affairs during the early settlement 
of the county. The latter appears as a petitioner to the General Court in 1765 for 
the sale of the common and undivided lands in Windham. Isaac Canada mar- 
ried Jan. 21, 1729, Phebe Leonard, daughter probably of Samuel Leonard, of 
Duxbury, Mass., and Preston, Conn., son of Solomon Leonard, of Duxbury, 
Mass. 

Solomon Leonard, of Duxbury and Bridgewater, Mass., was horn at Mon- 
mouthshire, England, about 1610, died at Bridgewater, Mass.. 1675. The family 
is one of considerable antiquity in England, and is represented by Lords Dacre 
and Earls of Sussex. Solomon Leonard came to America from Leyden, Holland, 
(whither he had probably gone to escape persecution) about 1630. He was first 
in Plymouth, Mass., and was one of the incorporators of the town of Duxbury, 
Mass., 1637. He had land at "Blue Fish," in what is now the northerly part 
of the village of Duxbury, near the bay; and it is said of him that he "escaped 
the ravages of fire and flood." With Capt. Miles Standish, Gov. William Brad- 
ford, John Alden, Constant Southworth and others, Solomon Leonard became 
one of the original proprietors of Bridgewater, and one of its earliest settlers. Ele 

married Mary and had Samuel, John, Jacob, Isaac, Soloman, 

Mary. 

Samuel Leonard son of Solomon and Mary ( ) Leonard, was born in 

Duxbury about 1645. He married Abigail Wood, of Plymouth, before 1676, 
daughter of John and Sarah Wood, of Plymouth. He lived at Bridgewater at 
the time, but became an early proprietor of Worcester, Mass., before 1690, where 
his son Samuel was captured by the Indians. About 1695 he removed to Preston, 
Conn., and was an original member of the first church there. Nov. 16. 1698. 
He had six children, of whom Phebe, born Oct. 17, 1703. was the youngest. 

Isaac Kennedy or Canada by his wife Phebe (Leonard) Canada had a son 
Isaac (2). 

Isaac Kennedy (2), son of Isaac (1) and Phebe (Leonard) Kennedy. was 
born in Windham, Conn., Dec. 23, 1732. Referring to the patriotism of the 
people of Windham, Miss Earned, in her history of Windham (vol. I, p. 566), 
says: In the war with France, declared 1756, Windham bore her part with 
unshaken courage and fidelity. "Among those who enlisted from Windham 
are found the names of Isaac and Jonathan Canada. Although little mention is 
made of Isaac Kennedy, it is known that he was a man of considerable education 
and refinement for those days, and a man of property. His life-size portrait re- 
presents him with a book in his hand, which clearly indicates his tastes and in- 
clinations. While his name does not appear in the list of "Connecticut Men of 



S§ SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

the Revolution," he may have rendered service, as it is known that this list is in- 
complete. His patriotism was shown in the fact that he had already rendered 
service in the French war. and at the breaking out of the War of the Revolution, 
he was well advanced in years. He married Miriam Fitch, daughter of John 
Fitch. Jr., son of Capt. John Fitch, son of Rev. James Fitch, son of 
Thomas. 

Thomas Fitch, of Bocking, England, born 1590, died 1645, married Aug. 8, 
[611, Anna Pew, who survived him and came to America with her three younger 
sons, two elder ones having came some years before, and all settled in Connecti- 
cut. Several daughters and perhaps other sons remained in England. The five 
sons who came to America were: Thomas, who came in 1638, and Rev. James, 
both of whom settled in Norwich. Joseph, who settled at Windsor, and Samuel, 
who settled at Hartford, and John, who settled at Windsor. 

Rev. Jaine^ Fitch, of Norwich and Lebanon. Conn., was the son of Thomas 
and Anna (Pew) Fitch. The monumental tablet that marks his grave in 
Lebanon has an elaborate Latin inscription, said to have been written by his 
son, Rev. Jabez Fitch, of which the following is a translation: 

"In this tomb are deposited the remains of the truly Reverend Mr. James 
Fitch, born at Bocking in the county of Essex. England, December 24, 1622, who, 
after he had been instructed in the learned languages, came to New England at the 
age of 16. and passed seven years under the instruction of those eminent divines. 
Mr. Hooker and Air. Stone. Afterward he discharged the pastoral office at 
Saybrook for 14 years, from whence, with the greater part of his church, he 
removed to Norwich, and there spent the succeeding years of his life, engaged 
in the work of the Gospel, until age and infirmity obliged him to withdraw 
from public labor. At length he retired to his children at Lebanon, where 
scarcely half a year had passed when he fell asleep in Jesus Nov. 18. 1702. in 
the 80th year of his age. He was a man. for penetration of mind, solidity of 
judgment, devotion to the sacred duties of his office, and entire holiness of life, 
as also for skill and energy in preaching, inferior to none." 

In May. 1656. while Mr Fitch was living at Saybrook. the General Court 
granted him a "compitent farme containing bet : 2 & 300 Acres at Manun- 
keteseck." 

A majority of the inhabitants of Saybrook joined Mr. Fitch in the applica- 
tion to the General Court in May, 1659. to establish a plantation in the Mohegan 
country, as follows : 

"Hartford, May 20. '50. This Court haveing considered the petition pre- 
sented by the inhabitants of Seabrook doe declare yt they approve and consent 
to what is desired by ye petitioners, respecting Mohegin. proided yt within ye 
space of three years they doe effect a Plantation in ye place pr' pounded." 

Mr. Fitch was eminently successful in his new field of labor, and was greatly 
beloved throughout the State. 

The oldest Election Sermon in Connecticut of which any record has been 
discovered was preached by Mr. Fitch in 1674 from the text: "For I saith the 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 59 

Lord will be unto her a wall of fire round about and will be the glory in the 
midst of them." 

As a pastor, Mr. Fitch was zealous and indefatigable. In addition to other 
labors he trained several young men for the ministry as he himself had been 
trained by Mr. Hooker. 

He was a man of true philanthropy, and of enlarged missionary zeal. He 
made early efforts to instruct the natives in the truth of the gospel. He took 
pains to acquire their tongue and was a frequent visitor at their wigwams. H» 
impressed them with his own sincerity and benevolence, so that others, who, 
like Uncas himself, remained obstinate in their unbelief, accorded him their 
entire confidence and regarded him with affectionate respect. 

hn addition to a tract of land of 120 acres, granted him by the General 
Assembly of Conn., Oweneco. son and successor of Uncas, gave to Mr. Fitch 
for favors received, a tract of land five miles long and one mile wide along the 
Franklin line to near the Williamantic river. Mr. Fitch gave the beautiful town 
of Lebanon, Conn, its name, suggested by the ancient "Cedars of Lebanon." 

Mr. Fitch was twice married and had fourteen children, whose births are 
all recorded at Norwich, though the first son was born in Saybrook. His first 
wife was Abagail, daughter of Rev. Henry Whitfield, whom he married Oct. 1648; 
she died at Saybrook, Sept. 9, 1659. and in Oct.. 1664. he married Priscilla. 
daughter of Major (known as Captain) John Mason. 

Major John Mason was noted as a military and civil leader among the col- 
onists of Connecticut. In both of these capacities he rendered important ser- 
vice to his fellow-colonists, first by the destruction of the Pequot fort near 
Groton, Conn., freeing the colony from these inveterate enemies, and later ser- 
ving for years as magistrate and Deputy Governor of the colony of Connect- 
icut. He was a prominent member of Mr. Fitche's church in Saybrook, and it 
was chiefly through his influence that the members were induced to Mohigan 
(Norwich), of which town they were the founders. Miss Caulkins. in her his- 
tory of Norwich, says of him : "He is one of the prominent figures -n oi:r early 
history. He shines forth as a valiant soldier and wise counselor. He was pru- 
dent, and yet enterprising, fertile in resources ; prompt and heroic in the field of 
action. The natural ardor of his mind, fostered by early military adventures, 
and continually called into exercise by great emergencies made him a fearless 
leader in war. Sturdy in frame and hardy in constitution ; regardless of danger, 
fatigue or exposure, he was invaluable as a pioneer in difficult enterprises, and 
a founder of new plantations. He was also a religious man and a patriot of 
virtuous habits and moderate ambition." 

His wife Anne (Peck) Mason was a woman of eminent piety, and gifted 
with a measure of knowledge above what is usual in her sex. Of the seven 
children of Major Mason. Priscilla. born Oct. 1641. was the eldest. 

Among the children born to Rev. James Fitch by Priscilla ("Mason) Fitch. 
was John. 

Captain John Fitch, eighth child of Rev. James and Priscilla (Mason) 
Fitch, was born January, 1667. He settled in Windsor, Conn. ; had a superior 



60 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

education for that day. He was chosen in 1704, Town Clerk, and held the office 
by successive re-elections until his decease in 1743, a period of thirty-eight years. 
He was also Judge of Probate, Captain of militia, and represented the town in 
General Assembly twenty different sessions, owned the covenant in Norwich 
church. 1700. He was a man of wealth, superior social position and extensive 
influence. He married July 10. 1605. Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Thomas and 
Miriam (Tracy) Waterman. 

Thomas Waterman was a nephew of the wife of John Bradford, and the son 
of Robert Waterman and Elizabeth Bourne of Marshfield, who were married 
Dec. 9. 16.38. Thomas, their eldest son. was born in 1644. and probably came 
to Norwich with his uncle Bradford in Nov., 1668. He was joined in wedlock 
with Miriam, only daughter and youngest child of Thomas Tracy. 

Thomas Tracy was born at Tewksbury, Gloucestershire. Eng., in 1610. His 
descent is traced in a direct line through the several generations to Woden, the 
first ancestor of the Tracys. who lived in the third century. The line includes 
Alfred the Great; Aethelbred II. A. D.. 978; John de Sudeley, Lord of Sudeley 
and Torrington. who married Grace de Tracie. daughter and heiress of Henri 
de Tracie, Lord of Barnstaple; and Sir William de Tracie, one of the four 
Knights, who in 1770, at the instigation of King Henry II, assasinated Thomas 
Becket. Archbishop of Canterbury. 

Thomas Tracy, the American ancestor, came to America and settled first at 
Salem. Mass.. remaining until Feb. 23, 1637. when he removed to Wethersfield, 
Conn. In 1652 and 1653 he was at Saybrook. In 1645 he and Thomas Leffing- 
well, with others, relieved Uncas. the Sachem of the Mohigans. with provisions 
when he was besieged at Shattuck's Point by Pessachus, Sachem of the Narra- 
gansetts, which led to the sub c equcnt grant of the town of Norwich in 1659. He 
removed there with his family in 1660. and became one of the proprietors. In 
1662 he was chosen by the people one of the court of commission ; in 1666 he 
was appointed "ensign at Norridge." He was deputy to the General Court from 
Norwich in 1667 to 1676. and in 1678, and in 1682, '83 and '85, he represented 
Preston. He was a member of the Colonial Assembly for more than twenty 
sessions. In 1673 he was appointed Lieutenant of the forces raised in New Lon- 
don county to wage war against the Dutch and Indians. In 1674 he was com- 
missary or quartermaster to the dragoons, and in 1678 was appointed justice. He 
was a gentleman of consequence in the community, a thorough business man 
and of the very best personal character. He left an estate of 5,000 acres of land, 
valued at £680. He married 1st at Wethersfield, 1641, Mary, widow of Edward 
Mason. She was the mother of his seven children, and died at Saybrook. He 
married 2d at Norwich, before 1679. Martha, widow of Gov. Bradford's son John, 
and a daughter of Thomas Bourne of Marshfield, Mass. He married 3d at Nor- 
wich. Mary, born 1623 in England, widow first of John Stoddard, who died in 
1664 ; second of John Goodrich, who died in 1680. a daughter of Nathaniel and 
Elizabeth (Deming) Foote, of Wethersfield. Seven children were the issue of 
this marriage, the youngest of whom, Miriam, became the wife of Thomas 
Waterman, whose daughter Miriam was married to Capt. John Fitch. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 6l 

Capt. John Fitch, by his wife Miriam (Tracy-Waterman) Fitch, had four 
children, of whom John (2) was the youngest. 

John Fitch (2) son of Capt. John and Miriam (Tracy-Waterman) Fitch, 
was born March 18, 1705. He married Jan. 25, 1730, Alice (born Jan. 30, 1713,), 
daughter of Ebenezer Fitch, son of Major James Fitch. The latter was an influ- 
ential man, a brave and experienced soldier in the Indian wars, a noted friend of 
the Indians, with whom (after the death of Major John Mason) he possessed 
more influence than any one else in the colony. He was active in politics, one of 
the Assistants, 1681 ; also an early patron of Yale College, to which he gave the 
glass and nails for its first edifice, and an endowment of 630 acres of land which 
insured its permanent establishment. He died at Canterbury, Conn., Nov. 10, 
1727. His wife Elizabeth was the youngest daughter of Major John Mason 
(sister to his father's second wife) ; his second wife, to whom he was married 
May 8, 1687, was Mrs. Alice (daughter of Major William Bradford, son of Gov. 
Wi'liam Bradford of the Mayflower,), and widow of Rev. William Adams of 
Dedham, Mass. She was the mother of Alice, wife of John Fitch (2). 

John Fitch, by his wife Alice Fitch, had a daughter Miriam, born June 3, 
1 741, who married Isaac Kennedy. 

Isaac Kennedy, by his wife Miriam (Fitch) Kennedy, had issue Clarinda, 
born Oct. 19, 1761 ; Jerusha, Feb. 25, 1763; Rachael, March 20, 1765 ;Leonard, 
March 3, 1767; Harriet, Sep. 16, 1769; Thomas, Nov. 11, 1721 ; Algernon Sidney, 
Dec. 19. 177S; Lucy Fitch, Sep. 20, 1779; Eunice, June 10, 1783. 




LEONARD KENNEDY (1). 
Leonard Kennedy, eldest son and fourth child of Isaac and Miriam (Fitch) 



62 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Kennedy, was born in Windham, Conn., March 3, 1767; died Sept. 19, 1842. He 
was the first of his family to engage in mechanical and mercantile affairs. He 
had a fairly good education for the times, and early in life removed to Hartford, 
Conn., where le established himself in the manufacture an! sale of joiners' 
tools. With the limited facilities of those days he did an extensive business 
and achieved quite a reputation in this line, his goods being of the highest stand- 
ard and quality, and comparing favorably with the best imported goods in the 
market. He was the Hartford pioneer in this branch of hardware manufactures 
and was one of the enterprising business men who gave this old town its start as 
a great manufacturing centre. 

Like his father, he was a devout adherent of the old Congregational church 
and a firm believer in the Calvanist doctrine, but on listening to a sermon from a 
Universalist minister, he at once became a convert to that faith, and was one of 
the founders of the First Universalist Church in Hartford. He was a firm 
believer in the universal brotherhood of man, and was among the first of the old 
Puritan descendants to put his faith in practice. His love for his fellow-men 
was strong, and his "faith and works" went together, and in all the affairs of life 
he exemplified the teachings of the Master and was known in the community as 
a man of broad and liberal views, both in religion and politics. 

Mr. Kennedy married Fanny Parmela Lewis, born in Colchester, April 24, 
1781, daughter of Ephraim Lewis and Lois Ransom, son of Ephraim, son of 
Benjamin, son of Thomas, son of George Lewis, the ancestor. 

George Lewis, the ancestor of this branch of the Lewis family, came from 
East Greenwich, in Kent, Eng. He married Sarah Jenkins, sister of Edward 
Jenkins, who afterwards emigrated to Plymouth. He joined the church at 
Scituate, Mass., where he had lands. He was made freeman March 7, 1636; 
removed to Barnstable 1640, where he resided till his death. 

Referring to the origin of this family, Burke says: "This family derives in 
a direct male line from Cadivor, prince or chieftain of Divet, a portion of 
country which comprised Pembrokeshire, and part of Carmarthenshire. Cad- 
ivor flourished about the period of the Norman Conquest, and was buried in the 
priory of Carmarthen. The family bore Arms— Or, a lion rampant, guardant, 
sable. Crest— A griffin sejeant, sable. Motto— Ha persa la fide, ha, perso 
l'honore. Seat — St. Pierre, near Chepstow. 

The will of George Lewis, above mentioned, was exhibited at Court, March 
3, 1683. It mentions sons Ephraim, George, Thomas, James, Edward, John and 
daughter Sarah. 

Thomas Lewis, sen of George Lewis, was born probably in England. He 
married June 15, 1653. Mary Davis, daughter of Dola Davis of Cambridge. He 
removed to Swanzey, Mass., of which he was one of the first settlers; was select- 
man there; he remove.! thence to Falmouth, of which he was the first town 
clerk. He had a son Benjamin. 

married June 15, 1653, Mary Davis, daughter of Dollard Davis of Cambridge. He 
daughter of John and Hannah Crowell, and had a son Ephraim. 

Ephraim Lewis, son of Benjamin, was born in Colchester, Conn., about 1746. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



63 



Ephraim Lewis, son of Benjamin, was born in Colchester, Conn., about 1746. 
He married Lois Ransom, born Aug. 16, 1748, daughter of James Ransom and 
Sarah Treadway. 

Lieut. James Ransom, Patriot of the Revolution, was Lieutenant of 8th 
Company, 2nd Regiment (Spencer's). He served during the siege of Boston, 
took part in the battle of Bunker Hill and later in the battle of Long Island. His 
name is on the list of New London pensioners in 1832. 

Leonard Kennedy (1), by his wife Fanny Parmela (Lewis) Kennedy, had 



issue: Daniel Lewis, 



>5, 1772; Leonard, Nov. 4, 1794; died April 9, 1796; 



Fanny Lewis, Jan. 18, 1797: Leonard again, March 30, 1799; Algernon Sidney, 
Jan. 2, 1802; Miriam Fiich, March 18, 1804; Jeremiah, April 6, 1806; died Dec. 
30, 1807. 




LEONARD KENNEDY ( 2 ). 



Leonard Kennedy (2), son of Leonard (1) and Fanny Parmela (Lewis), 
was born in Hartford. Conn.. March 30, 1799- His educational advantages were 
superior to those of his predecessors, as Hartford had at that time, as the result 
of the sale of the "Western Reserve" lands, probably the best free school system 
in the country. He succeeded his father in the manufacturing and mercantile 
business in Hartford, which he carried on for several years. In 1847 he went 
to Milwaukee, Wis., as the representative of the Aetna and other Hartford in- 
surance companies, and was the pioneer there in this line of business. He 
was favorably known from one end of the State to the other. In the very prime 
of life at that time, he had all the Yankee push, energy and daring, the most 
important requisites for the development of the new country. He became spe- 



64 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

cially interested in the political affairs of the State, being identified with the old 
Whig party. His influence was felt all the more because he worked for the 
beneht of others rather than himself. He became the Warwick of his party, and 
dictated many of the most important appointments 111 the btate. He worked for 
the success of his party, but wnen any great principle was involved, he placed 
patriotism above partisanship. 

During this period lie was intrusted with a most important and delicate mis- 
sion by the U. S. Government, viz: that of special agent for the northwest to in- 
vestigate and correct the abti.-es whicn had gradually crept nno the several land 
offices throughout that part ul the country, it uas a most hazardous and difficult 
undertaking, requiring courage, tact, shrewdness and energy. He made long 
journeys through the wilderness, sail inhabited by Indians, provided with a 
proper guard, and lull} equipped for "emergencies." He made every agent and 
dealer in western lands feel that the eye of the Government was upon them, and 
would exact he most rigid accounting from them in their dealings with settlers. 
He recommended a system for the correction of the abuses, which was adopted 
by the Government, removing all friction between real estate operators and set- 
tlers, restoring confidence and thus encouraging immigration. About 1681 he 
went to Marysville, Cal., where he remained for a few years, and then returned 
to his native city of Hartford, where he spent his remaining days amid the 
scenes of his childhood. 

Air. Kenneuy married July 14, 1825, Parthenia Robinson (born at More- 
town, Vt., Nov. 19, 1802; died at Hartford, Conn., April 11, 1874), daughter of 
Capt. Elijah Robinson (2), son of Col. Elijah Robinson, son of Benjamin, son 
of Lieut. Peter, son of Isaac, son of Rev. John Robinson, of Scrooby, England. 

Rev. John Robinson, of Scrooby, England, and Leyden, Holland, was born 
in Lincolnshire, England, 1575; died in Leyden, Holland, March 11, 1625. He 
took his Master's degree at Cambridge, 1600. He was an eminent divine and was 
the founder of Congregationalism, which became the creed of the Pilgrim fathers. 
He married Bridget White, and had Isaac. 

Isaac Robinson, son of Rev. John and Bridget (White) Robinson, was born 
in Leyden, Holland, came to Plymouth, Mass., 1631, moved to Duxbury 1634, 
and to Scituate 1636, and married Margaret, daughter of Rev. Thomas Hanford, 
of Norwich, Conn. She died in 1649, and he married 2d, Elizabeth Farence, of 
Plymouth. They had Peter. 

Lieut. Peter Robinson, son of Isaac, was born after 1653; died in 1740. He 
settled in Norwich and Preston, Conn. ; married Experience, daughter of John 
Manton. 

They had issue Benjamin. 

Benjamin Robinson, son of Lieutenant Peter and Experience (Manton) 
Robinson, born about 1700, settled in Windham and Lebanon, Conn., married 
Jerusha Bingham, daughter of Capt. Samuel, son of Thomas (3), son of 
Thomas (2), son of Thomas (1). 

The family of Bingham, of Saxon origin, was originally seated at Sutton- 
Bingham, in the county of Somerset, and thence removed to Melcombe in 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 65 

Dorsetshire. Sir John de Bingham, Knight, living in the reign of Henry I, 
was direct ancestor of Ralph de Bingham, who had two sons, Ralph, his heir. 
and Robert, a man of eminent piety and learning, consecrated in 1229. Bishop 
of Salisbury, the building of which Cathedral, commenced by his predecessor, 
he carried on. This family bore .Inns — Azure, a bend, cottised between six 
crosses-patee, or. Crest — On a rock ppr. an eagle rising, or. Motto — Spes 
mea Christus (Christ my hope). 

Thomas Bingham (1), the progenitor of the American family of this name, 
may have been a son or grandson of Thomas, son of Robert Bingham, thir- 
teenth in descent from Sir John de Bingham. Knight, the first of the name 
mentioned. Thomas Bingham ( 1 ) was of Sheffield, Eng., master cutler in 
Cutler's Company, Dec. 21, 1614. He had Thomas (2). 

Thomas Bingham (2), son of Thomas (1), was of Sheffield. Eng. He mar- 
ried July 6, 1631. Anna Stenton. and had Thomos (3). 

Thomas Bingham (3), son of Thomas (2). and Anna (Stenton) Bingham, 
was born in Sheffield, Eng.. 1642, died in Windham. Conn.. Jan. 16. 1730. He 
was an original settler of Norwich, Conn.. 1660. freeman [661. He moved to 
Windham. Conn., where he was sergeant, selectman, deacon, etc. He married 
Mary Rudd, daughter of Lieut. Jonathan Rudd. 

Lieut. Jonathan Rudd came to New Haven, Conn., about 1640, and settled 
first in Saybrook, and later was one of the petitioners for the erection of the 
town of Preston, Conn., opposite Norwich. He is best known in history as the 
chief actor in the most romantic marriage that ever took place in the colony. 
His bride was Faith Ripley. It is known as the "Bride Brook marriage." 

The bans were published according to law. the wedding day fixed, the 
magistrate notified, but alas. 

"There's many a slip between the cup and the lip.'* 

There came a heavy fall of snow which blocked the roads, and the magistrate, 
who resided at one of the up-river towns, could not possibly reach there in 
time. In this dilemma, they applied to Gov. Winthrop to perform the cere- 
mony, but he, deriving his authority from Massachusetts, could not legally 
officiate in Connecticut. In his account of the affair he says : "I told them 
that for an expedient, for their accommodation, if they come to the plantation 
it might be done. But that bing too difficult for them, it was agreed that they 
should come to that place which is now called Bride Brook, as being a place 
within the bonds of that authority whereby I then acted, otherwise I had ex- 
ceeded the limitation of my commission." 

The proposition was accepted. The couple crossed the rue;- to what is 
now New London county, and on the :>r'mk 01 the little stream, the boundary 
between the two colonies, the parties met; Winthrop and In- friends from 
Pequot (New London) and the bridal train from Saybrook. Here the cere- 
mony was performed under the shelter of no roof by no hospitable fireside. 
without anv accommodations but those furnished by the snow-covered earth. 



66 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

the overarching heavens and perchance the sheltering side of a forest of pines 
or cedars. 

"Firm as the rocky coast they stood 

And earnest as the rushing flood 

Disdaining fear, yet fearing God, 

Each man was both a lamb and lion, 
With heart of flesh, but nerves of iron. 

"She stood like summer on the snow. 

No morning dawn around could throw 

Such rosy light, so warm a glow — 

And hovering clouds with seraphs laden 
Showered heavenly blessings on the maiden. 

"Then hands were clasped and Winthrop prayed ; 
The life-long covenant was made; 
High heaven a mute attention paid; 

Winds, groves and hills with reverence lowly 

Trembled around a scene so holy." 

[Bride Brook, issuing from a beautiful sheet of water, known as Bride 
Lake or Pond, and runs into the Sound about a mile from Grant's Cove. J 

Faith Ripley, the bride, was the daughter of Joshua Ripley, son of John, 
son of William Ripley, the American ancestor. 

William Ripley, with his wife, two sons and two daughters, came from 
Hingham, Norfolk county, England, on ship Diligence, and settled in Hing- 
ham, Ma>\, 1638. He married for his second wife, Elizabeth, widow of Thomas 
Thaxter, Sept. 29, 1654. He died July 20, 1656. They had issue John, Abraham, 
Sarah. 

John Ripley, son of William and Elizabeth (Thaxter) Ripley, was born 
in Hingham, Eng. ; died in Hingham, Mass.. Feb. 3, 1683. He married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Rev. Peter Hobart, educated at Magdalen College, Eng., one 
of the founders of Hingham, Mass., first pastor of the church at Hingham, 
who died in 1692 in the 60th year of his age. John Ripley and his wife had 
seven children, of whom Joshua was the third. 

[Jael, a daughter of Rev. Peter Hobart, married Joseph, youngest son of 
Gov. William Bradford.] 

Joshua Ripley, third son of John and Elizabeth (Hobart) Ripley, was born 
May 9, 1658; died May 18, 1739. He settled in Windham, Conn. He married. 
Nov. 28, 1682, Hannah, sixth child of Gov. William Bradford, and Alice South- 
worth (widow of Constant Southworth). 

Lieut. Jonathan Rudd, by his wife. Faith Ripley, had daughter Mary, who 
was married to Thomas Bingham (3) of Windham, Conn., father of Capt. 
Samuel, whose daughter, Jerusha, became the wife of Benjamin Robinson. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 67 

Benjamin Robinson, by his wife, Jerusha (Bingham) Robinson, had issue: 
Elijah and other children. 

COL ELIJAH ROBINSON, Patriot of the Revolution. The follow- 
ing obituary, published after his death, gives a brief record of his services: 

Died at Wethersfield, Vt, on the 25th ult., universally lamented, the Hon. 
Elijah Robinson, aged 73, an officer of the late Revolutionary Army of the 
U. S. Col. Robinson sustained a share in the service of his country in the war 
of 1755, and was one of the number who in 1759 traversed the then wilderness 
from Charleston, N H., to Crown Point. At the commencement of the contest, 
which terminated in the emancipation of the states he repaired again to the 
" tented field " and contributed several years' personal service to our freedom 
and independence. At the close of the Revolution he returned to the wilderness 
to repair a fortune exhausted in the service of his country. Since his residence 
in this State he has sustained and discharged several important civil offices 
with honor and integrity. He was, moreover, a virtuous, exemplary and 
religious man. His remains were committed to the silent tomb on the Saturday 
following, accompanied by the greatest concourse of people ever witnessed in 
this county on a similar occasion. 

Another account states: 

Col. Elijah Robinson first appears in the Vermont records as represent- 
ative from Wethersfield, Vt., 1782, when he was appointed councillor. To this 
office he was elected annually until 1802. In 1783 he was a member of the 
Board of War, and 1786 he served as Lieut. Colonel in suppressing the at- 
tempted insurrection in Windsor County. Vt. He was Judge of Windsor 
County Court from 1782 until 1787; again from 1788 till 1801, and Chief Judge 
in 1802, making nineteen years of judicial service. He was also a member of 
the Council of Censors 1785 to 1793. He was elected Brigadier General, but 
declined to accept the office. 

Col. Robinson married, Jan. 22, 1761, in Stafford, Conn., Lydia Scripture, 
born April 25, 1744. He had issue: Elijah (2). 

Capt. Elijah Robinson (2), son of Col. Elijah and Lydia (Scripture) 
Robinson, was born in Stafford, Conn., in 1762. Like his father he availed 
himself of the first opportunity to serve his country. The records of the War 
Department at Washington show that he served as Ensign in Capt. Oliver 
Lowry's Fourth Company (Williams') Vermont Militia, War of 1812. His 
name appears on the rolls for the period from August to December, 1812, 
which bear the remarks: "Commencement of service, July 13, 1812; expe- 
dition of service, Dec. 8, 1812; term of service, 5 months; engaged for six 
months." 

The record also shows that Elijah Robinson was a Lieut, in Capt. Nehe- 
miah Perkin's Company, Coming's Detachment, Vermont Militia. His name 
appears on the rolls for the period from April 22 to 25, 1814, with remarks: 
"Expedition of service, April 25, 1814; term of service charged, 3 days." 

The records further show that Elijah Robinson served as Captain in the 
4th (Peck's) Regiment, Vermont Militia, in the War of 1812. His name 



68 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

appears on the rolls of the period from Sep. 7 to Oct. 6, 1814, which bear the 
remarks: "Time charged, one month." Capt. Robinson married, May 30th, 
1797, Lydia Bragg, born Nov. 19, 1778; died at Moretown, Vt, March 28. 1864- 

Leonard Kennedy (2), by his wife, Parthenia Robinson (daughter of Capt 
Elijah Robinson), had issue: Miriam Parthenia, born at Utica, N. Y., May 
29, 1826; Leonard White, born at Utica, May 25, 1829: died in Brooklyn, 
July 21, 1898; Fanny Lewis, born at Hartford, Conn., Dec. 4, 1831; Algernon 
Sidney, born at Hartford, Aug. 20, 1834; died April 2, 1868; Samuel Lewis, 
born at Hartford, Feb. 9, 1837; Susan Skinner, born at Hartford, Nov. 21, 1839; 
died Feb. 20, 1840; Elijah. Robinson. 

ELIJAH ROBINSON KENNEDY, youngest child of Leonard (2) and 
Parthenia (Robinson) Kennedy, was born in Hartford, Conn. He went with 
his parents in early childhood to Milwaukee, Wis., and was educated 
at public schools and Milwaukee University. While this institution 
has ceased to exist, its pleasant memories are not permitted to die out. but 
are kept alive by an association made up principally of his old classmates, of 
which he is President. Mr. Kennedy laid the foundation for a professional 
life, and soon after his parents moved to Marysville, Cal.. in 1861 he began 
the study of law, and while circumstances prevented the continuance of his legal 
studies, the knowledge thus acquired proved of great advantage to him in after 
life, and contributed not a little to his business success. Having finally 
decided to adopt a business career, he obtained a position in a large 
New York wholesale dry goods house, where his devotion to duty and indus- 
trious habits soon brought him into closer relations with his employers, which 
resulted in a subsequent partnership. He contiued in this line until a better 
opportunity presented itself which he was quick to avail himself of. About 
1873 he formed a partnership with Samuel R. Weed in a general insurance busi- 
ness under the firm name of Weed & Kennedy. His knowledge of law and 
large business experience proved of great advantage to him, and with a thor- 
oughly equipped partner the business developed rapidly, and possesses business 
facilities equal if not larger than any private concern of the kind in the world. 
It embraces marine, casualty, liability and other departments, and represents 
in this country six leading European fire insurance companies. With a well- 
balanced mind, mature judgment and prompt in action, he does the right 
thing at the right time and at the right place. He has frequently been repre- 
sented in the most important committees of the Board of Fire Underwriters, 
and was twice elected President of that body. While chairman of the Board 
he prepared the standard fire insurance policy, which has proved the best system 
of any yet devised, and which has been generally adopted throughout the 
country. Like most successful business men his services have been sought for 
directorships in various financial and other institutions, but these he has been 
compelled to decline, as his own affairs required the concentration of all his 
energies. He is a member of th New York Chamber of Commerce, and 
frequently participates in its deliberations. He is well known among all classes 
of business men among whom he has extensive dealings. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 6g 

Since Mr. Kennedy became a resident of Brooklyn in the year 1872 
he has been conspicuous as one of its most public spirited citizens, and has 
been identified with many of the most important enterprises for general 
improvement. He has accepted great responsibilities, the duties of which he 
has discharged with a singleness of purpose which does credit alike to his heart 
and his head. As a member of the Board of Park Commissioners he has 
rendered valuable service. His knowledge obtained by extensive travel abroad 
was here utilized to good purpose. It was chiefly through his efforts that the 
beautiful soldiers' memorial arch, at the Flatbush entrance to Prospect Park, 
was erected in place of the extravagant and costly affair projected in City Hall 
Park. All the measures which he has advocated for public improvement have 
proved successful, and there are none which have proved so great a benefit to 
the city as the Shore Road, of which he was the chief promoter. It extends 
along Bay Ridge Avenue to Fort Hamilton and includes a part of the old 
Gowanus Road, opening up a vast tract of land which is being covered by 
beautiful suburban residences, adding immensely to the city revenues in 
taxation far exceeding the cost of construction and other expenses. Mr. 
Kennedy was President of the commission that perfected the plans and made 
their execution possible. 

His patriotism and benevolence go hand in hand. As President of the 
National Prison-ship Martyrs Association, organized for the purpose of honor- 
ing the Revolutionary martyrs by a suitable monument in Fort Greene Park, 
he has given new impetus to the movement which promises successful results. 
He entered into it with all the ardor and enthusiasm of his nature, which has 
kindled a like enthusiasm among his associates. 

He is a trustee in the Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences, a trustee 
of the Long Island College Hospital, a member of and director in the New 
England Society of Brooklyn. Society of Mayflower Descendants, Society of 
Colonial Wars, New York Society Sons of the Revolution. He is too domestic 
in his habits to give time to club life, with a happy home and delightful sur- 
roundings. One of the most beautiful residences fronting on Prospect Park, 
the interior of which is a model of taste and refinement, while his library of 
nearly five thousand volumes, covering every variety of subjects, is wholly 
for use and not for ornament, as his well-stored mind indicates. 

Mr. Kennedy has travelled much abroad, and has taken in every point of 
interest in his own country. He is a keen observer of men and things, and 
blessed with a retentive memory. Equipped at all times with his favorite 
camera, in the use of which he is an expert, he has gathered rich treasures 
abroad which he has used to good advantage as a means of entertainment for 
his friends at home by the use of stereopticon views. Unselfish in this as in 
everything else, he has added to the exchequer of churches and societies by 
public entertainments. Easy and fluent as a speaker, gifted in the power of 
description, with ready wit and unlimited resources, he knows just how to say 
the right thing at the righ time. A man of fine literary tastes, he wields a 
graceful pen, but has never exercised his gifts to any great extent, for lack of 



70 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

time. He wrote a pleasing and greatly admired volume of biography on his 
friend, General John B. Woodward. 

In politics, as an active member of the Republican party, he has influenced 
appointments for others and contributed greatly to the party's success; but 
with a single exception he has neither asked nor received personal favors. 
During President Hays' administration his name was prominently mentioned 
for the position of Consul General to Great Britain, and but for the strongly 
expressed wish of General Grant to retain in that position his friend, General 
Badeau, there is no doubt but that Mr. Kennedy would have received the 
appointment, for which he was eminently qualified. 

Having inherited so many characteristics from his distinguised ancestors. 
it would be difficult to single out any one or more which have contributed so 
materially to his success in life. His is a composite character which includes 
the best elements of all, and as it is sometimes pardonable to scatter a few 
flowers along one's pathway of life even before the grave opens to receive him, 
it may be said of him without exaggeration: 

"A combination and a form indeed 
Where every god did seem to set his seal 
To give the world assurance of a man." 

Mr. Kennedy married Lucy Brace Pratt, daughter of Henry Zachariah 
Pratt VIII., son of Harry VII., son of Capt. James VI., son of Zachariah V., 
son of William IV., son of John III., son of John II., son of John I., the 
ancestor. 

I. John Pratt, 1620-1655, patentee of land at Cambridge, Mass. One of the 
original members of the Rev. Thomas Hooker's church. Was an original pro- 
prietor of Hartford, Conn. Representative to First General Cour':, 1639; and 
several terms afterward. Died at Hartford, July 15, 1655. He married Elizabeth, 
probably in England. 

II. John Pratt (2), son of John (1), freeman, 1657; constable, 1670; died 
in Hartford, November 23, 1687 ; married Hannah, daughter of Lieut. James 
Boosey, of Wethhersfield. Conn. Hannah Boosey was born in 1641. His second 
wife, Hepzibah, survived him. John Pratt (2) had eight children, probably most 
of them by his first wife. 

Lieut. James Boosey of Wethersfield, father of Hannah (Boosey) Pratt. 
was clerk of the train band. He was a gentleman of large estate. He was depu- 
ty to General Court for 1639, '40, '41, '42, '43, '44, '45. '46. '47, '48. '49. He, with 
Hon. Edward Hopkins, Gen. John Mason and John Steel, were appointed Com- 
missioners on the part of Connecticut to Articles of Agreement with Gov. Fen- 
wick of Sea Brook Fort, for the purchase of the fort, and of his lands and such 
as were not disposed of on the River. He had five children. 

III. John Pratt (3), born in Hartford, May 17, 1661 ; died about 1747;. 
married Hannah, daughter of Robert Sandford, Jr., of Hartford. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. "]\ 

Robert Sandford, Jr., was the son of Robert Sandford and Anne Adam-;, 
daughter of Jeremy Adams, one of the original proprietors of Hartford. 

IV. William Pratt, son of John Pratt (3), was born in Hartford, 169 1 ; 
died in Hartford, January 19, 1753; married Amy Pinncy, born Oct. 6, 1704; she 
died June 10, 1772. She descended from Humphrey Pinncy of Brcadway, Som- 
erset County, England, who came early to Windsor, Conn., and was one of its 
founders. She was also descended from Wm. Thrall of Windsor, who was a 
soldier in the Pequot War. Edward Griswold, one of the founders of Windsor, 
was also her ancestor. 

V. Zachariah Pratt, son of William, was born in Hartford, March 25, 
1727; died in Hartford, October 5, 1805; married Abigail Cooke, Jan. 23, 1750-1. 
She was born June 29, 1727; she died April 10, 1818. 

Abigail Cooke was the fourth generation from Capt. Aaron Cooke of Dor- 
chester, Mass., and later at Windsor and Northampton, where she died Sept. 5, 
1690, aged 80. She was also a descendant in third generation from Lieut. John 
Allyn, and fourth generation from Hon. Matthew Allyn, one of the original 
settlers of Hartford and Windsor. 

VI. Captain James Pratt, Revolutionary officer, son of Zachariah, was born 
in Hartford, October 14, 1753; died in Hartford, January 3, 1820; married Mary 
Burr, born January 20, 1754; she died March 23, 1822. She was a descendant of 
Benjamin Burr, original settler of Hartford, in the line of Thomas, and Thomas 
Burr, Jr. The line of Burrs have Wadsworth and Webster ancestry. Benjamin 
Burr served in the Pequot War. 

VII. Harry Pratt, son of Capt. James, was born in Hartford, June 9, 1778; 
died in Rochester, N. Y., Dec. 31, 1853; married Susan Cleveland. She was 
born in Norwich, Conn., Sept. 26, 1784: died in Geneva, N. Y., Aug. 19, 1883. 
( See Cleveland Family.) 

Henry Zachariah Pratt, ,son of Harry, born in Hartford, Conn. 
March 6, 1813; died in Hartford, Conn., August 31, 1863; married Aug. 19, 1835. 
Lucy E. Brace, born July 5, 1814, in Hartford. She died in New York Feb. 1, 1866. 

IX. Lucy Brace Pratt, born Feb. 2j, 1846, in Brooklyn, N. Y. ; married Dec. 
2, 1874, Elijah Robinson Kennedy, who was born in Hartford, May 6, 1844. 
Their children are Sidney Robinson Kennedy, born in Brooklyn. Nov. 19, 1875 ; 
Susan Pratt Kennedy, born in Brooklyn, Feb. 26. 1880; Leonard Kennedy, born 
in Brooklyn, May 20, 1886. 

I. Moses Cleveland, 1624-1701-2, was born in Ipswich, England, about 1624. 
Came to America about 1635 ; of Woburn, Mass., prior tc 1642. Militia, 1663. 
Soldier in King Philip's War. Died Jan. g. 1701-2. Married Ann Winn, daugh- 
ter of Edward and Joanna Winn. 

II. Mr. Aaron Cleveland, born in Woburn, Jan. 10, 1654-5 ; died at Wo- 
burn, Sept. 24, 1716; married Sept. 26, 1675, Dorcas Wilson, daughter of John 
and Hannah (James) Wilson. She died in 1714. 

III. Captain Aaron Cleveland (2), born in Woburn, July 9, 1680; died at 
Medford, Mass., about Dec. 1, 1755; married at Woburn, Jan. 1, 1701-2. Abigail 



7 J SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Waters, daughter of Samuel and Mary (Hudson) Waters. She was born Nov. 
29, 1683, in Woburn, Mass. 

IV. Rev. Aaron Cleveland (3). born in Medford, Mass., Oct. 19 or 29, 1715. 
Graduated from Harvard College, 1735. Died at the home of his friend. Dr. 
Benjamin Franklin, Second Street, Philadelphia. Aug. II, 1757, and is buried in 
Christ church-yard there. Dr. Franklin wrote his obituary, which was published 
in "The Pennsylvania Gazette" of August 18, 1757, as follows: 

"On Thursday last, after a lingering illness, died here, the Res-. Mr. Cleve- 
land, lately appointed to the mission at New Castle, by the "society for propo- 
gating the Gospel.'' He was a gentleman of a humane and pious disposition, 
indefatigable in his ministry, easy and affable in his conversation, open and sin- 
cere to his friends, and above every species of meanness and dissimulation. His 
death is greatly lamented by all who knew him. as a loss to the public, a loss to 
the Church of Christ in general, and in particular to that congregation who had 
proposed to themselves so much satisfaction from his late appointment among 
them, agreeable to their own request." 

The Rev. Aaron Cleveland (3). married Aug. 4, 1739, Susannah Porter, 
daughter of Susannah ( Sewall ) Porter and the Rev. Aaron Porter of Salem. 
Susannah Porter was born in 1716; died 1788. She was the granddaughter of 
Major Stephen Sewall of Salem, and Margaret Mitchell, daughter of Rev. 
Jonathan Mitchell, who in 1662. with Daniel Gookin, was made first licensers of 
the press of Massachusetts. 

V. Rev. Aaron Cleveland (4 I, born Feb. 3, 1744, in Haddam, Conn.; died 
Sept. 21, 1815. in New Haven. He was a Congregational minister, a man of in- 
telligence, great wit and humor: also of much poetical talent. In 1775 he pub- 
lished a poem against slavery, and in 1779. while a representative in the Legis- 
lature, "introduced a bill for its abolition." Married. April 12. 1768. at Nor- 
wich, Conn.. Abiah Hyde, only daughter of Capt. James Hyde and Sarah Mar- 
shall. Abiah Hyde was fourth in descent from Win. Hyde, one of the original 
proprietors of Hartford and Norwich. Abiah Hyde was born at Norwich, Dec. 
27, 1749: died Aug. 2.^, 1788. 

VI. Susan Cleveland, born in Norwich, Sept. 26, 1784; died in Geneva, N. 
Y., Aug. 19. 1883; married May 11, 1804, Harry Pratt, born in Hartford, June 
9. 1778; died in Rochester, N. Y., Dec. 31, 1853. 

VII. Henry Zachariah Pratt. Lucy E. Brace. 

VIII. Lucy Brace Pratt. Elijah Robinson Kennedy. 

I. Stephen Brace. — — 1692. Came from London. England, and settled in 
Hartford. Conn., about 1660. He was of good standing and estate. He owned 
land in Rocky Hill, Great Meadow and other places, including his Podaquanck 
lands. The Brace family took its name from Brecy. a place near Caen, Nor- 
mandy, France. Rudolphus de Braccio occurs in a Norman charter of 1082. His 
son William held as a fee, Wisterton, Cheshire, and William's son, Robert de 
Bracey. held three Knights' fees in the same country. From this Cheshire fam- 
ily have descended many branches. Our New England ancestor pronounced hi* 



SON'S OF THE REVOLUTION. 73 

name still as Bracey. The c was undoubtedly pronounced as s in Norman 
times. 

II. John Brace, born in Hartford, Conn., 1677; married Feby. 22, 1705-6, 
Mary Webster, daughter of Jonathan Webster and Dorcas (Bronson) Hopkins. 
Mary Webster was the third generation from Hon. Richard Treat, named in the 
Royal Charter, one of the Patentees for Connecticut, 1662. Jonathan Webster 
was son of Lieut. Robert Webster, son of Governor John Webster, fifth Colonial 
Governor of Connecticut. Mary Webster was born Sept. 29, 1688; died May 
3, 1741- 

III. Jonathan Brace, bapt. Second Church. Hartford. Nov. 30. 1707: died 
about 1788 in Harwinton, Conn.; married Nov. 9, 1738, Mary Messenger. " After 
Jonathan Brace, the father of Judge Brace, was engaged to be married to Miss 
Messenger of Hartford, he passed over the bridge between Hartford and West 
Hartford to make her a visit, and, while he was crossing the bridge, she was 
drowning in the river under it, having upset in a boat ; and he soon after married 
Mary Messenger, who became the mother of his children." (Hinman's Con- 
necticut Settlers, p. 308.) 

IV. Judge Jonathan Brace. Yale. 1779: born Nov. 12. 1754; died Aug. 26. 
1837: married April 15. 1778. Mrs. Ann White Kimberly, born Oct. 23. 1753. Mid- 
dletown. Conn. ; died Dec. 7. 1837. in Hartford. Ann White was fourth in de- 
scent from Elder John White of Hartford; third in descent from Lieut. Daniel 
White of Hatfield. Mass.. and granddaughter of Capt. Daniel White. In 1799 
Judge Brace was chosen Representative to Congress, and remained in office until 
May, 1801, which was the last meeting of Congress held in Philadelphia. He 
held many important offices in Vermont and Connecticut. 

V. The Hon. Thomas Kimberly Brace, born in Hartford, Oct. if., 1770: 
died in Hartford, June 14, i860; married Aug. 25. 1807, Lucy Mather Lee. daugh- 
ter of John Lee and Lucy Mather, daughter of Dr. Samuel Mather, fifth in de- 
scent from Rev. Richard Mather. Lucy Mather Lee was born in Westfield. 
Mass., Jan. 20, 1767: died Oct. T2. T7S5. "The Hon. Thomas K. Brace graduated 
at Yale College in 1801 ; read law at Litchfield with Judges Reeve and Gould, 
and was admitted to the Bar." (Hinman's Conn. Settlers, p. 308.) 

"The first president of the Aetna Ins. Co. was Thomas K. Brace, who served 
from i8i9to 1857. Mr. Brace was born in Hartford in 1770, and died June 14.1860. 
He was graduated at Yale College in 1801. In 1831 and 1832 he represented 
Hartford in the Legislature, as his father had done in 1798. He was elected 
Mayor of Hartford three successive years, beginning with 1840, and was a can- 
didate for Congress in 1843 and 18.15. He was identified with the Aetna Insur- 
ance Company from its organization, and its great prosperity has been attributed 
in no small degree to his wise management." — J. Hammond Trumbull. 

VI. Lucy Elizabeth Brace, born in Hartford. July 5. 1814; died in New 
York. Feb. t. t866: married in Hartford. Aug. 19. 1835; Henry Zachariah Pratt, 
born in Hartford. March 6. 1813: died in Hartford. Aug. 31, 1863. 

The following obituary was taken from the "Hartford Courant." Sept.. 1863: 



74 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

"Our obituary record for the past week announces the decease of Mr. Henry Z. 
Pratt, who has long been known among us as a high-minded and honorable busi- 
ness man and a valued member of society. Mr. Pratt was born in this city in the 
year 1813, and at the age of fifteen became a clerk in tbe bookstore of Messrs. 
George Goodwin & Sons, then publisbers of the Connecticut Courant. He com- 
menced business in 1834 as a member of the publishing house of Robinson and 
Pratt ; the firm was removed to New York in the following year, and after en- 
joying several years of great prosperity, subseque ntly became Pratt, Woodford 
& Co., and finally in 1858, Pratt, Oakley and Co. In these various connections, 
a large number of standard educational works were published, such as Olney's 
Geography, Comstock's Philosophy and Chemistry, Bullion's series of Grammars 
and other valuable school books. In his business career Mr. Pratt displayed great 
energy, industry and sagacity, and the highest sense of mercantile honor. Having 
safely weathered the financial storms of '37 and '57. his prosperity received its 
first reverse in the unlooked for and unavoidable crisis caused by the Southern 
rebellion. The large sums due to his house by repudiating Southern merchants 
crippled its resources materially and it was finally obliged to succumb to the tide 
of adverse circumstances. The care and anxiety consequent upon this calamity, 
seriously affected Mr. Pratt's health, and he never recovered from the blow. 
A year since, he was elected vice-president of the Aetna Insurance Co., with 
which he had long been connected as a director, and continued to hold the office 
until his decease. The large concourse of friends and neighbors assembled to 
pay the last sad offices to this esteemed citizen and valued friend, attest how 
highly Mr. Pratt was honored in life, and lamented in death; but who may es- 
timate the loss to his bereaved family? Singularly happy in his domestic rela- 
tions, the removal of this most tender, devoted husband and indulgent parent, 
leaves his fireside utterly desolate. "The places that once knew him shall know 
him no more forever," but the memory of this noble Christian gentleman will 
long be cherished by the community in which he lived, and in the heart of hearts 
of those who knew and loved him best. 

VII. Lucy Brace Pratt, born in Brooklyn. N. Y.. Feb. 27, 1846; married in 
New York. Dec. 2, 1874; Elijah Robinson Kennedy, born in Hartford, May 6, 
1844- 

The children of Elijah Robinson Kennedy and Lucy Brace Pratt were: 

Susan Pratt Kennedy, born in Brooklyn, N. Y.. Feb. 26. t88o. 

Leonard Kennedy, born in Brooklyn, May 20, 1886. 

WELLES AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 

In none of the old New England families has the law of heredity been 
more clearly exemplified than in that of the Welles family. Men in each 
generation, from the ancestor to the latest representative of the family, have 
borne a prominent part in the great events of their period, and have rendered 
important service to their country. The allied families have also been repre- 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 75 

sented by men of strong character and marked influence in their day and 
generation. 

The derivation of the name of Welles is said to be traced to the year 794. 
from which period they held the highest rank personally and by royal inter- 
marriages. It was founded in England after the Conquest by Harrold de Vaux 
(a near connection of William the Conquror) and his three sons. Baron" 
Hubert, Ranulph and Robert. The descent is through the younger son. 
Robert, whose grandson. William, had four sons. William, A. D. 1194, one of 
these, became the founder of that long line of noblemen of Lincolnshire, whose 
history is given in full by Dugdale in his standard work on the Baronage of 
England. 

Governor Thomas Welles the New England ancestor, was born in Essex. 
England, in 1598: died in Wethersfield. Conn.. Jan. 14. 1660. He came to 
America and settled in Hartford, Conn. He was elected one of the six magis- 
trates first chosen at the organization of the government at Hartford, and 
annually re-elected until his death, a period of more than twenty years. In 
1639 he became first Treasurer of the colony, and held that office till 165 1. He 
was Secretary of Conn., 1640-8, and was Commissioner of the united colonies 
in 1649 and again in 1654. During the absence of Gov. Edward Hopkins in 
England, in 1654, he was elected Moderator of the General Court, and in the 
same year he was chosen Deputy Governor. In 1655 he was elected governor, 
but after two years he returned to the offiice of Deputy Governor. He was chosen 
Governor for the second time in 1658, and in 1659 again held the office of Deputy 
Governor. 

He had the full confidence of the people, and many of the most important 
of the early laws and papers pertaining to the founding of the colony were 
drafted by him. The successful issue of Connecticut from her difficulty con- 
cerning the fort erected at Saybrook on one side, and the Dutch encroach- 
ments on the other, was largely due to his skill and wisdom. He brought 
with him from England three sons, John, Thomas and Samuel, and three 
daughters. Mary, Ann and Sarah. He took for his second wife Elizabeth, 
widow of Nathaniel Foote of Wethersfield. 

Capt. Samuel Welles (i), fifth child of Gov. Thomas Welles, was born 
in Essex. Eng.. 1630. and in the autumn of that year he moved to Hartford, 
where he lived until 1649. when he removed to Wethersfield and remained there 
until his death, July 15. 1675. He commanded a company in the Great Swamp 
Fight. He was elected Deputy Magistrate at Hartford, 1657 to 1661, inclusive. 
He married 1st Elizabeth, daughter of John Hollister, of Wethersfield. who was 
made a freeman at Weymouth, Mass., 1643. was a representative of the General 
Court of Mass., 1644, and in November of the same year in Conn. He removed 
to Wethersfield, and was a representative 1645 and often until 1656. He was 
Lieutenant of the train band. He, with others, was engaged in the contro- 
versy with Rev. John Russell which caused the plantation of Hadley, Mass., 
1659. He married Joanna, daughter of Richard Treat, who was the father of 



y6 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Gov. Robert Treat. Samuel Welles married for his second wife Hannah Lam- 
bertson, daughter of George Lambertson, of New Haven. Conn. By his first 
wife he had six children, of whom Samuel (2) was the eldest. 

Capt. Samuel Welles (2). son of Samuel (1) and Joanna (Hollister) 
Welles, was born in Wethersfield April 5, 1660. He removed about 1685 to 
Glastonbury, where he remained until his death, August 28, 1731. He was 
Captain of the train band in that town and was conspicuous in public affairs. 
He married Ruth Rice, daughter of Edward and Mercie Rice, of Sudbury and 
Marlborough. Mass.. son of Samuel, son of Edmund Rice, born at Bark- 
hams'tead, Eng., 1594; died at Sudbury. Mass.. 1663; came to New England 
1638-9; settled at Sudbury, where he was prominent in town affairs. The 
family is of Welsh origin, the name being Ap Rhys. Capt. Samuel Welles. 
by his wife. Ruth (Rice) Welles, had eight children, of whom Thaddeus was 
sixth. 

Thaddeus Welles, sixth child of Captain Samuel and Ruth (Rice) Welles, 
was born at Glastonbury, Conn., May 27, 1695; died there Dec. 22, 1780. He 
was a successful farmer and raised high-bred, speedy horses. He refused all 
offers of public office . He married, about 1725. Elizabeth, daughter of Deacon 
Timothy (Pitkin) Cowles. of East Hartford, son of Samuel, of Farmington, 
Conn., son of John Cowles, one of the first settlers of Hartford, and one of the 
original proprietors of Farmington. one of the seven pillars of the church 
established 1652, deputy to the General Court, six sessions, beginning 1653. 
Hannah Pitkin, the mother of Deacon Timothy Cowles. was the daughter of 
William Pitkin, of Hartford, a lawyer, Att'y for the Colony of Conn., repre- 
sentative at the General Court 1675. Treasurer 1676; married Hannah, only 
daughter o 1 : Ozias Goodwin. Thaddeus Welles, by his wife. Elizabeth (Cowles) 
Welles, had a son Samuel (3). 

CAPT. SAMUEL WELLES (3). Patriot of the Revolution, son of 
Thaddeus and Elizabeth (Cowles) Welles, was born in Glastonbury, Conn., 
about 1727. When the call for troops was made by Gov. Trumbull, in June, 
1776, to reinforce Washington at New York. Capt. Samuel Welles was placed 
in command of Seventh company, Col. Gay's Battalion of Wadsworth's Brigade, 
and remained in the defences at New York until shortly before the battle of Long 
Island. His company was in the thickest of the fight on May 27, and in all 
the succeeding events which included the Kips Bay affair in New York on 
Sep. 15. Referring to this. Johnson says: " During these scenes Wadsworth's 
and Scott's Brigades, which were below Douglass on the river lines, saw that 
their only safety lay, also, in immediate retreat, and falling back, they joined 
the other brigades above, though not without suffering some loss." A soldier 
of Gay's regiment, in writing of the affair, says: "We soon reached the main 
road which our troops were traveling, and the first conspicuous person I met 
was Gen. Putnam. He was making his way toward New York when all were 
going from it." 

It was during this affair of Sep. 15 that Capt. Welles was captured and 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 77 

held as prisoner for nearly two years; exchanged June. 1778. He was after- 
ward attached to the State Militia, and commanded a company during Tryon's 
Invasion, known as the " New Haven Alarm." July 5, 1779. 

Capt. Welles married, in Aug., 1752, Lucy, daughter of Abraham Kilbourn 
and Mary Tudor, his wife, son of John (2), son of John (1), of Wethersfield. 
1647, son of Thomas Kilbourn, from Wood Ditton, Cambridge, who came 
to Boston in the Increase, in 1635, with wife Francis and children. They had 
issue Samuel (4) and others 

SAMUEL WELLES. Patriot ok the Revolution son of Capt. Samuel 
and Lucy (Kilbourn) Welles, was born in Glastonbury. Conn., Oct. 6, 1754; 
died Nov. 12, 1834. His name is found among the list of troops from the town 
of Glastonbury as "Samuel Welles Jun. who Marched from the Connecticut 
Towns for the relief of Boston in the Lexington Alarm," April, 1775. He 
enlisted Feb. 27, 1777, in Fourth Troop, Connecticut Dragoons, and continued 
in service until the close of the war. He was a representative in the StaV^ 
Legislature, a member of the Convention which framed the present State 
Constitution of Conn., presidential elector in the second election of James 
Monroe. He was a prominent ship builder and ship owner. He married. 
May 1, 1782, Anna (born 1763), daughter of Gideon Hale, son of Benjamin, 
son of Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1), the ancestor. 

Samuel Hale came to the Colony of Connecticut at a very early period, 
was at Hartford, 1637, a soldier in the Pequot war, for which he received a 
lot in the soldiers' field. In 1639 he owned land in Hartford on the east side 
of the river, but in 1643 he was a resident of Wethersfield. In 1655 he resided 
in Norwalk. but returned to Wethersfield in 1660, though he did not sell his 
property there before 1669. While residing in Norwalk he represented that 
town in the General Court in 1656-7-60. After his return to Wethersfield 
he hired the Governor Welles estate of the " Overseers." By his wife, 

Mary . he had eight children, of whom Samuel (2) was the second 

child and eldest son. 

Samuel Hale (2) son of Samuel (1) and Mary ( ) Hale, was born 

in 1645. He married 1st Ruth, daughter of Thomas Edwards, and had three 
children. He married 2d Dec. 26, 1682. Mary, daughter of Capt. SamvW 
Welles, and had five children, of whom Benjamin was the fourth. 

Benjamin Hale, son of Samuel (2) and Mary (Welles) Hale, was born 
July 22, 1707. He married. June 30. 1729. Hannah Talcott, daughter of Lieut. 
Benjamin Talcott, born March 1. 1674; died Nov. 27. 1727. The latter married 
Sarah Hollister. daughter of John Hollister. Jr. (born 1642; died 171 1), and 
Sarah Goodrich. John Hollister. Jr., was the son of Lieut. John Hollister. 
who married Joan Treat, daughter of Richard Treat, born 1590, died 1669; 
Deputy to the General Court of Mass.. 1644, and to that of Conn, 1645-6; 
Lieut, of the Train Band. &c. Lieut. Benjamin Talcott. father of Hannah 
Talcott, born 1674, died 1727; Lieut, of Glastonbury Train Band, Deputy to 
General Court, &c. ; son of Capt. Samuel Talcott, born 1635, was with the 
Hartford Troop of Dragoons at Deerfield in King William's war; Lieut. 



78 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

1677, Captain 1681, Deputy to the General Court 1669-84, Assistant 1685-91; 
son of " The Worshipful " JohnTalcott, born 1600, died 1660; Deputy to the 
General Court of Mass. 1634-36. Deputy to the General Court of Conn. 1637-53, 
Assistant (member of Governor's Council) 1654-60. Treasurer 1652-60, Com- 
missioner for United Colonies 1656-58; son of John Talcott, of Braintree, Eng.. 
son of John, of Colchester, Eng., son of John Talcott. of Warwickshire, Eng. 

Benjamin Hale, before mentioned, by his wife, Hannah (Talcott) Hale, 
had a son Gideon. 

Gideon Hale, son of Benjamin and Hannah (Talcott) Hale, born July 22, 
1707; died July 22, 1784. He married Mary White, daughter of Ebenezer 
White (born May 12, 1707; died March 27, 1756), and Ann Hollister, born Jan. 
6, 1707; died June 16, 1787), son of Joseph White (born 1629; died Aug. 27, 
1711), and Elizabeth — — (born 1625, died 1690); son of Elder John White 
(born 1600, died 1683). Gideon Hale, by his wife, Mary White, had, among 
other children, Anna and Hannah. 

Anna Hale, daughter of Gideon Hale, was born 1763, died June II, 1816; 
married May 1, 1782, to Samuel Welles; after her death Hannah, her youngest 
sister, was married to him. 

Samuel Welles (4), by his firfist wife, Anna (Hale) Welles, had Gideon and 
other children. 

Hon. Gideon Welles, son of Samuel (4) and Anna (Hale) Welles, was born 
in Glastonbury, Conn., July 1, 1802; died at Hartford, Conn., Feb. 11, 1878. He 
was educated at the Episcopal Academy at Cheshire, and entered the University 
of Vermont ; but without completing his collegiate course he began the study of 
law in the office of Thomas S. Williams, afterwards Chief Justice of Connecti- 
cut. In 1826 he became editor and one of the proprietors of the Hartford Times, 
continuing till 1854, although he retired from the responsible editorship in 1836. 
He made his paper the chief organ of the Democratic party in the State and New 
England. This was the first paper to advocate the election of Andrew Jackson 
to the presidency, and earnestly upheld his administration. Mr. Welles was a 
member of the Legislature, 1827-^^- and both in that body and in his journal 
attacked with severity the proposed measures to exclude from the courts wit- 
nesses that did not believe in the future state of rewards and punishment. He 
also labored for years to secure the abolition of imprisonment for debt, opposed 
special and private legislation, and secured the passage of general laws for the 
organization of financial corporations. He was the first to advocate low postage. 
Ions before it began to attract general attention. He was chosen Comptroller of 
the State by the Legislature in 1835, and elected to that office by popular vote in 
1842 and 1843, being also in the intervening years postmaster of Hartford. From 
1846 till 1849 he was chief of the Bureau of Provisions and Clothing in the Navy 
Department at Washington. 

Mr. Welles had always opposed the extension of slavery, and early identified 
himself with the Republican party. He began his work for the Republicans in the 
columns of the Evening Press, a Republican journal which was started in 1856. 
A contemporary writer says:"In building up the Connecticut Republicans no 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



70 




one voice was so powerful through the press as that of Gideon Welles."' He was 
Republican candidate for governor of Connecticut in 1856, and in i860 was 
chairman of the Connecticut delegation to the convention at Chicago which 
nominated Abraham Lincoln for the Presidency, and labored earnestly for his 
election. In the formation of his cabinet the first name selected by President 
Lincoln was that of Hon. Gideon Welles, who entered the cabinet as Secretary 
of the Navy. His executive ability compensated for his previous lack of 
special knowledge, and though many of his acts were severely criticised, his 
administration was popular with the Navy and with the country at large. His 



So SONS OF THE REVOLUTION'. 

facility as a writer made his state papers more interesting than such documents 
usually are. 

In his first report, dated July 4, 1861. he announced the increase of his 
effective naval force from forty-two to eighty-two vessels. This and the sub- 
sequent increase in a few months to more than 500 vessels was largely due to 
his energy. In the same report he also recommended investigation to secure the 
best iron-clads, and this class of vessels was introduced under his administration. 
In the Cabinet, Mr. Welles opposed all arbitrary measures, and objected to the 
declaration of a blockade of Southern ports, holding that this was a virtual ac- 
knowledgement of belligerent rights, and that the preferable course would be 
to close our ports to foreign commerce by proclamation. By request of the 
President he presented his ideas in writing, but the Cabinet finally yielded to the 
views of Secretary Seward. Early in the war, on Sept. 25, 1861, he ordered that 
the negro refugees that found their way to U. S. vessels should be enlisted in the 
navy. Referring to his administration, a writer says: "More than the country 
yet knows it was the firmness and wisdom of Gideon Welles that at certain 
junctures, served unseen, to turn the tide of fortune in favor of the Government. 
He held his post to the close of President Johnson's administration in 1869. A 
brief summary of the work of the Navy Department under Mr. Welles adminis- 
tration shows that during the war 208 vessels were commenced and nearly all of 
them completed; 418 vessels were purchased; the number of men in the service 
was increased from 7,600 to 51,500; the number of artisans and laborers in 
various navy yards was increased from 3,844 to J 6,880; not to mention almost as 
many more engaged in private shipyards and establishments under contracts. 
The total sum expended by the navy during the war was $314,170,960.68, or an 
annual average expenditure of $72,500,990.93. 

In 1872 Mr. Welles acted with the Liberal Republicans, and in 1876 he advo- 
cated the election of Samuel J. Tilden, afterwards taking strong grounds against 
the Electoral Commission and its decision. After his retirement fro-n office he 
contributed freely to current literature on the political and other events of the 
Civil War, and provoked hostile criticism by what many thought his harsh stric- 
tures on official conduct. In 1872 he published an elaborate paper to show that 
the capture of New Orleans in 1862 was due entirely to the Navy, and in 1873 
a volume entitled "Lincoln and Seward." 

Mr. Welles married Mary Jane, daughter of Elias W. Hale, of Lewistown. 
Pa., and had issue: Annie J., Samuel, Edward G., Edgar Thaddcus. Thomas G., 
John A., Herbert, Mary J., and Hubert. 

EDGAR THADDEUS WELLES, Sooetv Sons of the Revolution, fourth 
child of Hon. Gideon and Alary Jane (Hale) Welles, was born Aug. 29, 1843, at 
Hartford, Conn. His preparatory course of education was received at the High 
School of his native city (one of the best schools in the country). He entered 
Yale in i860, graduating in 1864. He was admitted to the bar. but did not prac- 
tice. In 1866 he was appointed chief clerk of the U. S. Navy Department. He 
resigned this position in 1869. He became treasurer and manager of the Gatling 
Gun Company, of Hartford, which prospered greatly under his supervision. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 8l 

Later, Mr. Welles became interested in the Granby Mining and Smelting 
Company (lead and zinc), and was made its president. He was appointed re- 
ceiver of the National Bank of the State of Missouri ; president of the Interna- 
tional Company of Mexico, and of the Mexican Steamship Company and their 
subsidiary organizations; vice-president of the Wabash Railroad Company; vice- 
president of the National Heating Company, director in the Ohio and Mississippi 
Railroad Company, the Wabash Railroad Company, the Peoria and Union R. R. 
Co., the United States Trust Company of Hartford, the B. and O. S. W. R. R. 
Co., and president of the Consolidated Coal Company. He is a member of the 
various clubs and societies of New York City, among which are the Union, Uni- 
versity, Lawyers' and Down Town clubs, the Yale Alumni Association, etc. 

While long separated from the home of his early childhood, he still clings 
fondly to these old associations. He owns the original estate on which his Hart- 
ford ancestors settled in 1635, and also that of the Hale family at Glastonbury. 
Both are well preserved and many of the old landmarks still remain. 




EIMiAR TIIADDHUS WKLLES. 



Married Alice, daughter of Charles H. Brainard, of Hartford, and has 
one child, a daughter Alice, born in 1880. 

Thomas G., died February, 1892, left two sons, Samuel and Thomas. 



M SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

TERRY—TAYLOR, AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 

The anci^try of John Taylor Terry, No. 906, Sons of the Revolution, includes 
one distinguished hero of the American Revolution and four others who ren- 
dered important service in "the days that tried men's souls." These were Colonel 
Nathaniel Terry, Eliphalet Terry, and Eldad Taylor. 

The direct line of Mr. Terry, including the marriages with the Terry and 
Taylor family, is traceable in a direct line to some of the most distinguished of 
the early New England colonists, and through Mabel Harlakenden to King Ed- 
ward I of England, and from him to William the Conqueror. Among his New 
England forefathers were George Wyllys, Governor of Connecticut, in 1642 (the 
ancestor of Col. Samuel Wyllys, a distinguished officer, who rendered important 
service at the battle of Long Island); John Haynes (husband of Mabel Harla- 
kenden), the colonial Governor of Massachusetts (1635); the first Governor of 
Connecticut (1639), and re-elected to the office successively until his death, in 
1656, with an exception of an interim of five years, when he declined re-election: 
William Bradford, the famous Governor of Plymouth colony, and Alice, his wife, 
n£e Carpenter; William Partridge, treasurer of Connecticut; Samuel Terry, 
patentee of Enfield, Conn. ; Rev. Nathaniel Collins, Rev. W. Adams, John White. 
Elder W. Goodwin, Rev. Henry Flynt, whose wife was Margery Hoar, a sister 
of President Hoar, of Cambridge; Samuel Wyllys, and Rev. Edward Taylor. 
Both paternally and maternally Mr. Terry is descended from Samuel Terry, the 
American ancestor. 

Samuel Terry (1) was born at Barnet, near London, Eng., 1632. He came 
to America on the Pynchon, and settled in Springfield, Mass., 1650. He married 
Jan. 3, 1660, Ann Lobdell, supposed to be a sister of Simon, one of the founders 
of Hartford, Conn. He had nine children, of whom Samuel (2) was the eldest. 

Samuel Terry (2), eldest child of Samuel (1) and Ann (Lobdell) Terry, 
was born in Springfield, Mass., July 18, 1661 ; died in Enfield, Conn., Jan. 2, 1730. 
He was one of the original proprietors or patentees of the town, and held many 
important positions. In the public records he is mentioned as "gentleman." He 
was constable, selectman, captain in the militia, etc. He married, 1st, May 17, 
1682, Hannah, daughter of Miles Morgan. They had issue Ephraim. 

Ephraim Terry, son of Samuel and Hannah (Morgan) Terry, was born in 
Enfield, Oct. 24, 1701 ; died there Oct. 14, 1783. He was a lawyer by profession 
and a man of some prominence. He married Sep. 13, 1728, Ann, daughter of 
Rev. Nathaniel and Alice (Adams) Collins, the latter the daughter of Rev. W. 
Adams, who married Alice, granddaughter of Gov. William Bradford, of the 
Mayflower. They had issue Eliphalet. 

Eliphalet Terry, son of Ephraim and Ann (Collins) Terry, was born in 
Enfield, Conn., Dec. 24, 1742. He was also a lawyer, Probate Judge, Judge of the 
County Court, deacon-in the Congregational church, and a man much respected. 
He was from 1778 to 1812 (the time of his death) a member of the Connecticut 
Legislature, and most of the time Speaker of the House. He married Mary 
Dwight Hall, of Middletown, and had issue Roderick. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. &3 

Roderick Terry son of Eliphalet and Mary Dwight (Hall) Terry, was born 
in Enfield, March 12, 1788; died Feb. 9, 1849. He was a successful merchant; 
was president of the Exchange Bank of Hartford, member of the Common Coun- 
cil, Alderman, etc. He married Harriet, daughter of Rev. John Taylor, whose 
wife was Elizabeth, daughter of Nathaniel Terry. 

COLONEL NATHANIEL TERRY of the Revolution was a descendant 
in the fourth generation of Samuel, the ancestor. He was born in Enfield. June 
3, 1730; died Feb. 20, 1792. He was Major, in command of the Enfield troops, 
who "marched for the relief of Boston in the Lexington Alarm." April, 1775. 
He left Enfield immediately with 72 men, and was joined shortly afterwards by 
35, forming a battalion of 107 men, with two captains, two lieutenants and sub- 
ordinate officers. Jacob Terry, Jr., Shadrach Terry and Daniel Terry were also 
members of this battalion. He was probably in continuous service from that time 
until his promotion to Lieut. Colonel, and was no doubt sent forward with other 
Continental troops after the battle of Bunker Hill to the defences on Long Island. 
It is said that he bore a conspicuous part in the battle of Long Island, but owing 
to the demoralization of the American army, incident to the defeat, the records 
are imperfect. He was promoted Lieut. Colonel of the Nineteenth Conn. Regi- 
ment in Dec, 1776 (Lieut. Col. George Pitkin having resigned on account of ill- 
health), and in May of the following year was commissioned Colonel. His was 
one of the fourteen Connecticut regiments engaged in the campaign in and around 
New York in 1776, some of which participated in the battles of Long Island, Har- 
lem Heights, White Plains and other engagements. He was a prominent mer- 
chant, and a zealous patriot, both civil and military, during the War of the Revo- 
lution, in which he sacrificed a large property, depending in his old age on his 
pension received from the government. He married Abiah. daughter of Samuel 
and Mary (Lyman) Dwight (born in Middletown April 9, 1732; died June 14, 
1816). His daughter Elizabeth, as has been already stated, became the wife of 
Rev. John Taylor. 

Rev. Edward Taylor, the grandfather of Rev. John Taylor, was born at 
Sketchley, near Coventry, Leicestershire, Eng. He studied four years at Cam- 
bridge University, graduated at Harvard University. Massachusetts, 1671, settled 
in Westfield as pastor of the First Church in 1674. He married, first, Elizabeth 
Fitch of Norwich, Conn. ; second, Ruth Wyllys, daughter of Hon. Samuel and 
Ruth ( Haynes) Wyllys, of Hartford, daughter of Governor John and Mabel 
(Harlakenden) Haynes, born in England, 1714. and whose ancestry is traced 
through the line of English kings, and through all the prominent families in 
England to William the Conqueror, and also through Malcomb Canmore and 
the Scottish kings as far as they can be traced. Edward had a son. The wife 
of Rev. Edward Taylor was Ruth Wyllys, daughter of Hon. Samuel Wyllys, 
who was Senator for thirty years and Member of Congress of New England 
colonies four years. He owned the famous Charter Oak, and was its custodian 
during his life. His wife was Ruth Haynes, daughter of Roger Haynes, the 
first colonial governor of Massachusetts. Rev. Edward Taylor and his wife 
Ruth Wyllys had issue a son Eldad. 



84 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

HON. ELDAD TAYLOR, of the Revolutionary Period, son of Rev. Ed- 
ward and Ruth (Wyllysj Taylor, was born in 1708. He lived in Westfield, Mass. 
He was a member of the Massachusetts Senate, and of the Governor's Council 
during the Revolutionary War, and died at his post in Boston while still in the 
performance of his official duties. He married Thankful Day, daughter of Major 
John Day and Mary (Smith) Day, and descended paternally from Robert Day 
and Editha (Stebbing) Day, who came from Braintree in 1633. They had issue 
John. 

Rev. John Taylor, son of Hon. Eldad and Thankful (.Day) Taylor, was 
born at Westfield, Mass., Dec. 23, 1762, died at Bruce, Mich., Dec. 20, 1840. He 
married Elizabeth Terry, and their daughter, Harriet Taylor, through her mar- 
riage with Roderick Terry, became the mother of John Taylor Terry. 

JOHN TAYLOR TERRY, third son of Roderick and Harriet (Taylor) 
Terry, was born in Hartford, Conn., Sept. 9, 1822. He received a thorough aca- 
demic education, and at the age of fifteen entered his father's employ, and under 
his tuition he became fully equipped for the successful business career which 
followed, and has continued without interruption during his long and useful life. 
He remained in his father's employ until 1841, and then went abroad for a time, 
using his powers of observation to acquire a more thorough knowledge of this 
world, and thus add to his store of useful information. On his return he en- 
entered the New York house of E. D. Morgan, and two years later became a 
member of the firm, E. D. Morgan & Co. The partnership continued without 
interruption until the death of Governor Morgan, the senior partner, in 1883. 
The firm, one of the oldest and most substantial mercantile houses 
in the country, still retains the same name. 

Without neglecting the affairs of his own firm, Mr. Terry has successfully 
engaged in other business operations, and has been associated in various capaci- 
ties with the leading business men of his day. He is a director in the American 
Exchange National Bank, the Bank of New Amsterdam, and the Metropolitan 
Trust Company, and is Vice-President of the Mercantile Trust Company. He 
is also a director in the Western Union Telegraph Company, and the various 
connecting telegraph enterprises. He is also identified with railroad, gas and 
other business companies. While Mr. Terry's success in life is due to his own 
exertions, good judgment and wise forethought, he is not unmindful of the fact 
that his equipment is due in no small degree to certain characteristics inherited 
through a long line of ancestors who have left their impress upon each generation, 
and have been prominent factors in moulding and shaping the destinies of our 
nation. Industry, unswerving integrity and unfaltering courage to meet any 
emergency and overcome apparently insurmountable obstacles, are among the 
qualities noted in the lives of these great men. To cherish the memory and 
exemplify the teachings of these great men has been the aim of Mr. Terry's 
life, and in this bequeaths a legacy to his children of greater value than the 
accumulated wealth of a life-time. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



85 




JOHN TAYLOR TERKY. 



86 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Mr. Terry belongs to the old school of merchants — men who were more 
interested in the development of the country and the good of mankind than the 
mere accumulation of wealth. 

Mr. Terry's religious connections have always been with the church of his 
forefathers — that of the Congregationalists, or the one near akin to it, the Pres- 
byterian. In his "union for life" Mr. Terry became identified with another Rev- 
olutionary family. He married in 1846 Miss Elizabeth Roe Peet, of Brooklyn, 
a great-grand-daughter of Rev. Azel Roe of New Jersey, who in the Revolution- 
ary War was captured by the British, confined in one of the old sugar houses, 
and during his imprisonment was supplied with food by the father of Washing- 
ton Irving. Mr. Terry's beautiful home on the Hudson is not far from that of 
''Sunnyside," the old home of Irving. The children of Mr. Terry are: 

Frederick Peet Terry. Born May 14, 1847; died May 12, 1874; married Ellen 
Battell of Norfolk. Conn. 

Rev. Roderick Terry, D. D., born April 1st, 1849; married Linda Mar- 
quand, of New York, daughter of Henry G. Marquand. 

Harriet Taylor Terry, born Oct. 9, 1851; died April 1857. 

John Taylor Terry, born Aug. 17. 1857, married Bertha Halsted of New 
York, daughter of Wm. M. Halsted. 

Elizabeth Peet Terry, born Sept. 17, 1855; died Dec. 24, 1855. 

CHIPMAN.— GRAY.— FOSTER.— HARRISON. 

The history of the above named families forms an interesting contribution 
to the annals of the Revolution, while the war record of Richard Harrison 
Chipman adds new lustre to the name, and completes the list of patriots which 
each generation has given to the country. 

The name of Chipman or Chippenham is found in the English records as 
early as the eleventh century. William de Chippenham was chairman of the 
commisioners (jurors) in the " Hundred of Staplehou " Co. Cambridge. Eng., 
who, by order of William the Conqueror. A. D. 1085, took the inventory of 
the extensive estates possessed by the opulent Monastery of Ely. in that County. 
The family bore Arms — Argent, a bend between six estoiles gules. Crest — 
A leopard sejent argent murally crowned. Motto — Unity and loyalty. A 
mural crown was conferred upon him who first, at an assault, mounted the 
wall of a besieged town, and there set up a standard. 1 

Thomas Chipman, father of the American ancestor, lived in or near Dor- 
chester, Dorsetshire, Eng. He was born about 1567, and died about 1625. He was 
possessed of land and tenements, with a mill and other edifices, in or near the 
vicinage of Bridgeport, same shire. He had a son John. 

Elder John Chipman, son of Thomas, arrived at Boston, Mass., 1631. 
After residing in Plymouth and in Dartmouth, Mass.. he removed to Barn- 
stable and lived there 1649-1679, and at Sandwich thereafter until his death. 
about 1708. He was, in Barnstable, 1670-1684, one of the Ruling Elders. 
ordained as co-pastor with the Teacher of the Congregational Church of Barn- 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. S" 

stable. He was his father's only son and heir. He was magistrate in the 
Plymouth Colony and representative to the General Court. He married Hope 
daughter of John Howland, one of the " Blessed Company" of the Mayflower. 
They had issue : A son Samuel. 

Dea. Samuel Chipman, son of Elder John and Hope (Howland) Chip- 
man, was born at Barnstable, April 15, 1661; died there 1723. He was an 
innholder and deacon of the church. He married, 12 Dec. 1649. Sarah, sister of 
Thomas Hinkley, Governor of the Plymouth Colony. They had a son John. 

Rev. John Chipman, third son of Dea. Samuel and Sarah ( Hinkley ) 
Chipman, was born in Barnstable 16th Feb., 1691; was graduated at Harvard 
1711; was ordained pastor of the Congregational Church in the Precinct or 
Salem and Beverly 23 Dec, 1715, sustaining that position till his decease. 
March 22. 1775. He married, Feb. 12, 1718, Rebecca Hale, and had a son 
Samuel. 

Capt. Samuel Chipman second son of Rev. John and Rebecca (Hale) 
Chipman, was born in North Beverly, Mass., nth Dec, 1726; died at St. 
Martin's Island, West Indies, Sep. 19, 1761. After the birth of his eldest child 
he lived at Salem, Mass., and followed the sea as master of a vessel. He 
married Austice, eldest child of Capt. Richard Manning. They had, among 
other children, a son John. 

JOHN CHIPMAN, Patriot of the Revolution eldest son of Captain 
Samuel and Austice (Manning) Chipman, was born at Ipswich, Mass., Aug. 
9, 1746; died there Dec. 25, 1819. He was employed directly by the Colonial 
Government, stimulated by its offer of a bounty, in the preparation of sulphur. 
He was one of the crew of the letter-of-marque ship "Julius Caesar," carrying 
14 guns and 40 men. He was Armorer on the armed brig " Massachusetts," 
Feb. 17-Oct. 16, 1777; also of the brig " Tyrannicide," Jonathan Haraden, 
Commander, Oct. 18, 1777-May 8, 1778. He married, 22 May. 1768, Hannah, 
daughter of Capt. Eleazer Moses, a descendant, probably, of John, who prior 
to 1640, owned a shipyard in Duxbury. They had a son, Richard Manning. 

Dea. Richard Manning Chipman, son of John and Hannah (Moses) 
Chipman, was born in Salem, Mass., 23 Oct., 1786; he resided there until his 
decease, 17th Oct., 1863. He was for many years a deacon of the Fourth (or 
South Congregational) Church in that city. He married Elizabeth Gray, 
daughter of James Gray and Elizabeth Foster. 

JAMES GRAY, Patriot the Revolution, was a private in Captain 
Addison Richardson's company, Col. John Mansfield's Regiment. Mass. Militia 
May 16- August, 1775; Private in Capt. Addison Richardson's Company. 19th 
Mass. Reg. of Foot, Col. Hutchinson, Oct. 16. 1775. June, ^77^: ^t siege of 
Boston; Private in Capt. Nathan Brown's Company, 27th Reg. Mass. Conti- 
nental Infantry, Col. Israel Hutchinson, 1776; taken prisoner at Fort Wash- 
ington, on the Hudson, Nov. 16, 1776; Private Colonel's Company 5 Reg. 
Massachusetts Line, Col. Rufus Putnam, April 1, 1777-Dec 31, 1779: Private 
Capt. Moses McFarland's Corps of Invalids, January-December. T780. 



88 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Elizabeth Foster, the mother of Elizabeth (Gray) Chipman, was the 
daughter of Robert Foster. 

ROBERT FOSTER, Patriot of the Revolution father of Elizabeth 
Foster, was Captain in 7th Company, 1st Reg. local militia, June 6, 1776. He 
later enlisted as 2d Lieutenant Volunteer Company from Salem, Mass., com- 
manded by Capt. Samuel Flagg. From July 4, 1777, to June 1, 1779, he was 
Quartermaster under Col. John Allen at Machias, for the defense of the East- 
ern County. 

By this marriage to Elizabeth Gray, daughter of James Gray and Elizabeth 
Foster, Dea. Richard Manning Chipman had issue : a son. Rev. Ricliard 
Manning. 

Rev. Richard Manning Chipman (2), eldest child of Richard Manning 
and Elizabeth (Gray) Chipman, was born in Salem, Mass., Jan. 12, 1806. He 
was graduated at Dartmouth College in 1832; pursued his theological studies 
in the Theological Seminary at Princeton, N. J., and in the Theological De- 
partment of New York University in 1833-4. He was the first Corresponding 
Secretary of the American Peace Society, whose office was then in New York. 
He was pastor of the Congregational Church in Harwinton 1835-39; of Evan- 
gelical Church at Athol, Mass., 1839-51, and of the Third Congregational 
Church in Guilford, Conn., 1852-58. He was afterward at Wolcoltville, Conn., 
Hyde Park, Mass., and East Granby. He was a noted linguist — speaking 
fourteen different languages; a man of fine literary attainments, but was spec- 
ially given to genealogical research. He prepared genealogical records of 
several early settlers of Salem with their descendants. He prepared the Chip- 
man family; a " History of the Chipman Lineage in America." This last 
named work embraced the arranged result of research and correspondence 
covering a period of twenty-five years. He was a ripe scholar and an eloquent 
speaker, a man of independent thought and indifferent to public opinion. 
During his later years his whole mind was absorbed in genealogical work. 
He contributed to the Century Dictionary and other publications. 

He married Mary Ann Harrison, eldest daughter of Rev. Fosdick Har- 
rison, pastor of Congregational Church at Roxbury, Conn. They had issue: 
Richard Harrison. 

RICHARD HARRISON CHIPMAN, Member of the Sons of the Rev 
olution son of Rev. Richard Manning and Mary Ann (Harrison) Chip- 
man, was born in Harwinton. Litchfield County, Conn.. Jan. 19. 1837. He was 
educated at private schools and at Williston Seminary. His first business 
experience was in a country store, and after that in a large manufacturing 
establishment in Litchfield Co., Conn. Soon after the breaking out of the war 
Mr. Chipman made application for an appointment in the paymaster's depart- 
ment in the navy, a position which he was peculiarly fitted for, as subsequent 
events proved. If the old maxim, that " poets are born and not made," is 
true, it applies with even greater force to the position of paymasters and their 
assistants. Mr. Chipman wisely began at the bottom of the ladder and worked 
his way up. He was appointed paymaster's clerk in the U. S. Navy, June 15. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



89 



1862, and assigned to the barque Roebuck, commanded by John Sherrell, en- 
gaged in the blockade service in the Gulf of Mexico. The paymaster was a 
nephew of Gideon Welles. Mr. Chipman continued in this position for about 
sixteen months, until Oct. 16, 1863. He then returned home and was for some 
time on duty on the gunboat Hendrick Hudson, stationed at the Charlestown 
Navy Yard. In June, 1864, he was commissioned A. A. Paymaster, U. S. N., 
and served in the capacity of Paymaster until the close of the war. He was 
first assigned to the U. S. ship " Isonomia," under Lieut.-Commander Edward 
Simpson; as Paymaster in the North Atlantic Squadron, off Fort Fisher, N. C. 
He was ordered thence to the East Gulf Squadron, with headquarters at Key 
West, Fla., under the command of Admiral Theodoras Bailey, and was soon 
after transferred to the Admiral's headquarters, relieving two other paymasters. 
While in this position he discharged the duties of paymaster on the sloop-of- 
war Dale, the steamer Nita, the Marigold and the schooner Beaureguard 
(captured from the enemy), once the famous old captured yacht and slaver 
Wanderer, used as a guard ship. 




RICHARD HARRISON CHIPMAN. 

All this additional service was performed without extra pay. When it is 
considered that the government never accepts any statement with the usual 



90 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

qualification of "errors excepted," but that every error either of judgment or 
in calculation is charged against the officer, the responsibility of the position 
can be appreciated. No accounting officer can receive his honorable discharge 
until every dollar is accounted for. Such duties require a man of extraordinary 
ability as well as other qualifications with which comparatively few persons are 
gifted. On October 20, 1865, Paymaster Chipman closed his accounts with the 
Government, which, after a careful examination by the Auditor U. S. Treasury, 
it was found that the Government was indebted to him in the sum of $11.81, 
and he was then honorably discharged with ''thanks of the Government." It 
is doubtful if a cleaner or better record can be found of any individual in the 
service of the Government. The qualifications for "honesty and integrity" are 
hereditary traits; the others were acquired by long experience. 

After the war Mr. Ghipman engaged in the railroad business. He was five 
years with the Philadelphia, Wilmington and Baltimore R. R. as chief clerk of 
transportation; he was next terminal freight agent of the New York, Ontario 
and Western R .R. and later, General Freight Agent, Passenger Agent and 
Purchasing Agent of the N. J. Aaidland R. R. Co. until January 1st. 1878. He 
then engaged in the wholesale coal business which he carried on successfully 
until 1887, when he became General Manager of the Coaldale Mining Co., as 
successor of his private firm, the business of which has largely increased under 
his management. 

Mr. Chipman is a member of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion, 
U. S., is Past Master of Lodge of the Temple F. & A. M. of Jersey City, Pass 
District Deputy Grand Master of Seventh Masonic District of New Jersey; was 
R. and S. C. of Enterprise Chapter No. 1 R. A. M., of Jersey City, Captain 
General of Hugh de Payen's commandery, and has advanced to the 16th degree 
in the Scottish rite. On retiring from the East, Worshipful Brother Chip- 
man was presented with an elegant silver service in recognition of his faith- 
ful and exemplary work and long continued service. In his first advancement 
he was taken from the floor and placed in the West, and thence to the East. 
Brooks, of Guilford, Connecticut. They have three children, Mary Harrison, 
Richard Brooks and Laura Elliott. 

GRAHAM— CHAUNCEY— CLASON. 

The Grahams have been equally distinguished for their courage, loyalty 
and patriotism in this country as well as in England and Scotland. The line of 
descent established by Scottish historians from the renowned Graeme, whose 
reign began in the early part of the fifth century. Sir David Graeme held a 
grant of land of King William the Lion, who reigned from 1163 to 1214. His 
descendant, Sir Patrick Graham, was made Lord of Parliament about 1445, whose 
grandson William Lord Graham was by Tames IV created Earl of Montrose in 
1504 in consideration of the gallantry he displayed at the battle of Sanchyburn in 
1488, wherein his royal master, James IV, lost his life. William was succeeded 
by his son William, the latter by John, the third earl, who died in 1608, leaving 
John, fourth earl, died in 1626, and was succeeded by James, the fifth earl, born in 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 91 

1612, and originally joined with the Covenanters against Charles I, but soon came 
over to the King, who, in 1O44, created him Marquis of Montrose. His son 
James, 2nd Marquis, called "The Good," was restored to his estates and made 
Privy Concillor of Charles II. He married Isabel, daughter of William, 2nd Earl 
of Merton. They had son James, 3d Marquis, whose son James, the 4th Marquis, 
was in 1705 made Lord High Admiral of Scotland, and in 1707 was created Duke 
of Montrose. 

The Rev. John Graham, A. M., the second son of one of the Marquises men- 
tioned, was born in Edinburg in 1694, in the year that Queen Mary died. He 
was a graduate of the University of Glasgow ; studied theology at Edinburg, 
where he received orders for the ministry. He came to New England in 1718, 
and soon after became pastor of the church at Exeter, N. H., where he remained 
till Dec, 1722, when he removed and settled over the church in Stafford, Conn. 
He became the first minister in Southbury society, Woodbury, Conn., in 1732, 
and remained there until his death in 1774. During his ministry he made two 
visits to London and Scotland, upon each occasion on a mission from Yale Col- 
lege, to procure aid in books, etc. for that institution, in the success of which he 
always felt a deep interest. He married Abigail, daughter of Rev. Charles 
Chauncey, D.D. ; born Jan. 1, 1705, great-grandson of President Chas. Chauncey 
of Harvard College. They had issue : John, Robert, Chauncey, Andrew, Love, 
Sarah, Abigail, died young; Richard Crouch, Abigail. 

ANDREW GRAHAM, M. D., Patriot of the Revolution, fourth child of 
Rev. John and Abigail (Chauncey) Graham, was born in Southbury society. 
Woodbury, Conn., in 1728; died June. 1785. He early espoused the cause of in- 
dependence, and was a most ardent patriot. By his generous hospitality and 
means, he encouraged and aided the friends of the Revolution. His devotion to 
the cause impoverished his family, for he would never allow Continental money 
to be discredited in his presence; and, after his death, a large chest, filled with 
this worthless paper, issued by authority of an American Congress, was found 
among his possessions. He enlisted as private in Capt. John Hinman's Company, 
Thirteenth Regiment, Conn. Militia, stationed at New York, 1776. He was one 
of the Committee of Safety in 1775. He performed temporarily the duty of 
surgeon in the American army, probably during, or immediately after, the battle 
of Long Island, as he was taken prisoner by the British, sent to New York and 
confined several months in the old Dutch church in Nassau Street, where he con- 
tracted disease from tainted provisions (said to have been poisoned), of which he 
died a few years after his release. He settled in Southbury, Conn., where he prac- 
ticed as a physician until his death. His popularity arose equally from his active 
benevolence and his admitted skill. Wherever he went he was hailed as the 
"Good Samaritan." He was a devoted adherent of Gen. Washington, and the 
only time that illustrious man passed through Southbury he spent the night under 
the roof of his friend. He married June, 1753, Martha Curtiss, born June 30, 
1735, daughter of Deacon Peter Curtiss,. son of Josiah (2) and Abigal (Judson) 
Curtiss, son of Josiah (1), son of William, the ancestor, one of the original 



92 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

settlers of Stratford. There were nine children by this marriage, of whom John 
A. was the sixth. , 

John A. Graham, sixth child of Dr. Andrew and Mary (Curtiss) Graham, 
was born in Southbury, Conn., June 10, 1764. He was educated under the tuition 
of Rev. John Minor, and studied law with Edward Hinman, Es., an eminent 
lawyer of that day. He removed to Rutand, Vt., then a wilderness, where he 
began practice. In 1794 he was appointed by the Episcopal Church in Vermont 
special agent to the ecclesiastical courts in Canterbury and York at London, and 
to the Society for Propagating the Gospel in Foreign Parts, the prominent object 
of the mission being to obtain the recognition and confirmation of the Rev. Samuel 
Peters, Bishop-elect for the State of Vermont. The correspondence between him 
and the Archbishop of Canterbury, together with the reports from the records of 
the mission, were extensively published and favorably noticed at the time. He 
rreturned to Vermont in 1795, and shortly afterward revisited England, and while 
there received the honorary degree of doctor of laws from the ancient and Royal 
College of Aberdeen, Scotland. He published "A Descriptive Sketch of the Pres- 
ent State of Vermont" (London, 1797), which he dedicated to the Duke of Mon- 
trose, the head of the Graham family, which was kindly received by his grace. 
Mr. Graham returned to the United States in 1800, and settled in New York, 
City, where he resumed the practice of his profession, devoting a large share of 
his time and talents to the defense of those accused of crime. His warmth of 
heart, quick perception, and ready talents peculiarly fitted him for this depart- 
ment of jurisprudence. He was one of the most popular, as well as one of the 
most succesful, advocates of the New York courts. The argument which obtained 
for him the most celebrity was delivered in a case involving the right of a magis- 
trate to examine in private, without the aid of a counsel, a person brought before 
him charged with crime, and then making use of that examination as evidence 
against him on his trial. Upon the appearance of the argument, it produced a 
great sensation, and for the first time directing the public attention to alarming 
abuses, then in practice; and the doctrines he advanced in favor of human life and 
liberty were responded to by the ablest jurists in every part of the country. John 
Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Jay, Chief Justice Marshall, Andrew Jackson, 
Chief Justice Spencer, Cadwalader. D. Colden, De Witt Clinton. Thomas Addis 
Emmett, Pierre C. Van Wyck, Chancellor Kent, and many others in and out of 
the profession wrote to Dr. Graham, on perusing the argument, in the most 
approving terms, commending its doctrine, ability anl eloquence. This effort was 
followed by a legislative enactment, securing for the first time to every one ac- 
cused the right of consulting counsel before examination by the committing mag- 
istrate. In 1828 Dr. Graham wrote and published an elaborate essay on the sub- 
ject of the letters of Junius, claiming for his friend, John Horn Tooke, the au- 
thorship of those celebrated productions (New York, 1828). He also published 
a volume of speeches (1812). Dr. Graham's first wife was the daughter of Dr. 
Hodges, of Clarendon, Vt., by whom he had one son, John Hodges. He married 
2d, Margaret, daughter of James Lorimer, of London, by whom he had one son, 
John Lorimer. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 93 

Col. John Lorimer Graham, son of John A. and Margaret (Lorimer) Gra- 
ham, was born in London, Eng., March 20, 1797, but was brought by his parents 
to New York on their return in 1800, where he continued to reside until his 
death. After receiving a preparatory education, he studied law with Judge 
Tapping Reeve at Litchfield, Conn., and later with John Anthon, Esq., in New 
York. He was admitted to the bar in 1821, and soon achieved a reputation in his 
profession, and had a large and constantly increasing practice. The hereditary 
military spirit was strong in him, and in 1817 he accepted an appointment on the 
staff of Governor Tompkins. In 1819 he was appointed aid-de-camp to Gov. De 
Witt Clinton, with the rank of Colonel, and continued in that position for several 
years. He declined a commission as brigadier-general and other military honors 
tendered him, He was a member of the New York Historical, the New England, 
the St. George's and the St. Andrew's societies; a life director in the American 
Bible Society, and an efficient member of the council of the University of the City 
of New York, in which he founded a free scholarship. In 1834 he was appointed 
Regent of the State University. In 1840 he was appointed by President Tyler, 
Postmaster of New York. His administration of the office was marked with 
intelligence, industry and system. He reformed every department of that ex- 
tensive and complicated establishment, and brought order out of chaos. He ac- 
complished many important reforms which were greatly appreciated by the mer- 
cantile community. The fitting up of the new post office — the Middle Dutch Church 
on Nassau Street (where the New York Mutual Life Ins. building now stands) was 
performed with order and adaptation which received not only universal appro- 
bation in New York and throughout the country, but obtained very liberal praise 
from the European press. It is noteworthy that in this same building his grand- 
father, Dr. Andrew Graham, sixty-five years previous, was confined a prisoner 
by the British, and died subsequently from the effects of his ill-treatment at that 
time. Upon his retirement from office, in 1843, Mr. Graham resumed the prac- 
tice of his profession. He married the daughter of Isaac Clason, Esq., one of 
New York's oldest merchants, a descendant of Stephen Clason, of Stamford, 
Conn., born in Scotland about 1825, and had issue : John Lorimer, De Witt 
Clinton, Ambrose Spencer, Augustus Clason, James Varnum, Malcolm, Emily 
Matilda, and Margaret. 

MALCOLM GRAHAM, New York Society Sons of the Revolution, sixth 
child of Col. John Lorimer and Emily (Clason) Graham, was born in Jersey City, 
N. J., July, 1832, at the house of Mr. Van Vorst, during the temporary sojourn 
of his parents, who had removed thence on account of the cholera epidemic which 
prevailed that year. His whole life has been spent in New York City. He was 
educated at private schools, and was the first man in his line of descent of the 
present generation to adopt a business career, but. like his ancestors in other 
callings, he has been equally successful. He is a member of the firm of Hartley 
& Graham, well-known merchants of New York. He has been twice married, 
and has one daughter and three sons. 



94 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

HILL AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 

While the ancestral line of this branch of the Hill family is imperfect and 
somewhat obscure, the military record of Sergeant Nicholas Hill presents one of 
the most remarkable narratives contained in the annals of the Revolution. A 
drummer boy at ten, braving the hardships of a seven years' campaign, and what 
is still more remarkable, living up to a late period in the present century, and 
giving his "recollections of the war" to the present living representative of the 
family, thus forming a direct connection between the Revolutionary period and 
the present — a condition of affairs almost unparalleled. 

Referring to the antiquity of the Hill or Hyll family, Burke says : "It derives 
from the Montes of Castle Morton, in the Parish of Langdon and Co. Worcester. 
John De Marti, 20th Edward II, anno. 1346, held lands in Castle Morton, which 
Odo de Monte lately held, and the heir of John De Marti, 7th Henry VI, held 
the same lands. His heirs, the Hylls, lived in this Morton. The Hylls before 
this were in Hill-Cromb 27th Edward I (1299)." 

Referring to the Irish branch of the family, Burke says: "The family of Hill 
of Doneraile have been settled in Ireland for upwards of two centuries; at firs:, 
tiny fixed themselves at Kilmallock, in the Co. Limerick (in the eld abbey of 
which many monuments of the house may be found), and thence removed to 
Doneraile, in the Co. Cork, where they have since continued. The family were 
granted in 1560: Arms — Azure, a chevron, between three fleurs-de-lis, or, a 
canton, of the last. Crest — A lion rampant, argent, pierced through the breast 
by a broken spear, in bond, ppr., the head guttea de sang. Motto — Ne tenta, vel 
perfice (Do not attempt or else achieve). 

Adam Hill, the immediate ancestor of Sergeant Nicholas Hill, came from 
Londonderry, Ireland, and settled in Schenectady, N. Y., where he died, Dec. 10, 
1764. Nothing is known of whom he married. He left a son Henry. 

Henry Hill, son of Adam Hill was born in Co. Londonderry, Ireland, about 
1730, came with his parents to this country and settled in Schenectady, N. Y., 
where he died in 1776. That he was an ardent and fearless patriot is shown in the 
narrative of his son, and, had he lived, he would no doubt have given a good 
account of himself. He married Martha Forsen or Forse, who may have been a 
descendant of the old Huguenot family of America, represented by Col. Peter 
Force, formerly Mayor of Washington, and compiler of American Archives and 
other works. 

Henry Hill left two sons, Nicholas and Henry, and a daughter Martha. 

SERGEANT AND REV. NICHOLAS HILL, Patriot of the Revolution, 
eldest son of Henry and Martha (Forse) Hill, was born in Schenectady, N. Y.. 
Dec. 22, 1766; died in Florida, Montgomery Co., N. Y., June 14, 1857. The inci- 
dent which led to his and his brother's enlistment in the Continental army oc- 
curred in 1774, when Nicholas was but eight years of age. His father had made 
a remark in the presence of British military officers, which was construed by them 
as disrespectful to their sovereign. For this alleged offence he was overpowered 
and unmercifully whipped in the presence of his wife and the two children, they 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 95 

being helpless to interfere. The indignities and insults heaped on their father 
rankled in the hearts of his two children, and they determined to avenge this 
outrageous treatment of their father the first opportunity. In the winter of 
1776-7, Nicholas, then but ten years of age, together with his brother, joined 
Capt. Hick's Company, 2d New York Regiment, as drummer boys, and continued 
until the close of the war, being in active service during the entire period. He 
was not regularly mustered in for the first two years on account of his extreme 
youth. His discharge, dated 8th of June, 1783, signed by Gen. Washington as 
Commander-in-Chief of the army, states that "Nicholas Hill, Sergeant, in the 
1st New York Regiment, having faithfully served the United States five years, 
and being enlisted for the war only, is hereby discharged from the American 
army." At the foot of this discharge is a memorandum, signed by Cornelius 
Van Dyck, Lieut. Colonel, as follows: "The above Sergeant, Nicholas Hill, has 
been honored v\ ith the badge of merit for five years faithful service." On the 
discharge is indorsed the following, in the handwriting of Mr. Hill: "My Cap- 
tain's name was Benjamin Hicks." The descrepancies which appear between the 
first and second statement are probably accounted for by the changes which 
occurred in the reorganization and consolidation of the regiments and re-enlist- 
ment of men and officers. 

The first important service of young Hill was rendered soon after he enlisted. 
He was sent by General (then Colonel) Ganzevoort tc convey a message to head- 
quarters at Albany of an anticipated attack by the Indians on Fort Stanwix 
(Rome, N. Y.j in the winter of 1777. After traveling half the distance, his com- 
panion, a young man named Snook, who started with him, met with an accident, 
and dropped out. and young Hill, rinding he was being pursued by hostile Indians 
which infected the Mohawk Valley, ran all night over the crusted snow and safely 
delivered his message at headquarters. His description of the scene as he ap- 
proached Albany, and the impression it made on him at the time, was very 
graphic. He said, "the smoke from the forts and houses stood up through the still 
1111 uning air like a forest of ghostly white tree tops." 

He accompanied Sullivan's expedition against the Indians, was with the 
army at Morristown in 1779-80, and witnessed the surrender of Cornwallis at 
Yorktown. He lived to tell the story of his sufferings at Morristown ; and stated 
that on one occasion, when the army was on the verge of starvation, rations of a 
gill of whiskey to a man were distributed among the troops. A big Irishman 
named Valentine kindly offered to share with him his own allowance, and gave him 
about a teaspoonful, but in his exhausted condition it overpowered him, and he 
laid down apparently lifeless. The Irishman took him on his back and carried him 
for miles before he reached a place where he could receive proper treatment. 
Subsequently his hardships and sufferings were considerably lessened through the 
kindness of Baron Steuben, who became interested in him, and took him to his 
own tent, and finally offered to adopt him and his younger brother. Nicholas 
declined the generous offer, little thinking then what the Baron knew through 
masonic information that he was an orphan, both of his parents having died soon 
after he entered the army. 



96 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

In the summer of 1779 his regiment, under Col. Van Schaick, was sent to co- 
operate with Gen. Sullivan in his expedition against the Indians along the Che- 
mung Valley, and he participated in the exciting scenes of that campaign. He 
was present at the siege of Yorktown and the surrender of Cornwallis, and re- 
membered to his dying day every detail connected with that event. I he facts so 
often narrated were so deeply impressed upon the mind of his surviving wife 
(his fourth wife, to whom he was married in 1834), that on her visiting York- 
town at the Centennial anniversary of the battle, in Oct., 1881, in company with 
several friends from Brooklyn, she was enabled to correct the location of several 
points of interest on the battlefield, and show the position occupied by some of 
the New York troops, and other divisions of the American army, by landmarks as 
described years before by her husband. This incident greatly interested Gen. 
Hancock, who took pains to investigate, and found that the old lady was right. 

After the close of the war, this child patriot returned to his home in Sche- 
nectady, there to receive the first information that his father and mother had died 
soon after he left them. She whom he especially expected to find and for whom 
he had declined a relation and patrimony which would have tempted almost any 
adventurous boy of fifteen was gone forever. 

His sister Martha and brother Henry were all that remained of the family 
of which he was the eldest surviving. The cruelty which had inspired his patri- 
otism and converted the lad into a soldier had first broken his father's health 
and led to his untimely death, and the dangers and excitement of the war sur- 
rounded as she was at that place, by hostile and barbarous Indians, finally broke 
her spirit, so that, wearied of waiting for the return of her darling boys, who had 
gone forth to avenge the brutal treatment of their father, she laid herself down 
to die, buoyed up only with the hope of that "final reunion on the other side." The 
two were laid side by side in the old Schenectady cemetery since removed upon 
the beautiful plateau where the city of Schenectady now stands, but in unmarked 
graves. 

He soon after removed to Florida, Montgomery County, to a small hamlet 
which he called Shalletsbush (probably Scotch Bush, where one of the most 
noted sulphur springs are located). The lad grew up with the country, and soon 
forgot his early privations and sufferings in his efforts to minister to the happi- 
ness and comfort of others. He was one of the most unselfish of men, and gen- 
erous to that degree that neglects duty to self. He was never idle, and by his 
industry accumulated a fair competence. He was a man of advanced thought in 
his religous views and utterly free from that cant and outward demonstration of 
piety so common in his day. After careful study and preparation, he decided to 
enter the ministry of the Methodist denomination, and in 1803, being then thirty- 
five years of age, he was regularly ordained at a Methodist Conference held at a 
place called Ash Grove, near the Vermont line. As was the custom of all minis- 
ters of that denomination, he was an itinerant, and his "circuit" often embraced 
a wide extent of country. He was not dependent on the meagre support of volun- 
tary contributions, as were most Methodist preachers of that day. The products 
of his farm not only yielded him a fair support, but enabled him ofttimes to 



SoXS OF T11K REVOLUTION. 07 

minister to the necessities and sufferings of others. He was a man of deep piety, 
and as a preacher he was simple, earnest and direct, yet fearless in proclaiming the 
truth as he believed it. He was forceful and often eloquent as he warmed up 
to his subject. He lived to be ninety years of age, and was strong, vigorous and 
healthy up to the time of his final sickness, the result of a fall and a broken limb. 
He died in June, 1857. Mr. Hill was married four times. He married 1st, May 
30, 1785, Anna Newkirk; died July 6, 1810; 2d, Catharine Rowe, March 12, 1811; 
born Sept. 21, 1784; died March 9, 1815; 3d, Feb. 23, 1816, Sarah Mosier, born 
March 19, 1792; 4th, Sarah Hegeman. By his first wife, Anna Newkirk, he had 
issue: Martha, born May 6, 1786; Petreshe, born June 3, 1783; Henry, born 
Aug. 13, 1791; Eleanor, born March 17, 1794; Nancy, born April 19, 1800; Will- 
iam M., born Sept. 21, 1802; Nicholas, Jr., born 1805. By his second wife, Cath- 
arine Rowe, he had Catharine Anne; born Nov. 29. 1813. By the third wife, 
Sarah Mosier, he had Stephen M., born Nov. 20, 1816 and Francis Asbury, born 
Jan. 27, 1820; and by the fourth wife, Sarah Hegeman, he had Adrrian Hegeman, 
born April 4, 1835. and John Lindsay, born Oct. 31, 1840. Of the latter only 
John L. survives. 

Nicholas Hill (2), son of Nicolas (1) and Anne (Newkirk.) Hill, was 
born in Florida, Montgomery Co.. N. Y., Oct. 16, 1806. He died May, 1859. He 
left his home at an early age to carve his own fortune. He maintained himself 
by teaching school, surveying farms and similar labors, while he studied law, tir-t 
in Montgomery, and afterwards in Schoharie County, until in August, 1829, he 
was admitted to the liar, and entered into partnership with Deodatus Wright, 
then of Amsterdam. N. Y.. afterwards of Albany, and for a time Justice of the 
New York Supreme Court. Shortly afterwards. Judge Esek Cowen, of Saratoga, 
who was engaged in the preparation of notes to Philips on Evidence, associated 
Mr. Hill with him. This work, commomnly cited as Cowen & Hill's Notes, is one 
of great erudition. Mr. O'Connor, in his remarks at a meeting of the bar, at 
Mr. Hill's death, refers to it as a "gigantic task," of which he says Mr. 
Hill performed a large part. He also says that "whole libraries were 
taken up and their contents reproduced in a form the most useful to the 
bench and the practitioner that could have been devised." The work 
had been commenced and considerable progress made therein by Judg'J 
Cowen before Mr. Hill became associated with him. Stephen P. Nash. 
Esq., of New York, wo was a student in Judge Cowen' s office at the time, testifies 
that this period of his life was "one of incessant, laborious and faithful industry." 
The work itself, although for many years very frequently cited and much used, 
especially in the State of New York, in the accumulation of modern books, has 
gone to a great extent out of general use, but it is even yet of great practical 
value, fully and thoroughly discussing many branches of the law coming properly 
under the head of evidence, and digesting with great faithfulness and accuracy 
the cases both in England and this country, bearing upon the questions involved. 
This work was published in 1839. The completion of it was interrupted by Mr. 
Hill's professional labors, as he had some years previously opened an office at 
Saratoga, in association with the late William A. Beach, which at that time was 



g8 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

quite a centre of legal activity, being the home of Judge Cowen, Chancellor 
Walworth and Judge Willard. 

From his first appearance Mr. Hill created a favorable impression on the 
minds of the members of the court. In the case of Tilden vs. Gardner, which 
was one of the earliest argued by him before the General Term, his argument 
was listened to with profound attention by both the bench and bar. "We shall 
hear from that man very often hereafter," said Chief Judge Nelson to Judge 
Bronson, as he was folding his papers in this case after Mr. Hill's remarks. 

In the summer of 1837 Mr. Hill was retained in the then celebrated case of 
People ex. rel. Barry vs. Mercein (8Paige, 48, 3 Hill, 15 Wend. 64, 83). 
The case involved the custody of an infant child as between the claims of a father 
and mother who had separated. Mr. James W. Gerard, who was Mr. Hill's 
opponent in this case, said at a bar meeting that ''the zeal, intelligence and legal 
knowledge which he evinced on that occasion first brought him into public notice, 
and laid the foundation of his future fame.'' He says that "Mr. Hill, represent- 
ing the father, had thoroughly stored his mind with all the book-learning of the 
common law of England, and piled his authorities one upon the other, mountain 
high, in favor of the father's paramount claim to the custody of his child." The 
decision of Chancellor Walworth was in favor of the mother. A decision was 
afterwards rendered, however, by the Supreme Court, awarding the custody of 
the child to the father. 

The Bench and Bar said of him : "Mr. Hill concentrated all his powers upon 
his profession; this gave him a mastery at the Bar, which few men are capable of 
attaining; * * * his knowledge of the law, his power of applying it to 
practical use, of wielding its subtleties with facility, and separating truth from 
error, in a manner which rendered him unequalled at the Bar of the State, and 
we may say of him, the nation." 

While Mr. Hill resided in Saratoga Springs, he was, in September,. 1836, 
appointed by the Court of General Sessions District Attorney of Saratoga County, 
which office he held, however, but a few months, resigning it in April, 1837. While 
still in Saratoga, he was appointed State Reporter, and after the preparation at 
Saratoga of one or two volumes of his reports, removed to Albany with Sidney J. 
Cowen, the son of Judge Cowen. He held the office of State Reporter from 1840 
until 1845, when he resigned this office. He issued seven volumes of reports 
of the decisions of the Court of Errors and the Supreme Court. Referring to 
these reports, Mr. Nash said of him: 

"In preparing the cases for the press, he labored to compress the statements 
of facts into the smallest space, and removed from the opinions of the judges 
such details as his own narrative rendered superfluous. He spent hours in con- 
densing and remodeling the syllabus or headnote, till it should succinctly, clearly 
and accurately express the very point of the decision, and frequently added valu- 
able discussions on kindred topics suggested by the reported case. 

"His reports have been very generally considered as models in every respect. 
No copyright price per volume could tempt him to swell their number, to heap 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. QO, 

into them masses of mere print, or to do his work hurriedly or negligently. They 
will bear the must rigid scrutiny as specimens of honest, faithful book-making." 

Judge Cowen's law library was considered, during his life, one of the largest 
and best in the country. It was designed to be complete in English and American 
reports, and also contained a full line of valuable text-books. Mr. Sidney J. 
Cowen brought this library with him to Albany, and Mr. Hill had the use and 
enjoyment of it during Air. Cowen's life; but not long after their removal to 
Albany, Mr. Cowen died. His father, Judge Esek Cowen. died in 1844. After 
the death of the son, it became necessary in the settlement of the estate to sell 
the library. It was bought by Peter Cagger, Esq., who had just then dissolved a 
long connection with the distinguished lawyer, Samuel Stephens. That library 
constituted one of the inducements that led to Mr. Hill's partnership with Mr. 
Cowen. Prior to this time, and after Mr. Cowen's death, he had been associated 
with Deodatus Wright and with Stephen P. Nash; but that association was dis- 
solved, and on the termination of his office as State Reporter he entered into 
partnership with Peter Cagger; and soon afterwards Hon. John K. Porter be- 
came a member of the firm which for many years commanded a large and ex- 
tensive practice in Albany, under the name of Hill, Cagger & Porter. By this 
arrangement Mr. Hill was enabled to continue in the enjoyment of the books 
which had so long been his companions, and that library, until the end of his life, 
was, in one sense, Mr. Hill's home. There he spent a great portion of his time, 
both by day and by night, and it was doubtless owing to overwork among these 
books that his life was cut short at an age when he ought to have had many 
years remaining for work in his profession. 

Mr. Hill never held any public offices except the two already referred to, 
namely, that of District Attorney of Saratoga County and New York State Re- 
porter. He was never an aspirant for office, and was only interested in politics 
so far as questions of principle were involved. He was always a man of great 
public spirit, having inherited from his father a strong sentiment of patriotism 
which nothing ever diminshed. 

Mr. Hill's manner at the bar was calm, dignified, natural and unassuming. 
He was noted for the keenness of his analysis, the clearness and conciseness of. 
his statements both of fact and law, and the excellence of his judgment, which 
enabled him to discuss fully the natural points in a case without wasting his time 
or his energy upon minor and unimportant considerations. Perhaps no lawyer 
in the State of New York has ever had so happy a faculty of condensation with- 
out sacrificing any point. This was. to a great extent, owing to the possession of 
a keen, discriminating intellect, but it could never have been accomplished unless 
such intellect had been united with indomitable industry. He loved his profession 
as few men in this country have ever loved it : but it is the testimony of his con- 
temporaries who knew him well that, while his life was devoted to his profess- 
ion, to the detriment of his health and the shortening of his life, he had many 
tastes outside the law. Mr. Nash said of him : "he was familiar with the best 
English literature, and a lover of good books ; and when he could throw off the 
thoughts of his work, he was a most delightful and congenial companion. His 



IOO SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

tastes were refined, his sensibilities lively and delicate, his nature frank and 
without guile, his heart warm and true." "For myself," says Mr. Nash, "I can 
never forget how much I am indebted to him for example, guidance, encourage- 
ment, nor the unfailing kindness which in boyhood and ever afterwards I always 
received from him." 

Mr. Hill was not an orator in the ordinary sense of the word. His manner 
was cool and unimpassioned. His arguments were not an appeal to the sym- 
pathies or prejudices of the court, but were based upon reason and authority. His 
clearness and force of argument were so great as often to produce the effect of 
eloquence, although he did not seek a reputation for eloquence. 

Hon. William D. Veeder of Brooklyn, formerly Surrogate of King's County, 
said of him: "My first recollections of Mr. Nicholas Hill was early in 1857, 
when he was regarded as one of the leading lawyers in the country.* * * * 
There was that about him which almost immediately won your confidence and 
respect without any demonstration on his part. A few, simple concise express- 
ions would direct your mind and your friendship towards him. And while he 
was absorbed in his cases, he always had room in bis great mind to be instruct- 
ive and considerate ." 

Mr. Hill married June 9, 1835, Jane Arnold, daughter of Gen. Benedict Ar- 
nold of Amsterdam, N. Y., a descendant of Gov. Benedict Arnold of Rhode 
Island, and had two children : Edward Bayard and Mary Arnold, now the wife of 
Samuel A. Noyes, Esq., a prominent member of the New York bar. 

Edward Bayard Hill, his only surviving son, was admitted to the Bar in 
Albany. Just as he was entering upon his professional career the war of the 
Rebellion broke out, and he immediately went to Washington through Baltimore, 
a journey which at that time was attended with serious difficulty and danger, 
and carried important military intelligence to the Government. He was ap- 
pointed a Lieutenant in the regular army, and commanded a battery in the first 
battle of Bull Run. He obtained the credit of saving his battery and bringing it 
back to the Union lines uncaptured and unsurrendered. Early in the autumn of 
1862, at one of the battles on the Chickahominy, he was wounded by a minnie 
ball which entered his wrist and came out near the shoulder. The wound, al- 
though serious, was not deemed mortal, but he was brought to the Brevoort 
House in New York, where he died on the 13th of June, 1862. 

Sarah Hegeman, the fourth wife of Rev. Nicholas Hill, born Jan 1, 1800, 
was the daughter by his second wife of Adrian Hegeman, born Jan. 10, 1747, 
married 1st, Catherine Johnson, 2nd, Bethsheba Palmer, daughter of Peter Pal- 
mer. Adrian Hegeman was the son of John Hegeman, born in Holland, married 
Sarah Woolsey, of Horse Neck, L. I. daughter of Capt. George Woolsey. 

Capt. George Woolsey, the settler was born at Yarmouth, England, Oct. 27, 
1610. He was the son of Benjamin, grandson of Thomas, a near relative of 
Thomas, better known in history as Cardinal Woolsey, who to the liberality of 
his royal master, Henry VIII, was indebted for his extraordinary elevation. 
Capt. George Woolsey resided as is supposed for some time in Holland. He 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. ]()1 

came to this country while yet a mere boy, with Dutch emmigrants in 1623. 
He was afterwards engaged in trade for several years in New Amsterdam with 
Isaac Allerton, who came as a passenger in the Mayflower. In 1647 he pur- 
chased a plantation at Flushing, L. I., but subsequently removed to Jamaica, and 
was among its original settlers. He died there Aug. 17, 1698 or 97. His will, 
Nov. 2, 1691, names wife Rebecca, and daughters Sarah (Hallet) Mary, and 
Rebecca Wiggins. 

Rev. Nicholas Hill by his wife Sarah (Hegeman) Hill had Adrian Hege- 
man, Phcebe King and John Lindsay. 

JOHN LINDSAY HILL, n. y. state society sons of the revolution-, 
son of Rev. Nicholas and Sarah (Hegeman) Hill, was born in Florida, Mum 
gomery County, N. Y., Oct. 31, 1840. He was graduated at Union College in 
the class of '61. He pursued his legal studies with Cornelius A. Waldron of 
Saratoga and later with Judge Stephen H. Johnson of Schenectady. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1862 and soon after entered into partnership with Judge 
Johnson of Schenectady. He held a leading posit'on as a iawyer and in 1864 was 
elected District Attorney, continuing until 1868. He was also counsel for the 
State Commissioner of canals for the Eastern District. After a successful prac- 
tice of several years he came to New York City in 1868 and formed a law co- 
partnership with Guy R. and T. D. Pelton, and in 1873 he made another connect- 
ion under the firm name of Barrett, Redfield & Hill, later Redfield & Hill, and in 
1883, Redfield, Hill & Lydecker, which remained until 1884. In 1887 the present 
firm of Lockwood & Hill was organized. 

During the famous Beecher case Mr. Hill was associate counsel for the de- 
fence, with Gen. Tracy. William M. Evarts, Judge Porter, Austin Abbott and 
Thomas G. Sharman. He occupies a leading position at the New York bar and 
has successfully engaged in the trial of many notable cases. He was earnest in 
his support of the Government during the Civil War, and though formerly a dem- 
ocrat he naturally drifted through the Union party of those days into the repub- 
lican party. He supported Horace Greely for President, and since has been inde- 
pendent in politics. He is a member of the New York Law Institute, a life mem- 
ber of the State Bar Association, a member of the Brooklyn Bar Association, 
the Lawyer's Club. New York, the Brooklyn, Oxford, Montauk and Carlton 
Clubs, N. Y. Medico Legal Society and has for several years been President of 
the Wyandanch Club of Long Island. 

He married in 1863 Adelaide Eddy, daughter of Gen. W. Eddy, of Water- 
ford, N. Y., and had issue Grace Adelaide, born May 1. 1875, died Sept. 24, 1893; 
Christine Eddy, born Oct. 25, 1877, died Aug. 24, 1896. Both children were bap- 
tised by the Rev. Henry Ward Beecher. 

WOODHULL AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 

The Woodhull family is one of the earliest mentioned in English history. 
being traced by well authenticated proofs to a certain soldier of fortune, one 
Walter of Flanders, who came from Normandy into England, with William 
the Conqueror in 1066. After the conquest he was created Lord of Wahull 



102 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

(now Wodhull or Odhull), County of Bedfordshire, and at the time of the 
General Survey, he held as feudal lord considerable estates in Bedfordshire 
and Northamptonshire Counties, as shown in the " Domesday Book." To this 
Walter succeeded Walter de Wahull, whose descendant in the ninth generation 
was Thomas de Wahull, summoned to Parliament as Baron on the 28th of 
Jan., 1297, 25th Edward I. He died in 1304 seized of the Barony of Wahull, 
as also of the manor of Wahull in the County of Bedford and Pateshill, in 
Northamptonshire, leaving by his wife Hawise, daughter of Henry Praers, an 
infant son and heir, John de Wahull, who although possessing the honors of 
Wahull, had no similar summons to Parliament, nor had any of his descend- 
ants. He died in the 10th Edward III., leaving two sons, whose line termi- 
nated in heiresses, and Nicholas, whose descendant in the sixth generation was 
Sir Nicholas Woodhull, Knight, who, by his second wife, Elizabeth, daughter 
and co-heir of Sir William Parr, Lord Parr of Horton, had Fulk Woodhull. 
ancestor of the Woodhulls of Thenford. He was Lord of the manor of Then- 
ford in the reign of James I. and Elizabeth, and died in 1613. By his wife Alice, 
daughter of William Coles of Leigh, he had, with other issue, Lawrence Wood- 
hull, whose son, Richard, was born at Thenford. 

Richard Woodhull (i), the common ancestor of the Woodhull family 
in America, was the son of Lawrence Woodhull, and was born in Thenford, 
Eng., Sep. 13, 1620. He came to this country in 1659, with a company of 
fifty-five gentlemen, and settled at Saugus — now known as Lynn, Mass. He 
removed thence to Jamaica. Long tsland, where his name appears associated 
with the early settlers of that place; but disliking the measures of the Dutch 
government, he left the western part of the Island, and seated himself perma- 
nently at Setauket, then called Cromwell Bay, or Ashford, and became one of 
the most useful and valuable citizens of that place. His particular knowledge 
in surveying and drawing conveyances, rendered his services invaluable at that 
early period of the settlement, and his name is found associated with most of 
the transactions of the town during his life. He died Oct. 17, 1690. He married 
Deborah , and left three children, Richard, Nathaniel and Deborah. 

Richard Woodhull (2), son of Richard (1) and Deborah ( ) 

Woodhull, was born at Setauket, Oct. 9. 1649; died there Nov. 24, 1767. Like 
his father he was an intelligent and useful man. He was chosen Justice of the 
Court of Assize in 1678, and retained the office till his death. His knowledge 
and integrity endeared him to the people, and he died much lamented. He 
married, Aug. 19, 1680, Temperance, daughter of Rev. John Fordham, of 
Southampton, L. I. His sons were : Richard, Nathaniel, John and Josiah. 

By an original letter, now in possession of his descendants, it appears that 
a relationship existed with Thomas Crew, second Baron Crew of Stene, in the 
County of Northampton, and also the Rt. Rev. Nathaniel Crew, Lord Bishop 
of Durham. 

Richard Woodhull (3), eldest son of Richard (2) and Temperance 
(Fordham) Woodhull, was born in Setauket, Nov. 2, 1691. He inherited his 
father's estate at Setauket. He was magistrate for many years, and was in 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. K>j 

all respects a useful and highly exemplary man. He married Mary, daughter 
of John Homan, and had issue: Richard, Mary, Nathan, Stephen, Henry and 
Phebe. 

Nathaniel Woodhull, second son of Richard (2) and Temperance 
(Fordham) Woodhull. was born at Setauket, L. I., in 1682. He settled on land 
devised to him at Mastic, L. I., where he died March 9, 1760. lie married 
Sarah, daughter of Richard Smith of Smithtown, L. I. He had issue: Hannah, 
born Feb. 25, 1718; Temperance, born March 15. 1720; General Nathaniel, 
born Dec. 30, 1722: Dorothy, born Nov. 29, 1724: Sarah, born Feby. 9. 1726; 
Richard, born May 22, 1729; Colonel Jesse Smith, born Feb. 10, 1732; Juliana, 
born April 6, 1736; Deborah, born March 5, 1738; Ruth, born Dec. 5, 1740; 
Ebenezer, born Feb. 2, 1742. Of these, Jesse Smith and Ebenezer settled in 
Orange County, N. Y., and left issue. 

GENERAL NATHANIEL WOODHULL, Soldier of the Revo- 
lution, third child and eldest son of Nathaniel and Sarah (Smith) Woodhull, 
was born at George manor. Mastic, L. I.. Dec. 30, 1732. His early life was 
spent in assisting his father to cultivate the possession he inherited. His first 
public employment was in a military capacity in the war between Great Britain 
and France — 1754-1760. He was appointed Major in the provincial forces of 
New York, and served in that capacity in the army under General Abercrom- 
bie, intended for the reduction of Ticonderoga and Crown Point, and distin- 
guished himself by his daring and bravery in the assault on Ticonderoga. He 
afterwards accompanied Bradstreet against Fort Frontenac, which capitulated 
under the assault. In 1760 he served as Colonel of the Third Regiment, New 
York Provincials, under Gen. Amherst, which marched against Montreal and 
effected the final reduction of Canada. Colonel Woodhull was a representative 
from Suffolk County, N. Y.. in the Colonial Assembly in 1769; he was ap- 
pointed by the Provincial Congress, Aug. 22. 1775, Brigadier-General of the 
militia of Suffolk and Queens Counties, L. I. On the 28th of August, 1775. 
General Woodhull was elected President of the Provincial Congress, which 
office he held in the body that succeeded it in 1776. under the new form of 
government, which assembled on the 9th of July, Gen. Woodhull was chosen 
President, and continued in office until the 25th of August, when, in accordance 
with the resolution of the Convention, adopted the day previous, he took com- 
mand of the militia at Jamaica. A detailed account of his operations after 
this date is given in the history of the Battle of Long Island. 

The talents of General Woodhull were peculiarly adapted to a military 
station. With personal courage he possessed judgment, decision and firmness 
of character, tempered with conciliatory manners, which commanded the respect 
and obedience of his troops, and at the same time secured their confidence and 
esteem. 

Field says of him: "The high station which he had held in the councils 
of the revolutionists, the grand moderation of his character, combined with 
the firmness, patriotism and self-devotion for which he was remarkable, would 
under any circumstances have given him an honorable reputation. But when 



104 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

the acts of his pure life were crowned with the final sacrifice of martyrdom, 
Gen. Woodhull's name was enrolled among his country's noblest heroes." 

Gen. Woodhull died at New Utrecht, L. I., Sep. 10, 1776, from wounds 
received by the attack of British soldiers on Aug. 28. [For full account see 
History of the Battle of Long Island.] He married Ruth, daughter of Henry 
Nicoll, and had issue: one daughter, Elizabeth, born Nov. 30, 1762. 

They had one son, Nathaniel, who died in infancy. 

COLONEL JESSE SMITH WOODHULL, Soldier of the Revo- 
lution, seventh child and third son of Nathaniel and Sarah (Smith) Woodhull; 
and a brother of Gen. Nathaniel, was born at Mastic, L. I., Feb. 10, 1732; 
he died in Orange County, N. Y., Feb. 14, 1795. He removed to Orange 
County, N. Y.. about 1753, and purchased a tract of 500 acres at Blagg's Clove, 
in the town of Blooming Grove (formerly a part of Cornwall). He was a leading 
man in the county before the Revolution, and was conspicuous in all the public 
events that led up to it. He was a delegate to the first Provincial Convention, 
April 20, 1775. He raised the first regiment in Cornwall, and bore a prominent 
part in the exciting events which took place along the banks of the Hudson, 
especially in the autumn of 1777. The account states that "About the 20th of 
September, while Howe was marching into Philadelphia, and Burgoyne had 
reached Saratoga, over three thousand British soldiers arrived in New York, 
and there joined the armament of Sir Henry Clinton, then in waiting, and in 
a few days started to force their way up the Hudson. Misleading Gen. Putnam 
by feigning an attack on Peekskill, the force of the enemy crossed the river to 
Stony Point, marched around the western base of the Dunderburg (Oct. 7), 
appeared before the forts. The militia of the district, about 600 in number, that 
had hastily been called in the day previous, united with the garrison, and made 
a most heroic defense, fighting against superior numbers until twilight, when 
they gave way and made a scattered retreat, leaving about 300 of their number 
in killed, wounded and prisoners. "Col. Woodhull's regiment lost heavily in this 
engagement. He was conspicuous in the succeeding events, and was con- 
stantly on the alert to guard against surprise. After the massacre of the 
inhabitants at Minisink by the Indians. July 22, 1779, "detachments from Wood- 
hull's, Allison's and Hathorn's regiments were immediately sent to guard the 
frontier from further incursion." Col. Hathorn, in his report to Gov. Clinton, 
■-ays: "I have acquiesced with Col. Woodhull in ordering one-eighth of our 
Regiments to Minisink as a temporary guard until your Excellency's pleasure 
is known on the subject." 

Col. Woodhull continued in active service until the close of the war, and 
afterwards became prominent in the political affairs of the County. He was a 
graduate of Yale College and well qualified for the various public positions he 
was called upon to fill. He was a member of the State Convention that ratified 
the Federal Constitution. June 17, 1788. He was a member of the first Senate, 
being associated with Philip Livingston,' John Morin Scott, William Floyd, 
Abraham Yates, Jr., Pierre Van Cortlant, Jonathan Lawrence and other dis- 
tinguished men of that period. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 105 

Col. Woodhull married Hester, daughter of Capt. Louis Du Bois, and had 
issue : Nathaniel, Richard, Sarah, Renilihe, Hannah, Jesse and Ebenezer. 

Ebenezer, youngest son of Col. Jesse Woodhull, settled at Herkimer, 
Herkimer Co., N. Y., in the Mohawk Valley, about the year 1804, upon a tract 
of land bought of Peter Gansvoort and Jeremiah Van Rensselaer. He served 
with honor through the war of 1812. 

He married Sarah, daughter of Hezekiah Tallcott, first Judge of Herkimer 
Co., and had issue: Richard, Eunice, Sarah, Hester, Calvin, Mary, Hezekiah, 

Calvin, son of Ebenezer, was born at Herkimer April 4, 1813; moved to 
Schuyler County, N. Y., 1853; married Gertrude, daughter of Waterman Wat- 
kins, and had issue : Sarah, Jesse, Charles. 

JESSE CALVIN WOODHULL. New York Society of the Sons of 
the Revolution, son of Calvin, born at Oriskany, Oneida Co., Sept. 11. 1^47. 
He attended the district school and academy at Havana. Schuyler Co.. N. Y. — 
now Montour Falls — and began his business career in early youth. He moved 
to Brooklyn in 1878, and has been identified with many business enterprises 
in that city and in New York, principal among which was the Yellow Pine 
lumber business, of which he was among the first to engage in it extensively. 
He has been for some years connected with the First Reformed Church, and 
is at present an elder. He is also President of the P. M. M. Fraternity, which 
has its rooms in the Dutch Arms: member of the Montauk Club, and has been 
active in the Republican party. He married Sept. 3d, 1873. Ann Maria Bergen, 
daughter of Gilbert S. Bergen, a descendant of Hans Hansen Bergen, who 
settled on Manhattan Island. 

Their children are: Gertrude, deceased; Gilbert, Caroline, Anna, Jesse. 

JACKSON.— CONOVER.— CONROW. 

Two or more distinct lines of the Jackson family are represented among 
the early settlers of this country; one as a descendant of the English, another, 
of the Irish branch — both, however, having a common origin, as the family 
has been prominent in England for more than three hundred years. The name 
of Francis appears in both branches, as a founder of churches and schools: Bak- 
er in his history of Northamptonshire, speaking of Dreddington, says: "Francis 
Jackson had a good stone house there, and the church contains many memorials 
of the family." His ancestor founded the school referred to more than a 
hundred years previous. 

Burke mentions a Francis Jackson of the Devonshire family, who passed 
over into Kent, Ireland, as captain of dragoons in Cromwell's army, purchasing 
extensive landed property in the barony of Trawley, County of Mayo. He 
built a large fortified house at Enniscoe on the banks of the Lough Conn, and 
at his own expense erected the church of Crossmoline. within which he was 
buried. 

Edward Jackson, of London, an early settler of Boston, Mass., gave Har- 
vard College "two acres of land, books, manuscripts, etc.," Robert Jackson, 
one of the original settlers of Hempstead, L. I., was magistrate under the 



106 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Dutch government, 1659, and one of the delegates to the Convention held in 
1665, after the English occupation, which adopted the code of laws for the 
Colony, known as the " Duke's Laws." 

The first mention of the name of Jackson in West Jersey is that of Francis 
Jackson, who, in 1675, bought Hugh Dykeman's share of land. In 1686 a 
warrant for land was granted by Proprietors to Francis Jackson; also January, 
1687, for 179 acres and March 16, 1687, for 100 acres. He died about 1698. 
His connection with Hugh Dykman may account for the frequent name of Hugh 
in later generations. The same year of Francis Jackson's death, a Jackson came 
into Court and, chose George Curlies his guardian; his first name is not 
clearly written in court records, but it is probably Hugh and the date being 
the same year that Francis Jackson died, leads to the inference that he was the 
eldest son of the said Francis. 

Hugh Jackson (i) was no doubt the son of Francis Jackson. In 1719 
he bought lands from Nicholas Brown, of Burlington County, his " loving 
brother-in-law," land in Monmouth then occupied by said Jackson. It appears 
by this that he married a Miss Brown and had a son Hugh, and probably 
other children. 

Hugh Jackson (2), son of Hugh and (Brown) Jackson, was 

born probably in Monmouth County, N. J., about 1725 or 30. He married 

Mary , and had a son Hugh-, also William, Peter, Isaac, Joseph, Mary, 

and Mercy. 

Hugh Jackson (3), son of Hugh (2) and Mary ( ) Jackson, was 

born in Monmouth County, N. J., March 25, 1754; died Sept. 10, 1834. He 
lived in Lower Squankum, where he carried on a fulling mill for many years; 
also an iron furnace, where he began the manufacture of iron grates, among 
the first made in this country. He was a prominent member of the Society of 
Friends, and gave the land at Lower Squankum to build a " Meeting House," 
the first in this locality. He married Rebecca Morris, daughter of Job Morris 
and Mary Ainsley. She died April 8, 1806, and he subsequently married 
Lafetra, daughter of James Lafetra, who died Jan. 20. 1842. Hugh Jackson 
died Sep. 10, 1834, and was buried in the Friends' burying ground at Lower 
Squankum. They had issue: Deborah, born Nov. 27, 1782; Morris, born 

April 1, 1786; a son unnamed, born 1787; Rebecca, born Aug. 31, 1788; Hugh 
born Oct. 9, 1790; Peter, born April 2^, 1792; William, born March 26, 1794; 
Isaac, born October 9, 1795; Rebecca, died young; James M., born Sep. II, 
1797; Mary, born March 19, [799; Anne, born Feb. 25, 180 1 ; Benjamin, born 
Nov. 11, 1803; died soon. Nathan H., born August 15, 1805. 

Deborah married William H. Clayton, and had Rebecca, David, Jackson, 
Peter. Rebecca, Mary Ann. Lydia. James and Gifford. Morris married Merebie 
Smith and had Thomas, Rebecca, Sarah, Mary, Amos, Joseph and Morris. 
Hugh married Ann Furman, and had Jane. Mary, Furman, Thomas and Hugh. 
Peter married Deborah Johnson, and had Charles, James L., William, Edward. 
John and Peter. William married Ann Conover, and had Morris, Rachel, Asa, 
Peter, Rebecca. Susan and William Lewis. William's first wife died, and he 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. lu/ 

married 2d Martha Waldron, and had James L.. George H. and Elwood. 
James M. married, Jan. 31, 1827, Mary Ann King, and had Sarah Fisher, 
Samuel King, Elizabeth Jones, James Elwood, Edwin Atles and William Mor- 
ris. Mary married Barnes Throckmorton, and had Austin. Mary, Jackson, 
Job and William Nathan. Ann married Adam Hampton, and had Emeline, 
Mary D., Adam H., Elwood, Elizabeth and John. 

Nathan H. Jackson, youngest child of Hugh (3) and Rebecca (Morris) 
Jackson, was born at Lower Squankum, N. J., Aug. 15, 1805; died Feb. 3, 1854. 
He went to New York City at the age of sixteen and learned the trade of grate 
making with his brother Peter, and afterwards entered into partnership with 
him and his brother William, under the firm name of W. & N. Jackson Co. 
in 1827. The eldest brother, Peter, was the pioneer, being the first to establish 
the business in New York City. The grates at this time were made of wrought 
iron, by hand, and the brass fixtures imported from Germany. This means of 
heating gradually took the place of the wood stove, and was principally used 
for heating houses until the introduction of coal stoves and the substitution 
of anthracite for bituminous coal. Peter carried on the business in the Bowery. 
while Nathan and his brother William were located at the corner of Front 
street and Peck slip, where they did a successful business for many years, and. 
in 1851, their sons, Peter and William H. Jackson, joined them under the firm 
name of W. & N. Jackson & Sons. 

Nathan H. Jackson married Sarah, daughter of Ebenezer Conover. son ot 
Lewis Covenhoven, the Revolutionary ancestor, son of Peter, son of William. 
aoii of Peter, son of William, son of Garret Wolferson, son of Wolfert Gar- 
retson Van Cowenhoven. 

Wolfert Gerretson Van Cowenhoven. the common ancestor of the Cowen- 
hoven, Kovvenhoven, or Covenhoven, or Conover family in this country, emi- 
grated from Amersfoort, in the Province of Utrecht, in Holland, Anno 1630, 
with the colonists who settled Rensselacrwick. near Albany, where he was 
employed by the Patroon as superintendent of farms. He afterwards resided 
on Manhattan Island, where he cultivated the Company "Bouwery." or "farm 
No. 6," and in 1657 was enrolled among the Burghers of New Amsterdam. 
On the 16th of June, 1636, he, together with Andrew Hudden. bought of the 
Indians and obtained from Governor Van Twiller, on the 16th of June. 1037. 
a Patent for the " Westermost of the three flats on Long Island commonly 
known as the little flats." This patent was ratified Aug. 22. 1658, and they 
removed thence in 1662. Wolfert Gerretson's children who came with him 
were: Genet Wolferson, Jacob Wolfnson and Peter Wolferson.. 

Gerret Wolferson Couwenhoven. eldest son of Wolfert Garretson Van 
Couwenhoven, was born in Holland in 1610; came with his parents to America 
in 1630, and settled at Flatlands, Long Island in 1636. In 1653 he, with others, 
signed a petition to Governor Kieft of New Amsterdam for leave to attack the 
Marick Kawick or Brooklyn Indians, a branch of the Canarisie tribe. The 
Director, however, in consequence of these. Indians having become peaceable. 



108 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

wisely refused to grant the request, but gave permission " in case they were 
a hostile disposition any man must do his best to defend himself." 

Gerrett Wolferson Couwenhoven was a Magistrate in 1644. In 1635 he 
married, at Flatlands, Altie Cornelis, daughter of Cornelis Lambertse Cool, 
of Gowanus. They had four children, of whom William Gerretse was the eldest. 

Willem Gerretse Couwenhoven, eldest son of Gerret Wolferson and Altie 
Cornelis (Cool) Couwenhoven, was born at Flatlands in 1636. He resided first 
in Brooklyn, and was one of the founders and a Deacon of the First Reformed 
Church of that town. In July. 1727. he conveyed his farm at Flatlands to his 
son William, when it is supposed he removed -to Monmouth County, N. J. He 
married, in 1660, Altie, daughter of Jovis Dercksen Brinkerhoff; she died June, 
1663; he married 2d, Feb. 12, 1665, Jannetie or Jonica Monford, daughter ol 
Peter Monfoort. By his second wife he had issue : Peter. 

Peter Couwenhoven, son of William Gerretse and Altie (Brinkerhoff) 
Couwenhoven, was born in Brooklyn, Feb. 12, 1671 ; he married, about 1700, 
Patience, daughter of Elias Daws. He removed with his parents to Monmouth 
County, N. J., in 1727, and settled on a farm near Freehold; he died in 1755. 
He had issue William. 

William Couwenhoven, or Covenhoven, son of Peter and Patience (Daws) 
Couwenhoven, was born May 3, 1706. He married May 1, 1724, Maryake Colyer 
(born 1706). He resided at Englishtown, N. J. He died in 1777; his wife died 
Jan. 30, 1777. They had issue Peter and other childrren. 

Peter Conover, son of William and Maryake (Colyer) Couwenhoven, was 
born May, 1726. He married July 5, 1749, Anna, daughter of Thomas Davis, 
and had a son Lewis. 

LEWIS CONOVER, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Peter and Anna 
(Davis) Conover, was born Sept. 9, 1752. He resided near Freehold or at 
Rumson, N. J. He served in the War of the Revolution and was Sergeant of 
Infantry, New Jersey troops, in Capt. William Remsen's Troop of Light Horse; 
was bearer of dispatches to Gen. Washington at the battle of Monmouth; he 
served two years with the Connecticut troops as Sergeant; a part of the tune 
being under the command of Col. Nicholas Van Brunt and Col. George 
Taylor. He was granted a pension on application made July 31. 1832, being 
at that time a resident of Freehold, 79 years of age. Pension was also allowed 
for two years' service as Sergeant with the Connecticut troops. He married 
about 1780. He died May 27, 1843; she died April 5. 1813. They had issue: 
Ebenezer, Joseph, Ann, Lena. 

Ebenezer Conover. son of Lewis and Rachel (Scott) Conover, was born 
Oct. 5, 1783. He resided near Freehold, N. J. He married, Dec. 7, 1807, Mary 
Lefferson, daughter of Ouke Lefferson and Sarah Schenck (born Nov. 19. 1784)- 
He died Nov. 18, 1857; his wife died March 16, 1861. They had issue: Sarah, 
married Nathan H. Jackson, father of W. H. Jaekson, and Rachel, who married 
Adam Conrow, father of James Woolley, William Edward and Theodore 
Conrow. William E.. Mary Ann. J. Scott. Anthon L., and John B. 

Nathan II. Jackson, by his wife, Sarah Conover. daughter of Ebenezer 




WILLIAM Ho JACKS 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. . 10y 

Conover, had issue: William H. Edward, Alary Ann, E. Conover, Rebecca, 
Nathan and Edwin Augustus. 

WILLIAM H. JACKSON, Member Sons of the Revolution, eldest 
son of Nathan H. and Sarah (Conover) Jackson, was born on Cherry Street, 
near Franklin Square, New York, Feb. 21, 1829. [Cherry Street was at that time 
a fashionable locality for residences.] He was educated at the Mechanics' and 
Traders' School, a well-known educational institution in its day. On arriving 
at the proper age he entered his father's employ, where he acquired a thorough 
knowledge of the manufacture of grates. A branch store had been opened in 
the meantime at 891 Broadway, and after his father's death the business was 
divided, he taking charge of the up-town store, while his cousins — sons of 
William Jackson — continued the down-town store. William H. evinced great 
business capacity, and when left to himself his trade largely increased from year 
to year. He kept well abreast of the times, changing the styles and making 
various improvements as the demand required, employing at all times the most 
skilful artisans, and achieving a reputation far exceeding the highest expecta- 
tions or dreams of his predecessors. From the simple, plain wrought iron 
grate, costing but a few dollars, has grown the most elaborate and artistic 
work of house ornamentation of which the mind can conceive, and limited in 
cost only to the means of the purchaser. 

Mr. Jackson organized the Jackson Iron Works, one of the largest manu- 
factories of the kind in the country, as well as one of the most successful 
industries in the city, which has added largely to its wealth as well as to its 
beauty in various works of utility and ornamentation. As President of the 
company everything is under the personal supervision of Mr. Jackson, and 
both body and brain are just as active now as in the days of his youth, it can 
be said truly of him as of Sir Christopher Wren: 

" Si queris momentum 
Circumspice." 

Although one of the busiest of men, Mr. Jackson has found time to devote 
to religious, charitable and benevolent works. He is President of the General 
Synod of the Reformed Church, a member of the Reformed Church, trustee of 
the Presbyterian Hospital, member of the Museum of Natural History, the 
Metropolitan Museum of Art, Union League Club, New York Historical Society, 
Chamber of Commerce, Republican and Adelphi Clubs. 

Mr. Jackson married 1st Mary V. Applegate, daughter of O. Higby Apple- 
gate; 2d Sarah A. Job. By his first wife he had William F., Edward Augustus. 
Sarah L., Mary Anna, Laura, married Dr. Samuel K. Bremer; by his second 
wife he had a daughter, Ada. 

CONROW.— CONOVER. 

Rachel Conover (daughter of Ebenezer Conover), the wife of Adam Con- 
row, was sister to Sarah Conover, wife of Nathan H. Jackson, father of William 
H. Jackson. 



110 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Three brothers of the name of Conrow came to this country in the latter 
part of the seventeenth century, one of whom, Isaac, settled in Gloucester 
County, N. J. He had a son, Isaac (2). 

Isaac Conrow (2), son of Isaac (1), probably came with his father to this 
country, and settled in Gloucester County, N. J. He married Elinor Wright 
in 1730, and had three sons, Darling, Andrew and Thomas. It is highly 
probable that one of these brothers was the father of Levi Conrow but which 
of these does not appear on the records. He had three brothers, William, Luke 
and Darling. From the latter name it would appear that they were sons of 
Darling (1), son of Isaac (2), son of Isaac (1). 

Levi Conrow, grandson of Isaac (2) and Elinor (Wright) Conrow, and 
son, probably of Darling Conrow, was born March 29, 1781; died Sep. 17, 
1831; he married, 1806, Deborah Wooley, widow of William Conrow. They 
had issue: Adam. 

Adam Conrow, son of Levi and Deborah (Wooley) Conrow, was born at 
Squankum, Monmouth Co., N. J., in 1809. He attended the country school 
and learned something of the grate business, which was then being carried on 
in his native town. He came to New York in 1835, and was for some years 
associated with the Jacksons in the manufacture of grates, etc. He subse- 
quently carried on business for a time under the firm name of Hampden & 
Conrow, but for some years previous to his death he was associated with the 
firm of W. & N. Jackson. He led a quiet, uneventful life, but lived up to his 
convictions of right, and aimed to do good to his fellowmen. He married 
Rachel Conover, daughter of Ebenezer Conover (see Jackson — Conover family), 
and had issue: James W., Mary, married James Hanford, William E., 
Theodore, Sarah, married John H., Francis and Louisa, married Theodore 
D. Anderson. 

THEODORE CONROW, New York Society Sons of the Revolution, 
son of Adam and Rachel (Conover) Conrow, was born in New York 
City Dec. 14, 1844. After completing his education at the public school, he 
went with the firm of Thompson, White & Co. in the hat business, and remained 
there until i860. In 1861-3 he was with the old and well-known firm of Demas 
Barnes & Co. During the latter year he entered the employ of J. B. Ayres 
& Co., paper dealers, and subsequently became a partner in the firm, and on 
the death of Mr. Ayres the firm was reorganized under its present name. 
Conrow Bros., Theodore Conrow being the senior member. 

During the Civil War Mr. Conrow joined Company A., Twelfth Regiment, 
N. G. S. N. Y., which was called into active service in 1863, when Lee's army 
invaded Pennsylvania, and remained as a part of the reserves until after the 
battle of Gettysburg, being recalled soon after to protect New York City in 
the great draft riots of that year. He was afterwards transferred to Company 
A, Twenty-third Regiment of Brooklyn, being then a resident of that city, 
where he has since resided. He is a member of Lafayette Post, G. A. R., of 
New York City; of Montauk Club, Brooklyn, and of the New York Chamber 
of Commerce. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. Ill 

Mr. Conrow married, in 1873, Hettie Jeanette Stilwell, daughter of Samuel 
Stilwell, of Brooklyn, a descendant of an old Long Island family. 
Their children are: Erne Clarke and Helen Claire. 

WISNER.— ARMSTRONG.— WHEELER, etc. 

Little is known of the history of the Wisner family previous to their set- 
tlement in this country, but the character of the men is clearly indicated by 
the important service rendered during the French and Indian War and in the 
War of the Revolution. Every one who was of fighting age was a patriot, not 
one being found in the ranks of the enemy or even classed as a neutral. They 
were men of decided convictions, with the courage to maintain them. 

Johannes Wiesner, or Weesner, the American ancestor, a native of 
Switzerland, was a soldier in the allied army under the Prince of Orange and 
afterwards under the Duke of Marlborough in the war against Louis XIV. of 
France. When the war closed Queen Anne undertook to provide some of the 
foreign troops a home in the colony of New York. Among the emigrants were 
Johannes Wiesner, his wife, Elizabeth, his sons, Hendrick and Adam, the latter 
being born on the passage. These emigrants encamped for some time on 
Governor's Island. Johannes Wiesner availed himself of the first opportunity 
to provide for his family, and accepted a position on the farm of Christian 
Snedeker, at Hempstead, L. I. Snedeker owned land on the Wawayanda 
Patent, in Orange County, N. Y., and sent Wiesner there to bring part of it 
into cultivation. Wiesner's first purchase was the backwoods farm, June 23, 
1715, which was on the borders of the " Drowned Lands." In 1732 he bought 
a farm of 150 acres of Barent Bloom. His farm of 100 acres at Mount Eve 
went to his son Adam. Johannes was 38 years old when he arrived in America 
in 1714. By his wife Elizabeth he had issue: Hendrick, Adam, Katharine, 
Ann and Mary. Adam learned the Indian language and served as interpreter. 
He inherited from his father the 100 acres at Mount Eve. 

Hendrick Wisner, eldest son of Johannes and Elizabeth ( ) Wiesner, 

was born in England about 1698; died 1767. He came with his parents to 
America and settled in Orange County, N. Y. He made two purchases of 
land in Goshen township, one in 1726, the other in 1723. He married Miss 
Shaw, a New England woman, and had two sons, Henry and John. 

Henry Wisner, the second son, was especially distinguished for the active 
part he took in behalf of the colonies both before and during the Revolution. 
He was one of the most earnest advocates for the independence of the colonies, 
and it is claimed that he signed in his individual capacity the original draft 
of the Declaration of Independence. 

CAPT. JOHN WISNER. Patriot of the Revolution, son of Hendrick 

and (Shaw) Wisner, was born in Orange County, N. Y., about 1718. 

He is mentioned in the history of the county at a very early period as the 
enrolling oifficer. He was a comissioned officer during the French and Indian 
war, and during the Revolution he was Captain in trie Florida and Warwick 



112 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Regiment, Orange County, N. Y., Militia, commanded by Col. Isaac Nicoll. 
He saw much active service in the early part of the war. He was the proprietor 
of a tract of land embracing 2,000 acres, conferred by royal patent, embracing 
what was formerly known as the Wisner homestead. He removed the old log 
house and erected in its place a more pretentious house of stone. He married 
and had issue : John, Henry William, Asa, Anna, Charity, Hannah. 

LIEUT.-COLONEL HENRY WISNER, 3d Patriot of the Revolu- 
tion, son of Captain John and Wisner, was born in Orange 
County, in 1742. He was a most pronounced patriot and an active worker in 
the cause of independence long before the separation of the colonies from the 
mother country. He was commissioned Captain in the Florida and Warwick 
Regiment, Orange County, N. Y., Militia, Colonel John Hathorn, Sep. 22, 1775 
He was promoted Major Feb. 28, 1776. During this period he was frequently 
engaged in scouting expeditions. In April, 1777, while in command of a scout- 
ing expedition, he captured a party of thirteen Tories in the passes of Monroe 
Mountains while on their way to join the British. He was promoted Lieut.- 
Colonel of the same regiment Feb. 19, 1778, and was in constant service of some 
kind until the close of the war. He represented Dutchess and Ulster Counties 
in the State Legislature in 1782. He died Aug. 29, 181 1. He married Susan- 
nah Goldsmith, born 1745, daughter of Richard Goldsmith. They had issue: 
Gabriel, William, Mary, Abagail, Henry, Anna, John, Jeffrey, Susannah, Richard. 

Jeffrey Wisner, son of Henry and Susanna (Goldsmith) Wisner, was 
born April 20, 1769; died April 11, 1855. His educational advantages were 
limited to the village school, but withal he was a man of marked influence in 
the community. He was supervisor 1812-13, 1819-23, and for several successive 
years was justice of the peace. He rilled the several public positions with great 
ability, and was noted for his firmness of character and his even sense of 
justice, which he meted out to rich and poor alike without fear or favor. 
He was one of the pillars and deacon of the Baptist church at Warwick, and 
led an exemplary Christian life. He married Elizabeth Armstrong, daughter 
of William, son of William, son of Francis. 

The Armstrongs from a very early date have been noted for their military 
prowess. The family was in ancient times settled on the Scottish border, and 
springing from the parent stock, several branches at an early era became located 
in the northern counties of England, and later in Ireland. Tradition states that 
the original surname was Fairbairn, and that it was changed to Armstrong on 
the following occasion: An ancient King of Scotland, having his horse killed 
under him in battle, was immediately remounted by Fairbairn, his armor- 
bearer, on his own horse. For this timely assistance the King amply rewarded 
him with lands on the Borders, and to perpetuate the memory of so important 
a service, as well as the manner in which it was performed (for Fairbairn took 
the king by the thigh, and set him on the saddle), his royal master gave him 
the appellation of Armstrong (strong of arm), and assigned him for crest 
'" an armed hand and arm, in the hand a leg and foot in armour, couped at the 
thigh all ppr." 




*JT. A. WINNER* 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 113 

Another tradition states that one Armstrong, a Highland Chief, accepted 
the challenge of the champion of the opposite clan to single combat which had 
been given to any man in his clan — he killed his antagonist. The next day 
a similar challenge was given by another champion and again accepted by 
Armstrong, who killed his antagonist. The next day another challenge was 
given and accepted in the same manner. After the combat had been hotly 
maintained for a short time, Armstrong's horse was observed to turn back and 
come up to the ranks with his rider dead, but sitting upright in his saddle. 
Scott, in his " Lay of the Last Minstrel," says: 

"Ye need not go to Leddesdale, 

For when they see the blazing bale 
Elliotts and Armstrongs never fail." 

Francis Armstrong, the ancestor, came from Ulster County, Ireland, and 
landed in New York Dec. 10, 1728. He settled in Florida, N. Y., and became 
an elder of the Presbyterian church at that place. He had a son William, who 
also had a son William, who was the father of Elizabeth, wife of Jeffrey Wisner. 

Jeffrey Wisner, by his wife, Elizabeth (Armstrong) Wisner, had issue: 
Gabriel, born Oct. 16, 1818; Rensselaer J., born March 2, 1820; James, March 
17, 1822; Richard, Feb. 4, 1824; Jeffrey Amherst, Oct. 18, 1827; Mary E., June 
3, 1830; Vanness, Aug. 13, 1832. 

JEFFREY AMHERST WISNER was born in the old Wisner homestead 
at Warwick, New York, on October 18th, 1827, and was the youngest of five 
sons, the issue of Jeffrey Wisner and Elizabeth Armstrong. 

His father Jeffrey (son of Lieut.-Col. Henry Wisner (3) of Revolutianary 
fame) was not only one of the largest farmers about Warwick, but owned large 
tracts of land in Chemung County, much of it being where now stands the 
City of Elmira, N. Y. This tract of land was originally called Wisnerburg, 
and is now embraced by the blocks bounded by Baldwin, Water, West and 
Gray Streets in the City of Elmira, and Wisner Park receives its name from the 
donor — Jeffrey Wisner 

Jeffrey Amherst Wisner, N. Y. State Society Sons of the Revolution, 
the subject of this sketch, received his education at the District and High schools 
of Warwick. In 185 1 he married Mary Wheeler, the only daughter of Major 
James Wheeler of Wheelerville, then a stirring little hamlet some two miles west 
of the Village of Warwick. Lacking a robust constitution, and having no taste 
for farming, he joined his brother — Rensselaer Jay — and located in Pittston, 
Luzerne County, Pa., at about the time of the discovery of anthracite coal in 
that locality. They were the pioneers of West Pittston. and at once established a 
large foundry and engine works. Later on Jeffrey Amherst entered the milling 
business in East Pittston. He was the first Burgess of West Pittston, and one 
of the early attendants of the East Side Presbyterian Church. 

Three children were the issue of Jeffrey Amherst Wisner and Mary 



1X4 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Wheeler— Grace Aguilla, born at Warwick, and Clinton Wheeler and Mary, 
born in Pittson, the latter dying in infancy. 

After losing his wife, in i860, he moved to New York City and entered 
into the wholesale grocery business with Bonnell & Adams of Front Street, 
but soon retired to become one of the firm of Robert Seaman & Company in 
the same business. Their increasing business carried them into new quarters 
on the west side, and at the retirement of Mr. Seaman, the firm became Berry, 
Wisner, Lohman & Company. For many years this has been, and is to-day, 
a familiar sign at the corner of Murray and Greenwich Streets, although Mr. 
Wisner retired from active business some ten years ago. 

In 1864 Mr. Wisner married Sophronia Pierce, the only daughter of H. S. 
Pierce, a prominent banker of the anthracite regions of Pennsylvania. The 
surviving children of this issue are: Mrs. Kate W. Kingsbury, Horatio Sher- 
man and Sophie. 

Mr. Wisner has for many years lived in Brooklyn, and was one of the 
organizers of the Classon Avenue Presbyterian Church, and is still one of its 
Elders. He has always been an ardent Republican, and is an enthusiast in all 
things pertaining to Revolutionary days. As he grows ripe in years it is 
pleasant to note that his beautiful summer home is in the old town of his birth, 
in the beautiful Warwick Valley ,once the home of the Algonquins. 

CLINTON W. WISNER. New York State Society Sons of the Rev 
olution, son of Jeffrey A., and Mary (Wheeler) Wisner, was born at West 
Pittston, Pa., July 30, 1856. After the death of his mother he lived for eight 
years with his uncle. After his father established a home in Brooklyn he joined 
him there, where he enjoyed good educational advantages. His first business 
experience was with the well known New York dry goods firm of Bartlett 
Beery Reed & Co., and later with George C. Chase & Co., importers of tea. 
At the end of three years he severed his connection with this firm and joined 
his father in the wholesale grocery business, representing the house in Penn- 
sylvania and Michigan for the succeeding twelve years. He seems to have 
inherited the qualities of the Armstrongs as well as the Wisners, for he has 
enjoyed uninterrupted success during his entire business career and acquired 
a competence by his own exertions early in life. 

In 1888 he became the executor of the estate of H. S. Pearce. a million- 
aire banker of Scranton, Pa. The care of this estate, which has been success- 
fully managed, has since occupied most of the time of Air. Wisner. He is 
interested, however, in other business enterprises, all of which have profited by 
his wisdom and good judgment as well as by his marked executive ability and 
business sagacity. He has interests in two large coal mines in Pennsylvania, is 
a director of the First National Bank of Carbondale, Pa., and of the Scranton, 
Pa., Electric-light Works, and President of the Warwick Valley Light & Power 
Company. 

Veneration for the ancestral home led him in 1884 to make this his perma- 
nent place of residence, and that year he built for himself a handsome home, 
which is one of the attractions of the old Town of Warwick. Amid these 



SONS OF THK REVOLUTION. 



"5 



surroundings he can point with pride to the home of his ancestors, who per- 
formed a noble part as founders and defenders of civil and religious liberty. 
The allied families of Mr. Wisner include some of the leading families of the 
State, and these connections render him eligible to membership in the various 
colonial and patriotic societies of the country, some of which he has availed 
himself of. His fellow citizens have shown their appreciation of his efforts to 
promote the growth and prosperity of the town by electing him Mayor for 
five consecutive terms. He received the Republican nomination for Assembly 
in 1892, but was defeated by a small majority. He is President of the Republican 
Club of Warwick, and has represented his town as a Delegate to the State 
Conventions for several years. His religious connections are with the Reformed 
Dutch Church, of which he is a deacon. 




CLINTON W. WISNER. 



110 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Mr. Wisner married Martha Willing of Warwick, daughter of Thomas, 
son of Thomas (3J, son of Thomas UJ» son of Thomas (ij. 

The Yv Mings are of Welch descent, and were among the early settlers of 
Long Island. 

Thomas Welling, the ancestor, purchased lands there in 1704, and subse- 
quently moved to Orange County, N. Y., where he acquired land embracing a 
portion of the village of Warwick. His children were: Thomas, Richard and 
John. 

Thomas Welling (2), son of Thomas (1), married Sibyl Beardsley, of Sussex 
County, N. J., and had issue: Thomas, Edward L., John, Hannah, Charles, 
Anna, Elizabeth, Lois. 

Thomas Welling (3), son of Thomas (2) and Sibyl (Beardsley) Welling, 
was born July 8, 1786. He married Ann Coleman, and had John L., William 
R., Thomas, Elizabeth, Harriet, Hannah, Ephilia and Samuel. 

Thomas Welling (4), son of Thomas (3) and Ann (Coleman) Welling, was 
born April 27, 1830. He is a successful and progressive farmer and a prominent 
citizen of the town, an elder in the Dutch Reformed Church and active in 
mission and other benevolent work. He married Caroline, daughter of Aaron 
Van Duzer, of Goshen, and had issue: William R., Thomas, Jr., Edward L. 
{Martha, married to Clinton W. Wisner), Mariana, Elizabeth, Carrie H., 
Sarah Mc C. 

Clinton YV. Wisner and his wife, Martha Welling had issue: Grace Ethel, 
John Welling, Jeffrey Amherst, Thomas Welling — the last two named being 
twins — Clinton, Jr., and Gladys. 

Thomas Welling (5), son of Thomas (4), was born on the old Welling 
homestead at Warwick, April 26, 1864, and married Marie Louise Van Duzer, 
daughter of J. Harvey Van Duzer and Sarah Taylor, both of Warwick. 

Thomas Welling (6), son of Thomas (5), was born on April 3, 1896. 

It is quite remarkable that five of the six generations of Thomas Wellings 
were born in the same house that the present Thomas, a baby of scarce three 
years, has its home. 

TYLER.— MASON.— WHITING. 

As far back as the record extends this name is found to be of English 
origin. One Watt Tyler led a rebellion against Richard II., June, 1381, sacked 
Lambeth Palace and seized the Tower. The name is mentioned among the 
Royal Families of England. 

Job Tyler, the American ancestor, was born in Shropshire, Eng., in 
1619, and was one of the founders of Andover, Mass., in 1640. He was a leading 
man in the town, and frequent mention is made of him in the early records. 
He was in Rhode Island two years before he went to Andover, and married 
there Maria . He had a son Samuel. 

Samuel Tyler, son of Job and Marie ( ) Tyler, was born in 1655, 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. H7 

and died in Mendon, Mass., 1695. He married Hannah — — , and had a son 
Ebenezer. 

Ebenezer Tyler, son of Samuel and Hannah ( ) Tyler, was born 

at Mendon, Mass., 1685; died at Attleboro, Mass., 1736. He married Catherine 
Bragg, and had issue: Capt. John and others. 

CAPT. JOHN TYLER, Soldier of the Revolution, son of Ebenezer 
and Catherine (Bragg) Tyler, was born at Attleboro, Mass., Jan 18, 724; died 
there Jan. 11, 1794. He is mentioned as " Captain John " two years before the 
Revolution, and probably received his title in the French and Indian War. 
Dec. 6, 1774, the town " established a Superior and Inferior Court to hear and 
determine controversies." Capt. John Tyler was appointed one of the " seven 
Inferior Judges." Captain John Tyler marched to the " Lexington Alarm," 
also to the "Bunker Hill Alarm." Ten persons by the name of Tyler went from 
Attleboro to serve in the War of the Revolution. He married Anna Black- 
ington, and had issue : ■ "Deacon" John and others. 

DEACON JOHN TYLER. Soldier of the Revolution, known as 
John Tyler, Jr., son of John and Anna (Blackington) Tyler, was born at Attle- 
boro, Mass., April 26, 1746; died at Mount Ararat, Pa., May 22. 1822. He 
marched with his father to the " Lexington Alarm," and his name again appears 
on the muster roll of the Attleboro troops as a member of Capt. Ebenezer 
May's Company. Aug. 22, 1778, to Sep. 24. In the fall of 1794 John Tyler, 
wife and children, Job, Joab, Achsah, and others, came from the Delaware to 
the Susquehanna at the rate of ten miles per day. He was chosen deacon of 
the Harford Church in 1803. He removed to Mt. Ararat and served in the 
same capacity. He was the agent of Henry Dinker in the disposal of lands on 
the headquarters of the Tunkhannock and Lackawanna. This gave him influ- 
ence in the community, which his wife Mercy, by her untiring and unselfish 
efforts in behalf of the sick, gained much more in the sphere allotted to him. 
His wife (to whom he was married June, 1768) was Mercy Thacher. a descend- 
ant of Rev. Peter Thacher, pastor of the old South Church in Boston. The 
second son of this marriage was Joab. 

Joab Tyler, second son of John and Mercy (Thacher) Tyler, was born 
in Attleboro, Mass., June 23, 1784. He removed with his father to Harford. 
and when his father removed to Mount Ararat, he took his place in civil and 
religious affairs. He was a man of great liberality and contributed freely to the 
erection of church and schoolhouses; he built miles of turnpike and plank 
road at his own expense. To his public spirit Harford owed much of its 
growth and prosperity. At great pecuniary sacrifice early in the temperance 
reformation he bought out his partner's interest in the distilling busines-. and 
stopped the sale of spirituous products. He died at Amherst, Mass.. Jan. 13. 
1869. He married Nabby, daughter of Dea. Jonathan and Abigail (Hart) 
Seymour of Otsego, N. Y. She was a descendant of Richard Seymour, one of 
the founders of Hartford, 1639. Her grandfather, Eleakim Seymour, born in 
Connecticut, Oct. 1757, was with Arnold at the storming of Quebec in December, 
T775. and assisted in carrying Arnold from the field after he was wounded. He 



Il8 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

also served with the Connecticut militia at the battle of Bemas Heights, and other 
engagements around Saratoga, which resulted in the surrender of Burgoyne. 

John Tyler, by his wife, Nabby (Seymour) Tyler, had a son, William Sey- 
mour. 

Prof. William Seymour Tyler, eldest son of Job and Nabby (Sey- 
mour) Tyler, was born in Harford. Pa., Sep. 2, 1810. He was graduated at 
Amherst, in 1830, was tutor there till 1834; studied in Andover Theological 
Seminary. He was licensed to preach in 1836, and from that date till 1847 was 
Professor of Latin and Greek at Amherst, and later of Greek only. He was 
ordained without charge by a Congregational Council at Amherst, and although 
he never was a pastor, he frequently preached as a supply for other churches. 
He twice visited Europe and the East. Harvard gave him the degree of D. D. 
in 1857, and Amherst that of LL. .D. in 1871. He is the author of a number 
of works, notably: " History of Amherst College," " Prayer for Colleges," 
"Theology of Greek Poets," etc.; he has edited editions of several Greek 
authors. He was for many years President of the Board of Trustees of. Mount 
Holyoke Seminary and College and Williston Seminary, and a member of the 
Board of Trustees of Smith College, Northampton. He died at Amherst at the 
age of eighty-eight, Nov. 19, 1898. 

Prof. Tyler married Amelia Ogden Whiting, daughter of Mason and Mary 
(Edwards) Whiting. The Whiting family was one of the most distinguished 
in the State of Connecticut. 

The Honorable William Whiting, the ancestor of this branch of the 
Whiting family, is called one of the fathers of Connecticut. He and Major 
General John Mason (the hero of the Pequot War), are named among the 
principal characters who undertook, in the year 1636, the great work of settling 
Conecticut, and were the civil and religious fathers of the colony. Mr. Whiting 
came to America from England and settled at Newtown (now Cambridge), 
Mass. He was a devoted friend and disciple of Rev. Thos. Hooker, called "The 
Light of the Western Churches." When Mr. Hooker, after his arrival (1633) 
in America, having for three years resided at Newtown, removed (in 1636) to 
Connecticut with about a hundred of his company, Mr. Whiting was one of his 
co-operators in founding the colony at Hartford. Frequent mention is made of 
him as " one of the fathers of the colony." He and his friend, Capt. Mason 
(afterwards Gen. Mason), were for many years distinguished leaders of the 
colonies. Both were members of the General Court for many years. Mr. 
Whiting was also a magistrate, and in 1643 was made Treasurer of the colony. 

Rev. Samuel Whiting, second son of Rev. John and Sibyl (Collins) 
Whiting, was born in Hartford in 1670: died at Enfield, Conn., 1725. His 
wife was Elizabeth Adams, daughter of Rev. William Adams, of Dedham, Mass. 
Her mother was Alice Bradford, daughter of Deputy-Governor William Brad- 
ford, son of Governor William Bradford, of the Mayflower, and his wife. 
Alice Southworth. The fourth son of this marriage was William Whiting. 

Col. William Whiting, fourth son of Rev. Samuel Whiting, served 
with distinction in the French war. He " gained much applause " for his gal- 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 1 19 

lant conduct at Louisburg, and was made Captain in the regular British 
service. In the battle of Sept. 8, 1755. under Sir William Johnson. Lieut.-Col. 
Whiting added to his fame. When Col. Ephraim Williams was sent to meet 
the French at Glens Falls, Lieut.-Col. Whiting brought up the rear. The 
American troops were defeated by superior numbers, and Col. Whiting " con- 
ducted the retreat with great judgment to the admiration of the French general." 

DR. WILLIAM WHITING, Patriot of the Revolution, second son 
of Colonel William and Anna (Raymond) Whiting, was born at Bozrah, Conn.. 
April 8, 1730. He resided in Hartford for a time and removed thence 
to Great Barrington, Mass., where he was " considered the first physician in 
the country as to medical knowledge." He was a man of genius, and proved of 
great assistance to the colonists in their early struggle for independence by his 
successful experiments in the manufacture of gunpowder. Hon. Robert Treat 
Paine, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, says: " I have 
lately caused your methods to be reported and have sent it to all the colonies." 
Dr. Whiting represented the Towns of Egremont and Alford in the Massa- 
chusetts Provincial Congress of Deputies, held at Cambridge in February. 
1775. He was " empowered and directed to collect all Province arms which are 
in the County of Berkshire." In May, 1775, when the Provincial Congress met 
at Watertown, he represented the four towns of Sheffield, Great Barrington, 
Egremont and Alford; and was charged with the furnishing medicines for the 
army. The House of Representatives of Massachusetts, Aug. 23. 1775, resolved 
"That Dr. Whiting, Deacon Baker, of Boston, and Capt. John Peck, be 
a committee, whose business it shall be, faithfully and diligently to apply them- 
selves to the manufacture of saltpetre, etc., and that Dr. Whiting procure the 
reprinting the several methods recommended by the Hon. Continental Con- 
gress, for making saltpetre, etc." On the 6th of October, 1775, the Doctor, as 
Chairman of this Committee, reported in writing that he had attended to the 
matter with the happiest results. Dr. Whiting married Anna, daughter of 
Jeremiah (3) and Mary (Clark) Mason, son of Jeremiah (2), son of Jere- 
miah (1), who was the son of Major General John Mason, the hero of the 
Pequot war. They had, among other children, a son Mason. 

Mason Whiting, son of Dr. William and Anna (Mason) Whiting, married 
Mary, daughter of Timothy Edwards; was a lawyer and one of the founders 
of Binghamton, N. Y. 

TIMOTHY EDWARDS, of the Revolution, was a member of the 
Massachusetts Committee of Safety and Commissary of Supplies for Massachu- 
setts. 

« 

Rhoda Ogden, wife of Timothy Edwards, was the third daughter of Robert 
Ogden 2d. He was Chairman of the Elizabethtown Committee of Safety in 1776; 
his son Matthias, was Colonel of the First New Jersey Regiment ; his sons-in- 
law, Col. Oliver Spencer and Major Francis Barber, also his son, Aaron Ogden, 
were officers in other New Jersey regiments. Aaron Ogden was afterward Gov- 
ernor of New Jersey. He, Robert Ogden 2d, was speaker of the New Jersey 



j20 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Assembly when the Stamp Act was passed, and on the outbreak of the war he 
was compelled to leave Elizabethtown, removing thence to Ogdensburg, for fear of 
capture by the British on account of the prominent part taken by himself and 
family in the Revolutionary War. 

Timothy Edwards was the son of Rev. Jonathan Edwards, President of 
Princeton College (who married Sarah, the daughter of James Pierrepont, of 
New Haven), son of Timothy (married Esther Stoddard), son of Richard (mar- 
ried ist Elizabeth Tuttle, 2d Mary Talcott), son of William, who came to Amer- 
ica with his mother and settled in Hartford, Conn, (married Agnes Spencer), 
son of Rev. Richard Edwards, of London, Eng. 

Sarah Pierrepont Edwards (wife of President Edwards), was great grand- 
daughter of Rev. Thomas Hooker of Hartford, spoken of above as "the light of 
the Western cburches." 

The children of Prof. William S. Tyler's marriage with Amelia Ogden Whit- 
ing were Col. Mason Whiting and William Wellington and Henry Mather Tyler, 
Professor of Greek in Smith College, and John Mason Tyler, Professor of Bi- 
ology at Amherst College. 

COLONEL MASON WHITING TYLER. New York Society Sons 
of the Revolution, eldest son of Professor William and Amelia Ogden (Whit- 




C01 1 \SON WHITING fYLER 



ing) Tyler, was bom in Amherst, Mass., June 17, 1840. He was prepared for 
college at Amherst Academy and Willeston Seminary, graduating from Am- 
herst in the class of '6_\ receiving from his alma mater in 1865 the degree of 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. I2I 

A. M. Immediately after graduating he decided to enter the service of his 
country which was then engaged in the great Civil War. He joined the 37th 
Reg. Mass. Vol. Infantry, and was commissioned Second Lieutenant of Com- 
pany F, which he assisted in organizing. His regiment was attached to the 
Sixth Army Corps, which was then connected with the Army of the Potomac, 
and afterwards served under Sheridan in the Shenandoah Valley. 

He took part in the following engagements: Fredericksburg, Dec. nth to 
14th, 1862; Burnside's Expedition. Jan. 20th to 23rd., 1863; second Fredericks- 
burg and Marye's Heights, May 2nd and 3rd, 1863; Salem Church, May 3rd and 
4th, 1863; Gettysburg, July 2nd and 3rd; Funkstown, July nth; Rappahannock 
Station, Nov. 8th; Mine Run, Nov. 29th; Wilderness, May 5th to 9th, 1864; 
Spotsylvania, May 12th. 13th, 18th, 1864; North Anna. May 24th and 25th; Cold 
Harbor, June 1st to 12th; Petersburg, June 16th, 17th, and 18th; Weldon Rail- 
road, June 21st; Ream's Station, June 29th; Fort Stevens, July nth and 12th ; 
Charleston, Aug. 21st; Opequon, Sept. 19th; Cedar Creek, Oct. 19th; Hatcher's 
Run, Feb. 6, 1865; Dabney's Mills, Feb. 7th; Forts Steadman and Wadsworth, 
March 25th, 1865. He was breveted Major for distinguished gallantry at the 
battle of Winchester on Sept. 19th, 1864; commissioned Major. March 4th. 1865; 
Lieut. Col., May 19th, 1865; Colonel in command of 37th Regiment. June 26th. 
1865. His regiment went into the war with a total enrollment of 1,324 men; 
lost 588 men killed and wounded, and 169 men who were killed or died of their 
wounds. The regiment was noted as one of the leading fighting regiments of 
the war. 

Colonel Tyler was several times wounded, but continued uninterruptedly 
in active service until the latter part of March, when he was temporarily dis- 
abled by wounds. He was honorably discharged and mustered out of service 
on July 1st, 1865. 

At the battle of Winchester he was struck on the chin by a fragment of 
shell which caused a painful wound. The last wound he received was in front 
of Petersburg in March, 1865. He was struck in the knee by a minnie ball 
which disabled him and caused his first absence from his regiment in a cam- 
paign. 

At the close of the war Col. Tyler resumed his studies and spent .me year 
in Columbia College Law School, and three years in the office of Evarts, South- 
mayd & Choate. and was admitted to the bar of New York in Oct.. 1866. 
He formed a partnership in 1869 under the name of Tremain and Tyler, which 
continued until 1893, when the present firm of Tyler & Durand was formed. 

Col. Tyler has personally conducted many important cases; notably the 
suit of Marie vs. Garrison, resulting in the recovery of a million dollars. His 
firm were attorneys for the importers in the famous "hat trimmings" cases — 
Hartrauft vs. Langfield (125 U. S. R. 128). and Robertson vs. EdelhofT (132 
U. S. R. 614). They were counsel in the treaty cases in which the importers 
sued to recover duties paid upon sugar imported from countries with which the 
United States had treaties of commercial alliance containing the equalities of 
duties clause, which, it was claimed by the importers, operated to make sugar 
imported from these countries free after the United States had made a treaty 



122 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

admitting free sugar imported from the Sandwich Islands (Whitney vs. Robert- 
son, 124 U. S. R. 190). Col. Tyler acted as counsel for the appellants and 
argued in the Supreme Court of the United States the removal cases, which 
determined the jurisdiction of the United States Circuit Court under the act of 
Congress of March 3, 1875 (100 U. S. R. 457). He was also counsel in the case 
of the Pacific Railroad vs. Ketchum (101 U. S. R. 289) and other important 
cases argued in the United States Supreme Court. 

He is connected with various business enterprises both in official and ad- 
visory capacities. He was for a time President of the Cumberland Coal and 
Iron Company, and is at the present time a director in the Columbus and Hock- 
ing Coal and Iron Company. He is recognized as one of the most public 
spirited citizens in the town of Plainfieid, N. J., where he now resides. He 
was one of the early trustees of the Muhlenberg Hospital, was President of the 
Music Hall Association, President of the Organized Aid Association, and a 
member of the New Jersey Historical Society. He is President of the Board 
of Directors of the Plainfieid Public Library and Art Gallery. 

He has been a member of the Society of the Sons of the Revolution since 
1885, being eligible through six of his ancestors who bore a conspicuous part 
in the early movements which lead to a separation of the colonists from the 
mother country. While his success in life is due wholly to his own exertions, 
he lias just reason to be proud of the fact that the best blood of New England 
courses through his veins, and the record shows that the family escutcheons 
have continued untarnished through the several generations, and his ancestors 
have nearly all been founders or builders in the various localities where they 
have resided. 

Col. Tyler married, Dec, 1869. Miss Eliza M. Schroeder, daughter of Rev. 
John F. Schroeder, D. D., formerly rector of Trinity Church, New York City. 
Her mother was a daughter of Hon. Elijah Boardman, U. S. Senator from 
Connecticut, a descendant of Rev. Daniel Boardman. the first minister of New 
Milford, in 1712. The issue of this marriage is two sons: William Seymour, 
law student, and Cornelius Boardman, a member of the junior class at Amherst. 

CONOVER— DENISE— DEAN. 

The history of the Conover or Couwenhoven family in this country is one 
of steady growth and prosperity, and they have developed almost every branch of 
industry, and have become prominent in the various professions as well. They 
were the most ardent patriots in the Revolution — men of unflinching courage, de- 
voted to the cause of liberty, few. if any, have been found among the enemies of 
this country. 

Wolfert Gerretson Van Couwenhoven, the common ancestor of the Cou- 
wenhoven, Kouwenhoven or Conover Family in this country, emigrated from 
Amersfoort in the Province of Utrecht, in Holland, Anno 1630, with the col- 
lonists who settled Rensselaerwick, near Albany, where he was employed by 
the Patroon as superintendant of farms. He afterwards resided on Manhattan 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 123 

Island, where he cultivated the Company's "Bouwery," or farm No. 6, and in 
1657 was enrolled among the Burghers of New Amsterdam. On the 16th of 
June, 1636, he, together with Andries Hudden, bought of the Indians, and ob- 
tained from Governor Van Twiller, on the 16th of June, 1637, a Patent for the 
"Westernmost of the three flats on Long Island, commonly known as the little 
flats." This Patent was ratified Aug. 22, 1658. and they removed thence in 
1662. His children who came with him were Gerret Wolferson, Jacob Wolfer- 
son, and Peter Wolferson. 

June 20th, 1699, John Bowne, of Monmouth County, N. J., conveyed to 
Gerret Sloothofif, Peter Couwenhoven, and others, of King's County, Long 
Island for £550 one thousand acres of land in Monmouth County, New Jersey, 
bounded southwestwardly by "Burlington Road," and by Spottswood, Middle- 
brook, etc. 

Gerret Wolferson Couwenhoven, eldest son of Wolfert Gerretson Cou- 
wenhoven, was born in Holland in 1610. He removed to America with his 
father in 1630 and settled at Flatlands, Long Island, in 1636. In the year 1643. 
he, with others, signed a petition to Governor Keift. of New Amsterdam, for 
leave to attack the Marikkawich, or Brooklyn Indians, a branch of the Can- 
arisie tribe. The Director, however, in consequence of these Indians having 
become peaceable, wisely refused to grant the request, but gave permission 
" in case they evinced a hostile disposition every man must do his best to defend 
himself." 

Gerret Wolferson Couwenhoven was a Magistrate in 1644. He was married 
in 1635 at Flatlands to Alti Cornells, daughter of Cornells Lambertse Cool, 
of Gowanus. They had four children, of whom Willem Gerretse was the eldest. 

Willem Gerretse Couwenhoven, eldest son of Gerret Wolferson and 
Alti Cornelis (Cool) Couwenhoven, was born at Flatlands in 1636. He resided 
first in Brooklyn and was one of the founders and a deacon of the First Re- 
formed Dutch Church of that town. His farm at Flatlands he conveyed in 
July. 1727. to his son William, when, it is supposed he removed to Monmouth 
County, N. J. He married in 1660. Altie. daughter of Joris Dercksen Brincker- 
hoff, daughter of Maltys; she died June, 1663; he married 2nd, Feb. 12, 1665, 
Jannetie, or Jonica Monford, daughter of Pieter Monford. They had twelve 
children, among whom was Peter and Albert Willemse. 

Albert William Couwenhoven, seventh child of William and Jannetie (Mon- 
ford) Couwenhoven. was born in Flatlands, Dec. 7. 1676. He removed to Mon- 
mouth County, N. J., where he died Sept., 1748. He married Neltje Schenck, 
daughter of Roelf Martense Schenck, 1682. 

Isaac Conover, probably grandson of Albert Willemse Kouwenhoven, was 

born in Monmouth County, N. J., about 1750. He married and had a 

son Lewis. 

Lewis Conover, son of Isaac, was born in Monmouth County in 1775. 
He married Catherine Denise and had a son John Thompson. 

John Thompson Conover, son of Lewis and Catherine (Denise) Con- 
over, was born in Warren County, N. J. in 1819. His opportunities for acquir- 



1_>4 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

ing an education were limited to the district school, but, by using his powers 
of observation he acquired later in life a practical knowledge of affairs that en- 
abled him to meet all its requirements. He came to New York at an early age 
and was associated with his brother who was already established as a builder, 
and the firm soon distanced many of their competitors and were awarded large 
contracts for public and private buildings, amounting to millions of dollars. 
Among these are the Masonic Temple, the old New York Life Building which 
stood on the corner of Broadway and Leonard street; the block of buildings 
between eighteenth and nineteenth streets; the Church of the Messiah, thirty- 
fourth street and Park avenue; the Manhattan Market, together with a number 
of elegant private residences in different parts of the city. He constructed large 
sections of the foundation work of the Metropolitan Elevated Railway, etc. 

Mr. Conover was a man of large and liberal ideas and capable of great 
undertakings. He grappled with and overcame difficulties with a firm, unyield- 
ing hand, and during his long business career he met promptly all his financial 
obligations, leaving a rich legacy for probity and honor to his children. He 
was well and favorably known in Masonic circles. Beginning with "Blue 
Lodge" Masonry a member of Holland Lodge No. 8, New York City, he passed 
through the degrees of Capitular Masonry and the Chivalric Orders, reaching 
the 32d degree in the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite as Sublime Prince 
of the Royal Secret. He was High Priest of the chapter R. A. M., and was 
Eminent Commander of Coeur de Leon Commandery of Knight's Templars. 
He took an active interest in the General Society of Mechanics and Tradesmen, 
the oldest organization of the kind in New York, and served one term as Pres- 
ident. He was also President of the Mechanics' and Traders' Exchange for 
some years. He was a member of the Union League club, and other societies. 
He married Mary D. Archer, daughter of John Archer and Elizabeth Dean. 
the latter was the daughter of John Dean of Philipsburg, Westchester County. 
N. Y., the Revolutionary patriot. 

JOHN DEAN, Patriot of the Revolution, was horn in Philipsburg 
Westchester County, N. Y„ Sept. 15. 1775; died in Tarrytown, April 14, 1817. 
He enlisted in May, 1775, in Capt. Ambrose Horton's Company, 4th Reg. New 
York Line, Col. James Holmes. May to October, 1775. accompanied Arnold's 
Expedition to Canada, participating in the several engagements. He was Ser- 
geant and Quartermaster in Captain Gilbert Dean's Company of Rangers. He 
served several periods during the war from 1776 to 1780. In 1780 he was Ser- 
geant in Capt. Gabriel Requa's Company, and had charge of the men who de- 
livered Mai or Andre, the British spy. to Col. Jameson. Lossing. vol. I., p. 755- 
Field Book of the Revolution says : "On the morning when Andre crossed 
Pine's Ridge, a little band of seven volunteers went out near Tarrytown to pre- 
vent cattle being driven to New York and to arrest any suspicious characters 
who might travel that way. John Yorks proposed the expedition the day before 
and first enlisted John Paulding, John Dean, James Romer and Abraham 
Williams. They were at North Salem, and Paulding procured a permit from the 
officer commanding there, and at tin- same time persuading his friend Isaac 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. Il>5 

Van Wart to accompany them. Four of the party agreed to watch the road 
trom a hill above, while Paulding. Van Wart and David Williams were to lie 
concealed in the bushes by the stream near the post road. Of the party above 
were John Dean." In a footnote Lossing says: "While strolling among the an- 
cient graves in the Sleepy Hollow churchyard * * * I was joined by an 
elderly gentleman, a son of Mr. Dean. He pointed out a brown freestone at 
the head of his father's grave, on which is the following inscription: "In mem- 
ory of John Dean. He was born Sept. 15, A. D. 1755; died April 4, 1807, aged 
61 years 6 mos. 20 days. 

A tender father, a friend sincere, 
A tender husband slumbers here; 
Then let us hope his soul is given 
A blest and sure reward in Heaven." 

John Dean is supposed to have been a descendant of James Dean of Ston- 
ington, and was in the same line of Hon. Silas Dean, who was chosen by Con- 
gress Sept. 26, 1776 to be one of the ambassadors in connection with Franklin 
and Jefferson to transact the business of the United States at the Court of 
France. 

John T. Conover, by his wife Mary D. Archer (whose mother was Elizabeth 
Dean, daughter of John Dean) had issue Warren Archer, Elizabeth C. and 
Frank Edgar. 

FRANK EDGAR CONOVER, Member of Sons of the Revolution, 
youngest son of John T. and Mary D. (Archer) Conover, was born in New 
York City in 1855. He received a thorough education at the well-known 
private school of Dr. Quackenboss. His business training was acquired under 
his father, and on the death of the latter in 1879, he and his brother became the 
successors. Under their supervision the reputation of the old firm has not only 
been fully maintained, but the business has largely increased, and the new firm 
has erected a large number of well-known business and public buildings. Among 
these may be noted: Postal Telegraph building; Gerken building, corner West 
Broadway and Chambers street; Commercial Cable building, 22 Broad street; 
Queen Insurance building, 43 Cedar street; Dun building, corner Broadway and 
Read street; the large building corner 23rd street and Sixth avenue; Myster 
Apartment House, 39th street Broadway and Sixth avenue; St. John's Apart- 
ment; the Thiele mansion on Riverside drive and 103d street, besides a number 
of elegant private residences. Both Mr. Conovers are among the most enter- 
prising and successful builders in the city. 

Mr. Conover inherits all the patriotic ardor and interest of his paternal 
and maternal ancestors, for which both sides are noted. He is a member of the 
Union League club, Hardware club. Building Trades club, Sullivan County club, 
the Holland Society, Mechanics' and Traders' Exchange, and General Society 
of Mechanics and Tradesmen. He married Anna C, daughter of Edward Grid- 
ley, of New York. They have one child, Marie Louise. 



126 so.xs of the revolution. 

WELD— WHITING— BAKER. 

Among the early settlers of New England greater prominence is given by 
Savage to the Weld family than to almost any other of the noted Puritans, sev- 
eral pages being devoted to their history where only a few lines are given to 
others. They were bold, fearless and uncompromising in their defense of their 
religious principles, and at a later period were equally zealous in asserting the 
rights of the colonists to govern themselves and throw off the yoke of Great 
Britain. 

Rev. Thomas Wilde, one of the boldest of the Puritan leaders, was 
born in England about 1590. He was the son of Edmund Wilde and Amye, 
his wife. Rev. Thomas and his brother Joseph came to this country on the 
ship William and Francis, June 5, 1632, at which time they landed in Boston 
and were among the founders of Roxbury. Thomas was graduated at Cam- 
bridge in 1613, became a minister of the established church, and had charge for 
some years of a parish in Terling, Essex, but his Puritan opinions caused him 
to leave his native country and cast his fortunes with those who had preceded 
him to New England. In July, 1632, he became minister of the first church in 
Roxbury, Mass., where, after the following November, John Elliott, the "apos- 
tle" was associated with him. He was active in opposition to Anne Hutchin- 
son and her doctrines, took a conspicuous part in her trial, and wrote "A Short 
Story of the Rise, Reign and Ruin of the Antinomian Familists and Libertines 
that infested the churches of New England" (London, 1644). The book was 
answered by Rev. John Wheelwright in his "Mercurius Americanus." Wilde 
was also associated with John Eliot and Richard Mather in preparing by re- 
quest of the authorities the translation of the Psalms into metre that is usually 
called the "Bay Psalm Book," entitled "The Whole Book of Psalms Faithfully 
Translated into English Metre" (Cambridge, 1640). Wilde was sent with Hugh 
Peters and William Hebbins to England in 1641 as an agent of the colony but 
was dismissed in 1646 and requested to return. He did not comply but remained 
in England and was minister of a church at Gatshead near Newcastle-upon-thc- 
Tyne. He accompanied Lord Forbes to Ireland, and after remaining there for 
some time returned to England where he was ejected from his living for non- 
conformity in 1662. Tradition says that he was beheaded March 2},, 1662. He 
married in England Margaret, and had Thomas, Jr. 

Thomas Weld Jr., son of Rev. Thomas and Margaret ( ) Welde was 

born in his father's parish in England, in 1626, and came with his father to 
Boston, where he was much esteemed. He was made freeman in 1654, was a 
representative to the General Court 1676-;, and died of lever Jan. 17, 1683. 
He married, June 4, 1650. Dorothy, daughter of Rev. Samuel Whiting, of Lynn. 
The latter was born in Boston, Lincolnshire, Eng., Nov. 20, 1597; died in 
Lynn, Mass., Dec. 11. 1679. His lather. John, was Mayor of his native city. 
The son, Rev. Samuel, graduated at Cambridge in 1610, entered the ministry 
and officiated at Lynn, in Norfolk, Eng., and in Skirback, near his native place, 
but after two prosecutions for non-conformity he emigrated to this country, 
where he was first minister of Lynn, Mass.. serving from 8th Nov., 1636, till 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 127 

his death. He was a close student and an accomplished Hebrew and Latin 
Scholar. "In his preaching," says Cotton Mather, " his design was not to 
please but to profit; to bring forth not high things but fit things." His 
wife's name is unknown. 

Thomas Weld, Jr., by his wife, Dorothy (Whiting) Weld, had issue: 
Edmund. 

Edmund Weld, son of Thomas, Jr., and Dorothy (Whiting) Weld, was 
born in Roxbury, Mass., June 25, 1695. Referring to the old Weld homestead, the 
History of Roxbury says: " One of the finest farms in Roxbury is that of 
Mr. Aaron D. Weld, lying on both sides of Weld street, a part of it in 
Brookline, and containing nearly 300 acres. Edmund, grandson of Rev. 
Thomas Weld, in 1642, bequeathed to his son Edmund his part of the homestead 
and training field, and the land adjoining.'* He married Elizabeth White. 
daughter of Lieut. John White, who was freeman, 1677, lived seven years at 
Muddy River, now Brookline, was lieutenant of the train band, etc. His wife was 
Elizabeth, daughter of Elder John Bowles. Edmund Weld, by wife Elizabeth 
(White) Weld, had Edmund (2). 

Edmund Weld (2), son of Edmund (1) and Elizabeth (White) Weld, was 
born in Roxbury, Mass., June 23, 1695. He married Clemence Dorr, daughter 
of Edward Dorr, of Roxbury, who came from Pemaquod, and had there sworn 
fidelity 1674. He lived a year or two in Boston, about 1680. His wife was 
Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Hawley. who was killed by the Indians, April, 
8(676, with Capt. Wadsworth and many of his company. Edmund Weld (2), 1>\ 
his wife, Clemence (Dorr) Weld, had a son Joseph. 

Joseph Weld, son of Edmund (2) and Clemence (Dorr) Weld, was 
born in Roxbury, Mas>.. Oct. 30. 1733. He married Mary Ruggles. daughter of 
Capt. John Ruggles, who commanded a company from Roxbury in the Louis- 
burg expedition in 1745. He was a descendant of the first Lieut. John Ruggles, 
who came in the Hopewell in 1635. The wife of Capt. John Ruggles was 
Elizabeth Weld, daughter of Joseph, sou of Joseph, son of John, son of Capt. 
Joseph Weld, brother of Rev. Thomas Weld, the ancestor. 

[Capt. Joseph Weld, brother of Rev. Thomas Weld, was a prominent man. 
and kept a store in Roxbury. He represented the town at the General Court 
from 1636 to 1641. In military matters he was quite prominent, having been 
the first ensign of the Artillery Company in 1(138. and also the first Captain of 
the Roxbury Military Company. He had the custody of Mrs. Ann Hutchinson. 
"a woman of ready wit and bold spirit." whose unorthodox opinions gave a 
world of trouble to our Puritan ancestor-! 

Joseph Weld (son of Edmund) by his wife Mary (Ruggles), had Joseph (2). 
JOSEPH WELD (2), Patriot of the Revolution, son of Joseph (1) 
and Mary (Ruggles) Weld, was born in Roxbury July 26, 1760. He was fearless 
and outspoken in his sentiments regarding British oppression, and when hos 
tilities commenced he was among the first in his native town to enlist. He was 
Corporal in Capt. Lemuel Child's Company, Col. William Heath's Regiment 
Mas-,. Militia, responded to the " Lexington Alarm; " private in Capt. Hopestill 



128 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



Hall's Company, Col. Samuel Robinson's Regiment, Mass. Militia, Jan. 31, 
Feb. 20, 1776, and rendered important service in Rhode Island. 

He resided in Roxbury for some time after the close of the war, his name 
appearing on the list of the first Roxbury Fire Company, " Enterprise," in 
1784. After his first marriage he removed to Troy. His wife was Lois Baker, 
daughter of Capt. John Baker, son of John, son of John, son of John, son of 
Thomas. 

Thomas Baker, the ancestor of this branch of the Baker family, was born 
in Kent, England; came to America before 1635, died at Roxbury, Mass., 
Jan. 28, 1683. He was supposed to be a son of Sir Thomas Baker, of Whilting- 
ham, Suffolk, Eng., by Constance, daughter of Sir William Kingsmill. They 
had a son John. 

In the history of Roxbury, Mass., appears the following: " On July 6, 
1675, a body of 52 praying Indians, Elliot's converts, marched from Boston for 
Mount Hope under the intrepid Capt. Isaac Johnson, of Roxbury, who after- 
wards certified that the most of them acquitted themselves courageously and 
faithfully. He, with five other captains, was killed while storming the Narra- 
gansett stronghold when that fierce tribe was destroyed at the famous Fort 
Fight, Dec. 19, 1675. On the roll of this company appears the name of Thomas 
Baker. 

John Baker, son of Thomas, was born in Roxbury, Mass., 1644; died 1722. 
He had a son Thomas. 

Thomas Baker, son of John, was born May 26, 1676; died May 10, 1761. 
He married 1st Sarah Pike, daughter of Moses, son of Robert, son of John 
Pike, the ancestor. 

John Pike, of Newbury, Mass., came in the James in 1635 from South- 
ampton. The clearance papers represented him to be from Langsford. He 
was at Ipswich first in 1640; removed early to Salesbury. In his will he 
provides for grandsons John, son of John, and grandson John, son of Robert. 
Robert Pike, of Salesbury, son of John, was brought from England, and 
was first at Newbury, admitted freeman May 17, 1637; married, 3d April 1631, 
Sarah Saunders, and had issue: Sarah, Mary, Dorothy, Mary again, Elizabeth, 
John, Robert, 1655, Moses, March 15, i659- A Robert Pike was Commissioner 
to Maine 1668, and afterwards of the Council. 

Moses Pike, son of Robert and Sarah (Saunders) Pike, was born March 

15. 1659. He was a resident of Salesbury. By his wife, Susan , he had 

Moses', Elias, Mary, 1675 ; Sarah, born Oct. 27, 1698 ; maried to Thomas Baker. 
Thomas Baker, by his wife, Sarah (Pike) Baker, had a son John. 
Capt. John Baker, son of Thomas and Sarah (Pike) Baker, was born in 
Roxbury, Mass., Dec. 17, 1705; died Aug. 10, 1781. He was Ensign and Cap- 
tain of Artillery in Roxbury. He married Abigail Draper, born May 18, 1738. 
daughter of Nathaniel, born Oct. 10, 1706, son of Nathaniel, born April 12, 1684, 
son of James of Roxbury, born there 1654; died there April 30, 1698, manufac- 
turer of cloth and a soldier in King Philip's war (married, Feb. 18, 1681, Abigail 
Whiting, granddaughter of John Dwight. from whom President Dwight, of 
Yale College, descends); son of James, born in Hepstonstall, England, 1618; 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



T2Q 



died in Roxbury, Mass., July, 1094; came to America aboul 1O50, and became 
a manufacturer of cloth, owning a number of looms; son of Thomas Draper, 
of Hepstonstall, England, cloth manufacturer. 

Capt. John Baker, by his wife, Abigail (Draper) Baker, had a daughter 
Lois, who married Joseph Weld. 

Joseph Weld, by his wife, Lois (Baker) Weld, had a son Luke Baker. 

Luke Baker Weld, son of Joseph {2) and Lois (Baker) Weld, was 
born in Roxbury, Mass., 1789; died July 11, 1821. He was a resident of Troy, 
N. Y. He married Mary Cumming, daughter of Gilbert dimming, a native of 
Sooiand. They had issue: Gilbert Cumming. 

Gilbert Gumming Weld, son of Luke Baker and Mary Cumming 
Weld, was born in Albany. X. V., Dec. 6, 1817. He received a preparatory 
course at the Albany Free Academy and graduated at the Troy Polytechnic 
Institute. He came to New York about 1837, and engaged in the dry goods 
business on Cedar Street under the firm name of Weld & Chapin. He resided 




r.TT.r.F.RT CUM XII XG WELD. 



at the time in Brooklyn, and while there united with the Centenary M. E. 
Church and became greatly interested in the subject of religion. He after- 
wards removed to Tarrytown on the Hudson, gave up his business and was 
licensed to preach. Soon after the discovery of gold in California he decided to 
go there as a missionary. On his arrival he went first to the mines. He soon 
after received an offer from a Mr. Fitch (whose acquaintance he made on the 
voyage out) to assume the editorial charge of a paper which Mr. Fitch proposed 
to start in Sacramento. The result was the founding of the Sacramento Daily 



130 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

1 nuiscnpl, the first paper published on the Pacific coast, and printed on the 
first press ever used there, taken out by Mr. Fitch, a practical printer. This 
proved a success from the beginning, due largely to the efforts of Mr. Weld, 
who lived only long enough to see it fairly started. He died after two years' 
residence there of typhoid fever, being then but thirty-three years of age. He 
was a young man of bright promise, and during his short residence there had 
greatly endeared himself to the people. He exercised great tact and judgment 
in dealing with the lawless crowds that collected in Sacramento during the 
first years of its existence. He was fearless in the discharge of his duties to 
condemn crime and lawlessness, so frequent in those early days. He was a 
regular correspondent of the New York Journal of Commerce, his articles 
appearing periodically in that paper up to the time of his death. He married 
Josephine Pelerin, of New York City, daughter of Hilaire Pelerin, originally 
from Normandy, France, whose wife was a Miss Le Gros, a French Huguenot. 
They had issue : Mary, De Witt Clinton (named from Governor De Witt 
Clinton), Elizabeth, Mathelde, Julia, Louise, and Harriet Corning, died in in- 
fancy. 

De Witt Clinton Weld, son of Gilbert Cumming and Josephine 
(Pelerin) Weld, was born in Brooklyn, N. Y., March 16th, 1842. He moved 
with his parents to Tarrytown, where he received instruction in the rudimentary 
branches and was then sent to the famous Coudert school at St. Mark's Place, 
New York, kept by the father of the present Frederick Coudert, Esq., who was 
one of his preceptors. He afterwards went to Europe and made a special study 
of languages and mathematics in France and Switzerland, intending to adopt 
a profession, but on his return home he decided to go into business and obtained 
a position with R. A. & G. H. Witthaus & Co., where, with the exception of 
two years, he remained from 1857 to 1869. At the beginning of the war, 1861-3, 
owing to the interruption of business, his employers consented to his accepting 
a position as Secretary to Senor De Yrisari, minister for Guatemala and San 
Salvador, his knowledge of the Spanish language proving of great value to 
him at that time. In 1869 he began business for himself under the firm name 
of Topham, Rutherford & Weld, importers and manufacturers of men's furnish- 
ing goods. This continued until 1872, when the title was Topham, Weld & 
Co., and on the death of Mr. Topham, in 1881, the firm became Weld, Colburn 
& Wilckens, as it now remains. 

Mr. Weld has been for some years a resident of Brooklyn, where he is 
identified with the leading social organizations. He is a member of the Society 
of Colonial Wars, the Hamilton Club, the Church Club, etc. 

He married Elizabeth Anne Wilckens, daughter of Dr. J. Frederick Wilc- 
kens, who for many years stood at the head of his profession in New York, 
Two sons were the issue of this marriage: De Witt C. Weld, Jr., and Frederick 
Cumming. The latter died in 1877. 

DE WITT CLINTON WELD, JR., New York State Society, Sons 
of the Revolution, only surviving son of De Witt Clinton Weld and his 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 131 

wife, Elizabeth Wilckens Weld, was borrn in Brooklyn July 18, 1868. He 
graduated at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn in the class of '86. After 
filling a position as clerk for General John B. Woodward, he established., in 
Feb., 1896, the present firm of Weld & Sturtevant, dealers in printers and 
bookbinders' machinery. With the energy and perseverance characteristic of 
the family a good and growing trade has been established. Mr. Weld has given 
some attention to military affairs and served more than the usual term as a 
member of Company A, Twenty-third Regiment, N. G. S. N. Y., enlisting in 
1887, rising the several grades to that of First Lieutenant. During his con- 
nection with the regiment it was frequently called out to quell disturbances in 
different parts of the State, all more or less serious. 

Mr. Weld, after his marriage, lived for a time in Brooklyn, and later 
settled in Sing Sing, N. Y., and is a member of the Mount Pleasant Field Club 
that place, also of the Society of Colonial Wars, Crescent Athletic and Ark- 
wright clubs and the Military Service Institution. 

He married, in 1896, Bertha Brandreth, daughter of William Brandreth, 
then President of the Village and a son of the well-known Dr. Benjamin 
Brandreth. 

DEWEY.— TODD. 

Both the Deweys and the Todds appear to have had a fondness for music 
as well as for military affairs, the Revolutionary ancestors of both families being 
represented in the dual capacity. 

Thomas Dewey, the American ancestor of this name, was born about 
1608. He came from Sandwich, Kent, England, near the ancient town of 
Dover, and settled in Dorchester, Alas-., in 1633, and was enrolled there as a 
freeman May 14, 1634. He married there, March 22, 1638-9, Widow Frances 
Clarke. He was cornet of the mounted light infantry. He was frequently juror 
and deputy to the General Court. He removed to Windsor, Conn., where he- 
died April 27, 1648. They had issue : Thomas, Jr., Josiah, Anna, Israel and 
Jedediah. The widow married again, and removed to Westfield, Mass., with her 
children, except Israel, who remained in Windsor. 

Josiah Dewey, son of Thomas and Francis (Clarke) Dewey, was 

born Oct. 10. He married 1st Hepzibah Lyman, and 2d, Experience . 

He removed in 1696 to Lebanon, Conn., where he died. His children by his 
second wife were Ebenezer and Nathaniel, twins ; Joseph, Elizabeth, Experi- 
ence and Benjamin. 

Nathanial Dewey, son of Josiah and Experience ( ) Dewey, 

was born at Lebanon, Conn., 1672, and was a prosperous farmer. He married 
Margaret Boroughs, and had issue : Nathaniel, Margaret, Samuel, Noah, Sarah, 
Thomas, Hepzibah, Tamar. 

Samuel Dewey, son of Nathaniel and Margaret (Boroughs) Dewey, 
was born at Lebanon, Conn.. July 5, 1704. He was also a farmer. He married 



132 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Elizabeth Allen, a descendant, probably, of Samuel Allen. They had issue: 
Samuel, Desire, Elijah, Jeremiah, Elizabeth, Nathan. 

Jeremiah Dewey (i), son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Allen) Dewey, 
was born in Lebanon, Conn., Jan. 20, 1737. He moved thenee to Coventry, 
Conn. He married and had a son Jeremiah. 

JEREMIAH DEWEY (2), Patriot of the Revolution, son of Jere- 
miah (1), was born in Coventry, Conn., March 13, 1763. He removed to Corinth, 
Essex County, Vt., at the beginning of the Revolution. He was about seven- 
teen years of age when he joined the army as fifer in Capt. Samuel Allen's Com- 
pany, Vermont Volunteers, Oct. 13, 1780; he also served as fifer in Capt. James 
Brookin's Company, Col. Fletcher's Battalion, Vermont Militia, 1781. He 
married Cynthia Claghoone, born in Salisbuiy, Conn., 1767; died at Corinth, 
Vt., Feb. 9, 1844. They had issue: Jeremiah, Cynthia, born August 29, 1786; 
Harvey, born Dec. 8, 1790; Orin, born Aug. 6, 1793; Almira, born Aug. 27, 
1795; Charles, born Sep. 11, 1797; Royal, born May 6, 1799. 

Jeremiah Dewey (3), son of Jeremiah (2) and Cynthia (Claghoon) 
Dewey, was born at Rutland, Vt., Jan. 3, 1788. He was engaged principally 
in the manufacture and repairing of jewelry. He removed to Middlebury, Vt., 
later to Randolph, thence to Chelsea, Essex Co.. Vt, and finally left his native 
State in 1828, and went to Elizabethtown, N. J., thence to Buffalo, and finally 
to Detroit, Mich., where he finally located and began the manufacture of 
clocks. He was quite an inventive genius and made many improvements in the 
works, which have since been adopted by other makers. He died of cholera, 
during the great epidemic, July 29, 1849. He was an active member ot the 
Methodist Church, and delighted to entertain his Methodist friends. He married 
Orinda Todd, daughter of Thomas Todd, of Rowley, Mass. 

THOMAS TODD, Patriot of the Revolution, was born in 
Rowley, Mass., Nov. 17. 1760. He was not quite seventeen years of age when 
he enlisted as private in Capt. Bartholomew Bloodgood's Company, Col. Job 
Cushing's Reg. Mass. Militia. Aug. 20, 1777; he was fifer in Capt. John Put- 
nam's Company, Col. Wade's Reg., Worcester Co., Mass., Militia, June 20, 
1778; he served in the several engagements in Rhode Island; he was fifer in 
Capt. Woodbury's Company, Col. Jacob Davis' Reg. Mass Militia, June 30, 1780; 
fifer in Capt. Reuben Davis' Company, Col. Luke Drury's Reg. Levies, July 
17, 1781; private in Capt. Crowell's Company, Col. Denny's Reg., Mass. Militia, 
1781; served until the close of the war. He erected the first woolen mill in the 
State of Vermont, and also erected a forge at South Poultney, Vt. He was a 
man of large means and one of the most prominent men in that part of the 
State. 

By his marriage with Orinda Todd, Jeremiah Dewey had children: Mary 
Ann, Harvey and Hiram Todd. 

HIRAM TODD DEWEY, Member of the Sons of the Revo- 
lution, son of Jeremiah and Orinda (Todd) Dewey, was born in Poultney, 
Vt.. July 13, 1816. He enjoyed nothing beyond a common school education, 



^HKS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



1 33 



but made the most of his opportunities. He began to work for his father when 
he was but thirteen years of age, and after acquiring a thorough knowledge of 
the details of the business, he left home in 1836, before reaching his majority, 
and started in the jewelry business at Perrysburg, Ohio. In 1834 he removed 
to Fort Wayne, where he continued to carry on the jewelry business. He 
returned to Sandusky, Ohio, in 1843. and began the manufacture of town clocks, 
for which there was at the time a great demand. He made many improvements, 
and was successful in this line. He resumed his old business, later, and con- 
tinued at Tiffin and Sandusky, Ohio, until 1857, when he decided on a new 
venture, which proved the most successful of anything he had ever undertaken. 
He purchased a farm of twenty acres at Sandusky, Ohio, which, from a personal 
examination was peculiarly adapted to the growth of grapes. He purchased 
a large number of vines from a party who had tried and made a failure of grape 
culture. He planted every vine with his own hands, and his succe-s from the 
beginning was phenomenal. His first vintage was sold only for table use. 
He soon after began the manufacture of wine, and his first effort in this direction 
proved that an American wine could be produced fully equal to the best impor- 
ted article. At the end of three or four years he sold his Tarm at a large advance. 




HIRAM TODD DEWEY. 



134 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

and devoted all his time and energies to the production of American wines. His 
successful efforts at grape culture in Ohio stimulated others to undertake it, 
and land that was previously worth only $50 to $100 an acre for farming pur- 
poses brought five and six times the amount and yielded a much larger percent- 
age on the investment. This enterprise established by Mr. Dewey, some forty 
years ago, has enriched the State of Ohio by millions of dollars, and he uncon- 
sciously became one of the great benefactors of the nineteenth century. After 
selling his farm Mr. Dewey came to New York, where he continued the pro- 
duction of the highest grade of American wines which have achieved an almost 
world-wide reputation. He has confined himself strictly to the production of 
wines for family use and has avoided all connection with the trade, knowing that 
he could not control it in bulk after it left his own cellars. His trade has in- 
creased annually, but visions of wealth have never tempted him to swerve in 
the least from the high standard he adopted at the beginning. Mr. Dewey has 
never sought public office. The only position he ever held was that of Alderman 
of Fort Wayne, Ind. He has been for many years an honored member of the 
Odd Fellows and Masonic fraternities. He has contributed freely of his means 
to ameliorate the sufferings and add to the happiness of his fellowmen. He 
married Susan L., daughter of William Stapleford of Newcastle, Del. and had 
issue: Henry Ruthven. Jeremiah Todd. George Eugene, Mary Elizabeth, Susan 
Arabella, Cora D., Hiram Stapleford, and William Henry. 

FRANK TIEFORD, New York Society Sons of the Revolution, 
born in New Yory City, July 22. 1852, son of John M. Tilford and Jane White, 
son of James Tilford and Hannah McDougall of Argyle, N. Y. She was the 
daughter of Alexander and Jane McDougall of Argyle, N. Y.. son of John Mc- 
Dougall and Jennie McEashron his wife, son of Alexander McDougall and 
Anna Gilchrist, his wife, both of Scotland. 

ALEXANDER McDOUGALL. Patriot of the Revolution, was born in 
Scotland, Sept. 20, 1754. He was a citizen of Argyle. Washington County. N. Y., 
where he died Sept. 15, 1847. His first military service in the War of the Rev- 
olution was as private in Capt. Alexander Webster's Company, Charlotte (now 
Washington) County, \\ Y. Militia, commanded by Capt. John Williams, 1776; 
Sergeant in Capt. Cornelius Jenning's Company, Third Regiment, New York 
Line, Col. Peter Gansevoort, Feb. 26, ^777, Feb. 26, 1780; Sergeant Major, Thos. 
Armstrong's Regiment, Charlotte County, N. Y. Militia, and Capt. Henry 
Brewster's Company; Lieut. Colonel Frederick Weissenfel's Regiment, New 
York Levies. 

Taillefer, the old Normans called the family name, and you will find it often 
in the early annals of that masterful race. The Ancient Counts of Angouleme 
were the founders of the family, as is witnessed by the illustration of the surname 
in their heraldic devices for many generations. One of the first known members 
of the family received great possessions from the hand of Charles the Bald of 
France, in return for his services in uniting Normandy with France, and his son, 
Guilluame de Taillefer, was the first to bear his name, which came to him 
because of an act of valor and extraordinary strength performed by him in war, 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 135 

in the year 916. From him the family line and the name may be traced without a 
break down to the present day. 

Tilford, the name became in Scotland, when some of the family settled in that 
country, and Tilford it has remained in this country ever since it was brought 
hither by James Tilford, who settled at Argyle, near Albany. New York, a 
hundred and fifty years ago. That pioneer was a soldier in the American army 
throughout the Revolutionary war, and his son, James Tilford. was a captain in 
the war of 1812. 

The latter's son, John M. Tilford, came to New York in 1835, at the age of 
twenty years, and served five years as a clerk in the grocery store of Benjamin 
Alboro. Then, with his fellow clerk, Joseph Park, he organized the now world- 
famous house of Park & Tilford. 

FRANK TILFORD, youngest son and business successor of John M. Tilford, 
was born in New York on July 22nd. 1852. and was educated in the well-known 
Mount Washington Collegiate Institute. Then he entered his father's store at 
Sixth avenue and Ninth street, and worked faithfully in one department after 
another until he had acquired a practical mastery of all the details of the busi- 
ness. In 1890 the company was transformed into a joint stock corporation and 
the senior Mr. Tilford became its Vice-President. At his death in January, 1891, 
Mr. Frank Tilford succeeded him in that office and has continued to hold it ever 
since. Important as that office is, it does not monopolize Mr. Tilford's business 
attention. He has been a member of the Real Estate Exchange since 1873 and 
has made some extensive dealings in real estate, chiefly of an investment char- 
acter, in the upper west side of the city. He became a director of the Sixth 
National Bank in 1874, and a trustee of the North River Savings Bank, in 1885. 
In 1889 he was one of the organizers of the Bank of New Amsterdam, of which 
he is now President and he is also one of the organizers and a trustee of the 
Fifth Avenue Trust Company; Vice-President of the Standard Gaslight Com- 
pany and a director in many of the powerful corporations of New York City and 
in many of the gas companies throughout the country. 

He is also a member of the Chamber of Commerce. President of the New- 
Amsterdam Eye & Ear Hospital, a trustee of the Babies' Hospital and a member 
of the Executive Committee of the Grant Monument Association. 

Mr. Tilford was married in 1891 to Miss Julia Greer, daughter of James A. 
Greer and grand-daughter of George Greer, a famous sugar refiner of the past 
generation. They have two daughters. Julia and Elsie Tilford. Mr. Tilford has 
long been a member of the Union League Club and is also a member of the 
Republican, Colonial. Lotos, Press. New York Athletic and other clubs, and 
of the Sons of the Revolution. His city home is on West Seventy-second street. 
It was chiefly designed by Mr. Tilford himself, and ranks as one of the handsom- 
est edifices in that particularly handsome part of the city. 



136 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

ELMENDORF AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 

Independence and love of liberty have always been marked characteristics 
of the Hollanders, and Sir Henry Clinton told the truth when he said that he 
"could neither buy nor conquer the Dutch." 

The Elmendorfs, though originally of German stock, were among the early 
settlers on the Hudson, and intermarried with many of the old Holland fam- 
ilies. Their loyalty and patriotism is a matter of history, and not one of them 
was ever found among the enemies of his country. 

Jacobus (Conradt) Van Elmendorf. the ancestor, was born in Rynborch, 
near Leyden, in the Rysistract, in the Gilded Cable, and came to this country 
about 1660 or earlier. He settled at Kingston and was active in the public affairs 
of the town. He took a prominent place in the Esopus meeting, and was one of 
the Burgher's Guard, who were arrayed against Captain Brodhead of the English 
garrison. He married April 25, 1667, Grietje Aertsen, by order of the Court, and 
with the consent of her parents, she being under age. After his death his wife 
was given a grant of land by the corporation of Kingston. They had issue sev- 
eral children, among whom was Conradt. 

Conrad Elmendorf, son of Jacobus (Conradt) and Greitje (Aersten) Elmen- 
dorf, was baptized March 12, 1669. He married Anaatje Gerretse Van den Berg, 
June 28, 1693. They had Cornelius and other children. 

Cornelius Elmendorf, son of Conradt and Araatje Gerretse (Van den 
Berg) Elmendorf, was baptized Oct. 31, 1697. He married Engeltje Heermans, 
Dec. 16, 1720. They had among other children a son John. 

CAPTAIN JOHN ELMENDORF, Patriot of the Revolution, son of 
Cornelius and Engeltje (Heermans) Elmendorf, was born in Kingston, N. Y., 
April 27, 1725. He was among the first to volunteer after hostilities commenced, 
and while not on active duty during the whole period of the Revolution, he held 
himself in readiness for every emergency. He was Captain of a Company, First 
Regiment, Ulster County, N. Y., Militia, commanded by Col. Johannes Snyder, 
July 15, 1777. When Governor George Clinton was inaugurated in 1777 Captains 
Elmendorf and Bogardus were ordered to appear at the Court House (with their 
companies) and took part in the ceremonies. He married Margaret Delamater, 
probably a grand-daugter of Jacobus Le Maitre, or De La Maitre, of Kingston, 
1680, son of Claude, who settled in New Amsterdam, 1652. They had a son 
Martinus. 

Martinus Elmendorf, son of John and Margaret (Delamater) Elmendorf, 
was born August 24, 1769. He married Feb. 19, 1792, Rachel Roosa, and had issue 
a son Levi. 

Levi Elmendorf, son of Martinus and Rachel (Roosa) Elmendorf, was born 
August 7, 1806. He attended the public schools and received a fair education, 
and spent his early years in his native town, where he was much respected by 
his fellow-citizens and enjoyed their confidence and esteem. He caught the 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. ltf 

"Western fever," and went as far as Seneca County, where he was for some 
time engaged as a contractor. He came to New York in 1854, and from that time 
until his death, in 1864, he was engaged with the varnish house of Edward 
Smith. In politics he was an old-time Whig, and remained true to the party 
until it went out of existence. He married Oct. 12, 1825, Salitje Meir De Puy, 
daughter of Lieut. Ephraim De Puy, son of Ephraim (1), son of Jacobus, son 
of Moses, son of Nicholas. 

Nicholas De Puy, the ancestor, married Catharine de Vaux, and had a son 
Moses. 

Moses De Puy, son of Nicholas, was born in 1658. He was one of the nine 
petitioners in 1703 for grants of land for which patent was issued, June 25, 1703, 
in that part of Ulster County, N. Y., now known as Marbletown. He married in 
1680, Maria Wyncoop and had a son Jacobus. 

Jacobus De Puy, son of Moses, was baptized Sept. 19, 1703; married August 
25, 1725, Sara Schoonmaker. He died Dec. 18, 1757. They had issue Ephraim. 

Ephraim De Puy (1), son of Jacobus, was baptized Feb. 8, 1730. He mar- 
ried March 3, 1750, Antje Schoonmaker. They had issue Ephraim (2). 

LIEUTENANT EPHRAIM DE PUY, Patriot of the Revolution. He 
served as First Lieutenant, Captain Peter Schoonmaker's Company, Ulster Co., 
N. Y., Associated Exempts, October 19. 1779. Whether he rendered additional 
service to this is not known. He was probably a son or grandson of John 
De Puy, a Huguenot refugee, an eminent professor of surgery and medicine for 
over thirty years, who educated many eminent physicians of New York. The 
wife of Lieut. De Puy was Cornelia Snyder, daughter of Col. Johannes Snyder. 

COLONEL JOHANNES SNYDER, Patriot of the Revolution, was a 
native of Ulster County, N. Y. He was active in all the early movements which 
led to the separation of the Colonies from Great Britain. He was Major of 
First Regiment, Ulster County, N. Y., Militia, Oct. 25, 1775 ;Lieutenant-Colonel, 
Feb. 20, 1776; Colonel, May 1, 1776. to the close of the war. He was a member 
of the Provincial Congress, 177(1: Member of New York Council of Safety. 
May 3, 1777; Member of New York Assembly, 1777-9. He was prominent in 
the county and a man of great personal popularity. He was probably the son of 
Henry Martin Snyder, who came from German)- in March. 1726. and settled in 
the town of Saugerties. Ulster County. N. Y. Soon after he arrived he suc- 
ceeded, with the help of some of his coutrymen and the Dutch settlers, in organ- 
izing a church society, called the Kaatsban church, which is still in existence 
He had eleven sons, all of whom served in the War of the Revolution, except 
the eldest, who remained faithful to the King, and in consequence was obliged to 
flee the country. 

The children of Levi and Saltje Mier (De Puy) Elmendorf were Joachim, 
now the Rev. J. Elmendorf. D. D., of the Harlem Collegiate Church, John 
Augustus, the subject of this sketch, Elsie Ann, wife of Gen. William B. Barton 



138 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



Martin Ephraim, D. D. S. ; William Sinclair, assayer in Colorado, and An- 
thony, who was a captain in the late war of the Rebellion, serving to the close, 
being mustered out among the very last of the volunteers. 

JOHN AUGUSTUS ELMENDORF, Member of the Sons of the Revo- 
lution, son of Levi and Saletje Meier (De Puy) Elmendorf, was born at Kings- 
ton, N. Y., Sept. ii, 1828. His boyhood was spent in Waterloo, N. Y., attending 
the academy there, and in 1847 came to New York City, entering his mercantile 
life in a wholesale dry goods house at 14 Wall street in 1853, he connected him- 
self with the house of Smith & Stratton, and has continued in the same through 
the different changes of firm names to the present house of Edward Smith & 
Co., of which he is Vice-President. Soon after he came to New York he made 




JOHN AL"<;rSTl'S ELMENDORF. 



his residence in Brooklyn and was a member of the old First Reformed Dutch 
Church for many years. He was a Lieutenant in the Thirteenth Regiment. 
N. G. S. N. Y. In 1855 he married Frances Catharine (Richards) Lathrop, niece 
and adopted daughter of Dwight Lathrop. She was the daughter of Catharine 
(Stebbins) Richards, a grand-daughter of Gov. Richard Howley, the war Gov- 
ernor of Georgia during the Revolutionary War. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



139 



GOVERNOR RICHARD HOWLEY, Patriot of the Revolution, was born 
in Liberty County, Georgia, about 1740. He was liberally educated and attained 
great eminence in the profession of the law. He represented bis native county in 
the State Legislature, and was a delegate from Georgia to the Continental Con- 
gress. In 1780 he was elected Governor of his native State. When the State was 
overrun by the British a council was held near Augusta at which Governor How- 
ley, bis Secretary of State and several Continental officers were present. After 
the consideration of various plans they determined to retreat to North Carolina, 
and narrowly escaped capture on the way. During this trying period the gay and 
joyous temperament of Governor Howley sustained the spirits of the fugitive 
Council from sinking into gloom and despondency. Mrs. Stebbins, his daughter, 
was well known as one of the most intelligent and amiable ladies in Georgia. 

The issue of the marriage of John Augustus Elmendorf and Frances Cath- 
arine Richards was: Dwight Lathrop, Grace and John Barker. 

WEED.— CLOCK AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 

The name of Weed is a contraction of Weedon, and this name appears in the 
English records of a very early date. 

Ralph de Weedon, or Ralph of Weed-on-Bes, settled in Buckinghamshire, 
Eng., A. D. 1307. He bore Anns — Argent two bars gules; in chief three man- 
tlets sable. Crest — A martlet sable. The Nottingham branch of the family bore 
Arms — Gules on a chief or, three quatrefoils vert. Crest — Out of a ducal coronet 
or, a flame issuant ppr. 

The record of the Weeds family in the Revolution is almost without a par- 
allel, no less than fifty-five having served with the Connecticut troops, all being 
descendants of the Stamford ancestor. 

Jonas Weed one of the founders of the town of Stamford, Conn., is said to 
have come from Stamford, England. He was first at Watertown, Mass., in 1631. 
and removed thence to Withersfield, Conn., and became one of the founders of 
the Congregational Church in that town. 

The History of Fairfield County, page 692, states that "The first movement 
toward the settlement of the town (Stamford) was made in the early part of the 
year 1640 by a number of sturdy pioneers from Wethersfield, who having become 
dissatisfied with certain rules and regulations governing that parish, desired to 
seek a peaceful retreat elsewhere, and under the leadership of Rev. Mr. Daven- 
port of honored memory, who had been their champion in their dissensions at 
Wethersfield, resolved to locate further inland, and in the following year, leaving 
their homes, pursued their course westward and settled where now is the city of 
Stamford, then in the New Haven jurisdiction." 

Huntington's History of Stamford states that "The first church of Stamford 
had already been organized in Wethersfield. Of seven men who constituted the 



MO SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Wethersfield church four came to Stamford, viz. : Rev. Richard Denton, Jonas 
Weed, Robert Coe and Andrew Ward. 

It thus appears that Jonas Weed was one of the four who planted the 
standard of the Cross in the town of Stamford. He died there in 1676, after a 
residence of thirty-five years. His will, dated Fairfield, Nov. 26, 1672, refers to 
his wife Mary, and his children, John, Daniel, Jonas, Mary, wife of George Ab- 
bott, Dorcas, wife of James Wright, Samuel, Sarah, Hannah. Jonas (1) was 
propounded for freeman Oct. 14, 1669. 

Lieut. Daniel Weed, second son of Jonas Weed, was born Feb. if, 1669. 
He held many public positions in the town and was much respected. He was 
deputy to the General Court from Stamford Oct. 11, 1694, Oct. 10, 1695, and May 
14, 1696. On Oct. 11, 1731, he was commissioned by the General Court. En- 
sign of the First Company or train band in the town of Stamford, and com- 
missioned Lieutenant of the same Oct. 17, 1737. He was one of the committee of 
three appointed to treat with Rev. John Davenport with a view of securing his 
services as pastor of the church at Stamford. The name of his wife is not 
known. He had a son Nathaniel. 

CAPTAIN NATHANIEL WEED, son of Lieut. Daniel Weed, was born in 
Stamford, Conn., Oct. 22, 1696. In military affairs he was the most prominent 
man in the town. There is no record of his holding any subordinate position 
previous to his appointment as Captain. At a regular session, Oct. 13, 1743, 
"This Assembly do establish and confirm Mr. Nathaniel Weed to be Captain of 
the first company or trainband in Stamford and order that he be commissioned 
accordingly." He represented the town of Stamford at the General Court, Oct. 
8, 1747. He married and had a son Nathan. 

NATHAN WEED, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Captain Nathaniel 
Weed, died Dec. 19, 1802, was born in Stamford, Conn., Jan. 11, 1726. He re- 
ceived either by gift or inheritance the large property of his father, and erected 
what in these days was a very pretentious house, in 1750. This is still in a good 
state of preservation and owned by his descendants. He was an uncompromising 
patriot and a bitter enemy of the secret enemies of his country, who were among 
his neighbors and former friends. Owing to feeble health he was unable to take 
the field for active service in the Revolution, but he held himself always in read- 
iness to defend his native town against the frequent incursions of the British and 
Tories. His name is found in the roll of Minute Men commanded by Captain 
Eli Reed, and there is no doubt but that he gave a good account of himself 
whenever an opportunity occurred. Owing to the exposed position of himself 
and family, he was compelled to abandon his home, and remove farther inland, 
where he was still liable to be plundered by British marauders, or carried off 
prisoner, his sentiments being so well known as to make him a marked man. 

He married Deborah Clock, born 1728, daughter of John Clock, the first of 
the name appearing on the Stamford records. [See record of Clock family, fol- 
lowing that of Henry L. Weed.] They had a son Nathan (2). 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 141 

NATHAN WEED (2), Patriot of the Revolution, son of Nathan (1) and 
Deborah (Clock) Weed, was born in Stamford, Conn., Sept. 17, 1760. Owing 
to the ill health of the father he was compelled at a very early age to become 
the principal stay of the family, consisting of father, mother and elder sister. 
When he reached the age of fifteen the battles of Lexington and Bunker Hill had 
been fought, and he was eager to take his place in the ranks of the patriots, but 
duty to his parents compelled him to stay at home; but he was ever alert and 
ever ready to act when necessity required, and the old flint lock was kept in read- 
iness for immediate use. He was incapacitated for active service by reason of 
disease brought on through hardship and suffering, and while never regularly en- 
rolled, he enlisted as a member of the "Coast Guard," winch frequently met the 
small bands of British and Tories who on dark nights crossed the sound from 
Long Island to rob and plunder their old neighbors and companions. On one 
occasion he, in company with another member of the Guard, narrowly escaped 
capture, and was saved only by the extreme darkness, which enabled them to 
evade their pursuers. By wading through a creek with water up to their necks, 
they reached the quarters of the Guard, already aroused by the firing, and with 
them gave chase to the plunderers, and nearly overtaking them compelled them to 
abandon the spoil only too glad to escape to their boats. On another occasion, 
while attending divine worship, the church (now in Darien) was surrounded by 
the British and all the inmates — including the pastor, Rev. Moses Mather— ex- 
cept himself ami two others were captured and sent as prisoners to Xew York. 
Young Weed succeeded in making his escape through a window with his two 
companions. They were met outside by a noted Tory who fired on them, wound- 
ing one of the party. At the close of the war he returned to the old home- 
stead farm, which he worked with profit and acquired a fair competence. He 
subsequently took part in the War of 1812-15. He was honored by his fellow- 
citizens with important public trusts, being several times elected to the Legis- 
lature from his native town, and served as magistrate for a long series of years. 
He was a deacon in the church, an exemplary Christian, dignified, courteous and 
kind in his demeanor, beloved by all who knew him. He married Mary Scho- 
field (born Oct. 28, 1764, died Aug. 1, 1842), daughter of Joseph Schofield, one 
of the early settlers and prominent citizens of Stamford. 

JOSEPH SCOFIELD, Patriot of the Revolution, father of Mary 
(Weed) Scofield, was private in Captain Joseph Hoit's Company from Stam- 
ford, who marched "for the Relief of Boston in the Lexington Alarm," April, 
1775. He re-enlisted July 10, 1776, in Fourth Connecticut Company, Captain 
Joseph Hart, and was made Corporal. This formed a part of the Seventh Con- 
necticut Regiment, commanded by Col. Chas. Webb of Stamford and at the bat- 
tle of Long Island, in which it participated, it was attached to McDougall's 
Brigade. The latter commanded the retreat from Long Island. This regiment 
took part in the subsequent operations at Kip's Bay and the retreat to Harlem. 
Referring to Col. Webb's regiment at the battle of White Plains. Johnston says. 
"The troops formed along the brow of the hill, and stood waiting for the enemy." 



142 SONS OP THE REVOLUTION. 

The regiment also took part in the battle of Trenton. Young Scofield afterwards 
enlisted in the "Connecticut Line" of the Continental Army from August 20, 
1779, serving till Jan. 25, 1780. 

Nathan Weed, by his wife Mary (Scofield; Weed (daughter of Joseph Sco- 
field), had issue: 

Debe, born March 27, 1788, died Nov. 1865; married John Bell. 

Mary, born May 13, 1790, died Oct. io, 1798. 

Anne, born Dec. 8, 1791, died April, 1833; married Samuel Richards; no 
issue. 

Nathaniel, born July 23, 1794, died Oct. 12, 1798. 

Eveline, born Feb. 29, 1796, died Aug. 13, 1817. 

Joseph, born Nov. 5, 1798, died Nov. 14, 1798. 

Mary, born Nov. 21, 1799, died Dec. 7, 1866; married, first, Alvah Weed, 
son of Benjamin Weed; married, second, Hezekiah Weed; no issue. 

Joseph, born Dec. 20, 1801, died March 9, 1888; married, first, Louisa, 
daughter of Benjamin Weed, died 1834; married, second, Jane, daughter of Wil- 
liam Tweedy, died Dec, 1895. 

William Franklin, born June 3, 181 1, died in 1889; he married Sarah Claflin, 
and had issue: Dexter Clailin, Nathan Henry and Mary Adelaide. 

Joseph Weed son of Nathan and Mary (Scofield) Weed, was born in Stam- 
ford, Conn., Dec. 14, 1801 ; died March 9, 1888. He came to New York City in 
1820 and engaged in the hardware business, which he carried on successfully for 
a number of years. He was a prominent figure in New York politics, where he 
was identified with the Whig party and a firm adherent and supporter of Henry 
Clay for the Presidency. He served as Alderman and Deputy Sheriff of New 
York. He went with the forty-niners to California, and in 1850 was appointed 
Collector of Assessments for San Francisco, and afterwards elected magistrate, 
a position which he held for two terms. He was an ardent advocate of temper- 
ance, being among the lirst to adopt the old Washingtonian system. He held a 
leading position in the Sons of Temperance, and was instrumental in building up 
and extending the influence of this Order, which formed the nucleus of the 
various temperance societies which have since been organized. He was a true 
patriot and took a special pride in his Revolutionary ancestors. He wrote a brief 
history of his immediate branch of the Weed family of Stamford, entitled, 
"Recollections of a Good Man, Nathan Weed," containing many interesting facts 
and reminiscences of his father's life. He died in San Francisco March 9, 1888, 
respected and honored by his old companions and friends of "49." He married, 
first, Louisa, daughter of Benjamin Weed. She died 1834. Theyhad issue: 

Joseph Henry, born Sept. 11, 1826, died Sept., 1888; married Belinda Web- 
ster and had four daughters and one son. 

Nathan, born July 30, 1828, married Elizabeth L. Dorian 1850 and had three 
sons and one daughter. 

Louisa, born Sept. 21, 1830, married William H. Love. 1856; had two daught- 
ers and three sons. 



SUNS OF 1"HK REVOLUTION. 143 

Alvah, born Feb. 18, 1830, died Dec. 27, 1838.. 
Joseph Weed, by his second wife, Jane Tweedy, had issue: 
Samuel Richards, born Feb. 9, 1837, married Ellen S. Jones, Oct. n, 1859. 
Arthur {1), born August 23, 1838, died June ij, 1839. 

Beatrice, born June 5, 1840, died August, 1804; married Woodbury Kmgin 
(who died 1888J ; had one son, Charles Knight, died 1894. 
Arthur (2), born Jan. 11, 1842, died Feb. 6, 1842. 
Mary (1;, born Feb. 25, 1843, died June 24, 1848. 
Fdgar, born March 29, 1845, died Oct. 18, 1845. 
Edwin, born April 4, 1847, died June 18, 1848. 
Mary Jane, born March 30, 1849, died June 3, 1858. 
Jesse Gordon, born March 9, 1852; married Jacob Wheeler. 
Annie Tweedy, born Feb. 1, 1858, died Dec. 17, 1891. 

SAMUEL RICHARDS WEED, New York Society Sons of the Revolu- 
tion, son of Joseph and Jane (Tweedy) Weed, was born in New York City Feb. 
9, 1837. He was educated in his native city, where he afterwards began the 
study of law. He joined his father in San Francisco in 1851, where he continued 
his legal studies, and held the office of Sergeant-at-Arms in the City Council. 
He went to St. Louis in 1859 and there organized the news bureaus for overland 
mail service for a syndicate of San Francisco journals. He was interested in 
Sanitary Commission work during the war, and also served as City and County 
Bounty Commissioner. 

He engaged in the fire insurance business in 1864 and was general and special 
agent in the West for some years, doing a large and profitable business. He re- 
turned to New York in 1875, and continued for a time as local agent and man- 
ager, and became Vice President of the late Liberty Insurance Company of New 
York in 1887. In 1877 he became associated with Elijah R. Kennedy, under the 
firm name of Weed & Kennedy, who are now United States managers for the 
Alliance, Helvetia, Baloise, Netherlands and Svea insurance companies, and 
Eastern managers for the Aachen and Munich insurance companies. 

Mr. Weed has been for some years a resident of Norwalk, Conn., near the 
home of his ancestors, where he is well known in social circles. He is a member 
of several organizations, and in his religious associations is identified with the 
Central Congregational Church of Brooklyn. 

He married Oct. 11, 1859, Ellen S. Jones of New York City, daughter of 
David W. Jones and Mary Cabot Newell of Boston. He was the son of Charles 
Henry, son of David Jones and Eunice Davis. She was the daughter of James 
Davis and Thankful Hinckley, daughter of Joseph Hinckley and Mary Gorham; 
the latter was the daughter of Col. John Gorham, son of Capt John Gorham, who 
married Desire Howland, daughter of John Howland, thirteenth signer of the 
Mayflower Compact, of whom Bradford, in his journel, says: 

"In a mighty storm John Howland, a passenger, a stout young man by a 
keel of ye ship was thrown overboard into ye sea. But it pleased God. He 
caught hold of ye Topsail Halliards we hung overboard and run out ye length. 



T 4 4 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



yet He kept his hold several fathoms under water, till He was drawn up by ye 
Rope to ye surface, and by a Boat Hook and other means got into ye ship ; and 
tho' somew't ill upon it, lived many years, and became a useful member both in 
church and Commonwealth." Pie was one of the leading men in the colony, 




SAMUEL RICHARDS WEED. 

both in civil and religious matters. He married Elizabeth, daughter of John 
Tilley, sixteenth signer of the Mayflower Compact. 

Samuel R. Weed by his first wife, Ellen (Jones) Weed, had issue; Walter 
Harvey, born May i, 1862, married 1896, Helena C. Hill, daughter of Hon E. J. 
Hill, M. C, Norwalk, Conn.; Nathan Herbert, born Aug. 1, 1868, married, 1891, 
Frances Walker, daughter of Joseph Walker, a member of the Military Order of 
the Loyal Legion, U. S. ; Edward Franklin, born June 20, 1870, married Louisa 
C. Collier, 1894; all living. 

WEED.— WATERBURY.— CLOCK. 



The early history of the Weed family, given under the head of "Weed and 
Allied Families," refers to the line of Daniel and Jonas (2), sons of the first 
Jonas. 

Jonas Weed (2) was the third son of the first Jonas. He was born probably 
in Stamford, Conn., about 1646 or '48. Of his early life no record appears. He 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. I45 

no doubt shared a portion of his father's estate, and cultivated the land for a 
living. He married, Nov. 6, 1670, Bethia Holly, daughter of John Holly, a fellow- 
townsman. 

John Holly, of Stamford, was an early settler of the town and was employed 
almost constantly in the affairs of the town or colony. In 1647 he was appointed 
marshal of the settlement, an office requiring great intelligence and business 
tact. Later he was made collector of customs and excise, which office he dis- 
charged with great satisfaction to the General Court from which he received the 
appointment. He represented the town at the General Court, and was frequently 
one of the selectmen of the town. He was often appointed on important commis- 
sions, both by the town and by the General Court. He came of a distinguished 
family in England, one of whom, Dr. Luther Holly, was born in St. Leonard's 
parish, Shordith, London, Oct. 29, 1556. 

Jonas Weed (2), by his wife Bethia (Holly) Weed, had a son Jonas (3). 

Jonas Weed (3), son of Jonas (2) and Bethia (Holly) Weed, was born 
July 26, 1678. He lived at Noroton Corners. He married Jan. 20, 1703, Sarah, 
daughter of Jonathan Waterbury, son of John, the ancestor. They had issue : 
Elanthan, born 1705; died 1706; David, 1707; Charles, born 1710; Epenetus 
born Sept. 20, 1712; Silvanus, 1713; Gideon, 1716; Sarah, 1718; Thankful, 1719; 
Hezekiah, 1722. Sarah, his wife, died Feb. 5, 1726. 

Epenetus Weed, son of Jonas (3) and Sarah (Waterbury) Weed, was born 
Sept. 20, 1712. He married Dec. 25. 1735, Abigail Waterbury, who died Dec. 30, 
1736; her child died in infancy. He married 2d, Mary Belding, June I, 1738, and 
had Epenetus, 1739; Benjamin, June 18, 1741, died in the army at Lake George, 
Sept. 6, 175S; Justus, 1743; Mary, born Feb. 19, 1745, died soon; Mary, again 
March 14, 1748; Abigail, Aug. 16, 1749, died soon; Abigail, again Nov. 20, 1757; 
Sarah, 1754. Mary, wife of Epenetus. died April 18, 1756, and he married 3d, 
Sarah, daughter of David and Eunice (Scofield) Slauson, Feb. 22, 1758, and had 
Benjamin, born Dec. 18. 1758; John, born Aug. 26, 1760; Prudence, horn March 
4. I7.63- 

BENJAMIN WEED (3), Patriot of the Revolution, son of Epenetus (2) 
and Sarah (Slauson) Weed, was born Dec. 18, 1758. There were three Benjamin 
Weeds enlisted from Stamford in the War of the Revolution. This one is known 
as "Benjamin 3d." He enlisted in Capt. Whitney's Company, Ninth Regiment, 
Conn. Militia. The elder Benjamin Weed, known as "Sergeant," was sergeant 01 
this company. "Connecticut Men in the Revolution" states that: "After the 
battle of White Plains. Oct. 28, '76, the Assembly ordered the 9th, 10th, 13th and 
1 6th militia regiments to march to the Westchester border and place themselves 
under Gen. Wooster's command. Later the State Regiments under Col. Enos 
Whiting relieved them. The 9th regiment had but lately returned from New 
York." 

Although this is the only official record given, there is no doubt but that 
Benjamin 3d served through the war and took part in the affair at Ridgelield, 
Sergeant Benjamin being wounded on that occasion. Huntington's Stamford, 
oage 256, refers to a "petition signed June 3, 1782, which states that 'since the 



1 4 f J SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

capture of Cornwallis and his army, many unprincipled wretches from us who had 
with arms joined the common enemy' had returned home, and thai, a number 
of them belonged to the most infamous banditte called Delanccy's corps.'" Among 
the signers cf this petition was Benjamui Weed 3d. 

He married Dec. 19, 1784, Mary Waterbury, daughter of John Water-bury, 
Jr., son of John, Sr., son of John (1). 

John Waterbury (1), the ancestor, settled in Stamford soon after the settle- 
ment began, and had land recorded to him in 1650. He was a representative to 
the General Court in 1657 and died in 1658. His inventory amounted to £ 185, 
12s. His sons were John (2), Jonathan, David, and perhaps others. 

John Waterbury (2), son of John (1), was born about 1685. He married 
Dec. 4, 1710, Susanna Newkirk, and had issue: Ann, born April 1, 1712; Sarah, 
1720; Susanna, 1714; John born Dec. 21, 1718; David (Genl. Waterbury), born 
Feb. 12, 1722; Peter, Nov. 8, 1726; Epenetus, Sept. 24, 1735. 

JOHN WATERBURY (3), Patriot of the Revolution, son of John (2) 
and Susanna (Newkirk) Waterbury, brother of Gen. David Waterbury, was born 
Dec. 21, 1718, died Nov. 28, 1788. He was the elder brother of Gen. David Water- 
bury, all of the younger brothers, David, Peter and Epenetus, having enlisted 
in the patriot army. There were four John Waterburys in the army, known 
as John, John, Jr., John (2) and John (5). This one is designated 
in the family record, and was generally 'known as "John, Jr." He was 58 years 
of age at the beginning of hostilities, but during the Danbury raid, April 25-28, 
l 777, he shouldered his musket and marched by the side of the younger men. He 
lived to witness the deliverance of his country from the yoke of Great Britain. 
He married, Feb. 1, 1750, Mary Slason, born Aug. 12, 1724, daughter of John 
Slason, Jr, and Rebecca, his wife, son of John Slason, Sr., who died Oct. 16, 
1706. John and Mary (Slason) Waterbury had issue: Rachel, born 1750; John, 
1752; David, 1755; Mary, born June 6, 1758, married Benjamin Weed; Peter, 
1760; Epenetus, 1762; Isaac, 1764; Elizabeth, 1768. (Epenetus and David both 
died in Canada during the war.) 

Mary Waterbury, daughter of John 3d and Mary (Slason) Waterbury, and 
niece of General David Waterbury, was born June 6, 1758. 

Benjamin Weed 3d, by his wife Alary (Waterbury) Weed, had Isaac and 
Rebecca (twins) born 1797; Alvah, born 1799; Louisa, 1804; Mary, born Oct. 7, 
1785; Sarah, born 1787; Nancy, born 1790; John, born 1792: James Harvey, born 
\jgj\Rufus, born March 7, 1802. 

The old homestead at Noroton, built by Epenetus, the father of Benjamin, 
in 1740, is still standing, one of the oldest houses in the town of Stamford. 

Rufus Weed, youngest son of Benjamin and Mary (Waterbury) Weed, was 
born in Stamford, Conn.. March 7. 1802. Imbued with the same spirit of patri- 
otism that animated his father and grandfather, but with no opportunities for 
exercise, he led a quiet, uneventful life, working and improving the homestead 
farm, but with no ambition or inclination to participate in its local affairs. He 
was enabled to give his children better advantages than he had enjoyed and was 
proud of their success in life. He inherited the strong predominating virtues of 



SONS Of THE REVOLUTION. I47 

his ancestors, and these have been further developed in his descendants, lie lived 
to a ripe old age in the community where he was so well and favorably known. 
He married Phebe, daughter of John Clock, son of John, son of John Clock, the 
ancestor. 

The earliest record of the Clock family in this country is that of Peter Clock, 
who bought of Sellout Classen, Aug. 16, 1649, "a lot on the highway near the 
garden of John Damen on the island of Manhattan." This is an old Holland 
name, the original spelling of which was Klock. The)' belonged to a distinguished 
family of Holland. 

Abraham Martensen Clock, probably a brother or son of Peter, was one of 
the early proprietors of Xew Amsterdam. Vol VI, page 72, of the Dutch Manu- 
scripts at Albany show that on Aug. 11. 1655, there was issued an "Order grant- 
ing Abraham Martensen Clock, miller, a building lot on Manhattan Island." He 
soon acquired further property, as there appears in vol. VIII, pp. 310, of the 
records a "Petition of Abraham Martense Clock for the grant of a piece of land 
in front of his house across the Here weigh (highway). New Amsterdam." 

The name of Abraham Clock appears on an old map of New Amsterdam, 
the location being Hanover Scpiare, the tradition being that this name \vas given 
to it by the family. 

Cornells Clock was one of the early surgeons of New Amsterdam. There 
is recorded on the Council of Minutes, Oct. 24, 1656, a ''Bill of Cornelis Clock 
for bleeding, purging, etc.. divers sick soldiers on board the Gilded Otter with 
request for payment." 

Pilgrim Clock, Oct. 31, 1656, was one of the notaries of New Amsterdam. 
Mis name appears among the list of "Great and Small Burghers" of New Am- 
sterdam, April 18, 1657; also that of Abraham Clock. 

The records of the old Dutch Church, New York— May 6, 1682— contain a 
notice of the marriage of Martin Ahrahamszen Clock to Lysbeth Abrahams Van- 
derheul, and on page 57, that of Albert Clock to Tryntje Abrahms, 1685. 

The tradition is that two or three of the brothers returned to Holland and 
the others remained here. 

John Clock, the first of whose name appears on the Stamford records, was 
probably a son of Albert Clock and Tryntje Abrahams. This conjecture is sup- 
ported by the fact that his oldest son was named Albert. John Clock was ad- 
mitted an inhabitant of Stamford, Conn., by vote, 1725. He died May 15. 1746. 
He married March 21, 1725. Deborah Scofield, and had issue: Catharine, born 
1725; Deborah (married Nathan Weed). Albert, John. Martin. Abraham. Sarah. 
Jacob, Peter. Jonathan. 

Albert Clock, son of John and Deborah (Scofield) Clock, was born May 19. 
1729. He married Aug. 29. 1750. Comfort Clark, and had Nathaniel, born April 
T 3. I75i: John, Nov. 22, 1753; Phebe, born March 24. 1750. 

JOHN CLOCK, Patriot of the Revolution, son of John and Comfort 
(Clark) Clock, was born Nov. 22, 1753. During the War of the Revolution he 
was a private in Capt. Bell's company, Ninth Regiment, Conn. Militia, which 
"marched to the Westchester border, and were there placed under Gen. Wooster's 



i 4 8 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



Command." He married Sarah Fancher, born Sept. 24, 1767, daughter of David 
Fancher and Mary Holmes, son of John Fancher and Emma Bouton. Their 
children were: Martha, born 1790; Abram, 1793; Hannah, 1797; Debby, 1799; 
David, Oct. 24, 1801 ; Phebe, born about 1803 ; was married to Rufus Weed. 

Rufus Weed, by his wife, Phebe (Clock) Weed, had issue: Henry Frank 
Weed. 

HENRY FRANK WEED, New York State Society, Sons of the Revo- 
lution, son of Rufus and Phebe (Clock) Weed, was born at Darien, Conn. 
He enjoyed good educational advantages to fit him for a business life, and came 
to New York City in 1859, at a time the dry goods business was conducted largely 
by New England men, this being the centre of trade for the whole United States. 
Mr. Weed obtained a position in one of the dry goods houses, continuing until 
1864, when he joined his brother John in the present firm of Weed & Brother. 
Through the several financial crises and the division of the dry goods trade with 
the great West, he has continued to do a successful business, and is among the 




HENRY F. WEED. 



very few left of the old New York merchants. He married Adeline W., daughter 
of James W. Stanton, seventh in descent from Thomas Stanton, who came from 
England in 1635, and settled in Hartford, Conn. In 1650 he established a trading 
house at the present location of Stonington. He was an extensive landholder ; 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. I41J 

was commissioner to try civil and criminal cases ; deputy to the General Court, 
1666-75 5 special Indian interpreter for Connecticut Colony, and appointed Indian 
interpreter general of New England. By his wife Ann, daughter of Dr. Thomas 
Lord, he had two children. 

Henry Frank Weed and Adeline W. Stanton, his wife, had issue : Walton F., 
Florence L. and Louise S. 

ROBBINS.— WOLCOTT.— AMES.— GOODSPEED. 

John Robbins, the progenitor of the Connecticut branch of the family, was 
an original settler of Wethersfield, Conn., in 1638. He was a representative to 
the General Court in i656-'57-'5Q. He died June 27, 1660. By his wife Mercy 
he had Mary, Hannah, Comfort, John (2). 

Capt. John Robbins (2), son of John and Mercy Robbins, was born April 
29, 1649. He resided at Lyme, Conn., for a time, where he was made freeman, 
1671. He married Mary Dennison, of Roxbury, Mass., daughter of Edward Den- 
nison, whose brother Daniel married Patience, daughter of Gov. Thomas Dudley, 
of Mass. Edward Dennison married Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph Weld, who 
was made a freeman. 1636, representative to General Court, 1637, and was for 
some years Captain of militia or Train Band, the highest military office in the 
colony at the time. He was of good estate and high repute. 

John Robbins (2), by his wife, Mary Dennison, had a son Richard. 

Richard Robbins, son of John (2) and Mary (Dennison) Robbins, was born 
June 8, 1687. He married June 11, 17 11. Martha Curtis (born Jan 17, 1691), 
daughter of John (2), son of Sergeant John, son of Thomas Curtis, one of the 
early settlers of Wethersfield. Richard Robbins, by his wife Mary (Curtis) Rob- 
bins, had issue: John (3). 

John Robbins (3), son of Richard and Martha (Curtis) Robbins, was bom 
Jan. 1, 1716. He was a magistrate, and represented Wethersfield in the General 
Assembly. He married 1st, Martha, daughter of Capt. Jacob Williams, born 7th 
March, 1665, son of Thomas Williams, an early settler of Wethersfield. He mar- 
ried 2d, Sarah Wright, a widow, whose maiden name was Boardman. By his first 
wife he had eleven children, of whom Frederick was the ninfh. 

SERGT. FREDERICK ROBBINS, Patriot of the Revolution, son of John 
(2) and Martha (Williams) Robbins, was born at Wethersfield, Conn., Sept. 12, 
1756. He enlisted in Capt. (afterward Colonel) John Chester's Ninth Company, 
jd Reg., Conn. Line, and was appointed Orderly Sergeant. He was stationed at 
Roxbury, and served during the siege until the close of his term of service in 
1775. Hollister's History of Connecticut refers to this (Ninth) Company as 
the "elite of the American Army," being selected as escort to Gens. Putnam 
and Warner, to meet the British officers for the exchange of prisoners after the 
battle of Bunker Hill, in which young Robbins took part. 

He re-enlisted in June, 1776, and took part in the battles of Long 
Island and White Plains. Sergt. Robbins continued with the army in the retreat 
through New Jersey, and remained until the expiration of his term of enlistment, 



15° SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Dec. 25, 1776. He afterward assisted in fitting out a privateer, which he placed 
in command of Capt. Jabez Riley, with the intention of preying on the commerce 
of Great Britain. They started from New London, but being caught in a heavy 
fog, were captured by a British frigate, and sent on board the Jersey Prison Ship. 
He was permitted to take with him his chest of clothing, which contained a good 
supply of bread, and this kept him in food for some days. He describes the stench 
and filth as almost unbearable, and the sufferings of him and his comrades were 
very great. He remained in confinement for some months, and was finally ex- 
changed. He returned home a mere wreck of his former self. After recovering 
his health, he resumed work on his farm. He had a large estate which he re- 
ceived from his father. He married Mehetable Wolcott, daughter of Elisha Wol- 
cott, son of Samuel (2), son of Samuel (1), son of Henry Wolcott, the ancestor. 

Henry Wolcott. the first of the family in this country, was the son of John 
Wolcott. of Tolland, in Somersetshire, Eng. He settled first in Boston, where he 
was made a freeman, April 1, 1634. He moved to Windsor, Conn., in 1636, where 
he married, Nov. 18. 1641. Sarah, daughter of Thomas Newbury, of Dorchester. 
Ik- was one of the nineteen persons named in the Charter of Connecticut. He 
was a member of the House of Deputies. 1660, and of the House of Magistrates, 
1662. Henry Wolcott, by his wife Sarah (Newbury) Wolcott, had among other 
children a son Samuel. 

Samuel Wolcott. seventh child of Henry and Sarah (Newbury) Wolcott, 
was born April 16. 1656. He was a merchant of Windsor, Conn., was a deputy to 
the General Court in 1685. He died June 14, 1695. He married Judith, daughter 
of Samuel Appleton (2), son of Samuel Appleton (1). 

Samuel Appleton ( 1 ) was born at Little Waldenfield, Co. Suffolk. Eng., 1586. 
He was a friend and neighbor of Gov. Winthrop. He came to this country in 
1635, and was made a freeman, May 25. 1(136: was a representative at the General 
Court for some years. By his wife, Mary Everard, he had Samuel (2). 

Samuel Appleton (2), son of Samuel (1) and Mary (Everard) Appleton, 
was born in England, and came with his parents to this country. He was a 
representative to the General Court and most Worshipful Judge. He was in 
command of 500 men in the great battle against the Narragansetts, Dec. 9, 1675. 
By his skill and bravery he contributed much to the victory. His daughter Judith 
became the wife of Samuel Wolcott. 

Samuel Wolcott, by his wife Judith (Appleton) Wolcott, had a son Samuel. 

Samuel Wolcott (2), son of Samuel (1) and Judith (Appleton) Wolcott. 
was born April 11. 1679; he married Dec. 27, 1705, Abigail, daughter of Rev. 
Nathaniel Collins and Mary Whiting, son of Dea. Edward Collins, of Cambridge. 
1638: deacon, representative to the General Court, 1654 to 1670, except '6r. He 
lived many years on a plantation of Gov. Cradock at Medford, and at last pur- 
chased it. and sold to Richard Russell 1.600 acres, and additional acres to other 
parties. Samuel Wolcott (2). by his wife Abigail (Collins) Wolcott, had a son 
Elisha. 

Elisha Wolcott, son of Samuel (2) and Abigail (Collins) Wolcott, was born 
Sept. 26. t/{-. He married June 28, 1746, Sarah, daughter of Gersham Nolt. who 



SUNS OF THE REVOLUTION. 151 

married Sarah Waterhouse, of Saybrook, daughter of Isaac Waterhouse, of Lynn. 
whose wife Sarah was the daughter of Lieut. William Pratt, one of the most 
prominent men in the. Connecticut colony. Elisha Wolcott, by his wife Sarah 
(Nolt) Wolcott, had a daughter Mehitable, born June 12, 1759, who was married 
April 12, 1781, to Frederick Robbins (1). 

Sergeant Frederick Robbins (1), by his wife Mehitable (Wolcott) Robbins, 
had a son Frederick (2). 

Frederick Robbins (2), son of Sergeant Frederick and Mehitable (Wolcott) 
Robbins, was born April 9, 1784. He married Sept. 19, 1805, Eunice Ames, only 
child of Philemon, son of John (2), son of John (1), son of Robert, son of John, 
son of John, son of William, son of Richard Ames. 

Richard Ames, of Somersetshire, England, had two sons, William and John; 
the latter settled at Bridgwater, Mass. 

William Ames, born Oct. 6, 1605, in England, came to this country and settled 
at Braintree, Mass., 1640. By his wife Hannah he had six children, of whom 
John (1) was the fourth. 

John Ames, son of William and Hannah Ames, married Sarah, daughter of 
Dea. John and Elizabeth Willis, who settled in Bridgewater, Mass., and was the 
first representative to the General Court ever sent from that town, and repre- 
sented it several times afterward. By his wife Sarah (Willis) Ames, John Ames 
had a son, John (2). 

John Ames (2), son of John (1) and Sarah (Willis) Ames, was born April 
14, 1672; died June 1, 1705. He moved to New London, Conn. He had John, 
Robert and Samuel. 

Robert Ames, son of John (2). moved to Wethersfield, Conn., and died there 
1 77 1. He had a son John (3). 

JOHN AMES (3), Patriot of the Revolution, son of Robert Ames, was 
born 1733; died 1790. He enlisted 1775, 2d Company, Sixth Conn. Regiment, 
commanded by Col. (afterward General) Samuel Holden Parsons; took post at 
Roxbury in Spencer's brigade. Later he was attached to the Fourth Regiment. 
Conn. Line, Col. Durkee; was in the battles of Germantown, Monmouth and other 
engagements. In 1779 his name appears as a member of the crew of the Conti- 
nental Frigate "Confederacy," which sailed from Philadelphia for France, having 
on board the French Minister, Gerard, and the newly appointed Minister to 
Spain, the Hon. John Jay, as passengers. She encountered a heavy gale and put 
into Martinico for repairs. She was subsequently captured off the Cape of Vir- 
ginia by a British Seventy-four, and taken to Charlestown. then in possession of 
the British. 

John Ames (3) married Abigail Butler, born July 30, 1739; died Feb. 23, 
1800. They had a son Philemon. 

Philemon Ames, son of John (3) and Abigail (Butler) Ames, was born Oct. 
8, 1758; married Ruth Hurlbut (born 1759; died March II, 1842), daughter of 
David (2) , son of David ( 1 ) , son of John, son of Thomas. 

Thomas Hurlbut came from England in 1635. and was a soldier under Lion 
Gardner, who hail command of the fort at Saybrook. He engaged in the war 



152 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

with the Pequots and was severely wounded by an arrow. He was Clerk of the 
Train Band in 1640, deputy to the General Court, Grand Juror and Constable. 
For his services in the Indian war he was allowed by the General Court 120 acres 
of land. By his wife Sarah he had a son John. 

John Hurlbut, son of Thomas Hurlbut, was born in Wethersfield and moved 
thence to Middletown. He married, Dec. 15, 1670, Mary, daughter of John 
Deming, whose wife was Honour Treat, daughter of Richard Treat, whose 
name appears in the charter of 1662. Deputy to the General Court 1644 to 
1658. Assistant 1658 to 1665; owned 900 acres in what is now Glastonbury, 
Conn. John Hurlbut. by his wife Mary (Deming) Hurlbut. had a son David (1). 

David Hurlbut, son of John and Mary (Deming) Hurlbut, was born in Mid- 
dletown, Conn., Aug. 11, 1688. In 1744 he moved to Groton. He had a son 
David (2). 

David Hurlbut (2), son of David (1), was born in Middletown, Upper 
Houses. Later he moved to Portland, on the east side of the river. He married 
Ruth Belden and had nine children anmong whom was Ruth, who became the 
wife of Philemon Ames. 

Philemon Ames, by his wife Ruth (Hurlbut) Ames, bad a daughter Eunice, 
who was married to Frederick Robbins (2). 

Frederick Robbins (2), by his wife Eunice (Ames) Robbins, had five chil- 
dren, of whom Rowland Ames was third. 

Rowland Ames Robbins, second child of Frederick (2) and Ruth Hurlbut 
(Ames) Robbins, was born in Hartford, Conn.. March 18, 1812. He was not en- 
dowed with a strong constitution, but he combined the graces of mind, the force 
of character, and gentleness of disposition that made him one of the most lovable 
as well as one of the most useful of men, and it is to the thoughtfulness of a loving 
brother and a devoted son that the sweet memories of such a life hav? been pre- 
served for future generations. 

He united with the Central Congregational Church of Hartford at an early 
age, and laid the foundation of a Chiistian character, wfrch broadened and 
strengthened with advancing jears. 

He received a fair education, and at the age of eighteen he entered the em- 
ploy of Adrian Janes, then engaged in the paper hanging business in Hartford, 
Conn. That he won the confidence of his employer goes without saying, for his 
whole life was spent in one unselfish desire to please and to contribute to the 
happiness of others. After three years of service he received an advantageous 
offer from a New York firm to enter their employ, but his employer was loth 
to part with him, and proposed a co-partnership which the young man readily 
accepted, and this was continued to their mutual advantage for some years, and 
during this period they were induced to purchase the patent for a hot air furnace, 
and this necessitated their removal to New York City, where the foundation of 
their fortune was laid. This patent was subsequently combined with that of the 
Beebe Range, and a new co-partnership organized under the firm name of Janes 
Beebe & Co. The business increased far beyond the expectation of its founders, 
and a branch house was established in Baltimore. Md., under the firm name of 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 153 

Heywood, Robbins & Co., which was carried on successfully for some years, 
but the great increase in the New York business necessitated the combined 
energies of its founders, who parted with their Baltimore interests, and Mr. 
Robbins returned to New York. 

In addition to the manufacture of furnaces, cooking ranges, etc., the 
firm concluded to combine that of manufacturing heavy architectural castings, 
and soon after this, the United States Government having invited proposals for 
building the dome of the Capitol at Washington, the firm entered their bid and 
obtained the contract. The business assumed greater proportions each year, and 




ROWLAND A. ROBBINS, SEN. 

the heavy strain proved too much for the already overtasked energies of Mr. Rob- 
bins, and in the midst of his prosperous career his life was brought to an early 
end in his thirty-eighth year on the 14th of September, 1850; but in this brief 
period was combined more than most men who reach their three-score-and-ten 
years. His capacity for business was marvelous, and extensive operations, in- 
volving immense expenditures of money were conducted with that ease and pre- 
cision of a commander-in-chief in moving his armies. Cool, calm, self-possessed, 
he met every emergency with skill and rare good judgment. He had a mind well 
balanced and allowed nothing to ruffle his temper. With all of his gentleness of 
disposition there was no lack of firmness. No one ever presumed to take ad- 
vantage of his kindness of heart, for there was a grace and dignity of manner 
that checked any undue familiarity. As a husband and father his life was fault- 
less. With his children he was not only fatherly, but companionable, and he 
enjoyed their closest confidence and friendship, guiding them by his wise coun- 



154 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

sel, cheering and comforting them in trouble, and entering into all their little 
affairs of life with the deepest interest. As a Christian he said little, but did 
much. After coming to New York he united with Dr. Cheever's church in 
Union Square. 

Mr. Robbins married Oct. 13, 1836, Mary Ann Goodspeed, daughter of Joseph 
Goodspeed, of East Haddam. Conn., son of Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1), son 
of Nathan, son of Moses, son of Ebenezer. son of Roger Goodspeed. 

Roger Goodspeed. a political refugee from England, came to Massachusetts 
from England in 1639, settled at Barn table, married Alice Dayton in 164 1 and had 
a son Ebenezer. 

Ebenezer Goodspeed. sixth child of Roger Goodspeed, was born Dec, 1655, 
married Feb. 15. 1677, Lydia Crowell of Yarmouth. They had a son Moses. 

Moses Goodspeed, thirteenth and youngest child of Ebenezer and Lydia 
(Crowell) Goodspeed, was born Nov. 24, 1704. He married March 30, 1726, Han- 
nah Allen. He inherited the house of his ancestor, which passed to his son 
Seth, and still remains in the family. They had six children, of whom Nathan 
was the fifth. 

Nathan Goodspeed, fifth child of Moses and Hannah (Allen) Goodspeed, 
was born March 7, 1735. He, in company with Capt. Elijah Atwood and James 
Green, moved to East Haddam, Conn., about 1757. He married Jan. 2, 1772, Mary 
Kellogg of Colchester, probably grand-daughter of Jonathan Kellogg. They had 
eight children, of whom Joseph, was the youngest. 

Joseph Goodspeed. eighth child of Nathan and Mary (Kellogg) Goodspeed, 
was born April 23, 1787. He married Laura Tyler (sister of W. S. and Chaun- 
cey Tyler), Sept. 21, 1811. She died July 3, 1833; he married 2d Rosa Bigelow of 
East Haddam, widow of Dr. Bigelow. and daughter of Frederick Robbins (2) 
of Wethersfield. They had issue: George Edward. William Henry, born Dec. 
29, 1814, married Louisa M. Robbins, daughter of Frederick Robbins of Hartford ; 
Frederick, Mary Ann, who was married to Rowland Ames Robbins; Nathan Ty- 
ler, Laura, Sophia. 

Rowland Ames Robbins, by his wife, Mary Ann (Goodspeed) Robbins. had 
issue: Laura, born July 23, 1837; Russell Hurlbut. born July I, 1841 ; Adelaide, 
born Jan. 18, 1843; Rowland Ames (2), born June 28, 1848; George, born Sept. 
7. 1850. 

Russei.t. II. Robbins, second child and eldest son of Rowland Ames and 
Mary Ann (Goodspeed) Robbins, was born in Hartford. Conn., where he received 
his education. In 1861 he accepted a position in the firm of Lord & Robinson, 
Baltimore. Md., of which his brother-in-law, Charles W. Lord, was partner. Sub- 
sequently he became a member of the branch house of this firm, Robinson, Lord 
& Company, in 1869. Upon the dissolution of this firm in 1880 he accepted the 
position of purchasing agent in the American Rapid Telegraph Company, and re- 
tained the same position in the Postal Telegraph Company, its successor, with 
which he remained until the time of his death, July 26, 1896. 

He enlisted in Company E of the 22d Regiment. N. G. S. N. Y., with his 
brother. Dec. 27, 1867. and soon after was appointed and commissioned Captain, 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 1 55 

A. D. C, of the staff of Brig. Gen. J. M. Varian, commanding 3d Brigade. N. G. 
S. N. Y. He was afterwards promoted and commissioned Major and Engineer in 
the same brigade. He held this position for several years, when he resigned and 
was honorably discharged. 

He became a member of the Players' Club, being one of the earliest to join 
after its organization by the late Edwin Booth. He inherited many of the at- 
tractive and lovable traits of his father. Rowland, and his genial nature and 
generous disposition endeared him to all who knew him. 

Rowland Ames Robbins enlisted in E Company. 22d Regiment, X. G. S, 
N. Y., Dec. 27, 1867; appointed and commissioned First Lieutenant and Quar- 
termaster upon the staff of Gen. Josiah Porter, Commandant of that regiment. 
Oct. 22, 1871. Resigned and honorably discharged June 25, 1875. Appointed and 
commisioned First Lieutenant, A. D. C. on staff of Brig. Gen. J. M. Varian. 
commanding Third Brigade, N. G. S. N. Y.. May id. 1877. Promoted and com- 
missioned Captain, A. D. C, August 7, 1877. (Later given brevet rank of Major 
for continued service under the State law. ) Promoted and commissioned Major 
and Engineer, June 27, 1882, 2d Brigade, N. G. S. N. Y., commanded by Gen. 
J. M. Varian. Resigned upon death of Brigade Commandant in 1882. and honor- 
ably discharged from said service April 15th of that year. 

MAJOR ROWLAND AMES ROBBINS, (2) New York State Society 
Sons of the Revolution, fourth child and second son of Rowland Ames and 
Mary Ann (Goodspeed) Robbins, was born in New York City, June 28, 1848. 
He attended the village school and later the Episcopal Academy of Connecticut, 
completing his studies at a private school in Baltimore, Md. His first business 
experience was with the firm of Lord and Robinson, Baltimore, Md., and in 1869 
a branch firm was organized under the name of Robinson, Lord & Co., Mr. Rob- 
bins and his brother Russell being the "Co.," located in New York City. This 
continued until 1880, when Mr. Robbins started in business in his own name, 
dealing principally in Government and railroad supplies, and in 1891 he organ- 
ized the present company known as the Manhattan Supply Company, of which he 
is president. 

Notwithstanding the pressure of business be has devoted much time and en- 
ergy to militarv affairs. He joined Company E. 22cl Regiment, N. G S. N. Y.. in 
1869 as private and later was appointed Quartermaster on the staff of Col. Porter, 
with the rank of First Lieutenant, and was subsequently appointed on the staff of 
Gen. J. M. Varian. commanding Third Brigade, as Junior Aide, with rank of First 
Lieutenant; was promoted Senior Aide and Captain with rank of Major, and mi 
Jan. 2-j, 1882. he was appointed Engineer on brigade staff with full rank of 
Major. 

Major Robbins is a member of the New York Chamber of Commerce, the 
Union League. Players and other clubs. Society of Colonial Wars. Geographical 
Society of New York. etc. He married March 4. 1884. Elizabeth Stewart. Their 
children are Russell Hurlbut. born Jan. 28. T885 ; Gladys, born Aug. 30. 1889; 
Rowland Ames. Jr., born March t.". t8q6. 



150 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

WEBB.— SAFFORD.— AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 

The various members of the Webb, Safford and allied families were dis- 
tinguished for their courage, loyalty and patriotism in the colonial wars and the 
War of the Revolution, and were conspicuous in the development of the several 
towns where they located. 

Referring to the origin of the Webbs, Burke says: "This family migrated 
to the county of Limerick at the end of the sixteenth or the beginning of the 
seventeenth century, from Gloucestershire, in which county as well as in Wiltshi.e. 
it had been settled from the reign of Edward I., when its ancestor, a Fleming by 
birth, brought over some improvements in the loom, and received a surname from 
his occupation." 

The great web and woof of human life through the instrumentality of this 
family have formed beautiful and varied mosaic patterns, and the life work still 
goes on, and faithful hands still ply the shuttle to and fro, keeping ever in mind 
the motto inscribed on the family arms — Principia non homines. 

The earliest branch of the Webb family was granted June 15, 1577. Arms — 
Gules a cross humettee engrailed between four falcons or. Crest — Out of a ducal 
coronet a demi-eagle displayed or. Motto — Principia non homines. 

From the fact that four families of the name of Webb were among the early 
settlers of Massachusetts, it would indicate that they may have been related. Wil- 
liam Webb of Weymouth, John Webb of Braintree are mentioned as early as 1648, 
and Richard Webb, the founder of the Stamford, Conn., branch was admitted a 
freeman of the town of Boston in April 1632, and in 1635 accompanied Rev. Mr. 
Hooker and others to Hartford and Windsor. 

Christopher Webb, of Braintree, Mass., came from England with his fam- 
ily and settled in that town before 1645, at which time he was made freeman. 
Savage says : "Christopher Webb, of Braintree, freeman 1645, was one of the 
petitioners that year for leave to go and possess the land from which our Govern- 
ment had unrighteously driven Gorton, Holden and other misbelieving planters, 
but the right of the sufferers was vindicated in England." 

Christopher Webb remained in Braintree during his life. By his wife Humil- 
ity he had Christopher, Sarah, and Thomas. 

Christopher Webb, Jr., son of Christopher (1) and Humility Webb, was 
born in England about 1630. He removed to Billerica, and was granted a six 
acre privilege Sept. 29. 1659. His home lot w\as thirty-five acres of land lying on 
the "East side of the country road that goeth from Woburn to Chelmsford." He 
returned to Braintree as early as 1665. He married June 18, 1654, Hannah, 
daughter of Benjamin Scott. The marriage was performed by Captain Torrey, of 
Weymouth. The Braintree records give the following list of his children and the 
dates thereof, which differ from those given in "Giles Memorial:" John, born 
Oct. 23, 1653, married Betbia Adams; Peter, born Dec. I, 1655, married Amy 
Heyden ; Samuel, born Aug. 6, 1660, married Mary Adams ; Christopher, born 
March 25, 1663, married Mary Bass; Hannah, born July 5, 1665, married Captain 
John Adams. Benjamin, born Dec. 2, 1667, married Susanna Balentine; Mary, 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. I57 

born July 6, 1669, married Captain Peter Adams; Joseph, born Jan. 15, 1672, mar- 
ried Deborah Bass. Abigail, born Aug. 13, 1075. Christopher Webb, Jr., died 
May 30, 1694. Hannah, his wife, died 1718. Three of Christopher Webb's chil- 
dren married children of Joseph Adams, the grandfather of President John 
Adams. 

Benjamin Webb, sixth child of Christopher, Jr., and Hannah (Scott) Webb, 
was born Dec. 2, 1667. He lived for three or four years in Boston, but returned to 
Braintree, where he carried on an extensive business as tanner and currier. He 
was a man of great intelligence and owned a fine library for that period. Two 
of his sons were sent to college and entered the ministry. After the Narragansett 
war, to relieve the province of the heavy indebtedness, Bills of Credit were issued 
in 1720, and Benjamin Webb was appointed one of the trustees for disposing of 
them. 

In 1734 a petition was sent to the General Court to grant the town something 
as a "consideration, and in lieu of 4,000 acres of land taken from us and added to 
the town of Milton," and "Likewise to Grant us something Gratis for our having 
Kept a Free Latin School for about 90 years." 

Benjamin Webb was appointed to manage this office. 

The history of the town states that "The first tanner and currier that we have 
any account of was Benjamin Webb, who in 1700 bought of Benjamin Thompson, 
the old schoolmaster, one and a half acres of land for £82, 10 s., as a place to 
erect a building for his business." He married Feb. 2, 1667, Susanna Ballentine, 
daughter of William Ballentine and Hannah Hollord of Boston. The children 
were Hannah, born May 15, 1694, died 1702; Benjamin, born Dec. 13, 1695, mar- 
ried Mehitable Williams; Jonathan, born Dec. 27, 1697, married Bathshelea ; 

ried Mehitable Williams; Jonathan, born Dec. 27, 1697, married Bathsheba ; 

Daisy, born Dec. 11, 1699, died Jan. 15, 1800; Jerusha, born Feb. 21, 1701, mar- 
ried Samuel Bass ; Eunice, born May 6, 1703, married Joseph Allen, June 30, 1725 ; 
Nathan, born April 9, 1705, married Ruth Adams; Timothy, born June 30, 1706. 
married Sarah Howard; Susanna, born May 20, 1710; Esthei. born April 1, 1713. 
married Ebenezer Reade of Weybridge; Benjamin Webb, Sen. died 1739. 

Timothy Webb, son of Benjamin and Susanna (Ballantine) Webb, was born 
June 30, 1706, in Braintree. He removed to Windham, Conn., where his uncle, 
Samuel Webb, had preceded him. He died in Windham, Feb. 22, 1792. He mar- 
ried Sarah Howard and had issue: Nathaniel, born August 9. 1726, died Feb. 25. 
1749; Stephen, born Dec. 27. 1730; Eunice, born Jan. 25, 1752, married Samuel 
Adams; Abigail, born Dec. 25, 1734, married Jacob Fuller; Mary, born March 
18, 1739, married Barnabas Arnable ; Stephen, born Oct. 4, 1742, married Con- 
tent Hewett; Jerusha, born Feb. 7. 1745, married Enos Palmer; Benjamin, born 
Nov. 14, 1747, married Sarah Holmes; Esther, born Oct. 13, 1750, married Ben- 
jamin Holt; Jonathan, born June 10, 1752, married Nancy Nash. 

BENJAMIN WEBB, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Timothy and Sarah 
{ Howard) Webb, was born Nov. 14, 1749, died at Bennington, Vt, Feb. 9, 1812. 
He served in the Revolution as Sergeant in Captain Smith's Company, Ninth 



158 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Connecticut Regiment, and later as Ensign in Captain Schofield's Company of 
Coast Guards. He married Sarah Holmes, Jan. 31, 1775, at Nine Partners (now 
America), N. Y., and had issue: Sarah, born Oct. 21, 1778; Philomela, August 
25, 1780; Benjamin, May 14, 1782; Celinda, Aug. 7, 1784, married Alson 
Squires; Stephen, born June 17, 1786; Laura, Nov. 27, 1788, married Lorenzo 
Fassett; Fanny, born Nov. 7, 1790; Patty, Oct. 22, 1792. 

Benjamin Webb, Jr. son of Benjamin and Sarah (Holmes) Webb, was 
born May 4, 1782; married Electa Safford, daughter of Samuel Safford (2), son 
of Joseph (3), son of Joseph (2), son of Joseph (1). 

Joseph Safford with his family were born in England, where he died. He had 
a son Joseph (2). 

Joseph Safford (2), son of Joseph (1), came from England to Plymouth. 
Mass. He removed thence with his family to Norwich, Conn., in 1723. Miss 
Caulkins' History of Norwich, page 344, refers to an "Account of the Surprizing 
Events of Providence which happened at the Raising of a Bridge in Norwich, June 
28, 1728," in which the name of Joseph Safford is mentioned among the wounded. 
By his wife Abigail he had issue Joseph (2), born 1705; Abigail. John, Sarah, 
who died at Norwich ; Solomon. 

Deacon Joseph Safford (3), son of Joseph (2) and Abigail ( ) 

Safford, was born in 1705, moved to Norwich with his parents, where he married 
Anna Bottom, and had Anna, born Dec. 31, 1730; Elizabeth, 1735 ; Samuel, April 
14, 1737; Abigail. 1740; Joseph, 1742; David, 1744; Hannah, 1746; Lucy. June 
1748; Esther, Sept. 22, 1750; Jacob. Nov. 22, 1752; Solomon, Feb. 19, 1755. 

GENERAL SAMUEL SAFFORD, Patriot of the Revolution, son of 
Dea. Joseph and Anna (Bottom) Safford, was born at Norwich. Conn., April 14, 
1737. He removed to Bennington, Vt. and took an active part in the land title 
controversy with New York, and on several occasions represented the town in 
conventions of the settlers for defense against the Yorkers, and also for forming 
the territory into a separate state. When the committee of the several towns 
met at Dorset in July, 1775 to nominate officers for the battalion of Green Moun- 
tain Boys, recommended by Congress, he was named as its Major, the command 
being held by Lieut. Col. Seth Warner. Among the important services rendered 
by the regiment was the decisive defeat of Gen. Carleton at Longuiel, which pre- 
vented his furnishing relief to St. John, and caused the immediate surrender, 
and also the abandonment of Montreal to the American forces under Gen. Mont- 
gomery. 

When Seth Warner's Continental regiment was raised by act of Congress in 
July, 1776, Major Safford was commissioned Lieut. Colonel. In Stark's cam- 
paign, which included the battle of Bennington, he was the latter's "right arm." 

Hon. Highland Hall, in bis account of the battle, says: "To Gen. Stark 
should be assigned the highest meed of praise for the victory * * * Of his 
officers, Col. Safford is undoubtedly entitled to special credit. Safford was a 
Colonel in the Continental army and bad acquired a high reputation as a military 
leader by his services in Canada and at Hubbardton, and he had long been a 
resident of Bennington and was familiarly acquainted with the ground occupied 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. !=,() 

by the posts of the enemy and their approaches. He was Stark's chief adviser 
in planning the attack of the enemy; he went into the action by his side, and was 
his active associate in the first engagement as well as in the attack of Brayman's 
reinforcements." 

Dr. Thatcher, in his contemporary Military Journal, says: "Stark, assisted 
by Safford, matured his plans for battle.'' 

In 1781 Col. Safford was made General of State Militia. He represented his 
town in the State Legislature in 1781-2, and in 1783 was elected State Counselor 
and served as such for nineteen successive years; and for twenty-six successive 
years, ending in 1807 he was Chief Judge of the County Court for Bennington 
County. He was an upright, intelligent man of sound judgement, and univer- 
sally respected. He died at Bennington, March 3, 1813. He married Mary 
Lawrence (born in Norwich, April 8, 1741), daughter of Jonathan Lawrence, 
who removed with his family to Bennington, 1772. Gen. Samuel, by his wife, 
had issue: Samuel, born June 24, 1761 ; Mary, June 16, 1763; John, Aug. 16, 1765; 
Ruth, Dec. 3, 1768; Anna, Sept. 1, 1771 ; Clara, Feb. 3, 1774; Electa, March 24. 
1776; Amelia, April 1, 1780; Jonas. 

Electa Safford, daughter of Gen. Samuel and Mary (Lawrence) Safford, 
was born March 24, 1776; married Benjamin Webb. 

Benjamin Webb, by his wife Electa (Safford) Webb), had issue: Samuel S., 
born Dec. 15, 1806; died 1807; Myron S., born Feb. 26, 1810; William S., born 
April 15, 1816, married Mrs. Laura Stark. 

Myron S. Webb, son of Benjamin and Electa (Safford) Webb, was 
born Feb. 26, 1810. He was a prosperous farmer, also a civil engineer and sur- 
veyor, and a man of considerable prominence and influence in the town. He 
removed to Windsor Locks, Ct., where he married Mary C. Denslow, Oct., 1840, 
daughter of Carlos Denslow, son of Martin, son of Joseph, son of Samuel, son 
of Henry, son of Nicholas Denslow, the ancestor. 

Nicholas Denslow, the ancestor, came to New England in the Mary and 
John," and was at Dorchester, Mass., in 1630; admitted freeman, 1635, and re- 
moved to Windsor, Conn., in 1635, being then fifty years old, probably the oldest 
man of the early settlers. He died March 8, 1666, aged ninety. He had children, 
Henry and John. 

Henry Denslow, son of Nicholas, was one of the first settlers of Pine 
Meadow (present Windsor Locks). Conn., and was killed there by the Indians in 
1676. Fie had eight children, of whom Samuel was the sixth. 

Samuel Denslow, son of Henry, was born Dec. 19. 1659. He married, Dec. 
3. 1686, Patience Gibbs, and had six children, of whom Joseph was the youngest. 

Joseph Denslow, son of Samuel and Patience (Gibbs) Denslow, was born 
March 24. 1703; died Oct. 2, 1749. He married Ann Holcomb, Oct. 10, 1733, 
and bad seven children, of whom Martin was the sixth. 

MARTIN DENSLOW. Patriot of the Revolution, son of Joseph and 
Ann (Holcomb) Denslow, was baptised April 28, 1745. He eidisted with the 
troops from the town of Windsor who marched "for the Relief of Boston in the 
Lexington Alarm," April, 1775. He was Corporal of 4th Company, Seventh 



l60 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Conn. Regiment — Col. Charles Webb— which was stationed along the Sound 
until Sept. 14, 1775, when on requisition from Washington, it was ordered to the 
Boston Camps and took part in the several engagements of that campaign. He 
was promoted Sergeant April I, 1777; Sergeant Major, May 15, '79; Ensign, 
Aug. 16, '79, and continued in service until 1781. He was attached to the Fifth 
Regiment, "Connecticut line," which was engaged at the battle of Germantown, 
Oct .4, '77; assigned to Huntington's Brigade, and wintered at Valley Forge, 
'77-' 7&1 present at the battle of Monmouth, June 28, 1778. In the operations of 
'79 it served in Heath's wing, east side of the Hudson, and was afterwards de- 
tached to Meig's Light Regiment and engaged in the storming of Stony Point, 
July 15, 1779. Denslow was not long after promoted Lieut., and his name 
appears among the early members of the Connecticut Society of the Cincinnati. 

He married Lois Wizard of Farmington, April n, 1770, and had Huldah in 
1771; Martin in 1773; Thaddeus in 1775; Lois in 1777; Anne in 1782; Carlos, 
May 4, 1786; Almanza. 

Carlos Denslow, son of Martin and Lois (Wizard) Denslow, was born May 
4, 1786; married Pauline Hathaway and had a daughter Mary C, who was 
married to Myron S. Webb, Oct. 1840. 

Myron S. Webb, by his wife Mary C. (Denslow) Webb, had issue: Charles 
Hathaway, born Oct. 24, 1842; William E., born Oct. 29, 1844; Mary L., born 
Dec. 14, 1846; Anna D., born April 25, 1857. 

CHARLES HATHAWAY WEBB, New York State Society, Sons 
of the Revolution, son of Myron S. and Mary (Denslow) Webb, was born 
at Windsor Locks, Conn., Oct. 24, 1842. He attended the district school in 
his native village and completed his education in a three years' course of study 
at Bennington Seminary, Vermont. His business training began with the old 
and well established dry-goods house of Phelps Bliss & Co. in 1859. Of the many 
employees of this house and its successors, he is one of the few who, on his 
merits alone, rose from the humble position of a boy of seventeen to a partner- 
ship in 1875. The firm of Phelps Bliss & Co., with whom he commenced was 
succeeded by that of Eldridge Dunham & Co., which continued until the death 
of Mr. Eldridge in December, 1874, and in June 1876, the firm became Dunham 
Buckley & Co., and finally James H. Dunham & Co., the present firm. That Mr. 
Webb has proved an important factor in the almost unprecedented success of this 
firm goes without saying. As an employee, his uniform courtesy, kindness and 
honest upright dealings with the patrons of the house won their friendship as 
well as the hearty approval of his employers which resulted in the still closer 
relations which now exist. In January, 1889. he gave up the department over 
which he had immediate supervision to give more particular attention to the 
general details of the business which had so largely increased as to demand his 
personal superintendancy and care. 

Of the personal traits of Mr. Webb, much can be said without fulsomeness 
or undue praise. No man ever enjoyed a larger share of friendship with those 
around him than Mr. Webb. This is due to his kindly and sympathetic nature 
and his recognition of the rights of others. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. l6l 

While in no sense a politician, Mr. Webb's affiliations have always been with 
the Republican party, and during the presidential campaign of 1896 he was con- 
nected with the Dry Goods Republican club and worked faithfully for the success 
of his party. 

Mr. Webb has long been connected with the National Accident Society of 
New York, and latterly as its President, and under his supervision the society 
has enjoyed continued success and prosperity. 

The beautiful fabric of human life woven by his ancestors who first took the 
name of Webb has served as a pattern for him, and as the shuttle moved to and 
fro, gathering new material from the web and of wool each succeeding gener- 
ation a brighter and more perfect pattern has been developed. 

Mr. Webb is a member of the following clubs and societies of New York 
City: Union League; Colonial; Merchants; Republican and Atlantic Yacht 
clubs; the New England Society, Society of the Sons of the Revolution and of 
The Patriots and Founders of America. 

He married the daughter of Freeman M. Brown of Hartford, Conn., whose 
first husband was Charles M. Fairbanks. She had two children; a son and a 
daughter. The son, Harry Burnside Fairbanks, Major of the Second Mass. 
Regiment, distinguished himself in the late Cuban war by his courage and 
gallantry in action. A Worcester paper referred to him in the following terms: 

"The Worcester soldiers of the second regiment all praise Major H. B. Fair- 
banks and say that he was unquestionably one of the best officers on the battle- 
field. Corp. Scott of H. Co. says he was at the Major's side at San Juan and El 
Caney and that the major's conduct was superb and that he did not mind the 
bullets half as much as he did the night breezes that were quite strong in Cuba 
after sundown. 

"The men of the 2nd say that at the battle of San Juan Maj. Fairbanks stood 
directing his men in a perfect fusilade of bullets. They fairly rained about him 
and some of them cut the leaves of the trees within an inch of his head. He 
continued to give his orders as calmly as if he was in Worcester armory. 

"During the San Juan battle Maj. Fairbanks went down the line cheering 
his men and telling them to keep cool. 'By all means, my men, don't lose 
your heads. When the bullets go by you don't mind them. Keep up your hearts 
and we shall surely win,' said the major. 

"Corp. Scott says the men were all lying flat on the ground. Every man was 
on the ground but the major. Men were killed and wounded by the major's 
side, but he seemed to bear a charmed life. The major, he says, took no end of 
interest in the welfare of his men and tried to cheer up the sick and brightened 
up the last moments of many a poor fellow who took a journey across the great 
river. 

"Several members of the 2d regiment say that they will not be satisfied 
until the Major gets a colonel's berth. They all want to see him promoted. Every 
man in the company says that too much cannot be said in praise of Maj. Fair- 
banks and that he won the heart of every man under him." 

WILLIAM EDWARD WEBB, second child of Myron S. and Mary (Den 



l62 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

slow) Webb, was born at Windsor Locks, Conn., Oct. 29, 1844. He was ed- 
ucated at the Suffield Literary Institution of Conn. His business knowledge and 
experience was acquired at some of the leading New York houses. Beginning 
with the old house of George Bliss & Co. in 1863, where he remained for sev- 
eral years, he then went with W. S. Peak & Co., and after one or two other 
changes he returned to the old house, where he has since remained and has been 
for some years a member of what is now the firm of James H. Dunham & Co. He 
is a member of the Union League, Colonial, Merchants and Lotus clubs, New 
England Society, Founders and Patriots, Sons of the Revolution, Altair Lodge 
F. & A. M., of Brooklyn, and Republican Chapter R. A. M. He married 
Juliette Seymour Bell, daughter of William J. Bell, of New York. Their chil- 
dren are Kenneth Seymour, Royden, and Denslow. 

ROGERS.— FITCH.— PENDLETON.— WOOLSEY, ETC. 

Although there are several branches of the Rogers family in this country 
and in Europe, they doubtless all had a common origin. Burke says : "The 
Rogers of Home derive originally from the family of Norbury, 
County Salop. In the 7th Edward II., Roger de Norbury, by the name of Roger, 
son of Philip, son of Roger de Norbury, had a grant of the estate of Home 
(County Salop, England), where he appears to have resided. His son John 
took the surname of Rogers. From that time to the present day the descendants 
have held the estate of Home and resided there. This family bore Arms — Argent 
on a chevron, vert, between three bucks, current, sable, five ermine spots gold. 
Crest — A buck's head sable, charged with three ermine spots, or, erased, gules, 
attired of the second. Motto — Nos nostraque Deo. (Ourselves and what we 
possess to God.) 

John Rogers, the martyr, was probably a descendant of one of the several 
branches of this family. He was born in Lancashire, England ; educated at 
Cambridge. While a young man, for conscience's sake, he went to Antwerp 
in Brabauh, serving many years as chaplain to the English merchant adventurers. 
He assisted in the translation of the Bible into the English language, 
which led to the introduction into England in 1537, of the folio Bible, 
being the first complete edition of both Old and New Testa- 
ments, revised and published by him alone, under the assumed name of Thomas 
Matthew. On the occasion of Queen Mary's entrance into London, he preached 
a bold and zealous sermon at St. Paul's cross; was soon after thrown into prison, 
and on Feb. 4, 1555, he was taken out and burned at the stake in presence of 
Rochester, comptroller of the Queen's household, and a great concourse of 
people. He left issue Richard and other children. 

John Rogffs, grandson of John, the martyr, was born in 1551 ; dk(d fib 
Dedham, England, Oct. 8, 1636; educated at Cambridge University at the ex- 
pense of his uncle, Rev. Richard Rogers, of Wethersfield. He was vicar of 
Huntington, 1502, then priest at Havershill, being afterwards transferred to 
Dedham. The name of his father has not been ascertained. The name of his 



SONS OF THK REVOLUTION. 163 

first wife is unknown. He married 2d, Elizabeth Gould ; 3d, Dorothy Stanton. 
By his second .wife he had three sons, among whom was James and onej 
daughter. 

James Rogers, the American ancestor, son of John, was born in 1615; died 
Feb. 1687-8. He came from Smithneld, England, to Rhode Island, in the ship 
Increase, in 1635 ; and later was engaged in business in New London, Conn., and 
by invitation of Gov. John Winthrop settled on the plantation of Great Neck, in 
New London County, Conn., before 1660. He was engaged in public business 
from 1660 to 1670; owned much land, both at Great Neck, and on the east side 
of the river, and house lots in New London. He married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Samuel Rowland, of Milford, Conn. They had five sons and two daughters. 
Among the sons was James (2). 

James Rogers (2), son of James (1), and Elizabeth Rowland Rogers, was 
born in New London, Conn., Feb. 15, 1652; died Nov. 8, 1713. He was a ship- 
master, and one of his voyages to Europe brought over a company of Redemp- 
tionists, among whom was Mary Jordan, who afterwards (Nov. 5, 1674) became 
his wife; she was the daughter of Jeffrey Jordan. They had issue: James (3), 
Mary, Elizabeth, Sarah, Samuel, Jonathan, Richard, William, 

Capt. James Rogers (3), son of James Rogers (2), the navigator, was born 
in New London, Conn., 1675. He removed to Norwalk, Conn., about 1726. He 
had fourteen children, and bought six acres in the lower part of the town, in- 
cluding dwelling house and other buildings. He was a citizen of Norwalk about 
seven years, and until his decease in 1733. He instructed his executors, in 1732, 
to make provision for the education of his four younger children (all of whom 
at that time were under fourteen), and mentioned a certain amount which should 
be expended upon their "bringing up." The children named in the will were: 
James, Mary, Esther, Uriah, Jedediah, Nehemiah, (Aaron, who removed to Weth- 
ersfield.), Lemuel, Elizabeth, Claron, Samuel. Dr. Uriah Rogers, the brother 
of Nehemiah, was the grandfather of the renowned Chancellor Kent. 

Nehemiah Rogers, son of Capt. James Rogers (3), was born about 1706-8. 
He was a man of considerable note in his time and a large landholder. He was 
part owner of the Norwalk Islands, and had a hundred acres in one piece on 
Chestnut Hill. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel Fitch, brother of 
Gov. Thomas Fitch, and son of Thomas (3), son of Thomas (2), son of Thomas 
(1), son of Sir Thomas Fitch, of England, and Anna Pew, his wife. 

The original spelling of the name was Fytche of Ffytche, and the family 
probably came originally from Wales. The family, from which Sir Thomas 
Fitch descended, resided at Thorp Hall, County Lincoln, England, and was a 
branch of the family of Ffytches of Danbury Place, and Woodham Walter, 
County Essex. 

This family bore Arms — Vert, a chevron between three leopards' heads, or. 
Crest — A leopard's face, or, pierced with a sword, in bend sinister ppr., hilt and 
panel of the first. Motto — Spes juvat. 

Sir Thomas Fitch, the immediate progenitor of the American family of 
this name, was a judge of much distinction, and was created a baronet by Charles 



1 64 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

I. He was born in 1590 at Booking, England, and died in 1645. He married, 
Aug. 8, 161 1, Anna Pew, who survived him, and came to America with her three 
younger sons, two older ones having emigrated some years before. They, per- 
haps, had married daughters and other sons, who remained in England. The 
five sons who came to America were : Thomas, Rev. James, of Saybrook and 
Norwich, Conn.; Joseph, who settled in Windsor; Samuel, who settled in Hart- 
ford; and John, who settled at Windsor, dying without issue. 

Thomas Fitch was an early settler at Norwalk, Conn. He died in 1704. 
The land known as "the Fitch Estate," which formed the family homestead for 
more than a hundred years, was purchased of the Indians by a deed dated Feb. 
15, 1651. Thomas Fitch was the wealthiest citizen of Norwalk and a man of 
distinction. He represented the town of Norwalk at the General Court on 
several occasions. He married Miss Piatt and had Thomas (2), John, Mary 
Ann, Samuel. 

Thomas Fitch (2), of Norwalk, son of Thomas (1), was Sergeant of Train 
Band in 1672. He married Ruth, daughter of George Clark, and had Samuel, 
1663; Thomas (3), 1665; Mary, 1668; Samuel, 1681. 

Thomas Fitch (3), son of Thomas (2) and Ruth (Clark) Fitch, was born 
about 1662. He had three wives : Sarah — Rhoda — Rachel. His children were : 
Thomas (4), who became Governor of the colony; Samuel, James, Elizabeth. 

Samuel Fitch, son of Thomas (3) and brother of Governor Thomas Fitch, 
was born in Norwalk, Conn., about 1701. He held office under the King, and was 
a large landed proprietor. He inherited by will the bay view tract which skirts 
the harbor to the east of Gregory Point. He had an only daughter, Elizabeth, 
who was married to Nehemiah Rogers. 

Nehemiah Rogers died in 1760. Two of his sons, Fitch and Nehemiah, were 
founders of the city of St. Johns, New Brunswick. Samuel, Moses and Henry 
are also mentioned, and all became distinguished as New York merchants after 
the War of the Revolution. These names have been frequently published as the 
sons of Samuel Rogers, who was reputed to have married the daughter of Gov. 
Thomas Fitch, but Rev. Charles M. Sellick, in his Centenary Address and foot- 
notes of St. Paul's Church, Norwalk, Conn., shows conclusively by documentary 
evidence that Nehemiah Rogers and not Samuel was the father of these children, 
and that his wife, Elizabeth Fitch, was the daughter of Samuel, the brother of 
Governor Fitch. 

Moses Rogers, son of Nehemiah and Elizabeth (Fitch) Rogers, was born in 
1750; died Nov. 30, 1825. He started in business in New York City in 1785, under 
the firm name of Moses Rogers, which continued until 1795, when he became asso- 
ciated with his brother-in-law, William Walter Woolsey, under the firm name of 
Rogers & Woolsey. Their place of business was at 206 Queen (235 Pearl 
Street). They carried on an extensive iron business and had a large trade with 
the West Indies. In 1795 Moses withdrew from the firm, and was succeeded by 
his son, under the firm name of Woolsey & Rogers. Moses Rogers then started 
in the sugar refining business at the old house adjoining the Dutch Church at 
42 Liberty Street, in a building which had been used as a prison house during 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 165 

the Revolution. The firm was then Moses Rogers & Co. This continued until 
1806, when he retired from business. He was one of the princely merchants of 
his day, and in 1806 was one of the fifteen persons in New York who kept a 
carriage. During the first years of his business life he lived near the corner of 
the present Beekman and Pearl Streets. Later, he built at No. 7 State Street, 
what was known as the grand old house with pillars. He spent his remaining 
years in this house, which was occupied as late as 1826 by his son. 

Mr. Rogers was connected with many benevolent enterprises in his day. He 
was a member of the Marine Society in 1780. In 1793 he was a member of the 
Society to Relieve Distressed Prisoners, a society that numbered among its 
members the leading merchants of New York. In 1793 he was one of the most 
active members of the Society for the Manumission of Slaves. He was also a 
director in the United States Bank; Governor of the New York Hospital, 1792 
to 1799; and in 1797 was one of the principal managers of the City Dispensary. 
The same year he was elected a director of the Mutual Insurance Co., continuing 
until 1807. He was a vestryman of Trinity Church from 1787 to 181 1. He was 
one of the founders of Grace Church, and continued as vestryman and active 
member of that church up to the time of his death. His memory has been hon- 
ored by a tabl.et with a suitable inscription, which is still to be seen within the 
inclosure of Grace Church. He died Nov. 30, 1825, aged 78 years. He married 
Sarah Woolsey, daughter of Benjamin Woolsey, of Dosoris, L. I., son of Benja- 
min, son of Rev. Benjamin, son of George (2), son of George (1), the ancestor. 

George Woolsey, the ancestor, was the son of Benjamin, and grandson of 
Thomas, a near relative of Thomas, better known in history as Cardinal Wool- 
sey, who, by the liberality of his royal master, Henry VIII., was indebted for 
his extraordinary elevation. 

George Woolsey was born Oct. 27, 1610, and had probably resided some time 
with his father in Holland, having come over with the Dutch emigrants in 1623, 
while yet a mere boy. It is generally believed that his father joined him in this 
country a few years after. He resided several succeeding years in New Amster- 
dam, where he is supposed to have been a trader or a merchant. 

In 1647 he purchased a plantation at Flushing, where he established himself, 
but afterwards took up his residence with his father at Jamaica, which place was 
then lately settled, where he died Aug. 17, 1698, aged 80. In his will, dated Nov. 
2, 1691, he named wife Rebecca, sons George, Thomas, John, and daughters Sarah 
Hallett, Mary and Rebecca Wiggin. 

George Woolsey (2), son of Geo. (1), and Rebecca Wool sey, was born Oct. 
19, 1650. He removed with his father to Jamaica, and is mentioned in Dongan's 
patent of 1686. His name also frequently occurs upon the town books of Jamaica. 
Toward the close of his life and when far advanced in age, he changed his 
residence to the house of his son Bejamin at Dosoris, in the town of Oyster Bay, 
where the gravestone of the family burying-ground marks his resting-place. He 
had a son Benjamin. 

Benjamin Woolsey, son of George Woolsey (2), was born in Jamaica, Nov. 
19, 1687; graduated at Yale College in 1737; entered the ministry and preached in 



l66 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

several places before 1720 and succeeded that year the Rev. Joshua Hobart as 
pastor of the first church in Southold. He married Abigail, daughter of John 
Taylor, of Oyster Bay, in 1714, who inherited from his father the valuable estate 
of Dosoris, upon which, after the death of Mr. Taylor in 1735, they went to 
reside. 

The name Dosoris, compounded of two Latin words, Dos and woris, were 
conferred by Mr. Woolsey to indicate that the premises were a gift or portion to 
his wife. Mr. Woolsey died Aug. 15, 1756. He had two sons, Benjamin and 
Melancthon Taylor, and four daughters. 

Benjamin Woolsey, eldest son of Rev. Benjamin and Abigail (Taylor) 
Woolsey, was born June 8, 1717; graduated at Yale 1744, and resided at Dosoris 
till his death in 1771. His first wife was Esther Isaacs, of New Rochelle (born 
1720; died March 29, 1756,), by whom he had daughters Mary and Sarah. 

Sarah Woolsey, daughter of Benjamin and Esther (Isaacs) Woolsey, was 
born about 1750; was married to Moses Rogers. 

Moses Rogers, by his wife Sarah (Woolsey) Rogers, daughter of Benjamin 
Woolsey, Jr., had issue : 

1. Sarah Elizabeth, born Feb. 1, 1774; married Hon. Samuel Miles Hopkins. 

2. Benjamin Woolsey, born May 13, 1775; died Dec. 11, 1859. 

3. Archibald, born 1782. 

3. Julia Ann, born 1788; married Francis Bayard Winthrop. 

Sarah Elizabeth, born Feb. 4, 1774. 

Mary. 

Archibald Rogers, third child and second son of Moses and Sarah (Wool- 
sey) Rogers, was born at Shippan Point, Stamford, Conn., 1782, where his father 
had a summer residence. He was educated at Yale College, and, after complet- 
ing his studies, went abroad and spent some years in foreign travel, visiting many 
places of interest, notably the field of Waterloo, from which place he gathered 
many interesting relics. 

With plenty of means at his command, he spent his time as a quiet country 
gentleman in hunting, travel and other means of recreation. 

He married in 1821 Anna Pierce Pendleton, only daughter of Judge Na- 
thaniel Pendleton, son of Nathaniel (1), son of Henry, son of Philip, son of 
Henry, the progenitor of the American family of this name. 



PENDLETON FAMILY. 

The Pendleton family of Virginia derive descent from Henry Pendleton, of 
Norwich, England, whose two sons — Nathaniel, a minister of the Established 
Church of England, and Philip — emigrated to Virginia in 1674. This Norwich 
family bore Arms — Gules an inescutcheon argent between four escallops in 
saltire or. Crest — On a chapeau gules, turned up ermine, a demi-dragon, with 
wings endorsed or, holding an escallop argent. 

Philip Pendleton, the second son of Henry Pendleton, was born in England 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



i(, 7 



in 1650; came with his brother to America in 1674. He married in 1682, Eliza- 
beth Hurt; he died in 1721. They had Henry, Isabella, John. 

Henry Pendleton, eldest child of Philip and Elizabeth (Hurt) Pendleton, 
was born in 1683. He married in 1701, Mary Taylor (born in 1688), daughter of 
James Taylor, who came from Carlisle, England, and settled on the Chesapeake 
Bay; he died in 1698. The issue of this marriage was: James, born 1702; 
Philip, Nathaniel, John, Edmund Mary, Isabella. 

Edmund Pendleton, whose portrait is shown in the accompanying engraving, 
was a member of the House of Burgesses during the Colonial period, and was 
one of the leading men in the colony. He was the uncle of Col. Nathaniel Pen- 
dleton, the patriot of the Revolution. 




EDMUND PENDLETON. 



Nathaniel Pendleton (1), son of Henry and Mary (Taylor) Pendleton, was 
born in 1715, died 1794, in Culpepper County, Va. He married his second cousin 
Elizabeth Clayton, daughter of Major Philip Clayton. 

The first ancestor of this family was Robert de Clayton, who came to 
England with the Conqueror, and had the manor of Clayton conferred upon him 
for his military services, which estate gave the name to the family and remained 
in their possession until conveyed by the sole heiress, Dorothy, sister of Richard 
Clayton, Esq. 

Major Philip Clayton came to Culpepper from New Kent through Essex. 
His name first appears on the church records of Virginia in 1741, where he was 
chosen vestryman of St. Mark's, and a patent for land from Lord Fairfax 
to John Brown as having been surveyed by Philip Clayton in 1749. He married 
Ann, sister of Robert Coleman, on whose land the court house was built. 



l68 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Nathaniel Pendleton, above mentioned, by his wife, Miss Clayton, had issue : 
Nathaniel, born 1746; William, born 1748; Henry, 1750; died in South Carolina, 
1789; eminent as a jurist and patriot; Pendleton District, S. C, is named in his 
honor; the other children were: Philip, Mary, Elizabeth, Susanna. 

COLONEL NATHANIEL PENDLETON, Patriot of the Revolution, 
son of Nathaniel (1) and Elizabeth (Clayton) Pendleton, was born in 1746. 
His first military service was under Captain Daniel Morgan, "a man of sturdy 
frame and unflinching courage," who had seen service in the French and Indian 
War. Morgan, who was in command of the Virginia riflemen, accompanied 
the Quebec expedition under Arnold in 1775. The account of the storming of 
Quebec, states that "Arnold was directed to lead three hundred and fifty men, 
with Lamb's artillery and Morgan's riflemen, to assail and fire the works in St. 
Roque, while Montgomery should lead the remainder below Cape Diamond 
along the narrow space between the decliviety and the St. Lawrence, carry the 
defences at the foot of'the rocks and endeavor to press forward and join Ar- 
nold. * * * * At a narrow pass Arnold was wounded in the leg, and was 
carried to the General Hospital, when the command devolved on Morgan. The 
troops pressed forward under their new leader, captured a battery, and fought 
fiercely for three hours to capture another, and succeeded. Then Lamb was 
severely wounded. Morgan was about to push on to attack Prescott Gate, when 
the sad news came that troops under Dearborn, stationed near Palace Gate, had 
been captured by a party who had sallied out of the city and had then cut off 
the retreat of Arnold's division in front. At ten o'clock, after he had lost full 
one hundred men, Morgan was compelled to surrender with more than four 
hundred followers." In this notable event there is no doubt that young Pen- 
dleton behaved with the same gallantry that characterized his subsequent mili- 
tary career. He was commissioned Ensign 10th Continental Infantry, Jan. 1, 
1776; First Lieutenant nth Virginia, July 23, 1776. In his account of the Battle 
of Long Island, Aug. 27, 1776, Johnson says: "Men from Virginia, too, were to 
take an active part in this campaign. The State had nine regiments organized 
for service. The record of service contained in the Society of the Cincinnati 
states that Pendleton was "Lieutenant in Col. Moses Rawling's regiment, which, 
after the Battle of Long Island, retreated to Fort Washington, where it engaged 
Sir William Howe's forces on the 16th of November, 1776, and with a three-gun 
battery kept in check the column of Gen Knyphausen's Hessians until compelled 
to fall back, where he was taken prisoner." Johnson says : "As they approached 
Rawlings, his men received them with a destructive and determined fire, which 
lasted a long time." During this engagement Lieutenant Pendleton received a 
wound in the arm. He was commissioned Captain, March 13, 1777, and was ex- 
changed Oct. 18, 1780. 

Upon his release he was appointed Aide-de-Camp on the staff of General 
Greene, and accompanied him in the Southern campaign. He received the 
thanks of Congress for gallantry at Eutaw Springs on the 8th of September, 
1781, in the following terms: "Resolved, That Major General Greene be di- 
rected to present the thanks of Congress to Capt. Pendleton, his Aide-deCamp, 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. IOQ 

in testimony of his particular activity and good conduct during the whole action 
at Eutaw Springs, South Carolina." 

His subsequent career, as well as a portion of his war record, is given in a 
letter dated "New York, January 8. 1818," addressed to Hon. John Quincy 
Adams, Secretary of State, in which he says : 

"I take the liberty of addressing a letter to the President, soliciting the office 
of Judge of the Southern District Court of New York, in case a vacancy which 
was expected had taken place. Having now received information that Judge 
Van Ness, owing to the inadequate compensation he receives will positively resign 
that office as soon as the inquiry pending in Congress, concerning some proceed- 
ings in that Court is terminated. I hope it will not be deemed premature to 
apply to you on the subject, and to state the ground upon which I rest my 
claims on the public liberality, etc. 

"It is not probably known to you that my family in Virginia took an early 
and efficient part in the Revolution that terminated in the Independence of the 
United States. In 1775, at the age of nineteen, I entered into the Army, and 
went to Roxbury, where I served in the evacuation of Boston and was with the 
detachment that took possession of the heights of Dorchester, which produced 
that event. I was made a prisoner of war at the surrender of Fort Washington, 
having received in the defense a severe contusion on the arm. After the exchange 
of prisoners in 1780, I was appointed as Aide-de-Camp to General Greene when 
he took command of the Southern Department, and I continued in that situation, 
and was in all the battles and sieges in which he was himself present during the 
memorable campaign until the final disbanding of the Army in 1783. On account 
of these services I was honored with one of the medals struck in honor of Gen. 
Greene by a Resolution of Congress in 1787." 

The following letter accompanied the presentation to which he refers: 

"Office for Foreign Affairs, 12th February, 1788. 

"Sir : It gives me pleasure to have an opportunity of transmitting to you by 
order of Congress a Copy of the Medal struck by their Direction in Honor of 
the late General Greene. A variety of circumstances conspire to render this Mark 
of public attention acceptable to you, though I am persuaded that none among 
them all will more immediately affect your feelings than the Relation it bears to 
that great Man whose Loss, you in particular, and the people of America in gen- 
eral, have just reason to regret and lament. 

I have the Honor to be, 
Sir 
Your most obedient and humble servant, 

JOHN JAY. P. S." 

Continuing the letter addressed to Hon. John Quincy Adams, Col. Pendleton 
says: 

"After the close of the war I resumed the study of the law and went into 
practice in Georgia, where I was successively appointed to the office of Attorney 
General and Chief Justice of that State. The Federal constitution having been 
adopted, I was appointed District Judge of Georgia in 1789, and received my 



IjO SONS OF THE RF.VOLUTION. 

commission in a letter from General Washington containing sentiments not less 
flattering to me personally than are just as regards the importance of the judiciary 
department, which he considered, to use his own words, 'as the pillar upon which 
our political fabric must rest.' 

" In this office I continued until 1796 when, my health having suffered from 
that climate, and the salary not being adequate to the maintenance of our in- 
creasing family, I resigned and removed to the city of New York, where I 
practiced in the Superior Courts until 1811. Ill health then obliged me to return 
into the country, and to relinquish in a great degree my practice, where the situ- 
ation of my family and affairs made it extremely inconvenient to do so. I have 
the happiness to find that abstraction from professional business and the exer- 
cise of several occupations have completely restored my health. If the President 
shall find my professional character such as to justify my appointment, I hope 
my public services, and the dangers and privations to which they exposed me, 
will be deemed a reasonable ground for preference, and its emoluments would 
greatly contribute to smooth the remaining years of life alotted to me." 

Judge Pendleton was a warm friend of General Alexander Hamilton, and 
when the controversy arose between Burr and Hamilton which resulted in the 
fatal duel at Weehawken. on the morning of July 11, 1804, Judge Pendleton ac- 
cepted the invitation to act as Hamilton's second, and as such conducted the cor- 
respondence for his principal ; and in doing this used every means in his power 
to effect an honorable reconciliation. Winfield. in his account of the affair, says: 
"After the delivery of Hamilton's second letter, Judge Pendleton submitted an- 
other paper dictated by the same kindly spirit." The kind offices of Judge Pen- 
dleton, however, availed nothing ; the formal challenge was given by Burr and 
accepted by Hamilton, and the parties arrived on the grounds at half-past six 
o'clock in the morning. When the final preparations were completed Judge 
Pendleton gave Hamilton his pistol and asked : 

"Will you have the hair-spring set? " 

"Not this time " was the quiet reply. 

Judge Pendleton then explained to the parties the rules which were to gov- 
ern them in firing. Each took his place, and at the word Col. Burr fired and 
General Hamilton almost immediately fell, without having discharged his pistol. 
Judge Pendleton immediately sprang forward and lifted his friend to a sitting 
position. Dr. Hosack says : " His countenance of death I shall never forget. He 
had at that instant just strength to say: 'This is a mortal wound, doctor;' 
when he sank away and became to all apearance lifeless." Judge Pendleton re- 
mained with his friend up to the last moment, and did everything in his power, 
under the direction of the surgeon, to soothe and comfort him as his life ebbed 
away. 

Judge Pendleton was an original member of the Virginia State Society of 
the Cincinnati. He removed to New York in 1796, and in 1798 united with the 
New York Society, becoming an active member of the Standing Committee the 
following year. 

Judge Pendleton married Susanna, daughter of Dr John Bard of Burlington. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. \J\ 

N. J., a distinguished physician who attended General Washington. Dr. Bard 
married Susanna Valleau, daughter of Pierre Valleau and Magdalena Faucon- 
nier, daughter of Peter Fauconnier and Magdalena Pasquereau. Peter Faucon- 
nier was Treasurer and Receiver General of the Provinces of New Jersey and 
New York under Lord Cornbury. Dr. John Bard, above referred to, was the 
son of Col. Peter Bard, colonel of foot regiment, May 4, 1722; born in France, 
1679, lived for a number of years at Burlington, N. J., and subsequently bought 
a farm at Hyde Park, near Poughkeepsie on the Hudson, where he died July 13, 
1734. He was one of Govenor Barnet's Council, May 25, 1722. He died Oct. 
23, 1734- 

Judge Pendleton, by his wife Susanna (Bard) Pendleton, had issue: 

Edmund Pendleton, died without issue. 

Anna, married Archibald Rogers. 

Nathaniel Green, born Aug. 27, 1794. 

Nathaniel Green Pendleton, sou of Nathaniel and Susanna (Bard) Pen- 
dleton, was born in Savannah, Ga., August. 27, 1794; died in Cincinnati, O., June 
15, 1861. He removed to New York city with his father in 1796; was graduated 
at Columbia College in 1813, and the same year joined the army as aide to his 
kinsman, General Edward Pendleton Gaines, serving till the close of the war. 
He renfoved to Ohio in 1818, settled in the practice of the law, was a member of 
the State Senate, 1825-6, and in 1840 was elected to Congress as a Whig, serving 
from 1841 till his voluntary retirement in 1843. He then resumed his profession, 
which he continued until his death. 

He married Jane Frances Hunt, and had issue: 

Susan P., married Oct. 20, 1842, Robert B. Bowler. 

Martha E., married A. S. Dandridge. 

George Hunt, born July 21, 1846. 

Elliot H., married Emma Gaylord. 

Anna P., married Dec. 14, 1850, N. H. Schenck. 

George Hunt Pendleton, eldest son of Nathaniel Green and Frances 
(Hunt) Pendleton, was born in Cincinnati, O., July 21, 1825, died in 1889. He 
received an academic education, studied law and was admitted to the bar in 
Cincinnati. He was a member of the State Senate in 1854-5, and was elected 
to Congress as a Democrat in 1856, serving till 1865. He was a member of the 
Committee on Military affairs during each term and in the 38th Congress served 
on the Committee of Ways and Means and as chairman of the Special Commit- 
tee on admitting members of the Cabinet to the Floor of the House of Repre- 
sentatives. He was nominated for the Vice-Presidency on the ticket with Gen. 
George B. McClellan for President in 1864. He was a member of the Philadel- 
phia Loyalist Convention in 1866, an unsuccessful candidate for Governor of 
Ohio in 1869, and the same year became President of the Kentucky Central Rail- 
road Company. In 1868 he came within a few votes of being nominated for the 
Presidency at the Democratic Convention held in New York, at which conven- 
tion Mr. Horatio Seymour of New York was ultimately nominated. He was 
elected United States Senator in 1878, and during the senatorial service he was 



172 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



a member of the Committee of Foreign Affairs and the Committee on Civil 
Service Reform, and as such on June 26, 1882, introduced a resolution that in- 
structed the committee "to inquire whether any attempt is being made to levy 
and collect assessments for political or partisan purposes from any employee of 
the Government." He introduced and was the author of the reform law which 




<.;eoi«;e hlwt i'endleton. 



is the present civil service law. He continued in the U. S. Senate till 1885, and 
that year was appointed U. S. Minister to Berlin by President Cleveland, con- 
tinuing until 1889. He married June 23, 1846, Alice Key, daughter of Francis 
Scott Key, author of "The Star Spangled Banner." He had issue, Francis 
Key. Mary Hunt and Jane Frances Hunt. 

Francis Key Pendleton, son of Hon. George H. and Alice (Key) Pendle- 
ton, was born Jan. 3, 1850, graduated at Harvard College and Law School ; went 
abroad and continued his studies in France and Germany. Was admitted to the 
bar of Boston, later that of Ohio, and on making New York his permanent resi- 
dence was admitted to the bar of this city, where he began practice in 1879, with 
an annually increasing clientel and a successful practice. 

Mr. Pendleton is the lineal decendant in the male line of Nathaniel Pendle- 
ton of Revolutionary fame. He is a member of the New York Society of the 
Cincinnati. 

He married Elizabeth La Montagne and had issue, George H., born Aug. 9, 
1896. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



1/3 



Archibald Rogers, by his first wife, Anna (Pendleton) Rogers, daughter of 
Colonel Nathaniel Pendleton, had issue: 

Nathaniel, born April 29, 1822, was for several years a prominent lawyer in 
New York, and was associated in practice with Alexander Hamilton, a grandson 
of the patriot. 

Julian, born Feb. 12, 1824, died in infancy. 

Archibald, born Aug. 10, 1825, died March 21, 1831. 

Edmund Pendleton, born July 31, 1827, died Feb. 10, 1895. 

Philip C, born Aug. 13, 1829. Resided at Poughkeepsie 1899. 

Archibald, again, born Nov. 12, 1832, died Dec. 20, 1820. 

Susan Bard, born Nov. 4, 1834, married H. T. Livingston. 

Edmund Pendleton Rogers, fourth child of Archibald and Anna (Pendleton) 
Rogers, was born July 31, 1827. He was educated at Columbia College, but hav- 
ing a natural taste for mechanics, he entered the employ of the Morgan Iron 
Works, of which he subsequently became manager and had charge of the con- 
struction of the gunboats built by this firm during the war. Later Mr. Rogers 
established the Quintard Iron Works, of which he was the principal owner. 
This became one of the largest and best known concerns of the kind in the coun- 




EDMUND PENDLETON ROGERS 

Father of Archibald Rogers, Hyde Park, N. Y, 



1/4 SONS Of XHE REVOLUTION. 

try, their products being shipped to every pare of this country, besides having 
large European contracts. 

Whiie actively engaged in business, Air. Rogers, who had been for some 
time a member ol the Seventh Regiment, N. G. b. N. Y, responded promptly to 
tiie can ior volunteers at tne breaking out of the Civil War, and went to the 
iront on every occasion in which his regiment was engaged. His name appears 
on the Muster Roll for 1863 as Captain of Tenth Company (K). The same 
>ear he went to the front again during the Gettysburg campaign and returned 
with his regiment to participate in the important service of aiding in the suppres- 
sion of the draft riots, in which the Seventh was particularly conspicuous on 
several occasions, always occupying the post of danger. The Baltimore JJauy 
Clipper of July 17, 1863, referring to the service rendered by the regiment at this 
time, said: "The gallant New York Seventh, to whom our city and State is so 
much indebted for its promptness on three several occasions, flying to our aid 
when we were endangered by Rebel force coming over the Potomac, or by a 
worse foe in our midst, in the sympathizers with Rebellion on the 10th of April, 
1861, were promptly recalled home to attend to the Copperheads of New York and 
their agents, the mob of the Five Points; and as they are announced to have ar- 
rived there on the evening of Wednesday, we have strong reason for believing 
that ere this the pestilent mob had been suppressed. With that regiment at home 
and a man in command of the military district who understood fully his duty, 
this disgraceful riot would have been nipped in the bud." 

Mr. Rogers served some ten or twelve years in the regiment, first under Col. 
Marshal Lefferts, and late under Col. Emmons Clark. He resided during his 
latter years at Hyde Park on the Hudson, where he died Feb. 10, 1895. He 
married Virginia Holt Dummer, born Aug. 13, 1831, daughter of Phineas Cook 
Dummer, son of Stephen, son of Nathan, son of Edward. 

Edward Dummer, the great grandfather of Phineas Cook Dummer, married 
Jerusha Andrews, daughter of Nathan, son of Lieut. William Andrews. 

Lieutenant William Andrews, above referred to, was one of the fifty-three 
persons, besides women and children, who sailed from London, April 6, 1635, on 
the James. They landed at Boston, where William Andrews was made freeman 
in 1635. He was early at New Haven, with Eaton and Rev. John Rogers. He 
built the first meeting house in 1644. He was sergeant of train band and 
Lieut, of Artillery, 1648. He had sons Nathan and Samuel. 

Nathan Andrews, son of Lieut. Williams, was one of the original proprietors 
of Wallingford, Conn., and was one of those selected to lay the foundation for 
the formation of the church at Wallingford. He married Phebe Gibbons (or 
Gibbands), daughter of Wiliam Gibbons, representative, 1652; Secretary of the 
Colony, 1657; Assistant, 1661. 

Edward Dummer, by his first wife, Jerusha Andrews, daughter of Nathan 
Andrews, had son Nathan. 

NATHAN DUMMER, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Edward and 
Jerusha (Andrews) Dummer, was born in 1730. Both he and his son Nathan, 
Jr., served in Captain Bradley's Company of Matrosses Artillery during Tryon's 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 1/5 

invasion of Connecticut in July 1779. He married Tryphena Austin and had a 
son Stephen. 

Stephen Dummer, son of Nathan, was born Aug. 10, 1755. He married 
Eunice Cook and had a son Phineas Cook Dummer. 

Phineas Cook Dummer was born Oct. 28, 1797. He married Elizabeth 
Dobbs Holt, daughter of diaries Holt, son of William (2), son of William (1), 
son of Nathaniel (2), son of Nathaniel (1), son of William, the New Haven 
ancestor. 

Wihiam Holt, born 1610, was one of the early settlers of New Haven. He 
signed the New Haven colony constitution, July 1644. He removed 10 Walling- 
ford about 1675, and conveyed his home lot in New Haven to his sons Nathaniel 
and John. He lived ten years after his removal to Wallingford and died there 
Sept. 1, 1683. 

Nathaniel Holt, son of Wiliam, was born in New Haven, 1647. He removed 
to New London, and in 1689 to Newport, R. I. He held the militia title of 
Sergeant and was sent into the Narragansett country during King Philip's War. 
and was wounded in the shoulder in the Great Swamp Fight, Dec. 19, 1675. In 
1678 the General Court awarded him the sum of £5 in consequence of the severe 
wound received at the Swamp Fight. He married 1st of April, 1680, Rebecca, 
daughter of Thomas and Millicent (Ash) Beebe, who died 1689. She was the 
daughter of Sergeant Thomas. 

Miss Caulkins, in her history of New London, says: "The phrase, John 
Beeby and his brothers, in the early grants of the family, leads to the supposi- 
tion that John was the oldest of the four, John, Thomas, Samuel. 

John Beeby was for several years Sergeant of the train band, and on being 
advanced to the Lieutenancy his brother Thomas was chosen Sergeant. 

Nathaniel Holt (1) by his wife, Rebecca (Beebe) Holt, had issue, Nathaniel. 

Nathaniel Holt (2), son of Nathaniel (1) and Rebecca (Beebe) Holt, was 
born in New London, July 18, 1683. He married Dec. 20, 1706, Phebe Tomlin. 
He died March 19, 1751, aged J7. They had Elizabeth, William, Phebe. 
Nathaniel. 

William Holt, son of Nathaniel and Phebe (Tomlin) Holt, was born in New 
London, Conn., Sept. 12, 1709, married May 12, 1736, Sarah, daughter of Darral 
May (she was born Aug. 5, 1716, died July 7, 1775). He died Jan 5, 1769. They 
had fourteen children, of whom William (2) was the eldest. 

WILLIAM HOLT (2) Patriot of the Revolution, son of William (1) and 
Sarah (May) Holt, was born in New London, Jan. 29, 1736. He served as 
private in CaptainWales' company in the defence of New London, 1776. He mar- 
ried June 21, 1768, Elizabeth, daughter of Stephen Hempstead (born Sept. 12, 
1746, died at Groton, Dec. 19, 1831). He died March 15, 1810. They had issue 
seven children, of whom Charles was the fourth. 

Charles Holt, son of William and Elizabeth (Hempstead) Holt, was born in 
New London, Conn., Aug. 11. 1772. In early manhood he was an earnest poli- 
tician of democratic principles. In June 1797, he established the Bee newspaper 
at New London, which was continued until 1802, when he removed with it to 



1/6 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Hudson, N. Y., and it was continued at that place. This paper was a powerful 
organ in the Democratic party, and under the administration of the elder Adams, 
the editor was arrested for libel, tried by the United States Court, then sitting at 
New Haven, and under the provisions of the sedition law, condemned to six 
months' imprisonment and to pay a fine of $200. He was afterwards editor and 
publisher of the Columbian. In 1844 Congress passed an act reimbursing him 
for the fine imposed under the sedition law, with interest. 

He married at New York, Aug. 10, 1810, Mary, daughter of William and 
Dorcas Dobbs (she was born at Curacoa, W. I., Aug. 26, 1771, died Nov. 21, 
1838). He died in New York, July 30, 1852. 

They had a daughter, Elisabeth Dobbs, who was married to Phineas Cook 
Dummer, who was the father of Virginia Holt Dummer, wife of Edward Pen- 
dleton Rogers. 

Edmund Pendleton Rogers, by his wife, Virginia Holt (Dummer) Rogers, 
had issue Archibald, born Feb. 22, 1852, Jane Bulloch, born Oct. 20, 1853, died 
Dec. 9, 1856. 

ARCHIBALD ROGERS, New York Society Sons of the Revolution, son 
of Edward Pendleton and Virginia Holt (Dummer) Rogers, was born in Jer- 
sey City, N. J., Feb. 22, 1852. With a natural taste for mechanics, he entered 
in early boyhood Rogers' Locomotive Works at Paterson, N. J., as an apprentice, 
and after serving his time he entered Yale College, where he took a special 
course at the Sheffield Scientific School in engineering studies pertaining to his 
profession, finishing his course with the class of '73. He was afterwards em- 
ployed in a responsible position at the Rogers' Locomotive Works. Later he 
was engineer on the steamer Old Dominion, running from New York to Rich- 
mond, Va., He was also engineer on the steamship City of Tokio, and went on 
her from New York to Tokio, Japan and China and back to San Francisco in 
that capacity. He was also one of the corps of engineers employed in building 
the D. L. & W. Railway tunnel through Bergen Hill. He afterwards went to 
Wisconsin as Treasurer and assistant to the President of the Milwaukee, Lake 
Shore & Western Railroad and General Manager of the Lands and Mills of the 
Traffic Company. He has been President for several years of the Jacksonville, 
Tampa & Key West Railway Co., of Florida, President of the Cornwall & 
Lebanon Railway Company of Pennsylvania ; Trustee and one of the Executive 
Committee American Museum of Natural History, New York City, and one of the 
trustees of St. Stephen's College. He is a. partner in the firm of Pancoast & 
Rogers, New York City, who are agents of the Reading Iron Works, Pennsyl- 
vania, and of the Cornwall Ore Banks, Pennsylvania, etc. 

Mr. Rogers has served in the National Guard, State of New York, first as 
Captain and Aide-de-Camp in the 2d Brigade in 1886, and in 1895 was appointed 
Aide-de-Camp on the staff of Gov. Morton, with the rank of Colonel. In 1891 
he ran for Assembly on the Republican ticket, but was defeated by a small ma- 
jority, having been traded off and sold in the city of Poughkeepsie. He is es- 
pecially fond of yachting and all outdoor sports. He built and raced Bedouin, 
Tom Boy, Wasp, and was the managing member of the syndicate which built 



Sons o^ the revolution. 17; 

the America cup defender, "Colonia," in 1893. He also designed and built the 
ice yacht, Jack Frost, winning with her three times the Challenge Pennant of 
America. He has been for many years a hunter of big game in the Rocky 
Mountains, where he has a cattle ranch in the northhwest corner of Wyoming, 
bordering on the Yellowstone National Park. 

Mr. Rogers married in 1880 Anne Caroline Coleman, daughter of William 
Coleman of Cornwall, Pa., and Helen Habersham, son of Thomas Bird Coleman 
and Hannah Casset, son of Robert Coleman and Anna Old. Ellen Habersham, 
above mentioned, was the daughter of Robert Habersham, son of Colonel Joseph, 
son of James Habersham. 

In an old family Bible of the Habersham family appears the following entry : 
"James Habersham, the most respected and lamented Parent of the persons 
whose births and deaths are recorded in this Sacred Book, was born at Beverley, 
Yorkshire, England, in the year 1712, and died at Brunswick, New Jersey, 
Aug. 28, 1775, aged 63 years. His corpse, attended by two of his sons, who were 
with him at the time of his decease, was carried to New York and interred in a 
vault of Trinity Church, preparatory to removal to Savannah — the funeral ser- 
vice being performed by the rector of that church." 

The three sons of the Hon. James Habersham were men of patriotic fervor, 
of courage, of acknowledged ability and commanding influence. 

James Habersham was prominent in arranging and sustaining, as far as prac- 
ticable, the finances of the young comonwealth. Upon the conclusion of the war, 
as a member of a committee appointed by the Executive Council to take charge 
of all the slaves who had deserted from the service of their masters, and also to 
assume the management and effect a just distribution of "suspected property," 
he performed important labors. 

Col. Joseph Habersham, the father of Robert and grandfather of Ellen Hab- 
ersham (wife of William Coleman) was an early and conspicuous "Son of Lib- 
erty." In connection with a few others, at a late hour on the night of the nth 
of May, 1775, he broke open the King's magazine in Savannah,, and removed 
therefrom some six hundred pounds of gunpowder, a portion of which, it is said, 
was forwarded to Cambridge, Mass., and issued to the regular army. 

As a member of the Council of Safety, he corresponded with the Continental 
Congress, and with other patriotic bodies, and was instant in devising measures 
for the defense of Georgia and the enkindling of a warlike flame within her 
borders. 

In July, 1775, under the joint leadership of Joseph Habersham and Capt. 
Bowen, a detachment of Picked men, conveyed in a Georgia armed schooner, com- 
missioned by Congress, effected at the mouth of the Savannah River, the Capture 
of Captain Maitland's ship direct from London and freighted with gunpowder 
and other military stores. At the earnest solicitation of the Continental Congress 
five thousand pounds of this powder were forwarded to Philadelphia, where they 
were issued to the armies of the United Colonies. From the same source were 
the magazines of Georgia and South Carolina supplied. 

Of the Provinical Congress, which convened in Savannah on the 4th of July, 



I78 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

1775, and placed the Province of Georgia "on the same footing with her sister 
colonies," he was a leading member; and on the 7th of January in the following 
year he was appointed Major of the battalion raised for the protection of Georgia, 
of which Lachlan Mcintosh was made Colonel, and Samuel Elbert Lieut. Colonel 
in the Continental Army. 

When the Council of Safety resolved upon the arrest and confinement of 
Sir James Wright, the royal governor, so that there might no longer be an> 
show of English dominion within the limits of the Province, Major Habersham 
volunteered for and successfully performed the service. "The physical courage 
displayed was transcended by the moral heroism involved in thus openly defying 
the power of the Realm, and in humbling the duly constituted representative of 
the Crown in the presence of the Colony he was commissioned to rule. The 
effect was startling — dramatic." 

In frustrating the attempt of Captain Barclay and Major Grant to capture the 
shipping lying in the port of Savannah, during the memorable siege of Savannah, 
in September and October, 1779, and on various occasions during the progress of 
the War of the Revolution, Colonel Habersham rendered gallant and important 
service. 

The struggle ended he was twice honored by an election to the Speaker's 
chair in the General Assembly of his native State. From 1785 to 1786 he was a 
delegate to the Continental Congress, and in 1788 was a member of the Convention 
which ratified the Federal Constitution. In 1795, he was appointed by President 
Washington, Postmaster-General of the United States^f This position he filled 
with entire acceptability also during the presidential term of the elder Adams. 
Upon the accession of Mr. Jefferson, he was the recipient of a polite note con- 
veying a tender of the office of Treasurer of the United States. Interpreting this 
as an intimation that his resignation of the position of Postmaster- 
General would be agreeable to the newly-elected President, he promptly surren- 
dered his portfolio, and returned to Savannah, where entering upon a mercan- 
tile life, he essayed to repair a fortune which had been seriously impaired 
the calamities of war. In 1802 he became the President of the Branch Bank of 
the United States at Savnnah. This office he retained until his death, which oc- 
curred on the 17th of November, 1815. He was then in the sixty-sixth year of 
his age. 

Major John Habersham, a brother of Col. Joseph, was also one of the noted 
patriots of his day. He was born in Savannah, Ga., in 1754. He early espoused 
the cause of the revolutionists and was among the most active members of the 
"Sons of Liberty." On Jan. 7, 1776, he was mustered into the Continental Ser- 
vice as First Lieutenant of the first company of the battalion raised at the charge 
of the United Colonies for the protection of Georgia. Of this battalion his 
brother Joseph was Major. He was present and participated in the affair at 
expeditions fitted out in Georgia during that year. Whenever brought face to 
face with the enemy he behaved with great gallantry, which won for him the 
respect of his superior officers. In the affair near Musgrove Creek, Dec. 28, 1778, 
after a hard fight, he with others was captured, there being no means of escape. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



179 



At the battle of Brier Creek, Major Habersham with sixty Continental troops^ 
one hundred and fifty Georgia militia, and a field piece held the left of the 
line of battle. Although the right and centre quickly broke and fled in wild con- 




MAJOR JOHN HABERSHAM. 



fusion, he prolonged the conflict until nearly every member of his force was 
either killed, wounded or captured, he being among the latter. He was exchanged 
in season to participate in the siege of Savannah in September and October, 1779, 
which culminated in the ill-advised, bloody and futile assault by the allied army 
under Count D'Estaing and General Lincoln upon the British lines. 

Savannah remained in possession of the British until May 23, 1782, when 
Sir Guy Carleton issued, at New York, an order for the evacuation of that town 
and province. Negotiations were accordingly opened, and to Major John Haber- 
sham — an officer in the Georgia line, a native of Savannah, a gentleman whose 
personal character inspired confidence, and whose high-toned sentiment, correct 
conduct, and polished address commanded the thorough confidence and respect 
even of those who were inimical to the cause which he espoused — were they 
confided on the patriots. That they were conducted by him in all fairness and 
with becoming dignity, intelligence and fidelity, it seems scarcely necessary to 
add." 



[&> 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



Major Habersham represented his State in the Continental Congress in 
1785-6. He was chairman of the Commissioners appointed in 1786 to confer with 
the Indians, which resulted in the conclusion of a treaty, stipulating for the peace- 
ful conduct of the Indians, and confirming the boundary lines. 

From the period of the Revolution down to the present time, the Habershams 
and Colemans have been held in high estimation by the people of Georgia and 
Pennsylvania, where the latter resided. 

Mr. Archibald Rogers, by his marriage to Anna Caroline Coleman, great- 
great-granddaughter of Col. Joseph Habersham, had issue : Archibald, born Feb. 
23, 1881; died Dec. 26, 1889; Edmund Pendleton, born July 28, 1882; Robert 
Coleman, born Jan. 26, 1883; died June 9, 1884; William Coleman, born Feb. 24, 
1885; Rae Habersham, born Feb. 15, 1887; Ellen Habersham, born Dec. 9, 1889; 
Herman Livingston, born Dec. 27, 1891 ; Ann Pendleton, born March 12, 1894. 

GRIFFIN.— BUTLER. 

From the earliest settlement of the country the ancestors of Francis Butler 
Griffin have borne an important part as founders, defenders and builders in their 
several localities. 

Jasper Griffin, the first of this branch mentioned, was born probably in 
Fennrhyn, Wales, 1648; died in Southold, L. I., April 17, 1718. He came to 
Massachusetts before 1670, and removed thence to Southold in 1675. He was a 
farmer, Major of provincial troops, and quite a prominent man. He married 

Hannah in Manchester, Mass., and had fourteen children, among whom 

was Jasper. 

Jasper Griffin (2), son of Jasper and Hannah ( ) Griffin, was born 

in Southold, L. I., in 1675. He sold his share of his father's estate and pur- 
chased a tract of land at Lynn, where he removed, and lived to the advanced age 
of 90 years. He married, 1696, Ruth, daughter of Joseph Peck, son of Deacon 
William Peck, one of the founders of the New Haven Colony. They had issue : 
Lemuel and others. 

Lemuel Griffin, son of Jasper (2) and Ruth (Peck) Griffin, was born at 
Southhold, L. I., 1704. He was a farmer and settled in East Haddam, Conn., 
where he married Phebe Comstock. He had issue : George. 

GEORGE GRIFFIN, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Lemuel and Phebe 
(Peck) Griffin, was born in East Haddam, Conn., July 10, 1734. He served for 
a time as private in the Eighth Regiment, Connecticut Line, commanded by Col. 
John Chandler. He married March 9, 1762, Eve Dorr, daughter of Edmund and 
Mary (Griswold) Dorr, granddaughter of Matthew and Phebe Griswold of 
Lynn, a direct descendant of Sir John Wolcott. They had isssue: George (2). 

George Griffin (2), son of George (1) and Eve (Dorr) Griffin, was born 
in East Haddam, Conn., Jan. 14, 1778; died in New York City, May 6, i860. He 
graduated at Yale College, 1797, and later at Litchfield Law School; began 
practice in Wilkes-Barre, Pa., in 1800, where he continued for six years; removed 
to New York City in 1806, where he was a leading counsellor at law for more 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. l8l 

than half a century. He received the degree of L.L. D. from Columbia College 
in 1837. He was the author of several religious works, among which were "Suf- 
ferings of Our Savior," "Evidences of Christianity," "The Gospel its Own Ad- 
vocate," etc. 

He married July 3, 1801, Lydia, daughter of Colonel Zebulon and Phebe 
(Haight) Butler. 

COL. ZEBULON BULER, Patriot of the Revolution was born in Lyme. 
New London County, Conn., in 1731, son of John and Hannah (Perkins) Butler 
of Lyme, son of John (1) and Catharine Houghton, daughter of Richard Hough- 
ton. Mr. Butler entered early into the provincial service, and served the mother 
country through the French war. He began his military career as Ensign, and 
soon rose to the rank of Captain. He participated in the memorable hardships 
of the campaign of 1758, on the frontier of Canada, at Fort Edward, Lake George, 
Ticonderoga and Crown Point. In 1762 he was at the protracted siege of Havana, 
Cuba. On his way he was on board one of the vessels that were shipwrecked. 
On Aug. 9 the last of the fleet arrived before Havana, and Capt. Butler shared 
largely in the dangers of the attack,, and the glories of the victory. 

In 1768 five townships were laid out in Wyoming County, Pa., and each 
granted to forty persons, who engaged to "man their rights," Capt. Butler, 
as the leader of the Connecticut settlers, did this most effectively, in what was 
known as the "Pennyite and Yankee War." He was a brave and vigilant officer, 
his superior manner and address at once commanded general respect and con- 
centrated the attachment of his soldiers. "The great victory achieved over a 
superior force, with a sacrifice comparatively so inconsiderable, established entire 
confidence in the ultimate success of the Yankee cause, and Capt. Butler was 
lauded as the savior of Wyoming." He was humane as he was brave and politic 
as he was undaunted. 

At the breaking out of the War of the Revolution, Capt. Butler promptly 
offered his services and was appointed Colonel in the Continental Line. He was 
actively engaged in the campaigns of 1777-8-9: was with Washington in New 
Jersey and was greatly esteemed by him. In the spring of 1778, Col. John Butler 
of the British Army induced the Seneca warriors in Western New York to con- 
sent to follow him into Pennsylvania. He had been joined by some Tories from 
the Wyoming Valley, and on the last day of June appeared at the head of the 
plains with more than a thousand men, Tories and Indians. When the alarm 
was given, the whole population flew to arms. Colonel Zebulon Butler, who hap- 
pened to be home for a brief season, was by common consent made commander- 
in-chief. The Indians were led by Gi-en-gwa-tah. a Seneca chief, and this force 
was first struck by the patriots, when a general battle ensued. It raged vehe- 
mently for half an hour, when, just as the left of the invaders was about to give 
way, a mistaken order caused the little band of patriots to retreat in disorder. 
The infuriated Indians sprang forward like wounded tigers and gave no quarter; 
only a few escaped, among them Colonel Butler, who reached Wilkes-Barre in 
safety. Then followed the horrible "massacre of Wyoming," instigated by the 
infamous Colonel Butler of the British Army, and the beautiful valley of the 



l82 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

Wyoming was deluged with the blood of men, women and children. The follow- 
ing year Col. Zebulon Butler was ordered to return with what force he could 
collect, and retake possession of the country, which he did in August, 1779. He 
erected a new fort at Wilkes-Barre, and established a well-regulated garrison, 
which he commanded until the winter of 1780. Keeping the Tories and Indians 
at bay, not risking a general action, but killing them off in detail by scouting 
parties and sharpshooters. In Dec, 1780, Col. Butler was directed by Washington 
to deliver the posts at Wyoming to Capt. Alexander Mitchell, and with the men 
under his command to join the Continental Army, the order being due to a jeal- 
ousy between the states of Pennsylvania and Connecticut, of long continuance, 
which was finally settled by what was known as the "decree of Trenton," which 
established the claim of Pennsylvania to the disputed territory. Col. Butler 
served with distinction to the close of the war. After Arnold's defection, he was 
placed in command at West Point, being one of the officers whom Washington 
felt that he could "trust." After the war he retired to the vale of the Wyoming 
to enjoy the fruits of his perilous toils, and the gratitude of the inhabitants whom 
he had nobly aided and protected. He was a member of the Connecticut General 
Assembly from Westmoreland in 1774-5-6. On Aug. 30, 1787, he received from 
the Supreme Executive Court of Pennsylvania the honorable appointment of 
Lieutenant of Luzerne County, then newly formed. 

Col. Butler was three times married, 1st, to Anna Lord, Dec. 23, 1760, by 
whom he had issue: Zebulon, Lord and Hannah (who married Rosewell Willis) ; 
he married, 2d, Lydia, daughter of Rev. Jacob Johnson, the first minister of 
Wyoming; married, 3d, Phebe Haight, and had issue: Steuben, and Lydia, 
wro was married to George Griffin. z 

By his marriage with Lydia Butler, George Griffin (2) had eight children, 
of whom George was the seventh. 

George Griffin (3), son of George (2) and Lydia (Butler) Griffin, was born 
in New York City in 181 1. He was a student at Williams College, of which his 
uncle was President. He lived a quiet, uneventful life. In 1835 he removed with 
his family to Catskill, and spent the remainder of his life in tilling the soil. He 
married Elizabeth Benson, and had issue, Francis Butler. 

FRANCIS BUTLER GRIFFIN, Member of the Sons of the Revolution. 
son of George and Elizabeth (Benson) Griffin, was born in Catskill, Nov. 8, 1852. 
He was sent to a first class boarding school at Elizabeth, where he received a 
thorough education. In 1870 he accepted a subordinate position with the well- 
known hardware firm of Clark Wilson & Co., where he acquired a thorough 
knowledge of the business in all its branches. In 1876 he assisted in organ- 
izing the present firm of C. E. Jennings & Co., which for more than twenty year* 
has done a prosperous business in the hardware line. He has been for some 
years a director in the Shoe and Leather Bank, and has other business connec- 
tions. His social connections are limited to the City Club, Hardware Club and 
Tuxedo Club. 

He was formerly identified with the Madison Avenue Presbyterian Church of 
New York, of which he was long an elder, and was assistant superintendent of 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



183 



the Sabbath-school. He is now connected with the Central Presbyterian Church. 
He is largely interested in works of benevolence and charitable institutions. He 
is one of the Board of Managers of the Presbyterian Hospital, a member of the 
Executive Board and of the House Committee. He is especially interested in the 
New York Infant Asylum, is a member of its Board of Managers ; also Treasurer 
and a member of the Executive Committee. 




F. B. GRIKFIN. 

Mr. Griffin has just reason to be proud of his revolutionary and colonial 
ancestors, and, in addition to his membership in the Sons of the Revolution, is a 
member of the Society of Colonial Wars, his ancestor, Col. Zebulon Butler, as 
appears by the record, having fought in the colonial as well as the Revolutionary 
War, while his paternal great-grandfather also served in the Revolution. 

Mr. Griffin married Anna M., daughter of John H. Earle and Sarah Benson. 
He was a prominent merchant of New York, President of St. Luke's Hospital, 
and well known in connection in various charitable enterprises. 

HEILNER.— BUTLER. 



On the paternal side, the ancestor of George Corson Heilner were the 
pioneers in the development of one of the richest portions of the country, of which 



184 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

this maternal ancestor was not only one of the earliest settlers, but one of its 
bravest defenders, both before and after the Revolution. 

Samuel Heilner, the grandfather of George Corson Heilner, came from 
Germany the early part of the present century, and settled in Berks County, Pa., 
where he taught school for a time, being a man of superior education and a noted 
linguist. He was among the first to discover the possibilities of the great mining 
district which has added so largely to the wealth of the country. He married 
Mary Bast, and had a son Marcus G. 

Marcus G. Heilner, son of Samuel and Mary (Bast) Heilner, was born in 
Berks County, Pa., July 2, 1814. At an early age he removed with his parents 
to Schuylkill County, and at the age of 23 entered upon an active business career 
with his father, which led to extensive operations on Wolf Creek, near Miners- 
ville, on the Black Heath vein, and at Donaldson. On his father's death, he 
formed a copartnership with his brother, and opened up on the Miller tract the red 
ash veins known as the Gate vein, Salem vein and Black Mine. In 1853 they 
dissolved, and Marcus G. transferred his operations to Ashland and Silver Creek, 



fiw ^P^ 




MARCUS G. HEILNER. 



where he remained until 1867, when he discontinued mining and removed to New 
York to engage in the wholesale coal trade under the name of Heilner & Son, 
up to the time of his death. The Engineering and Mining Journal said of him : 
Mr. Heilner's personal characteristics all tended to make him a conspicuous 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 185 

figure during his mining career. Possessed of a strong and active body, a clear 
and comprehensive mind and an undaunted spirit,, he passed through all the 
vicissitudes of an operator's career, both in the problematical outcome of new 
mining ventures and the physical clangers to which men of his energy and promi- 
nence were exposed during the turbulent and lawless period of the Molly Maguire 
reign. On several occasions he was in imminent peril from the ruffianism then 
rampant in the region, and was only saved from actual harm by his well known 
coolness and courage. From his long experience in every department of this 
great industry, Mr. Heilner was undoubtedly one of the best informed authorities 
on all that pertains to the coal trade. He was a gentleman of the old school- 
frank, kindly and with a high sense of honor. He was the last of that hardy and 
adventurous set of pioneer operators who penetrated into the new regions, pros- 
pecting and opening up new operations — frequently most hazardous undertakings, 
as is indicated by the numerous physical and financial wrecks that marked the path 
of development. The difficulties under which these early operators labored were 
very great, the vicissitudes of startling frequency — few, if any, fortunes being 
realized in the indutsry until the great stimulus of war times overtook the trade. 
These were the men, however, who "spied out the land," made the developments, 
and nursed into busy life and activity the numerous smaller enterprises which to- 
day form the immense aggregate holdings of the great combinations. With his 
death disappeared the last of his class of men who paved the way for the present 
order of things. While Mr. Heilner's business career (particularly the early 
part of it) was one of ceaseless activity and vexation, he was peculiarly fortunate 
in his domestic life. In early youth he married Miss Sylvia Butler, of Wilkes- 
barre, a woman of singular sweetness of character and charm of manner. She 
was the daughter of Zebulon Butler and his wife Jemima Fish, daughter of Jabez 
Fish. Zebulon Butler was the son of Colonel Zebulon Butler of Revolutionary 
fame and his wife Lydia Johnson, daughter of Rev. Jacob Johnson, the first min- 
ister of the Gospel in the Wyoming Valley. Rev. Mr. Johnson also drew up the 
articles of capitulation after the battle and massacre of Wyoming. 
(See Griffin.— Butler, for sketch of Col. Zebulon Butler.) 

Mr. and Mrs. Heilner had the felicity of living together surrounded by a 
devoted family of children for over half a century, their golden wedding being 
celebrated in 1889. Mrs. Heilner, an unmarried daughter, and four sons survived 
him: George Corson and Marcus Butler, who succeeded to the business of Heil- 
ner & Son; Percy B., the general sales agent at New York for the Lehigh and 
Wilkes-Barre Coal Co. ; and Walter, a lawyer, residing in Philadelphia. 

GFORGE CORSON HEILNER, Member of New York State Society, 
Sons of the Revolution, youngest son of Marcus G. and Sylvina (Butler) Heil- 
ner, was born at Pottsville. Pa., Aug. 16, 1856. He received a thorough education 
in one of the best private schools in the country, located at Elizabeth, N. J. He 
entered his father's employ, and. after acquiring a knowledge of the various de- 
tails of the business, he became in 1890 a member of the firm. He has fully main- 
tained the reputation of the firm for probity and honor which his father gave to it, 
and the family escutcheon remains spotless. Mr. Heilner inherits the military 



l86 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

ardor and patriotism which distinguished his maternal great-grandfather, and, 
should occasion require to call forth those same qualities, he would no doubt prove 
equal to the emergency. With only a theoretical knowledge of military tactics, 
he joined the Eighth Regiment, N. G. S. N. Y. as 2d Lieutenant of Company D 
in 1887. He not only fulfilled all the requirements of the position, but was pro- 
moted 1st Lieutenant of the company, continuing five years in the service. He 
was one of the early members of the Society of the Sons of the Revolution, having 
joined in 1889, being No. 156 in a list of over two thousand members. Through 
his maternal great-grandfather, Col. Zebulon Butler, who fought in the colonial as 
as well as the Revolutionary War, he was eligible to membership and joined the 
Society of Colonial Wars. Mr. Heilner had many ancestors amongst the early 
settlers in New England, not the least distinguished of which was Elder William 
Brewster, the Pilgrim of the Mayflower. 

At the outbreak of the Spanish-American War, Mr. Heilner volunteered as 
a recruiting officer to assist in organizing the 108th Provisional Regiment, 
formed to take the place of the 8th Regiment, N. G. S. N. Y. when the latter 
entered the United States service. 

When the 108th Regiment was mustered into the State service, he became 
Captain of Company C, and later on became Lieutenant Colonel, which rank he 
hold when the Regiment was mustered out of the service in January, 1899. 

BIGELOW.— STOWELL.— DYE. 

The name of Bigelow is variously spelled Biglo and Biglow. The family 
was somewhat conspicuous in the early settlement of New England. 

John Bigelow, or Biglo, the ancestor of the Bigelows of America, was born 
at Wrentham, Suffolk Co., Eng., Feb. 16, 1616; died in Watertown, Mass, July 14, 
1703. His was the first marriage recorded in Watertown, viz: "1633-4, John 
Bigulah and Mary Warin joyned in mariag before Mr. Nowell." He was Sur- 
veyor, 1660-62; Constable, 1663; Selectman, 1665-71. His wife was a daughter of 
John and Margaret Warren. They had thirteen children, among whom was 
Samuel. 

Samuel Bigelow, son of John and Mary (Warren) Bigelow, was born at 
Watertown, Mass., Oct. 28, 1653. He married Mary Flagg, daughter of Thomas 
and Mary Flagg. Samuel Bigelow represented the town in the General Court, 
1708-9-10. He had a son John. 

John Bigelow, son of Samuel and Mary (Flagg) Bigelow, was born May 9, 
1675. He married Jerusha Garfield, and had issue, Jotham. 

Jotham Bigelow of Holden, Mass., and Guilford, Vt., son of John and Jeru- 
sha (Garfield) Bigelow, was born in Marlborough, Mass., Sept. 1, 1717. He early 
moved to that part of Worcester, afterwards Holden, and was one of the peti- 
tioners for the new town, and, with his brother John, was admitted to the church 
from Worcester on the formation of the new society in Holden, Dec. 22, 1742. 
Soon after 1761 he moved with his family to Guilford, Vt.,, and was one of the 
first settlers of that town. He married Perses Temple, daughter of Isaac and 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 187 

Martha (Joslin) Temple. They had ten children, of whom Joel was the seventh. 

JOEL BIGELOW, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Jotham and Perses 
(Temple) Bigelow, was born in Holden, Mass., June 30, 1752. At the beginning 
of the Revolution he was living on the border of the disputed territory lying be- 
tween New York and Vermont, and then known as Cumberland County, N. Y. 
He earnestly espoused the cause of the patriots, and was commissioned Adjutant, 
with rank of Lieutenant, in the 1st Regiment of Cumberland County, N. Y. 
Militia, commanded by Lieut. Colonel Timothy Church. This regiment was or- 
ganized for special service on the border during 1782, and was effective in afford- 
ing protection to the sparsely settled district. Lieut. Bigelow had the confidence 
of the people, as shown by subsequent events. After the war he lived for many 
years in Guilford, Vt., where he owned a large farm near the centre of the town. 
He was honored with the title of Colonel, and was one of the substantial men 
of the town. During the controversy between Vermont and New York concern- 
ing the jurisdiction of the southern part of Vermont, he was quite prominent, 
taking sides with New York, and was elected a member of the Assembly in 1784 
from Cumberland County, which was the name given to the new territory in dis- 
pute, and included Guilford, Vt. Soon after the death of his wife he removed 
to Ellisburg, Jefferson Co., N. Y., to live with his son Jotham. He married about 
1773, Sarah Stowell of Petersham, Mass., a descendant probably in the fourth 
generation of Samuel Stowell, the ancestor, who settled in Hingham, Mass., 
where he married, 1649, Mary, daughter of John Farrow, of Hingham. Joel Bige- 
low, by his wife, Mary Stowell, had several children, among whom was William. 

William Bigelow, son of Col. Joel and Sarah (Stowell) Bigelow, was born 
in Guilford, Vt., Nov. 16, 1781. He married Feb. 3, 1805, Arathusa. daughter 
Jotham and Mary (Powers) Bigelow. She was his cousin and a native of Phil- 
lipston, Mass. They lived in Guilford and Halifax, and later moved to Phil- 
lipston, Mass., where he died Oct. 6, 1849. They had thirteen children, of whom 
William Marlin was the third. 

William Marlin Bigelow, son of William and Arathusa Bigelow, was born 
in Guilford, Vt., March 31, 1809. He engaged early in life in the manufacture of 
soap, and as a young man he carried it on from 1835 to 1837 in Havana. Cuba. , 
He returned to the States in the latter year, and was located at Ellisburg, N. Y., 
until 1842, removing thence to Springfield, Mass., where he carried on the business 
successfully for three years, and finally located in Rhode Island, in the village of 
Phcenix, town of Warwick, where he died March 25. 185 1. He married July 3. 
1836, Margaret Catharine Dye, daughter of Richard Dye of Princess Anne Co., 
Va., and Catharine Baskerdore, and had issue : Virginia Arathusa. Elizabeth 
Pierce, William Milton, Austin Ingraham, Herbert Dodge and Clarence Otis. 

CLARENCE OTIS BIGELOW, Member Sons of the Revolution, son of 
William Marlin and Margaret Catharine (Dye) Bigelow. was born in Phenix, 
town of Warwick, R. I., Nov. 29, 1851. His father died the same year, and he 
in Guilford, Vt., Nov. 16, 1781. He married Feb. 3, 1805. Aruthusia. daughter of 
was left wholly to the care of his mother. She removed to Phillipston, Mass., and 
later to Springfield, Mass., he attending the public schools in both places. His 



l8S SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

first knowledge of the drug business was obtained in a retail drug store at 
Springfield, Mass. In 1867 Mr. Bigelow came to New York, and entered the 
employ of George L. Hooper, located at 102 Sitxh Avenue. He bought out his 
employer in 1880, and has since continued to carry on the business in his own 
name. The business was established at this location more than sixty years ago, 
when this part of the city was inhabited by wealthy residents. Notwithstanding 
the changes and removals, some to the upper part of the city, others to New 
Jersey, the same parties or their children still continue their patronage of the old 
house, and Mr. Bigelow's trade far exceeds that of many of the more pretentious 
uptown stores. 




CLARENCE OTIS BICELOW. 



Mr. Bigelow has been for many years an enthusiastic member of the Masonic 
Fraternity. He is Past Master of Ancient Lodge No. 724, F. and A. M., having 
been initiated on the night of its organization, and passed through the several 
chairs, except that of J. W. In Capitular Masonry he was advanced and exalted 
in Ancient Chapter No. 1, R. A. M., and served in that as Captain of the Host; 
he demitted from this to Adelphi Chapter No. 348, of which he is still a 
member. In the Chivalric Order he was created and dubbed a Knight Templar 
in Columbian Commandery No. 1. He dimitted to Adelphi Commandery No. 59— 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. l8g 

the only mounted Commandery in New York — of which he was Captain General, 
the Eminent Commander being Dr. Alexander B. Mott. The membership in- 
cluded many of the leading and most prominent men in the city. 

Mr. Bigelow was formerly identified with the various clubs, but pressure of 
business necessitated his withdrawal from all but the Aldine Association. He is 
President of the Board of Pharmacy of Greater New York, Treasurer of the 
New York College of Pharmacy, and a Trustee of the West Side Savings Bank. 
Kis ancestors, as shown by their record, have been patriots and men of mark in 
their day and generation. 



190 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



ABEEL AND ALLIED FAMILIES. 



INCLUDING THE FAMOUS CORN PLANT, THE FRIEND OF THE WHITES. 



Recent discoveries relating to the Abeel family, of which little has hitherto 
been known, have brought to light certain facts which have an important bearing 
on the Revolutionary period of our country's history. The Genealogy of the 
Williamson and Abeel families, compiled by James A. Williamson, proves conclu- 
sively that the famous "Cornplanter" of the Seneca Tribe of the Six Nations was 
a direct descendant of Christopher Janse Abeel, the founder of this old Holland 
family in America. The faithful mother, who so carefully provided for her son's 
welfare, little dreamed of the influence that would be exerted by him and his de- 
scendants in the New World. 

Christopher Janse Abeel, the progenitor of this family in America, was born 
in Amsterdam, Holland, in 1621. Both his father and mother fell victims to the 
great plague which scourged all Europe in 1633, when he was twelve years of 
age. Soon after his mother was taken ill, she sent for a trustworthy neighbor 
and friend, and placed in her keeping all the ready money she had with instruc- 
tions to keep it until the lad should become of age. He was placed in charge of 
the master of an orphanage, and grew to manhood well equipped for the duties 
of life, having been taught in the meantime the trade of a carpenter. On reach- 
ing his majority, the faithful friend, true to her trust, delivered to him the princi- 
pal with the accumulated interest, and with this little fortune he purchased a stock 
of hardware and started for America, settling in Beaverwick, now Albany, about 

1647. His name first appears on 
the records of the town in the 
conveyance of a piece of proper- 
ty, April 23, 1652. In 1665, as a 
master builder, he erected the 
First Reformed Dutch Church, 
which took the place of the crude 
log house in which the first set- 
tlers worshipped. Two years 
after this Abeel was elected 
deacon of the church, and a vote 
of thanks was tendered him 
for faithful service as treasurer 
of the poor fund. In 1665 he 
made a voyage to Holland to re- 
ceive a legacy from a deceased 
great uncle. Passport was made 
in the name of the Honorable 
Stoffel Jans Abeel. He was a magistrate of Albany and filled other important 
positions, and in ordinary documents, as was the custom, he omitted the surname, 
but to all important legal documents he attached the full name. He died in 1684. 




SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. igi 

He married Nov. 22, 1660, Neiltje Jans Croom (or Kroom), a native of Holland. 
They had issue: Magdelena, married Gerardus Beekman; Marie, born 1666; 
married Garret Duyckinck ; Johannes born 1667; Elizabeth, born probably 
1670; married Evert Bancker. 

Johannes Abeel, eldest son of Christopher Janse (Croom) Abeel, was born in 
Albany, March 23, 1667, died Jan. 28, 171 x. He was a prosperous merchant, and 
was elected mayor of Albany, 1694-5. He removed to New Amsterdam and lived 
there for a time and on his return to Albany was elected a member of the Assem- 
bly in 1701 ; and in 1709 was again elected mayor of Albany. He married April 
10, 1694, Catharine, daughter of David Schuyler, who, with his brother Pieterse, 
came from Amsterdam in 1650, and settled at Fort Orange. David Schuyler, the 
younger of the two, married Oct. 13, 1657, Callyntje, daughter of Abraham Isaac- 
sen Ver Planck, the owner of Paulus Hook, now Jersey City. Johannes Abeel, 
by his wife Catharine (Schuyler) Abeel, had issue: Cataline, bap. New York, 
Oct. 23, 1691; Neiltje, bap. Albany, April 14, 1698; Christoffel, bap. Dec. 16, 1696; 
David, bap. April 29, 1705; Jannette, bap. at Albany, June 6, 1705. 

A copy of the inventory of his goods and personal estate includes a painted 
picture of himself; also one of his wife and daughter. 

Christoffel Abeel, son of Johannes and Catalina (Schuyler) Abeel (elder 
brother of David), was bap. at Albany, Dec. 16, 1696. He married Sept. 23, 1720, 
Margueritta Breese, and had issue: Johannes {John), bap. April 18, 1722; An- 
thony, bap. Jan. 27, 1724; Anthony Breese, bap. April 11, 1725; David, bap. Aug. 
13. I7 2 7 (settled at Bak-Oven, near Catskill, in Greene County, N. Y., where he 
died in Feb., 1813, in the eighty-seventh year of his age) ; Catharina, bap. June 
9. 1734; Jacobus, bap. Jan. 26, 1736; Maria, bap. April 27, 1740. 

Johannes, or John Abeel, eldest son of Christoffel and Margueritta Breese 
Abeel, was born in Albany, April 8, 1722, and is recorded as an "alleged lunatic" 
for the following reasons : 

He early developed a taste for hunting and finally became a fur trader among 
the Indians of the Six Nations, with whom he was on terms of intimate friend- 
ship, so much so that he became enamoured with an Indian princess, named 
Aliquipiso, of the Turtle Clan of Seneca Tribe, and married her. Their son, born 
about 1742, became the famous Corn Plant. 

The History of Montgomery County, N. Y., pages 218 and 233, contains the 
following additional facts relating to John Abeel : 

"John Abeel, an Indian trader, settled in the town (Minden), a short dis- 
tance from Fort Plain, in 1748. He secured several hundred acres of land of one 
of the grantees of the Blucker patent. In his previous intercourse with the In- 
dians, he had married the daughter of a Seneca chief, the ceremony being per- 
formed after the Indian fashion. A child of this mariage was the famous chief, 
Cornplanter (Corn Plant). 

"Abeel erected a stone dwelling upon a knoll directly above the flats. He 
married on Sept. 22, 1759, Mary Knouts, a member of one of the prominent Ger- 
man families, and at the beginning of the Revolution was living on his farm. 
During the invasion of Oct.. 1780, he was taken prisoner by a band of Indians, 



i02 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

and while immediately expecting death, Cornplanter addresed him as father, thus 
securing his safety. He was given the liberty either to accompany the Indians 
under the protection of his son, or to return to his white family. Much credit is 
due him for choosing the latter, and after hostilities had ceased, Cornplanter 
visited him and was received with much hospitality." 

John Abeel, by his second wife, had several children, descendants of whom 
are still living in Montgomery County, N. Y. 

CORN PLANT (KI ON-TWOG-KY) 

CHIEF OF THE SENECAS. 

SON OF JOHN ABEEL AND THE INDIAN PRINCESS, ALIQUIPISO. 

Corn Plant (usually, but improperly spelled Cornplanter) was one of the most 
unique characters in American history, and it appears somewhat strange that after 
a lapse of a century or more the true history of his parentage should now for the 
first time be brought to light, proving beyond a doubt that he was a grandson of 
one of Albany's most distinguished mayors. There may have been an effort on 
the part of those interested to cover up the facts at the time by permitting a 
misspelling the name which has passed into history as O'Bail (easily mistaken 
for Abeel), but Corn Plant's own statement to the Governor of Pennsylvania in 
1836, in which he gives an account of his early life (omitting the name of his 
father), confirms the newly discovered evidence of his parentage. He says: 

"I feel it my duty to send a speech to the Governor of Pennsylvania at this 
time and inform him of the place where I was born, which was at Connewaugus, 
on the Genesee River. 

"When I was a child, I played with the butterfly, the grasshopper and the 
frogs, and as I grew up I began to pay some attention and play with the Indian 
boys in the neighborhood, and they took notice of my skin being a different 
color from theirs and spoke about it. I inquired of my mother the cause, and 
she told me that my father was a resident of Albany. I still eat my victuals out 
of a bark dish. I grew up to be a young man and married me a wife, and I had 
no kettle or gun. I then knew where my father lived, and went to see him, and 
found he was a white man and spoke the English language. He gave me victuals 
while at his house, but when I started home he gave me no provision to eat 
on the way. He gave me neither kettle nor gun, neither did he tell me that the 
United States were about to rebel against the Government of England. 

"I will now tell you, brothers who are in session of the Legislature of Penn- 
sylvania, that the Great Spirit has made known to me that I have been wicked 
and the cause thereof has been the Revolutionary war in America. The cause of 
Indians being led into sin at that time, was that many of them were in the 
practice of drinking and getting intoxicated. Great Britain requested us to join 
with them in the conflict against the Americans, and promised the Indians land 
and liquor. I myself was opposed to joining in the conflict, as I had nothing to 
do with the difficulty that existed between the two parties. I have now informed 
you how it happened that the Indians took part in the revolution, and will relate 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



193 



to you some circumstances that occurred after the war. General Putnam, who 
was then at Philadelphia, told me there was to be a council at Fort Stanwix, and 
the Indians requested me to attend on behalf of the Six Nations, which I did, 




CORN PLANT, KI-ON-TVVOG-KV 



and there met with these commissioners who had been appointed to hold the 
council. They told me that they would inform me of the cause of the revolution, 
which I requested them to do minutely. They then said that it originated on 
account of the heavy taxes that had been imposed upon them by the British Gov- 
ernment, which had been for fifty years increasing upon them; that the Ameri- 
cans had grown weary thereof and refused to pay, which affronted the King. 
There had likewise a difficulty taken place about some tea which they wished me 
not to use, as it had been one of the causes that many people had lost their lives, 
and the British Government now being affronted, the war commenced and the 
cannons began to roar in our country. 

"General Putnam then told me at the Council at Fort Stanwix that by the 
late war the Americans had gained two objects: they had established themselves 
an independent nation and had obtained some land to live upon, the division line 
of which from Great Britain runs through the Lakes. I then spoke and said I 
wanted some land for the Indians to live on, and General Putnam said it should 
be granted, and I should have land in the State of New York for the Indians. He 
then encouraged me to use my endeavors to pacify the Indians generally, and as 
he considered it an arduous task, wished to know what pay I would require. I 
replied that I would use my endeavors to do as he requested with the Indians, 



194 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

and for pay therefor I would take land upon which I now live, which was pre- 
sented to me by Gov. Mifflin. I told General Putnam that I wished the Indians to 
have the privilege of hunting in the woods and making fires, which he likewise 
assented to. 

"The treaty that was made at the aforementioned council has been broken 
by some of the white people, which I now intend acquainting the Governor with. 
Some white people are not willing that the Indians should hunt any more, whilst 
others are satisfied therewith; and those white people who reside near our res- 
ervation, tell us that the woods are theirs, and that they have obtained them from 
the Government. The treaty has also been broken by the white people using their 
endeavors to destroy all the wolves, which was not spoken about in the council at 
Fort Stanwix by General Putnam, but has originated lately." 

Corn Plant further complains that "white people could get credit from the 
Indians and do not pay them honestly according to agreement ;" also that "there is 
a great quantity of whiskey brought near our reservation, and the Indians obtain it 
and become drunken." He complains further that he has been called upon to 
pay taxes, and says: "It is my desire that the Governor will exempt me from 
paying taxes for my land to white people, and also to cause the money I am now 
obliged to pay be refunded to me, as I am very poor." 

"The Government has told us that when difficulties arose between the In- 
dians and the white people they would attend to having them removed. We are 
now in a trying situation, and I wish the Governor to send a person authorized 
to attend thereto the fore part of next summer, about the time that the grass has 
grown big enough for pasture. 

"The Government requested me to pay attention to the Indians and take care 
of them. We are now arrived at a situation in which I believe the Indians can- 
not exist unless the Governor shall comply with my request, and send a person 
authorized to treat between us and the white people the approaching summer. 
I have now no more to speak." 

This singular production of Corn Plant was of course dictated to an inter- 
preter, who acted as amenuensis, but the sentiments are undoubtedly his own. 
It was dated in 1822, when the lands reserved for the Indians in the northwestern 
part of Pennsylvania became surrounded by the farms of the whites and some 
attempt was made to tax the property of the Seneca Chief, in consequence of 
which he wrote this epistle to the Governor. 

The letter is distinguished by its simplicity and good sense, and was no 
doubt dictated in the concise, nervous and elevated style of the Indian orator, 
which has lost much of its beauty and poetical character in the interpretation. 
His account of his parentage is simple and touching — his unprotected, yet happy 
home, where he played with the butterfly, the grasshopper and the frog is 
sketched with a scriptural felicity of style. There is something very pathetic in 
his description of his poverty when he grew up to be a young man, and married 
a wife, and had no kettle nor gun, while the brief account of his visit to his 
father is marked by a pathos of genuine feeling. It is to be hoped indeed that 
as the account states the father was non compos mentes. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. I95 

Corn Plant was one of the parties to the treaty at Fort Stanwix in 1784, 
when a large cession of territory was made by the Indians. At the treaty of 
Fort Harmer, five years afterwards he took the leading part in conveying an 
immense tract of country to the American Government, and became so unpopu- 
lar that his life was threatened by his incensed tribe. But this chief, and those 
who acted with him, were induced to make liberal concessions by motives of 
sound policy; for the Six Nations, having fought on the royal side during the 
War of the Revolution, and the British Government having recognized our 
independence, and signed a peace without stipulating for the protection of her 
misguided allies, they were wholly at our mercy. In an address sent to the 
President of the United States in 1790 by Corn Plant, Half Town and Big Tree, 
occurs the following : 

"Father: We will not conceal from you that the Great Spirit and not men 
has preserved Corn Plant from the hands of his own nation, for they ask contin- 
ually, 'Where is the land upon which our children and their children after them 
are to lie down? You told us that the line drawn from Pennsylvania to Lake 
Ontario would mark it forever on the East, and the line running from Beaver 
Creek to Pennsylvania would mark it on the West, and we see it is not so; for 
first comes one and then another and takes it away by order of that people which 
you tell us promised to secure it to us.' He is silent, for he has nothing to answer. 
When the sun goes down he opens his heart before the Great Spirit, and earlier 
than the sun appears again upon the hills he gives thanks for his protection dur- 
ing the night, for he feels that among men become desperate by the injuries they 
have received, it is God only that can protect him." 

In reply to this address, President Washington remarked : "The merits of 
Corn Plant and his friendship for the United States are well known to me, and 
shall not be forgotten ; and as a mark of the esteem of the United States, I have 
directed the Secretary of War to make him a present of $250, either in money or 
goods, as Corn Plant shall like best." 

In his efforts to preserve peace with his powerful neighbors, Corn Plant in- 
curred alternately the suspicion of both parties, the whites imputing him a secret 
agency in the depredations of lawless individuals of his nation, while the Senecas 
were sometimes jealous of his apparent fame with the whites, and regarded him 
as a pensionary of their oppressors. His course, however, was prudenl and 
consistent, and his influence very great. 

He resided on the banks of the Alleghany river, a few miles below the junc- 
tion, upon a tract of fine land within the limits of Pennsylvania, and not far from 
the line between that State and New York. He owned thirteen hundred acres of 
land, of which six hundred were comprehended within the village occupied by 
his people. The Chief favored the Christian religion and welcomed those who 
came to teach it. 

Referring to his personality, an eminent writer says: "He was the rival of 
Red Jacket. Without the commanding genius of Red Jacket, he possessed a 
large share of the common sense, which is more efficient in all the ordinary affars 
of life. They were both able men; both acquired the confidence of their people, 



iyb SONS OF TH£ REVOLUTION. 

but the patriotism of Red Jacket was exhibited in an unyielding hatred 01 the 
whites, while Corn Plant adopted the opposite policy oi conciliation towards his 
more powerful neighbors. The one was an orator of unblemislieu replication, the 
other an orator ot unrivalled eloquence. Hoili were snrevvu, artful and expert 
negotiators, and they prevailed alternately over each other, as opportunities were 
offered to either for the exertion of his peculiar abilities. The one rose into 
power when the Senecas were embittered against the whites, and the other 
acquired consequence when it became desirable to cultivate friendly relations upon 
the frontier." 

On one occasion Red Jacket was boasting of what he had said at certain 
treaties, when Corn Plant quickly added, "Yes, but we told you what to say." 
Horatio Jones said of Corn Plant : "He was one of the best men to have on your 
side, and there you would be sure to find him if he thought yours the right side, 
but it was decidedly unlucky if he thought you were wrong." 

Corn Plant was the first as well as one of the most eloquent temperance lec- 
turers in the United States, and labored hard to save his people from this growing 
evil, for which his white neighbors were largely responsible. 

In his latter days he became superstitious, and his conscience reproached him 
for his friendshhip towards the whites, and in a moment of alarm, fancying that 
the Great Spirit had commanded him to destroy all evidence of his connection 
with the enemies of his race, he destroyed an elegant sword and other articles 
which he had received as presents. 

There can no longer be any doubt of his relationship to the Abeel family. 
His mother told him that his father's name was Abeel, or O'Bial. The latter name 
does not appear in the Albany records, and it is doubtful if such a person ever 
lived in that city. The name of Abeel is still preserved with the tribe on the 
reservation. 

The History of Montgomery County, page 233, says: 

"Cornplanter visited Fort Plain in his native dress about the year 1810, bring- 
ing with him several Indians of dignified rank. They were cordially welcomed 
by the chief's relatives, going first to the house of Joseph Wagner, father of 
Peter J. Wagner, who was grandson on the mother's side of John Abeel. The 
party also visited the house of Nicholas Dygert, whose wife was a sister of Mrs. 
Wagner, and was richly entertained, and then at the home of Jacob Abeel, living 
with his widowed mother on their old homestead. The Indians were treated 
with hospitality. The visit lasted several days, and the guests were the central at- 
traction of village society, for Cornplanter was a man of noble bearing, and was 
decorated with all the native display of costume appropriate to his rank. His 
father at that time had been dead more than a dozen years." 

Capt. David Abeel, son of Johannes and Catharine (Schuyler) Abeel (brother 
to Christoffel, the father of John, father of Corn Plant), was born at Albany, N. 
Y., April 27, 1705, died Oct. 20, 1777. At an early age, after his father's death, 
he was sent to New York and apprenticed to Mr. Schuyler in the dry goods bus- 
iness, and soon after reaching his majority he engaged in the flour and provision 
business, which he carried on successfully for many years. He held the position of 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 197 

Captain of the company of militia of foot of the city and county of New York, for 
many years until 1772. His commission was signed by Leonard Lispenard, 
Colonel. He married, Feb. 24, 1726, Mary Duyckink, born Oct. 4, 1702, daughter 
of Garret Duyckink, and Mary Abeel. They had David, Jr., born 1727 (married 
July 2, 1752, Neiltje Van Bergan Van Katckel), James, born May 12, 1733, Garret, 
born May 2, 1734, Annetti, bap. March 1, 1753. 

COL. JAMES ABEEL, Patriot of the Revolution, second son of David 
and Mary (Duyckink) Abeel, was born in Albany, N. Y., May 12, 1733, died in 
New Brunswick, N. J., April 20, 1825. He enlisted early in the War of the Rev- 
olution and was Captain 1st Battalion, New York City Militia, Col. John Lasher, 
Sept. 14, 1775, Major of same August-November, 1776. This was known as the 
First Independent Battalion. It was a favorite corps, composed of young men of 
respectability and wealth, and when on parade attracted great attention. Its com- 
panies bore separate names, and the uniforms of each had some distinguishing 
feature. Major Abeel's old company, which he commanded as Captain, was 
known as the "Rangers." As reorganized in the summer of 1776, the regiment 
had for its field officers, Col. John Lasher, Lieut. Col. Andrew Stockholm and 
Major James Abeel. 

When it was decided by Washington to fortify New York city, the First In- 
dependent Battalion constructed Bayard's Hill Redoubt on the west side of the 
Bowery, where Grand and Mulberry streets intersect. This regiment bore an 
important part in the battle of Long Island, which was fought August 27, 1776. 
It was attached to Gen. John Morin Scott's Brigade. Johnson's description of the 
battle states that: "As the report came in that the enemy intended to march at 
once upon Sullivan. Washington promptly sent him a reinforcement of six reg- 
iments, which included Miles' and Atlee's, from Sterling's brigade, Chester's and 
Silliman's from Wadsworth's, and probably Lasher's and Drake's from Scott's." 
The suffering of this regiment after the battlle are described in a letter from Gen. 
Scott, dated the 29th: "You may judge of our situation, subject to almost in- 
cessant rains, without baggage or tents, and almost without victuals or drink, 
and in some parts of the lines the men were standing up to their middles in 
water." This regiment took part in the subsequent events immediately following 
the retreat of the American Army from Long Island. 

Col. Abeel was subsequently attached to the staff of General Washington as 
Deputy Quartermaster General. New Jersey Continental Line, during the winter 
the army was encamped at Morristown, and had charge of the transportation 
between Philadelphia and West Point, residing at the time in his own house at 
Morristown. 

He married, March 23, 1762, Gertrude Neilson, daughter of Dr. John Neil- 
son, who came from Belfast, Ireland, about 1740, with his brother James, who 
settled at New Brunswick as a shipping merchant and ship owner. Dr. Neil- 
son married Johannes, daughter of Andrew Coeyman, who came from Holland 
with his mother, the widow of Andreas Coeyman, and settled on the Hudson, on 
Coeyman's patent, afterwards removing to Raritan, or Raritan Landing. Dr. 
Neilson died in 1745, as the result of an accident. He had one son, John, a dis- 



I9o SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

tinguished officer of the Revolution, and a daughter Gertrude, who was married 
to Col. James Abeel. 

Col. James Abeel, by his wife Gertrude (Neilson) Abeel, had issue: David, 
born Jan. 13, 1763, Johanna, Sept. 13, 1764 (married Leonard Blucker, and had 
three children, Gertrude, Feb. 23, 1786, James, Dec. 28, 1786, Maria, Sept. 26' 
1788) ; Maria, born Nov. 30, 1766, died June 16, 1767; John Neilson, born Dec. 1, 
1786. 

CAPT. DAVID ABEEL, Patriot of the Revolution, eldest son of Col. 
James and Gertrude (Neilson) Abeel, was born Jan. 13, 1763, died Oct. 31, 
1840. He early evinced a taste for a seafaring life, and volunteered to serve with 
Captain Barry (afterwards Commodore Barry, U. S. N.) on the ship "Governor 
General," which sailed under letters of marque during the Revolution. He made 
a voyage to St. Eustatia in 1780, which lasted several months. He next sailed as 
midshhipman on the frigate Alliance, which took Col. Lawrence, our American 
minister, to France, in the early part of 1781. After leaving France and cruising 
near the West Indies, the Alliance was attacked on the 28th of May, 1781, by 
the British sloops-of-war Atalanta and Tripassa. All three vessels were becalmed 
at the beginning of the action, the Alliance in consequence of her position being 
at a great disadvantage. Captain Barry was wounded early in the action and 
carried below, and the British made demand for the surrender of his ship, but a 
sudden breeze coming up at the moment the Alliance ran between the two British 
vessels, pouring a broadside from her starboard and larboard guns at the same 
time, disabling her antagonists and compelling their surrender. Midshipman 
Abeel was wounded in the thigh during the action by a musket ball. On reach- 
ing New York he received the public thanks of the Navy Board for his gallantry. 
His third cruise was on a letter-of-marque vessel bound for Holland. She was 
captured by the British and Abeel was sent a prisoner to the Jersey Prison Ship 
at Brooklyn. Through friends who had influence with the British Commander he 
was soon after released and sent to New York, where he was introduced to the 
British Admiral, who offerred him a midshipman's warrant on his own ship if 
he would join the British navy. Mr. Abeel replied that he was an American, 
and would hold in utter contempt any person who would thus turn recreant to 
the high claims of his country. The reply so provoked the Admiral that he would 
not allow him to be exchanged for one of equal rank, saying he was too great a 
rebel to let go, and Abeel was released on parole, which continued for about 
eighteen months, until the close of the war, for which time he received no com- 
pensation. He afterwards commanded a vessel in the merchant service. 

He married May 10. 1789, Jane Hassert (born March 1, 1766, died March 2. 
1842). They had issue. Mary Ann, who married Douw Ditmars Williamson: 
Gertrude, born Dec. 24, 1792, David, born June 12, 1804, died Sept. 6, 1846; 
Johanna, born Aug. 18, 1807, died Oct., 1826; James, John, Jacob, and James (2), 
died in infancy. 

Mary Ann Abeel, daughter of Capt. David and Jane (Hassert) Abeel, was 
married Nov. 1, 1810, to Douw Ditmars Williamson, son- of Nicholas, son of 
Garret, son of Nicholas, son of Willem Willemsen, the ancestor. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 199 

Willem Willemsen, the Long Island ancestor, was born in Holland in 1637, 
came to New Amsterdam in the ship Concorde in 1657, and settled at Gravesend, 
L. I., where his name appears on the tax list of 1683, and on the census of Graves- 
end in 1698. He took the oath of allegiance to England in 1687. In the allotment 
of lands, 1670, he drew lot 32, and received another portion in 1700. In his will 
dated Dec. 1, 1721, recorded in the surrogate's office, New York (p. 288, liber 9), 
and other contemporaneous documents he signs his name Willem Willemsen. 
In 1715 he and his son Nicholas were subscribers to a fund for the support of 
Dominies Freeman and Antonides, who presided over the churches of Breuck- 
elen, Flatlands, Jamaica, Gravesend and New Utrecht. He married probably in 
1678, Marye Peterse Wyckoff, of Gravesend, born Oct. 17, 1653, daughter of 
Pieter Classy Wyckoff, who emigrated to this country in 1636, and married 
Greitze, daughter of Hendrick Van Ness. They had issue, Nicholas, born 1680, 
Pieter, bap. April 16, 1682; Jacobus, Cornelis, Marretje, bap. April 12, 1685 (mar- 
ried Abm. Emans of Gravesend) ; Ann, bap. May 29, 1695 (married John 
Griggs, Jr., of Gravesend. 

Nicholas Williamson, eldest child of Willem and Mary Peterse (Wyckoff) 
Willemsen, was born at Gravesend, L. I., in 1680. He was an industrious and 
successful farmer. He married 1st in 1715, Lucrecy Voorheese, daughter of 
Steven Corte Voorheese of Gravesend, and his wife, Agatha Egge Janse, who 
(Voorheese) was of Flatlands, 1699, an d of Gravesend, 1725, son of Steven 
Corte Voorheese, who emigrated in 1660 from Ruinen in Dreuthe, and from in 
front of the hamlet of Hees, which indicates the name. They had issue : Stephen, 
born July 1, 1716; Eva, bap. July 13, 1718; Garret born March 15, 1728. He 
married 2d Ida Remsen, daughter of Jeremias Remsen, and had Nicholas, 
bap. May 13, 1733; Johannes, bap. May 13, 1733; Rem, born April 17, 1738; Cor- 
nelis, bap. July 18, 1739; Antje, married Jacob Stillwill. The Williamsons of 
Flatbush,, Flatlands, Gravesend and New Utrecht are descendants of Nicholas 
by .his second wife. 

Garret Williamson youngest child of Nicholas and Lucrecy (Voorhees) 
Williamson, was born at Gravesend, L. I., March 15, 1728, died at Neshanic, N. 
J., Jan. 17, 1790. He was an Elder in the Reformed Dutch Church at Neshanic. 
He married Aug. 18, 1761, Charity Bennett (born April 30, 1731, died Oct. 27, 
1783). They had issue: Nicholas, born Oct. 8, 1762, Cornelis, born March 28, 
1764, Jacobus, July 10, 1768, Anne, April 3, 1767, Lucrecy, Dec. 25, 1768. He 
married 2d Jan. 14, 1787, Alche Patterson; no issue. 

NICHOLAS WILLIAMSON, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Gerret 
and Charity (Bennett) Williamson, was born Oct. 8, 1762, died Aug. 18, 1856. 
He served in the Revolution as a Minute Man, and was stationed for a time at 
Perth Amboy, and was under fire from the British ships in Raritan Bay. He 
was a farmer and storekeper at Neshanic, N. J. He was an Elder in the Re- 
formed Dutch church of that place, and a man of some influence. He married 
June 10, 1788, Alche Ditmars (born Sept. 6, 1754, died April 15, 1846), daughter 
of Douwe Ditmars and Seytie Suydam, son of Douwe Jansen Ditmars and Cath- 
arine Lott, son of Jan Jansen Ditmars, the ancestor, who married Altje Douwe 



200 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

of Douwsen. Nicholas Williamson, by his wife, Alche Ditmars, had Douw 
Ditmars, born Jan. 4, 1789, and Garret, born March 7, 1798. 

Douw Ditmars Williamson son of Nicholas and Alche (Ditmars) Wil- 
liamson, was born at Neshanick, N. J., Jan. 4, 1789. He served in the War of 
1812-15, and was stationed at Paulus Hook, now Jersey City. He was Comp- 
troller of New York, and served under several administrations. He was con- 
nected with the Western railroads, and some little time before his death (Aug. 
4. 1869), was President of the Farmers' Loan and Trust Co. In religion he 
followed in the footsteps of his ancestors. He was long a member and Elder of 
the Collegiate Reformed Dutch church of New York. He married Nov. I, 1810, 
Mary Ann Abeel, daughter of Capt. David Abeel and his wife, Jane Hassert, 
son of Col. James Abeel, son of David, son of Johannes, son of Christopher Janse 
Abeel, the ancestor. 

By this marriage he had issue: Nicholas, born Sept. 17, 1811; John Neilson 
Abeel, Feb. 13, 1814; James Abeel, April 12, 1816; Jane Hassert, June 23, 1818; 
David Abeel, Feb. 8, 1821 ; George Rogers, May 17, 1823; Leonard Bleeker, Feb. 
4, 1826; Douw Ditmars, born Nov. 15, 1830; Edwin, March 9, 1829. 

Nicholas Williamson, son of Douw Ditmars and Mary Ann (Abeel) Wil- 
liamson, was born in New Brunswick, N. J., Sept. 17, 181 1. He was educated at 
the schools of his native town and came to New York about as clerk in 

a commercial house, and later was appointed teller in the Butchers' and Drovers' 
Bank, and when the Bank of the State of New York was organized he left his 
old place and accepted the position of assistant teller in the new bank and after- 
wards became teller. The business training acquired in these financial institutions 
laid the foundation for his subsequent success. In 1850 he organized the Nov- 
elty Rubber Company, originally of Connecticut and later of New Brunswick, one 
of the earliest companies to introduce certain hard rubber goods of the Good- 
year patents. The Rubber business was then in its infancy, and through the 
skillful management of Mr. Williamson and his associates, it became one of the 
largest concerns in this line in the United States, its annual output reaching sev- 
eral hundred thousand dollars'. It was chiefly through Mr. Williamson's instru- 
mentality that the works were established at New Brunswick, and he thus con- 
tributed materially to the growth and prosperity of his native town. He was 
President of the company for many years, until his death. 

While a resident of New York, he became interested in the movement for 
the improvement of young men by providing additional means for reading and 
study, and assisted in the organization of the Mercantile Library of New York, 
of which he was for several years Secretary. He was an officer of the Reformed 
Church of New Brunswick. He died Nov. 15, 1862. He married 1st Mary 
Rebecca Burlock, daughter of David Burlock, and Agnes Maria Codwise, born 
Nov. 3, 1819, on the Island of St. Croix, W. I. They had issue: Agnes M., born 
New York, June 14, 1839 ,died in infancy; David Abeel, born New York, Sept. 
18, 1840, died Sept. 22, 1862; Marianna, born in New York, March 3, 1843, died 
June 11, 1871; Nicholas, born New York March 9, 1845; Agnes Burlock, born in 
Jersey City, Jan. 16, 1848, deceased; Douw Ditmars, born in Bound Brook, N. J., 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 201 

Jan. 21, 1851; George Norman, born in Bound Brook, N. J., March 12, 1853; 
Martha Codwise, born in Bound Brook, May 3, 1855. Mr. Williamson's first 
wife died Jan. 22, 1857. He married 2d July 24, 1858, Augusta M. Storer (born 
March 10, 1833), daughter of William Storer and Delia Ann Moulthrop of West 
Hartford, Conn. No issue. 

GEORGE NORMAN WILLIAMSON, New York State Society Sons of 
the Revolution, son of Nicholas and Mary Rebecca (Burlock) Williamson, was 
born at Bound Brook, N. J., March 12, 1853. After the death of his mother he 
was adopted by his uncle, Douw Ditmars Williamson. He went abroad with him 
and resided for some years at Edinborough, Scotland, where he was partly ed- 
ucated. On his return to this country he took a preparatory course and entered 
Columbia College, from which he was graduated in 1873, and later at Columbia 
College Law School. He was admitted to the bar in 1876 and practiced for a 
short time and then became associated with his uncle in the chemical business, 
succeeding him in 1897, after the latter's death. 

His inherited taste for military affairs led him in 1875 to join Company K, 
Seventh Regiment, N. G. S. N. Y., and after completing his term of service be- 
came a member of the Seventh Regiment Veteran Association. Of a quiet and 
reserved nature, characteristic of his Holland ancestors, Mr. Williamson has 
taken no part in public affairs, giving his whole attention to business. 

He married Katrina Margaritha Heink, born April 3, 1851, daughter of 
Frederick Augustus Heink Regierungsrath, of Dresden, Saxony, and his wife, 
Augusta Rebecca Dursthof. They have issue: Elsa Rebecca, Hildegard, Mar- 
garitha Fanny, born in Dresden, Germany; George Norman, born Sept. 28, 1881, 
in Colorado; Katrina. 

Nicholas Williamson (2), M. D., eldest son of Nicholas (1) and Mary 
Rebecaa (Burlock) Williamson, was born in New York City, March 9, 184? He 
was educated in New Brunswick and New York, and prepared for Rutgers' Col- 
lege. After the death of his father he became connected with the Novelty Rubber 
Company as Secretary. On the graduation of the class at Rutgers, of which he 
would have been a member had he remained, he was given an honorary degree by 
the faculty. 

Having a great desire to become a physician while still in active business, 
he studied medicine and received the degree of M. D. from Bellevue and the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons of New York. 

He entered into active practice at New Brunswick, N. J., where he is one of 
the leading physicians. He has also been active in political life, and has been 
county physician, Alderman, and is now (1890) in his third term as Mayor of 
New Brunswick. On April 9. 1874, he married Sarah, daughter of Prof. Geo. H. 
Cook of Rutgers College. She died, leaving no children. He married 2 1 on June 

2, 1881, Clara A., daughter of William and Maria Gurley of Troy. N. Y. 

Issue: Clara Christian? Ruth Alice, Charles Gurley. Mary Agnes. Burloch. 



202 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

LINE OF JAMES ABEEL, SON OF CAPT. DAVID, SON OF JOHANNES (i), M OF CHRIS- 
TOPHER. 

GARRET ABEEL, Patriot of the Revolution, son of David and Mary 
(Duyckinck) Abeel, was born in New York City, May 2, 1734. He was educated 
both in Dutch and English, and on May 1, 1751, was apprenticed to Gulean Ver- 
planck, a wholesale merchant. After serving his time he entered the employ of 
James Napier, Esq., Director of the British General Hospital at Albany. He left 
his position in 1757, and returned to New York, where he was induced to accept 
a better position in the same service in charge of the New York stores for the 
supply of other hospitals. He refused in Dec, 1770, to go to the Army, then at 
Boston, and was dismissed from the British hospital service, receiving from Gen. 
Gage a certificate for past faithful service. In 1765 he joined his brother-in-law, 
Evart Byranck, Jr., in the iron business, continuing until Aug. 24, 1774, when 
his partner withdrew and he continued the business alone till 1776, when, owing 
to the occupation of New York by the British, he was obliged to leave with his 
family, and located at Little Falls, N. J. 




GARRIT ABEEL. 

On Feb. 14, 1755, he was appointed by James De Lancey, Esq., His Majes- 
ty's Lieutenant Governor and Commander-in-Chief in and over the Province 
of New York, and the territories depending thereon in America — iinsigi* of the 
company of militia foot of the city and county of New York, whereof David 
Abeel was Captain, and on April 15, 1760, he was appointed Lieutenant of the 
same company. In 1772 he was appointed Captain in place of his father, who 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 203 

resigned on account of advanced age. When troubles began wih the mother 
country, he immediately resigned his commission and offered his services to 
his native State, and Nov. 3, 1775, he was appointed Major of First Regiment, 
New York City Militia, Col. John Jay commanding. He was a member of the 
New York General Committee, Aug. 28, 1775; Chairman, 1776; Member of New- 
York Committee of Safety, 1776; Member of New York Provincial Congress, 
1776-7. In a letter to his wife under date of June 19, 1776, he says : "The pub- 
lic have this day forced me into Congress, where I am to sit the second Tuesday 
of next month." 

Under date of July 3, 1776, he writes: "The night before last, just after dark, 
there was an alarm that the fleet was under way and coming up ; the drums beat 
to Arms. I sat up till I found that the Tide was spent, and wind would not per- 
mit them to come up: then I went to bed. About n o'clock I was awakened by 
Col. Remsen, who came with an order to have our Regiment out by 4 o'clock in 
the morning. When I got up was hurried to go round to the Captain's to warn 
them ; before long the alarm guns were fired, and the fleet appeared in the Nar- 
rows; the drums beat to arms, and every one was ordered to his post. Mine 
was at the New Brick Meeting House, where our regiment parades. There I 
stayed till it was found that they were come to anchor under Staten Island. 
Capt. Randall has just informed me that they had only landed on Staten Island 
and drove the few Riflemen we had there to Elizabethtown point ; shall be a 
little easier, as two thousand men are going over to prevent their marching into 
the country. If they had landed here they must have met with a warm reception, 
as I judge we had Monday by 12 o'clock, 15,000 Men in the City and its neigh- 
borhood. To-morrow 7,000 Troops are expected from New England." 

Col. Jay's regiment was soon after disbanded and the men joined other reg- 
iments, and Major Abeel was called to attend to his civil duties. On July 16 he 
writes from White Plains : 

"I shall try next week to get permission to come and see you. as the con- 
sideration of forming a new government is postponed to the first of next month 
on account of the multiplicity of other necessary business which has come before 
the house since they have been here. We have only five New York members 
here at present, which is the exact number required to represent tho city and 
county in Congress ; hope some more will arrive in a few days." 

The Convention of the Representatives of the State of New York assembled 
at Fishkill, Sept. 7, 1776, enacted the following: 

Resolved, That a Committee of Safety and Correspondence for that part of 
the State which lies below the high Lands be immediately formed. That Col. 
Remsen, Major Abeel and Major Peter P. Van Zant be that Committee. 

Resolved unanimously, That the Committee of Safety and Correspondence 
at New York be appointed and authorized to cause to be taken from the Doors 
of the Houses in the City of New York, all the Brass Knockers, an 1 they cause- 
the same to be sent to some careful Person at New Ark in New Jersey with all 
possible Dispatch— that the said Committee keep as accurate an Account 
as possible of the Weight and Value of them and of the Houses whence taken. 



2C4 SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 

in order that satisfaction may be hereafter made to the respective Owners " 

Major Abeel served his country in various positions throughout the war. He 
was an active member of the Middle Dutch Church, in which he served as 
Deacon, 1764 and 1770, and an Elder in 1784. At the request of the corporation 
he wrote an account of the estate, revenue and income of the Dutch Reformed 
Protestant Church in the City of New York for different years, viz. : 1770, 1776, 
1784 and 1786, showing the asse s and liabilities, from which it appears that the 
Manor of Fordham was sold in 1761, for £11,533, I7S-, 9d. When the North 
Church was being built be placed under a pillar near the pulpit a plate of pewter 
on which was inscribed the names of the Elders and Deacons, who comprised the 
Building Committee, the names of the carpenters, masons, etc., and also the fact 
that "The first stone was laid, July ye 2d, 1767, by Mr. Jacobus Rosevelt, Senr. 
Elder, &c." This plate was found when the church was torn down in 1875, and 
is still in possession of one of the members of the Consistory. 

Major Abeel married Nov. 19, 1760, Mary Byvanck, daughter of Evert By- 
vanck and Mary Cannon. 

Evert Byvanck was born June 15, 1705: resided at his country seat on the 
East River near the foot of Delancy Street, which he was obliged to leave as soon 
as i( was ascertained that the city would fall into the possession of British. He 
gives an interesting narrative of his efforts to get to horseneck, to which place 
he started on Aug. 31st, four days after the battle of Long Island. After relating 
some unimportant matters he says: "On Thursday, the 12th of September, I 
took my Chais, Horse and Negro Sam to drive, and went down to Corlears' 
Hook to my country seat. * * * * There being heavy firing of cannon from 
the two Batteries on Long Island [then in possession of the British] and two of 
ours on Corlears' Hook, on both sides of the house, was advised not to proceed 
farther, but being so near my house, about three-quarters of a mile off, I went 
out of my Chais and ventured to walk through a Lane which led me to the back 
part of my place, ordering my man to follow me with Horse and Chais. A 
heavy cannonade still kept on ; as we were going there several cannon balls ilew 
past us, and two balls struck a post and a rail of the Lane fence we passed 
through breast-high just before us; however, we got safe to the back part of 
my Land. * * * * That afternoon the Gentleman I took down with me in 
my Chais, came to me and importuned me to make all the haste I possibly could 
to get away out of imminent danger, as it was not in the least doubted but the 
King's Troops were preparing for landing, and by all likelihood would land next 
day or Sunday, at farthest, and I would or could not then escape being killed, 
wounded or taken prisoner, on which I took his advice, and after the firing of 
the Enemies' Cannon ceased, which was about six o'clock on Friday evening, 13 
Sept.. I ordered my man Sam to put the horse in the Chais, and I proceeded that 
evening as far as the hill above Harlem to the place where Mr. Lawe Kortright 
had retired to, being a house belonging to Mr. Eagans of St. Croix, where I 
was kindly received, who told me he had removed his family to Hackensack 
that day, and intended in one or two days to follow them; his house and out- 
houses were filled with officers, attendants and their horses. About ten o'clock 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 205 

we were all preparing to go to bed, when a General who was there received 
orders to be with his several companies of Soldiers at one o'clock that night op- 
posite Turtle Bay and Kip's Bay, and to lay on their arms to obstruct the landing 
of the King's troops then hourly expected." 

Under date of Jan. 28, 1777,, he writes: "It is reported that our Army of 
12,000 New England Forces will endeavor to retake New York, and plunder it 
very much, as they judge no man that is true to this country has any business 
there more than those that are Tories, against whom they are much exasperated. 
Just this moment we received news that Gen. Washington was beating all the 
King's Troops back to New York, and hope in a short time to hear of their pack- 
ing off and leaving us in quiet possession of our Estates." 

On Jan. 20, 1778, in a letter to his son, John, and his son-in-law, Garret 
Abeel, after describing the privations he had endured and the loss of his horse, 
stolen from the stable, he says: "I shall with all humility wait till the spring 
to see you and look out for deliverance from our cruel enemies ; I hope and 
Trust the Lord will work a deliverance in good time; I look nor wish for a 
patched up peace as my son John makes mention of in his letters to me; if the 
weather be good in April, if the troubles be not over sooner, I intend to come 
a foot to pay you a visit ; horse I have none nor know where to buy one." 

He arrived at the house of his son-in-law, Garret Abeel, at Little Falls, N. 
J., where he died Monday, May 1, 1781, and was buried near there. His remains 
were subsequently removed to the family vault in the Middle Dutch Church, 
corner of Nassau and Liberty Streets. 

Major Garret Abeel, by his wife Mary (Byvanck) Abeel, had eleven children, 
only two of whom are married, viz : Jane, who was married to Gasherie 
Brasher, son of Col. Abraham Brasher, who had served with distinction during 
the Revolutionary war, and was also a member of the Provincial Congress; and 
Garret Byvanck. 

Garret Byvance Abeel, son of Major Garret Abeel, was born March 5, 1768. 
He continued the iron and hardware business of his father at the corner of 
James Slip and Cherry Street, until 1802, when he erected the building on 
Water Street, adjoining the one on South Street, since occupied by the Abeels 
and their successors. He died Dec. 21, 1829. He married Catharine Marschalk, 
daughter of Joseph Marschalk and Mary Schermerhorn. His wife died July 
22, 1832. They had twelve children: Mary, married Edward Dunscomb; Cath- 
arine Schermerhorn, married Adrian H. Muller; Elizabeth, married Albert W. 
Wright ; Joanna, who remained single, died June 25, 1882, in the sixty-sixth year 
of her age; Theodore, born Aug. 11, 1810, graduated at Rutger's College, July 
15, 1829, died Dec. 27, 1829; John Hozvard. 

John Howard Abeel, son of Garret Byvanck and Catharine (Marschalk) 
Abeel, was born June 27, 1815, at No. 19 Park Place, New York City. He was 
prepared for college at Borland and Forrest Academy, but after the death of his 
father in 1829 he decided on a mercantile career. He entered the silk house of 
Downer & Co., in Hanover Square, but after a little over a year's experience 
he was induced to enter the employ of the old iron firm then conducted by 



206 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



Alfred and Edward Abeel. Edward died Jan. 18, 1832. Alfred took his brother 
George into partnership, who relinquished his law pratice, having graduated at 




GARRET BYVANCE ABEEL. 



Columbia College in 1822. In 1826 he was authorized to practice as attorney-at-law, 
by Hon. John T. Irving, Judge of the Court of Common Pleas of the City of 
New York. The same year he was appointed attorney in the Supreme Court, 
and in 1827 made solicitor by the Court of Chancery. Alfred died Dec. 14, 1835, 
and on Jan. 1, 1836, George took his brother John into partnership, and retired 
May 1, 1840, after which he spent most of his time in travel, both at home and 
abroad. He died Oct. 26, 1884, in the eighty-fourth year of his age. John 
Howard conducted the business alone for a few years, and as his sons became 
of age gave them an interest. He retired Jan. 1, 1870, leaving the business to his 
four sons. He died April 19, 1896. 

He married Jan. 18, 1838, Catharine Emeline, daughter of Dr. John C. 
Strobel, an eminent physician of New York, who died of yellow fever, Oct. 15, 
1822, during the great epidemic of that year. Dr. Strobel's wife was the daugh- 
ter of Francis Marschalk and Sarah Butler; she died Aug. 14, 1818. They had 
eight children : George, born Oct. 16, 1839 ; John Howard, Jr. ; Catharine, mar- 
ried Charles J. Canda, Assistant U. S. Treasurer, New York ; Louisa, married Dr. 
Samuel Kuypers Lyon, a prominent physician ; Alfred, born Oct. 14, 1844 
(married Nov. 21, 1867, Rachel C, daughter of Ascher C. Havens; died May 8, 
1871, leaving one son, Alfred,) ; Frederick H., born July 31, 1848, married Nov. 
30, 1880, Helen Douglass; died Oct.. 7, 1887, leaving no issue. 

GEORGE ABEEL, eldest child of John Howard and Catharine Emeline 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



207 



(Strobel) Abeel, was born at No. 90 Prince Street, Oct. 16, 1839. Receiving his 
education at the well-known school of Clark & Fanning, he acquired the requisite 




JOHN HOWARD ABEEL. 



knowledge and training to fit him for the responsible position to which he was 
soon to be called as the head of the oldest mercantile firm in New York City. 
After leaving school, he entered at once his father's employ, and after mastering 
all the details and technicalities of the business, became a partner with his 
father, and later his successor. Like his predecessors, he proved himself equal to 
every emergency, and the firm he represents has never yet failed to meet all 
its obligations and maintain the high credit for which it has always been noted. 
The old-fashioned ideas of honesty and business probity on which the house was 
founded are still kept up, and the ancestral pride is shown in the careful preserva- 
tion of books and papers of one hundred and fifty years ago, as well as the mil- 
itary commissions that tell the story of the honorable service rendered by their 
worthy sires during the days that tried men's souls. 

Public honors have had no attraction for Mr. Abeel, and, except to fulfill his 
obligations as a citizen, he has taken no part in public affairs of any kind, know- 
ing that a man cannot give attention to one without neglecting the other. He 
is a trustee of the East River Savings Bank, a member of the St. Nicholas So- 



208 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 



ciety, the Suburban Riding and Driving Club, Harlem Club, Historical Society, 
Museum Natural History, Zoological Society, Harlem Board of Commerce. 

Mr. Abeel married Julia E. Guenther, daughter of Rev. Francis H. Guenther, 




GEOUCE AREEL. 



a well-known divine of Buffalo, a descendant of an old and prominent Saxon 
family. Their children are George H., born Oct. 21, 1862; Francis H., born 
Jan. 5, 1864; Henry Frascr. 

HENRY FRASER ABEEL, youngest son of George and Julia E. (Guen- 
ther) Abeel, was born in New York City, Sept. 28, 1870. He was educated at the 
public school, and entered the employ of his father's firm, beginning at the lowest 
round of the ladder, and subject to the course of business training that would 
be required of any stranger. He reached his present position as a member of the 
firm, to which he was admitted Jan. 1, 1893, by his own efforts, and was well 
fitted to assume the responsibilities and obligations which such a position entails. 
Recognizing his duty as a citizen to maintain at all times the honor of his 
country, he joined the famous Seventh Regiment in 1890, and served the usual 
term as a member of Company B. His willingness to aid his fellow men is 
shown in his connection with the Masonic Fraternity as a member of Alma 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 200. 

Lodge No. 728 of New York. He married Jesslyn Irene Forsythe, daughter of 
James Forsythe and Anna Moore. They have one child, Hazel Forsythe. 

LINE OF DAVID ABEEL, ELDEST SON OF CAPT. DAVID, SON OF JOHANNES ABEEL. 

DAVID ABEEL, Patriot of the Revolution, eldest son of Capt. David 
and Mary (Duyckinck) Abeel, was born in Albany, 1727. He married July 2, 
1752, Neiltje, daughter of Garret Van Bergen and Annetje Meyer. He settled in 
Catskill as early as 1754. In 1771 he obtained a patent for one thousand acres of 
land "on the west side of. and adjoining the brook called the Caterskill, at a 
place called the Bak-Oven." This estate was within the bounds of the Catskill 
Patent, and was formerly owned by Abeel's father-in-law. 

They had issue : 

Annatie, born in Albany, March, 1753; died in infancy. 

Anthony, born in Catskill, Oct. 9, 1754; died Feb. 25, 1822; married Oct. 6, 
1797, Catharine Moon. 

Garret, born in Catskill. March 27, 1757; died Oct. 23, 1829; married Eliza- 
beth Cantine. 

Annatje, born April 8, 1760; married Jacobus B. Hasbrouck. 

Catharine, born in Catskill, Sept. 28, 1765; died Aug. 24, 1829. 

During the War of the Revolution there were living at the Bak-Oven, David 
Abeel, Neiltje, his wife, and their four children — Anthony, Gerrit, Catharine 
and Anna. The men of the household were zealous patriots, and between them 
and the few Tories in the neighborhood a bitter feud existed. One of these 
Tories, Jacobus Rowe, was especially malignant. He harbored the Indians when 
they came into the valley of the Catskill, and guided the Indians in their depre- 
dations throughout that neighborhood. 

On a Sunday evening in 1780, a party of Indians with Jacobus Rowe and 
another Tory, entered the house of David Abeel. The inmates, who had been 
attending prayer meeting, were then at supper and were taken entirely by sur- 
prise. They had no time to take down their guns, which lay upon wooden 
baskets fastened to the walls and to the great beams of the ceiling. These 
weapons, however, would have been of no service, as the slaves of Abeel had 
been notified of the coming attack, and during the absence of the family in the 
afternoon, had removed the priming of the guns and had stuffed ashes into their 
pans. David and his son Anthony were made prisoners; Lon, a large and pow- 
erful slave of Abeel, assisting in binding his master. Owing to his extreme age 
he would doubtless have been released had he not inadvertently recognized his 
neighbor, Rowe, who was disguised as an Indian. 

Gerrit Abeel, Anthony's youngest brother, had been spending the day at the 
Old Catskill parsonage, and as he approached his home he heard voices which at 
once aroused his suspicions, and, calling to his assistance a neighbor, the two 
hid themselves in a thicket near the path which led to the house, and waited. 
As the party passed, lantern in hand, Gerrit was about to fire, but his neighbor, 
who was paralyzed with fear, warned him that he might shoot his own father, 



210 SON'S OF THE REVOLUTION. 

and the party was allowed to escape unmolested. Their journey was through a 
vast and unbroken wilderness, and both captors and prisoners nearly died from 
hunger. They lived on dogs, roots and herbs and such other food as they could 
pick up. After reaching Fort Niagara, Anthony Abeel was made to run the 
gauntlet, his father being excused on account of his age. Anthony was notified 
that the Indians would attempt to stop him, and he would have to fight his way. 
Soon after he started, a young Indian stepped into the path and faced him. 
Anthony dealt him a powerful blow under the ear, much to the amusement of 
the crowd, and before they could recover he reached the goal without receiving a 
blow. 

In May, 1781, the Abeels were confined in the Prevot at Montreal with 
thieves, murderers, deserters and captive Americans. They suffered great hard- 
ship, and, in May of the following year, they determined to break their parple 
and endeavor to escape. On the evening of the 10th of September, 1782, every- 
thing being in readiness, they went to their room to go to bed, but jumping out of 
the window with their packs they groped their way to the lower end of the 
island, seized a boat and began the descent of the St. Lawrence. After many 
mishaps and much suffering, the party reached the headquarters of Gen. Bailey, 
upon the lower Coos on the 29th of September. They were treated with great 
kindness, provided with clothes and shoes and an abundance of food, and, after 
resting, continued their journey home. David Abeel died Feb. 1813, in the 87th 
year of his age, and was buried upon a ridge between his house and the 
highway. 

Gerrit Abeel son of David and Neiltje (Van Bergen) Abeel, was born in 
Catskill, March 2~, 1757. About 1785 he moved to Catskill Landing, and built for 
himself a stone house. He was for many years a judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas for Greene County. Though not a lawyer by profession, he was endowed 
with strong common sense and an innate love of justice which was administered 
impartially, and his rulings seldom appealed from. He died Oct. 23, 1829. He 
married Elizabeth Cantine. Their Children were: 

David Gerrit, born April 1, 1783; Anthony, Eleanor, Charles Cantine, Betsy, 
Ann, Catharine, Mary, John, Moses. 

David Gerrit Abeel, eldest child of Gerrit and Elizabeth (Cantine) Abeel, 
was born April 1, 1783; died April 29, 1868. He married April 28, 1804, Nellie 
Goetschius, daughter of Jacob and Catharine Schuneman. Their children were: 

Eliza Catharine, born Oct. 18. 1805: unmarried. 

Amelia Emeline, born Feb. 23, 1807 ; married May 8, 1839, Jeremiah Romeyn. 

Gerrit Nelson, born Oct. 18, 1809; married Dec. 6, 1836, Alida Wynkoop ; 
died 1874. 

Eleanor, born Feb. 1, 1812; married, 1st. George Phillips; 2d, Frank Parsons. 

Jane, born Dec. 23, 1815: died March 27, 1862; unmarried. 

Charles Cantine, born Aug. 5, 1817. 

John, born June 30, 1821. 

Christine C, born Sept. 1, 1825; married Henry Seelye. 

Frances Mary, born Jan. 8. 1828; married June 25, 1850, Abram Winne. 



SONS OF THE REVOLUTION. 211 

They had issue : Emily Winne Webster. Frank N. and Lida Winne Dakin. 

Charles Cantine Abeel, son of David Gerrit and Nellie Goetschius 
(Schuneman) Abeel, was born Aug. 5, 1817; died Aug. 18, 1890. He married 
Jennie Foland, daughter of Jacob Foland and Annie Gardner. They had issue : 
F. Romeyn, Charles C, Annie S., Emily E., Nellie B. and David G. 



SUPPLEMENT 



SECTION I 

— OF— 

THE HEROES OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION 
AND THEIR DESCENDANTS. 



HISTORY OF THE SOCIETY 

Sons of the American Revolution, 



INCLUDING THE 



ANCESTRAL LINE 



FOUNDERS AND BUILDERS. 



1898. 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 
NATIONAL SOCIETY. 



At no period in the history of our country (unless we except that of the Civil 
War) has the patriotism of the American people been so thoroughly aroused as 
during the past decade, and this has led to the organization of numerous patriotic 
societies in almost every State in the Union. The history of the movement which 
began some twenty years ago, culminating in the organization of the society 
known as the Sons of the American Revolution, was published in the 
"Year Book" of this Society, in 1890, prepared by Henry Hall, Historian- 
General of the National Society. From this we extract the following : 

" These associations are the product of the recent period of celebrations of 
centennial anniversaries of the Revolutionary War. Beginning in 1875 with the 
great celebration in Massachusetts of the one hundredth anniversary of the battle 
of Lexington, and including, among others, the centenaries of Independence, the 
surrender of Yorktown, completion of the Constitution, and evacuation of New 
York, these celebrations formed a brilliant and patriotic series of public rejoicings, 
culminating in the memorable demonstration of April 30th and May 1st, 1889, in 
New York in honor of the one hundredth anniversary of the inauguration of George 
Washington as first President of the United States. They revived the glorious 
memories of Revolutionary days ; they inspired a pride in Revolutionary ancestry, a 
shame that the country had come to neglect the annual observance of the Fourth 
of July and Washington's birthday, and a new respect for the principles of popular 
government ; and they led, by a very natural and direct process, to the formation 
of societies of men of Revolutionary descent, who charged themselves with 
perpetuating the memory of the men of the Revolution, and of commending to 
the mass of the American people (the foreign born element particularly) the 
principles upon which the fathers had established the government. 

"There seemed to exist a public necessity for the formation of societies of 
this character, growing out of the gradual disappearance from view, the principal- 
ism and the narrow field of activity of the once famous Society of the Cincinnati. 
Limited in membership to the commissioned officers of the Revolution and their 
eldest male descendants, in strict order of primogeniture, and confined in locality 
to the thirteen original States and to France, the Cincinnati could never have been 
in any event a really national order. * * * 

" In 1876 a detachment of descendants of officers, soldiers and seamen of the 
Revolutionary War was collected in the city of San Francisco, Cal.,for participation 
in the local celebration of the one hundredth anniversary of the Fourth of July. It 
was, after ihe ceremonies of the day, organized as a permanent society, under the 
title of 'California Society of Sons of Revolutionary Sires.' A similar movement 
was inaugurated in the city of New York, and the example thus set was inaugurated 
in other States. In 1888 a society of the 'Sons of the Revolution' was organized 
in Pennsylvania. Early in 1889, with a view to participate in the centennial cele- 



4 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

bration in New York city, on the 30th of April, of that year, societies of the ' Sons 
of the Revolution ' were formed in New Jersey, Massachusetts, Vermont, Con- 
necticut, New Hampshire, Missouri, Maryland and the District of Columbia. 

" Simultaneously with the formation of the new State societies and, indeed, 
as a natural and necessary part of the movement, steps were taken for the insti- 
tution of a National Society to bind together the various local branches of the 
order. Unable to develop and bring together the new local societies in time to 
muster them as a part of the grand parade in New York city, on April 30, 1889, 
the organizers of the movement determined, nevertheless, not to let that day pass 
without founding their National Society. Every effort was put forth to bring 
about a meeting of delegates for that purpose, and the work was triumphantly 
accomplished, thus giving to the country on the one hundredth anniversary of 
Washington's inauguration as first President of the United States, a national 
society entitled, ' Sons of the American Revolution' — young, vigorous, American 
in its plan of organization, and with unlimited capacity for growth, which should 
carry forward in this country the patriotic work originally undertaken by the 
Society of the Cincinnati. 

" One motive in the formation of the National Society, S. A. R., grew out of 
the position taken by the local society in New York city toward the whole move- 
ment. The New York society was organized as a purely local association. But 
as years passed by, the managers of the society adopted a theory that societies in 
other States ought to be auxiliary branches of the one in New York, and the only 
general or national officers of the order throughout the United States, ought to be 
those elected at the annual meeting in New York city, or, in other words, the 
officers of the New York society. * * * 

" Still another motive governed the founders of the National Society, S. A. R. 
Early in the movement for the creation of associations of descendants of the men 
of the Revolution, it was seen that if the Societies of this class could be made to 
exist in every part of the United States, founded upon the glorious memories and 
warm friendships of the period of the Revolution, they might prove of immense 
importance in the future history of the country. What an influence for peace 
they might have been in i860 and 1861 ! The glories and triumphs of the 
Revolution are the common heritage of North and South, of East and West ! It 
was one of the distinct purposes of the organizers of the Sons of the American 
Revolution to create a National Society, in which the men of all sections of the 
United States might unite, with no thought of sectionalism and with no feeling 
except that of the purest fraternity and patriotic affection for a common country. 

"March 7, 1889, there were in existence only the California Society of Sons 
of Revolutionary Sires, and the New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey Societies 
of Sons of the Revolution. Upon that day the newly formed New Jersey society 
adopted the following preamble and resolution : 

" Whereas, There are now organized Societies of the Sons of the Revolution 
in the States of New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey ; and 

" Whereas, It is desirable, in view of the approaching one hundredth 
anniversary of the inauguration of George Washington as first President of the 
United States, that there shall be sister societies organized in every State and 
Territory in the Union, particularly in the thirteen original States, that their 
members may participate in this centennial celebration. 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 5 

" RESOLVED, That the president of this society, when elected, and the two 
delegates to the National Society, are hereby appointed a committee to invite the 
appointment of a like committee from the New York and Pennsylvania societies, 
to cooperate with them and to meet with the descendants of revolutionary ancestors 
in the different States and Territories, and assist in organizing societies whose 
membership shall be composed exclusively of descendants of revolutionary states- 
men, soldiers and sailors. 

"William O. McDowell, of Newark, Gen. William S. Stryker, of Trenton, and 
Josiah C. Pumpelly, of Morristown, were appointed a committee to carry out the 
purposes of the resolution. Printed slips were sent to all the leading newspapers 
in the United States, setting forth the desire for the formation of State societies 
and requesting correspondence with the New Jersey committee on the part of 
those interested, and letters were addressed to the Governors of the several States, 
asking the use of rooms at the capitols for preliminary meetings. Favorable 
replies were received from all parts of the country, and definite action was taken 
in a number of States. By the 30th of April, 1889, thirteen societies were in 
existence, as follows: California, organized July 4, 1876; New York, organized 
Dec. 4, 1883; Pennsylvania, organized April 3, 1888; New Jersey, organized 
March 7, 1889; Connecticut, organized April 2, 1889; Vermont, organized April 2, 
1889; South Carolina, organized April 18, 1889; Massachusetts, organized April 19, 
1889; Maryland, organized April 20, 1889; Ohio, organized April 22, 1889; 
Missouri, organized Apiil 23, 1889; Kentucky, organized April 23, 1889; New 
Hampshire, organized April 24, 1889. 

" On April 10, 1889, Mr. Pumpelly, as secretary of the committee, sent notice 
to the several societies, requesting them to send delegates to a meeting to take 
place at 9 A. M., April 30, 1889, the one hundredth anniversary of the inauguration 
of George Washington as first President of the United States, in Fraunces's 
Tavern, New York, corner of Pearl and Broad Streets, in the room where 
General Washington made his farewell address to the officers of the revolution- 
ary army. The New Jersey committee having found it impracticable to visit 
every State for the organization of local societies before April 30, addressed a 
circular to the Governors of the remaining States and of the Territories, requesting 
them to appoint three delegates, descendants of a revolutionary ancestry, by 
either the male or female line, to represent those in their States entitled to mem- 
bership, at the organization of the National Society, and after the adjournment, to 
take charge of organizing their State societies. 

" Pursuant to call, the National Convention assembled at Fraunces's Tavern, 
in the City of New York, at 9 A. M., April 30, 1889. The following States were 
represented : California— -The Hon. Hamilton Fish, Col. A. S. Hubbard, Col. David 
Wilder and Major George B. Halstead*. delegates ; the Hon. Rutherford B. Hayes, 
the Hon. Charles K. Dennison and Mr. Charles James King, alternates. Pennsyl- 
vania — Dr. Herman Burgin and Josiah G. Leach*. New Jersey— William O. 
McDowell*, Gen. William S. Stryker and Josiah C. Pumpelly*, delegates; John J. 
Hubbell* and Paul Revere*, alternates. Vermont— The Hon. L. E. Chittenden. 
Connecticut— The Hon. Lucius P. Deming*, the Hon. Samuel E. Merwin, David 
Clark, Frank I. Starr*, Franklin H. Hart* and the Rev. Timothy Dwight, D.D., 
LL.D.* South Carolina— Governor J. P. Richardson, the Hon. Wade Hampton. 
Dr. N. N. Tulley, Col. Wm. McMaster, N. G. Gonzales and G. L. Calloway*, 



6 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

Massachusetts— The. Hon. Charles T. Saunders, Luther L. Tarbel'*, Clarence 
Stuart Ward* and N. C. Upham. Maryland— The Rev. John G. Morris, D.D., 
Lieut. James C. Cresap, U. S. N.* and the Hon. E. W. Lecompte. Ohio— The 
Rev. W. R. Paisons, Wilson L. Gill* and George W. Gill. Missouri — The 
Hon. Gaius Paddock* and Jared Flagg. Kentucky — The Hon. Simon B. Buckner, 
Judge William Lindsay and Gen. Samuel E. Hill. New Hampshire — The Hon. 
Charles R. Morrison*, the Hon. H. K. Slayton* and Frederick Leighton.* 
Indiana— The Hon. John C. New, H. S. New, Merrill Moores and Dr. G. W. Mc- 
Connell. Delaware — The Hon. Andrew J. Woodman*. West Virginia — The 
Hon. J. B. Jackson, H. S. Walker, the Hon. Bushrod C. Washington and E. W, 
Wilson. Arkansas— Col. Samuel W. Williams, the Hon. Josiah H. Shinn and Jas, 
Mitchell. Alabama— Charles C. Page, M.D.* Illinois— Dr. George B. Abbott*. 

'•The following committee on constitution and by-laws and on nomination of 
permanent officers, to consist of one delegate from each State, was appointed : 
William O. McDowell, chairman ; the Hon. C. R. Morrison, of New Hampshire; 
Luther L. Tarbell, of Massachusetts; Wilson L. Gill, of Ohio; Dr. George B. 
Abbott, of Illinois ; the Hon. Lucius P. Deming, of Connecticut ; Charles C. Page, 
M.D., of Alabama; Andrew J. Woodman, of Delaware; Major G. B. Halstead, 
of California ; Lieut. James C. Cresap, of Maryland ; the Hon. Gaius Paddock, of 
Missouri ; G. L. Calloway, of South Carolina and Josiah Pumpelly, of New Jersey." 

The draft of the Constitution was made or dictated by Hon. Lucius 
P. Deming. 

Name. Article I. of the Constitution declares the name to be " The 
Society of the Sons of the Revolution." 

Purposes. The purposes of the society, as defined by Article II., are to 
keep active among ourselves and our descendants, and in the community, the 
patriotic spirit of the men who achieved American Independence ; to collect and 
secure for preservation, the manuscript rolls, records and other documents relat- 
ing to the War of the Revolution, and to promote social intercourse and fellow- 
ship among its members now and hereafter. 

Eligibility for Membership. Article III. states that, "Any person 
may be eligible for membership in a State society who is above the age of twenty- 
one years and who is descended from an ancestor that assisted, while acting in any 
of the following capacities, in establishing American Independence during the 
War of the Revolution : a military or naval officer, a soldier or sailor, an official in 
the service of any of the thirteen original States or Colonies, a recognized patriot 
who rendered material service to the cause of independence. But nothing herein 
contained shall preclude any State society from prescribing such requisites of 
eligibility for membership therein, within the foregoing limits as it shall deem 
proper and expedient." 

Section VII. provides for and defines the duties of a Board of Management 
of the National Society. 

The following named gentlemen were elected officers of the National Society : 

President— The Hon. Lucius P. Deming, New Haven, Conn. 

Vice-Preside7it-at-Large — William O. McDowell, Newark, N. J. 

Vice-Presidents by States — Col. A. S. Hubbard, San Francisco, Cal.; Gov. 



'Those actually present. 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 7 

Simon B. Buckner, Frankfort, Ky.; the Hon. Hamilton Fish, New York City; the 
Hon. J. C. Kinney, Hartford, Conn.; the Hon. C. H. Dennison, Portland, Me.; the 
Hon. H. C. Washington, Charlestown, W. Va.; Gov. D. R. Francis, St. Louis, Mo.; 
Col. Samuel C. Williams, Little Rock, Ark.; the Hon. Benjamin Harrison, President 
of the United States, Indiana ; the Hon. G. B. West, Birmingham, Ala.; Gov. Wade 
Hampton, Columbia, S. C; Gov. Robert S. Green, New Jersey ; the Rev. John G. 
Morris, D.D., Baltimore, Md.; the Hon. L. L. Tarbell, Marlboro, Mass.; the Hon. 
Rutherford B. Hayes, Freemont, Ohio ; the Hon. H. K. Slayton, Manchester, 
N. H.; Mons. de Lafayette, Senateur, Paris, France; Gov. W. P. Dillingham, 
Montpelier, Vt.; Admiral D. D. Porter, U. S. N. for Dist. of Columbia. 

Chaplain— -The Rev. Timothy Dwight, D.D., LL.D., Yale College. 

Secretary— Lieut. James C. Cresap, U. S. N., Annapolis, Md. 

Assistant Secretaries— Charles James King, San Francisco, Cal.; G. L. 
Calloway, Greenville, S. C; Wilson L. Gill, Columbus, Ohio. 

Treasurer — Gaius Paddock, St. Louis, Mo. 

Registrar— Gen. William S. Stryker, Trenton, N. J. 

During the first year of the National Society, meetings were held by the 
Board of Managers upon July 12 and Oct. 23, 1889, Feb. 12 and March 22, 1890, 
in New York City, and April 29, 1890, in Louisville, Ky.; and by the Executive 
Committee, Dec. 7-21, 1889, and Jan. 25, Feb. 12 and March 1, 1890, in New 
York City. At a meeting held July 12, 1889, Hon. W. H. English, of Indiana, 
was elected in place of Hon. Benjamin Harrison, resigned. October 23, 1889. — An 
Executive Committee was appointed, consisting of the Hon. Lucius P. Deming, 
Wm. O. McDowell, Charles H. Saunders, Dr. Wm, Seward Webb and G. L. 
Calloway. The election of Luther L. Tarbell as Registrar, vice Gen. W. H. 
Stryker, resigned. Resignation of President-Gen. Deming and election of Dr. 
Wm. Seward Webb in his stead.* December 21, 1889. — Certificate of membership, 
also badge and rosette adopted, the badge having been designed by Major Gold- 
smith B. West ; the rosette, red and white. Jan. 25, 1890. — Election of Vice- 
Presidents, as follows: The Rt. Rev. Chas. E. Cheney, for Illinois; William H. 
Brearly, for Michigan ; Gov. W. D. Hoard, for Wisconsin, and Gen. J. B. Sanborn, 
for Minnesota. Election of James Otis as Treasurer-General, vice the Hon Gaius 
Paddock, resigned. Gen. Alexander S. Webb invited to preside at the National 
Congress, at Louisville. Adoption of titles for general officers. Feb. 12, 1890. — 
Executive Committee reconstructed as follows : Dr. William Seward Webb, the 
Hon. Lucius P. Deming, the Hon. E. S. Barrett, Major Goldsmith B. West, Wm. 
O. McDowell, the Hon. Robert S. Green and Luther L. Tarbell, with Lieut. James 
C. Cresap, as Secretary. Election of Hon. Wm. H. Arnoux, Vice-President for 
New York. Change of ribbon to blue and white. March 22, 1890.— Hon. Wm. 
H. Arnoux, Gen. Alexander S. Webb and Wilson L. Gill appointed a Committee 
on Revision of the Constitution. April 29, 1890. — Committee on Credentials for 
the Congress appointed, thus : The Hon. E. S. Barrett, the Hon. E. J. Hill, John 
W. Buchanan and William F. Cregar. Lieut. J. C. Cresap placed on Committee on 
Constitution, vice Wilson L. Gill. 

During such intervals as could be snatched from their business occupations, 



*At the meeting of the Board of Managers which elected Dr. Webb President-General, at 
his urgent request Hon. Lucius P. Deming was elected first and acting Vice-President-General. 



8 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

the officers of the National Society, during the summer of 1889, strove to carry 
on the work which had been entrusted to them. Overtures were made by the 
Sons of the Revolution to unite the two societies and lengthy correspondence 
followed. Mr. Fred S. Tallmadge, the President of the Society of the 
Sons of the Revolution, in concluding this correspondence, says : " I fully 
appreciate the benefit of harmonious action, so that we may be a unit ; but the 
society may well object, after six years' hard work, to being merged into a National 
Society, so called, where their individuality shall be surrendered and lost, and 
where their insignia, their ' muniments of title ' be lost, or at least shall be at the 
mercy of men who may not appreciate what they have done. They would prefer, 
I think, to adopt, as their motto, the request of Mr. Jefferson Davis at the begin- 
ning of the Rebellion, ' Let us alone.' " 

On January 17, 1890, the National Society was incorporated in the State of 
Connecticut, through the efforts of its first President, Judge Deming. The 
national character of the order having made its incorporation desirable, identical 
bills were introduced into Congress on April 9, 1890, by Senator Hoar, of 
Massachusetts, and on the 10th by Congressman McAdoo, of New Jersey, for 
that purpose. They were referred to the Committee on the Library, which 
promptly reported back to both houses in favor of its passage. The bill is as 
follows : 

A Bill to Incorporate the Society of the Sons of the American 
Revolution. 
"Be IT ENACTED, etc., That David D. Porter, of the District of Columbia; 
William H. Arnoux and James Otis, of New York ; William Seward Webb and 
Theodore S. Peck, of Vermont ; Timothy Dwight, Lucius P. Deming and J. 
Coddington Kinney, of Connecticut ; Rutherford B. Hayes and Wilson L. Gill, of 
Ohio ; Wade Hampton, of South Carolina ; Simon B. Buckner, of Kentucky ; 
John B. Gordon, of Georgia ; Robert L. Taylor, of Tennessee ; Robert S. Green and 
William O. McDowell, of New Jersey ; Edwin S. Barrett and Luther L. Tarbell, 
of Massachusetts; John G. Morris, James C. Cresap and W. Francis Cregar, of 
Maryland ; A. S. Hubbard and Charles J. King, of California ; Charles E. Cheney, 
of Illinois; William H. English, of Indiana; Charles H. Dennison, of Maine; 
William II. Brearley, of Michigan ; John B. Sanborn, of Minnesota; D. B. Francis, 
of Missouri ; Hiram E. Hall, of Washington ; Atwood Violett, of Louisiana ; 
Edmund de Lafayette, of France; Zebulon B. Vance, of North Carolina; William 
D. Hoard, of Wisconsin ; P'itzhugh Lee, of Virginia ; James A. Beaver, of Penn- 
sylvania; John J. Jacobs, of West Virginia; Elisha B. Andrews, of Rhode Island; 
H. K. Slayton, of New Hampshire; Joseph E.Johnston and Goldsmith Bernard 
West, of Alabama; Samuel W. Wilson, of Arkansas; Lyman E. Knapp, of 
Alaska; H. R. Wolcott, of Colorado ; A. J. Woodman, of Delaware ; William B. 
Allison, of Iowa; L. Bradford Prince, of New Mexico; George L. Miller, of 
Nebraska ; W. F. Wheeler, of Montana ; Charles E. Hooker, of Mississippi ; 
William Kapus, of Oregon ; George Pettigrew, of South Dakota ; their associates 
and successors, are hereby created, in the District of Columbia, a body corporate 
and politic, by the name of the ' Sons of the American Revolution,' to perpetu- 
ate the memory and spirit of the men who achieved American independence, by 
the encouragement of historical research in relation to the Revolution, and the 




INSIGNIA OF THE SOCIETY OF THE 
SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. g 

publication of its results ; the preservation of documents and relics and of the 
records of the individual services of Revolutionary soldiers and patriots, and the 
promotion of celebrations of all patriotic anniversaries ; to carry out the injunc- 
tion of Washington in his farewell address to the American people, ' to promote, 
as an object of primary importance, institutions for the general diffusion of know- 
ledge,' thus developing an enlightened public opinion and affording to young and 
old such advantages as shall develop in them the largest capacity for performing the 
duties of American citizens ; to cherish, maintain and extend the institutions 
of American freedom ; to foster true patriotism and love of country, and to aid in 
securing for mankind all the blessings of liberty. Said association is authorized 
to hold real and personal estate in the District of Columbia so far only as may be 
necessary to its lawful ends, to an amount not exceeding $500,000 ; to adopt a 
constitution and to make by-laws not inconsistent with this law. Said association 
shall have its principal office at Washington, in the District of Columbia, and may 
hold its annual meetings in such places as the said incorporators shall determine. 
Said association shall report annually to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institu- 
tion concerning its proceedings. Said Secretary shall communicate to Congress 
the whole of such reports or of such portion thereof as he shall see fit. The 
regents of the Smithsonian Institution are authorized to permit said association to 
deposit its collections, manuscripts, books, pamphlets and other material for 
history in the Smithsonian Institution or in the National Museum, at their discre- 
tion, upon such conditions and under such rules as they shall prescribe." 

Seal. The seal adopted by the society is two and three-eighths of an inch in 
diameter, charged with the figure of a minute man grasping a musket in his right 
hand and surrounded by a constellation of thirteen stars, who is depicted in the 
habit of a husbandman of the period of the American Revolution, as in the act of 
deserting the plough for the service of his country, the whole encircled by a band 
three-eighths of an inch wide, within which appears the legend, " National 
Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, organized April 30, 1889." 

This seal was designed by Edwin S.Barrett, the present (1897) President- 
General. 

Insignia. The insignia of the society consists of (1) a cross surmounted by 
an eagle in gold or silver ; (2) a duplicate for the same in miniature ; (3) a rosette. 
The cross to be of silver, with four arms, in miniature, and eight white enameled 
points, same size as Chevalier's Cross of the Legion of Honor of France, with a gold 
medallion in the centre, bearing on the obverse a bust of Washington in profile, 
and on the reverse the figure of a minute man surrounded by a ribbon enameled 
blue, with the motto Libertas et Patria on the obverse, and the legend " Sons of 
the American Revolution " on the reverse, both in letters of gold. The cross is 
surmounted by an eagle in gold or silver, and the whole decoration suspended 
from a ring of gold by a ribbon of deep blue with white edges, and may be worn 
by any member of the society on ceremonial occasions only, and shall be carried 
on the left breast, or, if an officer, at the collar. 

The duplicate to have all the essential features of the cross, but to be 
miniature size. 

The rosette to be seven-sixteenths of an inch in diameter, of usual pattern, 
displaying the colors of the society, and may be worn by all members at discretion, 
in the upper left hand button-hole of the coat. 



IO SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

CERTIFICATE of Membership. Soon after Dr. Webb was elected Presi- 
dent-General, he appointed Luther L. Tarbell and Hon. Lucius P. Denning a 
committee to design and have executed a Certificate of Membership. These 
gentlemen met in the city of Boston with an officer of the American Bank Note 
Company, and together they arranged and designed the Certificate of Membership, 
which was submitted to President-General Webb and the Board of Managers 
and adopted by them. The bill for same, which amounted to $600, was paid by 
Dr. Webb. 

FIRST CONGRESS OF THE NATIONAL SOCIETY. 

The second year in the history of the Sons of the American Revolution began 
with societies in actual operation in twenty-eight States, a membership of 2,500 
men, and with organizing committees in existence in every other State and every 
Territory of the Union. In accordance with requirements of the constitution, the 
year was introduced by the assembling of the first annual congress of the order 
on April 30,1890,311(1 this body met in the city of Louisville, Ky., at the Gait 
House. The congress was called to order and the address of welcome given by 
Hon. Simon B. Buckner, then governor of Kentucky, and was responded to by 
Gen. Alexander S. Webb, in fitting terms. Gen. Webb was the presiding officer on 
this occasion. It was the first meeting between many of the old army veterans 
of the North and South since the war, and Gen. Webb, a gallant soldier, who 
fought in the Northern army from the beginning to the close of the war, extended 
a hearty greeting to the men of the South, reminding them of the great sacrifice 
made by our Revolutionary ancestors to establish the independence of the colonies, 
the men of the North and South standing shoulder to shoulder, battling for their 
rights against a common foe, the last act in the great drama being enacted on 
Southern soil, the soldiers of the North and South sharing equally the glory, and 
establishing a perpetual union in which sectional animosities should have no place. 
In the words of Abraham to Lot, ' Let there be no strife between me and thee, 
between thy herdsmen and my herdsmen, for we be brethren." 

[Judge Deming, acting in his capacity of Vice-President-General, surrendered 
his right to preside over that congress to Gen. Alexander S. Webb, brother of Dr. 
Webb, out of compliment to Dr. Webb and his genial and talented brother. At 
that meeting Dr. Webb was again elected President-General and Hon. Lucius P. 
Deming, Vice-President-General.] 

The following is a list of the delegates who met on this occasion at Louis- 
ville, Ky., April 30, 1890, represented by the following general officers, about one- 
third of whom were present : President-General — Dr. William Seward Webb, 
New York; Vice-President-General — Hon. Lucius P. Deming, New Haven; Vice- 
Presidents— F "or the State of Alabama, Major Goldsmith Bernard West*, Birming- 
ham ; for Arkansas, Col. Samuel W. Williams, Little Rock ; for California, Col. 
A. S. Hubbard, San Francisco ; for Connecticut, Major J. C. Kinney, Hartford ; 
for Delaware, the Hon. Andrew J. Woodman, Wilmington; for Illinois, the Rt. 
Rev. C. E. Cheney, LL.D., Chicago ; for Indiana, the Hon. W. H. English, Indianapo- 
lis ; for Kentucky, the Hon. S. B. Buckner*, Frankfort ; for Maine, the Hon. C. H. 
Dennison. Wiscassett ; for Maryland, the Rev. John G. Morris, D.D., Baltimore ; 
for Massachusetts, the Hon. Edwin S. Barrett*, Boston ; for Michigan, the Hon. 
W. H. Brearley*, Detroit ; for Minnesota, the Hon. J. B. Sanborn, St. Paul ; for 
Missouri, the Hon. D. R. Francis, Jefferson City ; for New Hampshire, the 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. II 

Hon. H. K. Slayton, Manchester; for New Jersey, the Hon. Robert S. 
Green, Elizabeth ; for New York, the Hon. Wm. H. Arnoux*, New York 
City; for South Carolina, the Hon. Wade Hampton, Columbia; for Ten- 
nessee, the Rev. D. C. Kelley, LL.D.*, Nashville ; for Vermont, the Hon. W. 
P. Dillingham, Montpelier ; for Virginia, the Hon. Fitzhugh Lee, Richmond ; for 
West Virginia, the Hon. John J. Jacobs, Wheeling ; for Wisconsin, the Hon. Wm. 
D. Hoard, Madison ; for District of Columbia, Admiral D. D. Porter, U. S. N., 
Washington ; for France, Edmon de Lafayette, Paris. Secretary-General — Lieut. 
J. C. Cresap*, U. S. N., Annapolis ; Assistant Secretaries — General Charles J. 
King, of San Francisco ; Wilson L. Gill, of Brooklyn, N. Y., and William Francis 
Cregar*, of Annapolis, Md.; Treasurer-General — James Otis, New York City; 
Registrar-General— Luther L. Tarbell*, Boston ; Chaplain — Rev. Timothy 
Dwight, LL.D., New Haven, Conn. 

Section 2, Article III., of the Constitution adopted by this Congress states 
that " For the purpose of making more nearly perfect the records of our Revo- 
lutionary ancestors and their descendants, any woman of Revolutionary ancestry 
may file a record of her ancestors' services and of her line of descent, with the 
Registrar, who shall send a duplicate to the Registrar-General." 

Section 1, Article IV., states that " The officers of the National Society shall 
be a President-General, three Honorary Vice-Presidents-General, a Secretary- 
General, Treasurer-General, Registrar-General, Historian-General, Surgeon-Gen- 
eral and Chaplain, who shall be elected by ballot by a vote of the majority of the 
members present at the annual meeting of the Congress of the society, and who 
shall hold office for one year and until their successors shall be elected," etc. 

The following general officers were successively elected by unanimous 
vote of the Congress: President-General— Dr. William Seward Webb, of New 
York. Vice-Presidents-General — The Hon. Lucius P. Deming, of Connecticut ; the 
Hon. Simon B. Buckner, of Kentucky ; the Hon. William H. Arnoux, of New York ; 
Josiah C. Pumpelly, of New Jersey, and Admiral David D. Porter, U. S. N., of 
the District of Columbia. Secretary-General — Lieut. James C. Cresap, U. S. N., 
of the District of Columbia. Registrar-General -Luther L. Tarbell, of Massa- 
chusetts. Historian-General — William Francis Cregar, of Maryland. Surgeon- 
General — William Thorndyke Parker, M.D., of Rhode Island. Chaplain-General 
— The Rt. Rev. Charles E. Cheney, Bishop of Illinois. 

Officers, 1891: President-General -Dr. William Seward Webb, of New 
York. Past-President-General — Judge Lucius P. Deming, of Connecticut. 
Honorary Vice-Presidents-General— Admiral David D. Porter, U. S. N., and Gen. 
Joseph E. Johnston, of the District of Columbia ; Hon. Edwin Shepard Barrett, 
of Massachusetts. Vice-Presidents-General— Judge Lucius P. Deming, of Con- 
necticut ; Gov. Simon B. Buckner, of Kentucky ; ex-Judge William H. Arnoux, of New 
York ; Joseph C. Pumpelly, of New Jersey ; George Brown Goode, Ph.D., of the Dis- 
trict of Columbia. Secretary-General — Lieut. James C. Cresap, U. S. N., of Mary- 
land. Treasurer-General -James Otis, of New York. Acting Treasurer-General 
—Frank Smith, of New York. Registrar-General— Luther L. Tarbell, of Massa- 
chusetts ; Historian-General— Andrew D. Melleck, Jr., of New Jersey. Surgeon- 
General— William T. Parker, M.D., of Massachusetts. Chaplain-General— Rt. 
Rev. Charles Edward Cheney, D.D., LL.D., of Illinois. 



"Those actually present. 



12 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

Officers, 1892: President-General— Gen. Horace Porter, New York. Vice- 
Presidents-General— ]or\a\\\a.n Trumbull, of Connecticut ; Gen. J. C. Breckenridge, 
U. S. A.; Hon. Henry M. Shepard, of Illinois ; Gen. Theodore S. Peck, of Ver- 
mont ; Paul Revere, of New Jersey. Honorary Vice-Presidents-General — Hon. 
Chauncey M. Depew, LL.D., of New York; Hon. Thomas F. Bayard, of Delaware; 
Gen. Bradley T. Johnson, of Maryland. Secretary-General — A. Howard Clark, 
District of Columbia. Registrar-General — Prof. George Brown Goode, District 
of Columbia. Historian-General — Henry Hall, of New York City. Surgeon- 
General — Dr. Aurelius Bovven, of Nebraska. Chaplain-General — Rt. Rev. Chas. 
E. Cheney, D.D., of Illinois. 

Officers, 1893: President-General — Gen. Horace Porter, New York. Vice- 
Presidents-General — Hon. Chauncey M. Depew, New York ; Gen. Bradley T. 
Johnson, Maryland ; Hon. John Whitehead, New Jersey; Rev. Willard Parsons, 
Ohio ; Hon. William English, Indiana. Secretary-General — Franklin Murphy, 
Newark, N. J. Historian-General — Henry Hall, New York. Registrar-General 
— A. Howard Clark, Washington, D. C. Treasurer-General — C. W. Haskins, 
New York. Chaplain-General — Bishop Charles E. Cheney, Chicago, 111. 

Officers, 1894: /'resident General — Gen. Horace Porter, LL.D., New York. 
Vice-Presidents-General — Gen. J. C. Breckenridge, U. S. A.; Col. Thomas M. 
Anderson, U. S. A.; William Ridgely Griffiths, Baltimore, Md.; Edwin S. Barrett, 
Concord, Mass.; John Whitehead, Morristown, N. J. Secretary-General — Frank- 
lin Murphy, Newark, N. J. Treasurer-General — C. W. Haskins, New York. 
Registrar-General — A. Howard Clark, Washington, D. C. Historian-General — 
Henry Hall, New York. Chaplain-General — Rt. Rev. Charles Edward Cheney, 
D.D., Chicago, 111. 

Officers, 1895: President-General — Gen. Horace Porter, LL.D. J'ice- 
Presidents-General— Gen. J. C. Breckenridge, U.S. A.; Col. Thomas M.Ander- 
son, U. S. A.; Edwin S. Barrett; John Whitehead ; Cushman K. Davis, St. Paul, 
Minn. Secretary-General — Franklin Murphy. Treasurer-General — C. W. Has- 
kins. Registrar-General — A. Howard Clark. Historian-General — Henry Hall. 
Chaplain-General — Rt. Rev. Charles Edward Cheney, D.D. 

Officers, 1896: President-General— Gen. Horace Porter, LL.D. Vice- 
Presidents-General — Col. Thomas M. Anderson, U. S. A.; Edwin S. Barrett ; 
John Whitehead ; William Ridgeley Griffiths, Baltimore, Md.; William Wirt Henry, 
Richmond, Va. Secretary-General — Franklin Murphy. Treasurer-General — 

C. W. Haskins. Registrar-General — A. Howard Clark. Historian-General — 
Henry Hall. Chaplain-General '— Rt. Rev. Charles Edward Cheney, D.D. 

Officers, 1897: President-General — Edwin S. Barrett, Concord, Mass. Vice- 
Presidents-General — Col. Thomas M. Anderson, U. S. A., Vancouver Barracks, 
Wash.; John Whitehead, Morristown, N. J.; James M. Richardson, Cleveland, O.; 
Capt. Samuel Eberly Cross, Chicago, 111.; Gen. J. C. Breckenridge, Washington, 

D. C. Acting Secretary-General — Henry Hall. Treasurer-General — C. W. 
Haskins. Registrar-General— A. Howard Clark. Historian-General— -Henry 
Hall. Chaplain-General — Rev. Charles E. Cheney, D.D. 

Gen. Horace Porter served as President-General for a portion of 1897, until 
his departure for France, and Edwin S. Barrett, of Concord, Mass., was elected 
to fill the unexpired term. 



DEMING— SLAUTER— RUSSELL. 



Hon. Lucius P. Deming, First President-General of the National 
Society, Sons of the American Revolution, was the "peacemaker" who 
sought to reconcile the differences between and unite the two societies. He 
left no stone unturned to accomplish this much-to-be-desired event. The report 
states that, "Judge Deming began a correspondence with both the Pennsylvania 
and New York Societies, and solicited the offices of both to aid him in removing 
the obstacles, whatever they might be, which stood in the way of union. In the 
most generous and admirable spirit, he offered to resign and permit the election of 
a new President of the National Society, and he assured the New York Society, 
especially, that their Society would, in the united brotherhood, by reason of its 
prestige and large membership, occupy a virtually controlling position." In his 
letter to President Tallmadge, of the S. of R., he says : " In all that has been 
done, care has been taken not to offend the New York Society. Being the largest 
society, the oldest society in the Eastern States, and counting among its members 
gentlemen of national reputation, it was, and is admitted, that New York should 
take the lead in this movement, not that New York should be recognized as the 
National Society and grant charters, but that her influence should be recognized 
as leading and directing the movement. If you could simply drop out of your 
Constitution Articles 6 and 7, your society will then stand upon a level and 
equality with all other societies. * * * * If that could be done, I should 
resign as President and a new President, possibly yourself, from your own State, 
could be elected at once." In connection with this it is noteworthy that the 
ancestor of President Tallmadge, was one of the founders of New Haven, the 
present residence of Judge Deming. 

John Deming, the Connecticut ancestor of the family, who settled in 
Wethersfield, Conn., in 1635, died there 1705, was one of the nineteen (including 
his father-in-law, Richard Treat) to whom was granted the charter of Connecticut, 
April 23, 1662. He was a representative to the General Court several times from 
1649 to 1 661. He married Honor Treat, daughter of Richard Treat, also one of 
the original settlers of Wethersfield. She was a sister of Robert Treat one of the 
founders of Newark, N. J., and afterwards Governor of Connecticut. Elizabeth, 
the sister of John Deming, was married to Gov. Thomas Welles, of Connecticut. 

John Carlton Deming, fifth in descent from the ancestor John Deming, 
probably grandson of John Deming, who settled in West Stockbridge, Mass , about 
1763, was born in West Stockbridge, Mass., Monday, August 22, 1790. He 
married, in iSu.Lucenia Woodruff, and had issue, Joint Carlton; she died in 
1S12, and in 1 8 14 he married Miranda Newell. 

John Carlton Deming (2), son of John Carlton (1) and Lucenia (Woodruff) 
Deming, was born Nov., 1812. He married Polly, daughter of Sylvanius Slauter, 
son of Ephraim, son of Gilbert Slauter. 



14 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

GILBERT SLAUTER, Patriot of the Revolution, was born at 
Oblong, Dutchess County, N. Y., about 1730. He was a private in Second 
Regiment, Westchester County, N. Y., commanded by Colonel Thomas. He was 
killed in battle, Nov. 12, 1778. He had a son Ephraim. 

EPHRAIM SLAUTER, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Gilbert, was 
born at Oblong, Dutchess County, N. Y., May 27, 1755. He enlisted at Sharon, 
Conn., Feb., 1776, for three years as Sergeant, under Capt. Theodore Woodbridge, 
in the Seventh Regiment, commanded by Col. Herman Swift. His name also 
appears as " Ephriam Sleter," in Capt. Dutcher's Company, Major Sheldon's Conn. 
Regiment Dragoons. 

John Carlton Deming, by his wife Polly Slauter, daughter of Sylvanius, son of 
Ephraim Slauter, had three sons, Hervey Jencks, Lucius Parmenius and 
George Ai. 

LUCIUS PARMENIUS DEHINQ, National Society Sons of the American 
Revolution, son of John Carlton and Polly (Slauter) Deming, was born in West 
Stockbridge, Mass., March 10, 1836. His early education was limited to the 
public schools of his native town, but he continued his studies up to the time he 
entered a professional life. At the age of fourteen he was clerk in a country 
store, and three years later was in the employ of a firm of fresco and ornamental 
painters. His failing health necessitated a voyage to sea, which he continued for 
several years, and was for seven years master of a vessel. Having recovered his 
health he began the study of law at Yale Law School, in 1875, and on graduation 
in 1877, he received the Townsend Prize for the best oration. He was admitted 
to the bar of New Haven the same year, and formed a law partnership with Hon. 
Wm. C. Case, which continued for fifteen years. He took a foremost position 
in his profession, ranking with the best lawyers in the State. Soon after he 
began practice, he was appointed Assistant Prosecuting Attorney in New Haven, 
later Assistant Judge of the City Court, Judge of the same court, and later Judge 
of the Court of Common Pleas for New Haven County, holding that position for 
six years, until the opposing political party came into power. He has been in 
public life almost from the time he began practice. In 1877 he was appointed by 
Governor Andrews, chairman of a commission to investigate complaints which 
had been made in regard to convict labor and its interference with free labor. 
As chairman of the committee, he acted in concert with a like committee from 
Massachusetts and other States. During the investigation he visited the State's 
prisons, penitentiaries and reformatories of nearly all the States, and in his report, 
recommended a law limiting contract labor in prisons, which was adopted and 
still continues in force in Connecticut and other States. 

Judge Deming led the movement in 1889, in .the State of Connecticut, which 
culminated on April 2 in the formation of the Connecticut Society, Sons of the 
American Revolution. The rapid progress and increase in numbers, leading for 
a time all the other States, was due largely to his efforts. He declined a reelection 
the following year owing to other pressing public duties. He wrote the first Consti- 
tution and By-Laws, and largely the amendments to it. He was active in the forma- 
tion of the National Society, and spent much of his time in the work of the organiza- 
tion, which increased to such an extent that he was obliged to resign the office of 
President a few months after his election. The National Society was incorporated 
in the State of Connecticut through his efforts, and the bills for incorporation, both 




HON. LUCIUS P. DEMING 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 1 5 

of this and the State Society were drafted by him. He dictated to Lieut. Cresap, 
the first Secretary-General, the first Constitution and Laws of the National 
Society and assisted in preparing the amendments to the first Constitution. He 
also prepared the design for the National Certificate of Membership, assisted by 
Mr. Tarbell. After Judge Deming resigned as President-General, he accepted the 
position of Vice-President-General, and continued in the same work he began in 
the first position. 

Judge Deming has been equally conspicuous in the fraternal societies of his 
adopted State, and also in the national councils of the same. He passed through 
the several chairs in the Lodge of Odd Fellows and was elected Grand Master of 
the Order, and served a term as representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge of 
Odd Fellows. He has been for six years Grand Warden of Connecticut, of the 
New England Order of Protection, an institution devoted to " benevolence, equity 
and charity," and is now Supreme Warden of the Order. He is also a member of 
the Masonic Fraternity, having taken all of the degrees, including Knight Templars. 

Judge Deming married Laura Eliza Russell, daughter of Calvin Russell, a 
descendant of Col. Edward Russell, who was Colonel of the Second Regiment 
Militia and received his appointment in May, 1875, and was afterwards Captain of 
the 2d Company, Fifth Battalion, Wadsworth Brigade, 1876. For his second wife 
he married Eleanor M. Parmelee, descendant in a direct line from Baron Maurice 
Parmelee, of Belgium, who settled in Holland in about 1570, whose third son was 
Johannes von Parmelee, Baron of Batavia, whose son was John Parmelee, who 
settled in Guilford, Conn., in 1639, and who died in New Haven, Conn., in 1659. 
By his first wife Judge Deming had three children : Lucius P., a physician in 
Syracuse, N. Y.; Hattie L., deceased, and Laura M., a physician in Philadelphia, 
Pa. By his second wife he has one daughter, Almira P. 



DR. WILLIAM SEWARD WEBB. 

Second. President=General National Society, Sons of 

the American Revolution. 



Richard Webb, the ancestor, was admitted a freeman of the town of 
Boston, in April, 1632. In the summer of 1635, he removed with Rev. Thomas 
Hooker, and others, to Hartford, Conn. He subsequently removed to Stratford 
thence to Stamford, where he died in 1676. He had five sons, one of whom was 
Joseph (1), and one daughter. 

Joseph Webb (i), son of Richard Webb, was born, probably, in Stamford. 
He married Hannah Scofield and had a son, Joseph (2). 

Joseph Webb (2), son of Joseph (1) and Hannah (Scofield) Webb, was 
born in Stamford, Conn. He married Feb. 23, 1698, Mary, daughter of Benjamin 
Hoyt, and had a son, Joseph (3). 

Joseph Webb (3^, son of Joseph (2) and Mary (Hoyt) Webb, was born in 
Stamford, about 1700. He married, first, Sarah Blachley, in 1726. He married, 
second, Elizabeth Starr. By his first wife he had Joseph (4). 



i6 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



Joseph Webb (4), son of Joseph (3) and Sarah (Blachley) Webb, was born 
at Stamford, Conn., Dec. 8, 1727. He removed to Wethersfield, Conn., with his 
half brothers, Ezra and Ebenezer, where he married, in 1749, Mehitable Nott, and 
had four sons : Joseph, Samuel Blachley, John (1), John (2). 

COL. SAHUEL BLACHLEY WEBB, Patriot of the Revolution, 
son of Joseph (4) and Mehitable (Nott) Webb, was born in Wethersfield, Conn ' 
Dec. 15, 1753. At the age of twenty-one, in command of a company of light 





infantry, he left Wethersfield for Boston, on the " Lexington Alarm," participated 
in the battle of Bunker Hill, where he was wounded, and was commended in 
general orders for gallantry. He was appointed aid-de-camp to General Putnam, 
and on June 21, 1776, was made private secretary and aid-de-camp to General 
Washington, with rank of Lieut.-Colonel. He wrote the order promulgating the 
Declaration of Independence, in New York City, July 9, 1776, and was associated 
with Col. Joseph Reed, a few days later, in refusing to receive a letter from Lord 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 1 7 

Howe, addressed to George Washington, Esq. He was at the battle of Long 
Island, was wounded at White Plains and Trenton, and was also engaged at 
Frinceton. He raised and equipped almost entirely at his own expense, the 
Third Conn. Regiment, of which he took command in 1777. He took part in Gen. 
Samuel Holden Parsons' unfortunate expedition to Long Island, was captured 
with his command by the British fleet Dec. 10, 1777, and remained a prisoner 
until 1780, when he was exchanged and took command of the light infantry, with 
the brevet rank of Brigadier-General. He arranged the meeting between Wash- 
ington and Rochambeau at Wethersfield, Conn., May 9, 1781, and was one of the 
founders of the Cincinnati, in 1783. When Washington took the oath of office as 
first President of the United States, Gen. Webb was selected to hold the Bible 
on which he was sworn. Washington said of him that " he was the most accom- 
plished gentleman in the army." 

His regiment, the Third Connecticut, was clothed with British uniforms, 
captured from the enemy, and was known as the " Decoy Regiment." It was to 
this regiment that Burgoyne's spy surrendered himself at Fishkill, and declared his 
mission, having swallowed the silver ball containing the dispatch from Burgoyne 
to Sir Henry Clinton, announcing his intended march southward from Ticonderoga. 
Col. Webb married, first, Eliza Bunker, daughter of Richard Bunker, of New 
York, in 1780. She died without issue. He married, second, 1790, at Claverach, 
Columbia Co., N. Y., Catharine, daughter of Judge Stephen Hogeboom, of the 
Manor of Claverach, fourth in descent from Peter Hogeboom, who came from 
Holland with Van Rensselaer, " the great Patroon." They had issue, Catharine 
Louisa, Maria, Henry Livingston, Stephen Hogeboom, Walter Wemple and 
Catharine Louise, twins, Chatharine Louise again, James Watson and Jane 
Hogeboom. 

James Watson Webb, eighth child of Col. Samuel Blachley and Catharine 
(Hogeboom) Webb, was born in Claverach, N. Y.,Feb. 8, 1802 ; died in New York 
City, June 7, 1884. He was educated at Cooperstown, N. Y.; entered the U. S. 
Army as Second Lieut, in 1819, and became First Lieut, in 1823, Assistant 
Commissary of Subsistance in 1824, and Adjutant of the Third Regiment in 1S26. 
In 1827 he resigned and became editor of the New York Courier, and in 1829 
purchased the Enquirer, and united the two under the name of the Morning 
Courier and New York Enquirer. In 1861 this was merged into the World. In 
June, 1842, he fought a duel with Thomas F. Marshall, a member of Congress from 
Kentucky, concerning whom he had published an article, and was wounded. He 
was indicted by the New York grand jury in November, " for leaving the State 
with the intention of giving or receiving a challenge." He pleaded guilty and was 
subjected to the full penalty under the law, but was pardoned after two weeks 
detention. In 1843 he became engineer-in-chief of the State of New York, with 
the rank of Major-General, and in 1849 ne was appointed Minister to Austria, but 
was rejected by the Senate. At the beginning of the Civil War, he applied for 
an appointment as Major-General of volunteers, which was refused, but he was 
offered a Brigadier-Generalship, which he declined. He refused the mission to 
Turkey in 1861, but was immediately appointed Minister to Brazil, in which office 
he secured the settlement of long standing claims against that country, and 
through his intimacy with Napoleon III., aided in procuring the withdrawal of the 
French from Mexico. He resigned the Brazillian mission in 1869, and returned to 
3 



1 8 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

New York in 1870. He published " Altowan, or Incidents of Life and Adventure 
in the Rocky Mountains," "Slavery and its Tendencies," and a pamphlet on the 
" National Currency." 

Gen. Webb married, first, Helen Lispenard Stewart, daughter of Alexander 
L. Stewart, and grand-daughter of Anthony Lispenard. The issue of this 
marriage was Robert Stewart, Lispenard Stewart, Helen Matilda, Amelia Barclay, 
Catharine Louisa, James Watson, Watson, Alexander Stewart. His first wife 
died in 1848, and on Nov. 9, 1849, he married Laura Virginia, youngest daughter 
of Jacob Cram, Esq. They had issue, William Seward, Henry Walter, George 
Creigton, Jacob Louis and Francis Edgerton. 

WILLIAn SEWARD WEBB, Second President-General National 
Society, Sons of the American Revolution, eldest son of James Watson 
and Laura Virginia (Cram) Webb, was born in New York City, Jan. 31, 1851. 
He was educated at Col. Churchill's Military Institute, Sing Sing, on the Hudson. 
After a two years course at Columbia College, he entered the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons, graduating in 1S75, after which he spent two years abroad. He 
married, Dec. 20, i88t, Lelia Osgood Vanderbilt, daughter of William H. 
Yanderbilt, and soon after became connected with the Vanderbilt railroad 
interests. He has had charge, for some years, of the Wagner Palace Car Com- 
pany, of which he became president in 1883. The construction of the Adirondack 
and St. Lawrence Railway, from Herkimer, N. Y., through the Adirondacks to the 
St. Lawrence River, is due to the efforts of Dr. Webb, and he has been president 
of the Company since 1891. He is interested as director and owner in other large 
enterprises. Dr. Webb's selection as President-General of the National Society 
of the Sons of the American Revolution, proved a fortunate one. He helped the 
society through the most trying period of its existence and contributed materially 
to its success. He has spent the larger portion of his time, for some years past, at 
his beautiful home in Vermont, and in 1891 was appointed Inspector of Rifle 
Practice on the Governor's staff. 



GENERAL HORACE PORTER. 

Third. President-General of the Sons of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, XJ. S. 



Robert Porter, the American ancestor of this branch of the Porter family, 
emigrated to this country from Londonderry, Ireland, and settled in Londonderry, 
N. H., in 1720. He afterwards bought land in Montgomery County, Pa. His 
ancestors were originally from Lancashire, England, and removed to Ireland, 
under the reign of James I. Robert, by his first wife, had issue, Andrew and 
other children. 

GENERAL ANDREW PORTER, Officer of the Revolution, son of 
Robert Porter, was born in Worcester, Montgomery Co., Pa., Sept. 24, 1743; cue d 
in Harrisburg, Nov. 16, 181 3. On June 19, 1776, he was appointed by Congress, 
Captain of marines, and was ordered to the frigate "Effingham." He was trans- 




Uv^vL 




SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



19 



ferred thence to the artillery, in which he served with distinction. He was pro- 
moted Major in 1782, and became Lieut.-Colonel and Colonel of Fourth Pennsyl- 
vania Artillery, continuing in this capacity until the close of the war. He was 
engaged in the battles of Newtown, Princeton, Brandywine and Germantown. 
During the latter engagement nearly all his company were killed or taken 
prisoners. For his gallant conduct on that occasion he was specially commended 
by Washington, and at the latter's request, was sent to Philadelphia to prepare 
material for the siege of Yorktown. At the battle of Princeton he was thanked 
on the battle-field personally by Washington. In April, 1779, he was detached 
with his company to join General Sullivan's expedition against the Indians, and 
suggested to General James Clinton the idea of damming the outlet of Otsego 




GENERAL ANDREW PORTER. 



Lake, by which means the water was raised sufficiently to convey the troops by 
boats to Tioga Point. In 1783 he retired from the army and again settled down 
to the simple life of a farmer. 

He was made Brigadier-General of Pennsylvania Militia in 1801, promoted 
Major-General, and in 1809, was appointed Surveyor-General, which position he 
held until his death. He declined the offer of Brigadier-General in the U. S. 
Army, which was tendered him during the latter years of his life, and also that of 
Secretary of War under President Monroe's administration, 1812-13. He married, 
first, Elizabeth McDowell ; afterwards Elizabeth Parker, and had issue David 
Rittenhouse, George Bryan, (who became Governor of Michigan), James 
Madison, (Secretary of War under Taylor, an eminent jurist and the founder of 
Lafayette College, Easton, Fa.), William Augustus, also a well-known jurist, son 
of David Rittenhouse. 



20 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

David Rittenhouse Porter, son of Major-General Andrew and Elizabeth 
(Parker) Porter, was born at Norristown, Pa., Oct. 31, 1788 ; died in Harrisburg, 
Pa., Aug. 6, 1867. He was educated at Norristown Academy and when his 
father was appointed Surveyor-General, became his secretary. He began the 
study of law, which he was compelled to abandon owing to failing health. He 
removed to Huntington County where he engaged in the manufacture of iron and 
was also interested in agriculture and the raising of a fine stock of cattle and 
horses, which he introduced into the country. He was elected to the State 
Legislature in 1819, was made Prothonotary in 1821, elected State Senator in 1836 
and Governor of Pennsylvania in 1838, continuing in office until 1845. He 
received a resolution of thanks from the city for his activity in suppressing the 
riots in 1844. He afterwards engaged in the manufacture of iron, and erected in 
Harrisburg the first anthracite furnace in that part of the State. He married 
Josephine McDermett, daughter of William McDermett, and had issue, William 
Augustus, Judge of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania ; Andrew and George W., 
both physicians ; Elizabeth, who married James M. Wheeler, and Horace. 

GENERAL HORACE PORTER, President-General Sons of the 
American Revolution, 1892 to April, 1897, son of Governor David Ritten- 
house and Josephine (McDermett) Porter, was born in Huntington, Pa., April 15, 
1837. After a preparatory course in his native State he entered Lawrence 
Scientific School, of Harvard, and was appointed thence a cadet at the U. S. 
Military Academy at West Point, graduating July 1, i860; served as Assistant 
Ordnance officer at Watervleet Arsenal, New York ; Second Lieutenant of 
Ordnance, April 22, 1861 ; was ordered to duty in the South at the beginning of the 
Civil War; promoted First Lieutenant of Ordnance, June 7, 1861 ; Assistant 
Ordnance officer of the Port Royal Expeditionary Corps, Oct. 5, 1861 to July 2, 
1862, being engaged at the Hilton Head Depot, Nov. 7 to Dec. 1 5, 1 861 ; in erecting 
batteries of heavy artillery on Savannah River and Tybee Island, Georgia, for the 
reduction of Fort Pulaski, Dec. 15, 1861 to April 12, 1862; as Chief of Ordnance 
and Artillery at the reduction and capture of Fort Pulaski, Georgia, April io-ii, 
1862. He was brevetted Captain April 10, 1862, for gallant and meritorious 
service at the siege of Pulaski ; in preparing heavy artillery and ordnance stores 
for James Island expedition, April 10 to June 1, 1862, and in the attack on Seces- 
sionville, S. C, June 16, 1 862 ; as Chief of Ordnance in the transfer of the Army of the 
Potomac from Harrison's Landing. Va., to Maryland, July 25, to Sep. 19, 1862; 
as Chief of Ordnance Department of Ohio, Sep. 20, 1862, to Jan. 25, 1863, and of 
the Department and Army of the Cumberland, Jan. 28 to Nov. 1, 1863 ; Captain of 
Ordnance March 5, 1863. Lieut.-Colonel, Staff Aid-de-Camp to the General-in- 
Chief ; as Aid-de-Camp to Lieut. -General Grant, April 4, 1864 to July 25, 1864. 

Brevetted Major May 6, 1864, for gallant and meritorious service at the battle 
of the Wilderness. Brevetted Colonel U. S. Volunteers, Feb. 24, 1865, for faithful 
and meritorious service. He was twice wounded during the war. Brevetted 
Colonel U.S. Army, March 13, 1865, for gallant and meritorious service during 
the war; brevetted Brigadier-General U. S. A., March 13, 1865, for gallant and meri- 
torious service in the field during the war. At the headquarters of General Grant, 
commanding the armies of the United States, April 14, 1865 ; Colonel Staff, Aid- 
de-Camp to the General-in-Chief, July 25, 1866 ; Major Ordnance, March 7, 1867 ; 
served as Aid-de-Camp to the General of the armies in Washington, and in making 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 21 

tours of inspection through the Southern States, Territories and along the Pacific 
coast till March, 1869 ; served as Secretary to President Grant, from March, 1869 
to Dec, 1872 ; resigned from the army Dec. 6, 1872, and has since been engaged in 
railroad affairs as manager and vice-president of the Pullman Palace Car Com- 
pany, and as president and director of several corporations. He was largely 
interested in the construction of the West Shore Railroad, and was its first 
president. 

To General Porter is due the credit of the erection of the Grant Monument at 
Riverside Park, New York. When he took the matter in hand, the Grant Monu- 
ment Association had been in existence some years and had only raised $150,000, 
and but little was being done to carry forward the enterprise. Grand Army men 
in various parts of the country were clamorous for the removal of the remains of 
General Grant to Washington, and efforts were made to induce Congress to take 
some action in the matter. At this juncture several of the old board of directors 
resigned and the Association was practically reorganized, and General Porter 
elected President. He at once appealed to the patriotism of the citizens of New 
York, and soon revived interest in the matter, and in less than two years the 
sum had reached half a million dollars. The work was pushed forward and on 
April 27, 1897, the anniversary of General Grant's birthday, the Grant Monument 
was unveiled to the public, with appropriate ceremonies, amidst the largest 
gathering of people ever met in New York City. 

General Porter was one of the founders of the Society of the Sons of the 
American Revolution, in 1890, and was elected President-General of the National 
Society in 1892, serving continuously until his departure for France, as U. S. Ambas- 
sador, in 1897. He has been present at all its public gatherings, and under his 
management the society has increased in influence and numbers throughout the 
United States. He delivered the oration at the unveiling of the monument in 
honor of Maryland's "Four Hundred," in Prospect Park, Aug. 27, 1895. 

President McKinley, soon after his inauguration in March, 1897, appointed 
General Porter U. S. Ambassador to France, and he took his departure from this 
country May 5, following. General Porter was Commander of the Military Order, 
Loyal Legion U. S., from 1894 to 1S97, and was Commander of George Washington 
Post, G. A. R., for the same period. He is Past Commander of the Society of the 
Army of the Potomac ; was President of Grant Monument Association from 1891 
to 1897, and was President of the Union League from 1892 to 1897. He received 
from Union College, in 1894, the degree of LL.D. General Porter married in Dec, 
1863, Miss Sophia K. McHarg, daughter of John McHarg, Esq., of Albany. They 
have two children, Clarence, a graduate at Princeton, and Elsee. 



HON. EDWIN SHEPARD BARRETT. 

Rotarth. President=General S. A. R., 1897. 



The Hon. Edwin Shepard Barrett, elected in the Spring of 1897, to succeed 
General Horace Porter, was born in Concord, Mass., where his family have been 
prominent since 1638. His emigrant ancestor, Humphrey Barrett, an Englishman 
from the County of Kent, was first of the name in Massachusetts. The surround- 



22 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

ings of Mr. Barrett tend to keep alive the spirit of patriotism which the scenes of 
76 enkindled. His home is on the very battlefield where "the shot was fired 
heard 'round the world," under the command of his great-great-grandfather, Col. 
James Barrett, who led the Americans in the historic " Concord Fight." From his 
door he can look upon the homes where dwelt his ancestors for more than two 
hundred and fifty years, a privilege granted to few Americans. The paternal 
grandmother of Mr. Barrett, who watched over him through his early boyhood, 
was one of the actual witnesses of the battle at the North Bridge, and it was her 
delight to rehearse the events of that day to her grandchildren. Her portrait is in 
Mr. Barrett's possession. 

In the old cemeteries of the town are buried nine soldiers of the American 
Revolution of the name of Barrett. Mr. Barrett is well known in his town and 
State as a patriotic and public-spirited citizen, and as a busy man of affairs. In 
private life, as trustee and manager of estates, he is very successful. While 
a temporary resident of New Hampshire during the late Civil War, he held for two 
years the executive position of State Auditor of Accounts, involving large respon- 
sibilities. He has been President of the Massachusetts Society of The Sons of the 
American Revolution since 1891. This is the largest and most progressive of all the 
societies of the S. A. R. Mr. Barrett is a member of many societies and clubs, 
notably, the Social Circle, made up from the original " Committee of Safety," in 
Concord in 1774-75, and with full records from the original date; The Society of 
Colonial Wars, The Massachusetts Historic Genealogical Society, Bunker Hill 
Monument Association and the Loyal Legion. He served his country in the 
Civil War as a volunteer staff officer in carrying orders on the battlefield at Bull 
Run in 1861. As Secretary of the Massachusetts State Board of Trade, he is in 
close touch with the business interests of the State, and is a careful and accurate 
observer of all live matters of public interest. 



MURPHY— CRANE— PIER50N— LYON, Etc. 

Line of r-^ra.nk:lin N/Etarptiy, Secretary=General N. 
tional Society, S. A. R. 



The ancestors of Franklin Murphy were not only identified with the early 
settlement of East New Jersey, but were among the principal founders of the 
State of Connecticut; they were also well represented among the patriots of 
the Revolution. These names include the Cranes, Piersons, Wheelwrights, Swains, 
Lyons and other notable families. 

Robert Murphy, the American ancestor of this branch of the family, was 
born in Ireland, March 17, 1735; died at Middle Patent, Conn., July 16, 1774. 
He came to this country in 1766 and settled at Horseneck, Fairfield County, 
Conn. He was a man of education, culture and refinement. He established a 
successful school at a place known as Middle Patent. He was an honor to his 
country and highly respected in the community where he resided. He married 
Ann Knapp, great-granddaughter of Caleb Knapp, born in Watertown, Mass., 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 23 

1637 ; moved to Stamford, Conn., 1648 ; son of Nicholas Knapp, born in Buoy, 
St. Marys, England ; emigrated to America in Winthrop's and Saltonstall's fleet, 
1630; settled in Watertown, moved to Stamford, 1648; married, first, Eleanor 

, died 1658; married, second, June 9, 1659, Unity (Buxton) Brown, widow 

of Peter Brown. By his marriage with Ann Knapp, Robert Murphy (1) had a 
son, Robert (2). 

ROBERT MURPHY (2), Patriot of the Revolution, son of Robert (1) 
and Ann (Knapp) Murphy, was born at Middle Patent, Fairfield County, Conn., 
December 6, 1759. He moved to Jersey City, N. J., previous to the Revolution, 
and was among the first to enlist at the breaking out of the war, on the call for 
three months' troops. He was a private in Colonel Theunis Day's regiment, 
Bergen County Militia ; also served as private in Captain David Marinus' company, 
Colonel Philip Van Cortlandt's battalion, General Nathaniel Heard's brigade, New 
Jersey State Troops, from June 14, 1776, to December 1, 1776, and took part in 
the battle of Long Island, August 27, 1776. He married, March 9, 1789, Hannah 
Doane, and had issue, a son, William. 

William Murphy, son of Robert and Hannah (Doane) Murphy, was born at 
Middle Patent, Fairfield County, Conn., December 6, 1795; died at Jersey City, 
N. J., August 18, 1845. He removed with his parents to Jersey City, early in life. 
He was a musician in the War of 181 2, and was stationed in New York harbor. 
He married, February, 181S, Sarah Lyon, daughter of Benjamin Lyon and Phebe 
Crane. Benjamin Lyon (3), born July 31, 1758, was the son of Benjamin (2), 
born at Lyons Farms, N. J., 1694, son of Benjamin (1), born 1673, brother of 
Joseph, who married Mary Pierson, and son of Henry Lyon, one of the Elizabeth- 
town Associates. Phebe Crane, the wife of Benjamin Lyon, was the daughter of 
Elias Crane, who was the son of Capt. Josiah Crane. He was the son of Joseph 
Crane and Abigail Lyon. Joseph Crane, born 1676, died August 4, 1726, was the 
son of Jasper Crane (2) and Joanna Swaine, daughter of Captain Samuel Swaine, 
son of William Swain, Esq., one of the founders of the Connecticut Colony, 
member of the Governor's Council, and one of the founders of Branford, Conn. 
Jasper Crane (2) was the son of Jasper Crane (1), one of the original settlers of 
the New Haven Colony; signed the first agreement June 4, 1649. at a general 
meeting of the free planters ; was a member, with Robert Treat, of the General 
Court, and many years a magistrate. He was an original settler of Branford, and 
came with the Branford colonists to Newark. He held many important positions, 
and was a member of the New Jersey Assembly. His son, Deacon Nathaniel, 
married a daughter of Governor Treat, of Connecticut. Abigail Lyon, the wife 
of Joseph Crane before mentioned, was the daughter of Joseph Lyon and Mary 
Pierson ; the latter was the daughter of Rev. Abraham Pierson, first President of 
Yale College, son of Rev. Abraham, a leading divine of New England; graduate 
of Trinity College, Cambridge, England ; came to Boston, 1640; minister of the 
church at Lynn, Mass.; moved thence to Southampton, L. I., 1640, and finally 
settled at Branford. In consequence of the troubles between the Connecticut and 
New Haven colonies, he took his church almost bodily to Newark, of which he 
was the founder. His wife, Abigail Wheelwright, was the daughter of Rev. John 
Wheelwright, and granddaughter of Rev. Thomas Storer, Vicar of Belesbury, 
Lincolnshire, etc. William Murphy, by his marriage with Sarah Lyon (fifth in 
descent from Mary Pierson), had a son, William H. 



24 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

William H. Murphy, son of William and Sarah (Lyon) Murphy, was born 
in Newark, N. J., April 15, 1821. He married Abby Elizabeth Hagar, daughter 
of John Hagar and Rachel Harrison. They had issue, Franklin. 

FRANKLIN MURPHY, Sfxretaky-General National Society, Sons 
of the American Revolution, son of William H. and Abby Elizabeth 
(Hagar) Murphy, was born in Jersey City, N. J., January 3, 1846. He came with 
his parents to Newark at an early age, and has since been identified with and 
materially contributed to the growth and prosperity of his adopted city. He 
attended the Newark Academy until he was sixteen years of age, and immediately 
after the breaking out of the Civil War he left school and enlisted as private in 
Company A, 13th N. J. Vols. He served in the army of the Potomac, participa- 
ting in the battles of Antietam, Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, and afterwards in 
the Western army under Sherman on the Atlanta campaign and "the march to 
the sea." He was mustered out at the close of the war as First Lieutenant, 
having received his several promotions for gallant and meritorious service in the 
war. Hs enlisted as a boy and came out of the war a man and a patriot. 
He engaged in the manufacture of varnish not long after, and through his 
energy and business sagacity he has built a large and successful trade, with 
branches and manufactories at several important trade centres of the country, all 
under his personal supervision as President of the Murphy Varnish Company. 
He has thus added not only to the wealth of his adopted city, but to that of others, 
besides giving employment to a large number of operatives. 

Mr. Murphy's labors and splendid work done in the building up of the 
National Society and New Jersey State Society is too well known to require an 
extended notice. Few men in his position, with the immense business interests 
and responsibilities, could have been induced to undertake the arduous labors and 
give the requisite time demanded by his position as Secretary-General of the 
S. A. R., and as Vice-President of the State organization. He is one of the 
most popular officers in the National and State organizations. Mr. Murphy is a 
leader in the Republican party of his State and is at present chairman of the 
Republican State Committee. He is a member of the Military Order of the Loyal 
Legion U. S., of the Union League Club of New York, the Down Town Club, the 
Union League Club of Chicago, of the Essex Club and Essex County Country 
Club, located at Orange. He married Janet Caldwell, daughter of Israel Caldwell 
and Catharine Gale Hoagland, and has three children. 



HASKINS— EMERSON. 

Line of Charles Waldo Haskins, Treasurer-General 
National Society, 3. A. R 



New York State is honored in having three representatives in the Board of 
Officers of the National Society, all members of the Empire State Society. Of this 
number, Charles Waldo Haskins, the Treasurer-General, is worthy of a place 
among the distinguished men who compose the Board, not only because of his 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



25 



personal qualifications, but because of his long line of eminent ancestors. These 
include the well-known families of Haskins, Emerson, Waite, Upham, and others. 

Robert Haskins, the first of this name who settled in New England, came 
to Boston in the early part of the last century. There is a tradition that he came 
from Virginia, and another, that he came from England with a brother, who went 
to Virginia, while he, Robert, remained in Boston. Robert married, in 1728, 
Sarah, daughter of Philip Cook, of Cambridge. They had a son John. 

JOHN HASKINS, Soldier of the Revolution, son of Robert and 
Sarah (Cook) Haskins, was born in Boston, Mass., March 12, 1729. At the age 
of eighteen he embarked in a letter-of-marque vessel that was bound for the 




JOHN HASKINS. 

West Indies, and commissioned to act against French and Spanish. He was 
taken prisoner by the Spaniards and afterward by the French. Before the Revolu- 
tion he was much interested in military affairs. He was commissioned Captain of 
the old Boston Regiment, Feb. 20, 1722, the "Alarm List" (Lexington Alarm) 
being still preserved. He was one of the Sons of Liberty, and a list of them, 
dining at the "Liberty Tree," Dorchester, shows him the companion of John 
Adams, Samuel Adams, Josiah Quincey, Edward Case and Joseph Warren. He 
was prominent as a business man, and distinguished by unusual strength and 
uprightness of character. He was known as " Honest John Haskins," whose 
word was as good as his bond. He married Hannah, daughter of Phineas Upham 
and Hannah Waite, who was the daughter of Joseph Waite and Lydia Sargent, 



26 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

daughter of John Sargent and Lydia Chipman. The latter was the daughter of 
John Chipman and Hope Howland, daughter of John How land and Elizabeth 
Tilley, who came in the Mayflower. John Howland was thirteenth on the list of 
those who signed the compact. He was the Governor's Assistant of Plymouth 
Colony, 1634; was an assistant of the Governor to raise soldiers in 1637; 
he was a member of a military company of Plymouth, 1643, and was in service 
against the Indians by order of the General Court. He represented the town of 
Plymouth at the General Court of Plymouth Colony, 1646-58, 1663, 1666-7 and l6 7o. 

Phineas Upham, the father of Hannah (Upham) Haskins, was the grandson 
of Lieutenant Phineas Upham, of the 4th Company, Massachusetts Regiment, as 
organized for the Narragansett Company, and as mustered at Pellesquamscott 
(Tower Hill), R. I. At the "Swamp Fight," Dec. 19, 1675, Capt. Isaac Johnson, 
commanding the company, was killed and Lieut. Upham died from wounds 
received in the fight. 

Through her mother, Hannah Waite, Hannah (Upham) Haskins was de- 
scended from Capt. John Waite, one of the early settlers of Maiden, Mass , when 
the Colony allowed /4.18s, "for his writing one booke and for finding paper for 
both bookes." This was the MS. of the celebrated Massachusetts Laws, per- 
fected by Joseph Hills, his father-in-law. He was Captain of the Train Band ; 
Selectman, and represented his town in the House of Deputies for eighteen years, 
and in 1684 was chosen Speaker of the House of Deputies. Hannah Upham was 
also descended from Rose Dunster, sister of Rev. Henry Dunster, the first 
President of Harvard College. The issue of the marriage of John Haskins and 
Hannah Upham, was a son, Robert. 

Robert Haskins, son of John and Hannah (Upham) Haskins, was born in 
Boston, July 2, 1773. He was a prominent and successful merchant. He 
married Rebecca, daughter of Rev. William Emerson, of Concord. 

REV. WILLIAM EMERSON, the Patriot Minister of the Revolu- 
tion, was the builder of the Old Manse, celebrated by Hawthorne. He was 
living there when the British troops came up on the 19th of April, 1775, and 
wrote an account of the skirmish at the bridge. He and his brother, Rev. Joseph 
Emerson, of Peppered, had been active patriots before the war. He preached to 
the minute men, exhorting them to ready obedience, to discipline, and assuring 
them that their resistance to invasion of their constitutional rights was true 
loyalty to " the principles which had advanced the House of Hanover to its 
unrivalled lustre." In August, 1776, he left Concord to join the army at 
Ticonderoga, as Chaplain, and died a few months later of camp fever. He was 
born in Maiden, Mass., in 1743 ; graduated at Harvard. His wife was Phebe Bliss, 
daughter of Rev. Daniel Bliss, his predecessor in the Concord pulpit. In addition 
to his daughter Rebecca, who married Robert Haskins, he had a son, Rev. 
William Emerson, who married Ruth Haskins (sister of Robert), who was the 
father of the eminent Ralph Waldo Emerson. Rev. William, the patriot, was 
the son of Rev. Joseph Emerson. He graduated at Harvard 1 717, "the greatest 
student in the country." He prayed that none of his descendants might be rich. 
He married Mary, daughter of Rev. Samuel Moody. Joseph was the son of 
Edward Emerson, who married Rebecca, daughter of Cornelius Waldo. Edward 
was the son of Rev. Joseph Emerson, of Ipswich, 1638, who preached there two or 
three years, and also at Wells, and became the first minister at Mendon, continu- 




C. W. HASKINS 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 2"J 

ing until the destruction of the town in Philip's War. He then removed to 
Concord. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. Edward Bulkley, son of 
Thomas, son of Peter Bulkley, born 1583, an eminent, non-conformist divine, 
rector of Odell, Bedfordshire, England, who came to America in 1635, and was 
one of the founders of Concord, Mass. Robert Haskins, by his marriage with 
Rebecca Emerson, daughter of Rev. William Emerson (aunt of Ralph Waldo), 
had a son, Thomas. 

Thomas Waldo Haskins, son of Robert and Rebecca (Emerson) Haskins, 
was born in Boston, in 1801. He was a leading merchant and had the largest hard- 
ware establishment in Boston. He married Mary Soren, daughter of John Soren 
and Sarah Johnston. She was the daughter of John Johnston, son of Thomas Johns- 
ton born probably about 1700; died 1765 ; buried in King's Chapel burying-ground, 
Tremont Street, Boston. It is said that he constructed the first organ of American 
manufacture used in Boston. This organ was broken up many years since by 
Messrs. Hook, and two of the pipes are now in possession of his descendants. 
He also built the old North Church organ, since removed, excepting the case, 
which still remains intact. His son, John Johnston, referred to above, was born 
about 1750. He was a sign and escutcheon painter, and did good artistic work. 
A portrait of Governor Sumner, which hangs in the State House, was done by him. 
He died in Dedham, in 18 16. His son John served his time as a printer, but did not 
follow the trade. He became one of the firm of Holyoke & Soren, West India 
merchants. By his marriage with Mary Soren, Thomas Waldo Haskins had a son, 
Waldo Emerson. 

Waldo Emerson Haskins, son of Thomas and Mary (Soren) Haskins, was 
born in Roxbury, Mass., March 3, 1827. He received a thorough academic 
education, and came to New York in 1851, where he engaged in the banking 
business with his uncle, George Soren. He married Amelia Rowan Cammeyer, 
daughter of Alfred Cammeyer. They had issue, Charles Waldo and Emma 
Parsons. 

CHARLES WALDO HASKINS, Treasurer-General of the Na- 
tional Society, 1892-7, Secretary of the Empire State Society, 1893-4, son of 
Waldo Emerson and Amelia Rowan (Cammeyer) Haskins, was born in Brooklyn, 
N. Y., January 11, 1852. He was graduated at the Polytechnic Institute of his 
native city and entered upon his business career in the accounting department of 
the old and well-known importing house of F. Butterfield & Co. After an 
experience of five years in this firm, he spent two years in foreign travel and on 
his return became connected with the brokerage firm of W. E. Haskins. Subse- 
quently he was employed for three years, in the important work of keeping the 
accounts for the construction of the New York, West Shore and Buffalo Railway 
Company, by the North River Construction Company, and was also at the same 
time auditor of disbursements of the Railway Company. 

Mr. Haskins then commenced the regular practice of public accountant in the 
capacity of an expert. He was for several years the Secretary of the Manhattan 
Trust Co., of New York, and organized the system of accounts for that concern. 
After severing his connection with this company, he resumed his former occupa- 
tion as expert accountant, in which he had acquired a great reputation and had 
engaged in many intricate and important cases. His employment by the Govern- 
ment on important work at Washington gave him a national reputation as an 



28 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

expert, his associate being his present partner, Mr. E. W. Sells. They were 
selected by the Congressional Commission to effect a complete revision of the 
accounting system of the U. S. Government, with a view of expediting and simpli- 
fying the public business, and accomplished this enormous and important task in 
such a successful, thorough-going and enlightened manner, that their report was 
adopted. The new methods they suggested were put into immediate operation, 
and their work officially praised and attested by all of the accounting offices of the 
Government departments, after the radical innovations in pre-existing methods, 
adopted upon their suggestion, had been in practical operation for a sufficiently long 
period to render a judicial judgment upon them possible. This work was the most 
important of its kind done since the foundation of the Government, and has 
resulted in saving the Government more than $600,000, annually, as well as in greatly 
expediting and facilitating public business. The success and importance of their 
work is attested by the following certificate issued by the Congressional 
Commission : 

" Office of the Joint Commission of Congress to 
Inquire into the Status of Laws Organiz- 
ing the Executive Departments. 

Washington, D. C, March 2, 1895. 

"Messrs. C. W. Haskins and E. W. Sells, 
"Experts under the Joint Commission, etc.: 

" Gentlemen : — In concluding the work of this Commission, it affords me 
special pleasure to express to you, appreciation of the valuable services you have 
rendered. To your rare business capacity and peculiar adaptation to analyzing 
old and formulating plans for new methods, in great measure, is due the credit for 
the reorganization of the accounting system of the United States Government. It 
was, in many respects, the most extensive and important undertaking of the kind 
in the history of the country, and its success, in expediting and simplifying the 
public business without removing any of the necessary safeguards, has been fully 
demonstrated and attested by all of the officials affected thereby. 

" Very respectfully, 
(Signed) "ALEX. M. DOCKERY, 

" Chairman Joint Commission." 

When the law was passed by the New York Legislature, establishing the pro- 
fession of Certified Public Accountants and empowering the Regents of the 
University of the State of New York, to issue to accountants, properly qualified, a 
certificate authorizing them to practice as Certified Public Accountants, Mr. 
Haskins was appointed by the Regents as one of the Board of the three Examiners 
to pass upon the qualifications of applicants, and at the first meeting of the Board, 
was chosen its President. He is also President of the New York State Society 
of Certified Public Accountants. Mr. Haskins is Comptroller of the Central of 
Georgia Railway Company and of the Ocean Steamship Company. He is also 
Comptroller of the Chesapeake & Western Railroad Company, Secretary of the 
Old Dominion Construction Company, Receiver of the Augusta Mining & 
Investment Company (a large iron property in Georgia, Alabama and Virginia), 
and Trustee of one or two estates. 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 29 

He inherits the strong characteristics of his distinguished Revolutionary 
ancestor, "Honest John Haskins." That he is worthy and well qualified for the 
high position he has filled in the annals of the National Society, Sons of the 
American Revolution, goes without saying. Intensely patriotic and earnest in the 
work, he has done much to advance the interests of the Society, and to bring it to 
its present high standing throughout the country. Mr. Haskins is a man of high 
social standing and well known throughout the business community. He is a mem- 
ber of the Society of Mayflower Descendants, Society of Colonial Wars, Manhattan 
Club, Riding Club, Westchester Country Club, Metropolitan Club, of Washington, 
D. C, and Piedmont Club, of Atlanta, Ga. Mr. Haskins married, September 12, 
1884, Henrietta, daughter of Albert Havemeyer, brother of New York's most 
popular Mayor, William F. Havemeyer. The issue of this marriage is two 
children, Ruth and Noeline. 



HENRY HALL. 

Historian-General National Society, S. A. R. 

No one individual connected with the National or State Society of the S. A. R., 
has done more to build up and extend its influence than Mr. Henry Hall. If the 
time and energy expended in this work were to be measured by the standard of 
dollars and cents, the Society would be indebted to him for a large amount, but it 
has been with him a labor of love. He believed in its final success from the 
beginning, and has left no stone unturned to accomplish the wonderful results 
that have been reached. Unselfish and untiring in his efforts, he has received the 
only reward he ever sought, viz.: the successful establishment of the S. A. R. on a 
firm foundation and the union of the two societies. The gathering of the material 
for, and the publication of the history of the National and State organizations are 
due to his efforts alone, and for this work his compatriots owe him a lasting debt 
of gratitude. His paper, "How to Obtain Proof of the Service of an Ancestor," 
read first at the National Congress, S. A. R., and subsequently published in 
pamphlet form, has been of marked service to the Societies. 

Mr. Hall was born in Auburn, N. Y., December 6, 1845, his father being 
a lawyer and public-spirited man, for four years Chief Justice of Colorado, 
and an intimate friend of William H. Seward. Son of Benjamin Franklin Hall 
and Abigail Farnam Hagaman, grandson of Asbury Hall and Nancy Foster, 
great-grandson of Zalmon Hall and Elizabeth Botsford, great-grandson of 
William Hall and Sarah Peck, great-grandson of Joshua Hall and Sarah Burgess, 
great-grandson of Isaac Hall (2) and Jane Burgess, great-grandson of Isaac 
Hall (1) and Lydia Knapp, and great-grandson of Francis Hall, who came from 
England in 1639 and settled in New Haven, Conn. 

LIEUT. WILLIAM HALL, Soldier of the Revolution, of Stratford 
and New Fairfield, Conn., was born November 4, 1741 ; fought in the battle of 
Danbury, 1777, and commanded a company of twenty-four men of the Sea Coast 
Guard, stationed for four years at New Fields, now Bridgeport, Conn., patroling 
the coast from New Field to Fairfield. Gen. Seilick Silliman was in charge of the 



30 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

troops on the sea coast and superintended their movements. There is reason to 
believe that his father, Joshua Hall, was also in the battle of Danbury. 

Mr. Hall is also a grandson of John I. Hagaman and Sarah Frye, great- 
grandson of Abiel Frye and Abigail Farnam, great-grandson of Eliab Farnam 
and Abigail Killum, great-grandson of Ralf Farnum, third great-grandson of 
Ralph (2), and great-grandson of Ralph (1). 

ELIAB FARNAM, Soldier of the Revolution, was born in Windham, 
Conn., July 24, 1731. In October, 1775, he was commissioned Captain in the 
Twenty-fourth (Westmoreland) Regiment of Connecticut militia. His daughter, 
Abigail, who married Abiel Frye, was previously the wife of Eliazer Owen (1), 
who was killed in the massacre of Minisink, July 22, 1779. 

Also great-grandson of Dan Foster and Miriam Wilson, great-grandson of 

William Foster and Hannah Durkee, great-grandson of Jacob Foster and 

Sheffield, great-grandson of Reginald Foster, who came to America from England 
in 1638. 

WILLIAM FOSTER, Soldier of the Revolution, was born in 1734; 
lived in Canterbury, Conn., and died May 16, 1825. He was an office holder under 
the crown, but on the Lexington alarm he joined the first company of volunteers 
from Canterbury, being sergeant in Capt. Aaron Cleveland's company; fought at 
the battle of Bennington, where he and a son were wounded ; was subsequently 
appointed recruiting officer for the State during the war. At the beginning of the 
war he was a man of wealth and pledged his resources to provide for the families 
of recruits, and was thus impoverished. He received, in return for his advances, 
Continental currency worth only two and one-half cents on the dollar. 

HENRY HALL, a worthy descendant of these Revolutionary patriots, 
received a good academic education and was employed in various business 
capacities for the first few years of his lift'. His journalistic career began in 
Auburn, as city reporter for the Morning News, and was continued as city editor 
and editorial writer on the Auburn Advertiser. After a few years' service he 
became, in 1873, one of the editors of the Norwich Bulletin, of Norwich, Conn. 
His contributions to the New York papers, at this time, brought him into favor- 
able notice, and in 1875 he accepted an offer from Whitelaw Reid to join the 
editorial staff of the New York Tribune. He became its business manager in 
1882, and has since continued his connection in the same position. 

Mr. Hall is a devoted Republican and protectionist, a warm admirer of the 
ability, purity and high standards of his chief, Mr. Reid, and always the happiest 
when he has promoted, in some manner, the interests of the Tribune. He is a 
clear and intelligent writer, and during the editorial part of his career, not only 
wrote copiously on industrial topics for the Tribune, but contributed many articles 
to daily papers in Boston and Chicago, and was for many years the New York cor- 
respondent of the London Times. In one letter to that paper he made light of the 
fears of the English people as to the fund, which it was alleged, was being raised 
in America to pay for dynamite explosions in London. The Times printed a 
furious editorial in reply to, and comment upon, this letter, and followed it with an 
investigation for proof as to what was being done in Paris to sustain the 
dynamiters, followed later by the attacks upon Mr. Parnell, which led to certain 
famous suits in court against the Times. 

Mr. Hall is a member of the Union League, Republican and New York 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 31 

Athletic Clubs, and of the patriotic societies known as Sons of the American 
Revolution, Sons of the Revolution and Patriots and Founders. He is an intense 
believer in his native land and its institutions. He married, in 1887, in Bath, Me., 
S. Virginia Houghton, the daughter of Levi W. Houghton of that city, one of the 
firm of Houghton Bros., famous the world over as one of the old shipping families 
of Maine. 



CLARK— HALL— CARNE5. 



The ancestry of Alonzo Howard Clark, Registrar-General National Society, 
S. A. R., embraces some of the leading families of the Colonial period, notably, 
Thomas Clarke, of the Plymouth Colony, who served in the Pequot War in 1637 ; 
Governor Thomas Prene, of Plymouth Colony, Governor John Haynes, of Con- 
necticut Colony, Capt. John Gorham, who lost his life in King Philip's War, 
Elder William Brewster, of the Mayflower, John Howland, John Tillie, Stephen 
Hopkins, etc. The following is a list of his Revolutionary ancestors : Son of 
Thatcher Clark, Jr. and Abby (Carnes) Clark ; Grandson of Thatcher Clark, Sr. 
and Lydia (flail) Clark ; Great-grandson of Enoch Clark and Lydia (Mayo) Clark; 
Great-grandson of Enoch Hall and Keziah (Sears) Hall; Grandson of John 
Carnes and Abigail (Lillie) Carnes ; Great-grandson of Thomas Jenner Carnes 
and Jemima (Johnson) Carnes ; Great-great-grandson of Edward Carnes and 
Joanna (Jenner) Carnes. 

Enoch Clark, (1754-1816), of Brewster, Massachusetts, Seaman; taken 
prisoner on privateer " Viper," exchanged at Newport, February 1 1, 1777. 

Enoch Hall, (1759-1S33, of Barnstable County, Massachusetts; Private, 
Captain Micah Hamlin's Company, 1776; Captain Abijah Bangs' Company, 1777; 
Captain Elisha Hedge's Company, 1777 ; Captain Joseph Griffith's Company, 1778; 
Captain Elijah Hedge's Company, 1779; Massachusetts Militia; Pensioned. 

Thomas Jenner Carnes, (1753-1S02), of Boston, Cadet, Thomas Wait 
Foster's Company, Colonel Richard Gridley's Regiment, Massachusetts Artillery, 
May-December, 1775 ; at Bunker Hill and Siege of Boston; Second Lieutenant, 
Knox's Regiment, Continental Artillery, December, 1775, to December, 1776; 
taken prisoner at Fort Washington, November 16, 1776, exchanged, February 27, 
1777; Captain-Lieutenant, January 1,1777, to March 8, 1779, Captain Thomas 
Clark's Independent Company, Knox's Artillery; at Valley Forge; Captain of 
Marines, 1779 to 17S1 ; served on ship " General Putnam " on Penobscot Expedi- 
tion, 1779. 

Edward Carnes, ( 1 730-1782), of Boston, member of "Sons of Liberty"; 
Major of Boston Regiment of Militia in Siege of Boston, 1776; Head of Ward 
Six under appointment of Committee of Safety of Massachusetts. 

Alonzo Howard Clark, Registrar-General National Society, Sons 
of the American Revolution, son of Thatcher Clark. Jr., and Abby (Carnes) 
Clark, was born in Boston, Mass., April 13, 1S50. He was educated at the 
schools of his native city and at Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn. ; was 
for some years engaged in business, but since 1879, has been connected with the 
U. S. National Museum, at the Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C, and is 



32 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

at present custodian of the historical collections of the Museum and editor of the 
publications of the Smithsonian Institution ; also Assistant Secretary of the 
American Historical Association, having charge of its publications. In 1883 he 
was on the executive staff of the U. S. Commission at the International Fisheries 
Exhibition at London, and in 1889 was appointed by the President one of the 
Expert Commissioners of the United States, at the Paris Exposition. He is a 
member of the Mayflower Descendants, also of the Society of the War of 181 2, by 
virtue of service of his grandfather Capt. John Carnes, of Boston, who was chief 
officer of the privateer York, and was captured in 1 814, suffered hardships of 
prison life in England. Mr. Clark married in 1881, Alice Morrow, daughter of 
Capt. Charles and Mary (Perry) Morrow, of Gloucester, Mass. Mrs. Clark was 
one of the earliest members and first Registrar-General, and late Secretary- 
General of the Daughters of the American Revolution, and is now Honorary 
Vice-President. Her ancestors rendered military service during the Colonial and 
Revolutionary period, and she is related, in her line of descent, to John and 
Priscilla Alden, of the Mayflower, Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry, and others 
equally well known in American history. Their son, Chester Morrow Clark, is a 
member of the Children of the American Revolution, and after fifteen months 
residence abroad, he came home fully impressed with the belief that America is 
the best country in the world. 



EMPIRE STATE SOCIETY 

SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



For a long period New York State was not represented in the National 
Society, S. A. R. Correspondence was in progress between the S. A. R. and 
S. R. with reference to a general union of all the different State societies into 
one national brotherhood ; and in a spirit of fraternal courtesy, while the negotia- 
tions were pending, the National Society, S. A. R., made no effort to establish 
itself, by means of a local society, S. A. R., in New York State. But the negotia- 
tions having failed completely, there arose the anomalous situation of the National 
society, S. A. R., organized at a convention in New York City, having its official 
headquarters in New York City, and yet not represented by any local society of its 
own in either New York City or State. Certain inconveniences followed from 
these facts. 

In February, 1890, the proposition was made to organize in New York State. 
G. Creighton Webb was invited by the National Society, S. A. R., to take all 
proper steps in the matter. Within three days Mr. Webb secured the following 
signatures to an application for permission to organize a New York Society of the 
Sons of the American Revolution: The Hon. William H. Arnoux. the Hon. 
Chauncey M. Depew, Gen. Alexander S. Webb, John C. Calhoun, James Otis, 
Le Grand B. Cannon, G. S. Bowdoin, J. McDowell Leavitt, Charles A. Dana, Hart 
Lyman, Egerton L. Winthrop, Jr., Lewis H. Livingston, G. Creighton Webb, 
William L. Bull, William Henry Lee, Col. Ethan Allen, John Wallace Riddle, the 
Hon. Grover Cleveland, Lewis Cass Ledyard, Edmund L. Baylies, Edmund C. 
Stanton, James W. McLane, Edward Hagaman Hall, Girard Beekman, George H. 
Bend, Allan McLane Hamilton, Julian H. Kean, the Hon. William C Whitney, 
J. Coleman Drayton, Stuyvesant Fish, J. William Beekman and Nicholas Fish. 

February 10, 1890, a meeting of the signers was held at the office of President- 
General Webb, in New York City, and by resolution the society was organized 
and the following officers elected : President — The Hon. Chauncey M. Depew ; 
Vice-President — the Hon. William H. Arnoux; Secretary and Temporary Regis- 
trar — Edmund C. Stanton; Treasurer— William H. Lee; Board of Managers — 
Stuyvesant Fish, John C. Calhoun, William H. Lee, Charles A. Dana, James Otis. 
A. McLane Hamilton, Gen. Alexander S. Webb, William L. Bull, Hart Lyman, 
George S. Bowdoin, E. C. Stanton, Col. Ethan Allen and J. Coleman Drayton. 
The following were appointed upon admissions : J. Coleman Drayton, Gen. 
Alexander S. Webb and Col. Ethan Allen. 

On taking the preliminary steps fur the organization of the New York State 
Society, it was discovered that a few individuals had filed an application at Albany 



34 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

some time previous for an organization, under the name of the " New York State 
Society Sons of the American Revolution," thus preventing the use of the nann 
by this society. It therefore became necessary to incorporate under the present 
name, "The Empire State Society." 

" About seventy-five applications for membership were received during the 
summer of 1890. These applications were filed, but in view of the fact that the 
S. A. R. had again invited the S. R. to a conference on the subject of union, the 
Committee on Admissions took no action on the applications, postponing the 
whole matter until it could be ascertained whether a conference would be held or 
not. As has been already stated, the efforts to unite the two societies were 
not successful. 

"The following named persons were soon after added to the membership of 
the society: Elliott F. Shepard, Capt. Luther S. Ames, U.S.A., E. R. Leavitt, 
F. McD. Leavitt, Thomas W. Moore, Benjamin L. Bree, Lieut. Maury Nichols, 
U. S. A., Thomas H. Howard, William Hamilton Henry, Francis E. Webb, 
Judge Roger A. Pryor, Charles Waldo Haskins, George W. Vanderbilt, Gen. 
Horace Porter, Hon. Robert B. Roosevelt, Clarence Lyman Collins and other 
well known men. 

" Under the leadership of such men, and of those who have constituted the 
successive boards of management, the society has advanced with giant strides. 
The annual banquet at Delmonico's is one of the greatest patriotic events of the 
year. Its memorable dedication of the Dobbs Ferry monument, its almost 
monthly celebration of Revolutionary events, its presentation of portraits of 
Washington to the public schools, its cultivation of a greater public respect for 
the flag, its influence on legislation for the preservation of historic sites and 
objects, its great unheralded work of collecting and preserving the records of the 
founders of the Republic and, above all, its incalculable value as a conservator 
of American principles, are too well known to need rehearsing in details." 

Article II. of the Constitution states that 'This society shall be a part of the 
National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution. It recognizes all State 
Societies of the Sons of the American Revolution as co-equal, and their members 
as their compatriots, entitled to receive from this society such information, assist- 
ance and fraternal consideration as may best promote the objects of the society " 

The objects of the society, conditions of membership, etc., are in conformity 
with those already given under the National Society. 

The officers and managers of the society for 1890-91 were: President — 
Chauncey Mitchell Depew ; Secretary and Registrar — Edmund C. Stanton; 
Treasurer — William Henry Lee ; Managers — Chauncey M. Depew, John Cald- 
well Calhoun, William Henry Lee, Charles Anderson Dana, James Otis, Ethan 
Allen, Alexander Stewart Webb, William Lanman Bull, Hart Lyman, George 
Sullivan Bowdoin, Edmund C. Stanton, James Coleman Drayton. 

The officers for 1891-2 were: President — Chauncey Mitchell Depew; Secre- 
tary— George Creighton Webb ; Treasurer — Edmund C. Stanton ; Managers — 
Chauncey Mitchell Depew, Charles Anderson Dana, Ethan Allen, Roger Atkinson 
Pryor, James Coleman Drayton, John Caldwell Calhoun, Edmund C. Stanton, 
Alexander Stewart Webb, George Sullivan Bowdoin, George Creighton Webb, 
William Henry Lee, James Otis, Charles Beatty Alexander. 

For 1892-3: President— Chauncey Mitchell Depew; Vice-President — John 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 35 

Caldwell Calhoun; Secretary — George Creighton Webb ; Treasurer and Regis- 
trar— Edward Hagaman Hall ; Managers — Chauncey Mitchell Depew, Charles 
Anderson Dana, John Caldwell Calhoun, James Otis, George Sullivan Bowdoin, 
Hart Lyman, George Creighton Webb, John Sergeant Wise, Charles Waldo Has- 
kins, Walter S. Logan, George W. Vanderbilt, Edward Hagaman Hall, William 
Lanman Bull. 

For 1893-4: President — Chauncey Mitchell Depew; Vice-President — Robert 
Barnwell Roosevelt ; Secretary— Charles Waldo Haskins ; Treasurer — Ira Bliss 
Stewart; Registrar and Historian — Edward Hagaman Hall; Chaplain — The 
Rev. Samuel H. Virgin, D.D.; Managers— Chauncey Mitchell Depew, Robert 
Barnwell Roosevelt, Charles Waldo Haskins, Ira Bliss Stewart, Edward Hagaman 
Hall, Rev. Samuel H. Virgin, D.D., John C. Calhoun, James Otis, George Creigh- 
ton Webb, Walter S. Logan, Henry Hall, Andrew J. C. Foy6, John Winfield Scott, 
William P. Wadsworth, Edward James Chaffee, Walter Jesse Sears, U. S. N. 

For 1894-5: President — Chauncey M. Depew; Vice-President— Robert B. 
Roosevelt; Secretary— John Winfield Scott; Treasurer— Ira Bliss Stewart; 
Registrar— Edward Hagaman Hall; Historian — Henry Hall; Managers— John 
C. Calhoun, Walter S. Logan, Andrew J. C. Foye, William P. Wadsworth, Lieut. 
Walter J. Sears, U. S. N., Edward J. Chaffee, Ferdinand P. Earle, Hart Lyman, 
Hugh R. Garden, Gen. Thomas Wilson, U.S. A., Hon. E. G. Spaulding, President 
of Buffalo Chapter, ex-officio. 

For 1895-6: All the officers of previous year reelected. Managers—John 
C. Calhoun, Walter S. Logan, Andrew J. C. Foye, Edward J. Chaffee, Ferdinand 1". 
Earle, Hart Lyman, Hugh R. Garden, Gen. Thomas Wilson, U.S. A., Col. Freder- 
ick D. Grant, William W. J. Warner, Ebenezer K. Wright, Stephen M. Wright, 
Hon. E. G. Spaulding, and Joseph W. Cutler, ex-officio. 

For 1896-7: President — Chauncey M. Depew; Vice-President — Robert B. 
Roosevelt; Secretary — Stephen M. Wright; Treasurer — Ira Bliss Stewart, re- 
signed; Richard T. Davies elected in place ; Registrar — Edward Hagaman Hall, 
resigned ; Teunis D. Huntting elected in place ; Historian — Henry Hall ; Chap- 
/ain—Rev. Abbott E. Kittredge, D.D.; Managers— John C. Calhoun, Walter S. 
Logan, Ferdinand P. Earle, Andrew J. C. Foye, Gen. Thomas Wilson, U. S. A., 
William W. J. Warner, Gen. Horatio C. King, J. Lawrence McKeever, Richard 
H. Clark, Hon. E. G. Spaulding, Pres't Buffalo Chapter, James W. Cutler, Pres't 
Rochester Chapter, David McN. K. Stauffer, Pres't Yonkers Chapter, Hon. Edward 
Comstock, Rome Chapter, Hon. M. H. Northrup, Syracuse Chapter. 

In the autumn of 1896 an effort was made to extend the influence of the 
society, by awakening an interest among the descendants of the distinguished 
Frenchmen and other foreigners whose generous aid contributed so largely 
toward securing our independence. It was therefore resolved to offer a tribute to 
France by a suitable observance of the 119th anniversary of the Treaty of 
Alliance between France and the United States. Col. John C. Calhoun, a promin- 
ent officer of the Empire State Society, who was then traveling abroad, was 
requested to act as Special Commissioner to France on behalf of the Society and 
to communicate with the President and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the French 
Republic, with respect to the celebration of the anniversary to be held on the sixth 
of February, 1897, and also to extend an invitation to the descendants of Lafayette, 
Rochambeau, de Grasse and others to attend the public banquet to be held on that 



36 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

occasion. Col. Calhoun not only communicated with these and other distinguished 
foreigners, but held a reception at his hotel in Paris where he met a number of 
those who had responded to his invitation, all of whom signified their hearty 
appreciation of the honor and gladly consented to cooperate with the society in 
this most laudable enterprise. The fifth annual banquet of the society was held at 
Delmonico's, in New York City, February 6, 1897, and there were present on this 
occasion a large number of members of the S. A. R. and prominent men from all 
parts of the country. Mr. Henry Hall, the Historian-General of the National 
Society read the several communications from the distinguished foreigners who 
had been invited to participate in the affair. Speeches were made by well-known 
men, and the affair proved to be one of the most successful ever attempted by the 
society. On the return of Col. Calhoun to this country he was presented by the 
society with a beautiful set of engrossed resolutions, in recognition of his services 
in the matter 



DEPEW-SHERHAN OGDEN. 

CHAUNCEY niTCHELL DEPEW, President Empire State Soci- 
ety, S. A. R., son of Isaac Depew and Martha Mitchell, grandson of 
Chauncey Root Mitchell and Ann Johnston, great grandson of Rev. Justus 
Mitchell and Martha Sherman, great-great-grandson of Rev. Josiah Sherman. 

Rev. Josiah Sherman, of the Revolution, was a brother of Hon. 
Roger Sherman, signer of the Declaration of Independence, and the son of 
William, son of Joseph, son of John (2), son of John (1), who came to New 
England in 1634. Rev. Josiah Sherman was born in Woodbury, Conn., in 1734, 
and died Nov. 24, 1789. He was a graduate of Princeton College, in 1754, and 
received the honorary degree of A.M. at Harvard in 1758, and at Yale in 1765. 
He was an able writer and powerful orator, and labored with his brother, Roger 
Sherman, with voice and pen for the establishment of American Independence. 
His efforts, however, were not confined within the secure limits of his pulpit, but 
he served in the field as Chaplain of the Seventh Regiment, Connecticut Line, 
Continental Army. 

Mr. Depew is a grandson of Robert Johnston and May Ogden, and great 
grandson of Gabriel Ogden, of New Jersey. 

GABRIEL OGDEN, Soldier of the Revolution, served as private in 
Captain James Bennet's Company, 1st Regiment of Sussex County Militia, 
throughout the war. He was a descendant of John Ogden, who was at Stamford, 
1 64 1, and agreed with Gov. Kieft, of New Amsterdam, to build a stone church ; 
in 1644 was at Hempstead; in 1656 at Southampton; named in Connecticut 
Charter 1662 ; one of the Elizabethtown (N. J.) purchasers, 1644; represented in 
the Assembly 1668. 

Mr. Depew was one of the twenty-five founders of the Society of the Sons of 
the American Revolution in 1S90. His election as President of the Empire State 
Society, was spontaneous and unanimous, ard he has been a tower of strength to 
the society since its organization. In none of the numerous relations which Mr. 
Depew sustains with the world at large, does he more thoroughly reveal his 
genuine whole-souled, generous, sagacious and patriotic nature than in the Sons of 



SONS OF THE AMERTCAN REVOLUTION. 37 

the American Revolution. Some of the finest orations ever delivered by Mr. 
Depew have been at the public gatherings of the society, and its constant and 
rapid growth is due largely to the public interest he has awakened in its objects. 
His enthusiastic and ardent nature indicate the French Huguenot blood which 
flows in his veins, while his sturdy patriotism and broad democratic ideas are the 
inheritance from his New England ancestors, the Shermans. 

Mr. Depew was born at Peekskill, N. Y., April 23, 1834, in the old homestead 
which has been in the possession of the Depew family for over two hundred years. 

Mr. Depew was graduated from Yale in 1856. He read law with Hon. 
William Nelson, of Peekskill, and was admitted to the bar in 1858. He entered 
actively into politics and the same year was elected a delegate to the Republican 
State Convention. He continued the practice of law, but entered with great zeal 
and enthusiasm into the presidential campaign of i860, which resulted in the 
election of Abraham Lincoln. Mr. Depew, in 1861, was elected to the assembly 
from the third district of Westchester County, and reelected the following year, 
and served as chairman of the committee on ways and means. In 1863, he ran on 
the republican ticket for Secretary of State and was elected by a majority of 
30,000. He declined a renomination in 1865, and removed to New York City, 
where he received the appointment of tax commissioner. He was appointed 
Minister to Japan by Secretary of State William H. Seward, but resigned the 
position soon after and accepted from Commodore Vanderbilt the appointment of 
attorney for the New York and Harlem Railroad Company. In 1869 occurred 
the important consolidation of the New York Central and the New York and 
Harlem Railroad Companies, when Mr. Depew was appointed attorney of the new- 
organization, which was called the New York Central and Hudson River Railroad 
Co. In 1875 he was appointed general counsel of the entire Vanderbilt system 
and elected a director of each company composing it, which included the Lake 
Shore and Michigan Southern, Michigan Central, Chicago and Northwestern, St. 
Paul & Omaha, West Shore and Nickel Plate. 

In 1872 Mr. Depew received the nomination for Lieutenant-Governor of the 
State by the Liberal Republicans, who had nominated Horace Greeley for Presi- 
dent. In 1874 Mr. Depew was made Regent of the State LJniversity and a 
member of the commission appointed to superintend the erection of the Capitol, 
at Albany. During the factional struggle in the republican party in 1881, which 
led to the resignation of Senators Conkling and Piatt as U. S. Senators, represent- 
ing the State of New York, Mr. Depew was nominated to succeed Mr. Piatt. On 
the third ballot he led by two, and on the twenty-fourth he lacked only ten votes 
of election. The struggle lasted for eighty-two days, when Mr. Depew retired 
from the contest. In 1884, with a two-thirds republican majority in the Legis- 
lature, he was offered the United States Senatorship, but declined. In 1888 he 
received the solid vote of the delegation of New York State for the presidency in 
the National Republican Convention. Diverting his strength to Benjamin Harri- 
son, the latter was nominated. In the National Convention of 1892 he was one 
of the leaders who secured Harrison's renomination, as opposed to Mr. Blaine. 
Mr. Depew declined the appointment as Secretary of State to succeed Mr. Blaine, 
tendered him by President Harrison. 

From the time Mr. Depew first entered public life he has continued to grow 
in favor and popularity with the American people. A man of ready wit, unlimited 



3 8 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

resources and having few rivals as a public orator, his services have been in 
constant demand, and no public banquet or other festival is complete without 
his presence. 

Honors have literally been "thrust upon him." He has been a trustee of 
Yale College for more than a quarter of a century, and in 1887 received the 
degree of LL.D. from that institution. He is President of the St. Nicholas 
Society ; was for seven years President of the Union League Club ; for ten years 
President of the Yale Alumni of New York City, and is a member of the Holland 
Society of New York and the Huguenot Society of America. 



ROBERT BARNWELL ROOSEVELT, First Vice-President, Empire 
State Society, S. A. R., was born in New York City, August 7, 1829, son of 
Cornelius W. Roosevelt and Margaret Barnhill. He is a prominent banker and 
well known in business circles. He is one of the oldest members of the Empire 
State Society, S. A. R., and has been active in the management of its affairs for 
many years. He is a descendant of one of the oldest and best known families of 
New York City. 

Martensen Van Roosevelt, the immigrant ancestor of the family, was born in 
Holland and came with his wife, Jannetje Samuels-Thomas, to America in August, 
1649, and settled in New Amsterdam, now New York. The " Van " was dropped 
from the name the next generation. They had issue, Nicholas. 

Nicholas Roosevelt, of Esopus, son of Martensen, was born in New York, 
September, 1658. He married, December 9, 1682, Hyllotje Jans, and had issue, 
Johannes. 

Johannes Roosevelt, son of Nicholas and Hyllotje (Jans) Roosevelt, was 
born at Esopus, N.Y., February 27, 1689. He married. 1708, Hilotje Syverts, and 
had issue, Jacobus. 

Jacobus Roosevelt, son of Johannes and Hilotje (Syverts) Roosevelt, was 
born in New York, Aug. 13, 1724; married, 1746, Annetje Bogart, and had 
Jacobus (2), known as James I. 

JAMES I. ROOSEVELT, Patriot of the Revolution, was born in 
New York City, October 25, 1759; died August 13, 1840. He served throughout 
the War of the Revolution as commissary without reward. " Getting supplies" for 
the Continental army had been about as hard a task as leading it to victory, and 
so impressed was the phrase on his mind that to the day of his death, when going 
to market— and it was the practice in those days for every burgher to do his 
marketing personally, accompanied by a colored boy, usually a slave, with a 
basket on his arm to carry home the purchases— Mr. Roosevelt always said he 
was " going for supplies." He married Mary Van Schaick, and had a son, 
Corneliics V. S. 

Cornelius V. S. Roosevelt, son of James I. and Mary (Van Schaick) Roose- 
velt, was born in New York City, January 30, 1794; died July 17, 1871. He 
married Margaret Barnhill, of Philadelphia, and had issue, Robert Barnwell. 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 39 

LOGAN-HOLLISTER. 

WALTER S. LOGAN, Second Vice-President, Empire State Soci- 
ety, S. A. R., was born in Washington, Conn., April 15, 1847 ; son of Seth S. 
Logan and Abigail Hollister, daughter of Sherman Hollister, son of Sherman 
Preston Hollister, son of Gideon, son of Stephen, son of John (2), son of John (i). 

The Hollisters are descended from Clan McAlister, of the Highlands. The 
Logan and Hollister families came from England to Massachusetts about 
and were among the original settlers of Wethersfield. 

On February 17, 1685, " a patent for all the territory then in Wethersfield 
was granted by the Governor (Robert Treat, of Conn.) and company to Capt. 
Samuel Wolcott, Capt. John Chester, Lieut. James Treat, Mr. Samuel Wolcott, 
Mr. John Deming, Sr., Mr. Robert Welles, Mr. John Robins, Mr. John Hollister, 
and Richard Smith and the rest of the present proprietors of the township of 
Wethersfield," and their heirs. 

Lieut. John Hollister (2), son of John (1), was an "efficient man in Con- 
necticut." He was representative at the General Court in 1645 an d often until 
1656. He was Lieutenant of the Train Band. He died April, 1665. He married 
Joanna, daughter of Hon. Richard Treat, one of the patentees of the colony of 
Connecticut, his name appearing in the charter. He was the father of Gov. 
Robert Treat, of Connecticut. Lieut. John Hollister, by his wife, Joanna Treat, 
had a son, Stephen. 

Lieut. Stephen Hollister, son of Lieut. John and Joanna (Treat) Hollister, 
was born in Wethersfield. He was Lieutenant of dragoons and " in all probability 
was present at the great Fort Fight, December 19, 1675, with the Narragansetts, 
at South Kingston, R. I." In June, 1697, he was sent with fifty men under Capt. 

Whiting, to Massachusetts, where he remained until October. He married 

and had a son, Gideon. 

Gideon Hollister, son of Lieut. Stephen Hollister, was born in Wethersfield, 
about 1698. He was drowned in the Pequannock River, May 10, 1725. He 
married Rebecca (born January 18, 1700), daughter of Benjamin Sherman. He 
was the son of Mr. Samuel Sherman, who came to America with his father when 
about fourteen years of age, and remained at Watertown, Mass., several years. 
He removed to Wethersfield, Conn., about 1636. In the following May he was 
one of the committee who, before the general court was organized, declared 
war against the Pequot Indians, he being then but nineteen years of age. He 
removed to Stratford before 1656, where he died in 1700, as shown by his tomb- 
stone : "A P L-V-1700, Mr-S-Sherman, 80 ys." He was an assistant of the 
General Court, 1662-3-4-5. and was appointed one of the committee of six to 
watch and guard the coast, as a war committee, if the Dutch fleet should make 
its appearance as expected, from Stratford to Rye. It is probable, for his services 
in the General Court, that he received from that body, October 1664, 250 acres of 
land located in Stratford. He was the son of John and Judith (Augier) Sherman. 
Gideon Hollister, by his wife, Rebecca Sherman, had issue, Sarah, born 1723, and 
Gideon (2), born September 22, 1725. 

GIDEON HOLLISTER, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Gideon (1) 
and Rebecca (Sherman) Hollister, was born Sept. 22, 1725. He served in the 
War of the Revolution as private in Capt. Daniel Sloper's company, of Col. 



40 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

Elisha Sheldon's regiment of Light Dragoons, and accompanied Washington 
in his retreat through New Jersey after the evacuation of Fort Lee, on the 

Hudson. He married and had issue, Sherman Preston Hollister, whose 

son, Sherman Hollister, married Polly Nettleton. They were the parents of 
Abigail Hollister, who married Seth S. Logan, the father of Walter S. Logan. 

Seth S. Logan, the father of Walter S., was a native of Washington, which 
forms a part of the old town of Woodbury, Conn. He was conspicuous in local 
politics and almost continuously for forty years he was a member of one or the 
other branches of the Connecticut Legislature or a State officer. By his marriage 
to Abigail Hollister, daughter of Sherman Hollister and Polly Nettleton, he had 
Walter S. 

Walter S. Logan was graduated from Yale College in 1870 and from Harvard 
Law School in 1871. While attending the latter he accepted a position in the 
office of James C. Carter, who at the time was engaged with Charles O'Connor in 
the famous Jumel case. The practical knowledge acquired by Mr. Logan in 
preparing the details of this case was of great benefit to him in his early profes- 
sional career. He was admitted to the bar of New York in 1872, and has since 
been engaged in many important cases which, under his skillful management, 
have had a successful issue. 

Although one of the busiest men in his profession, Mr. Logan has found time 
to devote to literary work. He is the author of "The Siege of Cuantla," 'An 
Argument for an Eight-hour Law," " Nationalism," " Peonage in Mexico," " A 
Mexican Law Suit," and "Needed Modifications of the Patent Laws." He has 
been active in the great reform movements of New York for many years past. 
He was chairman of the executive committee of the Ballot Reform Association of 
New York State in 1887-8-9. A part of the work of this committee was the 
procuring of 50,000 signatures to the monster petition filed in the State Library. 
He is Vice-President of the New York State Bar Association. His efforts to build 
up and extend the influence of the S. A. R. from the date of its organization, are 
familiar to all his compatriots, and no man in the society is held in higher esteem. 



RALPH EARL PRIHE, Third Vice-President, Empire State Soci- 
ety, S. A. R., was born in Mattewan, N. Y., March 29, 1840; son of Alanson 
Jermain Prime and Ruth Havens Higbie, grandson of Nathaniel Scudder Prime 
and Julia Ann Jermain, great-grandson of Benjamin Youngs Prime and Mary 
Wheelwright Greaton, and great-great-grandson of Ebenezer Prime and Experi- 
ence Youngs. 

Ebenezer Prime was born at Milford, Conn., July 21, 1700, and lived in 
Huntington, L. I., where he died Sept. 25, 1779, after having preached the gospel 
for sixty years. In his seventy-seventh year, British troops, out of hatred for his 
public advocacy of American independence, drove him from his home and des- 
troyed his library ; and after he was dead Col. Thompson (Lord Rumford) pitched 
his tent in the Huntington graveyard, so that, as he said, he might "tread upon 
the dead rebels " whenever he went in and out of his tent. 

Benjamin Youngs Prime was born at Huntington, L. I., December 20, 1733; 
lived in New York City from 1764 to 1773, until driven therefrom, and then 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



4< 



returned to Huntington, where he died October 31, 1791. He was a writer in 
The American Whig, and a public speaker against British tyranny, and the 
author of many patriotic poems and songs. 

Also grandson of Benjamin Higbie and Mary Ann Earl, great-grandson of 
Ralph Earl and Sarah Gates, great-great-grandson of Ralph Earl and Phebe 
Whittemore. 

Ralph Earl, Sr., was born in Leicester, Mass., Nov. 13, 1726, and died there 
about 1800. He declined a captain's commission in the British army in 1776, and 
accepted a like commission in the First Regiment, Worcester County Militia, April 
5, 1776. He was also captain in Lieut.-Col. Nathaniel Wade's Worcester regi- 
ment stationed at North Kingston, December 17, 1777, and in Col. Danforth 
Keye's regiment at Providence, December 29, 1777. 



WRIGHT— MOTT. 

Stephen Mott Wright, Secretary Empire State Society, S. A. R., 

and one of the mosi earnest and enthusiastic members of the Society, is a des- 
cendant of two well-known families whose names are prominently mentioned in 
connection with the early colonial history of New York and Long Island. 

Nicholas Wright, the American ancestor of this branch of the Wright family, 
from which Stephen M. Wright is descended, is believed to be a direct descendant 
of the first Nicholas, who married Anne, daughter and co-heir of Edmund 
Beaupre, of Beaupre Hall. The father of this Nicholas was John Wright, who 
died seised of the manors of Tendalls and Rowses, in East Laxham, Norfolk, 
England, 32 Henry VIII, leaving two sons — Edmund, his heir, and the above- 
named Nicholas. The last named Nicholas, the emigrant, came with his wife to 
this country and settled in Saugus (now Lynn, Mass.), Plymouth Colony, in the 
latter part of 1636. They shortly afterward removed to the newly formed town- 
ship of Sandwich, Cape Cod, Massachusetts Colony, in the settlement of which 
Nicholas became an active leader, acquiring lands and holding offices of military 
and civil trust while following his avocation as surveyor. In 1653 he and his two 
brothers, Peter and Anthony, joined the company led by Rev. William Leverich, 
came to Long Island and united with others in the purchase of land from the 
Indians of the territory, including the site of the present village of Oyster Bay. 
Nicholas continued to reside there until his death, in 1682. 

The three brothers were all at an early period active and zealous members of 
the Society of Friends, and for many years Anthony's house at Oyster Bay was 
the place for both worship and business. On the " fifteenth of the eighth month, 
1672," Anthony conveyed a portion of his land for a " burial place and a meeting 
house." The ,: meeting house " was erected on the ground and paid for in " wheat, 
pease, Indian corn and porke." Nicholas acquired prominence and influence in 
the town, holding many public offices, and was a large landholder. He was 

elected Town Schepen (magistrate) in 1673. He married, in 1630, Ann , and 

had issue a son, Edmund. 

Edmund Wright, son of Nicholas, was born in 1640. He married Sarah 
Wright, his cousin. He died in 1703. He had a son, Edmund (2). 



4 2 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



Edmund Wright (2), son of Edmund (1) and Sarah Wright, was born in 
1670, probably at Oyster Bay, L. I., and died in 1735. He married, in 1695, Sarah 
Townsend, and had a son, Thomas. 

DR. THOMAS WRIGHT, son of Edmund (2) and Sarah (Townsend) Wright, 
was born at Oyster Bay, in 17 19, and about 1755 he moved to the town of East 
Chester, in Westchester County, N. Y. He became the most prominent physician 
and surgeon in Westchester County. He was an active participant in public 
affairs and an extensive property owner. He was the owner, in 1759, of the Tide 
Mill (run by the ebb and flow of the tide), the remains of which are still standing. 
He was Trustee of the Public Buildings of the town in 1760, and in 1765 he was 
made Senior Warden of St. Paul's Episcopal Church and was instrumental in the 
erection of the church building, which is still standing. He was evidently of an 
adventurous spirit in his younger clays, for during King George's War, which 
lasted from 1744 to 1748, he was surgeon on board the privateer "Grey- 
hound," fitted out from New York by Richard Jeffrey. An old engraving, still in 
possession of the family, a copy of which is also in the possession of the New 
York Historical Societv contains the following inscription : 




NAVAL SCENE. 



" A Draught of an Engagement between Guardaloupe and Grandterre, on 
the 12 th Nov, 1746, between y e Brig Greyhound, of New York, Richard Jeffery, 
Com r of 14 Guns and 92 Men, and y e La Fleury, a French ship of 22 Guns and 
84 Men, and a French Privateer Sloop of 14 Guns and 130 Men, Wherein 
Cap" Jeffery & Company Behaved very Gallantly and after an Engagement of 5 
hours oblidg'd the Privateer to Sheer off and took y e Shin." 

Dr. Wright, although advanced in years at the beginning of the struggle for 
independence, was an ardent patriot and an active participant in the events con- 
nected with the Revolution. While there is no evidence that he was regularly 
commissioned, yet he acted as surgeon and physician to the Continental Army in 
and about Westchester County, until his capture by the British and incarceration 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 43 

in the Provost jail, where he died from inhuman treatment and his body was 
thrown into the trenches in the rear of the present City Hall, which became 
known as the "Grave of the Martyrs." Dr. Wright's first wife was Elizabeth 
Cooper, died January 12, 1755. He married, second, Elizabeth, daughter of 

Johannes and Anna (Bajeux) Groesbeck, and relict of Rochelle. By the 

latter he had a son, Stephen. 

[One of Dr. Wright's sons, Dr. John G. Wright, served as Surgeon's Mate, 
in the General Hospital service, from 1777 to the close of the war.] 

Stephen Wright, son of Dr. Thomas and Elizabeth (Groesbeck) Wright, 
was born in 1770. He carried on an extensive business in New York City as a 
shipwright, being a partner of Charles Browne. Among other vessels constructed 
by this firm was Fulton's steamboat "Clermont," in 1807, the first to ascend the 
Hudson. In the War of 1812-15, Mr. Wright assisted in the construction of the 
earthworks at Fort Greene, Brooklyn. He died November 24, 1S34. He was 
twice married ; his second wife was Martha Dodge, to whom he was married 
January i, 1804. By her he had a son, Daniel D. 

Daniel Dodge Wright, son of Stephen and Martha (Dodge) Wright, was born 
in New York City, January 12. 1809, on the corner of Suffolk and Hester streets. 
He was for a time in the employ of his father, but having no taste for mechanical 
occupations he subsequently engaged in the hardware trade and became one of 
the most successful hardware merchants in the city. He was a man of strong 
character, of unimpeachable integrity, just and honest in all his dealings, courteous 
and affable in his intercourse with his fellowmen, yet firm and decided in his con- 
victions. From 1844 to i860 he was connected with the Veteran Corps of Artil- 
lery, and his commission and sword are treasured heirlooms by his son, Stephen. 
The latter part of his life was devoted to charitable and benevolent works. 
His death, caused by an accident, occurred April 29, 1892, in New York 
City. He married, April 14, 1840, Mary Mott, daughter of Stephen Mott, of 
Jericho, L. I. They had issue, Stephen Mott and Joseph Henry ; the latter died 
in early childhood. 

STEPHEN MOTT WRIGHT, eldest son of Daniel D. and Mary (Mott) 
Wright, was born in Jericho, L. I., August 16, 1841. He was educated at the 
public schools of New York City. He began his business career in his father's 
employ in 1856, from whom he received a thorough training, ami by the time he 
reached his majority he was fully equipped for the line he had chosen. In 1865 
he succeeded his father in the business, which he carried on until 1887 when he 
retired from active business life. Since then, being favored with a sufficient 
competence, he has devoted his time and his energies to the promotion of various 
public and benevolent enterprises. He has been especially identified with the 
material progress of the building industry of New York City. He has been for 
twelve years Secretary of the General Society of Mechanics and Tradesmen, which 
has been noted for over a century for educational and beneficent work. He has 
served the Building Trades Club as Secretary and Treasurer almost from its 
organization, in recognition of which he was presented, in 1894, with a bronze 
group, executed by Gaudez, of Paris, and upon his retirement, in February, 1S97, 
was presented with the following address, elegantly engrossed : 

" To Stephen M. Wright. Your fellow members in the Building Trades 
Club, of New York City, desire to testify in this enduring form to the great regret 



44 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

they feel in your withdrawal, at your own request, from the office of Secretary 
and Treasurer, which you have so adequately filled almost from its very inception 

" Despite all the pressing claims upon your time in connection with the varied 
duties you are called upon to perform for so many other bodies, it would seem that 
no more perfect record could be made than that achieved by you in the fulfillment 
of the requirements as an official of this Club. 

" We deeply appreciate the services rendered ; have the highest regard for 
your personal worth, and trust this record will ever remind you of the respect and 
esteem in which you are held by your fellow members." 

He is an active and influential member of the Mechanics' and Traders' 
Exchange, of which he was Secretary for a number of years. He was for 
several years the New York representative in the Board of Directors of the 
National Association of Builders. He is Secretary and Treasurer of Webb's 
Academy and Home for Shipbuilders, an institution in which he takes the deepest 
interest, influenced, no doubt, by the fact that his grandfather was a leading ship- 
wright in New York and a friend of the elder Webb. 

During the Washington Centennial celebration in New York, in 1889, Mr. 
Wright was Secretary of the civic and industrial division, and in recognition of 
his distinguished services in connection with that affair, he was presented with a 
bronze medal. In making the presentation, Gen. Butterfield, the Grand Marshall 
of the parade said : 

" Throughout all the detail work connected with these duties, Mr. Stephen M. 
Wright has, without any recompense, been indefatigable, and by authorization of 
the conference of the civic, commercial and industrial bodies of this city, I am to 
present him with this token of the high appreciation, not only held by myself 
personally, but also by all who have been connected with the affair, for his most 
valuable, skillful and efficient aid. * * * Right well you have earned and 
deserved it. May it ever serve, not only as a memorial to you and others of your 
faithful services in behalf of this grand celebration, but serve also as a reminder 
of my undying friendship and respect." 

When, in 1891, the builders of New York entertained the convention of the 
National Association of Builders, Mr. Wright was made Secretary of the Com- 
mittee of One Hundred on Arrangements, and had entire charge of all the details 
incident to the entertainment of nearly one thousand persons for a whole week. 
To prepare for the various details of this affair required nearly a year of his time. 

Mr. Wright has been for many years one of the " bright and shining lights " 
in Freemasonry, guiding weary travelers in their pilgrimage and imparting to them 
a more perfect knowledge of the beautiful symbols of the Order. He is senior 
Past Master of Prince of Orange Lodge, No. 16, F. & A. M., of New York. He 
has made a study of Capitular Masonry and was advanced and exalted in Phenix 
Chapter, No. 2, R. A. M.; greeted as a Royal and select Master in Pentalpha 
Council, No. 36. In the Chivalric Order he was created and dubbed a Knight 
Templar in Palestine Commandery, No. 18. In the Cerneau Body of the 
Scottish rite he has advanced to the 33d degree. He was Senior Grand»Deacon of 
the Grand Lodge of New York, 1881-2, and was the representative of the Grand 
Lodge of Kansas near the Grand Lodge of New York, from 1878 to 1885. He 
is a member of the Masonic Veterans of New York City. 

The patriotism and military ardor of his ancestors has been manifested in 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 45 

Mr. Wright to a marked degree from early life to the present time. He spent 
nearly ten years of active service in the National Guard. He enlisted in 
Battery G, First Regiment, N. G. S. N. Y., October 25, 1864; promoted Orderly- 
Sergeant, February 15, 1865; commissioned Second Lieutenant, August 28, 1866; 
commissioned Regimental Adjutant, May 27, 1868, by Gov. Fenton, and on this 
occasion he was presented by his associates in Battery G, with a beautiful gold 
mounted sword which hangs in his private office on Fourth Avenue, among other 
interesting relics. Upon the disbandment of the regimental organization, in 
December, 1869, Lieut. Wright was rendered supernumerary, and on February 5, 
1870, was assigned by Governor Hoffman to the position of First Lieutenant of 
Separate Battery G, Light Artillery, and continued until honorably discharged 
January 4, 1872, the commander expressing "sincere thanks for the faithful 
manner in which he performed his duty in the Battery," Lieut. Wright was in 
command of the battery during the "Orange Riot," July 12, 1871, and was 
complimented in general orders by Gen. Shaler on the efficient manner of his 
handling this important arm of the service on that day. 

The Empire State Society of the Sons of the American Revolution was 
especially fortunate in securing the services of Mr. Wright as Secretary of that 
organization, to which position he was elected in 1896 and reelected in 1897. He 
is one of the most enthusiastic and energetic members of the Society and his time, 
as well as the use of his private office on Fourth Avenue, is almost wholly devoted 
to the furtherance of its objects without any compensation whatever. Few men 
among those who are able, possess the self-sacrificing spirit to devote time and 
money to a work of this character. To Mr. Wright, however, it is a work of love, 
and in rendering service to his compatriots he experiences the happiness implied 
in the proverb, " It is more blessed to give than to receive." Mr. Wright is pos- 
sessed of rare executive ability and this added to his extensive business experience, 
renders him preeminently the man for the place. It may be truly said of him 
that he is sans fteur et sans reproche. 

He became a member of the Order of the Founders and Patriots of America, in 
the very early days of its existence, and is a member of the Council of the New 
York State Society, while his patriotic instincts made him an active and efficient 
member of the Patria Club, as well as the Patriotic League, of this city. 

On his maternal side, as his name indicates, he comes of a line of Long Island 
Quaker ancestry — the Motts — from whom he inherits the liberality of views and 
practice so marked a trait in his character, and the sterling integrity so frequently 
observed, as well as that love of peaceful and quiet home life which Mr. Wright 
so much enjoys when not engaged in some labor for the benefit of his fellow-men. 
James Mott, his great-grandfather, besides being an extensive farmer at West- 
bury, L. I., was also a weaver and early invented a loom for the weaving of carpets 
with set figures pattern. Mr. Wright married, May 10, 1S66, Kate A. Metzgar, 
daughter of Christian Metzgar, of renown as a practical shipbuilder, having been 
the superintendent for William H. Webb throughout his business career. 



46 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

EDWARD HAGAHAN HALL, Late Registrar, Empire State Soci- 
ety, S. A. R., was born in Auburn, N. Y., November 3, 1858. His father, 
Benjamin Franklin Hall, was a distinguished lawyer and public-spirited citizen, 
and held many offices of public trust, local and national, including those of Mayor 
of the city of Auburn, and Chief Justice of the Territory of Colorado under 
President Lincoln. 

Mr. Hall inherits several strains of early colonial and patriotic blood. His 
lineal ancestor, Asbury Hall, of the second antecedent generation, served in the 
War of 1812; Lieut. William Hall, of the fourth generation, in the Revolutionary 
War; Capt. Joshua Hall, of the fifth, in the French and Indian War, and Francis 
Hall, of the eighth, settled in Connecticut in 1639. Through his father's mother, 
Nancy Foster, he traces back through Dan Foster, of the third antecedent genera- 
tion, who served in the War of 181 2 ; Serg. William Foster, of the fourth genera- 
tion, who served in the Revolution, back to Reginald Foster, who came to 
America in 1638. Through his mother, Abigail Farnam Hagaman, he descends 
from John Hagaman, of the fourth antecedent generation, who served in the 
Revolution ; through his mother's mother, Sarah Frye, from Ensign Abiel Frye 
(third generation) and Capt. Abiel Frye (fourth), of the French and Indian 
War, Lieut. John Frye (fifth), Ensign Samuel Frye (sixth) to John Frye (seventh), 
one of the founders of Andover, Mass.; and through his great-grandmother, 
Abigail Farnam, wife of Eleazar Owen, who was massacred at Minisink, to Capt. 
Eliab Farnam (fourth), of the Revolution, and so on back to Ralf Farnam 
another pioneer settler of Andover. 

Mr. Hall received an academic education with the expectation of entering 
Yale College, and graduated with the classical honor— salutatory oration — from 
the Auburn Academy, in the class of '77. Immediately thereafter, however, he 
entered professional life as a regular member of the editorial staff of the 
Norwich, Conn., Morning Bulletin, on which he served in various capacities until 
the close of the campaign of 1888, during three years occupying the chair of 
editor-in-chief. After a few months' residence in Waterbury, Conn., he was 
tendered the position of managing editor of one of the oldest and largest Repub- 
lican dailies of New England, but was persuaded to enter the printing and 
publishing business in New York City, in 1889. He is now Secretary of the New 
York Printing Co. (the Republic Press), publishers, with offices in the Tribune 
Building. He has always possessed marked literary and historical tastes, and has 
been a frequent correspondent and contributor to the daily and periodical press. 
He is also the author or editor of many brochures and books, chiefly of a historical 
character. In politics he inherits the old time Whig and Republican principles of 
his father, and in religion is a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church, having 
for eight years been vestryman of old Christ Church Parish, of Norwich, in which 
he was an active worker. 

Mr. Hall has been a prominent worker in the Sons of the American Revolution 
and The Order of Founders and Patriots of America, and was one of the prime 
movers in the erection of the Dobbs Ferry Monument, the great international 
banquet of the S. A. R., in 1896, commemorating the Franco- American Alliance 
of 1778, and similar undertakings. He has been one of the most indefatigable 
members of the Empire State Society, S. A. R., since its organization, and in the 
various offices of Secretary, Treasurer, Registrar, Historian and Manager, has 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 47 

enjoyed the confidence and respect of his fellow-officers and members. He is 
also a member of the American Institute of Civics, the Noctes Ambrosiana;, of 
New York, the League of American Wheelmen and various other organizations. 

In 1893 Mr. Hall married Irene Gilbert Gazzam, daughter of Gen. Audley 
William Gazzam, and great-great-great-granddaughter of Baron Antoine de Beelen 
de Bertholf, first Austrian Ambassador to the United States. On the birth of 
their daughter, Edwina Gazzam Hall, September 27, 1894, the Board of Managers 
of the Empire State Society of the S. A. R. presented her with a handsome sterling 
silver loving cup, beautifully engraved in high relief, " as a token of esteem for her 
father, Edward Hagaman Hall." 

[For further data of Hall and allied families, see Henry Hall, National Soci- 
ety, S. A. R., preceding. J 



IRA BLISS STEWART, LATE TREASURER, EMPIRE STATE SOCIETY, 
S. A. R., is a descendant of one of the old Massachusetts families of this name. 
His Revolutionary ancestor was Paul Stewart. 

Paul Stewart, Patriot of the Revolution, was born in Braintree (or New 
Braintree), Mass., in 1765, and lived there and in South Brimfield, Mass., where 
he died in 1852. In March, 1781, when but sixteen years of age, he enlisted as a 
private in Capt. Sewall's company, so called, under the command successively of 
Lieut. Whitney and Capt. Smith, in the Second Massachusetts Regiment (Col. 
Sprout's) in Gen. Patterson's brigade. His command participated in the invest- 
ment of New York, in 1781, in the center of the left wing of the army; after 
which he went south with the army under Washington, and was present at the 
surrender ot Cornwallis at Yorktown. His command retired to West Point, where 
he was discharged in December, 1783. 

Ira Bliss Stewart, late Treasurer Empire State Society, S. A. R., was born in 
Batavia, N. Y., October 28, 1855, son of Reuben Nelson Stewart and Harriet 
Dewey, grandson of Ira Stewart and Sally Rogers, and great-grandson of Paul 
Stewart and Oliver Munger. Ira Bliss Stewart was elected a member of the 
Board of Managers, 1893-4, and Treasurer in 1894, serving continuously until and 
during a portion of 1897. 



TEUNIS DiriON HUNTTINQ, Registrar, Em imreStatkS.kietv.S.A.R., 
1897-8, is of strictly English descent, although the name is similar in construction 
to those of the Hollanders who settled Long Island. 

John Huntting, the immigrant ancestor, was born in Hoxne, County Suffolk, 
England, 1597, son of William and Margaret Huntting; came to this country and 
settled in Dedham, Mass., in 1638; died there, 1689. He was the first ruling 
elder of the church in that town and prominent in civil affairs. He married 
Hester Seaborn, of England, supposed to have been a second cousin of John 
Rogers, the martyr. They had a son John (2). 

John Huntting (2), son of John (1) and Hester (Seaborn) Huntting, was born 
in England 1628 ; came with his parents to Dedham, Mass., where he died in 17 18. 
He married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas and Rebecca Paine, who came to this 
country in 1637 on the "Mary Ann." They had a son, Nathanitl (1). 



48 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

Rev. Nathaniel Huntting, son of John (2) and Elizabeth (Paine) Huntting. 
was born in Dedham, Mass., 1675 ; graduated at Harvard, 1693; removed to East 
Hampton, L. I., where he died, 1753. He married Mary, daughter of John and 
Ruth Green, of Boston, Mass. Nathaniel Huntting (1) was the second minister 
of the church at East Hampton, where he preached from 1696 to 1746. John 
Green, born in Cambridge, Mass., 1636, was the son of Percival and Ellen Green, 
of England, who came to New England on the ship " Susan and Ellen," in 1635. 
John Green was Marshal-General or High Sheriff of Massachusetts colony in 1681, 
succeeding his father-in-law, Edward Mitchelson, who had held the office since 
1657. Ruth, a sister of Mary Green, married another ancestor of Teunis D. Hunt- 
ting, thus forming a direct relationship on the maternal as well as the paternal side. 
By his marriage with Mary Green, daughter of John Green, Nathaniel Huntting (1) 
had a son, Nathaniel (2). 

Nathaniel Huntting (2), son of Nathaniel (1) and Mary Green Huntting, was 
born in 1702 ; died 1770, at East Hampton, L. I. He married Mary Hedges, and 
had issue, Nathaniel (3). 

Nathaniel Huntting (3), Patriot of the Revolution, son of Nathaniel 
(2) and Mary (Hedges) Huntting, was born in East Hampton, L. I., 1730; died 
there in 1801. He was an Associator in the town of East Hampton, in the 
Revolution. He married Mary, daughter of Major John Murdock, born 1706, in 
East Hampton; moved to East Saybrook (now Lyme), in New London County, 
Conn., where he died in 1778. He was a representative in the Connecticut Legis- 
lature, Judge of the Court of Common Pleas of New London, and a major in the 
militia. The issue of this marriage was Abraham, and other children. 

Abraham Huntting, son of Nathaniel (3) and Mary (Murdock) Huntting, 
was born at East Hampton, L. I., 1773; died in 1851. He married Mary, daugh- 
ter of Abraham Mulford, Jr., of Southhold, L. I. They had issue,/. Mad/son. 

J. fladison Huntting, son of Abraham and Mary (Mulford) Huntting, was 
born at East Hampton, L. I., March 15, 181 2. He was a well-known merchant 
and a man of considerable influence in the community. He was President of 
Sag Harbor Savings Bank from the date of its organization until his death, March 
14, 1868. He married Mary E. Dimon, daughter of John Dimon, Jr., and Hannah 
Hicks, who was the daughter of Zechariah Hicks. John Dimon, Sr. was the son 
of Abraham Dimon and Hannah Foster. 

Abraham Dimon, Patriot of the Revolution, was an Associator in 
the town of East Hampton, L. I., May 5, 1775. 

Zechariah Hicks, Patriot of the Revolution, was born in East Hamp- 
ton, L. I., Nov. 1, 1749; died there October 6, 1833. He was a member of Capt. 
Ezekiel Mulford's company of Minute Men, July 26, 1776, and marched from East 
Hampton, intending to join Col. Josiah Smith's regiment of the American army 
in defense of Long Island, but arrived at Jamaica the day after the battle of Long 
Island. He married Rebecca Sherrill. 

John Dimon, Sr., before referred to, married Esther Filer, daughter of 
Thomas Filer. 

Thomas Filer, Patriot of the Revolution, enlisted in Capt. John 
Davis' company, Fourth Regiment, New York Line, Nov. 21, 1776, and was killed 
near Poughkeepsie, N. Y., Oct. 31, 1777. 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



49 



By his marriage to Mary E. Dimon, daughter of John Dimon, Jr., Mr. J. 
Madison Huntting had issue a son, Tennis Dimon. 

TEUNIS DIMON HUNTTING, Registrar, Empire State Society, 
S. A. R., son of J. Madison and Mary (Dimon) Huntting, was born at East 
Hampton, L. I., September 22, 1848. He was educated at the old Clinton Acad- 
emy, the oldest academic institution in the State of New York. He has been 
engaged in business in New York City for a number of years. He is a well-known 
and an expert genealogist, and probably one of the best equipped for the position 
of Registrar, to which he was elected in June, 1897, of any one that could be 
found. He is conscientious, painstaking and thoroughly reliable. He is a mem- 




TEUNIS D. HUNTTING. 



ber of the New York Genealogical and Biographical Society, Long Island Histori- 
cal Society, and of the Founders and Patriots of America. He is well known in 
Masonic circles, being a member of Crystal Wave Lodge, F. & A. M.; Gate of 
the Temple Chapter, R. A. M.; Brooklyn Council, No. 4 ; Clinton Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Brooklyn ; a thirty-second degree member of the Scottish 
Rite, New York Consistory, Northern Jurisdiction, and is also a member of Kismet 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Oasis of Brooklyn. 
He married, first, Georgiana W. Hammond, daughter of Le Baron Hammond, a 
descendant of Richard Warren, of the '-Mayflower," one of the signers of the 
compact. Of the three children by this marriage, George H. is the only surviving 
one. Mr. Huntting married, second, Jessie I. Hobkirk. 



50 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

EARLE— PINNEY. 

There are probably few men in the country better known in connection with 
the various patriotic and colonial societies than Gen. Ferdinand P. Earle, of the 
Board of Managers, Empire State Society, S. A. R. His ancestry includes some 
of the leading families of this country whose lines extend back to the feudal ages. 

Edward Earle, the American ancestor, went from England to the Barbadoes 
and thence to Baltimore, Md., where he married Hannah Baylis. In 1676 he 
removed to New Jersey and purchased the Island of Secaucus, in Bergen County, 
N. J., and was the progenitor of the Earle family of that State. He was a descend- 
ant of Edward Earle, the youngest of the English family of that name who took 
such a prominent part in the Parliamentary struggles in England, his brother, Sir 
Walter Earle, being the originator of the Habeas Corpus Act. 

The English ancestors of the family extend back in an unbroken line to John 
de Erlegh, of Bukington, County Somerset. Of the allied families of the Earls 
of this country are included the Phelps, Porters and Hulls, of Massachusetts and 
Connecticut, and Thomas Spencer, who served under Capt. Mason in his attack on 
the stronghold of the Pequots ; also Capt. John Bissell, Capt. Benjamin Pinney, 
Joseph King and Serg. Thomas Huxley, all of whom served in King Philip's War ; 
also Judge Earle and Judge Vreeland, of Bergen, N. J., Abraham Finte, of the 
Revolution, Dr. Johanne de La Montagne, member of the councils of Garvin, 
Kuft and Sturtevant, etc. 

Edward Earle, the American ancestor, to whom reference has already been 
made, had a son, Marmaduke, born i668;died 17 14 ; married Elsie Vreelandt. 
They had issue, Morris, born October 6, 1696; died 1765. He, by his wife, 

Rebecca , had a son, William, born 1734; married Hannah Montagne. They 

had a son, William Pitt, born April 22, 1775; died May 29, 1849; married 
Martha Pint6. The issue of this marriage was William Pitt Earle, born June 
14, 1S12. 

William Pitt Earle, the father of Gen. Ferdinand P., was for many years a 
leading hotel proprietor in New York, and at the time of his death was one of the 
oldest men in that line of business. He was for many years proprietor of the 
famous Clinton House, of Hartford, Conn., and later of the Lorillard House, 
New York, which was subsequently known and achieved a national reputation as 
Earle's Hotel. He married Elizabeth Pinney, daughter of Judge Benjamin Pinney, 
of Ellington, Conn., son of Eleazer, son of Capt. Benjamin, son of Samuel (2), 
son of Samuel (1), son of Humphrey, the ancestor. 

Humphrey Pinney, the ancestor of the Pinney family in America, was born 
in Somerset County, England ; came to New England with Rev. John Warham in 
the ship " Mary and John," which sailed from Plymouth, England, March 30, 1630. 
He settled at Dorchester, Mass., where he married Mary Hull, who came in the 
same vessel with him. He was a person of considerable respectability, having the 
prefix of " Mr." to his name. In 1635 he removed to Windsor, Conn., of which 
he was one of the founders. He died August 20, 1683. His wife died August 
13, 1684. They had, among other children, a son, Samuel (1). 

Samuel Pinney (1), son of Humphrey and Mary (Hull) Pinney, was born 
in Dorchester, Mass. He bought land of the Indians and settled in Elling- 
ton, Conn. He married Mary Bissell, daughter of John Bissell, who came from 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 51 

England to Plymouth Colony in 1628; moved to Windsor, 1640; deputy to 
General Court, 1642; Captain of Windsor Dragoons during King Philip's War, 
1675 , Quartermaster Hartford County Troop of Horse, 1677. Samuel Pinney, by 
/lis wife, Mary Bissell, had Samuel (2). 

Samuel Pinney (2), son of Samuel (1) and Mary (Bissell) Pinney, was born 
in Dorchester, Mass., and removed thence to Windsor, Conn. He married, 
October 24, 1698, Sarah Phelps, daughter of Timothy, son of William Phelps, who 
settled in Dorchester, in 1634; removed to Windsor, Conn., 1638. He was one 
of the most prominent and highly respected men in the colony ; a member 
of the first court held in Connecticut, 1636, also of the court, 1637, which 
declared war against the Pequots ; magistrate in 1638, foreman of the first grand 
jury; deputy to the General Court, 1645-6-7-8-9, in 1658, he was again made 
magistrate, continuing four years. He was a " pillar in church and State." By his 
wife, Sarah Phelps, Samuel Pinney had a son, Benjamin. 

Capt. Benjamin Pinney, son of Samuel (2) and Sarah (Phelps) Pinney, was 

born in Ellington, Conn., 17 15. He married, first, Ladd ; second, Susannah 

Lathrop, by whom he had issue, Eleaser. 

Eleazer Pinney, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Capt. Benjamin 
and Susannah (Lathrop) Pinney, was born February, 1753. He was with the 
Connecticut troops in the battle of Bemus Heights, Stillwater and Saratoga, Sep- 
tember and October, 1777. which resulted in the surrender of Burgoyne. He was 
a prominent citizen in his native town, which he represented in the Legislature, 
and was selectman of the town for fourteen years, and was such an authority in 
the settlement of estates and other responsible trusts that he was jocularly called 
the " Administrator-General " of Ellington. He married Eunice King, and had a 
son, Benjamin. 

Hon. Benjamin Pinney, son of Eleazar and Eunice (King) Pinney, was 
born at Ellington, Conn., July 4, 1780. He married, February 23, 1803, Susan 
McKinney. born July 6, 1780. They had eight children, of whom Elizabeth was 
the sixth. She married William P. Earle. 

William P. Earle, by his wife, Elizabeth (Pinney) Earle, had a son, Fer- 
dinand P. 

GEN. FERDINAND P. EARLE, of the Board of Managers, Empire 
State Society, S. A. R., son of William P. and Elizabeth (Pinney) Earle, was 
born in Hartford, Conn., 1839. After completing his education he became associ- 
ated with his father in the hotel and succeeded him as proprietor of Earle's Hotel, 
on Canal street. As he progressed his ideas enlarged, and for many years past 
he has been proprietor of two of the leading hotels in the country — the Normandie 
Hotel, of New York, and Normandie-by-the-Sea, a favorite summer resort. 

Gen. Earle has long been a prominent figure in the National and in the 
G. A. R. His reputation as a National Guardsman was gained by honest, hard 
work. He began his military career as private in Company B, Seventh Regiment, 
in October, 1862 ; went with it to the front in the Gettysburg campaign and served 
continuously until 1869. In April, 1861, he was commissioned Captain of Second 
Battery, subsequently known as Earle's Battery, and under his command it was 
known as one of the most effectual organizations connected with the State National 
Guard. On January 1, 1889, he was appointed by Gov. David B. Hill on his staff to 
represent the artillery branch of the State service, with the rank of Brigadier- 



52 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



General, and was reappointed by Gov. Flower. For services rendered in connec- 
tion with the National Guard to the Venezuelan Government, he was decorated 
with the order of the Bust of the Liberator. He was for many years chairman 
and treasurer of the Citizens' Auxiliary Committee of the G. A. R. His charitable 
and benevolent operations are well known, and the " Earle Guild," founded by 
him for the relief of the needy, has accomplished much good in this direction. 

Gen. Earle is connected with many of the leading societies and organizations 
of the city. He is a member of the New York Chamber of Commerce, the New 
York Historical Society New York Genealogical and Biographical Society, Hugue- 
not Society of America, New England Society, National Rifle Association, Seventh 
Regiment Club, American Yacht Club, Order of the Founders and Patriots of 




GEN. FERDINAND P. EARLE. 



America, Society of Colonial Wars, Society of the War of 1812, etc. His interest 
in and his labors for the promotion of the Empire State Society, S. A. R., is well 
known and appreciated by his compatriots. 

Gen. Earle was married November 6, 187 1, to Miss Lillie Jones Tuttle (Smith), 
whose ancestors, the Casiers, Masons, Downings, Guyons, Jones, Berrys, and Pur- 
cells, were among the earliest settlers of this country, Philip Casier, the Huguenot, 
being the first magistrate of Harlem, 1662, and the patent to Jacques Guyon grant 
of two hundred acres of land on Staten Island being dated 1664. The Guyon 
mansion at New Dorp, S. I., built in 1663, is still in a good state of preservation. 
Mrs. Earle is also a descendant of the Winthrop family, of Massachusetts, through 
Lucy, sister of the first Governor Winthrop. She is among the very few women 
in this country who can trace her descent in an unbroken line to Richard I., II. and 
III., Dukes of Normandy, and to Emperor Charlemagne. 

Gen. Earle purchased, some years ago, the Col. Roger Morris mansion, later 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 53 

known as the Junnel mansion, which was used by Gen. Washington as his head- 
quarters during the battle of Harlem Heights, in September, 1776, at 160th street, 
near Tenth avenue, New York. This, Gen. Earle has fitted up and restored as far 
as possible to its original condition and given it the name of '■ Earle Cliff." In 
this old place Mrs. Earle, who is Regent of the Washington Heights Chapter, 
Daughters of the American Revolution, has given many brilliant entertainments 
to the Daughters and other patriotic societies. She is the founder and president 
of the Washington Heights Society, Children of the American Revolution. 

The children of Gen. and Mrs. Earl are : Ferdinand Pinney Earle, Jr., Victor 
de la Montagne Earle, William Pitt Striker Earle and Guyon Locke Crochron 
Earle. 



CLARKE- BOONE. 

Richard Henry Clarke, Board of Managers, S. A. R., comes of an old Mary- 
land family, identified with the history of that State from its earliest settlement. 

Robert Clarke, the ancestor, settled in Maryland about 1638, and was sur- 
veyor-general and privy councillor under Lord Baltimore, and sat in the legislature 
which unanimously elected the Maryland Religious Liberty law, in 1649. 

William Clarke, Patriot of the Revolution, a direct descendant of 
Robert Clarke, was born in Prince George's County, Md.. March 16, 1750, served 
as Second Lieutenant in the Seventh Battalion of the Maryland Line under Capt. 
Frederick Diaus, Col. John H. Stone and Brig. -Gen. William Smallwood ; partici- 
pated in the defence of Stater. Island, N. Y., in 1777, and the battles of Brandy- 
wine and Germantown ; camped at Valley Forge with Washington's army in the 
terrible winter of 1778-79, and fought at Monmouth. He was in the service 
three years. 

RICHARD HENRY CLARKE, LL.D., of the Board of Managers, 
1896-7, was born in Washington, D. C, July 3, 1827; son of Walter Clarke and 
Rachel Boone, grandson of William Clarke and Mary Simms, great-grandson of 
Robert Clarke and Ann Jenkins, great-great-grandson of Walter Clarke, great- 
great-great-grandson of John Clarke, and great-great-great-great-grandson of 
Robert Clarke. 

Dr. Clarke was educated at Georgetown University, from which he re- 
ceived the degrees of A.B., A.M., and LL.D. He studied law in Washington, 
where he tried several important cases. He was a member of the City Council, 
was the founder and president of several benevolent societies, and one of the 
founders of St. Joseph's Orphan Asylum. He removed to New York in 1864, 
where he has since continued the practice of his profession. He was associated 
with Charles O'Connor in several important cases and assisted him in preparing 
the defense of Jefferson Davis in the proceedings in Virginia, which the govern- 
ment discontinued. He was Vice-President of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul, 
of the Catholic Union, an officer of the Catholic Club, and President of the New 
York Catholic Protectory, He is the author of " The Lives of the Catholic 
Bishops of the United States," " The Illustrated History of the Catholic Church 
in the United States," " Hints for Prolonging Life," " Old and New Lights on 
Columbus," etc. He also wrote the biographies of several colonial governors 



54 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

including those of Leonard Calvert, of Maryland, and of Thomas Dongan. of 
New York; also of great pioneer missionaries, of Commander Barry, the founder 
of the American Navy, of Charles Carroll, of Carrollton, the signer of the Declara- 
tion of Independence. Dr. Clarke married Ada Semmes, a near relative of 
Admiral Semmes, of the Confederate Navy. 



HOYT— DEMING— FAY— SHERMAN. 

The above-named families were not only conspicuous as founders of some of 
the oldest New England towns, but were represented in the War of the Revolu- 
tion by self-sacrificing patriots whose devotion to the cause of American independ- 
ence won for them the plaudits of their countrymen ; and the simple inscriptions 
on their tombstones tell the story of their achievements. 

John Hoyt, the founder of the Massachusetts branch of the family, was born 
in England, about 1610, and came to this country earlier than 1639, as ms name 
appears on the Salisbury records that year, and his name appears among the list 
of original proprietors of Amesbury, Mass., the same year, his "home lot" being 
indicated on the old map of that town. The history of Amesbury refers to him 
as follows: "The most prominent event of this year (Feb. 28, 1688) was the 
death of Sergeant John Hoyt, Sen." Among those entrusted with office in the 
new town (Amesbury) he was prominent. He was selectman eight years, was on 
the committee to lay out the " Great Swamp," also to purchase a house for the 
minister, to treat with Capt. Pike, to build the meeting-house, etc.; he was con- 
stable, grand juryman, etc. He served as moderator of the town meeting as late 

as 1687, and was a military officer in Norfolk County. He married Frances 

and had John (2). 

John Hoyt (2), son of John (1) and Frances ( ) Hoyt, was born about 

1638; was admitted townsman December 10, 1660. He "kept ye Ordinary for 
Amesbury for ye year ensuing.'' and " hath liberty to sell u l wine and strong 
waters." He held public office and was a man of good standing in the community. 
He was killed by the Indians at Andover, August 13, 1696. His will mentions 
"snapsack, sword and powder horn." He married June 22, 1659, Mary, daughter 
of William and Rachel Barnes. They had issue, Joseph and other children. 

Joseph Hoyt, son of John (2) and Mary (Barnes) Hoyt, was born July 14, 
1666. He was tithingman, March, 1709; selectman, 1711-12; member of the 
grand jury, 1712-13. He lived on the homestead of his grandfather. He married 
Dorothy Worthen, and had a son, Ezekiel. 

Ezekiel Hoyt, son of Joseph and Dorothy (Worthen) Hoyt, was born January 
7, 1709 j died December 25, 1755. He resided in that part of Salisbury which 
was incorporated as South Hampton, in 1742. He was a man of considerable 
means, a member of the first church in Amesbury and of the second church of 
Salisbury. He married Rebecca Brown, of Newbury, and had a son, Joseph. 

Joseph Hoyt, Patriot of the Revolution, son of Ezekiel and Rebecca 
(Brown) Hoyt, was born November 3, 1751. He settled in Sandwich, N. H. He 
was one of the signers of the famous " Association Test," viz.: "We, the sub- 
scribers, do hereby solemnly engage and promise that we will, to the utmost of our 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN 1 REVOLUTION. 



55 



Power, at the Risque of our Lives and Fortunes, with Arms, oppose the Hostile 
Proceedings of the British Fleets and Armies against the United American 
Colonies." He married, August 25, 1774, Betsey Folsom, and had five children, 
among whom was Daniel. 

HON. DANIEL HOYT, son of Joseph and Betsey (Folsom) Hoyt, was born 
October 26, 1778. He was largely engaged in mercantile pursuits, was President 
of the Carroll County Bank and a prominent public man in New Hampshire. He 
resided at Sandwich, N. H. He filled town offices of all kinds and was chosen a 
representative to the legislature in [807 and was fifteen times elected to represent 
his native town, but resigned ence, however, on account of his being chosen Senator. 
He was Senator four years and councillor two years. He was General of the 




GEM. DANIEL HOYT. 



State Militia and always went by the name of "General." He early identified 
himself with the old Liberty or Free Soil Party, and was for several years theit 
candidate for governor. Two years of his life were spent in Ohio. He married, 
first, Sarah Flanders, daughter of Moses Flanders, an officer in the Revolution 
and afterwards Major of the New Hampshire State Militia. They had five child- 
ren, among whom was William Henry. 

Rev. William Henry Hoyt, son of Hon. Daniel and Sarah (Flanders) Hoyt, 
was born at Sandwich, N. H., January 8, 181 3. He was graduated at Dartmouth 
College in 1831, and was afterwards for several years rector of St. Luke's Epis- 
copal Church, at St. Albans, Vt. He resided in Burlington, Vt., for some time, 



56 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

where he published the Burlington Sentinel, which was at one time carried on by 
John G. Saxe, the poet. He became a convert to the Roman Catholic faith, after 
which he studied law and was admitted to the bar. He removed to New York 
city about 1868, and after the death of his wife, in January, 1875, he entered the 
Catholic priesthood and was ordained by Archbishop Corrigan in May, 1877. He 
devoted the remaining years of his life to the arduous duties of the priesthood 
until his death, which occurred December 11, 1883. He was a man of scholarly 
attainments, a fine linguist and possessed qualities of heart that endeared him to 
all who knew him. He married Anne Deming, daughter of Eleazer Hubbell and 
Fanny (Follett) Deming. Eleazer Hubbell Deming was the son of Capt. Pownall 
Deming, son of David, son of Rev. David, son of John Deming, the ancestor. 

John Deming, the ancestor, settled in Wethersfield, Conn., in 1635. He 
was one of the nineteen (including his father-in-law, Richard Treat) to whom was 
granted the charter of Connecticut, in 1662. He was representative nineteen 
times — from 1646 to 1665. His wife's brother Robert was one of the founders of 
Newark, N. J., and afterward Governor of Connecticut. Elizabeth, the sister of 
John Deming, married Gov. Thomas Welles, of Connecticut. John Deming 
married, in 1637, Honor Treat, daughter of Richard Treat, above mentioned. 
They had issue, David. 

Rev. David Deming, grandson of John and Honor (Treat) Deming, was 
graduated at Harvard in 1700, and was the first pastor of the church at Med way, 
Mass. He removed to Middletown, Conn., and thence to Lyme. He married in 
1708, Mercy Brigham, and had issue, David and other children. 

David Deming (2), son of Rev. David and Mercy (Brigham) Deming, was 
born in Lyme, August 24, 1709. He married Mehitable Champion, of East 
Haddam, Conn., daughter of Lieut. Henry Champion and Mehitable Rowley, 
daughter of Moses and Mary Rowley. Henry Champion was the son of Thomas, 
son of Henry, of Saybrook, who came from England prior to 1647. David Dem- 
ing and his wife, Mehitable Champion, had a son, Pownall. 

Lieut. Pownall Deming, Patriot of the Revolution, of Colchester, 
Conn. He was sergeant in Capt. Worthy Waters' Company, of Hebron, Conn., 
who marched from Connecticut "for the Relief of Boston in the Lexington 
Alarm," April, 1775 ; sergeant in Eighth Company, Second Regiment, Connecticut 
Line, commanded by Capt. Levi Wells, of Colchester, May 6 to December 10, 1775. 
These troops took part at Roxbury, Mass., and served during the siege until 
expiration of term of service, around Boston. He was detached with others and 
served under Gen. Spencer at Bunker Hill. He reenlisted in Col. Wyllys' Regi- 
ment, Twenty-second Connecticut Line, 1776; promoted ensign during the year; 
reported in October in the " commissary business." After the evacuation of 
Boston by the British this regiment marched, under Washington, to New York by 
way of New London and the Sound ; assisted in fortifying New York ; ordered to 
the Brooklyn front, August 24 ; engaged in the battle of Long Island, August 27. 
Referring to Wyllys' and other regiments in this battle, Johnson says : " Some in 
groups, some keeping together in companies, some in battalions, all aiming for 
one objective — the camp. Here they fought the light infantry, there they were 
charged upon by the dragoons ; those who were intercepted fell into the hands or 
upon the bayonets of the Hessians. It was a trying and desperate situation from 
which there was no relief." Ensign Deming took part in the subsequent events 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



57 



at Kip's Bay, Harlem and White Plains until the expiration of term of service, 
December 31, 1776. Previous to this, Ensign Deming had engaged in an import- 
ant undertaking in connection with Capt. Coit. On October 24, by order of Gen. 
Washington, Capt. William Coit, of Norwich, then in Parsons' regiment before 
Boston, marched with his company to Plymouth and took charge of the privateer 
" Harrison," carrying four carriage guns and ten swivels. He captured several 
prizes in which Serg. Deming shared. Ensign Deming was commissioned second 
lieutenant January 1, 1777, first lieutenant November 15, 1778. He was second in 
command of Capt. Clift's Company, First Regiment, Connecticut Line, commanded 
by Col. John Durkee, of Norwich, Conn. He remained in service with this regi- 
ment until it was finally disbanded at West Point in June, 1783, by Washington's 




EI.KA7.KK HUBBELI, DEMING. 



orders. His name appears among the original members of the Society of the 
Cincinnati. At the close of the war he engaged in business in Hartford, Conn., 
where he died suddenly, April 9, 1795. On his tombstone in Hartford his name 
appears as " Captain." He married Abigail Hubbell, of New Fairfield, Conn., a 
woman noted for her beauty. They had an only son, Eleazer Hubbell. 

ELEAZER HUBBELL DEMING, only son of Capt. Pownall and Abigail 
(Hubbell) Deming, was born at Wethersfield, Conn., February 1 3, 1 785. His mother 
died when he was but ten days old and he was brought up by his grandmother, Mrs. 
Ann Noble Hubbell. He went to New York early in life and obtained a position 



58 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

as clerk in a mercantile house. He moved to Burlington, Vt., in 1805, where he 
established a large business and was regarded by those, who knew him as the best 
business man in Northern Vermont. He accumulated what was then considered 
a large fortune. His views of men and affairs were broad and he was a man of 
strong character and decided convictions. He died May 5, 1828. He married 
Fanny Fay Follett, of Bennington, Vt., daughter of Susanna (Fay) Follett, and 
granddaughter of John Fay. 

John Fay, Patriot of the Revolution, was born in Hardwick, Mass., 
Dec. 23, 1734. and lived in Bennington, Vt. He was sergeant' in Capt. Elijah 
Dewey's Company, Col. Moses Robinson's regiment of militia, at Ticonderoga, in 
1776. He was one of five brothers who were all engaged in the battle of Ben- 
nington, under Gen. Stark. His tombstone in the little graveyard at Bennington 
contains the following inscription : 

" In memory of John Fay, Esq'r, who fell fighting for the freedom of his 
country in the Battle fought between Gen. Stark and Col. Baum, called Benning- 
ton Battle, on the 16th of August, 1777, in the 43d Year of his Age. 

" The sweet remembrance of the Just 
Shall flourish while they sleep in dust." 

John Fay was shot from behind a tree while taking aim with his musket at 
the enemy. A local historian, in his account of the affair, says : " Quick as light- 
ning ran the cry over the ranks of his townsmen, ' John Fay is shot !' Maddened 
with fury they sprang from behind the trees and fired their guns in the very faces 
of the foe. They leaped over the breastworks of the enemy with an impulse of 
onset nothing mortal could resist." The enemy were driven back and soon after 
victory perched on the banner of the Americans. The desperate charge of the 
townsmen of John Fay no doubt contributed materially to the final result. Capt. 
Stephen Fay, the father of John, was also an ardent patriot, and when the body 
of his son was brought home, he, with his own hands, washed away the blood 
stains and thanked God that he had a son who was willing to give his life for his 
country. The four surviving sons all became prominent in public affairs. Joseph 
became Secretary of State of Vermont, and Dr. Jonas Fay was the author of the 
Declaration of Independence of the State of Vermont. 

Rev. William Henry Hoyt, by his wife, Anne Deming (granddaughter of 
John Fay), had issue, Charles Albert. 

CHARLES ALBERT HOYT, Member of the Empire State Society, 
S. A. R., eldest son of Rev. William Henry and Anne (Deming) Hoyt, was born 
in the old Deming homestead, at Burlington, Vt., July 27, 1839. After a clue 
course of preparation he entered the University of Vermont and subsequently 
Georgetown College, from which he was graduated in 1857. He received his 
degrees of A.B. and A.M. from both institutions. He began the study of law in 
the office, intending to follow that profession, but finally decided on a business 
career, and started on the lowest round of the ladder with the mercantile house 
of Dennison & Binsse, in New York, and later with Howard, Sanger & Co. 
During the first year of his business life he continued his legal studies, and the 
knowledge acquired he was able to use to good advantage later in life. In i860 
he was associated for a time with his father on the Burlington Sentinel, and during 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 59 

this time contributed occasionally to the columns of the New York press. He 
returned to New York city in 1861 and obtained a position with Poppenhusen & 
Konig. This firm at the time had the entire control of what was known as the 
Goodyear hard rubber patents. The previous experience and knowledge acquired 
by Mr. Hoyt was a special advantage to him in the duties of his new position. 
He became a member of the firm in 1872, and for the past thirty years has been 
treasurer of the India Rubber Comb Co. and the Goodyear Hard Rubber Co., 
both being the outgrowth of the old firm. He is identified with other business 
interests and various organizations. He is a member of the Chamber of Com- 
merce and one of its Executive Committee ; he was one of the founders and is 
still a director of the German-American Insurance Co.; trustee of the Brooklyn 
Savings Bank ; a member of the Union League Club, the Hamilton Club, the New 
York Press Club, the New England Society, the Long Island Historical Society ; 
Vice-President of St. Vincent's Home for Boys ; member and trustee of the 
Church of St. Charles Borromeo, of Brooklyn ; he is an hereditary member of 
the Society of the Cincinnati and treasurer of the New York State Society. 

Mr. Hoyt married, in 1862, Julia H. Sherman, daughter of Enoch P. and 
Julia M. Sherman ; son of Anthony, of Brookfield, Mass., who married Sally Piper; 
son of Thomas, who married Betsy Keith, of Bridgewater; son of Anthony, who 
married Silence Ford, of Bridgewater; son of William, of Marshfield, Mass., who 
married Mary, daughter of Peregrine White, born on the ship " Mayflower," in 
Cape Cod Harbor, November n, 1620, the first child born in Plymouth Colony ; son 
of William Sherman, of Marshfield, who married Desire Doty, daughter of Edward 
Doty, who came on the "Mayflower"; son of William Sherman, the emigrant, 
who came from Northampton, England, in 1629, married Prudence Hill, of 
Duxbury. He served under Miles Standish against the Indians. His son, 
William, above mentioned, served in King Philip's War and died from exposure. 

The issue of the marriage of Charles Albert Hoyt to Julia H. Sherman is 
one son, Albert Sherman. He is also a member of the Sons of the American 
Revolution and Mrs. Hoyt is a member of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution. 



WILLIAM WATKINS KENLY, 

Of the Board, of Managers?, Empire State Society, 
Sons of trie American Revolution. 

There are probably few men in this country whose line of ancestry extends 
through so many distinguished families of America and in an unbroken line to 
the highest nobility of Europe, dating back to the seventh century, as that of 
William Watkins Kenly, one of the most active and enthusiastic members of the 
Society, which he represents as one of its Board of Managers. Mr. Kenly's 
ancestors were not only distinguished in the War of the Revolution, but also in 
the colonial wars, the War of 1812-15 and the more recent Mexican War, and 
bore an important part in shaping the destinies of our nation. During the Civil 
War also, his immediate relatives were conspicuous for their gallantry in both the 
Union and Confederate armies. The ancestry given through the several lines will 
doubtless prove of great value to others seeking information in this direction. 



60 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

Of those who served in the English army during the colonial period were the 
following ancestors : Col. Edward Claggett, Col. Edward Dorsey, Col. Nicholas 
Greenberry, Col. Nicholas Gassaway, Col. Henry Ridgely, Col. George Wells, 
Major Samuel Goldsmith, Capt. John Worthington, Capt. Thomas Claggett. 

In the War of the Revolution there were: Capt. Gassaway Watkins, grand- 
father; Major Nicholas Worthington, great-uncle; Ensign Nicholas Worthington, 
Jr., relative ; Private Zacheriah Lyles, relative ; Private James Lyles, relative. 

In the War of 1812: Col. Gassaway Watkins, grandfather; Private Edward 
Kenly, grandfather ; Lieut. Gassaway Watkins, Jr., uncle. 

In the Mexican War : Major John R. Kenly, uncle ; Capt. Richard Watkins, 
first cousin. 

In the Civil War : Maj.-Gen. John R. Kenly, uncle ; Major William L. Kenly, 
uncle; Private John R. Kenly, of George, brother; Private Albeit G. Warfield, 
first cousin ; Private Gassaway Warfield, first cousin ; Private Beale Warfield, 
first cousin ; Private Lewis Watkins, first cousin. These five privates enlisted in 
the army when between the ages of fifteen and eighteen. 

Now in the regular army : Lieut. William Lacy Kenly, Jr., first cousin. 

The first historical mention of the Kenly family is contained in a description 
of the " Kenly Manor," Shropshire, England, in the tenth century, during the 
reign of Edward the Confessor. The name also appears in the Domesday 
Book, A. D. 1085-6. 

Richard Kenly, the American ancestor, is supposed to be a descendant of 
the proprietors of Kenly Manor. He had issue, Darnel and William. The latter 
was one of the gentlemen authorized by acts of assembly, April 6, 1776, and 
March 20, 1777, to sign notes or currency of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 
The Coat of Arms of the Kenly family — Attns, Per bend embattled sa. and ar. — 
is given in Burke's Encyclopedia of Heraldry. 

Daniel Kenly, eldest son of Richard, was a resident of Deer Creek, Harford 
County, Md., a man of some prominence, being an elder in the Presbyterian 
Church. He married, November 6, 1739, Frances, daughter of Col. George Wells, 
son of Richard Wells, who was a member of the General Assembly of Maryland 
in 1654; one of the judges of the Provincial Council, 1655-8; appointed July 22, 
1654, one of commissioners "for the well ordering, directing and governing the 
affairs of Maryland, under His Highness, the Lord Protector of England, Scot- 
land, Ireland, etc." George Wells, above mentioned, was a member of the 
General Assembly, 1674-8, was Colonel of the Provincial troops of Maryland, and 
was recommended by Lord Baltimore and sundry merchants as " one of the sub- 
stantial Protestant Inhabitants of Maryland and a member of the Provincial 
Council." He married Blanche, daughter of Major Samuel Goldsmith, Major of 
the Provincial troops, who in 1659 was one of the deputies sent from Maryland to 
the town of New Armstell. Daniel Kenly, by his wife, Frances (Wells) Kenly, 
had a son, Richard 

Richard Kenly, son of Daniel and Frances (Wells) Kenly, was born in 
Harford County, Md., November 3, 1761. He married, in 1783, Avis, daughter of 
Richard and Rebecca Ward. He was a magistrate and a man of some note. 
They had issue, a son, Edward. 

Edward Kenly, son of Richard and Avis (Ward) Kenly, was born November 
22, 1788. He was a private in Company C, Twenty-seventh Regiment, in the War 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 6l 

of 1812-15, and took part in the battles of Fort McHenry and North Point. The 
regiment was commanded by Col. Kennedy Long, and was known as " the brave 
Twenty-seventh." Mr. Kenly was Judge of the Appeal Tax Court and Assessors 
of Tax for the city of Baltimore, 1855. He married, February 9, 1814, Maria 
Keener Reese (born May 21, 1791), daughter of John Evans Reese and Anne Lacy, 
of Virginia. John Evans Reese was the son of John Reese, who married Sarah 
Evans, November 11, 1746, in Wales. John Reese was the son of Meredith ap 
Reese, who married, in Wales, Catherine, the daughter of Cadwallader. Edward 
Kenly and Maria Keener Reese, his wife, had issue, George Tyson, John Reese 
and William Lacy. 

George Tyson Kenly, eldest son of Edward and Maria (Reese) Kenly, was 
born November 8, 181 4. He was a prominent merchant of Baltimore and was 
one of the charter members of the Chamber of Commerce, now called the Balti- 
more Corn and Flour Exchange, and for many years was one of its Directors. 
For the last thirteen years he has been the treasurer, and although in his eighty- 
fourth year still personally attends to the responsible duties of this office. He is 
one of the best known and highly respected citizens of Baltimore. 

John Reese Kenly, the second son of Edward and Maria (Reese) Kenly, was 
a major in the Mexican War and commanded the escort that conducted Gen. 
Santa Anna through the American lines. He received the thanks of the State of 
Maryland by resolution of the General Assembly, " for distinguished gallantry 
displayed in the field during the war with Mexico." At the breaking out of the 
Civil War he held the position of Brigadier-General, State Militia, and was 
appointed by Gen. N. P. Banks, Provost Marshal of Baltimore. He served with 
distinction until the close of the war and rose to the rank of Major-General. As 
in the Revolutionary War, at the battle of Long Island, four hundred Maryland 
troops were left to cover the retreat of the American army, so again in the Civil 
War the Maryland troops were called upon to cover the retreat of Gen. Banks' 
army before Stonewall Jackson. Gen. Kenly, then Colonel of the First Maryland 
Infantry of nine hundred men, was left at Front Royal, Va., to check the advance 
of Stonewall Jackson's army of eight thousand men. His entire command was 
surrounded and captured or killed, and Col. Kenly, refusing to surrender, was 
forcibly cut out of his saddle by two cavalrymen. But the Union army was saved 
and Gen. Banks crossed the Potomac. " On receiving news from Secretary 
Stanton that Banks' army had crossed the Potomac without loss and in safety, 
owing to the gallant fight of Gen. Kenly at Front Royal, delaying the advance 
of Stonewall Jackson's army, President Lincoln, at midnight, in the executive 
chamber, with the members of the cabinet, rose from their seats and gave three 
rousing cheers— the first and only time that such a demonstration had been made 
by the President and his cabinet." — (Authority, Maj.-Gen. N. P. Banks). Presi- 
dent Lincoln appointed Colonel Kenly Brigadier-General for " gallant conduct at 
Front Royal, Va." He twice received a vote of thanks from his native State, 
through the General Assembly, for " early, prompt and distinguished services in 
the Civil War." He was presented with an elegant sword and mountings by the 
State of Maryland and another by the city of Baltimore. He was the author of 
" Memoirs of a Maryland Volunteer in the War with Mexico." 

William Lacy Kenly, the youngest son of Edward and Maria (Reese) Kenly, 
was a Major of Infantry, Maryland Volunteers, during the Civil War and made 



62 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

for himself an honorable record. He is a civil engineer by profession and Chief 
Engineer of the Baltimore City Water Supply. His son, William Lacy, Jr., is 
Lieutenant First Artillery, U. S. A. 

George Tyson Kenly, the first mentioned son of Edward Kenly, married, 
April 16, 1844, Priscilla Agnes Watkins, daughter of Colonel Gassaway Watkins. 
Col. Gassaway Watkins, A Soldier of the Revolution, was an offi- 
cer in Smallwood's Regiment at the battle of Long Island and one of the immortal 
" Maryland Four Hundred," who saved the retreating American army from total 
destruction. He served seven years as an officer in the Maryland Regulars. He 
was made Sergeant, January, 1776; Ensign, April 20, 1777; Lieutenant, May 1, 
l 777'< Captain, January 1, 1781, and mustered out of service January, 1783, as 
Captain Third Regiment, Maryland Line, commanded by Col. John Eager Howard. 
He was the last surviving officer of the old Maryland Line. In an autograph 
letter now in possession of William Watkins Kenly, a descendant in the second 
generation, he says: "I was on Long Island and the White Plains with Col. 
Smallwood's Regulars, in '77; at Germantown, '78; at Monmouth, 'So; at Cam- 
den, '81 ; at the Cowpens, Guilford Court House, Second Camden, Ninety-six, and 
Eutaw Springs. At the assault on Ninety-six, Capt. P. Benson fell wounded in 
my arms. I was several times in the vanguard ; was at Staten Island in March, 
1780, and was at Elizabethtown a few hours after Major Egleston and his guard 
was taken. I was toasted by Gen. Nathaniel Greene at a public dinner on the High 
Hills of the Santee." In explanation of this incident he states that he was a 
bearer of special dispatches from Gen. Greene to Gen. Smallwood; also from Gen. 
Smallwood to Gen. Marion. He says: " In February(i78i), the day Gen. David- 
son was killed, I left camp with orders from Gen. Greene ; and upon reaching the 
Yadkin River, found it had overflown its banks, and was told by my guide 
that it was impossible to cross through the rushing current, on which was borne 
floating logs and other debris. I was satisfied there was nothing to stop the 
enemy, and knowing the wish of my General to bring his troops to a point near 
action, I immediately pulled off my coat and boots, put the dispatches in the 
crown of my hat, tied it on my head, took leave of my old friend who, with tears 
in his eyes, wished me well, and with difficulty crossed the river. My guide and 
friend expressed his joy by throwing up his hat. I got to headquarters and was 
received by Generals Greene and Morgan." 

Col. Watkins was a man of magnificent physique, six feet two inches in height, 
well proportioned and developed. His height and size made him conspicuous in 
battle. He was a warm personal friend of Col. John Eager Howard. He was 
President of the Society of the Cincinnati of Maryland, was Colonel of the Depart- 
ment of Drafted Militia of the State of Maryland in the War of 181 2-1 5, and 
was placed in command of the defences of Annapolis. One of his sons, Gassaway 
Watkins, Jr., was Lieutenant in the Maryland Militia in the War of 1812-15. 
Another son, Dr. William Washington Watkins, was a member of the State Senate 
and John Sebastian, another son, was also a member of the State Senate, and was 
one of the signers of the address which, in 1861, declared that the legislature 
had no power to commit the State to secession. He was also a member of the 
Society of the Cincinnati of Maryland. 

Col Gassaway Watkins was the son of Nicholas Watkins and Ariana Worth- 
ington, fifth in descent from John Watkins, the immigrant ancestor, who married in 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 63 

1688, Ann Gassaway, daughter of Nicholas Gassaway, Colonel of the Provincial 
troops, one of the "Commissioners of Peace and Tryall of Causes," and one of 
the justices of the Provincial court. Ariana Worthington, the mother of Col. 
Gassaway Watkins, was the daughter of Thomas Worthington (and Elizabeth 
Ridgely), who was a magistrate under the crown and a member of the General 
Assembly, the proceedings of which show him to have been one of the most 
influential and useful members of that body. Brice Thomas Beale Worthington, 
a brother of Ariana Worthington, was a member of the Committee of Safety and 
a delegate, with Charles Carroll, of Carrollton, and Samuel Chase, from Ann 
Arundel County, Md., to the Maryland State Convention, August 14, 1776. 
Another brother, Nicholas Worthington, was a major in the Seventh Battalion, 
Maryland Continentals, and also a member of the State legislature during the War 
of the Revolution. His son, Nicholas, was an ensign in the Seventh Battalion. 

Capt. John Worthington, the grandfather of Ariana Worthington, was the 
immigrant ancestor of the family. He was a man of some importance and was 
captain of the provincial troops. The inscription on his tombstone states that 
" He was the progenitor of many sturdy sons of Maryland — men who moulded 
and controlled affairs and helped to build up the State, His family bore : Arms 
— Argent, three rustic forks, sable. Crest— A goat statant (or passant) argent, 
holding in mouth an oak branch, vert, fructed, or. Motto — Virtute dignus val- 
orem (In valor worthy of our ancestors.) He married Sarah Howard, daughter 
of Matthew Howard, the immigrant ancestor, and Sarah Dorsey. Elizabeth, the 
sister of Matthew Howard, married Col. Henry Ridgely, of whom hereafter. 
Sarah Dorsey, the wife of Matthew Howard, was the daughter of Col. Edward 
Dorsey and Margaret Larkin, who was the immigrant ancestor of this family. 
He was a colonel in the Colonial militia in the Province of Maryland, and partici- 
pated in most of the early contests with the Indians. He was an earnest promoter 
of the cause of education in the province, and one of the original trustees and 
incorporators of King William's College. He was a member of the General 
Assembly, was a "Justice of Pease and Tryall of Causes." He was the son of 
Edward Dorsey, of Hockley-in-the-Hole, Lancaster County, England. 

The mother of Ariana Worthington was Elizabeth, daughter of Henry 
Ridgely and Catherine Greenberry. He was the son of Henry Ridgely, Colonel 
of the Provincial troops, member of the General Assembly, etc. He was one of 
the most distinguished men in the province, and progenitor of the numerous 
Ridgely family of Maryland, many descendants of whom have adorned the highest 
positions in the province and state, in civil, military and naval life. The Ridgely 
family bore : Arms — Or, on a cheveron gules, three mullets, argent. Crest — A 
stag's head erased ppr. attired or. Motto — Dum spiro spero (While I breathe I 
hope). He married Elizabeth Howard, in England. The Maryland Howards are 
descended from the Howard family of England, whose head is the Duke of 
Norfolk, Earl Marshal, of England, the oldest and proudest of the peerage. The 
Howard family bore : Anns — Gules, on a bend argent, between six cross crosslets 
fitchees argent, an escutcheon or, charged with a demi-lion rampant, pierced 
through the mouth with an arrow flory, counter flory of the first. Crest — On a 
chapeau, gules, turned up ermine, a lion statant, guardant, tail extended or, ducally 
crowned, and gorged with a ducal coronet, argent. Motto — Sola virtus Moicta 
(Virtue alone is invincible). 



64 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

Catharine Greenberry, the grandmother of Ariana Worthington and great- 
grandmother of Col. Gassaway Watkins, was the daughter of Col. Nicholas 
Greenberry, the immigrant ancestor ; Colonel of the Colonial forces of the Pro- 
vince of Maryland, President of the Provincial Council, acting Governor of the 
Province, one of the judges of the Provincial Court, " one of the seventeen citizens 
who signed articles of impeachment against my Lord Baltimore " 

Col. Gassaway Watkins (whose mother was Ariana Worthington), referred to 
in the foregoing, married Eleanora Bowie Claggett, daughter of Wiseman Clag- 
gett (and Priscilla Bowie Lyles, whose two brothers, Zachariah and James, were 
privates in the Second Regulars, Maryland Line, in the War of the Revolution). 
Claggett Coat of Arms : Arms — Erm. on a fesse sa. 3 pheons, or. Crest — An 
eagle's head erased, erm. ducally crowned. Wiseman Claggett was the son of 
Edward Claggett and Ellen, daughter of John Bowie. Edward was the son of 
Richard Claggett and Deborah Dorsey ; she was the daughter of John Dorsey 
and Pleasance Ely ; he was the brother of Col. Edward Dorsey, referred to in 
connection with the family of Capt. John Worthington and Matthew Howard. 
John Dorsey was a commissioner of the Provincial government appointed to sur- 
vey and lay out Annapolis, the new capital. 

Richard (2), Edward and Rev. Samuel Claggett were all sons of Richard 
Claggett (1). Richard Claggett (2) was one of the committee appointed November 
18, 1774, for Charles City, Md., " to represent and act for said county, to carry into 
existence the Association agreed upon by the American Continental Congress." 

Rev. Samuel Claggett, third son of Richard (1), brother of Richard (2) and 
Edward Claggett married, first, Elizabeth, daughter of Col. Edward Gaunt, of 
Calvert County, Md.; second, the daughter of Dr. Gustavus Brown. 

Rt. Rev Thomas John Claggett, son of Rev. Samuel Claggett, was consecrated 
Bishop of Maryland, in Trinity Church, New York, September 17, 1792, by Revs. 
Samuel Provost, D.D., Samuel Seabury, D.D., James Madison, D.D., and William 
White, D.D. Bishop Claggett was the first Bishop consecrated on American soil, 
and the " first instance of the assertion of the National independence of the 
American Episcopal Church." In him, too, was united the Scottish and English 
lines of succession, and from him every American Bishop since consecrated has 
received the mingling of those two streams. In 1800, when the first congress sat 
in the newly established capital, at Washington, Bishop Claggett was Chaplain. 
An altar tomb is erected over his grave, on which is an eloquent Latin inscription 
written by Francis Scott Key, author of "The Star Spangled Banner." 

Richard Claggett (1), the father of Rev. Samuel, Richard (2) and Edward, 
and the grandfather of Rt. Rev. Thomas John Claggett, was the son of Capt. 
Thomas Claggett. 

Capt. Thomas Claggett, the immigrant ancestor, came to the Province of 
Maryland in 1670. He was one of the Committee of Inspection appointed to collect 
money for the purchase of arms. He was the son of 

Col. Edward Claggett, born in England, 1600. He married in 1625, Margaret 
Adams, daughter of Sir Thomas Adams, Lord Mayor of London, and a cavalier 
in the reign of Charles I. As a royalist he was imprisoned in the Tower by 
Oliver Cromwell, and was afterward knighted by Charles II. He was the eldest 
brother of Henry Adams, of Braintree, Mass., the progenitor of Presidents John 
Adams and John Quincy Adams, and was one of the grantees named in the 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 65 

charter of Charles I., in 1629, of land of which Braintree formed a part. Adams 
Coat of Arms : Ar»is — Argent on a cross gules, five mullets, or. Crest — Out of 
a ducal coronet, a demi-lion. Motto— Loyal au mort. From Sir Thomas Adams 
the family is traced in an unbroken line to the seventh century, through William, 
Richard, John, Thomas, Roger, Sir John Ap Adam (2), Sir John (1), Thomas Ap 
Adam. Sir John, William, Sir John Ap Adam, who " came out of the marches of 
Wales." The last mentioned married Elizabeth, daughter of John de Gournai, 
Lord of Bervestan ; son of Anselm de Gournai, Lord of Bervestan ; Hugh de 
Gournai, Lord of Bervestan ; Hugh Baron de Gournai. Lady Editha, daughter of 
William de Warren and Gundred his wife, married Gerard, Baron de Gournai. 
Gundred, daughter of William I. the Conqueror and Matilda his wife, married 
William de Warren, who was created first Earl of Surrey. William de Warren 
was a lineal descendant of Charles III., King of France, who married Queen 
Edgina, daughter of Edward the elder, King of England, son of Alfred the Great. 
William the Conqueror, father of Gundred and the seventh Duke of Normandy, 
married Lady Matilda. Lady Matilda, wife of William the Conqueror, was the 
daughter of Baldwin V., seventh Count of Flanders, who married Adela, sister of 
Henry I., King of France, and daughter of Robert II., the Pious King of Fiance, 
who was the son of Hugh Capet, King of France. Baldwin, sixth Count of Flan- 
ders ; Arnolph II., fifth Count of Flanders; Baldwin, third Count of Flanders; 
Arnolph the Great, Count of Flanders ; Baldwin II., Count of Flanders, Boulogne 
and St. Pole, founder of the House of Blois, King of Jerusalem, died 918, married 
Lady Ethelwida, daughter of Alfred the Great, King of England. Baldwin L, 
Count of Flanders, surnamed Bras le Fer, King of Jerusalem, who married Lady 
Judith, daughter of Charles I., King of France. Baldwin I. was the great-great- 
great-grandson of Charlemagne and the son of Count Croise Godfrey de Bouillon, 
Duke of Lorraine, leader of a crusade, Baron of the Holy Sepulchre, defender of the 
Christians. Lady Judith, wife of Baldwin I., was the daughter of Charles I., the 
Bold King of France, son of Louis I., the Pious King of France, son of Charle- 
magne, Emperor of the West, born 768, died S14, son of Pepin le Bref, King of 
France, son of Charles Martel, born 690, died 741. 

Col. Edward Claggett, mentioned in the foregoing as having married Margaret 
Adams, was the son of George Claggett, Mayor of Canterbury, England, in 1609, 
and again from 1622 to 1632. He was the son of Robert Claggett (2), born 1530 
who married a daughter of Sir Robert Gordon. Robert Claggett (2) was the son 
of Robert (1), of Maling, in the County of Kent, England, born about 1490. 

The maternal line of William Watkins Kenly begins with the marriage of 
George Tyson Kenly to Priscilla Agnes Watkins, daughter of Col. Gassaway 
Watkins, and ending with the Claggett family. The issue of this marriage was 
Edward Gassaway, John Reese, Davies Law, George Tyson, Jr. (deceased), 
Douglass Claggett, William Watkins, Albert Clarke. 

WlLLIAtt WATKINS KENLY. Mr. Kenley is the sixth son of George 
Tyson Kenly and Priscilla Agnes Watkins, member Baltimore Chapter, D. A. R., 
and the grandson of Gassaway Watkins, Captain Maryland Line, Revolutionary 
War; one of the ' immortal Maryland 400, " Colonel of the Maryland Troops in 
the War of 181 2, and President of ihe Society of the Cincinnati, of Maryland. 
He was elected a member of the Empire State Society, S. A. R., on the tenth day 
of May, 1S95, State number 623. National number 7,123. In August, 1895, he 
5 



66 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



was appointed by the society as one of the committee to receive the delegation 
from the Maryland Society, S. A. R., at the unveiling of the monument in honor 
of the "immortal Maryland 400," erected in Brooklyn. He was secretary of the 
committee that drafted the present Constitution and By-Laws of the Society. He 
is a member of the Board of Managers and also chairman of the Finance Com- 
mittee. He designed the proposed standard for the society, consisting of thirteen 
stripes, alternate blue and white ; the insignia of the society is embroidered in a 
white field, the American eagle surmounting the staff, the cords and tassels being 
white and blue, intertwined — the colors of the Society. 




WILLIAM WATKINS KENLY 



Mr. Kenly is a civil engineer by profession and was elected a member of the 
American Society of Civil Engineers on November 7, 1889. He attended the 
public schools of Baltimore city until lie was about fifteen years of age, when he 
was appointed third assistant in the Engineer Corps in charge of the construction 
of the Union Railroad, at Baltimore, now part of the Pennsylvania Railroad, of 
which his brother, John R. Kenly, was the engineer in charge. Mr. Kenly followed 
his profession of civil engineering, and in December, 1875, was appointed by 
Joshua Vansant, Mayor of Baltimore city, First Assistant Engineer in charge of 
the construction of the Lock Raven dam, gate house, reservoir and First Tunnel 
section, Baltimore City Water Works, this being one of the most important 
engineering works i;oing on in the country at that time. He resigned this position 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 6j 

in February, 1881, and was appointed by Robert Garrett, President of the B. & O. 
Railroad, as Engineer of Maintenance of Way of the fourth and fifth divisions 
of the main line of the B. & 0. R. R. He resigned this position and was appointed 
engineer in charge of the construction of the East River division of the Norfolk 
& Western Railroad. On completion of this work he was appointed engineer in 
charge of the construction of the masonry and iron superstructure of the bridge 
across the Brandywine river, at Wilmington, Del., for the B. & O. R. R. He was 
then appointed engineer in charge of the erection of the great steel bridge across 
the Susquehanna River at Havre de Grace, Md. for the B. & O. R. R. At that 
time this was the most important bridge ever built in the world. He was then 
appointed assistant to the General Manager on Construction of the Atlantic Coast 
Line R. R., resigning to accept the position of engineer of construction of the 
Edge Moor Bridge Works, this company being one of the largest and best known 
bridge companies in the world. Amongst their work is the riveted steel work for 
the main span of the Brooklyn Bridge. 

During his engineering experience Mr. Kenly spent eight years in the rolling 
mills and bridge shops, testing and inspecting the iron and steel and the construc- 
tion of bridges, erecting the same in the field and having charge of the mainten- 
ance of the same in the service of the railroad companies. In the fall of 1S92 
Mr. Kenly came to New York, an entire strager, and organized the United States 
Mortar Supply Company, of which he is the General Manager. Mr. Kenly designed 
and built the factory for this company and also designed most of the machinery. 
He is prominent in building operations in New York City and in matters affecting 
the building trades' interests. He is a member of the Building Trades Club, and 
also a member of the Builders' League of New York, and one of its Board of 
Managers. 

Mr. John R. Kenly, brother of Mr. William W. Kenly, is a prominent civil 
engineer and railroad man and the General Manager of the Atlantic Coast Line 
Railroad. He was sent by the American Railway Association as a delegate to 
the International Railway Congress, held in London, July, 1S95, which was 
presided over by the Prince of Wales. John R. Kenly attended the public schools 
of Baltimore city : left at the age of fifteen and joined the Confederate army. 
He took part in the battle of Gettysburg and served to the end of the war as a 
private, First Maryland Cavalry. He was the youngest soldier in the regiment. 
He was in most of the principal battles in the war and was in the charge made 
by his regiment when it cut through the Union army at Appomattox. 

Another brother of W. W. Kenly is Mr. Edward G. Kenly, President of the 
Morton Safety Heating Company. Another brother is Albert C. Kenly, General 
Agent of the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, Baltimore city. He was one of the 
charter members of the Maryland Society, S. A. R., and for a number of years 
a member of the Board of Managers. Another brother, Davies Law Kenly, is a 
member of the Maryland Society, S. A. R., and a prominent merchant, living at 
Hagerstown, Md. Another brother, Douglass Claggett Kenly, is General Agent 
for the State of New Jersey for the National Cash Register Co. 



68 SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 

THE CONE FAMILY. 

Daniel Cone, the American ancestor of this family, was born in Edinburgh, 
Scotland, 1626, died October 24, 1706. The family is mentioned in Burke's 
General Armory with the following description of the Arms - Gules a fesse 
engrailed between a cinquefoil in chief, and a crescent in base argent. Daniel 
Cone came to America in the ship "John and Sarah" in 1651, landing in Boston, 
afterward going to Lynn, where he married, and then settled in Hartford, Conn. 
The facsimile letter shown herewith was written by John Winthrop, Jr., Governor of 
Connecticut, to Peter Stuyvesant, Governor of New Netherlands. It is printed in 
Vol. VIII., fifth series, page 44 (Winthrop Papers, Part 4), of Massachusetts His- 
torical Collections, published by the Massachusetts Historical Society. He was 
one of the twenty-eight proprietors to whom permission was given by the General 
Court in 1660 to occupy the plantation known as Thirty Mile Island, on the Con- 
necticut river. The tract of land was purchased from four Indian kings in 1662, 
for thirty coats, of a value not exceeding $100. About six years later this tract 
was given the name of Haddam. In 1670 Daniel Cone, with a few others, 
removed to the east side of the river and settled in what was known as Creek Row. 
He built a log hut and settled on the farm, which remained until quite recently in 
the Cone family. He married Mehitable, daughter of Jared Spencer (born as 
early as 1610; emigrated from England in 1634 and settled at Cambridge, Mass.; 
removed thence to Hartford, and was one of the twenty-eight proprietors who 
settled Haddam in 1662; descendant of Robert de Spencer, who came into Eng- 
land with the Conqueror in 1066 and, as his name implies, was steward to that 
monarch). Their children were Ruth, Hannah, Daniel, Jared, Rebecca, Nathaniel, 
Jared again, Ebenezer, Stephen and Caleb. 

Caleb Cone, youngest son of Daniel and Mehitable (Spencer) Cone, was born 
in Haddam in 1680; died September 1, 1741. He married for his second wife, 
Elizabeth Cunningham, and had five children, of whom Daniel was the eldest. 

Daniel Cone, eldest son of Caleb and Elizabeth (Cunningham) Cone, was 
born December 22, 1725 ; died July 12, 1762. He was a soldier at Louisburg and 
Ticonderoga. He married Susannah Hurlbut, May 12, 1750, and had issue, six 
children, of whom Daniel H. was the second and the eldest son. 

Daniel H. Cone, Soldier of the Revolution, second child and eldest 
son of Daniel and Susannah (Hurlbut) Cone, was born April 6, 1753; died May 
16, 1842. He was a private in the Fourth Company, Second Regiment, Connecti- 
cut Line, at Bunker Hill. He was on guard duty in New York during the retreat 
of the American Army after the battle of Long Island. In 1777 he enlisted for 
three years and took part in the battles of Brandywine, Monmouth, Germantown 
and other engagements and, though always in the thickest of the fight, he was 
never wounded and seemed to carry a charmed life. At the battle of Monmouth 
he was assigned to the artillery, and Capt. Scott, commanding his company, had 
his head blown off at the second fire. Referring to his gallant conduct at the 
battle of Bunker Hill, Hon. J. Wetmore, in a communication to the Winsted 
Herald, June 27, 1878, says : 

" As I have given some new anecdotes of the Revolution, I have thought that 
one more might not be out of place, as the hero was well known in the old town. 
His name was Daniel Cone, and he lies buried in the graveyard east of the old 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 69 

Winchester Green. He was the father-in-law of the late Gen. Leonard Hurlbut, 
and some few of his descendants are still living who may enjoy the recital of their 
old ancestor's bravery. At the breaking out of the Revolution, Cone was one of 
the first soldiers in the ' rebel ' ranks. His heart was in it, and the roll of the 
drum and the ear-piercing fife were music in his ears. At the Battle of Bunker 
Hill he was one of the bravest and most daring. He was where the bullets flew 
thickest ; and where the battle raged the fiercest, there was Cone in all his glory. 

' During that terrible struggle every man fought desperately, and the charging 
Britons were several times driven back with great slaughter. One gun had done 
most effective service, but from the duration of the fight and the determination 
of the enemy, with their grape and canister, to carry the hill, that gun was 
silenced. As it was too important a point to be lost and left unguarded, the 
commanding officer rode up in front of the broken regiment to which Cone 
belonged, urging upon them the necessity of holding that locality and using that 
particular gun against the enemy. Between this regiment and the gun there was 
not a blade of grass standing. The earth was completely plowed up by the 
enemy's shot, and to reach the desired spot seemed a piece of madness ; but after 
showing the importance and the danger of reaching and holding it, he declared he 
would order no one from the ranks, but asked if there were twelve men who 
would volunteer. 

" Cone was the first to step out of the line, when eleven others quickly followed. 
Throwing off their chapeaux, they bound their temples with the inevitable 
'bandana' handkerchief and bounded for the gun. PI very man reached it, when 
it sent again into the charging Britons a storm of iron and hail that swept them 
from the field like the harvest before the mower. The Americans, now fatigued 
and out of ammunition, at last retired from the hill, a broken but not a conquered 
host ; but among all that left that bloodstained eminence, none carried a braver 
or more determined and loyal heart than the old soldier, Daniel Hurlbut Cone." 

He lived long to enjoy the fruits of peace and independence. He was a much 
respected citizen and an exemplary Christian, the remainder of his long and useful 
life being spent in spreading the glad tidings of salvation and seeking to promote 
the happiness of his fellow-men. He married Elizabeth, daughter of James and 
Rebecca (Storrs) Atkins, of Middletown, Conn., August 18, 1776, and had issue, 
Susannah, Daniel, Elizabeth, Samuel, Hurlbut, Warren, Sullivan and Silas. 

Silas Cone, youngest child of Daniel H. and Elizabeth (Atkins) Cone, was 
born in Winchester, Conn., June 27, 1795. He was a manufacturer of scythes, as 
were his brothers Warren and Samuel, first at Norfolk and then at West Granby. 
He died at West Granby, Conn., September 6, 1866. He married Sarah, daughter 
of Ezekiel Hayes, whose wife was Polly Cossitt, daughter of Timothy, son of 
Rene Cossitt, a Frenchman, who settled in Granby, Conn., in 1717, born in France 
about 1690, in the Place Vendome, and educated at the University of Paris. He 
married, in New Haven, Conn., Ruth Porter. The children of Silas and Sarah 
(Hayes) Cone were, Sarah, born 1820; Caroline, born September 16, 1821 ; Silas 
M., born February 29, 1824; Hamilton Hurlbut, born November 16, 1825; 
Hamilton Hurlbut, born December 10, 1826; Hurlbut, born February 20, 1830; 
Ellen M., born May 3, 1831 ; Jane Elizabeth, born February 7, 1833; Edward 
Payson, born March 4, 1835; Jane Elizabeth, born February 17, 1837, married 
Rev. M. E. Wright. 



70 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. 



EDWARD PAYSON CONE, youngest son of Silas and Sarah (Hayes) Cone, 
was born in West Granby, Conn., March 4, 1835. He was educated at the Har- 
winton Academy, Litchfield County, Conn., and afterwards entered the employ of 
George E. and William H. Goodspeed, at Goodspeed's Landing, on the Connecti- 
cut River, in the town of East Haddam. This, at the time, was one of the largest 
and most enterprising business firms on the River. Mr. Cone came to New York 
in 1856, and the following year he went into business with his brother in Tennes- 
see, where he laid the foundation of the business training which subsequently won 
for him his prominent connection with metropolitan interests. At the outbreak of 
the Civil War, although a resident of Tennessee, he was open and fearless in 




EUWAKD PAYSON CONE. 



expressing his Union sentiments, and cast the only vote in the precinct in which 
he lived against the Ordinance of Secession, in June, 1861. He was watched 
closely by the local vigilance committee, but made his escape, reaching Louisville, 
Ky., where he remained until the fall of Fort Donelson. 

Returning with Andrew Johnson, who had been appointed Military Governor, 
Mr. Cone became assistant postmaster at Nashville. He was secretary of the two 
reconstruction conventions called to reorganize the State, and rendered effective 
service in many other civil offices and in raising a military company at the time of 
Bragg's invasion of Kentucky, when Forrest's cavalry was almost in sight of 



SONS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION. J I 

Nashville and communication was entirely cut off from Louisville. Governor 
Johnson lived with Mr. Cone for nearly two years, and after the reorganization of 
the State the latter was made secretary of the Senate. He was a member of the 
Direct Tax Commission for the State of Tennessee, continuing until the expira- 
tion of the Tax Law. He returned East in 1867 and settled in New York, and 
was appointed to a responsible position in the Custom House. At the request of 
Rev. Henry Ward Beecher, in 1869, he became connected with the Christian 
Union, and later was one of the owners of the Christian at Work. Since 1890 
he has occupied the responsible position of advertising manager of the New York 
Ledger, to the success of which his good judgment has largely contributed. Mr. 
Cone is Vice-Commander of the John A. Dix Post, G. A. R., member of the New 
England Society, Councilor-General of the Order of Founders and Patriots of 
America, a member of the Union League Club, of the Lotos, Press, Patria, West 
Side Republican and Twilight Clubs, and of the New York Genealogical and Bio- 
graphical Society. 

Mr. Cone is one of the most zealous and indefatigable workers in the Empire 
State Society, S. A. R. The September, 1896, number of T/ie Spirit of 'j6, 
referring to Mr. Cone's work in behalf of this society, says : " One of the most 
important enterprises of the society and one of the most valuable, lasting and far- 
reaching in its results, has given an enviable prominence to its author, Mr. Edward 
Payson Cone." The work referred to was the presentation to each of the 240 
departments of the public schools of New York City, of a large photogravure of 
Stuarts' Athenaeum portrait of Washington, massively framed, and bearing the 
seal and presentation plate of the society. The undertaking ramified widely and 
stimulated individuals and committees in other cities and States to take up the 
idea, with the result that the face of the Father of His Country now looks benignly 
down from the walls of hundreds of public institutions to which he was a stranger 
before. Mr. Cone has also rendered the society valuable services on other com- 
mittees, and is conspicuously identified with the patriotic, religious and educational 
work of the metropolis outside of this organization. He was one of the earliest 
members of the society, his number being 53. His latest distinction was that of 
chairman of the citizens' committee, selected by the American Institute of Civics 
for the commemoration of the centenary of Washington's farewell address to the 
American people. Mr. Cone's patriotism is equalled only by his zeal in religious 
work. His uniform urbanity, proceeding from a naturally kind heart, and his 
sincerity, energy and efficiency in everything